49 reviews

TIBCO Spotfire

Data visualization and analytics software for any industry

4.3 /5 (49 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
3.8
94% recommended this app
49 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Great visualization tool for large data sets!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is extremely customizable so we have been able to create efficient templates that fit many of our process development engineering workflows. It links well with other systems to aggregate the data, and then using the tools we have created, we are able to easily line by/color by/trellis by a number of different experimental parameters to understand complex studies and DOEs with ease. It is a huge step up from our old workflow of graphing using Excel.

Cons

It can be difficult to learn how to customize complex templates with our giant data sets, so we had to specialize a small team of admins to create templates and troubleshoot issues. However, as an end user, it is very straightforward.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

John kenneth M.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sporfire on the go!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 09/10/2017
Review Source: GetApp

You need to fully understand each function to appreciate this software. But once grasp, I assure you that you will never regret that you use this software,

Pros

This tool is too great specially for us who are analyzing large data. I really really recommend this application.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Alexander Y.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

The Best Reporting Tool Around - HANDS DOWN!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall TIBCO has saved a lot of time and money by allowing our company to make quicker and more informative business decisions based on the depth of the data we are able to display. Additionally, the ability to import data from a broad spectrum of inputs makes this software a "must-have" for any organization that is serious about its reporting capabilities.

Pros

Spotfire is the gold standard when it comes to analyzing and presenting your data in a meaningful way. There are so many robust options and metrics that are at your disposal and once you master the tool, it can really help take your reporting to the next level.

Cons

Admittedly, there is a steep learning curve to mastering this tool, but that is to be expected. Once a basic understanding is reached, I do believe that the use will be able to start using some of the more advanced features in no time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrea O.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

A good analytics tool

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/11/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I've used the demo version for a few days, feeding it with some use cases that I normally process with another top-brand tool

Pros

If you are used to BI tools, setup and learning curve are very straightforward.
It is very easy to connect to the usual relational data sources, I would say easier than many other rival products.
The off-the shelf visualizations are very attracting and some of them can pinpoint data patterns that would otherwise go unnoticed. Even better, the visualization wizard actually analyzes your data before suggesting a default visual.
Machine learning is built on the tool, by following a simple tutorial you can start training ML models on your data.

Cons

When accessing a data source, you can only join tables, but you cannot - for instance - specify custom SQL instructions.
The desktop tool cannot JOIN data sources coming from separate DBs. (a feature that I often use, in a competing product)
As I said, there are some very good visualizations, but they are hard or impossible to customize.
I found some situations where compiling a dialog box (perhaps with illegal Machine Learning parameters, given my inexperience with the tool) and pressing "OK" did nothing and did not show any error or warning message. Without some informative feedback, these dialogs are unhelpful for the novices.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Olaoluwa A.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Good Visualization Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Having a background in R or Python programming is beneficial to fully using Spotfire's capabilities.

Pros

TIBCO Spotfire can be used to create quick and clean visualization plots. It is not difficult to use and can be easily learned.

Cons

There have been significant changes in the recent versions. Joining data tables could be confusing if not properly paid attention to.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Best reporting tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 04/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use, the way you can set up reporting to show exactly what you want to see, along with the UX.

Cons

The reports aren't the easiest to set up, although they do show incredible amounts of data in great visualizations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Reece H.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Spotfire is Indispensable for Data Visualization

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 04/11/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I use Spotfire to explore and visualize data from clinical trial, economic and financial databases. It is my go to method when exploring new datasets to get the quickest and best insights.

Pros

It is blazingly fast. I work with datasets that have hundreds of thousands of entries, each with dozens of fields. Spotfire makes analyzing this data real time a snap.

Cons

The learning curve is a bit steep, it takes a while to learn how to use it well. But the investment is well worth it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Tool for Data Visualisation

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 04/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

The analyst version of Tibco Spotfire is quite handly to identify patterns and draw insight from the data visualisation tool.

Pros

- A convenient platform to organising and arranging large volume of data to identify patterns and trends

Cons

-This platform is not convenient for small set of data.
- Convenient only for quantitative data analysis.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Xavier R.
Industry: Management Consulting

Great BI tool for analysts and data scientists

Reviewed on 30/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Spotfire is one of the best BI tool made for real analysts, not only analysis designers. The cross analysis functions are amongst the best with few scripting requirements.Spotfire is definetely a tool for analysing and discovering features: "Searching for something you do not know", instead of mere reporting.

Cons

A bit expensive and less practical than Qlik for quick reports. Spotfire is not the best BI tool for analytics reporting.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

I used TIBCO Spotfire to create flexible, professional-looking visualizations.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software allows a multitude of visualization options and charting types. The built in integrations (with R for example) are incredibly powerful and save a lot of time.

Cons

The software has a learning curve with some of the more advanced features. Training manuals for older versions are not readily available online.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Siva G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 24/10/2016
Review Source: GetApp
Monel K.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Data Analytics and Data Manipulation

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Helps to generate value for the business and report out the data.

Pros

Graphs and charts available helps to analyze the data. Integration with Python also helps to analyze and manipulate the data as per the requirement. Documentation is very detailed. User community very supportive.

Cons

Integration with R is also required for statistical analysis and prediction using the data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Wendy G.
Industry: Management Consulting

Spotfire is solid visualization software.

Reviewed on 21/01/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This product is easy to use. The start up is fast, and the visuals are great to work with. I like the front end design elements. Everyone I have demoed Spotfire for has been impressed by the visuals, details on demand, filters, highlighting functions etc. I enjoy developing in Spotfire and learning more and more about it.

