Microsoft Power BI Reviews

Microsoft Power BI

4.6 (1,638)
BI visualization and reporting for desktop, web or mobile

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(1,638)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support Software
4.1/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

1638 Reviews

Andrew
Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

There are plenty of competitors, but Power BI is tops

Reviewed on 25/08/2019

Power BI allows me to manipulate data and present it in visually appealing and flexible formats.

Power BI allows me to manipulate data and present it in visually appealing and flexible formats.

Pros

I have used Tableau and Google Data Studio - among other alternatives. Nothing has seemed to compare to the functionality that Power BI offers. Everything about the program is made with the full spectrum of analysis in mind - from the designer to the data 'wrangler' to the end consumer (ie. others within the enterprise). In this way, Power BI is extremely powerful because it can be used for so many different types of projects; the data-analysis intensive to the more visual 'data-presentation' dashboards.

Cons

Sharing dashboards and reports in Power BI is easy and it has a lot of options for doing so. However, the requirement that all users must have a Pro Account to view dashboards created in Pro is a bit of a hindrance in a global organization where it does not make economical sense for every employee to have a Pro account. It seems like it would be a great addition to allow limited sharing to everyone - even those without a Pro account, as most of my internal team does not have an account.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Get Awesome Looking Dashboards and reports.

Reviewed on 23/11/2023

Overall its a great tool to use in your arsenal if you great at analytics and want to impress with...

Overall its a great tool to use in your arsenal if you great at analytics and want to impress with dashboards and visuals. Takes some time to getting used to, but there's tons of community support online.

Pros

After using many other reporting tools, Power BI stands because it does a fantastic job of having powerful analytics from multiple data sources displayed using beautiful data visualization components.

Cons

Great for more simple reports and data visualization but not designed for heavy data processing (dependent on data source). Also huge learning curve to make things look the way you want them to look.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Crystal Reports

Switched From

SAP Crystal Reports

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

I still use both, but I use Power BI mostly for dashboards and visuals
Tom
Tom
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful Data Analysis Tool

Reviewed on 25/09/2019

I am using Power BI to do enterprise level reporting and analysis on large telecoms service...

I am using Power BI to do enterprise level reporting and analysis on large telecoms service inventory data bases (2GB, updated monthly). Reports run the full gamut of spend analysis, type of services, transition and modernization opportunities and progress and sub-organizational level for all the above.

Pros

I like the intuitive user interface and the ability to work with data files too large for spreadsheets or desktop-quality data bases. Power BI is great for creating summary reports in large inventory data bases, which is what I work with mostly.

Cons

There is no easy way to export the summary reports from Power BI. You can only export the raw data that generated the report, which is often too large to export directly.

Diego
Diego
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Empowering Enterprises with Actionable Insights

Reviewed on 23/01/2024

On occasion, we have used market data to identify investment opportunities for the purchase and...

On occasion, we have used market data to identify investment opportunities for the purchase and sale of real estate.

Pros

It enables real-time tracking of property performance, analysis of the effectiveness of marketing strategies and identification of investment opportunities. It can simultaneously connect and consolidate data from a variety of sources, including internal databases, real estate websites and spreadsheets,

Cons

The accuracy of visualizations and insights will depend on the quality of the underlying data. If the real estate data is inaccurate or outdated, the conclusions may be wrong. Therefore, data analysts who know how to leverage the software are required.

Refaei
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Power BI boasts an intuitive and user-friendly interface, making it accessible to users with...

Reviewed on 15/01/2024

Pros

User-Friendly Interface , Data Import and Integration

Cons

Power BI excels in Key Performance Indicator (KPI) monitoring

Mohammad
Mohammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing, unique, with room for enhancement

Reviewed on 30/12/2023

Pros

It's amazing and unique how it analyzes and visualizes data. It's the only solution I know for dynamic visuals. For example, when you select a certain city ... the sales, the charts, the product mix pie... etc. All changes to show you only the data from this city.

