51 reviews

DBxtra

Ad-hoc reporting and business intelligence

4.4 /5 (51 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
51 reviews
Patrick S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A practical, good value, enterprise report server tool

Reviewed on 06/12/2016

Have been using it for 5 years, and now purchased another licence again for a new system.
Features we use:
Designer on server=yes
Designer by users =no
Data grids=yes
Pivot grids=yes
Reports (ie using designer)=yes
Scheduled server=once
Dashboard=no
It doesn't do _everything_ but in terms of basic data grid, reports, pivot it's very good. This is because it's built on DevExpress report designer which is as solid reporting tool.
Essentially the core requirements for reporting, ie user-based variables, parameter customisation, user group security, good web based reporting interface are very good.
It is excellent value for money when compared to other reporting tools on the market, which can easily span into the $10k upwards.
For me, the primary reason is the ease of use for creating and deploying reports. Once I have my SQL query created, just paste it into the designer, save the report, set permissions and you're done. For simple reports I can create them in 5-10 minutes, so that's extremely helpful when managmenet is on your tail to get something sorted. :-)

Pros

Good value, ease of use, practical.

Cons

Some quirks in the how the software auto-configures queries for parameters. Need more options for configuring parameters as its easy to void the use of indexes if you're not careful.

Daniel R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra Reporting

Reviewed on 18/04/2012

The ROI for this product is incredible when compared to other database reporting tools such as, Crystal, SAP, Cognos and Business Objects, etc. I would recommend this product to anyone that may have multiple versions of a database, such as SQL, Oracle, DB2, Informix, Access, etc because of its ability to handle different versions of a database and produce professional reports quickly.

Pros

Can access multiple types of databases
Can create reports across application databases provided there are ways to join the data, eg billing and collection system joined with accounting application
Query generation is Intuitive
Creating professional style reports is intuitive and easy
Installation was easy
Remote access to reports via browser
End user can manipulate data using the data grid
30 day Demo available
Existing queries can be cut and pasted into the query designer.

Cons

The product has exceeded our expectations after trying it for 30 days. If I was forced to identify a con it would be that email support may not be as prompt as you would like; however, if you set up a call for support to answer questions, install, or training they ensure that all questions and training issues are resolved.

Bryan M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Does what it says on the box

Reviewed on 21/03/2011

If you need a reporting system that is powerful, flexible and easy to use at all levels of user experience, this is it.

Pros

We provide consultancy and support for Computerised Maintenance Management Systems in the marine industry, including administering their database systems. As well as delivering bespoke 'permanent' reports with DBxtra we also write many hundreds of one off ad-hoc reports every year. Without DBxtra we could not provide this level of support. Our clients are very demanding but with DBxtra we can meet and often exceed these demands.

Cons

The only very small criticism is that with many hundreds of reports some of which are rarely used it can be difficult to locate the report you require.

Mohd S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Our Trusted DBxtra

Reviewed on 26/03/2015

We trust DBxtra so much that we let DBxtra runs LIVE reporting of our system that is fed with records every 5 seconds from our devices. We showed to our client and they were dazzled of DBxtra's features and importantly the stability of DBxtra that we achieved in our setup. We told them DBxtra did all the work unattended to produce the online LIVE reporting that could be drilled down to the last hour. Soon enough, we got the purchase order from this client as well as other projects and thanks to DBxtra for its hard work that helped us to win this client. Now we trust DBxtra even more ... to tackle our next client.

Nigel B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

InfoMagellan, Management Reporting

Reviewed on 19/07/2014

We deliver mobile computing solutions on iPad and Android tablets and have been using DBxtra for nearly 10 years as our chosen reporting tool. It is easy to use and capable of connecting to multiple Database platforms. The web reporting and scheduler enable us and our clients to access valuable up to date information about their field operations activities and for us to automatically deliver scheduled management reports by email in order to provide highly pro-active information to managers. Overall DBxtra is a simple to use but powerful reporting tool without the complexity of other far more expensive solutions.

Dennis R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBXTRA is great! is the perfect partner to programmers

Reviewed on 01/12/2016

In my opinion, dbxtra have all elements necessary to create any type report. One special feature is that I can do anything with text files. That´s great. The text files are one easy option to complete something that in some native software we haven't. Then, with dbxtra we can take the text files and surprise everyone. Another thing very important is the customer support team, I am very pleased with them. Also, dbxtra never stop, always are doing new and smart improves to the tool. Congratulations!!

Marco K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra rocks!

Reviewed on 18/07/2014

A very easy to use report designing software with an intranet reporting web service where all of your employees can access any report depending on their user group rights. The software comes along with a schedule server where you can automatically send reports to printers or mailboxes at certain times. Active Directory Authentication would be very appreciated for future releases. Anyway, DBxtra rocks!

