88 reviews

Ecanvasser

Campaign canvassing & voter management

4.1 /5 (88 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.1 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
84%
recommended this app
88 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good for selct usage, may not cover all campaign needs

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

I used it for a basic field campaign in a situation where VAN wasn't available. It served a limited purpose for sending out canvass teams, but overall there was too much difficulty keeping the data in Ecanvasser in sync with other data coming in from other sources. As things got busier, it ended up being less work to use paper lists and do manual entry into another system than it was to keep the program updated.

Pros

It was a pretty easy initial setup, getting lists loaded and assigning turfs to canvassers. The staff is very responsive as well, I always got quick answers from them whenever I reached out.

Cons

It does the job as a mobile canvassing device, but that's very rarely the only database function occurring on a campaign. It isn't set up for easy desktop list management, manual data entry, custom list exports, etc., and as such is limited in usefulness. It does what it says it will, but at this point can't really be used as a primary database for a full scale campaign. It needs some changes to its desktop functionality, or an easy interface with another program that adds that capacity. Right now it's only useful for one piece, which you can't really connect to everything else in a campaign that relies on an adaptive database.

Michael M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

A good solid program that gets the job done, without the unnecessary flash.

Reviewed on 26/02/2018

Pros

The software is easy to use after the initial set-up. You get your campaign up and running and you have very little issue getting your canvassers out and hitting the maximum amount of doors.

Cons

It is sometimes difficult to get help if you are not in the same time zone as the ECaanvasser, because they are located in Ireland. What are business hours on the west coast of the United States are not anywhere close to the hours in Ireland.

John B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Semiconductors
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Voter canvass

Reviewed on 31/01/2020

Voter canvass

Pros

Generally user friendly and intuitive. Predictive text is good when searching for street names.

Cons

The app crashed occasionally and some data was lost. I would like to see street addresses ordered by number by default and for the app to retain this stetting unless changed. As it stands it's necessary to change this every time.
Also the app doesn't work unless the phone location/GPS. is on which is a big drain on the battery

Joshua H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Ecanvasser is Great

Reviewed on 01/10/2019

Customer service has been amazing as well as the learning center.

Pros

The ease of use for my team is unlike any other software that we have used in the past. Adding and matching voters and addresses is also very easy.

Cons

Certain signup process aspects are frustrating but once you get the hang of it becomse less noticeable.

Becky H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 09/09/2019

I am just starting out but overall I love it. Easy to set up, easy to use. Easy to export data.

Pros

Everything - it makes canvassing so much easier than paper lists or other software I have used in the past.

Cons

I can't add houses. But I'm going to reach out to customer support to ask if I can.

Emmett S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not bad for price

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

We ran into some issues, but Ecanvasser was always ready to help. Could use some more user-experience to capture needs of field operations.

Pros

Cost effective and relatively easy to set up.

Cons

Lots of bugs, limited features based on need

William O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Ecanvasser

Reviewed on 06/02/2020

It has been good. Used by multiple teams simultaneously and clearly indicated where the teams had been.

Pros

The ability to search for addresses by street.

Cons

Does not always populate the addresses that have been reached.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User Friendly

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

Using e canvasser during the Alberta election and have had no real issues that haven't been able to be address quickly.

Pros

Ease of use when on the doors. Easily navigate to where you need to be. Extremely user friendly. When you send the team at ecanvasser an issue it is resolved in a timely matter

Cons

Not having the ability to go back in and edit once something is saved

Andeww I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Option for Budget Campaigns m

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

Overall, I was impressed at the value of the product and quick turnaround for set up. Many providers take several days to onboard—we were up and running the same day. When you’re in a bind, this can make all the difference. Likewise, customer service was great and were very easy to get in touch with

Pros

The platform was at a reasonable price point for lower budget campaigns and provided a suite of useful features for experienced staffers to take advantage of. More, uploading and tagging data was relatively easy in comparison to other popular services.

Cons

Some features, including integration with other services, proved difficult for volunteer staff to navigate. The backend requires a certain degree of experience that doesn’t match the entry level pricing.

Rob U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Nice features but too many cicks

Reviewed on 01/03/2019

Needs more testing with highly stretched teams for whom reduction in data entry time is significant.

Pros

The dashboard and the customisable print out options

Cons

Too cumbersome on data entry (googlesheets quicker and easier)

David T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reliable Use

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

It was positive overall. Price advantageous.

Pros

I liked how easy it was to operate the software.

Cons

It was difficult to me to find out how to do some of the functions.

Raissa M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent app

Reviewed on 22/09/2018

It’s been great

Pros

Very easy to use. I like all of the features.

Cons

Different on different phones. Had to figure that out

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very helpful!

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

Pros

Very easy to use, upload data, and navigate. Super helpful when choosing which houses to approach. Extremely nice to have when organizing groups.

Cons

From my perspective, there wasn't anything I did not like.

Elijah M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

E-canvasser has been gold.

Reviewed on 04/02/2020

My experience with e-canvasser so far has been gold. I haven't had any issues using the software, the apps, or other administrative features. It has been incredibly useful in the field too.

Pros

The software is extremely accessible and easy to use. I really admire the quickness of data syncing from cell phones and tablets.

Cons

I don't have any cons, but would enjoy a phone-banking software included with the canvassing service too.

Carl W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

eCanvasser is an excellent tool for canvassing homes for political campaigns.

Reviewed on 10/07/2018

The greatest benefit is the ability to assign as many canvassers as we like, without additional licenses. Operationally, our teams have been able to move a lot quicker in canvassing voting districts. We also like the custom fields, allowing us to use this as our primary data source.