Cons

I still don't know how to use formulas and create new fields.
that makes treporting capabilities very limited. Also, it's not user friendly at all to link power BI with the ERP system.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Data Modal and visualizing tool

Reviewed on 31/12/2023

Pros

Best tool to show your data with flying colors to your top management or public forums

Cons

Formulas and connectors are not easier when compared to other analytical tools

AI options are very less compared.

Yi-Tzu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy for Microsoft users

Reviewed on 13/01/2024

Pros

As titled, Microsoft users (especially those using Excel) will find the layout similar and thus may have a relatively smoother learning curve compared to learning other data visualization tools like R.

Cons

Many buttons and options, which can be confusing and even hard to navigate as a new user despite a similar layout with other Microsoft products.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best friend of people needs a clear data analytic reports!

Reviewed on 10/01/2024

Pros

It has a great interface that is very user friendly and easy to use. Simultaneous filtering of the graphs helps a lot.

Cons

I haven't found a feature that irritates me with the Microsoft Power BI. Might have been quicker, but I believe it is about the heavy load of data.

Younas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful Data Visualising Tool

Reviewed on 23/01/2024

Pros

Incredibly helpful tool to collect data in real time and be able to present this information to others clearly and visually. You can have so many options to help show off the data.

Cons

There are other services out there which do the same thing. It can get laggy when there is a lot of data.

Deepak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The visualization and analytics product that is constantly evolving - for the better

Reviewed on 07/02/2020

With Power BI we identify patterns, issues and opportunities in sales, marketing, operations,...

With Power BI we identify patterns, issues and opportunities in sales, marketing, operations, supply chain, people management and finance data. The ways to look at the data and the drilling capabilities make this a wonderful tool

Pros

1. Improves with new releases every two weeks
2. Powerful insight management
3. Integration with MS products
4. Online forums and learning zones

Cons

1. Not as intuitive as packaged applications, but getting there
2. Not a good IDE for Python / R
3. Connectors to social media need to be improved

Alternatives Considered

Domo and Tableau

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Power BI

Power BI is evolving faster and with better options and integration

Switched From

Spotfire

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Deeper integration with Microsoft tools online and offline.
Virgil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Moderate cost for a moderate experience for medium sized enterprises

Reviewed on 12/02/2021

So so. The dashboards and reports are limited in visual design, so they all look the same and quite...

So so. The dashboards and reports are limited in visual design, so they all look the same and quite ugly. Because of the difficulty sharing reports/dashboards to external individuals and the lack of a Google sheets connector I couldn't use PowerBI for most of the solutions we need, but will use it for some since it integrates well with the rest of the MS office ecosystem.

Pros

The thing that most sets PowerBI apart from comparable business intelligence solutions is the lower cost of multi-user deployment within an organization. PowerBI is part of a Microsoft Office 365 subscription package for businesses and you only need to pay an additional 15USD/month for each additional admin/analyst account you add. This is a stark contrast to similar solutions like Tableau, which charge a monthly fee for each user and has a minimum user count that equates to roughly a 15,000USD/year license cost as minimum. If your organisation is already invested in the Microsoft Office ecosystem this could be the ideal solution for you if you need to keep costs down.

Cons

It can't connect to google sheets and every other business intelligence platform can. This can be really limiting if your business uses a variety of SaaS solutions since many offer the simplest data integration options via Google sheets.

PowerBI also has real issues with external sharing of dashboards/reports. You only have the option of publishing internally (visible to your organization's users) or publishing publically (indexed in search engines). There is no option of sharing dashboards and reports to individuals outside your organization via a login, like what is done with Google Data Studio.

PowerBI also has a steep learning curve and uses 3 coding languages (DAX, M, and SQL). It's more complicated than it needs to be but it's relational database modeling has proven a good one and competitors have copied PowerBI's approach in recent years (Tableau).

