52 reviews

Halo

Supply chain analytics and business intelligence platform

4.5 /5 (52 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
52 reviews
Laura T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Halo Prism

Reviewed on 01/09/2016

The overall experience of this product has been very good and satisfying. It has 2 applications. The webportal and the etl tool. Both are very user friendly and easy to use and develop in.

Pros

The portal is very user friendly with lots of features. The ETL Tool is very good and easier to use than SSIS and other tools. Manu Ikkala has been a very knowledgeable and very prompt in his support.

Cons

The ability to show lots of measures against the time dimension

Response from Halo

Thank you, Laura!

Kevin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Lot of Bang for the minimalist

Reviewed on 27/01/2020

Pros

Easy to answer complex questions with a minimal amount of work. The integrations into multiple data sources was a huge plus for us.

Cons

One of the only issues we had with Halo was the limited integration into a SDLC for building and managing code. The other one thing we would like to see is a change in licensing in regards to developer licenses.

Odhran M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very happy with Halo

Reviewed on 21/08/2016

Pros

Very good balance between usability and functionality
Relatively simple for business analysts and computer literate users to "own" the cube side of things
Very easy for people with low/medium computer skills to analyse the data (presentation side of things)

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about either Halo Source or Halo Prism

Eric F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

First foray into BI

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Good middle market platform with good support and training

Pros

Email functionality and cost effectiveness

Cons

Cost of licenses for power users and lack of intuitiveness as self-service platform

Thomas M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ABC Review

Reviewed on 16/06/2016

Pros

Low maintenance and very good response time by Halo when needed.

Cons

Annual maintenance fee and the cost to implement a new cube.

Chad O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ease Of Use

Reviewed on 09/05/2017

Pros

How easy it is to create a dashboard by dragging and dropping items. Drilling for the data is very easy and takes a matter of seconds.

Cons

Need more formatting control in regards to percentages, currency, and other misc things. Some charts do not present things easily.

Faisal H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Outstanding software

Reviewed on 31/07/2019

Pros

Halo is one software you need to complete optimize your business. It's data report are simple to understand.

Cons

It may be a little bit difficult using the software at the beginning, but with practice it begins to make sense.

Marcos M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo has a simple and intuitive interface for the end user.

Reviewed on 09/05/2017

It has several pre-built connectors, which made it much easier to obtain the data of the systems used by our operation.

Pros

It has a great training team, which allows quick implementation with results with less cost and time.

Eduardo P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All of my data in one quick view

Reviewed on 16/01/2017

We are starting to use Halo and we are excited with the results and possibilities that it brings us. It is certainly a key tool for rapid data analysis and decision making. We are moving towards an intensive use of Halo in several departments.

Pros

The Halo analytics tools are quite nice to use from building cubes to using the results. At various points, it is quite intuitive.

T. eric E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo has unlocked the data from the Dynamics AX safe

Reviewed on 17/11/2016

Prior to having a BI solution we were like many other companies I am sure. Exporting data straight from our ERP system into mostly Excel based reports. This was not only time consuming but also led to many errors in reporting, often having more than one version of the truth. That is why we decided to explore what our options were with BI. During our evaluation of many different BI vendors/software we quickly saw Halo rise above the rest. Halo Source is everything you need from a data warehouse, and cube creation perspective. On top of that, it is using full Microsoft based technology which makes the learning curve extremely fast, even for those non-developers. A deciding factor for Halo was the data quality module. Everyone has some form of dirty data, but Halo has a solution for that. It was the only company that offered this sort of feature and was a major reason we selected Halo as our business intelligence solution. You absolutely do not need to know how to write SQL to spin up your own data warehouse and cubes for use with Halo Prism. On the topic of Prism it is very streamlined visualization tool. Drag and drop with as many visual options as you would need. Prism has allowed us to gain insight into our data that we have struggled see. We truly believe that this will be one our most successfully projects that has the largest impact since our ERP implementation, and even then this is really the icing on the cake for our complete ERP suite.

Pros

Support from the point of sale and beyond. I have never been sold a product where the vendor kept constant contact even after the sale and install. Halo truly cares about their customers and their product, and we look forward to a long successful relationship with them.
Prism is extremely user friendly, drag and drop measures and dimensions to quickly and easily answer questions about your business.
Only software/solution to address data quality as a key part of the ETL process.
Solution experts who really know my business and our ERP system.
Training was exceptional.
Prebuilt templates to address industry specific needs.

Cons

Wish we could have moved forward with our BI approval faster. This was on us not Halo we just were not sure as a Business what we wanted. But once we had our demo it was clear Halo was our top choice. Power BI put a wrench in this process giving pause from our Executives, but once I tried to replicate some reports in Power BI and saw how large the learning curve was and that it did not include the foundation of any BI solution (a data warehouse) Halo again was where we turned.

Claudine T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo is the wasy to go!

