141 reviews

Fergus

Job management software for trades and service businesses

4.6 /5 (141 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.6
99% recommended this app
141 reviews
Posie J.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

User friendly and good support

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 02/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

As mentioned, our previous software didn't allow us to do variations within one job, which then skewed our reporting and made invoicing a nightmare. With Fergus this is no longer an issue, freeing up more time to spend building our business.
Support was another of our big issues. The team at Fergus are friendly, helpful and available. We have been made to feel valued as a customer.
If you are looking at changing providers, at least give Fergus a call to see if they fit your business. We are glad we did!

Pros

Fergus is a User friendly software. Right from the start, from importing & transferring existing data, through to the day to day use. The initial training was great - targeting each area we needed assistance with, to ensure we get the most out of the system. The ongoing support is good with a useful help button directing us to documentation, as well as the helpdesk team and one-on-one with our CS Manager, when needed. Really friendly and approachable team.
Working within a Job is easy through the app or online . We enjoy the flexibility with quoting and invoicing - being able to present these in various formats for individual customers. The Status Board is useful as this gives an overall view of where all jobs are at. It's then easy to drill down into these for a deeper look.
Being able to do variations within a job has been invaluable to us - our previous software didn't allow this.

Cons

Fergus are pro-active in continuing to develop their software, and we appreciate that not every single thing we would like is available, but they do listen and send our requests through to their development team. One small thing is being able to charge out 'unpaid' time on a job, within timesheeting. We can work around this, but it's a bit clunky for us.
It would be good to have a quicker turnaround on the online support at times. However, after mentioning this, we have experienced a good improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michal L.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Our positive experience with Fergus

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 31/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Fergus have been very accommodating, their service is personal friendly and attentive. We have been with them from their early days and have watched them grow and develop, they take on board their client's feedback. Given the fact that we are dealing with a local company, as oppose to a large international company, as we have in the past, has meant that we can resolve issues more easily and faster. Unlike with previous companies, in Fergus, they actually do answer customer's calls, it feels more personal.

Pros

I love that I have every detail of each job file in one place, from the first call of a potential client, to the last invoiced, all the job history, ie correspondence between Us and the client or Us and a supplier or any account detail relating to the job. I really like that it is locally owned.

Cons

Our accountant struggles with certain aspects when needing to retrieve financial information and do reports. I personally wish that in order to show to and fro correspondence in any specific job, that I wouldn't have to copy and paste replies from Outlook back to Fergus. Keeping a paper trail is vital in our business.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tom F.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

builders review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

the ease for my employees to use with time sheets and seeing what jobs they are allocated too. invoicing structure to jobs makes life easy.

Cons

I have a lot of builders using fergus to run there businesses, and all really enjoy it. the one thing we would all really like to have on fergus is Gantt chart system for us to run our jobs in. doesnt have to be to technical to start with but it would really benefit us in programming our jobs and passing onto clients. Id love you guys to have one as i currently have to pay for it through another company and it gets rather annoying and confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrew S.
Company size: Self Employed

Fergus Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/03/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Fergus has been awesome for me in terms where i can see exactly how much each job costs me and how much profit i am making per job, I like the fact i can quickly look through previous jobs and customers and see how much work i have done for them, the invoicing is great where the invoice is created so easily - and how you can alter the margins etc once it has been created

Pros

Margins, ease of use, invoicing, linking to xero, plumbing world sending through the invoices nightly

Cons

little things like i can't seem to search for the job on my app if the quote has not been accepted - sometimes the customer says go ahead and the button doesn't get clicked

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brent S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use Trade Management programme suitable for Building companies

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 07/12/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Its great. Including the financial sectikn that shows if you made a profit on each job

Pros

Easy to use. Great financial tracking.
Great phone app for staff but can be used on a tablet or dedktop.

Cons

As this was designed for plumbers doing lots of small jobs it could be improved for construction where you may have on one job with many variations for a year

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Hayden M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Fantastic, easy to use trade software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/08/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This system is user friendly and makes light work of all the paperwork required to keep a trade business running. It is packed full of features which help keep operations streamlined.

Cons

As a total trade management software the only feature that we feel is missing is stock management.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cameron B.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Life changing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/10/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best job management software I have seen

Pros

Import invoices and allocate to jobs a and send to accounting software worth the money alone.
Price lists imported

Cons

No uk suppliers offer an API gateway
No uk gas certificates built in
No phone support available
Only video training

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Peter S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: Self Employed

It has been basically completely trouble free, any bugs have been able to be worked around - perfect

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Proactive day-to-day job management for my trade business

Pros

Outstanding sole user pricing plan
Active development plan with both functionality and user interface/usability improvements.
Keeps me in control of my daily business job management!

Cons

Ipad/iPhone app: some quirky behaviour in text boxes that have more text than can be displayed
Ipad web browser some calendar scheduling functions are not operable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sue M.

The easiest to use programme for our plumbing business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 02/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The fact that we now miss no invoices from the guys forgetting , cashflow much better , office work cut in half

Cons

There is nothing I do not like about this product . It is the best product on the market for plumbers to use

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Casey H.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent job and invoice manegement system

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 11/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

overall very usefull for job management

Pros

The dashboard. The ability to see how many jobs are we are committed to, what stages these jobs are at, what needs invocing, whats been invoiced and whats overdue. excellent to know whats going on in one glimpse.

