375 reviews

Calamari

Modern HR management, online leave and attendance tracking

4.7 /5 (375 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
375 reviews
Avishkar P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Effective timesheet and leave management - we have a very happy HR Department!

Reviewed on 16/11/2017

My review pretty much covers it. Resource planning in the Calendar view. Monitoring leave applications and clock in locations. My HR Managers now have confidence in the timesheet information as they can review it in real time and not just at month end.

Pros

We have decentralized operations, and our managers and HR love being able to see presence and location statuses of our employees in real time, and at a high level.
The Calendar function in the leave module allows for great oversight and enables more efficient resource management and allocation.
The time-sheet and leave reports available are robust and we love the download to excel feature, this perfect tabular format allows for deeper dives on trends, pivot tables etc within Excel.
It really is simple to use for employees and managers. The app keeps things simple to enable clocking in/out and applying for leave.
Really just very easy to navigate, after training our managers, no one has had to come back to us on how to navigate the system.
There are several clock in methods which allows for flexibility, eg smartphone clock-in, QR scans, and browser check-ins.
I must also commend the support team for providing excellent back-end support for our administrators! Keep up the great work and service

Cons

A few improvements could be made, such as allowing for attachment uploads from a smartphone for leave applications and for locations to be tagged when clocking in with a QR code.

Dick R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Calamari Feedback

Reviewed on 25/02/2021

We have rolled it out to our company employees and everyone loves it! Thank you Calamari

Pros

The software is very easy to use in many ways. This flexibility allowed us to tailor it to our company and employees needs.

Cons

Not one thing is unliked. We love Calamari!

Ines G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Calamari - worth checking it out

Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Thanks to Calamari we do not have to calculate absences on our own, add them to calendar, inform other people about absences. Calamari solves it all. Emplyees do not need to ask "How many free days do I still have?" - they can just check it on their own.

Pros

When the company is small, managing the time-off management is not that hard. However, when the company grows, it becomes very time-consuming and gets harder every day. Imagine, you have to count annual leaves of 50+ people on your own! It takes a lot of time and it is easy to make mistakes. Additionally, you have to remember to add info about it to calendar and keep an eye on it. Additionally there are questions: how many free days do I still have? Sounds like a hard unnecessary work.
We have discovered Calamari and it was one of the best platforms we have discovered. Users can easily apply for the leave, check how many free days they still got, it is integrated with Gsuite so whenever an annual leave is accepted, it appears in our calendar so we can check whether someone is there or not. Teams can easily check who is not gonna work on a specific day and who can replace that person. From the backoffice side, we can check everything about whole teams, specific people or even set up the acceptance flow for specific absence. No more excel sheets or counting :)

Cons

Nearly every problem we spotted was solved by Calamari team. What could be improved? Some options are not possible to change once set - it can be really problematic, for example settlement of annual leave is either in whole days (with minimum 1/4 od the day) or in hours. Also, if we add a specific type of absence, it is impossible to tick people and move their free days from one absence to another - we had to do it on our own, person after person. It took quite long.

Matthew C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An integrated solution

Reviewed on 16/07/2020

Our staff’s adoption of Calamari has been smooth. As a time card replacement and a PTO tracker it has been great.

Pros

We were looking for a tools that helped to keep our staff able to manage their hours and leave but also remain within a system that was SSO. Functionality, the more integrated with our identity provider (Microsoft 365) the better for our managment and for staff ease of adoption. Calamari has worked out great.

We also appreciate that Calamari worked with us in our unique position to put together a pricing option that considered the blended nature of our staff needs. This was a large value-add.

Cons

We like that Calamari remains under development. It would be nice if it was able to integrate further with the growing system of time and shift managment in Microsoft Teams. This may be a limitation of Microsoft’s structure but we would love to see it nonetheless.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

absence management and clock in/clock out were never so easy

Reviewed on 07/02/2018

Super easy leave management and clock in/clock out (using beacon).

Pros

It's a new way of absence & leave management. You can plan and track all types of vacation, paid time off, sickness and you can do it without old, annoying paper forms. You'r always few mouse clicks from your dreamed vacations ;) Another wery importand feature is clock in/clock out - it's super easy to use especially with bluetooth beacons support. Place a token in your office reception and install/configure calamari app on our phone. That's all! You can forget about clockin in/out ever again. It will by done automaticaly when you enter/leave your offiice. If you don't want to use beacons or when you'r work from home you can still clock in/out "manual" from mobile app. It's worth to mention that calamari has super helpfull customer service.

Cons

Beacon support for Android phone still need some fine-tunning compareing to iOS version. Except that - it's just perfect!

