Employment Hero

4.5 (170)
Connecting employers and employees in the new world of work

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(170)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

170 Reviews

Kerry S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love the platform, makes on boarding new employees a breeze.

Reviewed on 08/03/2018

Time - This software has saved my sanity in on boarding new employees and now we have over 100 staff its great that they can update their details themselves.

Pros

Ease of use, great on boarding tool, cuts the contract time down considerably, Great task list features, good reporting functions as you can customize easily. Collates all the employee information meaning accounts aren't left to chase down these items from employees.

The employees love the platform too as it has all their information for them in one place and they all love the Annual Leave function

Cons

I would like to be able to assign certain sections to other employees - for example it would be good if the accounts staff could view "Employee Bank Details" without having access to any other information

I would also like to be able to amend and upload (or delete) our own contracts rather than having to go through the support team every time - Support are great if I am not in a rush as it normally take 24-48 Hours to turn around, but if I just need to alter something quickly it would be nice to add and remove myself

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Kerry,

Thanks for giving Employment Hero such an amazing review! It's fantastic to see you're getting so much utility from the platform and that your employees love it too. I've passed your feedback on to our product team now, though it's great to see the support team gets your tick of approval!

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

Ben N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 24/02/2020

It's been great and now that is in place we haven't looked back, however onboarding was a difficult process

Pros

HR coupled with Payroll covers many boxes that we have to deal with. User-friendly for our team members and the transparency creates confidence across the company. We like the adaptability of the development team and the improvements we've seen over the past two years. As a whole, it has produced efficiencies across the team for payroll & compliance that ahs been well worth the effort.

Cons

We implemented the system in mid-2018. We found at that time that creating payroll rules when you're outside of an award can be very challenging, especially when you have to learn how the categories affect each other and you're trying to mesh everything to existing agreements. The platform could do with information links for each step that detail the exact impact of changing each rule. Sometimes a change could create a cascade of unintended consequences (this may have changed). If we had to go back fix something now, we'd have to relearn why certain things were done.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Employment Hero. Having been using the platform for almost two years, your feedback is great to see and we're glad to hear your employees find the platform easy to use. Improving transparency and efficiencies are great wins!

Thank you also for your feedback regarding setting up your own payroll rules. You now have first-hand experience into how complicated the modern award system is - so many variables that affect one another! Your suggestion for warnings is great and I've passed it on to our product team.

Have a lovely day,
The Team at Employment Hero

Peter R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Like it - but needs more flexibility

Reviewed on 01/06/2022

Good but a little frustrating. I like the platform but it needs some work to make some of its features a little more flexible.

Pros

The set up and implementation of Employment Hero was relatively simple. Really did't take that long to integrate with Xero and it all seems to sync nicely.

Cons

There are parts to this platform that are a little clumsy. For example, 1. when making templates up based on PDFs you cannot simply replace the PDF of the base document, you have to delete the entire document and all the dynamic fields and start again. 2. Expenses and Leave approvals can only be approved by one manager, which eliminates businesses that have different managers for each function. Would be good to be able to allocate who approves expenses and who approves leave. 3. Managers can't see leave balances only admins, which is not ideal as managers need to be able to check leave entitlements before approving requests.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Peter,

Thanks or your review of Employment Hero! It's great to hear that you found the implementation process simple - that's really important to us.

We're always working to enhance the platform, so I've passed on your valuable feedback about increasing the flexibility of our features to our product team.

Many thanks,
Anna

Olinka C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A timesaving business value HR platform once you get set-up

Reviewed on 31/05/2022

Pros

We effectively use EH as our online HR platform. In this aspect it is spot on with Policies, Compliance, Certifications, HR Docs, Contracts and Onboarding. Very happy to use an Australian company. The guidance templates for HR docs and policies are excellent. Pricing is incredibly efficient. Subscription outsourcing is the now for smart businesses. Payroll Xero integration through EH is much less impressive which is such a shame.

Cons

Minor features are missing. Xero payroll functionality is not good enough - actually that's a major issue. How can you not have YTD available on pay slips?? We've had to revert to Xero's My Payroll, so now staff have 2 platforms to manage. Then the smaller but equally frustrating items - You can enter the public holidays that apply to your location but these aren't reflected in the team leave calendar as an identified PH. Why not? You have already identified then surely the data can be pulled into the team calendar. I submitted questions to the helpdesk and in reply got an answer but got told to sign up for an online Q&A session for future queries. I don't have time for an hour and to have to book in time, I should just be able to email off a question and at some point get and answer. There are other minor frustrations but the overall HR functionality probably outweighs the issues, until we find better.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Olinka,

Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that our templates and cloud-based onboarding and HR is adding value to your business.

