BOARD

4.5 (128)
Smarter planning, actionable insights, better outcomes.

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(128)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support Software
4.5/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

128 Reviews

Nicolas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Board boosts productivity

Reviewed on 05/06/2022

Board has a set of valuable features to perform efficient analysis, provide quality graphs and reports with current data. This adds a lot of value to decision making in our organization.

Pros

It's easy to interact with data and perform analysis from attractive reports. It allows you to create completely new dashboards and reports or you can simply modify the pre-established ones. Board has a toolkit that is an excellent tool for creating custom analysis and planning applications, this saves time and resources.

Cons

It has a considerable learning curve and needs to incorporate documentation that allows new users to use its full potential more quickly.

Lorenzo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

All in one bi tool for non it people

Reviewed on 25/01/2022

We use Board for an integrated BDG process, with approx 100 users.
The process is: sales BDG from salesmen via web, Cost center budg, purchase BDG, up to P&L and Balance Sheet /Cash flow.
Before we have tons of Excel files, now the flow is smooth and managed a workflow in Board.

Pros

With Board you can have in the same platform bi reporting, a planning tool for your budget/forecast, you can perform simulation.
You can setup your Board application without being an IT expert on coding.
Board has definetely helped to increase the level of knowledge of the business

Cons

Performances with large set of numbers can be improved

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Analytics Cloud

Reasons for Choosing BOARD

We cannot manage the BDG We were completely in hands of our consultants for any change All report were not connected, and sometime the same information in different reports was not coherent

Reasons for Switching to BOARD

Board was an all in one tool
Luca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

quick and easy to implement

Reviewed on 30/07/2020

Easy to learn to use, quick to create reports with graphs and useful objects to represent information, fast and stable

Pros

easy to set up database, easy to draw reports, perfect connections with Oracle, db2, Microsoft SQL.good performance both with client version and with web.

Cons

toolkit logic never allows you to use code that would make small changes faster, they can improve some objects like cockpits

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Solid BI Solution Once You Understand the Backend

Reviewed on 24/03/2020

The biggest challenge to effectively using and developing for the Board platform is that you don't always know what you don't know. While that is true of most products, I can definitively say that I would have deployed the Board platform quite differently then I actually did had I the knowledge I do now then. In that vain, you are best to fully learn the product before fully diving in.

Pros

This software accurately provides all of the insights my organization needs, including predictive analytics. In fact, if I ever leave my current organization, I will be heavily recommending this solution to my next employer.

Cons

The biggest complaint that I have with the system is the time it takes to access support. That said, I usually always have the support I need within 24 hours.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau and Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Choosing BOARD

We needed a more effective budgeting tool . Board was our selection from among the competitors for our business.

Reasons for Switching to BOARD

We saw the possibility to easily bring this BI tool to every division of our company, while the competitors did not inspire in us the same level of excitement.
Nicola
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One tool for different puroposes

Reviewed on 26/01/2022

Pros

BOARD doesn't require any program language, so both implementation and reporting could be in the hands of users without the support of an IT specialist.
It's possible to implement the same models collecting from different sources and mixing different kind of information to satisfy different needs in the same report

Cons

Since the system is 100% web based, the main improvement could be to make it usable with the main browsers (currently not all the features work for some of them).

Alternatives Considered

Qlik Sense

Reasons for Switching to BOARD

The other products were missing some of the features critical for us, like possiblity of data entry, calculation, multi-source or flexibility
Shelby
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reporting & Allocation tool

Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Overall a good product with a lot of flexibility.

Pros

We had very specific requirements in how we wanted to build allocations that we needed. This software was extremely flexible and allowed us to build our allocations exactly how we wanted to.

Cons

You are basically starting from scratch to build things, so without someone with some expertise, its not overly intuitive to build things from scratch. We had the help of a fantastic consultant that was very well versed in Board, so that made all the difference to us. We would not have been able to build what she did ourselves.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Choosing BOARD

We needed a software that could handle allocations that we were doing manually, and our reporting software was no longer supported.

Reasons for Switching to BOARD

The ability to have everything in one "module" and not have to buy separate modules or use multiple products to achieve everything we needed.
Giorgio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Flexibility and accuracy of management reporting

Reviewed on 03/02/2022

The integration with the ERP has made it possible to have data represented in a graphical way in an easy and fast way.
The accuracy, guaranteed by the software, allows us to work all on the same page without duplicating reports.
The amount of time for data processing was significantly reduced and this saving was invested in the qualitative interpretation phase.

Pros

The possibility of having a flexible and customizable tool based on your company reality.

Cons

The difficulty of using it in the absence of a consultant.

