GitLab

4.6 (867)
Complete DevOps lifecycle management

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(867)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support Software
4.2/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

867 Reviews

Brad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitLab is a must for development teams

Reviewed on 10/07/2020

Pros

I love the Boards for tracking Issues in their life cycle. Customizable Columns and Labels make it quick and easy to see where an Issue is, giving a high level for management and the rest of the team, while having all the details and attached code branches and merge requests for the developer and stakeholders. I love how it's able to connect code from several projects to Issues, no matter where they live, so you can have as many boards and projects as you like! It's well put together and seems natural with everything I try to do organization-wise. Integrates really well with developers' workflows.

Cons

GitLab is always improving and enables you to request features, so if you want something, suggest it and they'll get to it! Sometimes that's a bit slow, but you can usually work around it.

Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best opensource tool for software engineering management

Reviewed on 26/05/2021

We're hosting all of our private code repositories on gitlab.com, using the issue tracker, merge requests. We also run our continuos builds and deploy directly to our Google Cloud Kubernetes Engine workloads.

Pros

It's opensource though provides a cloud based solution with a really good free tier. It allows integrating code repositories with issue tracking and continuos integration and continuos deployment

Cons

User experience could be largely improved. Searching and filters are a bit clunky from the UX point of view. Also bulk actions are only allowed at project level.

Alternatives Considered

Jira

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We wanted to have issue tracking, code repositories, merge requests and continuos integration/deployment all in the same tool.

Switched From

Trello and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

It was the best alternative for our budget, and it allowed us to use our own Google Cloud Platform account to run Continuos Integration/Deployment jobs
Gaspar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A lot better than GitHub, and a lot more flexible!!

Reviewed on 19/01/2023

We've used GitLab community while setting up the labs for the entire College projects.

Pros

Flexibility. You can either go Cloud, or setup your own GitLab infrastructure. With GitHub you can, but is not that simple. Also, the Pipelines are way more polished that GitHub Actions, which lately is having major issues. Plus, Pipelines let you easily reuse the CI code. Also, you have a Community edition.High Availability is a key feature to take into account.

Cons

Although it has a lot of integrations with 3rd party services, it lacks of having a Marketplace, like GitHub has.

Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Beware of GitLab billing issues

Reviewed on 25/02/2022

Not long ago, I ordered some GitLab licenses since more people wanted to use it. I asked to go from 57 to 75 licenses. Instead, GitLab put the order in wrong and added 75 licenses, bringing us to 132 total.

About this time, I was pulled to a critically-important project that was way behind schedule and told not to work on anything else. When I got enough breathing room to switch back, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] acted like she couldn't care less. The most I ever got was "I'll be sure to look into it" or "I'm still looking into it".

The process dragged on for weeks. I had to nag her over and over again for updates until she finally told me that GitLab's billing department had decided... not to give me a refund because it had been too long. How convenient, especially after dragging out the process for so long.

I complained about this, asked for a new account manager, and got what I requested. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] took my concerns to the GitLab crew again... and got told once again that not only would we not receive a refund, GitLab wasn't going to offer us any sort of compensation or credit whatsoever.

We're a software company as well, and we would never treat loyal customers this way - especially not our power users. I've built my DevOps career around GitLab and encouraged others to do the same. That GitLab could be so tone-deaf over a problem that was clearly their fault speaks volumes to how the company has changed.

Pros

GitLab does well as an all-in-one software development platform.

Cons

If GitLab makes a billing problem, it may refuse to rectify the problem as they did with us.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best On-premises git client

Reviewed on 05/10/2022

Pros

The fact that I can deploy Gitlab locally and start collaborating with my teammates on version control and source code management.

Cons

sometime the application becomes bit laggy and crashes

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Switched From

GitHub
Jade
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ensures efficient management & organisation of tasks

Reviewed on 08/01/2023

Our company has used Gitlab to file every design & implementation issue to house a written specification, to be created and/or fixed for our software and does a great job at keeping every issue together, open and closed.

Pros

Every part I have used has been incredibly efficient: creating issues, assigning tags of varying priority, assigning the task to a user, editing issue descriptions and comments.