Pros

eCanvasser is focused on canvassing homes, instead of trying to be a be all end all of campaign operations. It is fairly easy to use. Hands down, customer service is outstanding. They respond quickly via email, and it is easy to talk to a live person. I like the control I have with the data, and unlimited custom fields I can create. The other big pro is their license model. I can assign as many volunteer canvassers as I want without an additional charge. All other services I found charge a license per user. This gives a budget tight campaign a lot of flexibility in using volunteers.

Cons

The data model needs some maturing. When creating groups, you have to select voters to put in that group. That's no biggy. But if you append the master database, the changes to a voters record do not aggregate to the record you placed within your groups. The Canvass Types are static. I would like to be able to create additional types, and select my own color. Canvassers also have to drill down too much to get to data they need at the door. Their are a few areas where it could be more intuitive. However, these are easily overcome with additional training. Overall, the product is great. We will continue using the product, and ensure our needs are input to developers for future enhancements.

Response from Ecanvasser

Hi and thanks for the feedback. We are currently addressing custom canvass statuses to give you more flexibility. As regards appending the master database and how this affects groups we are looking to develop Dynamic Groups also in the medium term.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A Software that is almost there

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

Ecanvasser has met most of my campaign needs.

Pros

The maps are good. The ease of access to features is good. Switching between campaigns is easy.

Cons

The clustering of houses into blocks is very frustrating. It seems that when I first started using Ecanvasser over a year ago that each house showed up separately on the map. Now, however, they are bunched together and in a very random order. Sometimes, the first house on the street shows up on the map very far past other houses on the map, because one might be odd and the other even. The biggest problem of all is that sometimes (often), one must enlarge the screen massively in order to uncover "hidden" blocks of houses. If Ecanvasser could undo these problems, which I do not recall from my campaign in fall 2017, I would really like it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for Campaigns

Reviewed on 22/09/2018

I have had great experience with Ecanvasser so far.

Pros

The ease of use on the back end of thee software is amazing! I have used Ecanvasser on a few campaigns now and the data manipulation is fantastic.

Cons

The biggest problem I have is with the groups and maps. Neither works together well. I would like to see when I put a group together and click on the map that it only shows that group and not everything assigned to me or another canvasser.

Kevin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ECanvasser may be the best I've found, but there's room for improvement

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

Y'all have a great app. The customer support team (in particular) is excellent. Even all the way here in the States I felt my campaigns got the attention they needed. You should think about integrating phone-banking, would basically conquer the world.

Pros

Ease of use. Simple for anyone to download the app and get going. Many different ways to cut turf (or not) and organize walks.

Cons

Billing is difficult. As a consultant, I wish I could charge multiple accounts on multiple different cards, rather than having to set different owners for every account. Additionally, there are some kinks that need to be worked out regarding canvasses at the household or individual level. Regardless of where the data goes, it shouldn't affect functionality of the backend as much as it does.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great if added more functions

Reviewed on 24/09/2018

Pros

The basic functionality was fine- straight forward to learn.

Cons

It was frustrating that there was no "moved" option- our team had to add this to the notes and manually deal with that data. We would have also liked to have the reports come out in a way that allowed us to sort multiple survey response answers.

It also would have made it easier if the maps view showed only houses/ people on that canvasser's individual turf, rather than all houses/ people.

It was also difficult having a limit to the number of turfs we could draw/ the price going up for adding more canvassers to the system.

Greg C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid product

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

Pros

Very useful for a local campaign, especially when you have an existing data source

Cons

App occasionally crashes, but support is good. Would like to be able to more easily do bulk updates / data import

Ahmed E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review for Ecanvasser app

Reviewed on 05/02/2020

Pros

The software is easy to use, as a campaign manager i was able to follow the volunteers for the project, the assistance was amazing : i had a quick response for every question i asked

Cons

The app Go Ecanvasser had too much bug and didn't work for old phones which made the work hard and complicated for our volunteers and campaign staffer.

Nikita K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Good foundation, needs more development

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

Overall, our experience with Ecanvasser was not the best. In the future, we'd probably look for another option before reconsidering this platform.

Pros

Ecanvasser has a good start. The platform has some good solid foundations.

Cons

Still needs a lot more work to fix all the bugs, trip ups, glitches, and crashes.

Response from Ecanvasser

Thanks for the feedback Nikita, I think the product has moved on significantly in the past two years since you used it. Would love to see you back to see new functionality and reliability of the product.

Stéphane G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use. Simple. I like the design.

Reviewed on 10/07/2018

Pros

You have great customer service. Every time we have a question you are there to help and it's fast.
Everybody can use it. It's simple.

Cons

Sometimes the map is not completely accurate. Would be nice to have an option to upload a picture. Impossible to invite another user on your phone.

Alison P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for Doorknocking!

Reviewed on 16/02/2019

Worked with eCanvasser on a municipal political campaign

Pros

Very easy and intuitive to use while doorknocking

Cons

Sometimes it took too many clicks to get to the correct screen details

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very interactive and amazing platform for managing your team

Reviewed on 22/03/2019

Pros

As a campaign manager I decided to give it a try. Although we cant pay for it due to the financial status of the race, we saw that it does provide a lot of advantages when it comes to organizing your team. The fact that you can assign your volunteers to a certain area and they could see the voter's location is pretty amazing.

Cons

Pricing is sometimes an issue especially for very small races with a very limited budget.