Alternatives Considered

Prophix, Jedox, Qlik Sense, CCH Tagetik, and Vena

Reasons for Switching to BOARD

We considered the technical aspects (like flexibility), cost and the possibility to have a supplier near our HQ.
Amy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Allocation & Replenishment

Reviewed on 09/02/2022

we are able to better respond to store needs for stock with optimized sizing and automated stock changes.

Pros

Easy to use. Like that we are able to do analysis in the tool and then directly go to actions. Straight forward integration

Cons

Difficult to trace issues when they occur.

Alternatives Considered

Aptos Retail Merchandising

Reasons for Switching to BOARD

Because of the BI and dashboarding functionality, and the experience of the team with similar luxury retailers.
Sally April
Overall rating
  • Industry: Semiconductors
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Versatile and robust BI platform

Reviewed on 21/06/2022

Pros

Board lets you connect and prepare data for analysis, making it easy to create visually pleasing dashboards and reports. Ensures effective management of metrics, which drive performance and productivity. It has excellent analytical and predictive functions, easy and has a lot of potential. Significantly improves decision making and guarantees optimal results.

Cons

Board needs to incorporate more customization options to create dashboards and reports.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Semiconductors
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful CPM and BI

Reviewed on 18/05/2022

Board offers the advantage of presenting and interpreting data and metrics with the most attractive reports in a unified way and with visually attractive dashboards, with information updated in real time.

Pros

It has an intuitive user interface and the preparation of reports and graphs is really easy to share. It provides a rich set of predefined data connectors ready to be used. Accessing the different data sources is easy, without complications that interrupt data management.

Cons

They can improve the response time of customer support and on the other hand, more documentation is needed to deepen the use of their functions.

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most powerful and versatile BI system I have ever used

Reviewed on 21/03/2018

Pros

As a complete BI solution, BOARD allows a developer to easily create the structures required to build extremely powerful and fast data models by using 'sparsity' - the method of calculating the actual space required for cube objects. A great strength in modelling is the ability to rename and change relationships on the fly. With a logical and very visual interface, BOARD is a pleasant environment to work in,which enhances productivity.
BOARD is able to provide end users the ability write back to cubes and create and amend entities. This ability makes the creation of workflows and security processes possible; a manager can add users and determine their level of access without returning to the developers. real time dynamic geo-charts allow for contextual maps to be created.

BOARD have now opened the BOARD Community where users can ask questions in forums as well as help other users. Example data models can be uploaded as well as associated documentation and videos. The community site is one of the best forums I have ever used and the community members are clearly passionate about the software, as well as very knowledgeable. There are a number of unique concepts which, once understood, really open up the power of BOARD and through the community, all users can gain this knowledge quickly and in a fun way as well as discuss ideas with their peers and consultants alike. The forum is in addition to the formal support portal.

I have used several enterprise BI systems and BOARD is by far the most exciting, fun and logical system I have ever used. It makes work truly enjoyable and provides a great sense of satisfaction when the developer discovers something new all the time.

Cons

Without the community forum, learning the unique skills to leverage BOARD over other apps was a slow process, even after attending the full training package in London. However, with the latest release and with direct access to BOARD experts and peers, BOARD has become a very exciting and enjoyable app to work on everyday and I cannot, at this point, state any cons. That is not to say that there are'nt any, just that what issues I did have have all been addressed in the latest release and with access to the community

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Board Partner and User

Reviewed on 02/03/2015

Pros

When looking to partner with a BI software vendor, we had a few key capabilities that we were looking for in a solution. These capabilities included: 1) the product must be easy to setup and configure and not require lengthy project implementation timelines; 2) the product must be able to empower the end users to create dynamic visualizations to support the needs of their business; 3) support for the analytics must not require an army of developers or technical personnel to maintain the application

Many of our customers are mid-market companies that can't afford large expensive reporting solutions, but still require the quality and usability factors that users get from the more expensive off the shelf products. BOARD provided all of this and so much more. Our customers begin realizing value almost immediately following the initial implementation, visualization their business in ways they have never been able to before through dynamic interactive dashboards and reports.

The product also offers our customers with a way to quickly keep up with their changing business. With BOARD, as the business changes and new questions need to be asked, the product provides the subject matter experts with the ability to dynamically create valuable visualizations to find their answers. No need for report writers when you have a controller or back office user who knows the right questions to ask to affect the performance of the organization. With this product, gone are the days of the technical business analyst trying to interrupt the request from the business, and instead the business is now creating exactly what they need with little involvement from IT.

Cons

There is some redundancy in the product, which at times can and will require users to have to repeat a formula on multiple reports instead of making the change once and all the reports get updated. This is an area that I see the product improving in overtime.

