Splunk Enterprise Reviews

Splunk Enterprise

Machine data management and analytics

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(221)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support Software
4.3/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

221 Reviews

vikram
vikram
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Splunk for Log Monitoring

Reviewed on 28/02/2023

Splunk is best data monitoring and visualization tool. We can set alert for log and monitor log ....

Splunk is best data monitoring and visualization tool. We can set alert for log and monitor log . It provides different modes for searching Fast, Smart and verbose. By using Splunk we are getting all system log in one place .Splunk has capability to handle large and big size data. It has best GUI , one can easily adopt and do customization and based on requirments.

Pros

We are using Splunk for log monitoring . It is integrated with Kubernetes and pivot cloud via data bus. By Splunk we get Realtime log application. It provides best visualization of data generated by system. Splunk also provide option to filter data based on data range and time. We can configure email alert for specific issue. Splunk also provide ML model for data. Splunk use simple query to get data ,everyone can easily learn Splunk query.

Cons

I haven't found any issue yet the only problem with Splunk I have that log in Splunk is scattered . We need to build good query or better logging mechanism at application side.

Avinash
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Splunk - Onestop Log Management & Forensics

Reviewed on 17/04/2021

Overall i like the product but as the user base grows the logs grows too. This busts the limits of...

Overall i like the product but as the user base grows the logs grows too. This busts the limits of the licensing.
We need to keep on doing housekeeping to ensure that our license limits is not crossed.

Pros

The ablitity to configure and tweak the use cases. Building Intelligence into forensics. The AI feature is gud but needs more enhancements.

Cons

The log management needs to be efficient , If the auditing logs is enabled then a huge influx of logs are pumed into splunk but no meaningful meaning can be derived.

Alternatives Considered

FortiClient and Trellix Endpoint Security

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise

Splunk is a one whole package with features like AI & Forensics and also keeps you updated with the latest and newest threats..
Nav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Currently using this diagnostic tool for log analysis

Reviewed on 14/03/2018

Overall a decent product.

Overall a decent product.

Pros

- Ability to search logs across processes and services
- Ability to develop dashboards to Monitor critical metrics
- Ability to set up alerts based on threshold values

Cons

- Need to regex well in order to use the tool to its full ability
- Ability to extract values out of the log statements could be simpler
- Alerts usually end up being over alerting or false alerts.

kartik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Siem solution in market.

Reviewed on 04/10/2022

Overall experience is amazing, we are happy with this software as it can ingest any form of data...

Overall experience is amazing, we are happy with this software as it can ingest any form of data and generate alerts quite swiftly.

Pros

Easy to install agents on servers, it can parse any form of data easily, Splunk can detect anomalies quite easily and the UBEA feature is amazing.

Cons

The cost of this solution is high, and customer service is bad. Apart from that Splunk SPL language is difficult to learn.

Alternatives Considered

ArcSight

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise

Cause its to implement as compared to other siems.
Ariev
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Aneeded for the industry on the basic to the best role.

Reviewed on 21/08/2022

It's a great tool and used for many years to come.

It's a great tool and used for many years to come.

Pros

Real time use. The ingestion of data and more.

Cons

Nothing yet.. maybe performance at times.

Alternatives Considered

IBM Security QRadar

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise

Better for the industry and real time use. More expensive.
Divyang
Divyang
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Manipulate You Data

Reviewed on 28/09/2020

Splunk is widely used for manipulation of data and we encounter the use of this tool almostl twice...

Splunk is widely used for manipulation of data and we encounter the use of this tool almostl twice a week. Even though it costs much more but still we have not found any alternative that is able to offer all these functionalities.

Pros

Splunk is very easy to use due to high community support and many video tutorials available online for new users to learn.
Functionalities are robust and simple to use. Data retrieval and visualisation is nice and easy if you know the right querying process.
Machine Learning supports enhances performance for the cloud, especially. It collect wide variety of data and still it amaze you the way it retrievs it.

Cons

There are many tools available in market which are potential competitors of this tool and that too at reasonable pricing. Splunk offers more functionalities but costs you too much if you look at the work it does.
Complex queries may require large CPU usage and may even freeze or atleast slow down the system for a while. Need to be specific while querying the data.

