394 reviews

Sage 300 Construction

Construction management

4.1 /5 (394 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.1
/
5
Value for Money
3.8
Features
4
Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Support
4.1
78% recommended this app
394 reviews
Nathan M.

Reviewed on 06/11/2013
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have used Sage 300 since 2010 and have found it the most troubling accounting software I have encountered. It has the capability to do a lot, but the product is so difficult to use that it makes doing a lot impractical, at least for a smaller company.

Sage acquired Master Builder in around 2008 and has yet to implement many of the "smart" features I had expected after they bought it from Intuit in that acquisition. In Master Builder/Sage 100, you can drill down on just about any field or report for more data. This drill down does not exist in Sage 300. The built-in calculator in Sage 100 is so handy; it does not exist in 300. The feature to advance the date using the + and - keys in 100 does not exist in 300. The feature to verify successful check runs through a certain check number does not exist in 300.

The use of non-accounting terms intermixed with accounting terms is frustrating to me. When looking at the Cash Management Module, it refers to Debits and Credits as Additions and Subtractions. It posts certain entries as a Negative Debit instead of a Credit or vice-verse. GL is driven by the modules and never the opposite. In 100, you can enter accounting entries and have the job costs updated, but not in 300. If you have to enter a GL transaction that will affect job costs, you have to then go into the job cost module and enter a direct job cost and debit and credit the same account for a net zero GL affect.

It can only print one thing at a time. Let me clarify; you open one report, an AP aging. You realize you paid a vendor more than you thought. You then run an open invoice list for that vendor. You realize they haven't been paid on a draw that they should have. You then decide to print the Open Invoice list to give to the PM, Controller, etc., but you can't. The first report that is open gets the print priority. Then if you try to close your AP aging to print your Invoice list, you can't. When you opened the second report, apparently the first report tells the second that it is not allowed to print. You then have to close the second report and re-run it.

My biggest issue with 300 is that it is extremely prone to being out of balance with itself. That phrase may not make sense to most accounting users. I am referring to the concept of the GL not matching the AP, AR, Cash, etc modules. I have had so many instances of something being off; most recently, certain sales accounts were showing a previous balance after closing the fiscal year. This required manually changing the previous year account balance on the sales account and changing the retained earnings by the same amount. These sort of internal errors are very scary to me because Sage doesn't know why they happen, and if it can happen in one place, it can happen just about anywhere, I would think.

Sage support is decent; they are all pretty used to the odd quirks and defects of the program, so they seem to be able to get these problems solved.

If you are a daily user of the software, I would recommend not getting Sage 300.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Brittany C.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sage 300 Construction

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 12/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It seems like the software has a lot of possibilities but everything seems to be manual and not update automatically. Should have more reports available at purchase vs. needing to have someone create custom reports.

Pros

Job Cost module is very helpful. It could have options that are more easily accessible to add change orders and paid date on the job cost reports.

Cons

That the entries in one module don’t post to every other module.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Melissa D.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 05/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I would recommend this software due to all areas of Project Management costing, accounting reports and the range with which you can manipulate data to get different reports.

Pros

The ease of retrieving reports and manipulating reports for my business needs .

Cons

There are many components that are not easy top navigate and can get confusing without daily use.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Stephen olawale J.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

RELIABLE AND ACCURATE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM FOR THE CONSTRUCTION JOB

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 09/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

SAGE is an amazing application for preliminary stage cost estimation of construction works, and at the post contract stage, great for project management.

Pros

Easy to customize for report generation, navigation on the interface is also very easy, the accounting system is very reliable organised and accurate, it’s a versatile and rich application, I think I still need to learn more to maximize the potential of SAGE

Cons

The customer support needs to be more responsive to questions about some of the application features, the application is a complex one, I think, we need a tutorial program or forums to learn more about this application, so many features I need to know about. Thanks.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Douglas G.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sage get the job done

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 05/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Sage is the software we utilize for all of our PM/project accounting and budgeting tracking. This program allows us to enter budget, commitments, costs and track and report on these with up to date information and integrate with our other PM software for a more streamlined workflow.

Pros

For the price, this can't be beat. It can do all of the same things as the more expensive software out there. This communicates with our online PM software, and our invoice review and approval software to streamline all aspects of our project management work flow and improve productivity.

