95 reviews

Mailgun

Transactional email API service for developers

4.5 /5 (95 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.5
/
5
Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.1
87% recommended this app
95 reviews
Brandon M.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Incredible Deliverability, Clean Platform, Success with MailGun!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Super pleasant, great chat support, fast email support replies, always quick to help and communicate.

Pros

Clean UXI for navigating the system, simple set up, clear dashboard to find issues quickly and navigate around the site. Ability to clean database lists to minimize bounce. However, the BEST part is they are free up to 10,000 emails a month, which is a ton! So to give the full custom power of connecting your domain and sending out, that's a huge value. I will get over that limit and upgrade soon, but that is an incredible way to start a relationship. Almost a year of free service to use their system versus my server.

Cons

I actually have not found anything that I do not like. Many will complain about high bounce rates or going into spam. I find that issue arrises on multiple factors outside of mailgun control, such as the receiving server, and the mail habits of the person opening it, do they get a bunch of spammy mail already? And was the mail piece written in a poor nature, this increases spam folder direction, however, they do have dedicated IP service for those wanting to mitigate one area of cause for spam direction. Again, never been my experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel N.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Setup and use anywhere any how even API or SMTP

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use mailgun as transactional email services, their free tier fit with our basic usage.

Pros

API is very easy to integrated, SMTP alternative is a quick start to use in software that require SMTP protocol to send email.

Cons

Current dashboard is kind of complicated, sometime I could not find a setting or where I could set a adjustment.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Well priced mail delivery platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 01/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great pricing for small users, very generous trial use. Decent API easy to integrate.

Cons

No dedicated IP range for small users. Hosting outside UK (at time of consideration for upgrade)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Aaron D.
Industry: Internet

Almost a necessity with server configs and email filters!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Mailgun ensures that emails sent from your site make it the destination email inbox and not the spam folder. Easy to use, free for the first 10,000 and has mail logs. All around, a great product!

Pros

Mailgun ensures that emails from your website actually make it to their destination. With their free tier covering the first 10,000 emails, it's a free solution to a prominent issue: emails getting stuck in email filters or not making it at all. Mailgun is easy to sign up for and easy to integrate into your site, especially if you are using WordPress. Absolutely love the mail logs too - that's come in quite handy on many an occasion.

Cons

As a web developer, I understand the need and value of Mailgun. It can be difficult for new users to understand this though.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cuong T.
Industry: Internet
Company size: Self Employed

The best SMTP provider I love most

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 09/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Mailgun worked for me seamlessly, no challenge and I'm happy to use it, even will buy their Pro Plan in the future.

Pros

I use Mailgun for my email marketing services and it works perfectly. Mailgun helped all my emails go straight to my prospectors' inbox instantly without any challenges.

With 10.000 free emails/month is a super deal for small business.

Besides, Mailgun is truly flexible for developers with Webhook Support, API support, SMTP user manager, Email Template Builder.

Cons

I hope Mailgun support Email Template Builder with Drag&Drop function that easier for me to create email templates for my workflow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Héctor A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Need email notification support? This is the one

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 04/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Is easy to use, has great support and customer care is THE option for email notifications in your App/WebApp.

Pros

Easy to use! Supports integration with a lot of languages including PHP and Rails, we were able to use it in no time, They provide you with free mails monthly for when your startup is starting and is blazing fast, much better than connecting the app to a conventional email.

Cons

Nothing at all, hoping they can implement PWA notifications soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Reliable base for emailing in a product

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We liked the simplicity and set it and forget it nature of the product. We never really ever had to go in and perform maintenance since when we first set up the service on our app a few years back.

Cons

We recently had an issue of emails not getting sent out that was due to a different service we had integrated with mailgun. Because of this issue, we had wondered if we were able to go back in the mailgun logs to see the old emails. Unfortunately, the logs only go back to about 2 months or so which meant we had just lost all the old data. It would have been nice if there was some option to perform automated backups of everything or automated exports after the 2 months period.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Scott B.

Decent Transactional Email Service with Great Dashboard and Logs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to set up; attractive log and web dashboard UI that makes it easy to track and identify bounces and errors

Cons

Cost isn't as attractive as some other similar alternatives (i.e. SparkPost); customer support is sometimes hit and miss on the level of helpfulness/knowledgeably they provide

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Florian P.

Great Email Service for Your Application Backend!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/08/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Our entire backend runs all of its email communications through that service, its super reliable.

Pros

- easy to install and set up
- great reliability
- nice dashboard where you can check the details of every sent email
- large free email volume plan!

Cons

Would be nice if it offered pre-designed email templates (created on their website) with CSS etc. which you could then call via the API with some custom values.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ariel G.
Industry: E-Learning
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good pay-as-you-go pricing structure, simple but powerful tools

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 01/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Mailgun's pay-as-you-go pricing structure is fantastic, especially if you don't need to send that much email. The pricing, including the free tier, is much more generous than what you can get with some pricier providers, like SendGrid. I mainly just use Mailgun as an SMTP server for web services, and the service has been set-up-and-forget, which is great because I never even have to log onto the Mailgun website and do any work. Mailing list support also looks great for rolling-your-own and not relying on more expensive mailing list services.

Cons

It would be cool to have some client libraries like those that SendGrid provide, but this is also pretty superfluous because the REST API works great and is language agnostic.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jax W.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Does what it needs to do

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 01/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It works for mail, in every aspect, and works well. We send out hundreds of thousands of notifications, updates, announcements, and alerts as part of the communication system we run. Mailgun works smoothly for all of it, and invariably any issue we run into is with the other end, not with Mailgun!

Pros

Do you need a service that sends out lots of emails? Mailgun does it, with all the tracking that goes with it, from delivery status to spam reports, Mailgun provides the interface for managing all of it.