Allen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Implementor

Reviewed on 06/03/2015

Pros

I like my relationship with the sales team the best. The front end reporting features and functions. I also like the flexibility of Board to be a BI, FP&A, Consolidation, and Reporting tool and that Board is 100% GUI interface - no programming. I can always find someone to help with my questions. I also like the ease of installing and updating Board Software. It is pain-free compared to a lot of software I've experienced. Finally, how wonderful Board demos to customers.

Cons

What I like the least is the limited Board Data Reader for flat files. It does not specify what fails to load in detail from the Board Data Reader log.It does not allow for both field and columns reading at the same time. We should never have to massage/manipulate any files GL extracts to load into Board. It does not allow for exception maps (i.e. all data is mapped one-to-one except for the following). On-line documentation and Knowledge Base is limited. It should include all Customer Case call resolutions and Server installation requirements. Nexel is a good start, but needs to be on Rows, besides Columns. Also, there's a bug with only reading the 1st column. Next, we need formatting in DataViews (e.g. Cell level Underlines, Double Underlines, Changes in font, Bolding, Annotations, etc.). Another opportunity is Dependency Reporting for dynamic DataView Reports showing specified levels. Lastly, Class Attribute Filtering calculations (this may be available is some form, just haven't figured it out, yet.) Offering Advanced implementer training and certifications would be helpful.

Kristine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

BOARD - A easy to use and powerful BI tool - All in one solution

Reviewed on 19/03/2015

Pros

We were one of BOARD’s first Customers in Australia, and we have been using this product in our business for over 10 years. We found BOARD to be an easy to use and extremely flexible tool that has improved our business processes. As a programmer who would spend countless hours developing reports to meet the ever changing business requirements, I was blown away in the POC by the user-friendly interface and the ease to create reports so quickly on the fly to meet our entire business needs. I have not created another report program since, as BOARD can do it all. Not only is it a powerful tool for creating reports and dashboards, but the forecasting and budgeting functions that allows write back to cubes and the running of scenarios, makes it an all in one BI tool. One feature over the years that our business has embraced is the Excel Add-in feature, and due to its easy to use interface, users are able to run reports in Excel themselves.

Cons

I have no dislikes of the product and am impressed by the improvements made to BOARD over the past years, as it shows they are future thinking in understanding what Businesses are after.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Outstanding Product that has become a critical tool for managing, monitoring and operating our...

Reviewed on 21/12/2017

Numerous... can better manage our biz to ensure optimal decisions are made for both tactical and strategic problems and opportunities.

Pros

-- Extremely easy to set up and use. It's easy to train new users and integrate with new data sources.
-- Powerful capabilities to "slice and dice" data, analyze different datasets, create KPIs and broadcast reports to others. We utilize Board beyond the financials... use for operational, sales, logistics, customer service and environmental applications.
-- Excellent support from Board on both "how-to" questions and any internal IT issues that may arise. They take recommendations and act on them. They connect customers to share best practices.
-- Frequent new releases that extend capabilities. Board stays ahead of the curve and provides new features to address their customers' potential needs in the future.
-- Good price point with several license types for different user profiles.

Helene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

With Board, coordinating logistics is much easier

Reviewed on 09/06/2022

We use this software to coordinate in a simple but effective way, all the logistics of shipments, routes and freight of our products to different customers nationwide. It has a tracking system that allows us to know the exact location of the cargo in real time.

Pros

The program sends real-time alerts of the entire route of the goods and the entire supply chain, notifying the arrival of the goods, if there is any delay or mishap. It has a fleet management tool, where we can organize and control the entire fleet of trucks, those that are on the route, those that are about to leave, their location and many other important details. It also allows a complete tracking of drivers, to know their history, mileage, location and determine the safety of the load.

Cons

Real-time updates on the location of the parcel do not load properly without a stable internet connection. The signature capture and barcode reader sometimes does not work, so we must restart the application and even the cell phone to read it. I would like the integrations to be simpler. A lot of configuration is needed for the programs I need to work correctly within the software.

Gabriel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

BOARD is our reporting for company figures and our budgeting workflows. Using since 2010.

Reviewed on 21/12/2017

Company budget that includes workflows and complex allocation and distribution of cost is possible with this software as well new reporting capabilities helps to receive tuned information.

Pros

It combines BI reporting plus CMP features. New version has improved a lot Web view and collaboration for developing.
From version 9 graphics are more flexible and new GeoMap helps for location.
New ways for database development.
From version 10 Predictive tool has been included as well functions inline per column calculation.

Cons

We need to improve the rapid development features.
Sometimes dataentry si too estrict.
Predictive tool called BEAM licence is too high.

