208 reviews
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
4
87% recommended this app
208 reviews
Lisa T.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 11-50 Employees

You can't ignore Google!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/10/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Adwords is an excellent tool for advertisers of all types in almost all industries. Their customer support is stellar (at least for a business) and their new interface makes it even easier to use and manage. Provided you have your tracking set up in Google Analytics it's easy to jump in and get started and quickly see what is/ isn't working while optimizing your content for the conversions you want.

Cons

Adwords is not something you can set up and then walk away. In order to get a return, there does need to be someone that monitors the campaigns and looks and what is and isn't working as poor performing campaigns can quickly run away with your budget in a blink of an eye.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Easy to use and report on

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/12/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Overall it has helped me grow my business and I have a good experience with it.

Pros

Easy to use and report on. Creates reporting for me and allows customization. Even gives me recommendations.

Cons

Is a bit less so on the visual design side but has what you need operate just fine. Very simple and to the point.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Unbeatable for quality PPC

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/11/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

We used it for multiple PPC campaigns for different regions across Canada. The setup and rolling out of our ads was very easy and was guided, almost the entire way. Very easy to segment the market, and target specifics in terms of interests, location, search terms, and age.

Cons

Can be quite expensive compared to other search engines. But that is to be expected as they are the most popular choice for consumers to use. They also removed the free keyword search tool, which didn't affect us as we were paying almost immediately, however it would have been nice to research before we starting paying.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David K.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Adwords is amazing..

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/03/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Overall it’s been amazing but the customer service reps and recommendations system leave a bit to be desired.

Pros

I run an agency where our bread and butter is doing AdWords search campaigns for clients. Managing AdWords has literally provided a career and livelihood for me... it’s also given time the ability to generate tens of thousands of leads and well over $10 million dollars in revenue for my clients. Over the years the platform has evolved a lot and in its current iteration it’s more user friendly than ever and I enjoy using it a lot.

Cons

The recommendations system doesn’t always give good recommendations for example it will recommend running responsive search ads for basically every ad group but it’s been VERY rare in my experience that responsive search ads have outperformed revalue ads for our clients... worse yet the recommendations system punishes you for dismissing recommendations (including mediocre ones). Also customer support can be pretty awful at times. Minor issues overall.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Panneer S.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

No more Google Adwords now its Google Ads

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/02/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I can't say one of the best because it is the only best when it comes to search ads, display ads, pull the target audience to our websites, pick the best keywords, plan the keywords, monitoring the conversion, budgets, and bids control and adjustment. Its a pack of all the good digital marketing tech tools. Thanks, Google.

Cons

The Least I like on Google Ads is the audience section, not many options given if there is an integration of analytics data into audience section that would be great

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Animation
Company size: Self Employed

So many options and settings it's crazy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It's one of the most important pieces of software that Google operates. This drives so much traffic to any website it's crazy. There's so many options and you can set specific budgets and goals to get the most of your money.

Cons

It has way too many options, I had to contact google several times just to get my account going as it's just too much. There's also too many "hidden" menus that are very important but gets ignored because it's not very well listed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A must use for marketers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp

It is demanding but totally worths it.

Pros

There are so many options in terms of tools, reporting options and services that, combined with the effectiveness of a well set up campaign, this is a service a marketer cannot afford to overlook.

Cons

It requires extra training and knowledge and sometimes it gets frustrating. Especially when due to the attribution model used there are significant discrepancies between GoogleAds and Google analytics results.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easiest of the Ad Platforms to Use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/09/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Easy to use with loads of tutorials in addition to helpful customer service. New features and updates are added regularly. Up to date options for video, display and apps. AdWords offers many ways to reach users.

Cons

Google changes the interface often. It can be difficult to find the help file you need depending on what the feature, policy or issue is.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great for lead generation, awareness and growing business quickly

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/02/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Google Adwords has helped the business to scale quickly. We have managed to acquire lots of new customers via Adwords, whilst getting a great return on investment.

Cons

Requires a fair bit of work each day/week to optimise campaigns to make sure we are not wasting spend and continuing to get the most from search and display campaigns.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Peter D.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Awesome once you know how to do it!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/07/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Google Adwords is a work of art. A masterclass in capitalism, automation, and risk. Just remember, there are two types of Adwords campaign: those that make money and those that lose it.

Pros

Google Adwords is a faucet for new clients.

Cons

Expensive For Clicks and Dangerous for beginners.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pshemislav K.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

It's a must when advertising

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/06/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Biggest ads network. Many targeting options. Suitable for almost all types of business. Very friendly and helpful customer support.

Cons

In some niches, the cost of advertising is very high and the return of investment (ROI) is not worth it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brittney C.
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The service is very useful, but the dimensions are limiting.

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 03/08/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

AdWords has been very helpful in spreading the word about the company and increasing interest, but I think it has worked best for us as a tool to re-engage those who have shown interest in the past. I love the remarketing option for Google Adwords that enables our ads to pop up on the screens of those who have previously shown interest in our services. It's a much more targeted marketing strategy and it's great if you're on a budget because you won't have to pay a fee for the ad if no one clicks on it.

