88 reviews

Ecanvasser

Campaign canvassing & voter management

4.1 /5 (88 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.1
/
5
Value for Money
4.1
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
4.4
84% recommended this app
88 reviews
Dana P.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Don't Campiagn Without it!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use, if I could not figure out something their tech dept was a real help

Pros

I used this software and used list printed from Republican headquarters WHAT A TIME SAVER this software is. I went door to door for another campaign after losing in the primary. The other campaign did not use Ecanvasser Took me 3-4 times as long to cover the same area as it would have using Eanvasser!

Cons

A bit of a learning curve noth too difficult

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David M.
Industry: Writing & Editing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

More Work Needed

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I enjoyed learning something new but the interface needs a lot of work to make key use cases simpler and more intuitive--both for canvassers and administrators.

Pros

The concept is great and the fact that it eliminates the post-canvass data entry bottleneck is hugely valuable because canvassers can stay out as long as they want--or canvass over a number of days--without worrying about getting the data back to a data entry person on time.

Cons

Assigning new canvassers to a canvass was time consuming and painful. I spent the first half hour of most of our canvassing sessions getting people to respond to the email, download the app, and assigning them to a canvass. While the version canvassers use on their phones is relatively simply to use, there are some annoying glitches. For example, there's no way to record whether a person has moved--or to take the name of the person now living at the address. Meanwhile, using the web version was painful. The process of cutting turfs isn't very intuitive. There's also no way to know how many doors are in the turf until you cut it and save it. If there are too many, you can delete it and try again--but there's no way to modify it otherwise. It would also be good to have a fast way to process people via the web version who unexpectedly show up to canvass. Something else that could be clearer is the process for printing out paper turfs. Many older canvassers preferred to record their data on paper--and then enter them into their phones afterwards. But trying to dope out how to do this was maddening. The printouts also lacked relevant data points, forcing people to take handwritten notes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Matthew E.

Great software that is invaluable with election campaigns

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Time Saving - More accurate data recording.

Pros

The software makes recording data on real time much easier and colates all the data from our election campaigns in one place. The customer service is amazing.

Cons

Whilst the new layout is more visually appealing, some of the functionality has been lost - particularly with Caseworking.

Response from Ecanvasser

Hi and thanks for the review. Glad you are happy with the software and keen to help you with any issue you might have in regards to Caseworking. I don't believe we have changed anything on the caseworking functionality but you may be having issues finding it in the new interface. Why not drop us a message on our support chat box and we can help you get sorted out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jake P.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Support

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 22/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It is great. I recommend it and have got several candidates and even a political party to use it.

Pros

When you are running campaigns on a limited budget, often you have to do without. I recommend Ecanvasser to all small campaigns with limited budgets. It gets the job done, is effective, and doesn't force you to buy extra stuff you don't need.

Cons

It imports to NationBuilder; however, the fields it imports could be improved upon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alexandra L.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy to use in field and review data captured

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 06/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, set your parameters and go.

Cons

Would have to reinstall frequently as the app would malfunction

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Zachary F.
Industry: Government Relations
Company size: Self Employed

Perfect product, perfect price point

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 31/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Ecanvasser is always extremely responsive and their team is great at what they do.

Pros

This software is very easy for my clients to learn and easy for me to administrate on the back end. Plus, you can't beat the competitive pricing compared to other industry-leading products.

Cons

The software lacks the ability to color-code households, which would be helpful in many cases.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Graham M.

Great tool for canvassing

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 13/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Amazing customer support! Very responsive to concerns and happy to make modifications on the fly to support the development of the app.

Cons

The app is very different on Android and iPhone, which makes training volunteers a bit tough. While the functionality is all there, it is in different spots and sometimes harder to get to. Also the ability add new users from the app versus the website would be helpful

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nada M.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Ecanvasser assessment

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

So far it has been extremely helpful and the support team is extremely helpful.

Pros

The ability to canvass with ease. It made it faster and more accessible with the technology ecanvasser provides.

Cons

I wish there was a functionality to select all members of a household at once and allow them to have the same support rating instead of selecting each individual separately.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Overall, we had a good experience.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 14/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use of the map features and the integration with the Nation Builder platform were the best features of the Ecanvasser software.

Cons

It would bump us off or close us out once in a while. Other than that, there were not many problems. It was very helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great mobile app

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The app is wonderful. The houses are perfectly mapped out, which makes it easy to find the homes you are targeting.

Cons

Tricky to update your list. Formatting needs to be identical.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great canvassing app, maps need work

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Politically canvassing can be difficult, this app offers many great benefits to simplifying this process. Overall a great app, with some minor errors that are simple to overcome with sound logical thought

Pros

Great ease of use and functionality! I appreciate the simplicity

Cons

The maps function does not accurately place houses in the proper location.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Nick O.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Solid Application with room to grow

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 01/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It was a good product, that could use some enhancements to make use smoother. The support team was helpful and I sure improvements have been implemented.

Pros

The user interface is great and very friendly.

Cons

Signing users up to canvas was a bit clunky and more difficult with folks who are not tech savvy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Nat S.
Industry: Government Relations
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Used for political campaign

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 30/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

If the crashes are fixed, I would recommend

Pros

the app was extremely easy to use for beginners

Cons

The app lagged quite a bit & would crash

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 11-50 Employees

App has limited features

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 19/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

The limited functionality of the app means we've ended up using it minimally because we need our canvassers to use their phones when canvassing

Pros

Very easy to organize teams on the site and send out invites

Cons

Very limited functionality on the app; no way to access surveys on the app; app crashes/freezes often

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Erik P.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Good

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It's a good software that makes my work easier and i don't have to bring paper and pen everywhere anymore

Pros

It's comfortable to use and the layout is mostly good, it simply make my work easier

Cons

Sometimes unclear of which house you have visited

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Elijah M.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 11-50 Employees

E-canvasser has been gold.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 04/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

My experience with e-canvasser so far has been gold. I haven't had any issues using the software, the apps, or other administrative features. It has been incredibly useful in the field too.

