DBxtra

4.4 (51)
Ad-hoc reporting and business intelligence

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(51)
Value for Money
5/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support Software
4.7/5

92%
recommended this app

51 Software options

Patrick S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A practical, good value, enterprise report server tool

Reviewed on 06/12/2016

Have been using it for 5 years, and now purchased another licence again for a new system.
Features we use:
Designer on server=yes
Designer by users =no
Data grids=yes
Pivot grids=yes
Reports (ie using designer)=yes
Scheduled server=once
Dashboard=no
It doesn't do _everything_ but in terms of basic data grid, reports, pivot it's very good. This is because it's built on DevExpress report designer which is as solid reporting tool.
Essentially the core requirements for reporting, ie user-based variables, parameter customisation, user group security, good web based reporting interface are very good.
It is excellent value for money when compared to other reporting tools on the market, which can easily span into the $10k upwards.
For me, the primary reason is the ease of use for creating and deploying reports. Once I have my SQL query created, just paste it into the designer, save the report, set permissions and you're done. For simple reports I can create them in 5-10 minutes, so that's extremely helpful when managmenet is on your tail to get something sorted. :-)

Pros

Good value, ease of use, practical.

Cons

Some quirks in the how the software auto-configures queries for parameters. Need more options for configuring parameters as its easy to void the use of indexes if you're not careful.

Daniel R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra Reporting

Reviewed on 18/04/2012

The ROI for this product is incredible when compared to other database reporting tools such as, Crystal, SAP, Cognos and Business Objects, etc. I would recommend this product to anyone that may have multiple versions of a database, such as SQL, Oracle, DB2, Informix, Access, etc because of its ability to handle different versions of a database and produce professional reports quickly.

Pros

Can access multiple types of databases
Can create reports across application databases provided there are ways to join the data, eg billing and collection system joined with accounting application
Query generation is Intuitive
Creating professional style reports is intuitive and easy
Installation was easy
Remote access to reports via browser
End user can manipulate data using the data grid
30 day Demo available
Existing queries can be cut and pasted into the query designer.

Cons

The product has exceeded our expectations after trying it for 30 days. If I was forced to identify a con it would be that email support may not be as prompt as you would like; however, if you set up a call for support to answer questions, install, or training they ensure that all questions and training issues are resolved.

Bryan M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Does what it says on the box

Reviewed on 21/03/2011

If you need a reporting system that is powerful, flexible and easy to use at all levels of user experience, this is it.

Pros

We provide consultancy and support for Computerised Maintenance Management Systems in the marine industry, including administering their database systems. As well as delivering bespoke 'permanent' reports with DBxtra we also write many hundreds of one off ad-hoc reports every year. Without DBxtra we could not provide this level of support. Our clients are very demanding but with DBxtra we can meet and often exceed these demands.

Cons

The only very small criticism is that with many hundreds of reports some of which are rarely used it can be difficult to locate the report you require.

Mohd S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Our Trusted DBxtra

Reviewed on 26/03/2015

We trust DBxtra so much that we let DBxtra runs LIVE reporting of our system that is fed with records every 5 seconds from our devices. We showed to our client and they were dazzled of DBxtra's features and importantly the stability of DBxtra that we achieved in our setup. We told them DBxtra did all the work unattended to produce the online LIVE reporting that could be drilled down to the last hour. Soon enough, we got the purchase order from this client as well as other projects and thanks to DBxtra for its hard work that helped us to win this client. Now we trust DBxtra even more ... to tackle our next client.

Nigel B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

InfoMagellan, Management Reporting

Reviewed on 19/07/2014

We deliver mobile computing solutions on iPad and Android tablets and have been using DBxtra for nearly 10 years as our chosen reporting tool. It is easy to use and capable of connecting to multiple Database platforms. The web reporting and scheduler enable us and our clients to access valuable up to date information about their field operations activities and for us to automatically deliver scheduled management reports by email in order to provide highly pro-active information to managers. Overall DBxtra is a simple to use but powerful reporting tool without the complexity of other far more expensive solutions.