We're always working to improve our platform and overall experience, so I have passed on your valuable feedback about the Xero integration to our team. If you'd like to discuss this further, please let me know by emailing [email protected]

Thank you for your support.

Many thanks,
Anna

Elena D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

EH Review

Reviewed on 11/03/2022

Onboarding, completing training and employee notes all in one place have improved our HR systems.

Pros

The ability to access everything from one database. Payroll information, reviews, policies, leave makes it so much easier to manage payroll and HR functions. Onboarding has also become much speedier and more accurate.

Cons

The LMS can be improved as can the reporting and performance appraisal and communication platform.

Alternatives Considered

ELMO Software and HR Partner

Reasons for Switching to Employment Hero

It offered payroll and LMS in one place at a better price point.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Elena,

Thank you for your lovely review! It's great to hear that Employment Hero has helped to streamline your HR processes and payroll.

We're always working to improve the overall platform experience, so I've passed on your valuable feedback to our Product Team.

Many thanks,

Anna

Dayna B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our first 6 months utilising Employment Hero

Reviewed on 06/03/2022

Overall it has been an important tool that has made growing our team a lot easier and ensured we are supporting our team ensuring we are following all the best practices of HR.

Pros

Employment Hero was the first time we were introducing an HR Platform within the business. The fact that it has a rewards program was very exciting to the team and created buy-in which allowed us to create engagement through the team.

Having a great policy and performance review templates allowed us to create processes around how we engage with our team and set standards.

Cons

Not being able to customise colours on the UI to match branding.

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR

Reasons for Switching to Employment Hero

Supporting an Australian business was important to us.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Dayna,

Thank you for your lovely review- we really appreciate your support!

I've passed on your feedback about UI colour customisation to our Product Team.

Many thanks,
Rosie

Sarah C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Timesaver for any business - big or small!

Reviewed on 02/06/2022

Pros

The implementation and onboarding process has been one of the easiest to navigate. With fantastic modules plus prompting and regular support from the Employment Hero team, it was a breeze to set up. We are enjoying being more organised and saving time with less manual processing of tasks and documents.

Cons

There is a lot to set up and we did feel the pressure to meet the implementation target date. An extension on this would have been great

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Sarah,

Thanks for reviewing us! I'm glad that you found the implementation process easy. We're always working to make this as straightforward as possible, so it's wonderful to hear this.

I've passed on your feedback about implementation timelines to our team too.

Your support of EH means the world to us.

Many thanks,
Anna

Jrn S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best HR & Payroll Platform for SME!

Reviewed on 13/05/2022

Employment Hero is completely streamlining our HR and Payroll administration, and connecting our people through reward and recognition

Pros

A one stop shop centralised system for managing all things talent!

Cons

I get a little lost in the support reference materials, mainly because there is so much resource!

Response from Employment Hero

Hi there,
Thanks so much for your lovely review! It's great to hear that you're getting so much value from the platform.
Many thanks,
Anna

Beau B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Employment hero is very user friendly.

Reviewed on 28/06/2022

Pros

The layout of the user interface is easy to use and I love Hero Dollars.

Cons

The setup process was slightly cumbersome.

John D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Employment Hero Review

Reviewed on 12/05/2022

Pros

Ease of use, very versatile product - app interface makes it very diverse and on the go which is great while being on the road.

Cons

No missing features, has suited my needs and exceeds my initial expectations

Response from Employment Hero

Hi John,

It's so great to hear that you're getting so much value from the platform. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review too! Your support means the world to us.

Many thanks,
Anna

Deep S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Employment Hero is Hero

Reviewed on 29/04/2021

My experience with EH has bee great and very satisfactory. I will recommend this software to anyone wanting to make a difference in Human Resources processes in their company

Pros

Employment hero is user friendly and so easy to use. With the click of a button you can automate a variety of Human Resources and Payroll process within you company.
The customisation and ready to use functionality of this software allows you to implement this internally without any need for third party specialist.

Cons

Inability and restriction on scheduling report, announcement etc means you cannot customise this .
It will be great if more research and development is done on scheduling reports, announcements etc .