Cons

While not hugely important to the functionality of the software, when adding a description to issues, since the language used is "code-like" it can be difficult to get a sense of how the description will turn out once saved if you are a user that is not well versed/comfortable with coding. It would be nice to present screenshots pasted and view bolded characters etc.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

GitLabs

Reviewed on 02/12/2022

Pros

It is a good option for corporate companies as it is an open-source code repository that is widely used for developing and managing code

Cons

Gitlab does not provide us with an option for different authentication apps the UI and response also feel slow at times

Maria
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Gitlab review

Reviewed on 09/01/2023

Very happy to use Gitlab i use it daily and it makes my work flow faster and better

Pros

Very easy to manage any source code with the push and pull features and you can integrate it with many softwares which can make the process even easier. You can clone any repository and work in parallel with your coworkers which makes the work faster.

Cons

A little bit confusing when there’s any merge conflicts.

Kristijonas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Kristijonas review

Reviewed on 15/01/2023

I love gitlab, it gets the job done and is the best in the game.

Pros

i love Gitlab, it is the best in the game and can be either very simple or very complex if you need it to.

Cons

I mostly like everything, but I would add an easier way to commit your changes directly through gitlab, also create and edit branches.

Shivaling
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

githab - hit your devops pipelines running

Reviewed on 09/12/2022

it has been very good

Pros

what i like most about gitlab is their functionality of runners which are very fast interms of achieving ci/cd pipelines.

Cons

what i like least is it is not opensource and has in built subscriptions for usage

Edward
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Git Awesome

Reviewed on 08/07/2020

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

Pros

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

Cons

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Alternatives Considered

Jira, Bitbucket, and Confluence

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.
Luca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

Reviewed on 26/09/2019

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

Pros

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more.
I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

Cons

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Alternatives Considered

Azure DevOps Server

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

You can create organisations for free and have several private repositories (also for free). Additionally the idea that we could setup the CI/CD pipelines was a plus looking forward.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We decided to go the easy way. Gitlab was less painful to setup and had less restrictions (e.g. on the number of users)
Corentin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Git Super powers

Reviewed on 25/01/2021

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Pros

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team.

What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Cons

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface.
Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Needed better CI/CD.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Free and open-source, easily host-able on premise.
Dennis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One stop shop for planning, development, and operations

Reviewed on 12/10/2019

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing speed. Let the computers do the heavy lifting of building and testing the changes. Bake in DevOps best practices by default.

Pros

Integration of CI/CD and Kubernetes for easily developing and running custom apps. Fantastic collaboration features like discussions, visual diffing. Some of this stuff you don't even get on desktop apps that charge big bucks. Frequent updates that inch its capability and usability forward. Good documentation. Wonderful community, welcoming atmosphere, pleasant to work with all the employees I've encountered.

Cons

Sometimes things break. When things are broken, sometimes it can take some time to be fixed, if you're not willing or able to fix it yourself. One of the consequences of such broad scope and feature development velocity. It would be advisable to keep another copy installed separately for testing updates before applying them to the live edition, if your IT has the capacity to do so.

Alternatives Considered

Redmine

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Nicer user interface, more frequent updates, larger community, more features. Helm chart deployment gets me all the things I need in my Kubernetes cluster to develop and deploy any and all web apps (or run existing ones).

Switched From

Redmine

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Everything in one, better user interface, open source
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A must have tool for version controlling and software development process

Reviewed on 18/08/2022

GitLab is my everyday tool which I use for my course project management. I am really happy with its simple and easy-to-use open source support.

Pros

Gitlab has features to set up project wiki, deployment, CI/CD pipeline and managing the project with role management with adequate space for personal projects.

Cons

The documentations are bit confusing and third party plug in integration is bit difficult and confusing.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Open source and easier to use.

Switched From

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Gitlab is easier to use compared to GitHub and BitBucket.
Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

An incredibly useful tool for version control and CI/CD

Reviewed on 16/09/2019

Having migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared to the more simplistic approach of SVN has undoubtedly saved a significant amount of time.

Pros

GitLab comes packed with a number of helpful facilities for managing continuous integration/deployment tasks. The option to self-host a GitLab instance is also appreciated.

Cons

Comes with something of a learning curve and can take a while to fully introduce non-technical users to its functionality.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Git

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Need for extended functionality, CI/CD support.

