94 reviews

Google Data Studio

Interactive dashboard reporting and data visualization tool

4.4 /5 (94 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
88%
recommended this app
94 reviews
Mallory R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So simple and easy to use compared to other data visualization softwares!

Reviewed on 13/12/2019

Overall it's made it much easier to build robust, flexible marketing dashboards and then share them with my team. It's also helped to extract data from Ad platforms at a level of granularity that wasn't available within the ad platform itself.

Pros

I love how easy it is to put the data points into different graphs and visualizations. The UI is typical of Google. Super intuitive and user-friendly and most aspects of the product behave exactly as a user would expect (which isn't the case in my experience for softwares like Tableau). Ease of use is by far what makes Google Data Studio stand out among the crowd.

Cons

Can be hard to integrate data with certain platforms if they aren't Google owned platforms. There's also minor functionality gaps around not having all of the relevant google ads dimensions and labels accessible within data studio.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful reporting tool in the right hands.

Reviewed on 13/10/2020

Seeing many data sources in a single view with multiple date ranges and comparisons.

Pros

I would recommend every business used this, from small to large. The ability to combine and view google analytics, google ads and search console data is fantastic and gives you great insights into your business performance. There are also lots of templates available online to get you started for no cost.

Cons

The customisation has to come from someone with a fair bit of knowledge of the product when sharing with others. In the majority of times people will have to only have a view of the report and they won't really be able to amend or see other data within it. It is also a little slow when doing lots of data and changing the views.

Virgil H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A viable option for business intelligence automation when your software budget is near zero

Reviewed on 04/02/2021

Overall, after coming to terms with the constraints of DS as a business intelligence automation tool we were a le to design great products for our teams that wouldn't have been possible otherwise. Being able to automate analysis because of the ubiquity of Google sheets connectors made this an incredible free option for a non profit organization.

Pros

It seems that every third party SaaS that collects data online has native synchronization support for Google sheets. And this is how Google Data Studio makes itself the best option for non profits and small businesses in need of automated business intelligence.

On top of the plug'n'play integration experience, data studio has a unique approach to interactive chart and dashboard design that lets you position elements as if you were working in Adobe Photoshop. You can add shapes, layer elements on top of each other, add text or objects anywhere. This means you can produce the most beautiful and intuitive dashboards and reports ever (or the least if you're more of a Picasso).

Cons

It really is the poor man's business intelligence automation tool. Some key setbacks for data scientists is that data studio can only do 1 type of join/blend (outter left) and when using blended data to create calculated fields it really feel more like art than science, and not always working out. There is also no way to create unions across all data sources or make a file directory a data source.

All this means that you really need to do a lot of data prep in Google sheets and find a way to do some automatic data blending in Google sheets as well in some cases. This will keep the complexity of your needs in Data Studio minimal, which seems to work best.

Andrew B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Great Free Alternative for Smaller Scale Data

Reviewed on 27/09/2019

Google Data Studio is great for what I use it for. I would not use it - nor recommend it - for large-scale data projects or projects that require large amounts of data processing. But, for basic dashboards and presentations, it works great.

Pros

Google Data Studio is an excellent (and free!) alternative to software like Power BI or Tableau when the datasets you are using are smaller in size and the analysis needed is more presentation-based than behind the scenes number crunching. It's a fast way to put together a visually appealing dashboard without a lot of the 'frills' of the bigger players like Power BI.

Cons

CSV import is limited to 100mb, which has been an issue in some of the datasets I have used (also why I noted Data Studio is for smaller datasets). This is a nit-picky one, but there is no word cloud functionality, which I really wish they would add.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Free BI Tool with a learning curve

Reviewed on 09/10/2019

It met me needs for a sales and marketing dashboard without having to spend hundreds of dollars.

Pros

It's free. It's Goolge so you know that it will evolve. It allows you to combined data sources for charts and graphs. One you understand how to use the tool it is fairly intuitive.