Alternatives Considered

ELMO Software and SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Employment Hero

As a small business the easy of implementation was the key selling point. For a finance and HR person to implement this by themselves and run and customise it within a week with no need to have third party specialists is the winner. And the price is great value for money.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Deep,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Employment Hero with others. We're so happy to see that you've had such a positive experience with the platform and so user-friendly.

Thank you also for sharing your feedback regarding scheduling reports and announcements. Employment Hero spent over $8 million on product development last year, so our platform is always adding more functionality to keep up with our customers' needs. I've passed your feedback on to our product team who will factor it into future development plans.

Thank you again,
Anna from Employment Hero

Alexandra M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Employment Hero as a great HR tool

Reviewed on 26/05/2020

It supports the development of HR as a value add function. As the HR processes are more efficient and easier for employees, they tend to be more involved in the HR initiatives. Also, the information collected is reported graphically, making the analysis and decision making faster and more accurate.

Pros

The great advantages of Employment Hero are the excellent understanding of the HR/Payroll processes and Australian legislation; the innovation and continuous improvement of the software and the clean/user friendly layout and user experience.

Cons

I think the Performance Review process is not as developed as other features within the software.
It can be more flexible and 360 degree, allowing a more robust tool to develop employees.
I think if improved, it would add a significant value to the organisations. After all feedback is one of the most powerful tools of development.

Alternatives Considered

HR Central, ELMO Software, BambooHR, and Xero

Switched From

Xero

Reasons for Switching to Employment Hero

Australian Servers Local experience (Australian product) Flexibility Extra features (GO, HERO Dollars) User friendly Overall, good value for price

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Alexandra,

Thank you so much for reviewing Employment Hero. We're sure the detail you've shared will be a huge help to other people managers in search of their own HRIS solutions! We love that your employees find it so easy to use too.

Thank you also for the feedback regarding our Performance Reviews module. We've passed this on to the product team now.

Thank you again,
The Team at Employment Hero

Dearne R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HR made easy

Reviewed on 08/05/2020

The fact we can have up to 350 people inducted and work ready over our peak season the thing we loved most was the ease in which we could do multiple pays per week for the different divisions we have, and the fact employees can access their payslips, leave balances etc is just awesome.
We most definitely saved hours pay day by using this system very happy we made the change to Employment Hero.

Pros

We found the system super easy to use once set up had been completed it was a very simple process to move over to Employment Hero - We use a lot of seasonal workers through Cherry season and this system made it so much easier for employees as well as the admin team.

Cons

Not so much as liking least but it just took a while to work out which information was where in the menu

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Dearne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Employment Hero and to provide so much detail about your experiences. We really appreciate it.

We're so glad we can help you manage your onboarding and offboarding across seasons and that all your employees love having their employment documents on hand whenever they need them.

We look forward to supporting you and the team for many more seasons to come!

Thank you again,
The Team at Employment Hero

Milly A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The no-brainer HR & Payroll option

Reviewed on 17/02/2020

Employment Hero is a paperless systems which is great for where our business is heading. It has both a HR and Payroll platform that integrate with each and it quite reasonably priced for the size of our business. For a business that is has never had a great HR system, this ticks all the boxes. Still learning the system being only 6 months in, but keep surprising myself with what I find and can do. I love how it is so modern compared to our old system and what's even better it works with the awards so I sure never to miss a beat with compliance again!

Pros

What I love most about employment hero is the flexibility as the payroll admin to change the platforms to suit our business requirements. The feel and look is modern and both HR & Payroll work together. The most handy point though is the fact it can be set up on the award and another plus is also the paperless HR system which is so more time efficient and has a better track record. And we can't forget the app that work seamlessly with the platforms - this has definitely change my HR role for the better.

Cons

Sometimes it can be hard to navigate, but I can put this down to just still in training. I can obviously reach out to support, but this is only through a ticketing system, which sometimes all you want is to pick up the phone and speak to somebody - maybe there is this option, I am not sure yet.
Also the currently there are two apps operating, if this was all on the one app, I wouldn't ever not recommend employment hero - it would be the only HR & Payroll option that's for sure.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Milly,

Thank you for taking the time to review Employment Hero! We're really excited to see that you've had such an amazing experience with the platform and are reaping all the benefits of streamlined HR and payroll functions.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding support. Because there are so many different ways that the platform can be used by so many different and diverse businesses, support can be delayed during busy periods. We're expanding our support team as we speak and implementing new strategies to improve our response times.