Alternatives Considered

Tableau and Google Data Studio

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

For the unique cases where I will use it, I'm chosing it because it is part of the MS office ecosystem which my organization uses and it will be easier to deploy and share products with colleagues who all build in PowerBI also. I won't use PowerBI exclusively though since it can't do everything I need.
Nikhil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Power BI - A platform above the rest

Reviewed on 05/12/2022

Pros

Power BI is a valuable tool for data modeling in addition to being a visualization tool. Here, two or more tables must be joined while taking into account their cardinality. Power Bi gives us the ability to link a variety of sources, including live data warehouses and massive data lakes, to import our data. It also provides us with the option to export the dashboards through PowerPoint. Ad hoc reporting within the user hierarchy is essential to a business analyst's role in order to deliver findings to C-suite executives and decision-makers. The platform speeds up execution compared to other visualization tools because of how simple it is to use. The way everything is set out in Power BI makes it easy for the users to understand which data type fits which visualization and how it will affect the way it is perceived. The formatting available is also simple to understand and locate. KPI monitoring is extremely important and directly proportional to the setup in Power BI. Compared to Tableau I feel Power BI has a big edge.

Cons

I have switched to this product from another one and prefer this. I believe this is the best visualization tool in the market right now.

Satya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Power BI, widely used Tool

Reviewed on 12/12/2022

Concluding or summing it all up, I think this is by far the most convenient tool out there for...

Concluding or summing it all up, I think this is by far the most convenient tool out there for performing various things such as extract data from different sources, clean, visualize, create colorful dashboards and reports. All in all, a great way to present what we have to say in words. With the use of Artificial Intelligence too, its clever enough to handle certain tasks really well.

Pros

Most of what I like about this is the outcomes of it, it is simply brilliant as to how we get such clarity on insights with this tool. This can make businesses take the correct decisions that drives them into good decision making that profits them. A one stop BI solution tool.

Cons

While creating complex relationships among data, it can be a little tedious to do it because if there are multiple links amongst the tables/data, POWER BI cannot handle them quite well at times. The factor of modeling the data in the right way comes in picture.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overall the best Dashboard software at this moment

Reviewed on 03/02/2020

Part of our dashboards were developped using Power BI. Although the UI is not as perfect as...

Part of our dashboards were developped using Power BI. Although the UI is not as perfect as Tableau, Basically it can achieve all Tableau can do, (maybe not as quick or few steps as Tableau).the modelling, the strong ETL support, the Power Query and integration with office can offset the drawbacks.

Pros

1. The wide and deep design and full support for upstream and downstream systems;

2. Excellent query engine with well design data modelling principals (which is better than Tableau);

3. Seamless integration with other Microsoft data integration products such as SSIS, SSRS, SSAS;

4. Excellent knowledgebase community and support;

5. Quick update to the Azure cloud support

Cons

1. UI design is a little bit inconvenient comparing to Tableau.
2. DAX is a bit complicated for power users.

Alternatives Considered

Qlik Sense, Tableau, and IBM Cognos Analytics

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Power BI

Overall strength on UI, Modelling, integration, etl support and good price. Integration with SQL Server, SSIS/SSRS, Azure and office.
Genseska
Genseska
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good BI reporting tool and easy to learn

Reviewed on 29/08/2022

So far, I really like using Power BI. I migrated all my reports 1 month after I started using the...

So far, I really like using Power BI. I migrated all my reports 1 month after I started using the software. No experience or training needed to started using it.

Pros

What I’ve enjoy about using Power BI is that have simplified the process of creating and sharing reports. It’s a very helpful tool to visualize data, and you can connected with several data sources like Excel, SQL and Access. You can share a report via link and you can choose the option that works best for you, like if, everyone that have the link can access to the report or some specific people. The people that have access can view and interact with the report but not modify it. An interesting and helpful feature is mobile layout view. You can create views of reports adapted to mobiles. I learned to create dashboards in Power BI by myself, there’s no need of a full training before start using this tool.

