69 reviews

Alteryx

Self-service data analytics platform for business analysts

4.7 /5 (69 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.7
/
5
Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.7
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5
100% recommended this app
69 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Easy, Pricy but Worth it

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 03/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I'm a Technology Consultant, using ALteryx for ETL projects where analyse the data is a critical job and the size of the data, wouldn't allow me to use tools like excel . Alteryx it has been a great tool for all my jobs, let in me stand out with fast and quality solution.

Pros

The most i like is the Easy drag and drop function that the application has. The design and how visual it is to keep the Information flow, makes Alteryx a great app for data analysis, formatting and design. Built in tool like time Formaters, filters and Joins facilitate the work of doing data cleansing and data prepping for any ETL job. Another great area is how flexible it is input and output formats. It lets you join CSV files with XLS or even TXT.

Cons

The least I like is the price and the latency when loading the data. Because is a strong and powerful Tool, it is a bit pricey in one hand, is not a tool for one day job, is more for enterprise and daily jobs. When loading the data, depending where is located the document, it will take longer than usual.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Monel K.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Automating Workflows

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 20/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Helps to increase efficiency and saves money for the company.

Pros

Very useful to automate manual workflows with repetitive tasks. Python Integration helps to ease out the process. Saves a lot of cost. Integration with other servers and applications is top notch.

Cons

Costly license limits the use. Requires training for getting used to it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

So many uses!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Alteryx has been great! It solved our business need plus so much more. The number of users in my company has been expanding since we first started using it.

Pros

You can do so much with Alteryx! We acquired the software for one specific project but I find myself using it for so many other things, from day to day data work to other large projects. It has great features like fuzzy matching, data normalization, and join capabilities. It is great for working with large data sets that can't be easily managed in excel or access and for allowing multiple data sources to interact with each other.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve. However, once you understand how it all works its easy. Also there are so many tools and more than one way to achieve the same thing. It can be hard to know how to approach new projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Emeka O.
Industry: Higher Education

This is a great data analysis and prediction software.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love the easy interface and the various options for different data analysis and prediction techniques. The flexibility is top-notch.

Cons

You might have to pay extra for extra features. It's not a big deal but it's not entirely convenient.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Top tier point-and-click analytics tool

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This tool's ease of use allows our non-analytical teammates to easily do basic data analysis by themselves, freeing up our analytics team for more technical questions

Cons

For those who are unfamiliar with self-serve/point-and-click analytics tools, the software can be a little overwhelming for the first few hours

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shiam B.

Alteryx review

Reviewed on 05/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Alteryx is a data visualization software and it provides a workflow solution to analyze data.
It is a robust and requires some technical skills to use. It has a user-friendly interface and a GUI interface which provides an attractive look. The trial version is available for data analyst to try the product before making any purchase decisions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Phoebe Z.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

automated workflow is the future

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 05/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It can automate manual processes performed on data, can potentially save a lot of time

Cons

This is not a general skill every body has to understand the workflow and when a workflow is complicated, it takes much time to prove it's working.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ezra M.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Premier Data Analyzer

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 22/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Once you learn how the different analyzer functions work the interface is very user friendly and easy to understand the work flow

Cons

If you are an individual user the software does have a high price tag

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dan B.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Great new tool for us

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 29/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is great for visual learners/analysts. It breaks down the ETL process visually, allowing users to understand what processes are at play quickly and easily.

Cons

This tool has a bit of a steep learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Robert W.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Best Tool for Mashing Data

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I use Alteryx to combine multiple sources of data (from databases, excel workbooks, and others), clean, calculate, sort and provide an output that is easily digested. It allows me to provide analysis in a simple way, be creative in how I manipulate the data and even create automated running of the workflow. It saves me at least 8 hours a week.

Pros

Alteryx has a fantastic interface, using function blocks that you can drag and drop to create a workflow. This makes it simple to use and provides the ability to create complex workflows.

Cons

The license cost for the tool is very high, which means not everyone can use it. I find very little other cons with the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jaehoon L.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

A good tool for automating complicated analytics pipelines

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Alteryx is a good tool and well fits in our need of clinical data management and analytics pipeline optimization. There are rooms for improvement in terms of stability in desktop application.

Pros

Alteryx is a great tool when need of integrating multiple or complicated analytics pipelines in one place and manage them in a systematics manner. It provides a variety of data connections to common relational database product and web resources. It also provides plugins to add other product such as Tableau, etc.

Cons

The desktop application used to crash (not responding) in case of loading large sized data. It also gets very slow when moving or drag-dropping objects in the authoring environment.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Banking
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Simplify Data Manipulation with the Press of a Button

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It has a simple to use drag and drop interface.

Cons

There is so much functionality, it is difficult to know everything.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Veterinary
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

My favorite data science tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I would argue that this is the number one product for data science. I have change my entire analytics department for the better with using alteryx.