S D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Can be used as an option to help us

Reviewed on 18/07/2014

Dear Team,
So far we are satisfied with the performance of DBxtra team, because it always develop new innovations to suit customer needs. We always look forward to you to be able to continue to help us especially in case of large data query speeds and another thing to schedule server please more developed not only raw data that can be emailed but also report/dash board

TVM,
Daniel

Malcolm M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBXtra - Excellent value for money

Reviewed on 18/07/2014

DBXtra BI Suite with the enhanced Dashboard functionality represents provides great value for money. It's easy to install, easy to maintain and has great flexibility when it comes to developing reports.

Todd B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra

Reviewed on 17/07/2014

So far DBXtra has met our needs in a 1500 plus member business, using multiple databases for our reporting needs. DBxtra's support staff provide a high level of service and are very knowledgeable about their products and responsive to customer needs.

Jitka S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra

Reviewed on 24/06/2011

can fully recommned

Pros

fully satisfactory

Cons

haven't found any

Alexey C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

OLAP support is a fiction

Reviewed on 25/09/2015

I see the Features Checklist saying that DBxtra supports OLAP. This is simply not true. You will not find any mention of OLAP support on DBxtra website or documentation besides this news article dating back to 2008: http://www.dbxtra.com/blog/?p=103
DBxtra can't use SSAS or similar OLAP tools as a data source. The built in table pivoting doesn't have multidimensional data processing functionality.

So far I'm having pretty rough experience with DBxtra. After working with it for a month I'm running into numerous bugs and minor annoyances: slow initial load time, various UI elements not working. Customer Support response is very quick, but they can't really solve any of my issues or provide estimates for resolution. Well I guess it's what you get for this kind of price.

Agung D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Recommended reporting application with affordable cost

Reviewed on 01/12/2016

Almost 6 years I using this solution for complex requirements and also limited budget.
Users really happy cause all thing related with this solution are easy.
Even for beginner developer without good basic for programming can easily setting this solution.
Thank you DBxtra!!!!!!

Pros

easy for developing and understanding event for beginner.

Alfonso L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Easy to use also for our c-level

Reviewed on 26/03/2015

It is already 3 years we use DBxtra as our main reporting solution.
We were looking for a tool that could show reports like excell does with a pivot table.
SQL is somehow limited in that because you cannot really have a presentation layer for the data you collect and therefore a report is very repetitive and static.
DBxtra let you create reports that can be viewed online and let you see a summarized account of the data while letting you to go down to a detailed view if needed.
The interface is easy enough to have a secretary create the report in very few time.
I'd like also to point out that the customer service is very competent and quick to answer finding a way to help you out with any use or configuration problem that could arise.

Michael H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra Reporting Tool and Scheduler

Reviewed on 17/07/2014

Golden Corral has been using the DBxtra reporting tool for at least 6 years. For small shops such as ours, it greatly increases productivity by providing a truly non programming environment IDE for creating visually appealing reports. Our end users use the reporting server daily to access reports and pass parameter filters to custom select report data. The scheduler is also a tool we rely on daily to produce and email reports to a variety of departments within the company. As the software manager, my very first requirement of a new programmer in my department is to learn DBxtra.

Todd W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great reporting program

Reviewed on 05/12/2016

This is an excellent program that allows non-programmers to create reports. It has a very easy learning curve and the support is excellent. We use it to create reports that we can distribute to different users in our warehouse so that they can easily run themselves. It is very feature rich and allows you to tackle almost any reporting tasks you may have. The only negative is that in program documentation is a little sparse and some of the advanced functions are not documented but support is excellent and only an e-mail away.

Pat R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Excellent but affordable reporting software

Reviewed on 22/03/2011

After searching and trialling many different reporting software DBxtra is not only the most affordable and easy to use, it also has extensive features that challenge most of the more expensive reporting software.

Pros

* Easy to create queries and basic reports
* Web Service is an excellent way of sharing data throughout the company
*Affordable
*Report scheduling service is excellent

Cons

* Creating graphs is difficult
* Needs easier conditional formatting.

Annie Y.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

A user friendly tool

Reviewed on 17/07/2014

We have used DBxtra for several years and with multiple Databases. We find it to be very user friendly and intuitive to use.

It provides a simple, quick and efficient way to query data.

Dennis R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Ease of use and complete

Reviewed on 25/03/2015

I am new in use of product., but I think that have the best tool business intelligence. Congratulations!

Julio N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Comments 23-jun-2011

Reviewed on 23/06/2011

Add Graphical interface to use data

Pros

Easy of use and Implementation.

Cons

The product don't have a graphical interface

Malcolm M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

DBxtra V5.0.0.0 Review

Reviewed on 29/03/2011

Affordable BI tool.

Pros

Easy to install and intuitive to use.

Cons

None that come to mind.