Surabhi
Surabhi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the best monitoring solutions for different platform.

Reviewed on 29/11/2022

Pros

Best tracking and data analysis tool which help to monitor and manage the server and system component in very effective way. Real time Visualization helps to take the quick decision so that desired action can be taken to avoid failure.Best data collection in the forms of log and which helps to define the best set of automation jobs to fix the issue.

Cons

There are few components or observation like,1. most of the time observes the slowness in the performance.2. Sometime observe the delay in the issue or updated log reflection on the portal. 3. Need more storage to manage and maintain the lo g which impact organizational costing and budget.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Helps you predict IT problems

Reviewed on 23/07/2023

Splunk Enterprise's real-time monitoring keeps us ahead of potential problems. A must-have tool!

Splunk Enterprise's real-time monitoring keeps us ahead of potential problems. A must-have tool!

Pros

Splunk Enterprise is a great tool for security analytics, IT operations, and business intelligence. I especially like the way it can help me identify potential threats and improve our IT infrastructure.

Cons

The pricing for Splunk Enterprise may be out of reach for some small businesses.

Samuel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerhouse in data management and analysis

Reviewed on 02/06/2023

A complex but rewarding journey of data exploration and anomaly detection.

A complex but rewarding journey of data exploration and anomaly detection.

Pros

Powerful and versatile data mining tool with excellent integration capabilities.

Cons

Challenging initial setup and learning curve, particularly with query language and high cost.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

really true nice monitoring tool if its nice implemented

Reviewed on 20/10/2023

For me it is a very good experience. It is necessary to develop a good implementation of IT INC...

For me it is a very good experience. It is necessary to develop a good implementation of IT INC Management

Pros

It helped me enormously in my job as IT INC Management including detailed reports and alerting any necessary information.

Cons

It has a somewhat complex paring curve and there are no simple tutorials or parallel design of tutorials for new managers

Amit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best tool for Distributed logs data analysis

Reviewed on 15/04/2020

We have several micro-services deployed in production which require to lookup application access as...

We have several micro-services deployed in production which require to lookup application access as well as server logs and analyze data for their usage. We created several reports/charts for visualization. We use splunk as security logs tool to see the firewall traffic, tracing any vulnerable access, any database related crash ..etc.
It helps easily to find issue and fixed quickly by black listed in system.

Pros

Splunk Enterprise is best tool to analyze the data based on different visualization. It help us to lookup distributed logs for micro-services . It enables field based lookup. For complex logging, we can use search query using expression. We can create multiple reports/charts for visualization such as a pie or bar chart for our data. Best feature what i like , We can visualize our search results and share them with others using dashboard panels. If Already have a dashboard, we can add a new panel from a report, clone from another dashboard, or add a prebuilt panel. Fully customization available. Interfaces is very flexible. We export it in different formats, or refresh it to visualize the newest data. Online Support is available through different community.

Cons

Search query builder is fully based on technical. for Non technical users, its really difficult to lookup logs. Sometimes, error thrown by query builder is more difficult to understand. Deep Learning is required to use splunk for production data. For Large application installation, it need to manage more.

devaun
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Query your log statements for your production apps in REAL TIME to triage and monitor...

Reviewed on 02/02/2018

XRAY vision on your production instances. Every day we code our applications so that we will be...

XRAY vision on your production instances. Every day we code our applications so that we will be splunk friendly with our app log statements. For example "featureX=value" allows you to query for every customer that engaged with featureX.

Pros

Splunk allows us to see exactly what is going on in production! I work on commerce for a fortune 100 company, and we use Splunk to monitor our apps in real time. Splunk gives you the ability to perform queries like you would with SQL against your log statements in real time. You will learn that you can place strategic log statements in your code that allows you to identify situations in production and be proactive at solving them. For example, you can log your customer's session cookie ID, and track any given customer's activity on your website via your app logs. It gives you dials and charting capabilities to monitor even the slightest drops in customer activities due to flaws in code or slowing network calls.

