110 reviews
Overall rating
4.5
/
5
Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.5
98% recommended this app
110 reviews
Brian Z.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Outstanding Product that has become a critical tool for managing, monitoring and operating our biz.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Numerous... can better manage our biz to ensure optimal decisions are made for both tactical and strategic problems and opportunities.

Pros

-- Extremely easy to set up and use. It's easy to train new users and integrate with new data sources.
-- Powerful capabilities to "slice and dice" data, analyze different datasets, create KPIs and broadcast reports to others. We utilize Board beyond the financials... use for operational, sales, logistics, customer service and environmental applications.
-- Excellent support from Board on both "how-to" questions and any internal IT issues that may arise. They take recommendations and act on them. They connect customers to share best practices.
-- Frequent new releases that extend capabilities. Board stays ahead of the curve and provides new features to address their customers' potential needs in the future.
-- Good price point with several license types for different user profiles.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 201-500 Employees

A Solid BI Solution Once You Understand the Backend

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The biggest challenge to effectively using and developing for the Board platform is that you don't always know what you don't know. While that is true of most products, I can definitively say that I would have deployed the Board platform quite differently then I actually did had I the knowledge I do now then. In that vain, you are best to fully learn the product before fully diving in.

Pros

This software accurately provides all of the insights my organization needs, including predictive analytics. In fact, if I ever leave my current organization, I will be heavily recommending this solution to my next employer.

Cons

The biggest complaint that I have with the system is the time it takes to access support. That said, I usually always have the support I need within 24 hours.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Eugenio P.
Industry: Financial Services

Easy to implement & to deploy new project

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've started to use Board in 2007, with 6.0 version. In this 11 year of use Board continue in develop easy to use and easy to develop Environment. I like most the support, in particular when they give not only solve to the problem, but give develop solution. Another issue I like is Board in "ALL IN ONE", so you don't need another tool to make your CPM environment .
I think that this tools to give to customer the best quality price Ratio (CPM Product)

Cons

I really don't have anything to say in this box, but if I must say something, the documentation could be improved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Nina H.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Substitute for Excel as a Controlling Tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We use it every day as our controlling tool. As i am a Developer I am able to build procedures, but I want to be better in doing that by visiting trainings in a regular period of time.

Pros

- less error-prone than Excel (more stable)
- clear demonstrative grafics
- you are able to limit someones rights to change anything

Cons

- sometimes shuts down without a reason
- the wording is not always clear
- the need of an additional software for presentations (convertion into Power Point as a Picture is not the best solution)
- Export into Excel destroys the whole formatting

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Marc D.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Glad having this excellent software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/09/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We are very glad, having this excellent software as our reporting tool. We rolled it out nearly over the whole world and everybody is happy. Our management team likes it as well.

Pros

Different sources as base;
easy to implement tailored reports for every different kind of user;
communication between users within BOARD;
having reports as favourites (presentation);
easy to use/ navigate
available in web browser

Cons

It doesn't work offline properly
print outs are not that nice (unfortunately neccessary)
export to Excel as flat table not possible from web browser

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark G.
Industry: Computer Software

BOARD, a great performance management solution

Reviewed on 02/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We were introduced to BOARD after many years of experience with using alternative multidimensional budgeting, planning and reporting solutions.
While many of BOARD's competitors have come and gone, BOARD has shown both a commitment to support performance management and importantly a commitment to innovation. We use the product for a number of our subsidiaries as well as deliver solutions for our clients on it.

Cons

The initial engagement with the product is slightly different to other approaches and does take a little time to re-educate yourself to its methods, but once you do the reasons BOARD chose this way becomes clear.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jo-anne P.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

BOARD - Used for Budgeting and Financial Reporting

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/03/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The flexibility of this product continues to surprise me in that I will often ask "can BOARD do this" and the answer always seems to be yes. Very satisfied BOARD customer for over 2 years.

Pros

Flexibility and functionality of the product, it can be used to do many things, many ways
Can be used to develop and implement a fairly complex budget model and reports within a couple of months
Easily attaches to SAP using the SAP connector
Very powerful financial reporting tool
Excel Office Add In is awesome
Exceptional customer service, this vendor cares about its customers satisfaction

Cons

Big learning curve to master the development work as an administrator
Setting up security profiles is very time consuming

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

William R.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Robust software with a lot of potential

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/03/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Can link to multiple databases to extract data and making the data usable for management. We have taken reports that would take us 4-6 hours each month to prepare for management. Board has provided us the ability to provide the reports to management that are always the most current.

Cons

Need more documentation on how to use and program. To learn the program has a lot of trial and error. Better manuals would allow users to build more functionality in shorter time with less frustration.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris C.
Industry: Philanthropy
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Great product, great value. More than BI.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 05/04/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It connects to virtually any data source and easily will produce dashboards enabling great analysis! You are limited by what you can imagine.

Cons

There is a learning curve regarding the terminology and logic of the product, but that is more a result of changing the way you think about data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kevin R.

An easy to use drag ans drop solution !

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 09/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Friendly user, flexible and pertinent for a huge range of different uses. Customer support easily reachable.

Cons

Maybe the absence of common page to share problems / questions / issues / best practices with other users. But I heard that the problem will be solved quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nikitha B.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Amazing Product

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 05/04/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We are mid-way implementing this product but just with demos and strategy discussions we can already tell how easy BOARD is going to make our lives. Its very agile and flexible thats a huge plus for the business users. Looking forward to BOARD 10.1 and all other amazing releases set for this year.