Switched From

Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

CI/CD functionality.
Wassim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

More than code management product

Reviewed on 09/01/2020

It is been a great experience so far and it helped us automate most of our software deployment processes.

Pros

The reason we switched to Gitlab is that we found that it offers more than any other git SAAS product in the market and it wasn't just a code repository. They have CI/CD for automation and automated Artifacts.

Cons

1. Stability of the product was not the best, we had frequent hiccups where the pipelines runners were down or other parts of the system.
2. Pricing plans are pretty steep so it is 4x whenever you move to the next plan.

Tolgay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitLab for DevOps and Automation Activities

Reviewed on 26/04/2022

We entegrated it reporting tools as well. We are getting commit counts, pipeline usage etc and create reports in Kibana / Tableau.

Pros

It is a great tool to use for creating a baseline for source code management, versioning, and backwards revision history. It is possible to apply branchin strategy as you wish. We used it in our DevOps & Automation activities with entegrating a bunch of other tools.

Cons

Sometimes it is very difficult to manage the conflicts in the merge requests coming from different branches to the main branch specially if a lot of developers working in parallel.

Alternatives Considered

Artifactory

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

To centralize usage of the same tool within whole organisation.

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Cost management , Improve business process agility
Gustavo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful source code management platform

Reviewed on 12/12/2020

Pros

Gitlab is my primary source code management platform where I store the repositories of my applications. It's very powerful and easy to use. I really like the CI pipeline because easy to configure and provide the automation you need in deployment. Code review process is also very nice.

Cons

All the things I need for my daily usage are covered. Would be nice to have an out-of-the-box dependabot integration without having to configure so many things.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

At that time, gitlab offered free private repos

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Because of the price and the features included for free.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Open Source Software!

Reviewed on 16/12/2018

The overall experience was good. It's highly recommended for companies who want host their code in their own infra and are ready to maintain the code hosting software itself

Pros

I use the GitLab Community Edition (CE) and the first thing I love about it is it's Open Source! I am a believer of Open source software! In my company, we host our own instance of GitLab CE and it's been smooth. We use it for source code hosting and for CI/CD. Source code hosting has been great. CI/CD is nice too. GitLab has all the features required by a code hosting software - groups, groups within groups, repos, role based access control for members. Members can also be grouped with names - helpful to create a group for a team and add members to the group and give access to the team/group. It has forking, SSH/HTTPS git repo access, Notification/Watch repo features. It also has lots of integrations. We use slack a lot and we have integrations with slack which GitLab provides, and we have configured it to get notified for different things, starting from commit pushes to pipeline failures. We also use the GitLab pages for hosting the Wiki site for repos. It's pretty neat! The GitLab CI/CD has the concept of runners which run the CI/CD tasks/jobs. Runners have tags, and you can easily use the appropriate tag in the config to run the task in the appropriate runner. We use different runners for different things like, pushing to a Docker registry (requires special permissions), accessing a prod DB/application, running normal tasks (scripts) etc. All in all, it's quite good

Cons

Although GitLab has lots of features. I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete! Starting with the CI/CD, it's quite good. But it lacks some features and flexibility which we expect in the upcoming versions. Features like one CI/CD pipeline triggering another pipeline (not present in CE, not sure about Enterprise Edition) and things like grouping jobs in a stage. Also, the CI/CD UI is not very good. It has glitches, there's no auto refresh in all the UIs to show the status of a job - if it's successful or if it failed. The job UI also isn't very great, like, if the job names or stage names are big, it becomes tough to read. Also, when the job log is very big, it reloads the page when the job finishes and truncates the output of the job and makes it available for download instead. This can be good or bad, based on the use case. For us, it was mostly not a soothing experience.

Arnold
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A complete tool to store your projects and configure your CI/CD

Reviewed on 07/08/2019

I have great thoughts about GitLab my experience has been really good. I was really impressed when I started working with it and configured the first project there. I definitely recommend GitLab to anyone that wants to start a new project and doesn't want to use too many tools, GitLab has everything that you need to start.

