100 reviews

Autopilot

Marketing automation software made visual.

4.6 /5 (100 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5
92% recommended this app
100 reviews
Kate J.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A great tool, with great visual cues, powerful automation and integrations

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 26/02/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Great platform, easy to learn and use, engaging for the team, awesome customer support, truly helpful content.

No regrets. It's perfect for teams that are just starting out.

Pros

Because of the visual workflow (or journeys, as they appropriately call them) builder, this is an easy platform to catch on to. Getting the team to dive in and build our or edit journeys is quick and simple and doesn't require two days of reading documentation and tutorials to understand. Autopilot has done an amazing job of making the building of the workflows collaborative as well. Being able to annotate, comment, add images etc helps not only the team understand the goals, but is killer for reminding you why you built something the way you did a month later.

The email, CRM, Slack integrations are all easy to set up and use as well.

Cons

I believe they are working on it since there have been a lot of updates recently, but the email manager could use a bit more love - it just doesn't stand out as well against the rest of the platform. Building and editing an individual email is simple enough, but managing the full list can be tricky.

The reporting on the messaging bot is also lacking - but that feature is easy to use and helpful. It's easy to trust that they will continue to improve this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Garrett G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A Great Alternative to Full-Fledged Automation Software

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 13/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Autopilot is a great solution if you're looking for something to automate a sequence of emails. I wouldn't consider it a replacement for full-fledged marketing automation software... yet, but it's a fantastic tool for email automation. Just keep in mind that there are a few hiccups that you'll potentially need to navigate such as email SpamAssassin errors (always use mail-tester.com to check your emails) and CRM sync issues.

Pros

It seems to me that Autopilot does only one thing - but it does that one thing REALLY well. I tested Autopilot briefly for a few weeks as an alternative to the drip program functionality in our Marketing Automation software. I was extremely impressed with how easy it is to build a drip program (called a "Journey" within Autopilot), as well as with the breadth of logic and functionality offered. Autopilot really sets itself apart with some amazing - seriously amazing - integrations and functionality that our Automation platform doesn't offer, such as sending SMS text messages or physical postcards.

I really like that Autopilot offers in-app chat support, and that you generally don't need to wait longer than 5 minutes to get someone to help you out.

Cons

During the few weeks I tested Autopilot, I found a few issues that prevented me from really continuing to use the software for my use-case. The integration with Salesforce was clunky and un-intuitive, and most concerningly, it seemed that when the platform saw leads that already existed in Salesforce, it would stop them from progressing through the drip program. This was a real frustration, and I ended up just disconnecting Autopilot from the CRM in order to finish my test.

Another concern we had was that after testing the emails I had configured using mail-tester.com, there was an error identified that could only be resolved by getting a dedicated IP address - something which adds a significant additional monthly cost to the cost of the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Adrien W.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good tool but some things to improve

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Autopilot has been a good tool to use but we had too many issues with the tool. There were a lot of disconnections with Pipedrive. The e-mail features are not that great.

Pros

I like the simplicity and the design of the tool. It's very easy to understand and to set up. There a lot of connections with other platforms such ad Google Ads Facebook and CRMs.

Cons

I do not like the price model, it's quite expansive. Be careful. And the connectivity with Pipedrive is not very good.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Richard H.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: Self Employed

Great for automating Marketing requirements

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Very good. Customer service is incredible, so I feel like any issues or objectives I want to hit are fully supported by the team. I hope this only improves as they grow and doesn't become watered down.

Pros

You can plan multiple campaigns visually and then share the boards (completed with annotations) with the client. This means everyone is on the same page and understands how the campaign will proceed. The customer support is also second to none - really good. It's also very visual - as someone who gets easily distracted and bored easily, being able to visualise campaigns in a physical way really helps.

Cons

The reporting in the email side of things could be better. Mailchimp, for example, provides decent reporting with easy actions (like automatic re-send to non-openers' - AP requires you do smart segmenting (which is actually better in the long term), but the mental journey to sort this out would be impossible without the customer support (so it isn't an issue).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jamie M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Marketing Automation on Steroids

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/03/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Autopilot is a marketers dream tool. You can create a 'journey' for almost any task, from sending out an email newsletter to creating an advanced nurture journey based on segmentation, rules, lead owners, default and custom fields, website actions and much, much more. If you use tools such as Salesforce and Segment then you can get even more out of the tool with less work, but I personally don't use either and I still get a huge ROI on the product. They also just updated the email building tool which was a very welcome update.