Arkadiusz O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best tool for the absence management

Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Thanks to Calamari, managing absences and holidays of all the employees in two offices, in two different countries is now fairly simple and efficient. Each office may have its own rules and holidays and yet, thanks to the shared calendar and employee catalogue, we have a full transparency of whom, when and why has a day off.

Pros

- Simple and yet powerful management of absences (approving holidays through Slack is such a time saver)
- Extended setup possibilities for the absence types (accrual rules)
- Possibility of configuring everything, including holidays calendars, types of absences, contracts and approval processes
- Slack and google calendar integrations
- Great customer care and fast feedback, our issues with Slack integration were solved pretty fast

Cons

- The look and feel of the web app is a bit outdated (but it's simple and clean which is good)
- UX is a bit clunky from time to time (especially when you have multiple accrual rules to work with under one absence type)

Jenna P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Would recommend!

Reviewed on 13/04/2021

The customer service and technical assistance that I have received while working with Calamari has been unparalleled. As soon as I signed up for a free trial a representative reached out to me and answered every question I had. For weeks she had very consistent and helpful communications with me and guided me through every step of the way!

Pros

This software is clean, simple and easy to use. it integrates well with Slack and outlook calendars. It's easy for employees to use and keep track of their own time off reporting in an organized way. It's very customizable to out companies accrual rules, holidays, birthdays, working hours and PTO. I really love that our employees do not have to leave the Slack pap to request PTO and check their balance.

Cons

There is little that is missing from this software and they are always making updates! I would say if you have a lot of employees it takes some time to set them all up initially.

Anjula M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Leave Management Made Easy

Reviewed on 01/08/2019

Hassle-free leave and attendance management system with always smiling customer support team.

Pros

As a startup, I was looking for a perfect solution for leaves and attendance management. By using Calamari,
you can approve your employee’s leaves from your fingertips. And every detail you need is available on their dashboard.

Cons

Having issues sometimes with the attendance management as the beacon system doesn't work with us well yet. Hopefully, they will fix it in future as I have faith in them.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent value from Calamari!

Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Excellent value and customer service. Would absolutely (and have) recommend this product for small businesses on a budget.

Pros

This software has everything we need to manage our time and attendance smoothly. It is also an excellent value considering other softwares on the market. Customer service is excellent, responsive and implements new ideas with a willingness to make their users happy.

Cons

Reporting could be expanded....but maybe it’s already in development.

Lauren M.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great program! Has helped me keep track of everyone's leave and overtime. Excellent customer...

Reviewed on 28/06/2017

Pros

1) Pretty easy to figure out and set up in the Clock-in module.
2) Excellent support! For things that weren't so intuitive, the Calamari team was more than willing to assist.
3) Once I figured out how to set up our vacation accrual things were great!
4) Very accommodating in adapting the program to meet my needs.

Cons

1) Tutorials and knowledgebase could have a few more examples of different scenarios that the administrator might encounter when setting up more complex leave policies. That being said, the Calamari team was more than willing to guide through anything I wasn't sure of.
2) Wish there was a way to set weekly work hours rather than have to set specific working hours daily. For e.g. I have part-time employee who doesn't necessarily have to come in at any set time each day, they just need to log a certain amount of hours each week. (Calamari team indicates they are working on it)
3) Wish the program better facilitated employees who switched from part-time to full-time without having to make an entirely new profile for that employee. (Calamari team indicates they are working on it)

Jason H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Why Moonstone appreciates Calamari

Reviewed on 16/07/2020

So far, we at Moonstone are all enjoying Calamari. The initial set-up was fairly easy and ongoing changes are super easy. Logging PTO can be tricky for some of our employees when they're only requesting a few hours a day, but nothing to stop us from using the tool

Pros

As we began reviewing software to meet our PTO tracking needs, Calamari stood out as an easy to use web-based tool. And when we began implementation we discovered even more benefits than we were previously aware of, like the ease of modifying entitlement at the click of a button! And it's so easy to modify a single user's accrual policy, and audit all user's monthly allotment.

Cons

The biggest issue we faced when implementing the software was my assumption that the integration into Jira also included Jira Cloud, this is not the case so we're using both systems simultaneously and have to perform a few manual tasks at the end of every month.

Vridhi S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Calamari Review

Reviewed on 19/07/2020

Pros

This software has been extremely helpful and has saved me a large amount of time on a regular basis. I love the calendar feature where I can see everyone's leave at the same time and also look at leave for each department individually. I also think the comments feature for each leave approval is useful when looking at an employee's leave historically. I would definitely recommend this software to others. It was also very easy to launch and most of our employees have found it easy to use.

Cons

Initially, I was very excited that Calamari has an app that can be used as well, however as as administrator I have not found the app very useful. I prefer to use the website on my phone than use the app.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Calamari for an HR Consultant

Reviewed on 04/12/2018

Overall its been a pleasant experience and i know there is more room to grow such as the GPS tracker should apply to breaks and be able to click on the map rather than just a snapshot of the location.

