50 reviews

TIBCO Spotfire

Data visualization and analytics software for any industry

4.3 /5 (50 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
50 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Comprehensive Analytics Tool

Reviewed on 27/03/2020

Once I had some training on Spotfire, I never looked back and use it frequently when processing large amounts of data.

Pros

I love that Spotfire is able to process large file sizes extremely quickly, which means filtering millions of rows in seconds and making it easy to find and sort filter options. In addition, the visualizations in the tool are practically limitless and allow users to make incredibly complex but extremely useful and informative reports.

Cons

Spotfire is not easy to use and requires training from an experienced person to use. It is not nearly as user friendly as its competitors.

Ailene M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Analytics Tool for Visualization Reports

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

Pros

Easy to use and create visual reports, more exciting design and layout for analysis.

Cons

Need more manuals training for the advance features.

Ryan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good software but not user friendly

Reviewed on 27/02/2020

Overall, I like using it and will continue to use it. However, I would like a smoother interface.

Pros

Once you learn how to use the software it is very helpful. It is extremely helpful when using CSV files that are too big (too many rows) to use in excel.

Cons

The biggest drawback is that the software has so many functions and buttons, that it is very hard to know how to use all of the buttons. It is kind of overwhelming. It may be helpful if they make the look more simple and consolidate buttons by type (kind f like how has all its functionalities sorted by tabs).

Juan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Just another BI tool

Reviewed on 26/03/2019

Pros

It was not hard to get stared and create some visualizations and analysis which is the main purpose of a BI interface.

Cons

Maybe is because I'm comparing it with another BI tools like Qlik or Tableau and that is why I think is an inferior product and just don't quite like it.

Rachel O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Spotfire: intuitive tool for basic visualization

Reviewed on 14/12/2019

I used Spotfire to visualize the customer revenue for varying plans of pricing my companies product. It was so useful to color code various customer types and understand how their revenue shifted as various pricing rules were applied. This helped my business presentation tremendously, and I appreciated using Spotfire.

Pros

It was so straightforward to learn and apply to basic applications. To learn, I recreated a file that a colleague had already made in order to teach myself the basics. This took about an hour. Then, I was able to play around and make beautiful visualizations!

Cons

There were a few features that were hard for me to figure out -- such as, applying a formula to change what an axis is measuring. This was never intuitive for me, so I would just mess around with the axes until it looked like I wanted it to. Occasionally, this would become frustrating.

Vanessa S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Spotfire - ideal for life science research visualizations/data sharing

Reviewed on 29/01/2015

Pros

I like the variety of visualizations, such as pie charts, line graphs, heat maps, cross bars. This helps because some visualizations make more sense to me than others at displaying my data.

Cons

The trainings are free and online and review basics. To understand some of the cooler features, you have to dig a bit with your IT team, online, or colleagues.

Amit G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Spotfire Revview

Reviewed on 18/12/2015

Pros

I like this tool's in Memory visualization functionality.

Cons

Metadata management. it should have been more robust. Also building report logic is bit confusing

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Spotfire is great tool for visualization and Dashboarding

Reviewed on 07/03/2018

Pros

1. Easy to use interface for building dashboards
2.Tight Integration and connector for popular databases

Cons

1.Tighter cloud integration
2.Need more Training material
3.New features and functionalities compare to Qlik or Tableau

Connor S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful and Nimble

Reviewed on 01/10/2018

Spotfire is a solid viz tool for basic, to advanced analysis needs.

Pros

Spotfire is a powerful data visualization tool and surpassed my original expectations. They have plenty of self service capabilities as well.

Cons

If not using the templates, it can be tough to achieve the visualization you desire. Although, for simple and quick analysis, this fits my needs

Divyajyoti R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Reviewed on 11/11/2018

Khaled A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 03/04/2018

Margot G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Spotfire for Life Science

Reviewed on 18/12/2015

Pros

ability to quickly identify outliers in the datasets

Cons

support documentation for external domain authentication is lacking for advanced infrastructure

Jonathan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tibco Spotfire Review

Reviewed on 28/09/2018

Very nice to use Business Intelligence tool, have user friendly interface and the basic functionality is easy to self-study. At a low cost and not so customized Dashboarding requirements Tibco Spotfire is very efficient.

Pros

* User friendly interface and ease of access.
* Good design and functionality for graphs.
* Low cost.
* Ability to embed Python, HTML, and JavaScript.
* Plenty of data source options.

Cons

* Hard to customize some visualization objects.
* Few default functionality for computations especially on cross tables
* Sometimes the text editor is auto changing the code layout once saved.

Anna A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Visualization Dashboards and Reporting

Reviewed on 21/11/2018

Making dashboards for top management so that they can drive growth by making decisions by looking at the data.

Pros

Dashboards are used to make business decisions which are data driven and are very powerful , intuitive in nature. Data can extracted from any format almost.

Cons

You got to spend years to fully utilize the tool. It is such a powerful tool.

