GitLab

4.6 (753)
Complete DevOps lifecycle management

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(753)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support Software
4.2/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

753 Reviews

Mauricio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great option to collaborate with the team

Reviewed on 08/09/2022

Pros

Is a very simple application to use, even easier if you have used other ones like github. The integration with git tools like source tree are also very simple, specially the configuration process.

We use it for test automation processes and has been a great support to speed up our process, since we create the test cases until we execute them

Cons

We haven't had any issues or thinks we don't like about it. Has been a great addition to our software and testing process

Andy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The first step to using Git on your computer is from this tool

Reviewed on 24/08/2022

I think it's good that you can use it in basically the same way as GitHub, and that you can manage it by making use of your existing knowledge. Also, I think it's nice that GitLab has unique features that are easier to use, such as a feature that changes the display of the file icon for each file extension.

Pros

Using Git as a configuration management tool is already common sense (essential), but I think this software is the most used for remote (distributed) development. There are many cases where you install Git on each person's terminal and operate the commands, but if it is team development and you can't use an "external (public Internet) repository", it is better to set up and operate a Git repository with GitLab I think it will be the safest and standard way to use Git.

Cons

I guess there is no choice but to get used to it, but I would like to see more visual changes and expressions (messages) when conflicts occur that are easier to understand for beginners. After all, I'd like to see them develop an interface that makes it easier to understand the concept of Git configuration in the first place.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

With the end of MS-VSS support and the trend of the times, it was necessary to use Git for configuration management, and I was looking for a Git configuration management tool that could be used by groups (and remotely) instead of individuals, so we decided to implement GitLab.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

I think it is the first candidate for managing the configuration of development assets in internal development (because the use of Git itself is a global standard). There was a feature that changed the display of the file icon for each file extension, and it had the advantage that it was possible to reduce the file selection error. Also, unlike GitHub, it has not been acquired by Microsoft, so I think it is an advantage that it can be used with confidence in terms of security.
Shaurya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for small teams to handle entire project lifecycle management

Reviewed on 31/08/2022

Pros

Apart from being a code repository, it offers many services. I have constantly used the built in CI/CD capabilities. Easy to use tool with less dependencies on other products

Cons

Advance git commands are difficult to manage. UI can be better

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A must have tool for version controlling and software development process

Reviewed on 18/08/2022

GitLab is my everyday tool which I use for my course project management. I am really happy with its simple and easy-to-use open source support.

Pros

Gitlab has features to set up project wiki, deployment, CI/CD pipeline and managing the project with role management with adequate space for personal projects.

Cons

The documentations are bit confusing and third party plug in integration is bit difficult and confusing.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Open source and easier to use.

Switched From

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Gitlab is easier to use compared to GitHub and BitBucket.
Yasith
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cheaper alternative to Github with more tools

Reviewed on 09/09/2022

Pros

There are two main things I like about Gitlab. One is its built-in tools like CICD through which we built automated pipelines, online change comparison, etc. The other thing is the UI UX aspect of it compared to Github.
It is free for most of the use compared to expensive Github which is the reason for us picking Gitlab over Github

Cons

It seems to be lacking integrations with some software we use

Goran
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good option for git based source control

Reviewed on 13/09/2022

We use gitlab as a git source control solution and for CI/CD to some extend

Pros

It supports all required features needed for source control solution. It has competitive pricing.

Cons

Perhaps github is more user friendly and has more features

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Git is more modern and becoming de-facto standard for SC

Switched From

Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Price
Alessandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Perfect tool for Data Science

Reviewed on 21/09/2022

My experience has been great, I never had problems accessing or configuring the repos I've stored on it.

Pros

At my company we store all our project on GitLab, which provides a lot of interesting features for a Data Sciencist, like CI/CD, which is very simple to setup and use.

Cons

I don't like the last changes made to the UI. I find the website a bit overwhelming honestly. I would prefer a lighter version.

Simone
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very reliable git provider

Reviewed on 05/08/2022

Having the chance to try a different Git provider than the one we usually use at work, GitLab proved to be a robust and very reliable platform.

