Chargify

4.3 (198)
Recurring billing and subscription management

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(198)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support Software
4.3/5

89%
recommended this app

198 Software options

Loris D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Till Date

Reviewed on 04/11/2016

It is a great app. I can totally rely on it. Compare to other apps, it's quick, efficient, I love how easy it is to manage the funds with it! Also, it integrates really well with the other tools we use. It has quick responsive services. Must say this is great service. Very relaxing and easy.

Pros

Chargify’s Revenant billion answer is ideal for small scale and midsize growing corporations.
It offers mobile dedicated app for iPhone and for iPad device users, not like different similar tools. The client support of Chargify offers phone, on-line and mail support for users.
The Revenant charge platform supports integration with Salesforce not like different similar tools.
The Revenant billion answer offers yearly, quarterly and monthly charge cycles feature.
Chargify doesn’t supply any mobile dedicated app for robot smartphone and pill users.

Cons

The continual charge resolution doesn’t supply intelligent funds routing feature like different similar tools.
The customer-bound mail feature of Chargify isn't extremely customizable like different similar tools.

Allen H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

It's their way, or the highway.

Reviewed on 13/09/2019

Chargify has been a royal pain ever since implementation. It's possible that the people in our team didn't follow some of the best practices, however we've encountered many bugs along the way to trying to make peace with the product.

There are some major areas where the product is too inflexible, and I regret implementing it in the first place.

Pros

They are slowly implementing features I've been asking about for a long time.

Cons

I dislike that Chargify decided it was Ok to add a % of income fee on top of monthly fee they initially charged. Our costs increased 5-fold and the value did not increase.

I also dislike that when applying existing payments to invoices, the money paid by our customer can disappear, and must be manually adjusted. There's literally no excuse for this.

Alternatives Considered

Chargebee, CheddarGetter, and Stripe

Reasons for Switching to Chargify

At the time, the fixed fee made chargify much cheaper than the alternatives. Since they have added on the % of revenue on top, they are as expensive, or more, and have less features than Stripe.
Carlin W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

We rely heavily on Chargify for Platform

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Customizing payment options and plans within one account for multiple different enterprises.

Pros

Our software is primarily a subscription based service with various enterprise clients that all have different needs for their representatives. This means we have to tailor the pricing models based on the services these clients are using. Chargify makes it easy to quickly ascertain our revenues and churn rates and also identify key areas of improvement. Chargify is a robust platform we have chosen to implement and will continue to support.

Cons

Due to the extensive features Chargify has, it can be quite daunting at first glance for someone not experienced with running different kinds of reports. However, once they get up and running, the process gets smoother, but it is an initially steep learning curve in my opinion.

Alternatives Considered

Authorize.Net

Reasons for Switching to Chargify

Ease of use and the amount of features available.
Madison M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intuitive UI and Flexible Configuration

Reviewed on 13/09/2019

We've sped up accounting, streamlined processes, and gave our customers a better experience.

Pros

It is intuitive to use. While there is a learning curve at the beginning, once you understand the general layout, Chargify is easy to use. They've expanded on their analytics, making the application more instrumental in business decisions backed by real data. Their API and webhooks allow for integrations that suit my company's workflow. Instead of disrupting or working around Chargify, the software pairs well with our pre-established setup.

Cons

The coupon set up can be limiting for some of our promos. More coupon options would be ideal.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chargify is simple and easy to use, but also a very robust tool

Reviewed on 12/02/2019

We are a company with thousands of active and inactive customers and Chargify gives us the ability to easily manage all of our accounts without hassle. It takes seconds to process new charges, generate billing statements, and apply refunds. We are much more efficient as a team thanks to Chargify!

Pros

-Easy to process charges in a matter of seconds
-Reviewing and sending out billing statements is quick and simple
-Updating payment information is easy to do over the phone or by sending a "self service link"
-Processing refunds takes moments

Cons

-Not being able to update contact information on billing statements after a charge has been processed

Response from Chargify

We're glad to hear Chargify has helped make your team much more efficient. Thank you for the feedback - our team is always working to improve our product!

Chris J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Incredible

Reviewed on 12/02/2019

I like how easy it is to create reports. Working in Customer Care, it's my responsibility to call our insureds that are past due. With 5 clicks I have a spreadsheet and I'm off making my calls for the day.

Pros

The ease of use and the fact that it's never down. We've used a couple of different payment companies in the past 10 years or so and they'd send out an email saying, "We will be down for maintenance from 2:00 EST to 4:00 EST" on a Monday or Tuesday. That didn't work for us at all.

Cons

Nothing. I love it!!!! There is nothing I would change.

Gary P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

They have always been professional and helpful.

Pros

Their customer service is great - the team is knowledgeable and responsive. The product seems to work well, although there was a bit of a learning curve at the start.

Cons

Probably the price and lack of comprehensive reports that go across currencies - although the recent release of an MRR report across sites is a definite step in the right direction.

Dave T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Relationship invoicing has constant bugs, can't rely on Chargify

Reviewed on 30/09/2019

There has been a LOT of ongoing frustration on as they slowly fix bugs. We signed up and used some very new features of Chargify that weren't ready for prime-time. They didn't tell us we'd be guinea pigs when signing us up for a service with a $$$$ premium price tag. Hopefully anyone that follows will benefit from our testing of the software. Obviously Chargify isn't doing sufficient testing internally.

