ibi

4.5 (170)
Information Builders' scalable BI and analytics platform

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(170)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support Software
4.6/5

95%
recommended this app

170 Software options

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product, has a learning curve

Reviewed on 27/03/2018

Pros

Flexibility - how our users have full control of there data. Scalability - be able to manage multiple clients with ease

Cons

Complexity - have such a flexibility product has cause it to be very complex and partly a black box, where issues may arrive in different parts of the system

Andrew H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Build Robust and Easy-to-use Customer Portals

Reviewed on 17/07/2017

Pros

The company I work for has many existing reports in OLAP and other formats. They purchased WebFocus to begin building out and modernizing client portals, with more visually-appealing charts and graphs in dashboard layout. On top of this, my team and I were all brand new to WebFocus. Within a few months of implementing WebFocus, and partnering with a couple of WebFocus consultants (whom are top-notch by the way), we successfully launched our first client portal on the WebFocus platform. I joined the team earlier this year, so I wasn't involved in the evaluation process, but from what I hear of the other tools that were evaluated, we would have already surpassed their capabilities early on in our project.

From what I have seen so far, WebFocus is a very powerful BI tool, with probably more capabilities than we have would ever think of using. We've yet to reach the limits of the tool, and believe me when I say that we have tried.

Cons

The WebFocus format and language is a little different than what I already knew. So there is a learning curve. However, with some training, and the will to learn, it gets much easier in a few months.

Michael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

WebFOCUS 8x

Reviewed on 04/06/2019

As a long-time developer and dev manager, I have a very high opinion of WebFOCUS. It's complexity is due to it's depth and breadth. I know that no matter what challenge my team encounters, we can solve it with WebFOCUS.

Pros

My team at a federal agency has used Information Builders platforms for more than 10 years to manage and report on financial data. The single biggest advantages that the WebFOCUS products share is their flexibility and adaptability. The ability to create anything and connect to everything is huge.

Cons

The flip-side to WebFOCUS's tremendous flexibility is its maturity and complexity. The platform has existed for so long and attempts to accomplish so much that the ramp-up for new developers can feel daunting.

Marita L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

WebFocus Review

Reviewed on 06/06/2019

I have worked with WebFOCUS for almost 20 years and I have watched it grow into the tool it is today.

Pros

I like that you can combine data from all sources into one single report or chart and the user will not know how many data sources were used or notice any lag time from retrieval

Cons

The composers still crash when working in them and it is not easy to modify a page once it is created. Also you cannot get to the code behind and there is still old control code left over after they have been removed from the pages. This can cause browsers to get confused and pages to slow down when loading

Miranda M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

it is an excellent company

Reviewed on 07/12/2017

I was able to create fast dashboards.
I become a very experience developer using the app studio.

Pros

I like the new look of App Studio . it can do many powerful things. I loved the html composer and the easy way to create the new portals. In a few minutes you can create powerful dashboards.

Cons

infoassist since I did not used it so often.
Sometimes the workarounds do not work.
Most of the things are documented but sometimes some specific things we need to search in google to find the answer.
sometimes takes too long to solve an issue.

Philip M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

BNY Mellon Webfocus conversion

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

it has been a good experience to learn about distributed environment after years of working on the mainframe

Pros

recently converted mainframe jobs to webfocus environment. Most existing jobs were easily ported over to distributed environment will few changes. However, this gave us an opportunity to do some well needed tuning on jobs that have been running on mainframe for 15-20 year. Tuning has increase efficiency and speed in new Linux environment and we are incurring cost savings by moving application to a distributed environment over IBM mainframe

Cons

i currently have no negative comments to make

Jamie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The tool does an exceptional job of delivering information to many users.

Reviewed on 23/05/2018

Enabled a transformation of our information delivery to deliver key information to business users in an efficient, governed, and quality manner.

Pros

Very scale-able and robust - it provides a solid platform for BI & Analytics
Report building tools are fairly easy to use, yet powerful
Software support team is excellent

Cons

Tremendous flexibility in deployment can lead to challenges in initial set-up and in ensuring multiple environment configurations are consistently applied.

Herve R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great customer support and a tool that catched up significantly to other tools

Reviewed on 23/05/2018

Pros

Broad functionalities - more than other tools
Very close customer support and relations
Look and feel is now in the new version modern and slick
Faster development and release cycles results in shorter wait time for new functionalities

Cons

Because its less known than the big tools executives might not buy in into the tool
Maybe still has some legacy "issues"
Still takes some bigger efforts to upgrade to newer versions

Les M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tools, awesome customer service and support, obvious IBI is continuing to improve...

Reviewed on 24/05/2018

Insight, reports, Dashboards.

Pros

Modern UI, taking the complexity out of the process of ingesting data and allowing business users to create reports, charts, and dashboards to gain insight into their business.

Cons

multiple tools to create BI solutions, although IBI is on a path to consolidate tool set. Would also like to see more accelerators for the various business units to help accelerate adoption in our company.