Cons

Modifying custom SQL is very finicky in the information services library. For example, after optimizing the SQL in SQL Server, Teradata, etc, you still have to fix the individual elements and joins, which is frustrating because, in my opinion, getting the code correct should be more difficult than jamming it back into the Information Services.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Spotfire is a strong provider of data visualization, allowing for easy creation of data stories

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

strong stat based data stories

Pros

Multiple data formats supported, strong analytical background heavy duty statistical chops, ability to produce strong data visualizations

Cons

Less than stellar customer support, price higher than most competitors (offset somewhat by evaluation capabilities)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Koay T.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

IT Senior Section Manager

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 08/11/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Spotfire is an excellent solution for empowering business users to make confident, evidence-based decisions, however it's not a perfect solution for everyone.

Pros

Very user friendly and user can manage without IT assistance
Easy to use with dynamic dashboards and interactive visualization

Cons

Lacking embedded BI and production reporting. A bit expensive and less practical than Qlik for quick report. Spotfire is not the best BI Tool for analytics reporting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Andrew R.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Great reporting tool at a great price

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Connects to all of your data points, and makes it fairly easy to generate reports. Lots of functionality included in the software to meet pretty much all your demands.

Cons

Not always able to fully customize the reports in the manor in which we would like. Sometimes we had issues with connecting separate databases on common fields.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Rajat W.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Data Visualization and Analytics Platform

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/11/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Dashboards help to make data driven decisions for the business. Spotfire is really a very powerful tool to play with data and generate value out of it. Not very expensive and helps to save millions.

Cons

Needs training to utilize the power of spotfire. Takes a lot of time to get used to wide variety of graphs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chris C.
Industry: Music
Company size: Self Employed

Excellent Viz Software (But Expensive!)

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent tool but expensive for first-time firm usage/rollout.

Pros

Excellent software that does a ton of visualizations for you.

Cons

Cost to purchase is at server-level, which is too expensive for firms introducing analytics.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Thomas Y.

Spotfire is perhaps the best big data and data visualization software to work with R

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I find that this software is the easiest to work with R, and the visualization/analytical capabilities make it generally worth the cost.

Pros

Spotfire has a nice user interface that is easy to figure out and set up automated tasks. Perhaps the biggest advantage of Spotfire over other data visualization tools is its connection with R and the ease in which one can connect R scripts with Spotfire visualizations. The beginning process of visualizing data and the suggested visualizations that Spotfire offers is nice, although it does require a few more clicks if you don't like the suggestions Spotfire suggests.

Cons

Spotfire is more expensive than other data visualization software, although I can see why. Spotfire has a host of additional graphical capabilities and analytical capabilities that I think justify the extra cost. It took me a little while to figure out how to set up the analytical models, but once set up, things run smoothly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Anthony E.

Spotfire is good dashboarding tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It enable us to deliver useful and competitive dashboards.

Pros

can use javascript for integrating charts not existing on spotfire. best export tool to pdf and powerpoint. far away better than other tool.

Cons

bad text editor for javascript. iF the javascript errors, you need to restart the whole IDE. small community support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Prafulla K.
Industry: Computer Software

Tibco Spotfire - An Analytical Tool- Get Actionable Insights

Reviewed on 18/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I personally work on Tibco Spotfire for more than 4 Years.
Best things are:
1) Ease of use for all category of users (End user, Developers, Statisticians)
2) Intuitive, Drag Drop
3) Continuous New enhancement in new version so it always remains uptodate with latest trend in technology. Recent example is a "Recommendation" feature which is excellent and enable one as analyst even though you don't know about technology.

Cons

They should come with some cheaper version so that small scale industry and small budget people can take advantage of this product which is so immense powerful.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Utilities

More a visualization tool (interactive), decent BI tool

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 15/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

We were able to help the client visualize their complicated data in an easy to understand format using pie charts, heat map, etc. that they were able to update easily to run different potential scenarios.

Pros

It's a great visualization tool when itegrated with a more robust BI (Business Intelligence) tool. The filtering capibility of this tool are impressive! On a side panel, as you keep applying filters, on the other side, you can easily visualize the results. I remember taking all the training online which was easily available and we were also able to contact a representative for questions. They also help with professional installation.

Cons

I selected and implemented this tool at a cilent site. Where the visualization features were pretty robust, we needed to integrate this with a stronger BI tool to be able to do complicated analytics. It can a bit pricey but it's meant for bigger organizations, hence not that big of a concern.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

John F.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Spotfire is a great visualization software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Great product when taken full advantage of. Really great getting networked data to populate.

Pros

The customizability and ability to create templates is amazing to tailor the different features of the product for all types of business pages.

Cons

The software is hard to manage in terms of set up and updates to the templates. You have to have decent knowledge about scripting to do advanced things.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jason B.
Industry: Utilities

I have worked with Spotfire since version 3.0 as a developer and BI PM

Reviewed on 22/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The product continues to be developed and offer business a user enabling and powerful tool for visually analyzing data.

Cons

Support from Vendor in the area of customer service is weak. Implementation as companies is done with little or no training making support a vital feature to organizations.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Greg A.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: Self Employed

Works great for creating analytical charts

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Spotfire turned out to be a great investment to increate out analytical reporting capabilities, especially automatic to daily reports. Being able to use multiple types of data sources to get the data into a central repository has helped a lot.

Pros

I like being able to combine multiple data sources to create data analysis and charts that reflect complexities that would be difficult to other explain. Using spotfire and automating the reports makes reporting so much easier

Cons

There is a learning curve to setting up and using Spotfire and sometimes it seems as though there is a lot of manual setup that could probably be more easily accomplished with wizards.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10