Pros

Very reliable and fast git provider. Never had a real issue with it.

Cons

Comparing to some of its competitors, integration with third parties is a bit less frequent.

Leighton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Solid Flavor of Dev/Ops Platform

Reviewed on 13/09/2022

GitLab is a solid albeit smaller contender against competing platforms such as GitHub and BitBucket. Much of which decides the better choice for your team will come down to pricing and personal preference, as the minute differences in features will not be the deciding difference for the majority of teams.

Pros

While not especially advantageous or lacking in contrast to its competitors, GitLab makes it easy to manage or even self-host dev/ops for your team. GitLab integrates a fully featured issue tracker and is arguably more intuitive than the so pervasive GitHub.

Cons

GitLab's lack of a native mobile app is a bit of a letdown, though certainly not a deal-breaker for the vast majority of use cases.

Adrián
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Software development is simplier than ever with GitLab!

Reviewed on 24/09/2022

I use GitLab for my open source projects and my programming training. Although I'm relatively new to the area, I find GitLab to be a very complete and dynamic platform to use, and the development community is the best tool out there. It makes it easier for me to manage my projects.

Pros

What I like most about GitLab is the community, where users from all over the world share doubts and questions and others answer them. This facilitates continuous improvement in programming. On the other hand, GitLab's own development tools, such as value stream reporting or testing tools, significantly improve the ability to code efficiently and correctly.

Cons

Free platform is lack of tools in comparision to paid ones. They could improve customer support, since sometimes they take time to answer.

Yurie Katri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A perfect place for program management

Reviewed on 01/10/2022

Safe to use as SaaS. Easy to build even on-premises, but the SaaS version can be used with peace of mind thanks to strong security measures. Obtaining ISO/IEC 27001: 2013 certification, can be used with greater peace of mind, making it easier to approve the internal introduction request. If you are confident in the security, you can operate free of charge by creating a local server. When creating the request form to send to the internal IT department when submitting the SaaS version, there were some unclear points about security management in GitLab, but GitLab support took the trouble to conduct a remote meeting and was able to resolve all doubts.

Pros

The source code can be managed anywhere as long as you are connected to the Internet. The editor also supports Once editing is finished, you can manage versions by connecting to the Internet and clicking, so you do not need to be connected to the Internet all the time. The source code editing software also supports this, so you can manage it with GUI button operation.

Cons

There is issue management, but there is no task management feature. Therefore, we are forced to handle GitLab + Redmine. If you have a task management feature, you can consolidate with this, and work efficiency will increase.

Piotr
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best git management tool on the market

Reviewed on 24/08/2022

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management tool I ever used. Everything that is needed by the user is already built-in. CI/CD is handled brilliantly and can be quickly set up without a lot of training before. The whole app is intuitive and easy to use (especially if a user has some experience with similar apps). Documentation is big and contains not only facts but also examples, which allows saving a lot of time during debugging or introducing new functionalities. GitLab is well known around the internet, so community support is also good. If a user has some problem, it is probably resolved inside documentation or in one of the web forums. The flexibility of GitLab is huge. It can be easily adjusted to a company's needs without any problems. Processes may be set up differently in various projects and integration between them is almost seamless.
On the other hand, the price per user is quite high, especially on better plans, so GitLab can quickly become expensive in bigger companies. The second disadvantage is that some less-known tools cannot be integrated with the app. However, the list is being extended and devs are listening to a community so the more some app integration is needed, the more likely it is.
In my opinion, GitLab is the best git management tool I ever used - particularly because of CI/CD. If you can afford the price, it is worth it!

Pros

A huge number of features.
Intuitive and easy to use.
Extensive documentation and good customer service.
Flexibility of customization.

Cons

It can become expensive, particularly if the company has many users.
Some less-known external tools cannot be integrated.