Cons

Something that had me struggling is that the data source must be as simple and clean as it could be or it may present execution issues. It often shows running issues for certain inquiries.

Merve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Enhancing University IT Systems with Microsoft Power BI

Reviewed on 17/08/2023

Microsoft Power BI is widely regarded as a powerful and versatile tool for data visualization and...

Microsoft Power BI is widely regarded as a powerful and versatile tool for data visualization and business intelligence. Its capabilities in transforming complex datasets into interactive visualizations and reports are highly appreciated by professionals across various industries.

Pros

Power BI allows for easy sharing of reports and dashboards with colleagues and stakeholders. This promotes collaboration, as everyone can access and interact with the same data. The interactive features of Power BI dashboards enable users to drill down into data, apply filters, and explore different aspects of the dataset. This interactivity enhances data exploration and analysis.

Cons

Data Refresh Limitations, Limited Offline Access, Advanced Analytics Requires Expertise. Power BI heavily relies on online connectivity for data retrieval and sharing. Offline access to reports and dashboards is somewhat limited, which can be a concern in certain scenarios.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau
rajiv
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Power BI is one of the most user friendly BI software for adding visual representation and...

Reviewed on 22/09/2017

Overall good software for beginners and can be explored to get the best efficiency from the software

Overall good software for beginners and can be explored to get the best efficiency from the software

Pros

below are a few pros
• Sharing dashboard in a group
a. Sharing can be done once you have the Pro version of Power BI. Dashboard can be shared with the respective department members or your own team members.
b. Since you have prepared the dashboard you will be the owner and you can decide whether you want to give the other members only viewing rights or editing rights as well.
c. With this feature reports will always be on the cloud server and can be viewed as and when required
d. Reports can be downloaded as and when required.
• Viewing dashboard in Mobile/ tab and preparing phone layout
a. Once a dashboard has been prepared and saved, the same can be accessed on Power BI App with the same login.
b. Since the screen is small compared to laptop, all the dashboard elements can be redesigned to suit the phone screen.
c. The other features remain the same and the dashboard is interactive on the phone as well however it cannot be edited on phone.
• Export dashboard to PowerPoint, PDF
a. This is one of the most important features of Power BI. Reports or dashboards prepared can be exported on PowerPoint or PDF with a click of a button.
b. Hence Management reports and department reports can be automated on Power BI and once you refresh the data, the report will be ready to share.
c. One problem is that few images which are not compatible with PowerPoint don’t show post downloading.
• Narratives for dashboard
a. This is one of the recent features offered by Power BI. With the help of narratives you can get the insight of the dashboard in a story form.
b. Narrative uses its intelligence to study the data and give output in pointers, paragraphs etc which can be customised.
• Importing visuals to suit your need
a. Apart from the general visualizations available in Power BI, there are additional visualizations released by Power BI from time to time. These visualizations enhance the visual appearance as well as the adds to further analytics in different ways.
b. Visualizations which have downloaded and used in the dashboard are Infographic designer, Narratives for Business Intelligence, KPI Column chart, and Timeline.
• Edit interactions in dashboard
a. It is important to understand the interactions and groupings in power BI since with the help of these you can control which graphs you want to automatically change by clicking on the other.
b. With the help of grouping you can define groups and sub group which can be viewed together as a group if required.
• KPI Column Chart
a. This is a recent custom visual developed by Power BI. With the help of this visual you can put the KPI target against the actual on a monthly basis.
b. Forecasted revenue/ cost can also be put in this visual which will be shown in different colour.
c. Individual monthly targets can also be put which can be interchanged by putting variance.
d. Data can also been viewed in a table form along with graphical.