Reviewed on 23/02/2021

HALO is a very good product and I wish our organization never switched to something else. The only reason we switched is because the company running our department is not affiliated with Halo and they have their own product.

Pros

We have multiple hospitals in our organization. I like that each individual hospital has it's own programmable screens so no sharing is required.

Cons

This is a very good product. I did not have any issues with it.

Jon B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Limited BI Tool

Reviewed on 08/11/2017

Great for a small companies making their first step into BI but maybe will be quickly outgrown, avoid if a mid to larger size company.

Pros

- Simple BI Toll great for small companies or simple requirements
- Fair price point for services provided

Cons

- Limited customization
- Challenging Integration to other systems
- "You get what you pay for" is true with functionality vs. pricing

Vamsi D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool and Excellent customer support

Reviewed on 23/01/2020

Pros

It's reliable and easy to use. Drag and drop interface makes it easier for users. It has a number of source connectors to pull the data from. Customer support is unmatched.

Cons

The installation process needs to be more simple.

Grant B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Using Prism for sales, sampling and stock reporting

Reviewed on 25/08/2016

Pros

Prism software is easy to use, simple to customise and change reports, data can be taken from multiple sources, reports can be distributed automatically. There are regular enhancements to the product. Halo keep me well informed about new features. Support for modifications is generally prompt.

Cons

No major complaints. A simpler way to email reports or choose specific data from reports and print to PDF or email would be good. Reports with quite a few calculated field can be slow to run. The report updates after every change you make - perhaps might be useful at times to be able to make several changes and then have it update.

Bill W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and well supported.

Reviewed on 27/06/2018

Pros

The broad range of connectors, and the functionality and flexibility of the product make it great fit for our company needs. The template database makes it easy to build dashboards by incorporating best practice measures by area of business.

Cons

On-premise only means cloud data sources must be replicated or partially extracted locally for inclusion.

Trent A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Value in all areas we have used this software

Reviewed on 11/10/2017

Pros

Visibility in inventory production and finance.
Value in planning strategy
Metrics for shop floor goals.

Cons

None so far, this has been great for our planning, company strategy and on time delivery goals. Training users may be an issue when the time comes.

Mark G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very Powerful tool - Highly recommended

Reviewed on 24/03/2016

Pros

It takes a lot of the grunt work out of the ETL process when creating data cubes and a data warehouse. The program lets you pull in data from multiple sources and easily transform it without any knowledge of SSIS or Data Analysis. The front end prism product is easy to learn and offers many options for presenting you data in dashboards and reports. The product is also self documenting which is a major time saver.

Cons

It does require the developer to have a good knowledge of the source data and how it relates. Would be nice if it had more templates for pulling data from ERP systems like Dynamics AX. It does come with some.

Jake T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A must-have BI product.

Reviewed on 31/03/2016

Pros

Friendly and knowledgeable.
Always response to your support request quickly.
It's easy to use and easy your work.

Cons

Depends on Web Browser version. However, it's acceptable.

George R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Inventory Analytic Capabilities, Easy to Use, Quick to Install

Reviewed on 16/04/2015

Pros

Fast, friendly, great support, phenomenal ROI, great training.

Cons

This is nothing I like least about this product and vendor.

Matt J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product that suits our business

Reviewed on 31/08/2016

Pros

Ease of use, easy to deploy, quality work of the developer.

Cons

We have had no issue with the product or with the service from Halo BI.

Martin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Nice program -- lacking in bells and whistles

Reviewed on 24/10/2016

I joined a company a couple years ago. This software was the BI tool in use. I found it was not intuitive to use and was rarely used. As luck would have it, with personnel changes, I found myself as the main person to use. Since them I have found it is easy to use when used frequently. I have also found that other users do not use due to lack of bells....

Adriana R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo BI Prism Training and Support Staff Help

Reviewed on 30/03/2016

Pros

I enjoyed the interactive class that was incredibly informative giving me insight into the exact material I needed to learn.

Cons

I do not have any issues with this program. It is very helpful!

Rajat W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Analysis and Data Visualization Platform

Reviewed on 14/12/2018

Pros

Great platform for data analysis and generating value out of data by creating dashboards. It also helps to plan supply chain management.

Cons

Stiff competition from other similar software's in the market. Sometime crashes out of the blue without any reason.

Friday A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Outstanding

Reviewed on 25/05/2019

Pros

The best part about this software is it's results, they are easy to understand and interpret.

Cons

The software works fine, however, I think the price could be less.

Brent G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Halo's latest solution exceeds all expectations

Reviewed on 21/08/2017

Make sure to take advantage of the proof of concept. This is when you see your data working in their system and it gives you a good sense on how you'll be using it on your daily activities.

Pros

Software and support are great. Our company had several upgrades and we had assistance during each one. The main value is the ability to blend data and use the pre-built dashboards and reports. These allow to see value right away. Whole project was up and running in just a few weeks.

Cons

Their app doesn't have all functions that the desktop version has but considering this type of software we normally use desktop versions regardless.