373 reviews

ArcGIS

Mapping & analytics system for visualizing data by location

4.6 /5 (373 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
373 reviews
Venkatasivaram P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GIS and what are the benefits of ARCGIS-ESRI suite of Tools

Reviewed on 18/04/2019

Amazing

Worked for companies in India, USA, then back for Government clients in India, Oman, Dubai, europe and likewise.

All the best with your search for a good GIS software.

Pros

ESRI, Thank you

since 1980s, ESRI has been a terrific performer, in Geospatial, Geotechnical, Geology, Government, Utilities, Transportation and Logistics, IT enablement.

1. ESRI is a high-end solutions and capabilities provider, their software can handle all kinds of requirements in LBS, Spatial Statistics, Data mining with GIS, Market Research with GIS, Geodatabases and likewise.
2. Pros in Information Technology world are primarily ArcPy, GIS consulting solutions for IT companies, main competitors Hexgon, General electric and others like IDRSI, ERDAS, SICAD, Transcad, Open gis platforms like Quantum GIS are weak and not customer specific.
3. Return on Investment, ROI from ArcGIS, ArcMap, ArcCatalog, ArcToolbox, ArcLogistics and solutions is good. Customization is excellent, their data models and work is exemplary in GIS world.
4. Licensing for Govt, Utilities, others is pricy as one would expect, but what can one do, customer support is good. Licensing is a major con.
5. GIS from ESRI-America is the dream for the Geographers, Engineers and other geospatial professionals to work with. ESRI internships all around the world. Also, it is used by Planners, Urban etc.

Cons

Major Con:

1. ESRI is offering startups a free licensing for using it for GIS startups for one year. not enough.
2. Major con is license and training cost for young graduates around the world.

Israel jose A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

ArcGIS is a leading tool for managing, analyzing, creating and integrating geological/spatial...

Reviewed on 23/04/2018

Pros

Built using standards such as COM, XML, and SQL, ArcGIS can be easily integrated with the structure of the information system and data of any organization or individual. Given that GIS extends to new applications and new user communities, ArcGIS also solves the challenges of offering and receiving data and related GIS services to users around the world. The versatility and easy to use allows ArcGIS to be used in a variety of areas: from land cadastre, geodesy, cartography, geography, and telecommunications, to geology, ecology, management of water resources and subsoil, oil and gas industry, and even remote sensing. Its technology of Geodatabase allows you to effectively store heterogeneous data and easily use them in complex projects and systems. In the geodatabase, users can define rules and relationships within the repository that define the behavior of spatially interconnected geographic (or geological) objects and object classes and ensure data integrity. With the help of ArcGIS it is possible to prepare qualitative cartographic products with all necessary elements of marginal design. Also, you can quickly create a realistic virtual 3D scene based on spatial data, using digital terrain models. With a lot of possibilities for processing of both raster and vector data, and its strong functions for map algebra, editing, and spatial analysis, together with the latest data models and control make the ArcGIS family of software products ones of the leaders among GIS software.

Cons

I have been using ArcGIS for almost 10 years and I can testify that this software is difficult to study, a very complex program for a simple user, the program is only for those who take the professional level, so, to exploit the full potential of ArcGIS (for example processing of multispectral and hyperspectral images, geostatistical studies and so on) you need to dedicate time, endless hours of study. Other con that I see, is the high price taking into account the purchase of any additional modules, it is a very expensive program, but, once and again, the potential is almost limitless once you get to dominate all its functionalities.

Gabrielle A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My go to for anything spatial

Reviewed on 05/11/2018

It’s been great. I once compared the functionality of ArcGIS to QGIS in a certain talks I had - ArcGIS produced a more comprehensive outcome. I always choose ArcGIS in my research.

Pros

ArcGIS is one of the most frequently used softwares for GIS. Given this, it means that most people trained in GIS are able to use the software but communicate about its functions too. Arc has created a network of GIS users which in some regard, has formed its own language. I like this because when speaking to other users, they understand me and my actions on the software.

I like the endless capabilities that Arc offers. Using the software is highly beneificial to people like myself who are involved in natural science research. It’s a tool that never fails to produce some sort of value - even if it is only a map. I appreciate the product development and like that it can utilize multiple spatial datasets in a user friendly framework.