Cons

Not the most user friendly. It doesn't have the fancy icons that other software does, but once you past that first layout learning curve and develop any custom reporting it is easy to understand and does everything you need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Teresa J.
Industry: Construction

Responsible for original setup and training of employees.

Reviewed on 01/05/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Support is great. Every problem I've had they have been able to walk me through the steps to fix. The integration of all the modules eliminates duplicate entry (except as detailed below). Ability to customize fields and use the Desktop to customize My Tasks.

Cons

Some areas need definite improvement - Address Book! No easy way to access or send emails to groups. Address Explorer (an Add-on) helps connect to Outlook, but lots of room for improvement. Sage Construction Anywhere should connect to Address Book. You have to manually add contacts to the companies to be able to give them access to the software, even though they are already set up in Sage Address Book. Some fields are too short to enter all the information needed.
Flexibility with documents - Most are created in Crystal and hard to customize. Hopefully the new Word Integration program in development will solve this problem.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Lanita C.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

It was great and integrated with our timberline estimating software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/10/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It was extremely easy to use and our accounting department even said it was fantastic. On the project management side, the staff liked the cost codes you could integrate and use. and the ease of sending financial information in. It was also used for monthly job cost review meetings with project management and operations. I believe it was relatively easy to generate thorough documents for review.

Cons

You couldn't do things through a mobile device. A lot of field staff and other personnel in various industries were always on the go and we couldn't have remote access on smartphones.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Athena H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I really enjoy using sage 300 and very easy to learn.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

process data very quick, strong customer support, user friendly, Easy upgrade from entry-level accounting applications. Easy to change dashboard widgets. Customizable, ribbon-based navigation menus. Successful mobile access from multiple operating systems using Google Chrome. Customer relationship management (CRM) available in the 300 product line.

Cons

Custom report design is not easy to learn; Payroll and inventory unavailable as 300 components. No hard timetable for adding modules. No flowchart/process navigation. Limited dashboard widgets on screen. No drill-down or navigation capability.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tara H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Good project management software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/08/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Sage 300 is a user-friendly, fairly easy to navigate software. It is especially helpful in tracking subcontractor change orders and budget adjustments. The standard reports provide information that is easy to understand and is very helpful in figuring out where your project stands financially at any given point in time.

Cons

It is easy for users to document change orders inconsistently, there is a lot of room for variance which means that the documents produced can vary in appearance from one user to the next.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jackie P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

28 year Sage/Timberline user

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/06/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I've tried other programs, but Sage/Timberline is the best and most efficient accounting program I've found.

Pros

1. outstanding customer service and technical support
2. excellent job costing and subcontractor commitment tracking, both of which are most important to me
3. custom reports are a fantastic way to see exactly what I want to see and not a bunch of unnecessary info

Cons

it can be a little picky about the server it likes best. software updates need to be done one at a time, so if your IT misses a couple, you can't skip ahead.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jennifer G.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use accounting and project management software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use and easy to select reports and project management information.

Pros

Easy to use and provides excellent reporting capabilities. I like how all the different applications interact with each other and I am able to keep track of everything. All users can pull the required information and print reports.

Cons

Sometimes I have trouble converting reports to and excel or word format. I believe that they have additional software for this but we have not purchased this portion.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jackie P.
Industry: Construction

Sage/Timberline Job Costing

Reviewed on 20/05/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I have been using Sage/Timberline accounting software since 1989. I find it user friendly. I like that I am able to have custom reports that show the information that I need in the format that I want to see. Not that I use it very often, but I have found the Sage/Timberline customer service the best of any company I have ever worked with. My very picky IT person has never had a complaint about the customer service and has actually complimented it, which, for him, is unusual.

Cons

the software can be picky about being on a server with other software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Liz G.
Industry: Real Estate

5 year Sage User

Reviewed on 12/08/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Vendor is very responsive and customer service is knowledgeable. Also several methods available to look for answer to your questions.

Cons

Hard to figure out how to write reports to meet our business needs. Or report can't pull all the information together in one spot. Took report write courses but still had to contract with outside business intelligence service to pay them to write our custom reports and information "digestion". Also the fact that you cannot access information older than a few years is a huge drawback to a company like ours that develops land projects over 10 or 15 years. And finally I have had a lot of trouble trying to do a live a chat or even get into some of the customer service portals so there is something in Sage there that does not "talk" to our servers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Marlene W.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great product but needs some more evident enhancments

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/04/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall I think Sage 300 is the best software in the JC accounting area that there is.