Cons

It would be great if the tool worked with other CRM's than just Salesforce. Some of the actions and triggers, particularly when it comes to API triggers are quite limited so some improvements with that would be great. The price can get quite high with large numbers of contacts and the business plan selected (A/B testing, API triggers and more). I would also like to see an end-user subscription management feature added so that I can fully move away from other email tools (i.e. MailChimp) whilst being compliant with the likes of GDPR.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Extensive options at a reasonable price for automation

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 28/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Autopilot was originally a breath of fresh air for us. It gave us sophisticated contact-tracking, marketing automation and Salesforce integration inside of a pleasant UI with tools that were easy to understand. The Salesforce integration has subsequently become irritatingly expensive for a small organization.

Pros

The visual feedback of the journeybuilder makes automation easy and enjoyable to construct
The wealth of options available for triggering, and for actions to trigger in journeys
The contact-tracking functions are extensive and sophisticated
Support is quick and helpful

Cons

Segment-building is rudimentary, and once a segment is deployed, the criteria cannot be edited, which leads to a logjam of similar segments for various automations that have to be either maintained and organized, or carefully deleted.
Journeys, segments, and emails can easily become cluttered and lead to a general feeling of disorganization
The Salesforce integration has become increasingly expensive

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Flexible tool for email campaigns

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 04/02/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I really like how easy it is to set campaign, even the one where you want to use multiple conditions along the road. You just don't need any tech knowledge to set it up. It integrates great with Pipedrive so you can automatically remove contacts from your email campaign. Big kudos for Reporting section.

Cons

Deliverability of emails - we've compared it with other players on the market and with big campaigns it is an issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The beginning of a long romance with mailing system you won't see coming

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 04/06/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Being a non-developer in developer-heavy environment, I greatly value products that allow you to set up stuff in graphic editor. While it was not so easy at first, once I worked with it for a while I find it intuitive, smart, and allowing you to quickly get to what you need. It also allows you to set up complicated journeys relatively easy!

Cons

If you won't have a colleague to show you the ropes, it may be challenging to start using. The pricing is rather steep and pays off only if you want to heavily personalize your journeys - if you are looking for bulk simple solutions, then the pricing is suboptimal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Adrian D.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Value For Money

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have been using Autopilot for over two years and have enjoyed every moment of the journey. The price is excellent and I love the heads up feature. This feature alone has increased conversions considerably for me. I like that Autopilot is easy to integrate and like the journey builder. I love that you can customize the experience depending on weather someone has clicked, opened, left unread. It's everything you could want.

Cons

I wished they had their own form builder. Currently the software will scan forms and integrate that way but it would be great if we could build own own from withing Autopilot. Other than that there aren't any other cons for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tim H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I'm in LOVE with this software

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 21/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very easy to use, great automation, good heads up feature. Love the postcard integration. From a workflow and automation perspective, it's really effective.

Cons

Email templates are lacking. Some functionality leaves a bit to be desired. I'd love to see them improve their more basic email functionality.

Response from Autopilot

Hi Tim,

We really appreciate your support of Autopilot and your feedback for improvements.

We're pleased to share we've made some improvements to our email editor. You can now fully customize your emails using drag and drop editing, save templates for later, and preview emails on desktop and mobile.

You can watch a short video on our blog to see how it works: https://blog.autopilothq.com/create-beautiful-emails-advanced-editor/

If you have any questions about this update or need help designing an email with the Advanced Editor, please email us at [email protected]

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ashley M.

Best Automation System I've ever used!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 07/06/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've used many system and Autopilot by far is the BEST! The visual journey creator makes it so easy to create programs. Also, the integration with Salesforce is FANTASTIC!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sherrie G.

Superb

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/06/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

- Super easy to use
- Comes with many prompts to creativity built-in, including pre-built (and tested) customer journeys designed for various outcomes
- The email component: I don't wind up with any of the myriad deliverability issues/questions/headaches that I get with ESPs. (Why do I need an ESP?)
- Super-high open + click through rates (as high as 84% open rate).
- Messages "feel" authentic and personalized to recipients: I get warm engagement with recipients via replies.
- Has just what you need: no unnecessary features that can complicate and bog down deployment and use.
- Having SMS, in-app messaging, email, and on-demand print built in, helps support an integrated approach to marketing.

Cons

Can't think of anything at the moment. Autopilot has a means for you to submit ideas for future functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kevin O.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Aweosme

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 16/11/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Ease of use and ability to deploy journeys across multiple accounts. The Flight School abd blog ate a great resource.