Cons

Lack of supporting materials or tutorials.

Lee G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

How Good it is

Reviewed on 06/02/2020

i really like it it is really easy to use and i love it and i dont really like how people try to use u for your money and try and scam you but other than that its really helpful

Pros

i really like it it is really easy to use and i love it

Cons

i dont really like how people try to use u for your money and try and scam you

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to use for a start, a bit harder to master for complex dashboards

Reviewed on 27/09/2020

It's quite simple to use for a start and it gives a nice result right away. However if you want to start building more complex dashboards, it can be extremely tricky to use.

I also like the fact that one can creates his own visualisation. To have this level of customisation is quite impressive.

Pros

Almost seamless integrations with BigQuery and Google Sheets. As with everything in the Google environment, if you use other tools from them, the integration is extremely easy. Overall it's very simple to create a simple dashboard that answers simple questions.

Cons

There seems to be some bugs for example when switching from two similar datasets (same dataset names, same field ids and same field types), the underlying graph definitions are somewhat altered (some graphs disappeared, for other the filter is gone, etc).

Nicolas V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Easy Dashboarding solution

Reviewed on 10/10/2019

Pros

Very easy to use and can collect data from a lot of sources with basic connectors.

Cons

No native connector to facebook, we need to extract data into Google Spreadsheet and then link the SS has a new data source

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best free reporting tool

Reviewed on 13/03/2019

Pros

The best part of it is that I no longer have to spend hours on making reports for our clients. You just make a template, create a data source and it's done. It's one of the best tools Google came up with in the last years.

It's very easy to use and extremely intuitive.

Cons

Could use a couple more integration (Facebook for exemple) but hey it's FREE and it's very very good.

Derek K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy data reporting for anyone.

Reviewed on 24/09/2020

Pros

Major pro is the quick and easy ability display data.
Love it for my sales team and reporting to other departments

Cons

Can be tricky to blend data and build formulas.

Aysem Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Recommended, useful and easy

Reviewed on 20/11/2020

I enjoy using Google Data Studio and suggested it to other startups. It's easy and useful.

Pros

An easy and quick analytics dashboard can be done using Google Data Studio. Templates are life savers.

Cons

Although it is easy to pick up on how to use it, the journey is not very smooth. If it weren't for templates, it wouldn't be an easy to use app.

Omar K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect product that only misses manual entries

Reviewed on 03/07/2020

Great experience

Pros

The look and feel of the reports plus how i can combine all of my google products in one place (analytics, search console and firebase)

Cons

Manual input is super hard like if i just want to have the same UI of a square and write in it a manual number its almost impossible

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great For Reports ... When It Works

Reviewed on 15/01/2021

If you are looking to make a report of basic queries pulled from Google Analytics Data, this is a great tool to make clean looking reports. If you are looking for more complex data insights, you will constantly have to verify numbers and may or may not be able to resolve the issue.

Pros

Google Data Studio is an easy way to create clean looking reports for my team. It allows you to pull data from multiple platforms, there's lots of customization and you can schedule the reports to send out as needed. The final product looks clean and professional.

Cons

I regularly experience issues with data not matching Google Analytics. When the data is correct the tool is great but I spend a lot of time resetting the same search criteria in Google Analytics, only to find out the numbers are different and that I can't use the report. The more complicated your queries are, the more you will dislike this tool.

Celeste D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Data studio review

Reviewed on 19/08/2020

Not bad. Needs minor updates.

Pros

Very accessible, options are clear and to the point.

Cons

It is hard to maneuver the editing tool

Alessio R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Not a Tableau alternative, but it’s getting there

Reviewed on 10/08/2019

Pros

Pricing (it’s free)
Native integration with Google Ads and Analytics
New features are being added very frequently
Good UX

Cons

Quite complicated to create your own functions
Weak templating
Can’t move files to Team Drives
Separation between data and visualization is confusing

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Bit of a Learning Curve - But Great Once It Gets Going

Reviewed on 23/12/2020

The fact that Google provides it at no additional cost and that it integrates with most digital platforms such as Facebook/Instagram is the reason we continue to use Data Studio.