Thank you again for your review,
The Team at Employment Hero

Joanne M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Practical and Efficient Employment System

Reviewed on 08/08/2019

The set up process is well worth the time invested for the efficiency that follows.
All staff have embraced it, with few problems.
The system is transparent; all documents can be signed from any location; any additional documents can be added immediately and read and signed off by staff on the same day; it also serves as great filing sytem and has the ability to remind staff of overdue certificates; licences etc.

Pros

The program is very time efficient; with staff using timesheets instead of manual timebooks; leave request updating on a calendar automatically once approved etc; quick facilitation of documents between employer and employee.
Onboarded new employees is simple.
The process from sending out a letter of offer and associated paperwork; to the employee registering without any problem before commencing with us, has been seamless.
Other quality feature are reminders for expired certificates and licences; birthdays; probations etc.

Cons

Syncing to MYOB AccountRight:
Currently RealHR does not sync correctly with MYOB AccountRight due to the rounding of wages.
For e.g:
Employee 1 gets paid $55000 per annum or $27.834 per hour. (three decimal point rounding)
All employees are set up on hourly pay basis as this way personal and holiday leave etc can be entered each week.
If I set up employees under Salary pay basis I cannot enter entitlements.
Real HR only rounds to two decimal points and then when it syncs with MYOB it throws the annual amount of $55000 out in MYOB due to the difference in rounding and this upsets Employees when they see the change in their annual wage amount on their payslip.
Time sheets:
I would like to see an extra box that can stipulate if on any particular day whether the day is OTE or annual leave or personal leave or even a mix of OTE; annual leave; personal leave etc. At this stage you can only stipulate this in notes and sometimes it is easily missed.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Joanne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of Employment Hero. It's greatly appreciated by our team, as well as potential customers looking for their own HRIS solution.

I have passed your feedback regarding the MYOB integration limitations to our product team.

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

Abhi B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to manage HR & Payroll

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

We are really happy with overall progress. EH has reduced our payroll process from 8hrs to 2hrs.
It has made onboarding a very easy and paperless.
Very supporting staff members, quick response to questions and suggest better way of operating.

Pros

1. Ease of onboarding/offboarding employees
2. Digital acknowledgment of documents
3. Checklist
4. Timesheet & Leave request through app and full audit reports

Cons

1. Connection with Payroll portal is still very limited - need improvements in area like excluding Apprentice from payroll tax, applying rule set (setup in Payroll) while onboarding through HR
2. Incident report from App not available
3. Give contractor more visibility on HR
4. Not to do with software but overall training provided wasn't great and no handover document was provided

Alternatives Considered

MicrOpay

Reasons for Choosing Employment Hero

1. No HR functionality 2. Manual Timesheet Management 3. Manual Leave Management

Switched From

MYOB Business

Reasons for Switching to Employment Hero

1. My past experience with EH 2. Cost vs benefit 3. User-interface is far better than Sage

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Abhi,

Thank you for reviewing Employment Hero and taking the time to give us such valuable feedback. It's great to see Employment Hero has had such a positive impact on your HR and payroll processes despite the limitations you've experienced.

I've passed your feedback on to our product team. Hopefully we will be able to make these updates in the future.

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

Rachel L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Employment Hero Review

Reviewed on 28/10/2019

The on boarding off staff has become so much easier compared to manually entering forms and employee information in the system. We also utilise the payroll feature and the payroll team we work with are brilliant too. A lot easier to collate items such as policies, collect employee documents and track their document expiry dates for compliance purposes much easier. Also much easier to track probation periods with the reminders.

Pros

I like it’s easy to use, the HeroShop (now My Benefits -> Discounts) is brilliant and adds a benefit for employees, issuing employee documents and on boarding them is very simple and saves us so much time otherwise spent on manual on boarding. Leave management, timesheet management very simple and straightforward. Reporting features is great too, to find out staff insights such as headcount numbers etc. Any queries I have or issues with the system the support team is very helpful too!