Cons

no map function. would be great see where our site address that are loaded into Fergus on one map this could increase efficiency of our servicing and we can service more clients in the same area. Also would be good to have a report that pulls a list of all archived jobs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ross J.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Fergus Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Love the job management

Pros

The Calendar, ease to do and invoice and love how easy to import invoices, photos,plans

Cons

The Cost has gone up since I started using it. Certificates should be free

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sean E.
Industry: Construction
Company size: Self Employed

Love it

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love the way clients can accept or decline quotes and I am notified immediately. Customer invoice report is also great to keep on top of invoices due etc.

Cons

Does not interact with Reece Australia yet. I think Reece New Zealand does interact with Fergus.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tony B.

Fergus has improved our invoicing efficiency and works well with our iPhones with minimum disruption

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 31/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Well built platform that hasn't caused much downtime at all- it since well with Xero and back up service is excellent

Cons

Would like more features available to the admin/management staff from the app- such as seeing calendar view, has been quite a few bugs lately on the app too- speed up the repairs on these without disrupting our operations.. also app doesn't work well on 3G ... that is probably obvious though..

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Melinda F.
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Fergus

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Fergus have been really easy to deal with. They are fantastic at following up to see if we have any problems or concerns.

Pros

Fergus is really great if you need to invoice orders really quickly. I love it how it is connected with our accounting software. Also love Fergus because I can process/invoices remotely.

Cons

Don't like how the invoice layout in Fergus couldn't be the same in our MYOB. (I.e the same invoice which is in our accounting system looks slightly different to the one that is created in Fergus. For an example, our accounting system doesn't show "quantity" delivered or ordered etc. I have to locate the Fergus invoice to check for this kind of information.

Also don't like it how you cannot change an invoice once it has been "approved."

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Craig A.
Industry: Facilities Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Fantastic Fergus

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It will make your business more profitable

Pros

Fergus talks to our accounts package.
It enabled our business to invoice out sooner and pick up all the costs.

Cons

I do not have any dislikes about Fergus. It works very well for our business

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction
Company size: Self Employed

Van stock on hand

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 23/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

This is awesome

Pros

I like how easy it is to use and implement all aspects of my business

Cons

Stock on hand , can we have an option to have inventory management for say a vehicle, so on job parts that we take are easier to find. Might be my infancy in this product and might be a better way eg favourites . Training on how to set up a van stock list if there is another way.

Response from Fergus Software

Thanks for the review! We have Stock on Hand functionality for including parts that you have in the van in job costing, see how to use it here:
https://fergus.com/tradehub/training-videos/stock-on-hand-mobile/

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Trelise G.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Fergus is great to use, easy to learn

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 09/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

A good way to track work in progress and schedule Labour. Would love to see more customised features around the Favorites setup for invoicing and quotes.

Pros

The ability to quickly change data, move info from Jobs, correct errors, share data with the rest of the team, update staff quickly via mentions, Especially Love the way FERGUS keeps improving features and adding on new functions to constantly improve the way we do things.

Cons

From the Home Screen if you type client in the search bar, it flicks to a sub-screen then to the job screen, the sub screen is too quick to click your client sometimes, it would be good if there was say an extra 2-3 seconds here.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Melanie B.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Software Program

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 17/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We are very new to Fergus, but it is great to see and hear the guys saying that it is easy to use and our Director is finding it really easy to process quotes in Fergus, which in turn makes my life easier :-)

Pros

Ease of use! Both in the office and also on the mobile app for our guys :-)

Cons

As our suppliers do not have a pricelist that we can download into Fergus, I am needing to enter each and every invoice. It would be made a lot easier and quicker, if, when entering the materials onto an invoice, that you could also add each individual item to the custom price book as a favourite at the same time if it is not already in there.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Liam G.
Industry: Construction
Company size: Self Employed

Makes life easy

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 24/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very streamlined and well thought out software. It is designed to make the tradesman's life easier and it certainly does that well

Cons

Recently they updated their pricing and it in my opinion is perhaps getting too expensive, considering there are plenty of competitors out there

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Craig L.
Industry: Construction
Company size: Self Employed

Plumbing

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 17/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Able to compare merchants prices against each other

Cons

It would be great if there was a material page I could go to instantly with the prices available

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Fergus review.

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 31/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

A great tool for mid-size startups as it makes working in a team an easy task. Also, it helps you to coordinate and plan.

Cons

Getting everybody onboard is a hectic task. Also, making everyone familiar on ground level is difficult.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mike G.

Fergus - IT WORKS!

Reviewed on 07/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Fergus has saved so much admin time, we now don't need to get our staff to hunt through their vans for job cards it's all right there on Fergus.
It took a few months to start using Fergus to its full potential but now after, over a year, I don't know how I did it before.

Response from Fergus Software

Thanks for the review Mike. Glad to hear Fergus is changing your work life for the better!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Andrew D.

Tiletec NZ Ltd

Reviewed on 05/04/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Great product, great features, easy to use, good support. It has everything you need to keep on top of jobs and invoicing. Makes it simple to keep update with your jobs and stay in the loop with the progress of tour team on each job.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Melinda F.

Fergus is great

Reviewed on 12/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

We switched over to Fergus from a more expensive program. Got lots of help and training. We use most of the functions and are happy to see Fergus is constantly improving. Very happy to recommend it.

Response from Fergus Software

Thanks Melinda!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ainsley G.

Awesome customer service

Reviewed on 18/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Really great customer service. My queries get answered really quickly and the advice is alway spot on!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support