Eugenio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to implement & to deploy new project

Reviewed on 08/03/2018

Pros

I've started to use Board in 2007, with 6.0 version. In this 11 year of use Board continue in develop easy to use and easy to develop Environment. I like most the support, in particular when they give not only solve to the problem, but give develop solution. Another issue I like is Board in "ALL IN ONE", so you don't need another tool to make your CPM environment .
I think that this tools to give to customer the best quality price Ratio (CPM Product)

Cons

I really don't have anything to say in this box, but if I must say something, the documentation could be improved.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our company uses BOARD as Management information System tool combining it's BI capabilities...

Reviewed on 18/01/2018

Pros

- Very flexible software that can be setup in a couple of days
- User can setup it's own reports either in BOARD directly or in the Excel/Powerpoint environment
- The smaller size of the vendor allows a good relationship with consultants, technicians and marketing experts from the headquarter
- Good working interface to SAP, CRM MS Dynamics and Cognos TM1
- Very logical setup of the database structure

Cons

- Limited performance of the Excel addin causes some crashes
- When purchasing the software as a BI tool it has to be considered the need of a datamart.

Adele
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helpful software!

Reviewed on 24/04/2022

Board is what you need to soar higher. A complete package which handles the data competently while managing the performance metrics and boosting the sales with the aid of it multipurpose budgeting features that gives a user analysis from all aspects of the firm.

Pros

It is user friendly, fast, tech savvy and requires minimal assistance to grasp the analytics behind this all-in-one software. Board not only helps you with metrics but gives you an analysis with respect to all levels and integrates well with SQL to give a complete picture of where the firm is standing. Its toolkit is unique and offers a versatile range of features to give you a unified view of a project.

Cons

Technical support is poor as the response is too slow.

Max
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Board has helped us trim time off our monthly close process and engage more with stakeholders

Reviewed on 20/12/2017

Faster reporting with more flexibility, more reports, more engagement from stakeholders due to increased communication around pertinent and timely information.

Pros

Board is great at merging useful data from multiple outside sources including Accounting software, Payroll, time and attendance, and even scheduling software. Through relationship management we have been able to analyze data that wasn't previously available to us.

Cons

With every flexible system there is a degree of maintenance and Board is no stranger to that maintenance. Unless you keep up with it, it can become overwhelming.

Nina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Substitute for Excel as a Controlling Tool

Reviewed on 21/12/2018

We use it every day as our controlling tool. As i am a Developer I am able to build procedures, but I want to be better in doing that by visiting trainings in a regular period of time.

Pros

- less error-prone than Excel (more stable)
- clear demonstrative grafics
- you are able to limit someones rights to change anything

Cons

- sometimes shuts down without a reason
- the wording is not always clear
- the need of an additional software for presentations (convertion into Power Point as a Picture is not the best solution)
- Export into Excel destroys the whole formatting

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great customer service and functionality. It has increased our productivity.

Reviewed on 20/12/2017

Increased productivity and efficiency in work quality.

Pros

The software is easy to use and has streamlined our daily and monthly processes. The hours we have saved from using the software have been invaluable. Working with our point of contact at Board, Jason, was extremely easy. He worked with us to ensure that we had all of the tools that we needed and any issues we had were handled immediately. Any updates or modifications we have needed have been handled in a timely fashion.

Cons

I do not have any cons for Board. As with any new software there are growing pains and glitches to be resolved, but they were easy handled. The software has been tailored to serve us in the highest capacity.

Marc
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Glad having this excellent software

Reviewed on 12/09/2018

We are very glad, having this excellent software as our reporting tool. We rolled it out nearly over the whole world and everybody is happy. Our management team likes it as well.

Pros

Different sources as base;
easy to implement tailored reports for every different kind of user;
communication between users within BOARD;
having reports as favourites (presentation);
easy to use/ navigate
available in web browser

Cons

It doesn't work offline properly
print outs are not that nice (unfortunately neccessary)
export to Excel as flat table not possible from web browser

Barbara
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good product, easy to use and to implement, with great functionalities useful for business

Reviewed on 05/01/2018

I can produce data for analysis in a easiest way and faster. I made the user independent in its own job for control and planning and gave to the management the visibility of the trend of business with simple dashboards

Pros

It was easy and fast to create a lot of dashboard and reports with a very large amount of data so that final users can do analysis of the business in few time. All new requests can be performed without trouble.

Cons

I appreciate very much this software and I didn't find any big issue till now. There's only one thing I have noticed: in a dashboard containing a summary table it's not possible to place the sum of the columns in the first row but only at the end and this is not helpful in case of a large number of rows.