Cons

I don't have many cons to mention about Google AdWords, but I did have a little trouble designing the banners for our campaign. Prior to signing up for Google Adwords, we had a few designs that we already wanted to use. Upon signing up and deciding to go for it, we realized that your ad design has to fit specific dimensions that Google has already pre-determined, which made us have to start over. I understand that there should be limitations on how large an ad is, but the dimensions were a little weird and limited creativity.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Boost your website traffic and sales

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/11/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Very effective means of demand generation for any type of business out there and is truly a must these days to be participating in the ecosystem.

Cons

For those that are unfamiliar with the platform and terminology, it can be overwhelming at first sight. If you'll be managing the account for your company or even if you have an agency handling it for you, make sure to take at least some courses to help maximize the value you get from it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kate M.

A Must for Modern Businesses

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/11/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Google Adwords is basically an unparalleled way to get your products/ business in front of eyes online. You are able to target traffic in a variety of ways, the bidding is straightforward and the network of places your ads can be seen it truly vast.

Cons

The only con that I have come across for Google Adwords is simply the time it takes to learn the platform. It is not as easy as just jumping in and getting started. It does take some time to ramp up to be able to use it effectively. Thankfully google does provide lots of training and support to get you started.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shannon M.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Google Ads Review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Google Ads is a great feature to use when wanting to continue to browse items / topics of interest

Pros

Google Ads is very smart in the sense that it runs the proper analytics to showcase specific ads I want to see as a user.

Cons

I do not always like that when I click on a Google Ad, it then only recommends ads related to the ad I selected. I would like to see other ad options.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great way to get more traffic to your website

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Easy to setup
Easy to use
Very effective for getting more traffic to your website
Easy to see what your competition is doing with Google Adwords as well

Cons

Can be expensive (e.g. monthly, ongoing costs)
There is a small learning curve
After a while, it may be worthwhile to switch to FREE organic search results

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Google did it again!

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/08/2020
Review Source: GetApp

All in all it all has to make sense financially for your business and if you are a SMB, I would recommend using only a small percentage of our budget to advertising on Google. There really is no reason to blow your month's budget every single month.

Pros

Google Adwords is a premium service and helped us bring more conversions in comparison to other forms of advertising. They have somewhat of a monopoly on the search industry and this helps bring quality traffic.

Cons

While Google Adwords yields great results it can be a bit pricey. As the saying goes "don't put all of your eggs in one basket" and that is so true with marketing. Spread your resources and beta test Google Adwords before spending too much.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Anastasios P.

Expensive but you get results.... kind of.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/02/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Depending on the industry you are in, your experience might be different from mine. The cost of keywords for me is on average during the holidays is high which eats up my daily budget extremely quickly. You will get lots of traffic to your site, however the quality of the traffic is questionable.

Looking at the analytics of my site, most people just click the ad and stay for a few seconds and leave. That is money down the drain for somebody that either accidentally clicked an ad when trying to get rid of it or clicking on it for who knows what reason. I usually get enough sales to break even or have a small loss in my ad campaigns. During non holiday time, the cost is much lower (I pay about 60cents per click) so my budget lasts much longer, but still the traffic quality is hit or miss. I called adwords support(which is great) and even doing everything they told me I saw no improvements.

Pros

Largest ad network
Provides lots of traffic
Excellent customer support

Cons

Low Quality Traffic
Expensive

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Ultimately fails to generate paying customers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/01/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I want to like it. It's easy to use and makes it easy to reach a lot of people in a very targeted way.

Cons

While it brought us lots of traffic, over the long run it has failed to bring us paying customers. Traffic is nice, but if nobody spends money it doesn't ultimately help us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Jassim M.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

aggressive accounting

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 03/05/2019
Review Source: GetApp

I stopped using Adwords, because it is easy to get lost.

Pros

adwords provides a quality marketing solution for businesses to reach clients globally. Also, it provides the ability to customize the ads.

Cons

I can't understand the way they charge clients. When i choose a daily plan on a certain $ amount, i get charged right the way even though the total number of clicks is not enough for the daily plan.

Also, the dashboard is complicated to navigate through and to manage my account.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Chandrasekhar B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

It was a great experience in using

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 24/07/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It was user friendly and good advertising service.Easily connect to customers on the web with adwords

Cons

Advertisers pay to display brief advertisement ,service offerings,product listings and video content with in Google ad

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: Self Employed

Effective with great analytic tools

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 14/02/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Super useful to target potential customers via google. I like that you can really see how you're doing and how your money and keywords are performing. If you have resources to put towards SEM but is a great tool.

Cons

Of course there are no images via google adwords and the biggest spender often wins unless you have a great SEM team or strategy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Daniel B.
Industry: Sporting Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Room for improvement, but the standard for PPC

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

- Reach the largest audience in the world
- Segmenting options are robust
- Plenty of customization options (timezones, demographics, buying behavior, etc.)

Cons

- Can get expensive
- Difficult to learn
- Granting permissions for accounts can be complex and confusing

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Nathan C.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: Self Employed

Rating only

Reviewed on 08/03/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Great tool for ads

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/02/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Dashboard for quickly adding new campaigns.

The analytics on campaigns provides useful information.

Cons

It can take quite an investment of time in learning how to use it to make it valuable for your campaigns.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10