Dan G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Generally a good and inexpensive product but it has a lot of issues

Reviewed on 26/03/2015

Pros:
Inexpensive
Powerful and feature rich
Web deployment capability
Tech support

Cons:
Memory and processing hog. Make sure you have a powerful computer when developing or it will crash far too often.
Doesn't have many bugs but the ones it does are very annoying and impede the use of some features
Very slow to fix bugs
Poor documentation (really poor - you have to contact technical support to learn how to do anything sophisticated)
Last release was extremely poorly conceived, delivered, and poorly communicated. They eliminated some good features and the upgrade wreaked havoc on our installation. We had to downgrade (which is not easy) and rebuild everything. Consequently we are very gun shy about upgrading and are still waiting months later for them to repair the damage form this release.
Examples:
The parameters window no longer displays by default
The output display is limited a window that is too small for some of our wider reports so now there are 2 sets of scroll bars
The moved the function buttons from top right to top left so our logo is crowded between the buttons and the report and looks terrible.
Product management needs a serious overhaul. Both because of the above bumbling and a number of features in the UI that are just plain bad design and need to be removed or fixed. For example:
Displaying the report parameters in a cryptic string in the report header without the option to hide them. Users don't need to see this and if you have a lot of parameters the result is a very long string which detracts from the report aesthetics.
You cannot have report parameters that are strings with commas, such as a company name as it does not work. You have to work around it in a non-elegant way to get it to work. This bug has been outstanding for more than a year. There is a similar problem with strings that contain single quotes (given that this is a SQL based report system you'd think the programmers would have had a clue about this).
If you customize the display of parameters in the report (so you don't get the non-user-friendly cryptic string) every time you edit the report your customizations are overwritten with that ridiculous string. You have to save your customization in a hidden field and copy and paste it back every time.

Note: All of the above has already been communicated to DBXtra. We are still awaiting a resolution.

Martyn A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Best Report Writer and Best Support Available

Reviewed on 12/05/2015

We did a substantial amount of market testing before deciding on which product to settle on.

We needed to improve the quality of our reports, make data easier to understand for our end users and reduce the development time associated with report generation.

We evaluated a number of other competitors. We found the service to be reasonable with most of the companies we evaluated. In some products, we found very advanced features, but the development cycle would require lots of coding. We were looking for a solution that would steamline the report creation process and offer a powerful set of tools for visualising and presenting data back.

After we became disillusioned with the 4th product we tried, we moved over to testing DBxtra.

With DBxtra we had created and deployed our first report in less than 3 days (compared to over 7 with the other products)

DBxtra works like this: You build an underlying query using a visual query builder - from this you effectively have 4 separate methods of manipulating the data:

- Data Grids

- Pivot Tables

- Reports

- Dashboards

Go the website to see these.

But why am I actually writing this review?

During our testing of this product, the service and support we received was literally the best we've experienced. The friendly and experienced team at DBxtra never made us wait long for an answer to a support email and on a number of occasions they screen shared with us to provide advice. In about 5 situations, our requirements needed code changes in asp pages. Each time, they went away, researched our problem and came back and implemented it for us.

As part of our purchase we agreed on some customization work that needed to be done at short notice. We were a little worried about whether the quality of the service would drop off after we paid. When our customisation was not completed we sent an email to ask what was going on at 23:00 - only to get an instant reply to say that it had taken longer than planned due to a major storm, but they were staying with it until it was done. It was completed at around 02:00 - and was done so because the DBxtra team understood we needed it for showcase to a client the next morning and they delivered on their promise.

That's all there is to say really.

Robert b W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Faster, Better, Cheaper than anything else ...

Reviewed on 06/12/2016

I've found DBxtra far quicker to develop, test, and roll out to end users than either MS Business Intelligence or Oracle.

I also like the fact that end users can easily learn it and create their own custom queries and reports. It takes a tremendous amount of workload off of IT when users are in a "I'll know it when I see it" mode.

Pros

Very Rapid development and roll out cycle. I have been able to satisfy customer needs in minutes where other tools took hours of work and testing.

Cons

A couple of issues, but I've already passed them along to the support/development group months ago.

Frank J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

DbXTra Flexible Reporting

Reviewed on 06/12/2016

We implemented DbXtra as visual dynamic reporting alternative, we realized that helped our organization to have valuable information across processes and areas without development constraints and best in value, the benefit/cost ratio compared with other Visual Reporting Tools is very high. Something to improve is about web client features. Still great for basic Analytics.

Pros

- Ease to implement and distribute across users.
- Unlimited viewers with several filtering and drill down options.
- Designer cost is reasonable.
- Excel plug-in is a useful tool.

Cons

-Very limited performance on the web based version.
-Focused just in Windows version, no mac, no Linux.
-ETLs have been well built and debugged in external tools prior to considering DataSets in DbXtra.