Cons

No major complaints on this software, my team loves it!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ravi M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to use, beautiful interface, documentation in a cinch

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 05/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

So much time saved
Easy to share documentation without worrying about syntax, coding and verfication
Trainable to a layman analyst

Pros

Drag and drop interface, the ability to manipulate my data at any point and expand my analytics through spatial and predictive.

Cons

The Server solution could be better developed to be ready to integrate with other enterprise wide features (for example, managing users, databases, schedules)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Spencer V.

Saves me hours a week and allows me to think critically more often!

Reviewed on 20/03/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I love how diverse the product is. I can do a simple data pull to a demographic report to doing regression analysis for a complex model.

Cons

The only small complaint I have is that some of the error messages themselves are cryptic and convoluted.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lu Z.

I use it daily at my job

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 19/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is easy to use by drag and drop. All different functions can be used to prepare data. Also can analyse data in simple mathmatics.

Cons

I have to run the whole workflow when I add one more tool. Sometimes the workflow takes a lot of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Tool for automating excel workflows

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 20/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It was nice, I have been automating excel user tools with it

Pros

It provides a no. of tools for data blending, data sorting, data extraction , generating reports and emailing them. Macros in it are easier to use. User Interface is easy to understand.

Cons

Nothing much I dislike, the only thing I disliked is that we have to use visual tool to view data every time, that slows the running time of the workflow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Shiawtian C.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Piece Together Information From You Data Yourself

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like how it lets me peel off the database and dig through the data more efficiently myself compared to having data analyst help with the task.

Cons

There was quite a bit of learning curve before getting used to what Alteryx can do.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cristy L.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Alteryx

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 03/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I enjoy using Alteryx and love the futurist type look it has with it's icons.

Pros

I love the icons. I am very visual and enjoy knowing what I am doing by simply looking at the icons. This software can be as technical and as user friendly as you make it. The drag and drop of request allows users to play around with the files, data and request without being afraid of braking a formula like in Excel.

Cons

I don't like whenever I get a "null" error and it does not allow me to correct it. I manipulate the data, remove filters and the null remains visible. Perhaps having a pop up to show where the error lies in your work.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Review of Alteryx

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 08/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I loved how quickly the user is able to learn this software. The tools are in the form of images and are extremely intuitive and helpful. Your final project is in a picture and very easy to follow

Cons

It's not possible to run just a small portion of a project without loading all the data back in again. It takes a lot of time to load large data files and can be time consuming to repeatedly load data.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Josh E.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Powerful tool with difficult learning curve

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's incredibly powerful and includes a wide variety of features for most usages

Cons

It's not intuitive to learn and has an interface that could be cleaned up pretty easily

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Michael W.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Alteryx is all you need to advance BI

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I can't really discuss use cases due to proprietary information, but let me tell you- Alteryx elevates your entire organization and is a extremely versatile product to add to an analysts toolkit.

Pros

Alteryx is an incredibly easy to use tool that creates and automates data workflows with a click and drag toolbox. Passed R, Python and JSON code through the workflow so you can get technical tasks done without a developer.

Cons

Alteryx support could be a bit better in terms of follow up with very specific and technical questions. However, the community is a great resource to get answers to high level questions!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Raghu N.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

A simple yet powerful ETL tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/08/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Easy to use UI, just drag and drop tools and start your data modelling.
Geo spatial data for spatial analysis
Blending data from different sources is quite easy.
Create and schedule data models and it will run automatically.

Cons

Integration with other tools are less compared to its competitor tools such as Informatica .etc.
Reporting option could be improved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Romario G.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

An extraordinarily ETL tool

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 02/04/2020
Review Source: Capterra

In conclusion, Alteryx is a great solution for all the data wrangling and joins activities. It has helped my team to create data models faster and easier. I have not used the analysis and ML capabilities that it offers, but for my use case, I find it very helpful.

Pros

Alteryx offers great capabilities for data prep, blending and processing intuitively. It's possible to connect to a wide variety of data sources. Also, It offers visual and table data to help you visualize the results and profile the data you're using. Furthermore, flows are very easy to understand what's going on and are exportable to formats such as direct SQL queries.

Cons

There's a learning curve to understand all the components that Alteryx offers. However, there's great documentation out there to learn.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lincoln S.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Alteryx simplifies and Enhances Data Preparation

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 29/08/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I've loved working with Alteryx. After just 4 months of using the software, I have managed to automate over 20 daily or weekly processes that used to take all my time. I now have more time to create meaningful reports that can help management make the decisions that will keep our company moving forward.

Pros

Alteryx allows you to walk through your data preparation step by step to ensure that everything is following the exact process of orders that you want.

Cons

Occasionally, Alteryx will stop processing a workflow because of a minor error. Frequently, that minor error has a handful of different solutions, forcing you to try each solution one by one. After some experience you learn what things to look for, but when just starting out, it's a nuisance.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10