Joey T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice way to visualize data

Reviewed on 26/05/2019

Using Spotfire to visualize complex data

Pros

Allows you to group and visualize data in many different ways.

Cons

Requires some trainings to use the software.

George F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Is really good for what you need it to do

Reviewed on 24/01/2020

Very good experience overall. It does exactly what I need it to.

Pros

Spotfire allows you to quickly identify outliers and explore data with high performance. Along with this is easy to use and has a convenient platform to identify trends and patterns. Spotfire is such a powerful tool that allows you to visualize data in an easy manner.

Cons

Although it is easy to pick up, you will need to look online or consult training manuals for advanced features. It takes a long time to master this program.

Liam W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very capable and intuitive despite its depth.

Reviewed on 27/07/2019

Pros

Spotfire can do just about anything you want it to, it's fairly simple to learn to both set up and use.

Cons

Better integration with google sheets would be nice.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Reporting tool with a lot of potential

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

We have been using this in the company and the adminitrators need the skills to work the query in detail because you can not handle easily after.

Pros

If is a strong tool for reporting and business intelligence, allows many data sources with a hugh potential.

Cons

The visualization is not the strongest thing, charts and graph are not too customizable and easy to read.

Thomas Y.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Spotfire is perhaps the best big data and data visualization software to work with R

Reviewed on 26/04/2018

I find that this software is the easiest to work with R, and the visualization/analytical capabilities make it generally worth the cost.

Pros

Spotfire has a nice user interface that is easy to figure out and set up automated tasks. Perhaps the biggest advantage of Spotfire over other data visualization tools is its connection with R and the ease in which one can connect R scripts with Spotfire visualizations. The beginning process of visualizing data and the suggested visualizations that Spotfire offers is nice, although it does require a few more clicks if you don't like the suggestions Spotfire suggests.

Cons

Spotfire is more expensive than other data visualization software, although I can see why. Spotfire has a host of additional graphical capabilities and analytical capabilities that I think justify the extra cost. It took me a little while to figure out how to set up the analytical models, but once set up, things run smoothly.

Anthony E.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Spotfire is good dashboarding tool

Reviewed on 13/07/2018

It enable us to deliver useful and competitive dashboards.

Pros

can use javascript for integrating charts not existing on spotfire. best export tool to pdf and powerpoint. far away better than other tool.

Cons

bad text editor for javascript. iF the javascript errors, you need to restart the whole IDE. small community support.

Prafulla K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tibco Spotfire - An Analytical Tool- Get Actionable Insights

Reviewed on 18/12/2015

Pros

I personally work on Tibco Spotfire for more than 4 Years.
Best things are:
1) Ease of use for all category of users (End user, Developers, Statisticians)
2) Intuitive, Drag Drop
3) Continuous New enhancement in new version so it always remains uptodate with latest trend in technology. Recent example is a "Recommendation" feature which is excellent and enable one as analyst even though you don't know about technology.

Cons

They should come with some cheaper version so that small scale industry and small budget people can take advantage of this product which is so immense powerful.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

More a visualization tool (interactive), decent BI tool

Reviewed on 15/11/2017

We were able to help the client visualize their complicated data in an easy to understand format using pie charts, heat map, etc. that they were able to update easily to run different potential scenarios.

Pros

It's a great visualization tool when itegrated with a more robust BI (Business Intelligence) tool. The filtering capibility of this tool are impressive! On a side panel, as you keep applying filters, on the other side, you can easily visualize the results. I remember taking all the training online which was easily available and we were also able to contact a representative for questions. They also help with professional installation.

Cons

I selected and implemented this tool at a cilent site. Where the visualization features were pretty robust, we needed to integrate this with a stronger BI tool to be able to do complicated analytics. It can a bit pricey but it's meant for bigger organizations, hence not that big of a concern.

John F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Spotfire is a great visualization software

Reviewed on 10/01/2020

Great product when taken full advantage of. Really great getting networked data to populate.

Pros

The customizability and ability to create templates is amazing to tailor the different features of the product for all types of business pages.

Cons

The software is hard to manage in terms of set up and updates to the templates. You have to have decent knowledge about scripting to do advanced things.

Jason B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have worked with Spotfire since version 3.0 as a developer and BI PM

Reviewed on 22/12/2015

Pros

The product continues to be developed and offer business a user enabling and powerful tool for visually analyzing data.

Cons

Support from Vendor in the area of customer service is weak. Implementation as companies is done with little or no training making support a vital feature to organizations.

Greg A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Works great for creating analytical charts

Reviewed on 30/08/2019

Spotfire turned out to be a great investment to increate out analytical reporting capabilities, especially automatic to daily reports. Being able to use multiple types of data sources to get the data into a central repository has helped a lot.

Pros

I like being able to combine multiple data sources to create data analysis and charts that reflect complexities that would be difficult to other explain. Using spotfire and automating the reports makes reporting so much easier

Cons

There is a learning curve to setting up and using Spotfire and sometimes it seems as though there is a lot of manual setup that could probably be more easily accomplished with wizards.