Cons

Learning how to use ArcGIS definitely takes its time. It’s endless capabilities make it somewhat complex and so the user has to know exactly what they are looking to do in Arc in order to achieve it. I know too many people who have no idea where to start with Arc it are apprehensive to use it because of its technicality. I guess this is not a bad thing should one be trained in the software, but it’s defintwly not user friendly to the layman. Other esri products are more suited and easier for laymen - such esri online products.

In my experience, I have had ArcMap freeze or shut down numerous times. These bugs seem to still get through and it is the worst feeling when one loses their progress on a project.

I also find the tools somewhat tedious at times and it can be frustrating to have to search the help or esri online panels for solutions. However, in most cases, these problems get solved because their is readily available information on each tool.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Can't Live Without It

Reviewed on 18/02/2019

Pros

Unparalled mapping features. Without a doubt if someone needs to create a map, I'll suggest ESRI. The platform allows analysis of data, different data projections, and gives the user a lot of freedom if they can write scripts. I'm just a regular, simple user who has built maps and analyzed spatial data. The tools that can be used for analysis are among the best and as far as I know, unavailable elsewhere. ESRI has truly built an empire in spatial analysis,

Cons

Over the years, ArcGIS has become much more intuitive to use. The availability of spatial data, free or not, has become huge, The biggest problems I have now are the size of the program -- it takes forever to load...well, maybe 5 minutes (it's networked). The other problem I have is in understanding how to do things. There is a Help file, but I've found Google search engines far more helpful. The good news? ESRI has been around so long and lots of people know it so well, answers to common questions can be easily found.

Rob C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ArcGIS

Reviewed on 13/09/2019

I use this software everyday for all of my spatial analysis needs.

Pros

I like the power this software provides for data and spatial analysis. The latest versions include the most popular data analysis python libraries.

Cons

The cost of this software is prohibitive for many organisations. There are free open source alternatives (e.g. QGIS) which offer many of the same features which may be more attractive to small organisations.

Eric D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly Functional Mapping Software

Reviewed on 11/09/2018

I use ArcGIS on a weekly basis as an urban planning consultant to graphically show and analyze data, including demographic trends, transportation modeling scenarios, employment trends, and basic area mapping. Without ArcGIS, my job would be much more difficult and it would be much harder to display spatial data for the deliverables we create.

Pros

The ability to do hardcore spatial data analysis relatively easily is a huge benefit. Being able to produce high quality maps is great for my work as an urban planner. The functionality is seemingly endless and as a avid user for the past 5 years, there are still aspects of GIS that I have yet to learn. Finally, the ability to export maps to other formats is very helpful from a graphic design standpoint and allows me to modify the maps in graphic focused software to further enhance the look.

Cons

This software is very advanced and can take a long time to learn. Casual users may have trouble learning how to use the software because of how complicated it is. The graphic outputs are not as visually appealing as they could be and additional work or rendering is needed to really make them stand out, which requires additional software.

Rafael M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best GIS for enviromental analysis

Reviewed on 20/02/2018

Analyze enviromental data in multiple scales and mak studies with precision and detail.

Pros

ArcGIS has a lot of tools to do enviromental analysis that increase the precision and details of this can of studies, you can analyze satellite images, manage spatyal data in shapefiles about vegetation, fire, crops, desertefication processes and so on. You can also use hydrology analysis to know the level of degration of a watershed, and manage 3D models for a better exposition of your investigation.

Cons

The price is the greatest limitation of ArcGIS, because the license is so expensive and every modul is sell separately, that is a big limitation for people who wants to use another moduls and only can use the basic one because of the price.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GIS Powerhouse but could use some updates

Reviewed on 12/02/2019

ArcGIS provides a suite of programs that create incredible map visuals and can integrate huge amounts of data or simple tables for different projects I work on.

Pros

ArcGIS is packed with tools for 2D and 3D, Raster and Vector, and small scall and large scale. It's tool set provide an incredible array of options to a trained user.

Cons

This software is very expensive and it's obvious ESRI is trying to make this a legacy product when it should be their biggest investment. It was a big disappointment that ESRI chose to only put python3 into ArcGIS Pro and left the ArcGIS suite alone. Once python2.7 becomes officially unsupported this program will be much less useful even after costing so much.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Use it for work everyday.

