TIBCO Spotfire

4.3 (51)
Data visualization and analytics software for any industry

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(51)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support Software
3.8/5

94%
recommended this app

51 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great visualization tool for large data sets!

Reviewed on 16/01/2020

Pros

It is extremely customizable so we have been able to create efficient templates that fit many of our process development engineering workflows. It links well with other systems to aggregate the data, and then using the tools we have created, we are able to easily line by/color by/trellis by a number of different experimental parameters to understand complex studies and DOEs with ease. It is a huge step up from our old workflow of graphing using Excel.

Cons

It can be difficult to learn how to customize complex templates with our giant data sets, so we had to specialize a small team of admins to create templates and troubleshoot issues. However, as an end user, it is very straightforward.

Alexander Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Reporting Tool Around - HANDS DOWN!

Reviewed on 12/12/2019

Overall TIBCO has saved a lot of time and money by allowing our company to make quicker and more informative business decisions based on the depth of the data we are able to display. Additionally, the ability to import data from a broad spectrum of inputs makes this software a "must-have" for any organization that is serious about its reporting capabilities.

Pros

Spotfire is the gold standard when it comes to analyzing and presenting your data in a meaningful way. There are so many robust options and metrics that are at your disposal and once you master the tool, it can really help take your reporting to the next level.

Cons

Admittedly, there is a steep learning curve to mastering this tool, but that is to be expected. Once a basic understanding is reached, I do believe that the use will be able to start using some of the more advanced features in no time.

Andrea O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A good analytics tool

Reviewed on 18/11/2016

I've used the demo version for a few days, feeding it with some use cases that I normally process with another top-brand tool

Pros

If you are used to BI tools, setup and learning curve are very straightforward.
It is very easy to connect to the usual relational data sources, I would say easier than many other rival products.
The off-the shelf visualizations are very attracting and some of them can pinpoint data patterns that would otherwise go unnoticed. Even better, the visualization wizard actually analyzes your data before suggesting a default visual.
Machine learning is built on the tool, by following a simple tutorial you can start training ML models on your data.

Cons

When accessing a data source, you can only join tables, but you cannot - for instance - specify custom SQL instructions.
The desktop tool cannot JOIN data sources coming from separate DBs. (a feature that I often use, in a competing product)
As I said, there are some very good visualizations, but they are hard or impossible to customize.
I found some situations where compiling a dialog box (perhaps with illegal Machine Learning parameters, given my inexperience with the tool) and pressing "OK" did nothing and did not show any error or warning message. Without some informative feedback, these dialogs are unhelpful for the novices.

Olaoluwa A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Visualization Product

Reviewed on 19/07/2019

Having a background in R or Python programming is beneficial to fully using Spotfire's capabilities.

Pros

TIBCO Spotfire can be used to create quick and clean visualization plots. It is not difficult to use and can be easily learned.

Cons

There have been significant changes in the recent versions. Joining data tables could be confusing if not properly paid attention to.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Best reporting tool

Reviewed on 04/06/2018

Pros

The ease of use, the way you can set up reporting to show exactly what you want to see, along with the UX.

Cons

The reports aren't the easiest to set up, although they do show incredible amounts of data in great visualizations.

Reece H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Spotfire is Indispensable for Data Visualization

Reviewed on 04/11/2016

I use Spotfire to explore and visualize data from clinical trial, economic and financial databases. It is my go to method when exploring new datasets to get the quickest and best insights.

Pros

It is blazingly fast. I work with datasets that have hundreds of thousands of entries, each with dozens of fields. Spotfire makes analyzing this data real time a snap.

Cons

The learning curve is a bit steep, it takes a while to learn how to use it well. But the investment is well worth it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tool for Data Visualisation

Reviewed on 04/12/2019

The analyst version of Tibco Spotfire is quite handly to identify patterns and draw insight from the data visualisation tool.

Pros

- A convenient platform to organising and arranging large volume of data to identify patterns and trends

Cons

-This platform is not convenient for small set of data.
- Convenient only for quantitative data analysis.

John kenneth M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sporfire on the go!

Reviewed on 09/10/2017

You need to fully understand each function to appreciate this software. But once grasp, I assure you that you will never regret that you use this software,

Pros

This tool is too great specially for us who are analyzing large data. I really really recommend this application.

Xavier R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great BI tool for analysts and data scientists

Reviewed on 30/12/2015

Pros

Spotfire is one of the best BI tool made for real analysts, not only analysis designers. The cross analysis functions are amongst the best with few scripting requirements.Spotfire is definetely a tool for analysing and discovering features: "Searching for something you do not know", instead of mere reporting.

Cons

A bit expensive and less practical than Qlik for quick reports. Spotfire is not the best BI tool for analytics reporting.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I used TIBCO Spotfire to create flexible, professional-looking visualizations.

Reviewed on 11/01/2018

Pros

The software allows a multitude of visualization options and charting types. The built in integrations (with R for example) are incredibly powerful and save a lot of time.

Cons

The software has a learning curve with some of the more advanced features. Training manuals for older versions are not readily available online.

Siva G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 24/10/2016

Margot G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Spotfire for Life Science

Reviewed on 18/12/2015

Pros

ability to quickly identify outliers in the datasets

Cons

support documentation for external domain authentication is lacking for advanced infrastructure

Jonathan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tibco Spotfire Review

Reviewed on 28/09/2018

Very nice to use Business Intelligence tool, have user friendly interface and the basic functionality is easy to self-study. At a low cost and not so customized Dashboarding requirements Tibco Spotfire is very efficient.