Pros

The software is extremely accessible and easy to use. I really admire the quickness of data syncing from cell phones and tablets.

Cons

I don't have any cons, but would enjoy a phone-banking software included with the canvassing service too.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Carl W.

eCanvasser is an excellent tool for canvassing homes for political campaigns.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

The greatest benefit is the ability to assign as many canvassers as we like, without additional licenses. Operationally, our teams have been able to move a lot quicker in canvassing voting districts. We also like the custom fields, allowing us to use this as our primary data source.

Pros

eCanvasser is focused on canvassing homes, instead of trying to be a be all end all of campaign operations. It is fairly easy to use. Hands down, customer service is outstanding. They respond quickly via email, and it is easy to talk to a live person. I like the control I have with the data, and unlimited custom fields I can create. The other big pro is their license model. I can assign as many volunteer canvassers as I want without an additional charge. All other services I found charge a license per user. This gives a budget tight campaign a lot of flexibility in using volunteers.

Cons

The data model needs some maturing. When creating groups, you have to select voters to put in that group. That's no biggy. But if you append the master database, the changes to a voters record do not aggregate to the record you placed within your groups. The Canvass Types are static. I would like to be able to create additional types, and select my own color. Canvassers also have to drill down too much to get to data they need at the door. Their are a few areas where it could be more intuitive. However, these are easily overcome with additional training. Overall, the product is great. We will continue using the product, and ensure our needs are input to developers for future enhancements.

Response from Ecanvasser

Hi and thanks for the feedback. We are currently addressing custom canvass statuses to give you more flexibility. As regards appending the master database and how this affects groups we are looking to develop Dynamic Groups also in the medium term.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A Software that is almost there

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Ecanvasser has met most of my campaign needs.

Pros

The maps are good. The ease of access to features is good. Switching between campaigns is easy.

Cons

The clustering of houses into blocks is very frustrating. It seems that when I first started using Ecanvasser over a year ago that each house showed up separately on the map. Now, however, they are bunched together and in a very random order. Sometimes, the first house on the street shows up on the map very far past other houses on the map, because one might be odd and the other even. The biggest problem of all is that sometimes (often), one must enlarge the screen massively in order to uncover "hidden" blocks of houses. If Ecanvasser could undo these problems, which I do not recall from my campaign in fall 2017, I would really like it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great for Campaigns

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I have had great experience with Ecanvasser so far.

Pros

The ease of use on the back end of thee software is amazing! I have used Ecanvasser on a few campaigns now and the data manipulation is fantastic.

Cons

The biggest problem I have is with the groups and maps. Neither works together well. I would like to see when I put a group together and click on the map that it only shows that group and not everything assigned to me or another canvasser.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kevin S.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 11-50 Employees

ECanvasser may be the best I've found, but there's room for improvement

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Y'all have a great app. The customer support team (in particular) is excellent. Even all the way here in the States I felt my campaigns got the attention they needed. You should think about integrating phone-banking, would basically conquer the world.

Pros

Ease of use. Simple for anyone to download the app and get going. Many different ways to cut turf (or not) and organize walks.

Cons

Billing is difficult. As a consultant, I wish I could charge multiple accounts on multiple different cards, rather than having to set different owners for every account. Additionally, there are some kinks that need to be worked out regarding canvasses at the household or individual level. Regardless of where the data goes, it shouldn't affect functionality of the backend as much as it does.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great if added more functions

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 24/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The basic functionality was fine- straight forward to learn.

Cons

It was frustrating that there was no "moved" option- our team had to add this to the notes and manually deal with that data. We would have also liked to have the reports come out in a way that allowed us to sort multiple survey response answers.

It also would have made it easier if the maps view showed only houses/ people on that canvasser's individual turf, rather than all houses/ people.

It was also difficult having a limit to the number of turfs we could draw/ the price going up for adding more canvassers to the system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Greg C.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Solid product

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 15/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very useful for a local campaign, especially when you have an existing data source

Cons

App occasionally crashes, but support is good. Would like to be able to more easily do bulk updates / data import

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ahmed E.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Review for Ecanvasser app

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 05/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is easy to use, as a campaign manager i was able to follow the volunteers for the project, the assistance was amazing : i had a quick response for every question i asked

Cons

The app Go Ecanvasser had too much bug and didn't work for old phones which made the work hard and complicated for our volunteers and campaign staffer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nikita K.
Industry: Political Organization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Good foundation, needs more development

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 15/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, our experience with Ecanvasser was not the best. In the future, we'd probably look for another option before reconsidering this platform.

Pros

Ecanvasser has a good start. The platform has some good solid foundations.

Cons

Still needs a lot more work to fix all the bugs, trip ups, glitches, and crashes.

Response from Ecanvasser

Thanks for the feedback Nikita, I think the product has moved on significantly in the past two years since you used it. Would love to see you back to see new functionality and reliability of the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Alison P.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Great for Doorknocking!

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Worked with eCanvasser on a municipal political campaign

Pros

Very easy and intuitive to use while doorknocking

Cons

Sometimes it took too many clicks to get to the correct screen details

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10