I regret choosing Chargify, but don't have the time to drop them yet.

Pros

Good fit for monthly SaaS, if not using the buggy relationship invoicing/customer hierarchies

Cons

Relationship invoicing and customer hierarchies have been continuously buggy. Basic features like partial refunds were missing at first, or partially functional. Support response is quick, but unhelpful. Escalation takes a while for a permanent fix. We're having to add a secondary system for managing our customer subscriptions to work around all of the errors in Chargify. We have ongoing retraining of our employees for bug work-arounds.

Tania G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chargify is great for managing subscriptions

Reviewed on 29/04/2019

Over all experience is great!

Pros

It keeps all account's details separated by sections which makes it easier for the users to find out specific data from customers.

We have 5 processors and they all work with Chargify which is amazing. We don't need more software or do more work to manage the billing.

You can manage the access given all users which is great.

Cons

It would be great if we could integrate all subscriptions from different processors in just one Chargify account.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Chargify review

Reviewed on 25/03/2019

Pros

The option to rebill customers monthly. It was also very affordable for us when we first started the business and our customer support team is able to easily navigate and learn the platform.

Cons

Our customers frequently complain about the billing portal. However, we are working on our own solution for this.

Tanya V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Great Experience

Reviewed on 05/10/2017

Pros

The sales process and the setup process were both so great. I felt very well taken care of by, especially by my on-boarding specialist, Kayla. She took me through a very stressful transition (let's be honest, money and technology can stress a person out) and made it smooth and easy. I'm very happy to be on track and using the system now. And I love it! I went with Chargify because it seemed like the only system that would allow me to both charge clients cards automatically, but also send invoices to those clients that need to pay by check, ACH or wire transfer. We have a lot of international clients, so this was imperative for us.

Cons

There are a few places that improvements could be made, but they are minor and the staff seem very open to hearing comments. I do wish we could go back and edit invoices that have already been created. But I understand the reasoning behind it. I would also like to see more advanced/flexible reporting.

Paul K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Long time user

Reviewed on 09/09/2019

Pros

When everything is going crazy on an account, this is a safe place to actually know what is going on with the money. This place always tells the "truth" about whats going on.

Cons

It takes a while to fully learn. I've been using it for over 2 years and i still 2nd guess myself.

Darryl L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Chargify review

Reviewed on 11/09/2019

Billing several thousand credit card monthly subscribers - worked well for doing this.

Pros

Ease of managing subscriptions
Link to Xero worked well

Cons

New pricing structure
Difficulty of setting up a feed with credit card merchant (used eway)
Inability to migrate credit card numbers to another software

Shane C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Recurring billing using Chargify

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Pros

Solid platform that is helping us increase revenue through automation and decrease dunning loss.

Cons

The analytics could be more adjustable for us to run reports instead of exporting and creating a report outside of Chargify. Getting better as they work on it though.

Maddie L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Works well!

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

Overall, Chargify works well for us and gets the job done.

Pros

So much of Chargify is automated. It's so nice to use a software that allows you to "set it and forget it".

Cons

There are some features we'd like Chargify to have that it does not offer.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chargify simplifies your accounts

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

Overall, we have had a positive experience with Chargify. It makes our day-to-day operations much easier and quicker.

Pros

Chargify allows our company to manage subscriptions without any hassle.

Cons

The ability to edit invoices. It should be easier

Hayden P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Visually Pleasing But Lacking Features

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

Pros

I loved the reporting they provided. You could log in and see your MTD MRR and basically any stats on that same level in graph form.

Cons

They didn't have a great way for enterprises to track the parent/child relationship. It can get messy if you don't leave very detailed notes.

Isabel K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Chargify Review

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Pros

Easy to find what I'm looking for on a customer subscription

Cons

one account can't have multiple products

Rigoberto D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chargify

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Pros

I like the ease of use and the customer service

Cons

None that i have experienced. I like it.

Noelle S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for handling Saas Subscriptions.

Reviewed on 11/09/2019

Pros

Great customer support team. Does the job for managing SaaS subscriptions.

Cons

Not always the easiest to understand or navigate. At times seems overly complicated.

Jeannie C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CHARGIFY

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

GOOD

Pros

EASY TO USE AND HAS A CLEAR DASHBOARD.

Cons

I WISH IT WAS INTEGRATED WITH SHOPIFY. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS UNABLE TO ASSIST AND VICE VERSA.

Tracy T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

Pros

The onboarding team was amazing. They would hop on a call anytime we had questions and walk us through how to use the system for our needs.

Cons

Wasn't meant for what we are using it for so we had a few challenges but not to the fault of Chargify.

June A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Not good

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

Pros

It allows us to sell by subscription...that is the only thing that is good.

Cons

We sell our software by subscription, and were told your software is available. Our customers hate, and we are likely loosing a lot of them, because this is a 2 step process....you set up their account and then we set up their container in the cloud.

Matteo M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chargify is a really awesome product

Reviewed on 14/02/2019

It's always reactive and precise. It's very useful to track MRR and subscriptions.

Pros

I like the easy-to-use interface and the fluidity it works.

Cons

Sometimes it's really hard to understand how to adjust balance.

Adrielli G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Chargify review

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Pros

The UI looks very sleek and new-age. Very modern feel to it.

Cons

Very hard to understand coming into it new where to find certain features and what it means.