Pros

* User friendly interface and ease of access.
* Good design and functionality for graphs.
* Low cost.
* Ability to embed Python, HTML, and JavaScript.
* Plenty of data source options.

Cons

* Hard to customize some visualization objects.
* Few default functionality for computations especially on cross tables
* Sometimes the text editor is auto changing the code layout once saved.

Anna A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Visualization Dashboards and Reporting

Reviewed on 21/11/2018

Making dashboards for top management so that they can drive growth by making decisions by looking at the data.

Pros

Dashboards are used to make business decisions which are data driven and are very powerful , intuitive in nature. Data can extracted from any format almost.

Cons

You got to spend years to fully utilize the tool. It is such a powerful tool.

Joey T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice way to visualize data

Reviewed on 26/05/2019

Using Spotfire to visualize complex data

Pros

Allows you to group and visualize data in many different ways.

Cons

Requires some trainings to use the software.

George F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Is really good for what you need it to do

Reviewed on 24/01/2020

Very good experience overall. It does exactly what I need it to.

Pros

Spotfire allows you to quickly identify outliers and explore data with high performance. Along with this is easy to use and has a convenient platform to identify trends and patterns. Spotfire is such a powerful tool that allows you to visualize data in an easy manner.

Cons

Although it is easy to pick up, you will need to look online or consult training manuals for advanced features. It takes a long time to master this program.

Liam W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very capable and intuitive despite its depth.

Reviewed on 27/07/2019

Pros

Spotfire can do just about anything you want it to, it's fairly simple to learn to both set up and use.

Cons

Better integration with google sheets would be nice.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Reporting tool with a lot of potential

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

We have been using this in the company and the adminitrators need the skills to work the query in detail because you can not handle easily after.

Pros

If is a strong tool for reporting and business intelligence, allows many data sources with a hugh potential.

Cons

The visualization is not the strongest thing, charts and graph are not too customizable and easy to read.

Balaji L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Future of Data Management

Reviewed on 07/05/2021

I m working in it for free years and I love it

Pros

This can be used across multiple data platform

Cons

Complicated administration takes time to understand infrastructure

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Choosing TIBCO Spotfire

Cost

Switched From

SAP Crystal Reports
Thomas Y.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Spotfire is perhaps the best big data and data visualization software to work with R

Reviewed on 26/04/2018

I find that this software is the easiest to work with R, and the visualization/analytical capabilities make it generally worth the cost.

Pros

Spotfire has a nice user interface that is easy to figure out and set up automated tasks. Perhaps the biggest advantage of Spotfire over other data visualization tools is its connection with R and the ease in which one can connect R scripts with Spotfire visualizations. The beginning process of visualizing data and the suggested visualizations that Spotfire offers is nice, although it does require a few more clicks if you don't like the suggestions Spotfire suggests.

Cons

Spotfire is more expensive than other data visualization software, although I can see why. Spotfire has a host of additional graphical capabilities and analytical capabilities that I think justify the extra cost. It took me a little while to figure out how to set up the analytical models, but once set up, things run smoothly.

Anthony E.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Spotfire is good dashboarding tool

Reviewed on 13/07/2018

It enable us to deliver useful and competitive dashboards.

Pros

can use javascript for integrating charts not existing on spotfire. best export tool to pdf and powerpoint. far away better than other tool.

Cons

bad text editor for javascript. iF the javascript errors, you need to restart the whole IDE. small community support.

Prafulla K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tibco Spotfire - An Analytical Tool- Get Actionable Insights

Reviewed on 18/12/2015

Pros

I personally work on Tibco Spotfire for more than 4 Years.
Best things are:
1) Ease of use for all category of users (End user, Developers, Statisticians)
2) Intuitive, Drag Drop
3) Continuous New enhancement in new version so it always remains uptodate with latest trend in technology. Recent example is a "Recommendation" feature which is excellent and enable one as analyst even though you don't know about technology.

Cons

They should come with some cheaper version so that small scale industry and small budget people can take advantage of this product which is so immense powerful.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

More a visualization tool (interactive), decent BI tool

Reviewed on 15/11/2017

We were able to help the client visualize their complicated data in an easy to understand format using pie charts, heat map, etc. that they were able to update easily to run different potential scenarios.

Pros

It's a great visualization tool when itegrated with a more robust BI (Business Intelligence) tool. The filtering capibility of this tool are impressive! On a side panel, as you keep applying filters, on the other side, you can easily visualize the results. I remember taking all the training online which was easily available and we were also able to contact a representative for questions. They also help with professional installation.

Cons

I selected and implemented this tool at a cilent site. Where the visualization features were pretty robust, we needed to integrate this with a stronger BI tool to be able to do complicated analytics. It can a bit pricey but it's meant for bigger organizations, hence not that big of a concern.

John F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Spotfire is a great visualization software

Reviewed on 10/01/2020

Great product when taken full advantage of. Really great getting networked data to populate.

Pros

The customizability and ability to create templates is amazing to tailor the different features of the product for all types of business pages.

Cons

The software is hard to manage in terms of set up and updates to the templates. You have to have decent knowledge about scripting to do advanced things.

Jason B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have worked with Spotfire since version 3.0 as a developer and BI PM

Reviewed on 22/12/2015

Pros

The product continues to be developed and offer business a user enabling and powerful tool for visually analyzing data.

Cons

Support from Vendor in the area of customer service is weak. Implementation as companies is done with little or no training making support a vital feature to organizations.