108 reviews

Google Data Studio

Interactive dashboard reporting and data visualization tool

4.4 /5 (108 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
89%
recommended this app
108 reviews
Satyaswapna N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easiest way to Data Visualization

Reviewed on 16/10/2019

Looking at data on a day to day or weekly basis has become easier as looking at a graph is much easier than looking at numbers

Pros

The initial set-up is very easy
Easy to use templates
Very straight forward
New features coming in monthly
Can use calculated fields and items

Cons

There are some minor tweaks like adjusting data label position which isn't available
Can't use the studio with big datasets on Google sheet
Is slow when there are lot of responsive graphs

Js H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

BEST Data Visualization Tool

Reviewed on 13/07/2021

Data Studio is an incredible tool! It is intuitive to use and I prefer it to other data visualization software on the market.

Pros

Data Studio integrates seamlessly into the Google App Suite which happen to integrate with most platforms itself.

Cons

A lot of the data connection functionality comes from apps that have premium features that you have to pay for.

Timmy T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Build web dashboards and interfaces for internal or external use with professionalism and ease.

Reviewed on 19/04/2021

Making a dashboard for our team to use internally was so fun and intuitive, we developed a customer-facing dashboard that allows users to make exciting visualizations of their data. This has led to a broader "understanding," as well as more engagement in this project from users and developers alike.

Pros

I loved the fact that there are templates for interactive web page dashboards that help shortcut visualizations and common display formats for data. Other websites either lock you into a boring template or expect users/devs to reinvent the wheel. This allowed me to build momentum quickly.

Cons

I was not a fan of the additional charges for data connecters. Data from large social media sites or professional websites is often stuck behind a paywall, which is a bit aggravating.

Ben S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

User Friendly Data Dashboards

Reviewed on 14/01/2020

A big fan! It's missing a few features, and I've noticed a few bugs here and there. But all the bugs I've ran into have been manageable with easy workarounds. But this is a FREE platform and it have more key features than a majority of these paid data platforms.

Pros

Extremely user friendly. Setting up the dashboards was simple. You have control over almost every detail, including the layout and design. This is unlike many data platforms I've used in the past. ALMOST everything is totally customizable. This brings in all your Google/Youtube data automatically (including Google Sheets/docs). It also lets your bring in images, links, and other assets. You can change the data range filter easily for all metrics. The dashboard also is easily shareable to all team members and you can export the dashboard to a PDF.

Cons

The connectivity to other platforms is disappointing. In order to automatically bring in your social media data or data from other sources (such as digital advertising or 1st party ecommerce data) you need to purchase a "connector". However, there are ways around this if you export your data from your other sources and just put this in a Google Sheet and connect that sheet to your Google Data Studio.

Manoel F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive and Easy to Use

Reviewed on 28/02/2020

Pros

Allows data processing in any query format. It has integration with Google Drive.

Cons

It could have expanded compatibility functions.

Andres L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 05/04/2019

Evie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Where has this been all my life?

Reviewed on 01/09/2020

Pros

Love the ease of use. Connects to so many data options and makes your data shine.

Cons

It took a minute to get a template that I was happy with but other than that it is great.

Sejal S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Data Studio

Reviewed on 17/03/2021

Overall, it was a negative experience

Pros

I liked how this product was easy to use and navigate

Cons

I disliked how this product did not have a lot of new features and it did not allow me to complete the task I would have liked

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Just if you are married with google tools

Reviewed on 20/10/2020

Well internally if you already have google is a good tool. But if you want to merge it with other tools and other connections I would recommend other kind of BI tool

Pros

If you use and have the suit of google. you can create really quick and easy you dashboards. Also the performance is really good among their connections to Bigquery

Cons

Lack of metrics functionality and aggregations that you need to do from the query side . Also visual customization are really poor for graphs

Jeff P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Free dashboards!

Reviewed on 09/06/2020

I was able to get some basic dashboards set up quickly.

Pros

It's cool that I can connect to multiple data sources and create custom dashboards. Like the templates.