Cons

• One of the important features of exporting report in PowerPoint does not allow custom visual to be exported. Hence if there are custom visuals in your report then the same will show error once exported.
• Arranging dashboard is a bit tedious and takes a lot of time
• To share reports, we need to publish to MS Cloud. We cannot share report from Power BI Desktop
• For sharing a report even members to who report needs to be shared have to get Power BI Pro. Since the department to whom report is shared is just to view giving them a Pro license might not be useful.

Viveka
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Power BI

Reviewed on 17/03/2023

Overall, Power BI is an excellent tool for data analysis and visualization, and its ease of use and...

Overall, Power BI is an excellent tool for data analysis and visualization, and its ease of use and integration with other tools makes more meaningful insights and informed decisions.

Pros

Microsoft Power BI is a powerful cloud-based business intelligence tool that helps us to visualize data from multiple sources. And it is a user-friendly tool that offers drag-and-drop features and self-service capabilities. The most appealing aspect is it provides a wide range of visualizations, including charts, graphs, and maps that helps the users to understand and explore the data easily. In addition, we can also use DAX and Power Query in Power BI to perform complex calculations and analysis of the data to create insightful reports. Along with that integration is fantastic in Power BI with Microsoft products including Excel, Sharepoint, and Teams, as well as other third-party applications. And the best part is it allows users to share the created reports and dashboards with others, either within an organization or with external stakeholders. The most useful feature of Power BI is we can deploy it on both on-cloud and on-premise platforms.

Cons

Power Bi has a limit of importing data at a time which is approximately 2 GB of data. To import greater volumes of data we need to extend our free version to a paid version of Power BI. This might be a limitation for users who can't afford to invest in a paid subscription.

Jimmy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Miscrosoft Power BI for Federal Acquisition Spend Analysis

Reviewed on 24/04/2017

All in all, for the price, this is an excellent tool for helping your organization turn mounds of...

All in all, for the price, this is an excellent tool for helping your organization turn mounds of data into useful insights.

Pros

Power BI simplifies the process of combining different types of data sources to create a single data model. There are also many built-in Extract, Transform, and Load (ETL) functions that help reduce the time required to prepare data. Creating reports and dashboards is as easy as drag and drop. The Power BI User Groups are strong and plentiful, so you can always read through blogs to get answers to questions that you may have. The Power BI Desktop application is used to perform ETL, create reports and is free. The reports are published to the Power BI cloud service for sharing, which is also free with limited capabilities. For more capabilities, such as security groups and scheduled data refreshing, there is a subscription fee. Microsoft will be releasing an on-premise solution for sharing Power BI content via an update to SQL Server 2016 hopefully within the next few months.

Cons

It's not always easy to speak directly with a MS Power BI expert, so that is a bummer. Also, you have to sign up to the Power BI service using an email address in order to share and view Power BI reports and dashboards, but Microsoft doesn't yet support personal (.cox, .gmail, et.) or government (.gov, .mil, etc.) email addresses which is a real bummer.

Caspah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Power BI review

Reviewed on 22/02/2021

I have been using Power Bi for over 2 years now in creating Dashboard for several items including...

I have been using Power Bi for over 2 years now in creating Dashboard for several items including Finance, data, Students and school data and recently I have used it in documenting poll results and Covid-19 cases.

Pros

Power BI is great especially with data analytics and visualization. This is usually very informative especially to the senior management when creating dashboard and data summaries. For example, Its specifically important in monitoring budget and expenditure data. The most important advantage of Power Bi is how it can easily summarize, transform and visualize data through summaries and dash board reports. In addition Power BI delivers real-time reports especially when linked with production of the data. It both accessible on computer and mobile. It is also very easy to integrate with excel and other data storing softwares.

Cons

It is somehow technical especially when writing DAX scripts and when linking several tables for relationships. Since its mainly used for Dashboards and visualizations, the presentations can be crowded considering a lot of information is supposed to be squeezed on one page. Power BI also requires complex formulas in DAX which sometimes can give wrong results from expected. It also takes a lot of time to prepare data and create visuals.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

BI tool with the coolest features

Reviewed on 14/12/2018

I have been using PowerBI from the past 3 years and have never looked back. It has helped me as an...