Denise B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Michigan State Police utilizes WebFOCUS, love the environment. We are expanding every year.

Reviewed on 23/05/2018

Pros

The Customer Support, IB has the best. Never have seen any other company so focused on customers. From sales, so systems, to project management, to development, etc - The Best.

Cons

None - Our issues have not been with the software, it's our existing technology, management, servers, etc within the State's Dept of Technology that hinders and creates issues with our software.

Rozalind K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great enterprise reporting tool

Reviewed on 22/06/2020

We have been using IBI for several years now, it is a great tool and we are still scratching the service with its functionality.

Pros

We looked at a lot of tools but they would not have been a fully functioning enterprise solution like IBI is.

Cons

It is a lot to learn! And we are barely scratching the surface on its capabilities.

Vickie T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great product and a great company

Reviewed on 03/08/2017

We have used IBI for more than 8 years and have never regretted our decision. They have been not just a vendor, but a true business partner who cares about the success of their clients.

Pros

User friendly, comprehensive functionality, incredible customer support, great annual user conference, extensive free online training videos, new functionality is added continually including from requests from customers.

John K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Partner for success

Reviewed on 24/07/2017

Overall a great product, they engage with their clients well. Going to user meetings and/or their summit is highly recommended.

Pros

Great customer service; very flexible product; drill down feature is fantastic; multiple capabilities to fit a businesses needs

Cons

being a flexible product comes with complexity and a learning curve in full understanding of their vast system

Nick P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WebFocus Review

Reviewed on 04/06/2019

Faster decision making, ability to understand trends more easily in clients' supply chain, more accurate decision making.

Pros

Extremely flexible and capable of handling any visualization needs.

Cons

Almost too many ways to be able to do things. Requires time to understand the 'best' way to accomplish a given task.

Brian S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Webfocus from a developers perspective

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

I learn something new almost every day that I use the product. I am always excited to learn more about the capabilities and features.

Pros

Webfocus has some amazing BI capabilities out of the box. Drag and drop interfaces for creating reports, charts, and managing data are very easy to use and powerful

Cons

Troubleshooting issues is difficult. It often takes a lot of effort to figure out workarounds for things that seem like they should be simple.

Jerod R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very powerful and flexible software to do all your reporting and visualizations

Reviewed on 04/08/2017

Pros

Flexibility. Can customize anything. This supports swiftly meetings all business needs and business questions.

Cons

Flexibility. Can customize anything. This is a con due to challenge with the customization brings maintenance considerations and requires high talent to support.

Catherine B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Best BI tool

Reviewed on 23/05/2018

Pros

the diversity, flexibility, ease of use and unlimited capabilities. Easy to train end users. Great knowledgeable customer support.

Cons

The only con I have about the product is that the capabilities are huge and you don't always know what you know.

Michael L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for creating our reports for our dashboards.

Reviewed on 24/05/2018

Portal creation

Pros

The things that it can do are remarkable.
Ability to create reports through coding or though GUI interface.
The GUI interface is pretty helpful especially while learning

Cons

Learning curve is huge but worth the extra work.
Error codes could be a little more helpful. Sometimes when you receive an error you cannot tell what or where the error is.

Jeffrey H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for Dashboards

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

BI Dashboards that provide immediate feedback to the user are relatively easy

Pros

The ability to make it do anything and everything

Cons

Some things that would seem to be easy are difficult

Elizabeth K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love the Product

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

Pros

The product is so user friendly and can be used by multiple levels of knowledge. HIGHLY Recommend!

Cons

There is nothing I can think of as a con...

Sarah R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

WebFocus Review

Reviewed on 04/06/2019

We are using Webfocus to review Health club data

Pros

The ease of development for new reportinf

Cons

Ad hoc reporting seems to be pretty difficult

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WebFocus Review

Reviewed on 04/06/2019

Pros

Ease of Use, Easily gain insights about data and performance.

Cons

Limited amount of information available outside of IBI

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Software developer using WebFocus for 20+ years. I have seen it grow from the beginning.

Reviewed on 20/02/2018

A lifetime of useful reporting and development jobs.

Pros

Has many bells and whistles that make the world of reporting and developing fun again. It provides much needed power and command right at the user's fingertips.

Cons

It takes knowledge of many other languages to produce the most eye pleasing reports and dashboards. JavaScript and CSS are a must if you want anything close to what they cover in a sales presentation. This was a little misleading at first and makes it not quite so "out of the box" as billed.

Ian G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid Platform, excellent support

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

Pros

IBI is the best software company. Great customer support, training and service. The product is solid and customizable beyond what other BI tools can offer.

Cons

After working with the product for over 6 years, I've have mostly positive experiences. The few times that there have been questions, the tech support staff have help us overcome the hurdles.

Christina T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

WebFOCUS review

Reviewed on 04/06/2019

Pros

The software is flexible in being able to code as well as use GUI.

Cons

The html page builder can be slow at times in the version our company is currently using.