Pros

I started using GitLab for an external project and I like the following:
1) Easy to work with and auto explanatory. Creating/configuring a new repository is really easy.
2) Great CI/CD implementation. Having the repository with built-in CI/CD is really convenient, you can have everything related to the build and deployment process saved along with your code. I have used bamboo and I really appreciate this feature, it might have its problems but it is really useful.
3) Unlimited private docker registry, you can have your own private registry for free. I cannot express how useful this is.
4) In order to help with the CI/CD process it allows the creation of tokens with access restrictions (read only), so you can use these tokens to download your code or your docker containers without having to provide your personal credentials.
5) It has its own task manager
6) It has free agents that are in charge of executing your builds/deploys so you don't have to provide your own resources.

Cons

1) Configuring build variables is really messy and it is not an ideal implementation. I haven't found a way to set different values for them depending on the branch, so configuring different environments is not too easy
2) Even though having your code with CI/CD is really convenient, it has some drawbacks. If you have an established continuous deployment process that you repeat in many projects and you want to change it (maybe a fix it or improve it) you will have to add that change to all your repositories and all the branches that you want to deploy. So it is a really good feature but it is not too flexible
3) The task manager is messy, and I didn't find a way to have a shared board.
4) It does not have too many software integrations, as I mentioned before I have used bamboo and I really like their integration with other software

Piotr
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best git management tool on the market

Reviewed on 24/08/2022

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management tool I ever used. Everything that is needed by the user is already built-in. CI/CD is handled brilliantly and can be quickly set up without a lot of training before. The whole app is intuitive and easy to use (especially if a user has some experience with similar apps). Documentation is big and contains not only facts but also examples, which allows saving a lot of time during debugging or introducing new functionalities. GitLab is well known around the internet, so community support is also good. If a user has some problem, it is probably resolved inside documentation or in one of the web forums. The flexibility of GitLab is huge. It can be easily adjusted to a company's needs without any problems. Processes may be set up differently in various projects and integration between them is almost seamless.
On the other hand, the price per user is quite high, especially on better plans, so GitLab can quickly become expensive in bigger companies. The second disadvantage is that some less-known tools cannot be integrated with the app. However, the list is being extended and devs are listening to a community so the more some app integration is needed, the more likely it is.
In my opinion, GitLab is the best git management tool I ever used - particularly because of CI/CD. If you can afford the price, it is worth it!

Pros

A huge number of features.
Intuitive and easy to use.
Extensive documentation and good customer service.
Flexibility of customization.

Cons

It can become expensive, particularly if the company has many users.
Some less-known external tools cannot be integrated.

Goran
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitLab - one-stop solution for development and source control

Reviewed on 20/05/2022

I've been using Gitlab both as part of a company and as an individual. It fit both needs. You can also switch on/off some of the features and simplify the experience if you don't want to use the CI/CD for example.

Pros

I believe this is the best Github competitor which offers more configuration flexibility in setting up your development lifecycle.

Cons

The menus are not very UX friendly. There are lots of options when using Gitlab and sometimes is hard to find the particular section you need. It's annoying but having in mind all the good things that Gitlab offers, it's negligible.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Switched From

GitHub
Caleb
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic git project management tool with good integrations

Reviewed on 09/02/2018

Pros

Full suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones & issue boards, group and user management including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration, scheduled jobs, project wiki, etc. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pulls the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces.

The general workflow is similar enough to Github that most developers find it familiar. In fact there is probably feature parity or beyond, so other than needing another account there has never been much resistance to adoption among our developer team. At the same time the interface well designed enough for non developers to figure it out and stay involved as well.

Cons

The setup and update process is somewhat cumbersome on bare metal (probably easier using dedicated virtual machines and/or their omnibus package). There are a lot of dependencies and assumptions about the environment that make it much the most dreaded package to upgrade on my production servers.

It does kind of make assumptions about workflow that don't hold true for all projects. While it is flexible enough to adapt even when using only a subset of features on a project, it can leave people a little confused and overwhelmed because all the other unused bits are still around in the interface.

Silvio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A very good git repo manager

Reviewed on 02/04/2020

Very nice experience, I will keep using it.

Pros

I've tried them all from Github to Bitbucket. I think that Gitlab is an optimal tool since it not only provides repository management but also a lot of useful tools to make your DevOps process much easier. I find it perfect when it comes to code review thanks to the comments and approval system.

Cons

Sometimes it is not so easy to find what you are looking for and you have to dig in the settings

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

It is better

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Because I hate Microsoft.