554 reviews

GitLab

Complete DevOps lifecycle management

4.6 /5 (554 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
554 reviews
Corentin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Git Super powers

Reviewed on 25/01/2021

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Pros

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team.

What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Cons

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface.
Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ready to integrate different types of projects

Reviewed on 06/11/2020

We are very happy and pleased to use the tool.
Our ci-cd and approval / reviewer workflows are fully supported; this allows are agile practices taken to reality.

Pros

Great integration with git.
Always pushing new features to improve user overall experience.
Large set of integrations for different languages.
Large set of integrations for different tools for code quality, lint, code analysis, etc.
Pipeline allows almost any type of step for testing, building, deploying.
Great to have own registry.

Cons

API should be more powerful and package for most common languages as nodejs.
Registry navigator should be improved.
Members permission management could also be improved.

Justin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Made DevOps possible for my company

Reviewed on 16/02/2020

GitLab has enabled me to hit the ground running with DevOps. It's infinitely easier to use than a more traditional workflow comprised of various components.

It has enabled me - alone, unassisted, and with little free time - to benefit from things that I would never have been able to work with in my company's traditional software development workflow.

Our software engineers are somewhat resistant to change - especially because they went all-in for Mercurial even though the world is standardizing on Git. I hope to convince them of the merits of Git and GitLab over time.

Pros

When I talk about our company's "IT development," I'm really talking about my development since none of the others in IT are interested in coding. Our software engineers have a workflow comprised of countless services; for my projects, I wanted something cleaner, faster, better integrated, easier to use.

Installation is easy: install a single package, and boom, you're done. Administration is similarly easy.

GitLab's components are developed with each other in mind. Integrations aren't developed as an afterthought or left for community contributors; everything is done right out of the box.

GitLab CI is an absolute joy to work with. I've been able to put together CI/CD pipelines for my software projects - something our software engineers have never done using Jenkins.

Cons

I don't like that some of GitLab's best functionality, like static code analysis, is locked up in the highest-level price tier, which seems to be priced for the absolute largest of companies. Something like that isn't optional for smaller businesses, and reserving that functionality makes it *not* an end-to-end product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Git Service

Reviewed on 02/05/2019

Pros

GitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way.
Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.

Cons

GitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.

Matthew C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

An incredibly useful tool for version control and CI/CD

Reviewed on 16/09/2019

Having migrated a number of Subversion repositories to GitLab, its extended functionality compared to the more simplistic approach of SVN has undoubtedly saved a significant amount of time.

Pros

GitLab comes packed with a number of helpful facilities for managing continuous integration/deployment tasks. The option to self-host a GitLab instance is also appreciated.

Cons

Comes with something of a learning curve and can take a while to fully introduce non-technical users to its functionality.

Giovanni P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub is the complete tool you can find for version control in you team.

Reviewed on 13/02/2021

GitHub is a tool that helps you in your day to day and allows you to quickly advance in your work, it is very complete and you can find within it all kinds of things that can help you.
Being one of the most used software, you can find all kinds of help and guides on the internet to solve any problem that may arise, allowing you not to be left adrift with the errors that may arise about the tool.
Its graphical interface is very easy to use and you adapt quickly to its operation, it is very intuitive and you do not need further explanation to learn how to use the tool.

Pros

GitHub is a complete tool in every sense that will allow you to do your work in the most efficient and fast way, all the options it offers you to carry out your tasks and carry out an accurate documentation of the work that is being carried out will make your days of work are much easier and less stressful.
GitHub gives you very simple search options where only a fraction of the name of the object you are looking for will show you all the possible results within the repository, helping you locate the elements much more quickly and efficiently.
It also allows you to manage all kinds of permissions, so that not just anyone can delete, create or accept merge requests but only the people designated for it, allowing you better control of what happens all the time.
Its security is very high, making it a very safe product to store your company's code.

Cons

One of the things that can be said that puts this tool at a disadvantage is its cost, its cost of business implementation is somewhat high, making companies consider other more economical implementation options.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intuitive, simple and effective way to setup CI/CD through "pipeline as code" paradigm.

Reviewed on 06/04/2018

A free way to be effective and to go straight to your goal. Lot of work is saved by this tool with respect to other similar solutions. This software is stable, you can install it wherever and it will work. You can upgrade it whenever with no surprise. Very nice tool. Forrester recommendations are all deserved.

Pros

Very simple and effective. Setting up a pipeline is immediate. It is pretty documented and also newbie can approach a good result in short time. Issue and agile management of a project is a big plus and recent capabilities to monitor project performances are impressive.
It is powered by docker containers and kubernetes and this make isolation and a sort of orchestration possible and easy.
People can focus on their own objective rather than spending time understanding the tool.

Cons

It is based on a project centric approach, but here the project is a single piece of code. Orchestration and release automation for complex scenarios must be delegated to other professional software. Standardisation of projects is not obvious since a pipeline refer to a single project. Environments refer to a single instance of an application. They are great but they do not easily correspond to what an environment usually means: an aggregation of nodes and software instances connected to each other.