Cons

It's not always easy to get the data you need, at least for a new user. There is a steep learning curve early.

Moh A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Tool to showcase your reports

Reviewed on 01/07/2021

Pros

Google data studio help to create quick in-depth report for my clients. It help to import data directly from Google Analytics, Google Search console and gives me complete access to create report as per my need like including charts, graph, etc

Cons

Google Data studio is good, there is nothing I felt least lied features yet.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

You definitely get what you pay for and then some...

Reviewed on 06/01/2021

Pros

I think that the best thing about Google Data Studio is that it's free. It's not very robust, but it allows you to query GA data in addition to databases and share dashboards quite easily.

Cons

It has all sorts of quirks around connectivity and setting up data sources (especially that you have to set up one for each table in a database independently, although you use the same connection...) and it's quite easy to break things.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful, if a little flawed

Reviewed on 09/02/2021

We wanted to use Google Data Studio to consolidate data from multiple marketing channels (Facebook Ads, Native etc.) to show all in one place. The main issue we had was the lack of first party connection to Facebook

Pros

Google Data Studio is an extremely powerful platform. It allows you to combine multiple data sources into a single dashboard, and to display this data in a multitude of ways

Cons

One of the main issues we had with Google Data Studio was the lack of first party connectors to other data sources, meaning that you often need to pay for third party connectors.

Joost K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool! I hope more integrations follow soon

Reviewed on 29/07/2019

I'm using Google Data studio to keep track of international SEO performance. It helps us keep overview of the most important metrics. It goes beyond what you can get out of Analytics in this way.

Pros

This tool makes it very easy to connect and display data from multiple sources. Some of the main benefits of this very powerful software:
1. It's easy to setup dashboards, you don't need any experience.
2. You can connect data from multiple points - for example Google Analytics and Google Search console.
3. Styling your dashboards is easy and you have a lot of options in it.
4. There are many many options to visualize the data in your preferred way.

Cons

The only downside for me was that it does not integrate with many other projects yet. I would like it to combine with my CRM system.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Adds value

Reviewed on 09/02/2021

We use it regularly and get business value from it

Pros

Love the way that data is aggregated and presented in data studio. Clearly not as deep as Big Data tools like Tableau, but does add significant value with reports that you can build.

Cons

Not easy to set up all the reports and access all the data you want,

Oren M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not always the easiest

Reviewed on 24/06/2021

Pros

Easy to share with clients to show always most current results

Cons

Not always easy to create proper cross results

Kristain O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Data Studio

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Overall experience with Data Studios has been super positive

Pros

Overall I really like Data Studios. It's relatively easy to use and helps effectively visualize data. All of our clients love the reports that we are able to put together for them. It requires some up front work, but once that is done, it's fairly simple moving forward, providing real time data across multiple channels.

Cons

Some of the integrations are a bit hit or miss and it's hard to merge data together in an effective way. We run marketing campaigns across multiple channels and to pull a holistic number such as total CPA is a bit of a challenge.

Kim F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Studio Will Change Your Analytics Life

Reviewed on 23/11/2020

Pros

Google Data Aid Studio is the best tool I've ever stumbled across. It's everything you like about Google Analytics, made better. You can literally build your own dashboard and control it by date or other filters you choose - and you can use Google Analytics as your data source. Imagine being able to filter, sort and pivot just about any Google Analytics data point. It opens up a whole new way to look at your data. You can create datasets of your own design and then look at them in a myriad of ways (charts, graphs, tables). You can add notes, create sections. It's a really powerful tool.

Collaborating on reports with others is also rather easy and it's nice to be able to make real-time updates with teammates.

Cons

The one drawback is that it can get heavy and take some time for results to resolve onscreen if your report(s)/board(s) are very large.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data analytics tool in the cloud- a blessing for G-suite users

Reviewed on 07/02/2020

It is a good tool without much hassle or any installation required. Directly runs in cloud and gets your work done straight away! We use for some monthly dashboards and the usual one or two visualization requirements. Would certainly recommend for it's value for money benefit.