Cons

Occasionally when I email employment contracts to staff they have difficulty with finding this email in their junk mail / spam / inbox. Some are not able to find this at all. I usually have to then send the contract manually. There’s no way to resend the contract once it has sent, so perhaps a feature such as send a staff member a reminder email to sign their contract could be beneficial. Some staff have trouble uploading their certifications, perhaps by incorrectly dating or using the wrong document format (e.g. Not PDF). I think having more features on the phone app too would be great because majority of staff use employment hero on their phones only because it’s quicker and more convenient. For First or secondary managers, if they can lodge leave on behalf of their staff via the mobile app, I think that’d be a brilliant addition to the phone app.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Rachel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of Employment Hero! It's a huge help to others looking for their own people management platform. It's great to see we've saved you so much time with your HR admin and that you've found the support team so helpful.

We appreciate your detailed feedback about the system too. It is possible to remind pending employees about their contract - I'll send you an email now to show you how.

Thank you again and we'll be in touch shortly.

All the best,
The Employment Hero Team

Rania A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Soltuion to our Cost Centre Reporting!

Reviewed on 06/11/2020

We've been using Employment Hero for more than two years now. We started with one entity and then decided to move all our entities to it. The HR and Payroll platforms are very easy to navigate. We very much benefited from the Cost Centre Reporting and integrating that with our Bookkeeping software made our reporting very easy. The HR platform is our employees first point of contact to find any data about our organisation, policies and procedure, agreements... etc. On top of that most of our employees are finding it much easier to track their Leave balances and status through the mobile app.
The Online Support is very quick in general and there is always a solution to any query we put through to the team,
Overall, a great deal to our organisation!

Pros

Most likeable feature we found in the system for our organisation is the easy integration of our Bookkeeping software and the ability to import the payroll journal. That made our cost centre reporting very easy and accurate.

Cons

It would be great if it can be linked to the Outlook Calendar!

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Rania,

Thanks heaps for taking the time to review Employment Hero! We really appreciate your support and are chuffed to see that you've been able to streamline your HR and payroll processes.

Thank you again,
Anna from Employment Hero

Shannon P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We ❤️ Employment Hero

Reviewed on 14/02/2019

Overall, our experience with EH has been an extremely positive one. It’s helped us streamline all our HR and payroll functions, we are now completely paperless (except for the odd report here and there!)
They really are on top of the game.

Pros

What we liked most was the fact that it turned our HR and payroll departments paperless - virtually overnight!
It’s easy to use and navigate. It’s intuative and suits our 150+ employee sized business to a tee.
Seamless integration between the HR and Payroll platforms means less time spent on menial data entry and fewer mistakes.
Perfect Integration with our accounting software as well.
We’ve been using EH for the past 2 years and they’re constantly improving and/or implementing new features.

Cons

The reporting functionality on the HR platform wasn’t quite where we needed it to be but this has been improved over time with updates.
Also, the staff announcements feature is a bit basic for our needs.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Shannon, thanks for sharing your experiences with Employment Hero and HeroPay! We're always developing so our reporting feature will continue to improve. It's awesome to see that we were able to help Aquabliss become almost entirely paperless too.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

Louise D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease and Convenience

Reviewed on 14/04/2020

The ability to track leave is probably the biggest benefit we have seen using this software. Recently, we are loving the staff details that we have access to. With 80% of our staff now working remotely, we are able to stay in touch via phone or messaging as well as our usual emailing. Management is also able to keep everyone up to date with important information via the Company Feed.

Pros

We love the function that allows us to track leave. The convenient ease of use is a big plus for us. Staff can apply via the mobile App and management is able to track leave. This function is also great when processing payroll as it brings approved leave across to our accounting software each payrun.
We also love the Timesheet function. We use it to track additional hours worked and record them as time in lieu. It gives both Management and the employee a record of any additional hours worked.

Cons

I would like it if staff could comment in the Company Feed when Management makes an announcement. At the moment they can only give a Shout Out to a fellow employee.

Alternatives Considered

Zoho Desk

Reasons for Switching to Employment Hero

Employment Hero is Australian. What better reason could we have?!

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Louise,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Employment Hero. It's so great to see that the leave management and electronic timesheet functionality has made it so much easer for you and the team.

We're currently working on improving the Company Feed - stay tuned!

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

Heather R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HR made easy

Reviewed on 24/10/2019

EH replaces so much paperwork and files that were previously saved on the server which needed to be printed, signed and scanned. EH replaces all of this.
Self implementation was painless.
On-boarding new team members is only a few clicks.