Cons

PRICE. The software is so powerful, and they seem to leverage this in the pricing of the licenses.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great platform for data analysis and visualization

Reviewed on 02/02/2023

Splunk Enterprise is a great data analysis and visualization platform to show real time status with...

Splunk Enterprise is a great data analysis and visualization platform to show real time status with live dashboards.

Pros

Security Information and Event management, log analytics, custom dashboards and workspaces

Cons

Auto upgrade management and notifications for Add-ons. Leaning more towards config file based implementation instead of UI based implementation

Alternatives Considered

New Relic

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise

Product Features and pricing
Chetan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Splunk the best analytic tool

Reviewed on 05/10/2022

It gives best Return on Investment as analyzing the data and giving proper insights in form of...

It gives best Return on Investment as analyzing the data and giving proper insights in form of Dashboards and notifying with help of Alerts if any kind of threat running in infrastructure and apart from that Deployment and use is very easy.

Pros

There are lot of features which Splunk offers -
1) We can onboard data from any server, device or system using Universal Forwarder
2) Onboarded data are later stored in Indexers and searched further in Search Head for analyzing the internal logs
3) Using the data we can create customizable Dashboards and get proper insights of data and create Alerts to identify any kind of Threat or anomalies running in environment
4) Deployment is very easy on-prem servers
5) We can also use Hybrid Deployment on Cloud as well.

Cons

1) As it give large amount of features but licensing is too high
2) There are lot of other Open Source software which can be used as alternative of Splunk as Analytic tool because Splunk is paid one.

Mohammed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best SIEM

Reviewed on 15/11/2022

Great SIEM that beats the competition, we utilized it for various functions

Great SIEM that beats the competition, we utilized it for various functions

Pros

Splunk appsStrength and capabilitiesIntegration with most solutions

Cons

Resource utilizationLimited local partner support

Alternatives Considered

AlienVault OSSIM, IBM Security QRadar, ArcSight, and FortiSIEM

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise

Overall functionalities
mitchelle
mitchelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best tool for log collection and analysis.

Reviewed on 11/09/2022

Splunk enterprise has improved our IT security through collection of logs. It centralizes large...

Splunk enterprise has improved our IT security through collection of logs. It centralizes large amounts of log data and efficiently manages it. We use it for analyzing the collected logs and report on metrics found from the logs.

Pros

Through its robust log analysis and ability to collect data from different sources, we can easily perform analysis on various data and predict any future operational hazards. Splunk enterprise efficiently monitors our log activities and and gives results to any queries at faster speed than most SIEM tools.

Cons

The searches can be complex at times and the messages on query errors aren't always specific.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for log analysis

Reviewed on 28/07/2019

Splunk has been key in sever major issue root causes by analyzing logs and from that being able to...

Splunk has been key in sever major issue root causes by analyzing logs and from that being able to build reports and determine causes of issues. In addition being able to trend and look for the data in the many logs is very helpful.

Pros

We use this tool primarily as a repository for syslog messages for infrastructure. It allows us to quickly analyze the logs and patterns to determine issues based on patterns. In addition it alerts very well from text based trigger alerts. These features are very easy to use and dependable.

Cons

I do not have any cons for this software. Mainly as a user it does exactly what I need it to do with no overhead and confusing interfaces.

neha
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great log analysis software

Reviewed on 11/10/2017

Pros

Integrates with almost all the software seamlessly..where there is a software application that produces log, splunk can be easily integrated.
Gives very powerful insights into the logs
Alerts can be setup on the logs, and notifications sent out which is great again for managing the health of your application

Cons

The query language, though powerful, has a learning curve. Particularly as one goes towards complex queries. If it could be made closer to natural language, it would be so much smoother to learn. Hope that will happen sometime in future.

Rob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Splunk vs Humio and Devo

Reviewed on 12/03/2021

The APIs and plugin are great. the parsers are just fantastic. It can log anything and everything.

The APIs and plugin are great. the parsers are just fantastic. It can log anything and everything.

Pros

We have been using splunk for over 5 years now. nothing beats splunk in the market place. The only concern we have the pricing and the resource to support it. it's just too expensive

Cons

Too expensive and it's too hard to manage. You have to find a very qualified and very expensive resource to support it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Splunk is a lifesaver!