Pius
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Gitlab

Reviewed on 29/05/2022

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

Pros

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

Cons

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.
Arzu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use, comprehensive, open-source tool for project management

Reviewed on 23/04/2022

We have set up and customized GitLab on our own servers in order to manage a project where digital marketing, software, devops, human resources and many teams work together. This really relieved us of a great burden. Everyone's own project management area on GitLab was clear, besides, the issues and projects that they needed to work on were also very clear. We can follow many processes such as product development, project management, task tracking in a sustainable way. It also serves as a great archive for people who join the team later.

Pros

GitLab is an easy to use and versatile project management tool. As a team, we use it not only for software development projects, but also for the follow-up of our other projects. It is really great that it is customizable, you can simplify your interface for your teammates who cannot use complex applications. This offers you a more user-friendly product.

Cons

It's a little harder for people other than engineers to adapt. You shouldn't expect traditional drag-and-drop kanban boards. It's a bit of a technical product. But if we consider that the intended use of the product, this is really normal, not a big minus.

Alternatives Considered

Jira

Switched From

GitHub
Marc
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customizable management system for any project

Reviewed on 24/02/2022

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have experience in versioning processes. Especially for academic processes, in which small steps are important, versioning through GitLab is easy to integrate into technical work processes. Likewise the adaptability to own needs is extremely simple by the CI. Particularly when it comes to the area of machine learning, for example, the registry or the CI enables the integration and management of trained models or, through the integration of GPU servers, the training of these without having to use a new platform such as Google Colab.

Pros

GitLab is easy to use and offers a versatile range of applications. GitLab can be used not only for software development projects. Especially in the academic sector, institutions can use GitLab to persist the respective work steps and research data, data in general, and workflows. Version control is particularly helpful in this regard, as it allows each step of a work to be traced, and errors to be undone directly without having to do a great deal of extra work.
In addition, GitLab can be customized and the respective instances can be easily transferred to one's own infrastructure. The development team is also always open to new ideas and actually incorporates them.

GitLab is therefore not only suitable for software development, but for any form of project in which it is a matter of the step-by-step tracking of work steps.

Cons

GitLab can be quite overwhelming. It is particularly difficult for non-experts from the non-software sector to get to know the processes of GitLab, as GitLab is less focused on gamification aspects compared to GitHub. Therefore, a high level of preparatory work and expertise is required in GitLab. Likewise, GitLab is often very technical, which is understandable, but it would be quite conceivable that especially in the area of testing and CI, modular principles, like for websites, would be conceivable and desirable.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Compared to GitHub, GitLab is much more customizable and suitable for experts. Compared to Google Drive, the versioning principle is convincing. Google Drive as a pure data storage is insufficient for larger, more traceable projects.
Morgan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great hosted Git SCM solution

Reviewed on 18/02/2022

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

Pros

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

Cons

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful toolset that are available on premise!

Reviewed on 16/09/2021

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It allows small startup companies to create their own instance and manage gitlab CI deployment pipelines.

Pros

I am not constrained at all by a company like GitHub or Bitbucket. It allows my team to have faith that what we are working on - remains in house. For piece of mind - without using git native.

Cons

Difficult to setup for the uninitiated linux administrator. Administration and upgrades are also difficult to do.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

I needed to ensure that our repositories are private and held on premise.

Switched From

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

GitLab is totally free and can be hosted on premise.
Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best opensource tool for software engineering management

Reviewed on 26/05/2021

We're hosting all of our private code repositories on gitlab.com, using the issue tracker, merge requests. We also run our continuos builds and deploy directly to our Google Cloud Kubernetes Engine workloads.

Pros

It's opensource though provides a cloud based solution with a really good free tier. It allows integrating code repositories with issue tracking and continuos integration and continuos deployment

Cons

User experience could be largely improved. Searching and filters are a bit clunky from the UX point of view. Also bulk actions are only allowed at project level.

Alternatives Considered

Jira

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We wanted to have issue tracking, code repositories, merge requests and continuos integration/deployment all in the same tool.