Dennis R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBXTRA is great! is the perfect partner to programmers

Reviewed on 01/12/2016

In my opinion, dbxtra have all elements necessary to create any type report. One special feature is that I can do anything with text files. That´s great. The text files are one easy option to complete something that in some native software we haven't. Then, with dbxtra we can take the text files and surprise everyone. Another thing very important is the customer support team, I am very pleased with them. Also, dbxtra never stop, always are doing new and smart improves to the tool. Congratulations!!

Marco K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra rocks!

Reviewed on 18/07/2014

A very easy to use report designing software with an intranet reporting web service where all of your employees can access any report depending on their user group rights. The software comes along with a schedule server where you can automatically send reports to printers or mailboxes at certain times. Active Directory Authentication would be very appreciated for future releases. Anyway, DBxtra rocks!

S D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Can be used as an option to help us

Reviewed on 18/07/2014

Dear Team,
So far we are satisfied with the performance of DBxtra team, because it always develop new innovations to suit customer needs. We always look forward to you to be able to continue to help us especially in case of large data query speeds and another thing to schedule server please more developed not only raw data that can be emailed but also report/dash board

TVM,
Daniel

Malcolm M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBXtra - Excellent value for money

Reviewed on 18/07/2014

DBXtra BI Suite with the enhanced Dashboard functionality represents provides great value for money. It's easy to install, easy to maintain and has great flexibility when it comes to developing reports.

Jitka S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra

Reviewed on 24/06/2011

can fully recommned

Pros

fully satisfactory

Cons

haven't found any

Todd B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra

Reviewed on 17/07/2014

So far DBXtra has met our needs in a 1500 plus member business, using multiple databases for our reporting needs. DBxtra's support staff provide a high level of service and are very knowledgeable about their products and responsive to customer needs.

Joshua W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Many Happy Customers

Reviewed on 08/08/2014

A few years ago I setup DBxtra for a consulting client of mine as it was a very nice and affordable solution. They loved it and since then I have recommended it to every client and installed and used it many more times to solve all types of reporting, dash-boarding and data delivery issues. It is simple to setup, easy to use, and full of great features. Plus their support is second to none (and I work with a lot of software vendors). I would highly recommend this product.

Gerhard N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Easiest Intranet Report Tool

Reviewed on 18/07/2014

In Our Company we use it for displaying almost 30 different AS400 Queries in out Intranet.
The big advantage is the flexibility in complex Report programming. It is very easy to but our own code with only little knowledge of visual basic.
Response Time of customer Service is surprising fast and efficient. Even remote support was possible.
After some installation Problems DBxtra runs 24 hours for almost on year continuous.

Gabriel P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

The best standalone reporting/bussiness intelligence tool

Reviewed on 08/08/2014

Pros:
- Lets you design a report completely, from query to a printed design, by drag and drop.
- You can send reports in an scheduled fashion.
Cons:
- Can be only integrated loosely with other tools.

I'm amazed about how DBxtra makes the creation of reports and dashboards easy even for non-technical people, yet, you can make full use of your technical expertise if you need to.

Roderick G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra in consulting projects

Reviewed on 16/07/2014

As a consulting firm, we are always looking for software to use in our projects and make our life easier. We came across DBxtra like 6 years ago, and since then it has solved a lot of our problems.
Our customers usually have the data, but they need a simple and affordable way to analyze it. That´s were DBxtra comes in with simple reporting, graphics, dynamic tables, and what I like the most, schedule server. For us, that´s what the customer wants, not depending on anyone for his data.
The only thing I wanted them to include, was a dashboard, and they have already done it.

In a few words, all our customers and ourselves, feel that we got a lot of value for what we paid.

Michael M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra is is fantastic!