Muhammad syafiq H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Best Alternative

Reviewed on 09/07/2019

Pros

Besides the fact that it has unlimited private repositories on the free tier, it also gives you build minutes. Build minutes basically mean that you can tap on their CI/CD network of machines to run and test and even deploy your code. All for free!

GitHub can do that with external providers, but having it all in one platform is awesome. For those who are afraid of your code getting stolen or something when using an online platform, Gitlab also provides the ability to self-host. With the self-host option though, you have to configure the runners yourself -- not a big deal, just a small hassle.

Cons

The self-host option has a certain degree of complexity to it.

The gitlab.com version does not have too much traffic like that of GitHub.

Carlos B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Source Control Tool and Open Source

Reviewed on 08/01/2020

I used Gitlab to manage a complex code project for several months and I enjoyed the professional looking interface and all the tools to manage the code.

Pros

One of the best tools I wanted to experiment with more is the included CI and CD tools. Aside from that, I really like the fact that Gitlab is open source and I can run my own server to keep all important repositories private.

Cons

It was slightly more complicated to use than other tools such as Github for setting up but not in a major way that made it a bad choice for private projects.

Gareth N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great but with hiccups

Reviewed on 14/08/2019

Pros

It provides almost everything you'd expect when hosting your projects. The workflow from merge request to assigning reviewers is as easy as it gets. Being able to use Docker with our pipelines and creating runners makes deployments a breeze. The look and feel of the UI when compared to its competitors is also a major plus. Gitlab really makes it easy to dissect your ever changing code repositories, I'm glad it's one of the few services that make my job easier.

Cons

The only downside is the uptime with their services. It doesn't happen too often but always when you don't want it to, I think that's what causes the annoyance. When their systems are struggling, you'll have pipelines hanging or taking forever to complete. It's not ideal when you need stuff deployed ASAP.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

GitLab my code Lab on the go

Reviewed on 13/02/2021

so far awesome we keep using gitlab and didn't encounter any issues till yet, i doubt we will migrate to any other platform anytime soon.

Pros

we started using gitlab since it had CI/CD tools built in and we didn't need to setup third party CI/CD tools slashing our prjec time by big margin. GitLab is easy to use and configure the code collaboration is also top notch with every commit being logged to review incase someone messes up the code. Don't forget the issue tracking it's really fun to use and support markdown making it much more awesome. The community edition is really amazing with community support is marvelous.

Cons

The system requirement to run GitLab instance is really high we previously used Gitea and it was able to work perfectly on a small machine while it's impossible for gitlab well technically it's because of CI/CD tools but still it did impack the resource hungryness a tad bit higher.

Joseph P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best version control solution I have ever used.

Reviewed on 01/12/2018

I've been using GitLab for years as my project management and version control solution. Having this vast tool-set in one place has significantly cut down on the tedium of trying to manage project across multiple services, and resulted in a drastically more efficient workflow.

Pros

GitLab is incredibly rich with features, too many to list here, all of which are fully integrated . The level of control and specificity you have at every step of the process is unparalleled, from project planning and issue tracking to code review and documentation. On top of that, the open-source nature of GitLab makes it really difficult not to recommend.

Cons

Just in my personal experience, I've found that the onboarding process for new collaborators can be somewhat intimidating when it comes to GitLab.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

All in one repo management

Reviewed on 12/06/2020

It does what it's supposed to do and more. Wouldn't want to work without it anymore.

Pros

The ability to use merge requests on our repositories was a game changer for our code quality, making reviewing a lot easier.

Cons

Searching for merge requests you've opened yourself is a hassle. While it's intuitive to find those assigned to you, finding those you created is a lot harder and requires too many actions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 14/06/2019

Pros

Open Source, Self Hosted, fast development, feature rich.

Cons

The search engine could be a bit better but there's no much to point out.

Hung V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complete solution for source repository and CICD pipeline

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

We use Gitlab for both code repository and CICD pipeline in our project which written in Java, we create the master branch for production, dev main branch for lastest code and create a feature branch for every story. Our pipeline will run corresponded stage when have a new commit to feature branch or master branch.

Pros

Gitlab provides many useful features for source management from branch, tag, comparing branch, merge request. Merge quest workflow allow review, comment, conflict resolve or attachment is excellent of team collaboration. Gitlab CICD pipeline which is easy to create with friendly YML file and clear stage help to ensure code quality of every commit and it is easy to integrate with other DevOps tool like Sonar, Maven, Ant... to have full CICD lifecycle from compile, testing, package...

Cons

The UI performance of Gitlab is quite slow, it takes time to reflect actual pipeline progress in UI. The community is quite small so we hard to find solution for specifying issue on the internet.

Sanjeep L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitLab for company

Reviewed on 31/01/2021

GitLab make easy on project management but its Kanban Board. I track all progress of individual members task through Kanban board. After testing is done, Issue board is available for to fix bug. Overall GitLab is very perfect tool for project management. It would be more better if mentioned above cons are update.