Pros

For our company i found Calamari a simple easy to use application to help track employee attendance. The application is simple to install and link with GSuite which is an asset for us without having employees go through a sign up process. Leave requests are to the point and being able to edit/remove/add erroneous entries is a big plus.

Cons

My main issues is with the lack of flexibility regarding report exporting as the information is dumped into an excel sheet without having an option to include/exclude certain data. Furthermore, breaks should have the option to either include in the total hours worked or deducted automatically as it happens that employees forget to use the app when taking their breaks. Also its important that any administrator that does any changes to an entry should have their name indicated or logged as the modifier.

Bartosz B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A must have for every company

Reviewed on 15/03/2021

I can't imagine not having a tool like Calamari when running the company.

Pros

Very easy to use for end users.
Superb integration with Slack and Google Calendar.
Mobile app has everything I need.
Does not require much administrative work.

Cons

Initial setup is a little bit complex. But I guess it is due to the complexity of the problem, not the software itself. But there is a great support, so it wasn't that big of a deal.

John T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A better virtual environment for attendance management.

Reviewed on 22/09/2018

Pros

The application can be very useful for perfectly save everything. Calamari helps to manage staff attendance. Unique login credentials are used and access to the database is limited, therefore it helps to maintain an accurate record of the check in and check outs of the staff on each working day. It also has added features for keeping a track and record of the staff working hours. A further demarcation can be made to specify who was at which duty during which hour of the day. This can then be analyzed to make progress reports. Thus, It is an efficient tool for effective time management of the team.

Cons

It becomes useful for the marketing teams of various departments but for small-scale businesses, the pricing might be a bit too much. The customer care and guidance are very limited.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for PTO Accrual and maintenance

Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Easy to use, relatively inexpensive, and does the job.

Pros

Easy to use, full calendar available for everyone to see

Cons

Cannot change the carry over amount from year to year since it affects ALL YEARS. Reporting can be better.

Janina F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

It's good, but some things might be better

Reviewed on 29/05/2019

Pleas look at the cons

Pros

It looks good and it is an easy handling

Cons

I don't think it's so good that calamari is not automatically calculated in entitlement for overtime and vacation day, as for example in homeoffice days.

And it would be nice if you could automatically set lunchtime. so for example, every day 30 minutes are automatically deducted for the lunchtime.

Vitaya I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

make it easy for your user or employees

Reviewed on 08/08/2017

helping user and control user, leave management report man hours

Pros

User interface design is a friendly. Easy create user by import from G-Suite account.
Can be use on any devices and anywhere.

Cons

we need more flexible generate reports and more detail on the report. the price a bit height for us.
Need some variety such as reward for who 0 leave or reward system creative.

Eduard B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A very helpful clock-in solution

Reviewed on 23/07/2020

Pros

iBeacons is for us the TOP functionality, you literally forget about clocking in and out, our employees are really happy about that.

Cons

maybe some parts of the Administrator interface could be easier, but it has a lot of functions so it has to be difficult to keep it that simple.

Jessica B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect Software

Reviewed on 31/05/2019

Pros

Easy to use, the app is very intuitive. The design is good and simple

Cons

Buggy sometimes at the beginning, but it is now better

Roland G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Recommendable

Reviewed on 29/05/2019

Pros

calamari is very easy to use. runs almost bug-free.

Cons

Missing: timesheet report, group by month and employee.

Tina W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Product

Reviewed on 01/08/2019

Keeps us all very organized

Pros

I researched for a long time to find a program that can organize my team. The system is easy to use and the app is great for my users.

Cons

It takes a little bit to get used to beacuse of it being European and days are different in Canada

Paula K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

We are glad that we decided to use Calamari as a non-presence management tool in Right Hello

Reviewed on 03/10/2017

Pros

1) Calamari's team offers a effective and quick support
2) its very intuitive and user friendly
3) has integration with google calendar, what is very usefull for us
4) You can keep track of all the hours employees work, holidays, sick leaves. Good solution for a small/medium company :)

Works very well!

Cons

We are happy with the product, but it might be better if there were more useful reports and more detail on the report.

Adam J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome clockin tool

Reviewed on 07/08/2018

Pros

It simplicity. It can be maintenance-free for workers

Cons

The mobile app is very poor it could implement more web functionality

Magda R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very helpful in everyday work!

Reviewed on 17/08/2018

Pros

The software is very easy to use. The layout is very readable. Calamari has managed to accumulate many functionalities needed by every employer. Support Calamari fulfills its duties sensational!

Cons

Do not occur. Each problem was solved professionally and efficiently.