Pros

Flexibility and agility

Cons

It requires a slight learning curve around the entities, relationships, cubes and the procedures. Training users is a slight tough task as there is no ready user manual available.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bob G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

BOARD delivered on our expectations, on time and on budget

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 29/01/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

I like that non-technical folks can build screens on their own, and if they want assistance, partners are there to help.

Cons

It's hard to compare BOARD to other products because it's more of a toolkit than an off-the-shelf software package.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kim P.
Industry: Management Consulting

Our clients use BOARD for Forecasting and Financial Reporting

Reviewed on 02/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

BOARD's data integration and data entry capability. The combination of Performance Management and BI in the one tool makes BOARD very flexible and our clients use it for many application.

Cons

Not a lot, if anything it is not as easy to get data in for quick ad-hoc reports but that is going to be fixed in BOARD 10.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Marco S.
Industry: Utilities

Great BI tool, easy to use, big performances

Reviewed on 25/06/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Easy setup and implementation. Integration and standardization of data from various sources. Each user is able to obtain all informations needed in autonomy. Depth of analyses, ability to drill down and track data between various the dimensions.

Cons

Nothing of really important, may be printing options could be improved (but you can overcome with the office add-in)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chandler W.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Board Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 19/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Board is highly customizable to our business needs. We can manipulate different functionalities to suit our reporting needs.

Cons

It is clunky to say the least. It looks like it is an early 2000s Windows OS and seems a little outdated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Janos F.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain

User-friendly tool with good capabilities

Reviewed on 04/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Good performance on processing data/serving up reports, user-friendly interface, does not require programming knowledge, just a good understanding of the data and relationships, easy to find inconsistencies in data (if any). Vendor support is readily available.

Cons

There hasn't been any major issue with the product or the vendor so far.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Julien F.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 201-500 Employees

powerful easy-to-use solution for simple reports. When it's a bit more complicated, training needed

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to create reports when all cubes are already designed.
Easy management of the security profil
Possibility to import datas from different souces

Cons

Initial creation of all cubes and entities is a little bit difficult for non initiated person.
A formation is needed

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Marco R.
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Many functions, maybe too many?

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Initial use is very simple, using it well is quite complicated.

Pros

The product can be used for many purposes, from enterprise reporting, to consolidation, even to detect timesheets.
The engine on which it is based (in memory) is fast and efficient.

Cons

Although it is a product intended for the end user, with all the features proposed the risk of using it badly is around the corner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jörg F.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Recommendable Tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I am satisfied with the product. Good value for money. I am extremely satisfied with the customer service when reports or date sources have to be modified

Pros

Flexible Drill through and drill anywhere functionalities

Cons

Functionalities for printable reports. (Excel export functionality solves problem) No functionality to hide empty lines or lines with very little values , that should be considered in Total (especially for comparison with previous year)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Zoe L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent all in one platform

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 07/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We facilitate the decision process to executives thru the analysis of their data and the development and deployment of Business Intelligence solutions. we also help them monitor their performances and analyze their customers behaviours with clustering and machine learning algorithms.

Pros

I used board during one of my mission and was amazed by all it's features, i liked best :
- The fact that it is all in one
- The predictive analysis
- Analysis and planification on same platfrom
- All-in-one Tool
- Processing speed
- Responsive technology
- The possibility to use excel like formulas

Cons

The UI could be better, also needs a good internet speed else it can lag from time to time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Implemented Board for Budgeting&Reporting and for Business Intelligence, Board is solid and powerful

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 09/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Strong architecture and powerful software
Solid all-in-one data approach, can become the "single point of truth"

Cons

The strong architecture for managing data, requests a consistent construction of the data model. Good consultants can make the difference in implementation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Too many functions

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 18/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very flexible software that can be setup in a couple of days, it was very easy to learn how to use this

Cons

There are too many functions and it was a little overwhelming at first really. I think too many hours can be invested just by trying to properly get this to function.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Marco S.

Excellent tool for BI

Reviewed on 25/06/2015
Review Source: Capterra

We have been working with Board for 7 years.
We started with Board 6 and now we are using Board 9, great improvements have been taken in these years.
We are implementing the Financial Consolidation package.

It works in a integrated envoronment, guaranteeing us the ease of use and flexibility needed to create applications or procedures on our owns.

Board has a powerful back end, responding to the need to integrate and normalizing data from different sources, obtaining the ability to perform multidimensional analyses.

Each user is able to obtain all the informations needed in autonomy

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kandyce O.
Industry: Philanthropy
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Highly Recommend

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 05/04/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

So far, the implementation and ease has been great. Board staff have been so helpful in providing training and answering questions, as well as provide solutions to problems or helpful suggestions.

Pros

visual ease, understandable, helpful staff

Cons

buy-in from management.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Owen S.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Terumo Sales & Operations Planning

Reviewed on 03/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Multi user capability. Integrated capabilities: schedule, reader, procedures all provide a good level of flexibility.

Support organisation is always willing to help.

Cons

Cube limitations on number of entities. Dataview limitations on number of rows. Lack of time out on infinite sessions. Unable to run procedures on the same database when an infinite session is running. Datareaders have no variable parameter filtering capability. Performing grouping and max/min functions on cubes is difficult.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10