I have been using PowerBI from the past 3 years and have never looked back. It has helped me as an analyst to draw my clients into my stories. The automation aspect of PowerBI is hard to ignore. I have shared my dashboards and collaborated with teams which was a nightmare before. I love the addition of new features resulting from a dedicate community of PowerBI users (with very responsive Microsoft developers jumping in to solve issues). Mobile version of PowerBI is convenient and a hit with clients.

Pros

I love everything about PowerBI! I like to think of it as a revamped version of MS Excel but with features that exceed all expectations. PowerBI lets you create data models, use DAX to manipulate and summarise and finally display these summaries in fancy (yet easy to understand) visualisations. The best feature might however be the ability to share and collaborate on dashboards. PowerBI can take data from almost all possible sources - text, excel, SQL databases etc etc and integrate it all together to form dashboards that can be shared online in the form of webpages as well as workspaces.

Cons

There is absolutely nothing to dislike about PowerBI. The free version of PowerBI is a great learning tool and lets you accomplish almost all your reporting tasks while the paid version lets you automate all your reporting.

Marlyn
Marlyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A comprehensive data visualization platform

Reviewed on 12/06/2022

With Microsoft Power BI we can create more profound and useful insights, enhance the publishing...

With Microsoft Power BI we can create more profound and useful insights, enhance the publishing efficacy and precision of BI content, and it has a powerful in-stream real-time analytics

Pros

Microsoft Power BI is one of the most comprehensive data visualization platforms you've ever used. Power BI allows me to collect data from various sources, such as azure and SharePoint databases, it is a platform with enormous potential since it can transform data and give a better perspective, what I like about Power Bi is that it has an easy-to-use user interface without long learning curves, which makes it easy to use for new users, you can see the tables in an orderly way this facilitates data analysis, in Power BI it is safe to use, since it allows only authorized users can access, this is vital since the information that is stored is very sensitive.

Cons

What I don't like is that the desktop version consumes a lot of RAM and is sometimes slow, a computer with good specifications is required for it to run smoothly.

Beth W
Beth W
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The ultimate best tool for accurate business analytics.

Reviewed on 26/10/2023

Microsoft Power BI helps us to run our business efficiently by giving us insights which allows us...

Microsoft Power BI helps us to run our business efficiently by giving us insights which allows us to understand which areas that are performing well as well as areas which need much of our attention. Moreso, it helps us understand our performance in the market and thereby develop strategies to help us remain competitive in the gaming market.

Pros

With Microsoft Power BI, we are able to run full analysis on our entire business and this keeps us on the light about how every part and department of the company is performing. The reports we get are easy to read and understand and with the visualization options available like graphs, we get to capture insights easily from them. It has well defined and dynamic security functions which guarantee the security of all our business data by making sure thag we are the only ones with the access to these confidential information.

Cons

Am yet to experience the downside of Microsoft Power BI and there has been nothing that has ever gone wrong with it.

Njoki
Njoki
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Insights you can trust.

Reviewed on 07/11/2023

Microsoft Power BI always shows prowess in business data analytics and this has enabled us to...

Microsoft Power BI always shows prowess in business data analytics and this has enabled us to achieve a better understanding of our business operations. With the insights we get from Microsoft Power BI, we are able to make informed decisions, plan and do forecasts to prepare ourselves for situations deemed to happen before they do.

Pros

In data analytics, the insights are only important if one can understand them and for that i like how Microsoft Power BI offers easy to understand data visualization tools which makes it easy to read and understand the insights about the business. It allows easy creation of reports which we use to demonstrate how our business is performing as well as understanding areas in our business which needs improvement. The data analysis tools uses AI and drag and drop technology which makes it easy for anyone to use it for the analysis.

Cons

Nothing at all from me. Using Microsoft Power BI has been so simple and it has very responsive features.