Reviewed on 11/03/2020

I have been using ArcGIS for over a decade now and they constantly are updating it to fit with modern technology, which is very helpful and progressive.

Pros

This software is required to use for my job as I am literally a GIS Analyst and this is the only software out there that is compatible with that. The software is very easy to use once learned and helps create maps and data for everyday life.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about this software. It is a pretty straightforward software once you learn how to use the tools etc.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ArcGIS Mapping Product Review

Reviewed on 19/12/2018

I use ArcGIS to create maps, solve spatial problems and to provide updates to spatial data.

Pros

The ability to create maps, perform spatial analysis and create and manage spatial data. The software has many functions that provide many uses for multiple purposes and provide me the tools needed to perform my job functions.

Cons

There are some bugs and in some cases when doing advanced analysis, certain features are broken. Also, when new updates are released, some functionality is removed and or replaced with different functionality.

Rafael B.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fascinating program, very useful to deal with problems that are distributed over large areas.

Reviewed on 09/03/2018

The ArcGIS Geostatistics tools can not be compared. They are not only functional, but educational.
I recently did my promotion job at the university. It dealt with the analysis of all trajectories of hurricanes in the Atlantic Ocean from 1851 to the present, and after defining a domain of general calculation, going to study a particular cell of the domain, which was of my interest.
Without this tool it would simply have been impossible, not only to load the data, but to do all the subsequent analyzes.

Pros

I particularly work a lot with hurricanes, which are phenomena that move through different time zones, which implies that they must necessarily be introduced in a georeferencing program, in geographic coordinates.
That would not be possible in programs such as autocad.
Similar situation applies to different meteorological variables.
The layer structure also makes it easier to appreciate the characteristics of the maps according to what is required, and to place labels or other characteristics for each level.

Cons

The interpolation functions and tools it offers could be improved. Undoubtedly, the more real data you have, the better, but the mathematical functions and interpolation methods that are currently available can be expanded and improved, and equally, the ones that are currently available could be explained in much more detail so that the user can know in more detail, what to expect when using one method or another.

Matt A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS Pro

Reviewed on 26/12/2018

Spatial analysis, presentation of results in jpeg format or published to online services to be used within an app. Complete package that is all tied together. No other GIS software package contains so much functionality.

Pros

Quality looking outputs without the need for additional software. Good integration with online services.

Cons

Very memory intensive, sometimes hangs with blue spinning 'working' cursor icon for indeterminate amount of time.

Vikram H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing tool with the right training and data sources

Reviewed on 18/07/2017

Learned about Spatial Analysis and how it affects the city building and planning process.

Pros

There is so much functionality built into different geoprocessing tools that you can customize your spatial analysis to complete basically any task and solve any spatial challenge. I like that you there is the opportunity to use scripts and tools that other users have built in the software and overcome challenges that may not be solved using the standard geoprocessing tools.

Cons

Due to the enormous amount of analysis capabilities, there is a steep learning curve that one must overcome to use the software to its fullest capability. If you're looking for something to do basic spatial analysis, this is likely not the tool you should use as it's expensive and has more functionality than the average person needs.

Jeremiah S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Only full features GIS Application Available Today

Reviewed on 29/10/2019

Used all throughout academics and now using in professional settings. Unavoidable in certain industries and the sole provider of enterprise GIS applications.

Pros

The features that are available in ArcGIS Pro and ArcMap with extensions and/or third-party additions

Cons

The cost. Mainly the yearly subscription model and the high cost of extensions such as spatial analyst toolkit is too high for small businesses.

Luke B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Proven to be the best software for our spatial management needs and more.

Reviewed on 07/02/2018

Able to provide accurate and aesthetically appealing maps that illustrates an analysis of data in a clever way. Being able to manipulate and query our data provides the information needed effectively.

Pros

The toolbox by far. However, the interface never freezes up and provides the means to work with large data-sets.

Cons

Lack of templates for map presentation and sometimes lack of customization in some areas of map set up.

Phil M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quality GIS software

Reviewed on 11/11/2018

Map production and geospatial data caputure and analytics all in one place. Scripting makes common tasks fast and repeatable.