Switched From

Trello and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

It was the best alternative for our budget, and it allowed us to use our own Google Cloud Platform account to run Continuos Integration/Deployment jobs
Corentin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Git Super powers

Reviewed on 25/01/2021

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Pros

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team.

What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Cons

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface.
Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Needed better CI/CD.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Free and open-source, easily host-able on premise.
Thiago
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for DevOps teams

Reviewed on 31/12/2020

Pros

GitLab has all the must-have features for complete development and deployment flow.
The easy-to-configure pipeline is a differential, mainly due to the possibility of installing the agent (GitLab runner) in our infrastructure.
Issue management and merge requests are excellent and do not fall short of your direct competitors.
I use the GitLab in the cloud (SaaS) and on-premises, and it supplies my DevOps needs and team collaboration on the code review process.

Cons

On bitbucket, it is possible to see in realtime when a coworker is reviewing the merge request (pull request). It would be great to see this feature on GitLab too. The Runner registration is a bit harder when using an automation like Ansible.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Azure DevOps Services

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

The gitlab pipeline feature.
Edward
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Git Awesome

Reviewed on 08/07/2020

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

Pros

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

Cons

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Alternatives Considered

Jira, Bitbucket, and Confluence

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.
Andrei
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great free alternative to GitHub if you need large repos and teams

Reviewed on 02/04/2020

GitLab helped us solve all of our backup and collaboration needs for our large file projects. While we do have on-site physical backups just in case, GitLab is great at keeping the core files safe. On the physical backup we put big assets and on GitLab mostly the code.

If it wasn't for GitLab we'd be using GitHub for some projects only as certain files surpass their limit.

Pros

The biggest pro for us at JeFawk Games (me and my freelancing friends, not employees as stated) was the fact that it allowed for 1GB of space for free in private repos! Since we're working on games, we really needed the space and the privacy. This was from before GitHub was acquired by Microsoft and gave away unlimited free repos.

Time forwarding a bit and GitHub is giving out free private repos of max 1GB with the option to use the Large File Storage thing, which in GitLab you don't need to bother with as you get it by default.

It includes DevOps and a lot of other features that frankly we don't make use of.

It's just the much bigger space by default and up to 3 collaborators. GitLab is great! Although it does have some cons....

Cons

One of the biggest problem with GitLab is that their website is a bit laggy. You can wait 1 to 4 seconds for some pages to load.
Another issue is that we actually use the GitHub Desktop application to handle GitLab repositories and the setup to connect the application to GitLab is kinda clunky, more like to allow GitLab to be grabbed as URL. Wouldn't wanna go through that again, hopefully they already streamlined it as last time I did it was about 2 years ago.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A discrete item in your toolkit

Reviewed on 10/03/2020

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had big performances issues, it was very slow. Even posting a simple issue was a pain. Those issues got fixed and it is now very fast. In case of maintenance or temporary issues, they have a very transparent way of proceeding and we always receive alerts and/or post mortems.

Pros

You just forget about Gitlab. As it provide a whole devops toolkit, it integrates discretely in your workflow. It doesn't require training, and if needed for advanced use, it got an extensive documentation as any open source tool should have. The UI makes it easy to use without thinking about it. What you don't understand first, you'll find an usage if needed on day.

The fact it got integrated CI/CD is incredible. I am very reluctant to Docker technologies and wouldn't beat myself to deal with them, but I really like them the way they are integrated in the CI/CD: it makes possible to test the applications in a very efficient and simple maneer and improve the overall quality and security of my products.

Cons

What I really don't like is that, if it is possible do deactivate some feature of a repository because you don't use them, there are some that overload the UI and you cannot remove them because Gitlab use it as a way to make you upgrade to the next plan.

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Code repositories and version tracking

Reviewed on 10/01/2020

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

Pros

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users.
You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches.
The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

Cons

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required.
The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab.
User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great platform to host your project!

Reviewed on 12/12/2019

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry.
However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

Pros

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab.
The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

Cons

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies.
Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments.
Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Better CI/CD

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Better CI/CD