Reviewed on 10/06/2015

For small to mid-size organizations looking for a web-based business intelligence tool, I haven't found anything better than DBxtra. It lets you build beautiful presentations and reports at a fraction of the the cost of other reporting tools.

I highly recommend it!

Dody T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBXTRA is best solution for your report tools.

Reviewed on 16/07/2014

I have been using DBXTRA since v1 until now (v8) , almost nothing issues on techincal and support side , DBXTRA is very easy to used and support team is very quick in respon.

Alexey C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

OLAP support is a fiction

Reviewed on 25/09/2015

I see the Features Checklist saying that DBxtra supports OLAP. This is simply not true. You will not find any mention of OLAP support on DBxtra website or documentation besides this news article dating back to 2008: http://www.dbxtra.com/blog/?p=103
DBxtra can't use SSAS or similar OLAP tools as a data source. The built in table pivoting doesn't have multidimensional data processing functionality.

So far I'm having pretty rough experience with DBxtra. After working with it for a month I'm running into numerous bugs and minor annoyances: slow initial load time, various UI elements not working. Customer Support response is very quick, but they can't really solve any of my issues or provide estimates for resolution. Well I guess it's what you get for this kind of price.

Agung D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Recommended reporting application with affordable cost

Reviewed on 01/12/2016

Almost 6 years I using this solution for complex requirements and also limited budget.
Users really happy cause all thing related with this solution are easy.
Even for beginner developer without good basic for programming can easily setting this solution.
Thank you DBxtra!!!!!!

Pros

easy for developing and understanding event for beginner.

Alfonso L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Easy to use also for our c-level

Reviewed on 26/03/2015

It is already 3 years we use DBxtra as our main reporting solution.
We were looking for a tool that could show reports like excell does with a pivot table.
SQL is somehow limited in that because you cannot really have a presentation layer for the data you collect and therefore a report is very repetitive and static.
DBxtra let you create reports that can be viewed online and let you see a summarized account of the data while letting you to go down to a detailed view if needed.
The interface is easy enough to have a secretary create the report in very few time.
I'd like also to point out that the customer service is very competent and quick to answer finding a way to help you out with any use or configuration problem that could arise.

Michael H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra Reporting Tool and Scheduler

Reviewed on 17/07/2014

Golden Corral has been using the DBxtra reporting tool for at least 6 years. For small shops such as ours, it greatly increases productivity by providing a truly non programming environment IDE for creating visually appealing reports. Our end users use the reporting server daily to access reports and pass parameter filters to custom select report data. The scheduler is also a tool we rely on daily to produce and email reports to a variety of departments within the company. As the software manager, my very first requirement of a new programmer in my department is to learn DBxtra.

Todd W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great reporting program

Reviewed on 05/12/2016

This is an excellent program that allows non-programmers to create reports. It has a very easy learning curve and the support is excellent. We use it to create reports that we can distribute to different users in our warehouse so that they can easily run themselves. It is very feature rich and allows you to tackle almost any reporting tasks you may have. The only negative is that in program documentation is a little sparse and some of the advanced functions are not documented but support is excellent and only an e-mail away.

Pat R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Excellent but affordable reporting software

Reviewed on 22/03/2011

After searching and trialling many different reporting software DBxtra is not only the most affordable and easy to use, it also has extensive features that challenge most of the more expensive reporting software.

Pros

* Easy to create queries and basic reports
* Web Service is an excellent way of sharing data throughout the company
*Affordable
*Report scheduling service is excellent

Cons

* Creating graphs is difficult
* Needs easier conditional formatting.

Annie Y.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

A user friendly tool

Reviewed on 17/07/2014

We have used DBxtra for several years and with multiple Databases. We find it to be very user friendly and intuitive to use.

It provides a simple, quick and efficient way to query data.

Dennis R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Ease of use and complete

Reviewed on 25/03/2015

I am new in use of product., but I think that have the best tool business intelligence. Congratulations!