Pros

One of the most productive feature is the ability to link with Google sheets and its integration with the Google platform/products. The collaboration features of G-suite are also evident in Data studio. It is simple at the moment, but gets the work done for quick and small-medium projects.

Cons

The Geo-mapping is not great as compared to a tool like Tableau. The Data visualization is not completely customizable which leaves something to desire. You need a google account to work on it, so not for everyone.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Beginner Data Visualization Tool

Reviewed on 15/03/2020

Pros

Data Studio is a helpful data visualization tool that allows you to pipe in data from a number of data sources and display that information in a straight forward and clean manner. This tool has helped increase transparency and communication between me and my team.

Cons

Data Studio can sometimes be slow in presenting piped in data. The UI is also clunky and not very user friendly and support (outside of a forum) is nearly non-existant.

Dee O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for integrating with Google Analytics for client reporting!

Reviewed on 06/08/2019

Would definitely recommend for agencies! There's a lot more that Google Data Studio can do - we haven't scratched the surface yet!

Pros

Ability to create custom reports from Google Analytics data.
Ability to style/format reports as you wish - fonts/colours/graphics etc.

Cons

Can be tricky to pull in the right data at a first glance.

Arsalan J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Data visualization without having to code

Reviewed on 01/07/2020

Data Studio is an excellent choice for individuals who are comparatively new in the world of data analytics and visualization especially the ones that are not familiar with coding. The ability to create a beautiful dashboard without having to rely on coding skills is simply brilliant. And the cherry on top is, the tool's free. The tool definitely needs improvements when it comes to data filters and data source integrations. However, there's isn't much to complain about since they're not charging a single penny for the service.

Pros

- No coding expertise required.
- Really easy-to-use.
- Perfect for newbies entering in the world of data analytics and visualization.
- Free

Cons

- Limited analytical features.
- Limited customization options.
- More data source integrations required.

Natalie D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for Marketers, Hard to Learn

Reviewed on 15/11/2019

It is excellent to have a variety of quantifiable metrics for our website. It helps us make business decisions about projects.

Pros

Data Studio provides so many valuable metrics to a team that runs a website. We have a data studio report that is constantly updating. We had to integrate data studio in the back end of our site, but once we did that we were able to track which content does best on our site, which content gets the highest engagement, which content our users spend the most time with etc. It is so valuable.

Cons

There is a huge learning curve to this software. People on our team had to take classes in order to even get started with data studio.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Analytics Anywhere and Everywhere

Reviewed on 25/02/2020

AMAZING. Providing accurate, up to date information to the client has been beneficial for the company.

Pros

I absolutely love how much you can customize the dashboards and present the most crucial data to relay back to the customer. We use this for our Ads customers and can honestly say that we have had a lot of positive things come from the dashboard and analytics that can be provided.

Cons

Honestly, nothing. I am not an administrator so it's hard for me to know what could be done different with this; but I do know that our director loves using this.

Bart M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A great solution for non-essential dashboarding solutions

Reviewed on 21/09/2020

We loved using it for some reasons, we hated to leave (as we had to do a lot of work all over again). But we are happy we pushed through.

Pros

1) Simple to use
It is easy to use. Drag & drop, add texts, connect sources, ... It all works like a charm.

2) Free
It is free to use. Connect your account and you're good to go. The downside: you're on your own...

3) Visual freedom
As opposed to other solutions we (currently) use, Google offers by far more flexibility in terms of creating something that is visually exactly what you want.

Cons

1) What security?
We used google data studio to embed dashboards in our own SAAS solution. As embedding only works with 'open access' documents, it means that you open up your dashboard to the world (provided they know the URL). It is not the security we like.

2) Lack of roadmap impact & customer support
As one of the many free users, we have no impact on how the product evolves over time. Customer support is a matter of googling your way around and finding a community response rather than an official spokes persons' help.

3) Speed... Or the opposite rather: slooooowness
No matter how happy we are about Google's Cloud Platform solution, Data studio is sloooow.