Pros

Effective and effiecient software for when you just need the software to work. Many tools right out of the box.

Cons

User interface has never been the best; really disappointed that ArcPro went to the ribbon interface. This takes much of the user based preference away from the user.

Rachel K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great presentation of maps

Reviewed on 03/03/2020

Easy to use, and great for sharing information on projects in a visual format

Pros

Presents mapping a a usable format, being able to add features that are georeferenced and share with the project team. An easy way to share data

Cons

Newer versions have taken away some of the functions that I used a lot, and I have not been able to find an easy work-around

Mayowa L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS

Reviewed on 04/03/2020

Awesome software for spatial, and business analysis.

Pros

I am a grad student and I major in geographic information sciences and this software has been of great help to me.

Cons

I havnt found major issues with this software. Although sometimes it can be buggy but the company releases new updates from time to time.

Raisa M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Arcgis is a water resource engineer's must have

Reviewed on 16/09/2018

Pros

I love that this software is brilliantly created with built-in features and tools that bring every project (simple and complex) and vision to life and exceeds my personal expectations. As a water resource engineer, it has proved extremely helpful in my organisation in the planning of projects. It handles massive amounts of data and it can bring to life the most complex designs and layouts.

Cons

From my experience, Arcgis does not intergrate very well with other softwares like EPANET or Autocad and transferring or moving layouts, designs or maps to and from can prove problematic and difficult especially for a person without much experience for instance when you want to manipulate a water network layout further on hydraulic software like EPANET.
Arcgis software is also quite expensive .

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Tool for Sharing and Exploring Geospatial Data

Reviewed on 09/03/2021

ArcGIS is an powerful tool to have in my tool belt for mapping and geospatial data analysis. I have found the training resources and support available to be very valuable.

Pros

What I like most about ArcGIS is the range of function and the online support available through the ESRI website. There is a vast range of training videos and classes available with a subscription, and most include data for hands-on practice.

Cons

What I like least about ArcGIS is that there can be a steep learning curve to using the software. Not all of the commands are intuitive, however there are excellent resources available on the ESRI website.

Daniela M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Why choose ArcGis?

Reviewed on 18/01/2019

Pros

With this software you can use endless tools that can materialize the objective that you propose in your mind.

Cons

Version 10.2 is heavier than the previous ones and you need a good equipment, which does not tend to heat up, so you can easily run this program.

Morella G.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Arc Gis allowed the organization to which I belong, to give value to the geographical data we...

Reviewed on 30/05/2018

Because the geodatabase works in a DBMS mechanism (Database Management System), it greatly facilitated multi-user editing so that the same data could be accessed at the same time.
In addition, It was possible to store data of vector type, raster, CAD, tables, digital terrain models and networks, without the introduction of erroneous and / or incongruent data, as well as applying default values and domains to the fields of the entities according to the subtype to which they belong.

Pros

First of all Esri, has a long experience accumulated over 40 years in the market, allowing you to establish a solid and provide solutions to its users. It is worth mentioning the wide range of online data available to ARCGIS online.

Cons

At this point, I must refer to the constant updating of the software, which rebounds into costs for users and sometimes limits its funcionality.

John H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great program, tons of features.

Reviewed on 29/09/2017

Pros

The ease of use and functionality of the program. Able to create very smooth flowing maps with great textures.

Cons

Need to streamline accessibility of some features. Editing the legend can be tedious and time consuming.

Justin O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great for documenting utilities on our campus

Reviewed on 08/05/2018

Pros

The ArcGIS suite allows us to provide online access to maps of campus infrastructure - culinary lines, irrigation lines, electrical, steam tunnels, and so on. It provides easily accessible views of equipment that is generally located underground and allows us to respond quickly to issues like bluestake requests and even water main breaks.

Cons

The average user wont' be able to go into ArcGIS and create a high quality product right off the bat. You need training and experience.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ARCGIS

Reviewed on 30/08/2018

Developing GIS products for internal use of the company is the primary use of this software here. Plenty of help available online, which is good since many tasks are not trivial in this software.

Pros

The vast tools and packages available to perform all kinds of GIS tasks.

Cons

The complexity of use and the steep learning curve.