Cons

Limited email templates. We need to adopt HTML custom code to build messages we want for clients and our business.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jody P.
Industry: Executive Office
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Strong marketing automation platform

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 23/02/2017
Review Source: Capterra

AutopilotHQ provides a comprehensive suite of marketing automation tools that have greatly enhanced our firm's inbound marketing strategy.

Pros

Offers email marketing & marketing automation. The application has an easy to use workflow tool that allows you to define customer journeys to define the actions that will happen at each interaction following a visitor subscribing to your mailing list. It also provides visitor tracking on your website and a capture widget to place on your site.

Cons

It does not have a form builder and you must use a third party form provider with it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Alex K.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good in theory but not a solid longterm solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We used Autopilot for two+ years and now we're looking to move it off.

Pros

Autopilot is really good to get you thinking about user journeys and how your customers should be getting information through your funnel.

Cons

The user thresholds are frustrating and they will move up in costs very quickly. The most frustrating is the lack of customer support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Amazing concept, heavy sales pitch - but doesn't perform with easy of use, nor high delivery

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Not great for mass marketing, but they pitched that it was

Pros

- This is an app maker/developers dream
- Code the processes and workflows, with marketing built in.
- Wonderful for apps, and tech heavy businesses with a lot of custom even triggers and customizations

Cons

- UI is not made for other, non-tech applications. They promote heavily saying it does, but the journeys are not made for that
- This is a event-based marketing tool, not necessarily a journey based nor funnel tool. There is a big difference
- They use Lyft a lot for their promotions, but keep in mind how different Lyfts marketing process must be from yours, and decide accordingly.
- Mass market emails and correspondence requires near coding like effort.
- This is a 1 to 1 solution, that lost the ability to do 1 to many communication efforts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Benton C.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great marketing automation software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Has easy to use interface. Can quickly create campaigns.

Cons

No email creator. Can be hard to manage multiple lists as gets a little convoluted.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Fabricio G.

it's easy to use

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like how it facilitates the marketing work and also improves the campaigns, they are sent quickly by SMS and mail.

Cons

software is somewhat slow, for beginners it is somewhat difficult to understand its use at the beginning. but it really is worth it to improve your projects a lot.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jesse D.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very effective tool for reaching your desired audience.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 07/09/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Reached customers I wouldn't have reached otherwise.

Pros

Very easy to put together journeys based on who you are trying to reach. It's a great way to place your sales cycle on "autopilot."

Cons

You really need to figure out the software by trial and error. A guide to all capabilities would be appreciated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ken L.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great product at a great price

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 20/06/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Ease of use. Much more economical than other automated marketing platforms. Great email tracking capability. Multiple journey capability. Great app for recruiting firms like ours.

Cons

No telephone help other than webinars. Other than that, we have had a positive experience with Autopilot.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Amanda W.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Amazing Software

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 10/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we have had a great experience with Autopilot.

Pros

The automation feature was a huge asset for our team - We have been using others that don't offer automation, which made out jobs much more difficult.

Cons

I don't have any cons about this software at the current time but will continue to test out this product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Adrian C.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising

Extremely happy that I stumbled across this gem

Reviewed on 10/12/2015
Review Source: GetApp

I'm an email marketing consultant and as such I've tried just about every platform on the market. A client of mine signed up for an autopilot account before I had ever heard of it. I thought I'd give it a try and learn a bit about it.

Boy, was I surprised.

It takes 5-10 minutes to go through a quick tutorial and you're off to the races. It's simple to use yet extremely robust. Just looking through the options available can fill you with inspiration and unique ideas.

I've moved my own marketing campaign onto autopilot and I'll be suggesting that my clients do the same. You don't have to be a Jenious to set up email marketing "cash machines" on autopilot.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Chris S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 18/08/2015
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ebona M.

Not an easy to navigate tool.

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

1. The ability to set a unique flow per marketing campaigns and create each step in the process from when an email will be initiated, to managing how multiple emails will be sent over a time period.
2. The ability to add users to a campaign ad hoc and see how many people have received the email versus how many people are set to.
3. Detailed reporting

Cons

1. Not intuitive at all. I feel you may have to be a power user to really get your money's worth. It's not something you can go into every few weeks.
2. Support was helpful but ran me in circles once trying to figure out how a user got unsubscribed from a campaign through an API, and I'm still kinda confused by it.
3. Again, it's not for casual users. There are some people who would get great use from this software though.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Julian M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 10/11/2015
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support