Pros

most of the time it is very self evident about how to get around the software and how to use. The menus are easy to follow and the support from the consultants, TUG and Sage is very helpful to the user.

Cons

Need so have some better enhancements to AR ( Zero Deposits) some things that are so easy in other software programs seem so hard to complete in Sage 300

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Danielle B.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Sage 300 Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/10/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I've used this software for the past 5 years, I think it's very easy to use and very easy to understand. It's a very simple software to use, it is self explanatory when it comes to inputting data and what to input, as well as where to input.

Pros

Very easy to follow! Easy and quick to use. Self explanatory links and icons. Functionality is great! I've never had any issues with it.

Cons

You have to be looking for the information you want, you wont be able to just come across the information you need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Karen J.
Industry: Construction

Window based software with specialized applications

Reviewed on 23/04/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I like how the applications/modules are separate allowing for more detailed information within yet they communicate with one another. It allows to customize beyond belief from which modules post to one another (or simply tracking entries) to custom descriptions/fields. I like how the security features allow for you to grant an individual tasks or simply only reports/inquiries. I also love the built in report designer.

Cons

Often with upgrades there are features that were capable in the past but aren't available in the future. Also, some data is striped from application to application causing problems when trying to customize reports.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cj H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sage300 User

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great system... you have to have staffing to use all the features. One person may not have enough time in a day to properly use Sage300 for job costing and accounting.

Pros

I like the conditioning of items and how an individual may customize a report. It handles multi-company accounting... very helpful.

Cons

The learning curve is a little steeper and their are some "canned" reports still not available. Requires a fair amount of processing staff.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mike C.

I have been using this product for over 20 years.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 07/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Assembly takeoffs and easy user modified databases. Easy to train new users and keep all users using the same format. Pricing updates are simple through the database inks. Easy to modify or add new items to the database, or create one time items for oddball things that are not common.

Cons

Merging estimates I lose my main estimate cover page data. Would like to be able to specify which to keep.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ben H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Powerful Software for Construction Accounting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/08/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

After learning the product, I'm not sure I will ever choose a different accounting, PM system for my company.

Pros

Many features for construction companies big and small. There are a lot of different options for this program including accounting, project management, payroll, estimating, etc.

Cons

User interface is tedious and difficult until you learn it well. It is an expensive program to purchase but saves money in the long run.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Melody P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

User for many years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I like that Sage 300 CRE can cover several aspects of our construction company, such as accounting, project management, job cost, etc. Each module talks to the other one. The customer support is excellent.

Cons

Sometimes it's hard to search a specific help topic. Every now and then we'll come across strange quirks in the system that doesn't make sense, but support is able to help.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

David K.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using this software for a long, long time. It used to be called Timberline Software. It has always worked properly and performed well for accounting and reporting.

Pros

Very stable. Does the job of accounting and reporting for both real estate and construction entities.

Cons

No drill down ability. Reports do not normally print in excel automatically.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kathryn A.
Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Sage 300 CRE

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall we have been using Sage (formerly Timberline - we still call it that) since 2003. Very happy with this product.

Pros

Allows detailed entries into all modules. Sage Knowledgebase has had every answer. The ability to filter is great!

Cons

Sage Knowledgebase search is difficult. Sometime have to word different ways before finding an answer. Can be unforgiving sometimes with errors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kevin V.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A total Accounting and Project Management Solution for your Construction Company

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Very easy to use. Customer support and knowledge-base and other support tools. Easy to design own queries and reports.

Cons

Would like more of a GUI/Graphic/Windows interface and menus. Would rather a full SQL database platform instead of pervasive database platform. Costs a little high as far as annual maintenance contracts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Debi H.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sage products are robust however the learning curve poses a barrier

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/09/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Too complicated for the average staffer

Pros

Extensive features make the program a powerful tool. The useful reporting features create shareable data

Cons

The program is extremely difficult to use. The training time required to bring staff to a point where they can produce makes it a very expensive tool

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Monica P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Sage 300

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

this program is very user friendly and effecient.

Pros

I like that this software does not let you proceed if there is an amount error in the accounting module

Cons

I do not like that there are so many different reports that generally do the same thing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10