Pros

Time-sheets and leave application from the app
Today's events in the app
Certifications to automatically control licences, tickets and qualification replacing onerous spreadsheets
Content Management - ability to add templates and link these to the relevant team members
HR Documents tab in the personnel file - so easy to issue and finalise contract, pay reviews etc.
Reviews in EH replacing a manual paper system
Good screen layout - easy to navigate

Cons

My only reservation in opting for EH was the lack of a Learning Management System (LMS). Now that GO1 is available this should meet our requirements.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to give Employment Hero such a glowing review! We're so happy to see that Employment Hero has streamlined so many aspects of your people management and hope that our LMS is going to continue to make things even easier!

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

Valeria S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great holistic hr and payroll software!

Reviewed on 13/09/2021

The initial implementation was a little labourious, but the implementation team was always on hand to assist with any issues. The software is considerable in functionality so it can be rather noisy. However, once you become familiar with the system, it is packed full of great features.

Pros

A broad range of functionality. Easy to navigate interface. Great benefits are available to staff.

Cons

You are able to customise the pay week in the Payroll portal but not in the HR portal which means staff are having to complete 2 timesheets per week. This has caused some issues when processing pays.

Alternatives Considered

MYOB Business, ELMO Software, foundU, and BambooHR

Reasons for Choosing Employment Hero

Jobpac lacked payroll and HR functionality compared to other well-known software packages.

Reasons for Switching to Employment Hero

It was a holistic payroll and HR software that seemed to have most of the functionality that we needed as a business.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Valeria,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Employment Hero journey with others!

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

Christopher R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Veterinary Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Customer review

Reviewed on 04/09/2018

As a system , I am very happy. The HR platform allows me to keep my policies and procedures in one place, is transparent to all staff and I am comforted to know that it is legally complaint. The payroll system is fantastic. The pay slips are comprehensive, illuminating ambiguity and keeping staff satisfaction high. I have no problem recommending the system to any SME owner who has a desire to govern their business properly.

Pros

Stable platform, it works and is simple for staff to comply with

Cons

The platform represents a new paradigm of online HR processes. Understanding how the system works takes a lot of time and constant revision. Obviously people learn by different styles and methods, but I felt that having a person to talk through important issues like payroll and performance reviews is important. The strategy to have all phone calls a pay only service is myopic. It may be more profitable for EH but it undervalues to importance of the client.

Response from Employment Hero

Thanks for your review, Christopher. We do value our clients very highly, but unfortunately phone support isn't scaleable. Our online support team is highly skilled and we have every confidence in their ability to solves issues quickly and effectively. We're really glad you're enjoying using the platform though and even happier to see you'd recommend us to others!

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

Daniel A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Where's the support?

Reviewed on 30/11/2021

The biggest problem we have is with support. It is terrible. There is no ticketing (Or maybe we just aren't given our ticket details). Very slow responses or none at all after multiple contact attempts. This just isn't good enough when we are dealing with urgent platform based payrun issues. Also, there is no clear path to support from within the platform. You have to google it. Finally, there is no clear complaints process. Hence this review. Hope you guys at EH get in touch with me.

Pros

Easy for staff to use and automates HR and payroll processes quite well.

Cons

The interface has been updated (Modernised) but there is no benefit. A waste of time. The platform speed has slowed down since the upgrade and some important features don't work.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Employment Hero. It's great to hear that your staff are finding the platform easy-to-use and it's helping automate processes.

Thank you also for your feedback on our service delivery. I have passed this on to our team. Our customers are at the centre of everything we do and we are always looking for ways to improve customer experience.

I can see that your enquiry has now been resolved, but if you need anything else please let us know at [email protected]

Many thanks,
Anna from Employment Hero

Katri T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and customise to our needs!

Reviewed on 28/02/2020

The onboarding is great, we have induction content so that new employees are familiar with our business and can complete tasks before they start.

Pros

In love how easy it is to use and customise to our needs. The customer support is also amazing!

Cons

I would like an easy way to get a list of employee start dates and date of birth and be able to quickly get a list of employee teams. This may be available in the premium options, but not the one we are using.

Response from Employment Hero

Hi Katri,

Thank you for taking the time to review Employment Hero. We love hearing about how we've made it easier for Dinner Twist to onboard new employees and that you can build such a personalised onboarding experience for your company!

We look forward to supporting you and the team for many years to come.

All the best,
The Employment Hero Team