Pros

Data Studio is an acquired taste for me. As with most other Google tools, there are way too many features and functionalities packed into this. This is both good and bad for new users as one can quickly get overwhelmed.

But once the reports are setup and all the metrics are tracking, the reports look beautiful and presenting results to a group or a team is a breeze.

Supermetrics is an important integration for Data Studio which one should keep in mind and try to utilise if you are handling mutliple Google Ads, Analytics and Facebook accounts.

Cons

If you do not change the data sources when copying a report, if you change it later, the original report will also get affected which became a cause for embarrassment for us at one time. So be mindful of that.
And be patient with yourself when working with data studio. It looks like quite the beast but it gets easier once you have a few report templates going - saves literally hours and hours of reporting time.

Yusuf W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Data Studio as a teacher

Reviewed on 14/04/2020

Pros

It's been a blast helping out students learn about data, Data studio helps make it easy to learn as well as teach

Cons

No cons, this product is amazing. Maybe having something along the lines of trying to increase the amount of instruction available to students would help.

James B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All the info in one place

Reviewed on 30/09/2019

went from manually tracking stats across different places to having it all in one centralised location.

Pros

Love being able to use different connectors to bring all of our data into one place - it makes monthly reporting a whole lot easier than it ever used to be

Cons

Finding the right connector can sometimes take time, as well as the ever-changing landscape of how different services report info, but patience is rewarded

Kyle K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Data Studio Visually Works

Reviewed on 17/04/2020

Pros

Connecting Data Studio to apps like Google Ads/Analytics and Search Console is pretty simple and incredibly helpful. It's useful to have a personalized area to see all the stats that are useful for our company and clients in just one spot.

Cons

Previous connections need to be reloaded sometimes. The data needs some manual fixing up time to time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good option

Reviewed on 09/07/2020

My experience with Data Studio has been good and satisfactory for my needs.

Pros

What I most like about Data Studio is how it is integrated with other ads e analytics software, making all the process easier.

Cons

The bad part about Data Studio is how often the software crashes and I have to stop all my work to fix it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

LOVE THIS!!!

Reviewed on 08/12/2019

Pros

I loved how easy Google's Data Studio was to use and how easy it was to view our client's data in one place.

Cons

I don't have enough experience to set up Data Studio myself, but I was able to use it within the company.

Thaddaeus H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not easy to visualize my data

Reviewed on 15/08/2019

It does the job but I would prefer that it included the speedometer graph. That is what I really wanted.

Pros

I like the way that I can take my data, visualize it and share it with my team members who seem to only be able to understand by looking at graphs. Plus it is included in my Google Suite.

Cons

I found it very hard to begin building my first data presentation. The format is not intuitive and the documentation is hard to find.

I am visualizing OT data and I wanted to build a pie graph but I still cannot figure out how to do it. Every time I try it only shows one selection out of three. I also wanted to include a speedometer (red/yellow/green) but that graph is not included.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data studio

Reviewed on 29/10/2019

Pros

I really like this software at most of the times this is best way to access our data in simple and convenient way computer

Cons

It is powered by Google so no one can hack the data easily

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Data Studio

Reviewed on 13/04/2020

Data studio has made life a little bit easier on all of us.

Pros

I love that is easy to use, it has great customization, and really easy share.

Cons

We are too new at this to have cons I would safety say.

Kimber S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I know this is probably the best data reporting tool to use, I just don't know how to use it.

Reviewed on 20/11/2020

Pros

You can plug in your data and google data studio will literally sort it and display it for you. this is great for easily and quickly reporting data without having to meticulously do everything manually.

Cons

It would be nice if Google put out like a small training course on how to use data studio if you're a newbie at it. Otherwise it's kind of really difficult to figure out.