Pros

GitLab became one of the prefect tools for project management. Some attractive parts of GitLab is listed below:
- User friendly with better UI/IX
- One of the best part of GitLab is we can assign different task to different members
- Kanban and Issue board (Most important features available)

Cons

Apart from mentioned above pros, it would have been more better listed points are improve on next update:
- Without tutorial difficult for beginner
- Some features are missing which is available at GitHub

Paúl H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great potential, but with unexpected behaviors sometime

Reviewed on 27/03/2019

They have an awesome and very open development team. They are really growing their company in all aspects. They look a little bit immature in some aspects, but I think they will become a very big name in the software development space.

Pros

The Gitlab team tries to offer a complete solution for a software development team. They are really nailing it in many aspects. I really like the DevOps features.

Cons

As they are constantly building features and making the system growth, things may change suddenly. Or maybe a feature that belongs to a plan, change to a more costly plan and you end up without being able to use that feature.
Another thing is that the payment options are restrictive. As a company, you have to pay for the complete team. Therefore, you can't have just part of your team in one plan and another part in a cheaper part or pay monthly. You have to make the complete money investment for your complete team at once.

Abinadi R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best tool for cross-functional teams

Reviewed on 18/09/2020

We used Git and this for our multiple teams working in sync for a highly effective team

Pros

Similar to its parent Github GitLab is simply great for cross-team collaboration. It allows multiple teams to work in sync and marinating the CI/CD methodology. A highly efficient DevOps team will find the ultimate tools in GitLab

Cons

Looking into additional features will be nice however in general the support is not that great. We are expecting hight support levels from a highly used tool. Dont get me wrong this is super tools it simply requires a little bit of support

Vincent D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitLab is the best self-hosted git platfotm

Reviewed on 30/09/2019

I use GitLab daily for work and I don't know how I could do without.
Once it is properly set up, it leverages all the pain of developing an application from coders.
You just have to code, everything else is taken care of for you, from keeping track of issues to deploying, its almost magical.

Pros

- It has tons of features that go beyond Git, such as CI/CD, Kubernetes integration, Environments and metrics, build artifacts, docker registry
- It manages the entire application life cycle, from creating a repository to deploying your code to production and monitoring too!

Cons

- It can be hard to configure, requires a good knowledge of the platflorm
- The UI can be improved on, even if in most cases it is more than enough

Christian K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Source Code Collaboration Tool

Reviewed on 17/04/2019

I use GitLab every day with my team and we use it for collaborative code reviews and total source code management. GitLab continuously updates and adds features and allows it's users to request features and comment using their own GitLab projects.

Pros

GitLab with it's ever-growing feature list is the best source code collaboration software I've found. It makes making updates to source code a breeze and allows real-time collaboration for teams of any size.

Cons

They update GitLab every month and sometimes the UI changes are too much.

Richard E.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software to manage repositories of computer projects

Reviewed on 07/05/2018

repository management, creation of different branches, version control of a project

Pros

I like this version control manager for software development projects, since they are centralized. A copy of the project is kept on a central server and the team members update these files according to the changes they make. , also its business version is very powerful, has more benefits in terms of project management

Cons

the web interface tends to be a bit annoying and slow, also its configuration is difficult for new users

Alicia A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Gitlab is a great tool for small private teams

Reviewed on 29/04/2019

Gitlab is a great tool for small private teams, and not as great for big or open source projects which tend to be released on more popular platforms.

Pros

Gitlab does not have a limit on private repositories, a big difference from Github.

The UX and UI is really good and does not compromise functionality regardless of the device you're using (has great responsive adaptation).

It has tools for management of the project that are seamlessly combined with the versioning part of the tool.

Another great advantage is that continuous delivery tools that are integrated within the solution.

Cons

Gitlab suffers from a lack of popularity, so most developers tend to use other repositories such as Github, this lack of a base works against them because most software releases are concentrated on the tools that have a bigger base.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Must have tool for GIT users

Reviewed on 07/12/2019

Team collaboration like code review, git integration and entire software development process is easy with this tool

Pros

It's very popular and flexible. Allows to many customisations and can integrate with other systems (webhooks and similar). Built-in continuous integration tools are very helpful as well

Cons

Version upgrades may cause troubles for users - e.g. page layouts can be totally different comparing to previous versions and switching to the new ones takes some time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great version control tool when security is important

Reviewed on 31/10/2019

Main git repository software for a team of 50+ developers.

Pros

You can self-host it, so you are in full control of security which is important for a serious business. Gitlab's team is constantly improving and making it better.

Cons

It lacks some features, and sometimes the menus are really confusing and hard to navigate. There have been some occasional crashes too when you need to restart your server to get it up again.

Suleyman K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitLab is best for the developers to manage their code online

Reviewed on 07/12/2020

Perfect and outstanding experience

Pros

Gitlab provide me the ease and access to manage all my projects codes online. I simply create a group and repository to add my team to it, all they do is push their code on daily basis. So my code is secure and I can check it online anytime I want to without asking them personally.

Cons

So far it is the best thing that I have ever used. It made my life hassle-free