Cons

If you need it to do other things, well, it probably doesn't do that. But then why are you even looking for those things?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sahil S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best to send mails in bulk

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 24/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have used it for last month and it resolved many of my problems for sending mail in my application.

Pros

It is best product to send the mails in bulk . I am using this software for last 6 months and very helpful for sending mails in my applications and it also has a feature to very the mails .

Cons

Some of mails are delay to deliver I do not why but i found only this con in this software. It is also costly for some clients not everyone should afford it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ankit W.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Better solution for transactional email sending

Reviewed on 24/01/2016
Review Source: GetApp

I have used the mailgun service for many months, as an email sender for my blog's newsletter. Even with the free mailgun account, I was able to send about 10k emails from my blog's domain name per month. This seems quite a good number of emails for a blog newsletter.
Mailgun provides easy to use API support which makes it better competitor in mail service providers. It's simple and updated documentation makes it perfect for consuming full power of the mailing service in your application.
I will always recommend mailgun over it's competitors.

Pros

1. 10,000 emails per month in free account
2. Simple API support
3. Easy to use and configure

Cons

1. Lacks mobile version of email application, like Zohomail

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Program Development
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Mailgun review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 17/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Mailgun is a web site for sending mail. With mailgun, many mails can be sent for no coins. You start paying by the time your audience or mails are over 10.000

Cons

When subscribe, mailgun offers a free domaine for try. It just use the mail you used to subscribe. You can not sent any mail to others, except you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

António S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A compelling service with some shots missing

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 01/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Wanted to send thousands of personalized inviting emails, and wanted a painless experience. It was in terms of implementation but then to validate the delivery it was not so much. Support was a bit too slow, and only by email.

Pros

The free tier is one of the most compelling in the space, 10k free outbounding emails per month coupled with a simple to use API, makes it wonderfully quick to try it out.

Cons

They state almost 100% reliability, but I’ve found some issues with spam filters, specially to hotmail accounts. Also, while API is pretty simple to implement, their analytics and admin dashboard is not that much of a pleasant experience… API too easy, the rest a bit too hard.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Reliable and robust method for sending transactional emails

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 21/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We send everything non-marketing over it.

Pros

Very high deliverability rates, easy to integrate into.

Cons

Lack of pre-integrations into a few well known services.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alaattin K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 19/05/2016
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Malhar S.

Simple to setup and works great.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 09/08/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to setup, great docs, amazing cost and ease of implementation. The free 10,000 first email option is excellent and very competitive against other companies such as SendGrid.

Cons

After installation everything works but Contact Us does not send messages to any mail address.
Developer's support got also broken after first reply from Chuck.
I use CE-1.9.2

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

James B.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 14/12/2015
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Elliott L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great solution for mail sending from vps providers like AWS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use mailgun for all of our email sending needs across multiple servers and products. We implement mailgun as the default mail sender for any new projects too.

Pros

Its api is very simple to use, most PHP frameworks come with mailgun integration out of the box - if they don't, mailgun supports standard smtp anyway. Great usage graphs and multiple regions to send from. Is makes it very easy to send emails from php applications which would normally be blacklisted if you use standard php mail from inside a VPS on e.g amazon/azure/vultr/digitalocean. Very generous free tier.

Cons

Their anti spam measures can sometimes not work - if your sending details have been compromised you can be hit with a pretty large bill before you realize someone has been sending hundreds of thousands of emails on your behalf.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christopher C.
Industry: Photography
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Most reliable yet

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We've used a lot of solutions, we're a mid-sized business and don't send enough for our own IP, however, every other provider has not had great delivery due to that. Mailgun has been the first shared-IP provider to give us unbeatable performance.

Cons

Not being able to schedule emails more than 3-days in advance is a little bit of a downer, however, workarounds are simple.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John M.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Love Mailgun!!!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 01/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Allow me to remove the send-mail function away from the web-server, which can mean mail is affected (classed as SPAM) because of your website (HOSTING) IP address. Mailgun fixes this.

Pros

Like the fact that it helps your emails avoid Spam filters, which it achieves by ensuring the IP address(s) are clean.

Cons

When setting up the DNS (for the first time), if you have any conflicting records e.g. spf then this may / will prevent your account from being authenticated. A 5 min job can take 5 hours of waiting. Fortunately, Mailgun support is brilliant and can spot an error and offer a fix in seconds.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Reliable

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I'm using mailgun for transnational emails and I'm very happy I never encountered any problem, the interface is very good and simple, I like the fact we can setup multiple domains in the same account. All in all it's the best!

Cons

Mailgun didn't notify me when my account was suspended for a verification and in that time I lost many emails that may have resulted in contracts if they were delivered! You need to check you account regularly to make sure everything is OK!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ivan C.

One of the best email marketing solutions price wise

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We send email marketing to our user base through Mailgun, monitor results, and save money when compared to other solutions that are more manual..

Pros

We use Mailgun to send to large email marketing lists because it's more affordable than many alternatives. The UX is pretty solid and the reporting tools are nice.

Cons

Sometimes there are things in the report that don't make sense like an open rate dropping considerably one day and then back to normal. We can't really tell what caused that. Also the open rate is lower than other tools that are not marketing based. So perhaps they're tagged as marketing server. Not sure there's any way around that and they take email server health seriously

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: E-Learning
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Cost Effective Email Solution

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

1) Customer Support, through the inbuilt ticketing channel is very prompt and often resolves queries within the first attempt. Even if you're running the account primarily on free credits.
2) Seems to be reasonably priced if you need to send more than 10,000 emails a month

Cons

1) Delivery reports are saved for only 30 days, and doesn't have a CSV download option with delivery statuses.
2) Dedicated IP address is prohibitively expensive

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10