Reviewed on 07/01/2023

It’s been wonderful. I was able to take most of my forwarded lambdas and charts them to watch...

It’s been wonderful. I was able to take most of my forwarded lambdas and charts them to watch duration and throughput. Notifications and alerts let me know if things are out of whack. Such a relief to know Splunk is watching my back!

Pros

If you need real-time grokking into your infrastructure, look no further than Splunk. I love love love the dashboards. It’s easy to tell a story with your data, and the live search is so FAST!

Cons

SPL is a little hard to get used to, but once you get the hang of it, it’s not so bad. I recommend downloading their community edition for some great examples of queries and dashboards.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Efficiently manage and analyze data with Splunk Enterprise

Reviewed on 05/03/2023

Pros

Splunk Enterprise's versatility is highly valued by its users, as it is capable of analyzing and managing data from a variety of sources, including machine data, logs, and structured and unstructured data formats. This makes it a valuable tool for organizations with diverse data management needs. In addition, users appreciate the software's efficiency in processing and analyzing large volumes of data quickly, allowing them to make faster and more informed decisions. This is particularly important for organizations that need to respond to data in real-time, as Splunk Enterprise's speed and efficiency can help them stay ahead of the curve.

Cons

Splunk Enterprise to be complex and difficult to use, particularly for those who are not familiar with data analysis and management tools. The software has a range of features and capabilities, which can be overwhelming.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent product

Reviewed on 25/07/2020

I have worked with dozens of companies to implement Splunk. My experiences have bee overwhelming...

I have worked with dozens of companies to implement Splunk. My experiences have bee overwhelming positive.

Pros

When you need to store, correlate, and search large amounts of data, especially System Log data, there is no tool that even comes close to Splunk. It's power and flexibility is amazing.

Cons

Very expensive. Difficult to implement until all moving parts are understood. Steep learning curve for beginners.

Parth
Parth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Monitoring Tool Splunk

Reviewed on 04/12/2021

With Splunk anything identified with the application backend logs and observing, it's extremely...

With Splunk anything identified with the application backend logs and observing, it's extremely suitable to utilize, in light of which we can make different dashboards. For server Monitoring, Splunk logs are not exceptionally accommodating. It totally depends on log explanations, assuming articulation isn't organized in standard organization, and it gives mistaken outcomes.

Pros

Splunk Light is ideal for independent on-premise organization.
Augment endpoint logging.
Can find and store logs from a wide range of resources.
Customization of dashboards.
Making applications dependent on your requirements.

Cons

Complex generally design.
Long execution time.
The instrument needs to incorporate AI to comprehend the framework logs and alarming ought to be founded on the auto learning.

shaik
shaik
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best place to check large amount of the logs information.Every companies best tool.

Reviewed on 12/02/2018

make our business life easy

make our business life easy

Pros

The best thing about this software is i love its UI part and its dashboard where it provides the logs of all the enterprise application every business which has large amount of the transactions being held are required to maintain this tool and its logging and search frequency are very much loved and dash board has very colourful UI and easily understandable

Cons

There is no least about this software but we are looking for some more enhanced featured like optimisation and all

stephanie
stephanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

With Splunk Enterprise , we can rapidly detect and get rid of bottlenecks.

Reviewed on 02/11/2022

Splunk Enterprise is the basis of our SIEM. We use it for log correlation and analysis. It collect...

Splunk Enterprise is the basis of our SIEM. We use it for log correlation and analysis. It collect events from multiple sources for analysis. I love using Splunk enterprise. It is the best platform that we have for monitoring data and identifying issues in real time.

Pros

The tool can collect all sorts of data from diffuse sources and preform advanced analytics on it. It has powerful monitoring capabilities useful in threat identification and maintaining the health of our IT infrastructure. Splunk enterprise helps us to foresee, trends through machine learning which has been a crucial to making informed business decisions.

Cons

Training new users is tough, the learning curve is very steep and it gets overwhelming for them. The installation and configuration process is very long and needs a lot of time.