121 reviews

Splunk Enterprise

Machine data management and analytics

4.6 /5 (121 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.3
95% recommended this app
121 reviews
Divyang S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Manipulate You Data

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 28/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Splunk is widely used for manipulation of data and we encounter the use of this tool almostl twice a week. Even though it costs much more but still we have not found any alternative that is able to offer all these functionalities.

Pros

Splunk is very easy to use due to high community support and many video tutorials available online for new users to learn.
Functionalities are robust and simple to use. Data retrieval and visualisation is nice and easy if you know the right querying process.
Machine Learning supports enhances performance for the cloud, especially. It collect wide variety of data and still it amaze you the way it retrievs it.

Cons

There are many tools available in market which are potential competitors of this tool and that too at reasonable pricing. Splunk offers more functionalities but costs you too much if you look at the work it does.
Complex queries may require large CPU usage and may even freeze or atleast slow down the system for a while. Need to be specific while querying the data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Satish C.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Excellent tool for logs & data anlaysis

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 05/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

As a developer/operations team member i felt this tool is excellent to analyse any logs or texts

Pros

log analysis, text patterns, statistics and graphing

Cons

Too much of programming, not easy for laymans to write queries.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kalaiselvan K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Splunk review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it is a very good monitoring tool for an support team and developers for doing root cause analysis.

Pros

Splunk Visually represents the logs mainly from production servers in the web UI .

People who Usually has no access to logs in production servers, will access the logs through splunk UI with very simplified and friendly search query.

It has lot of features like you can query for particular date and time range with specific characters. The search engine is very fast which will bring the query response effectively.

we can access all types of logs including XML and JSON.

we can create a custom dashboard with custom query for each projects and can relatively trigger the email to the support team in case of any issues.

This tool is boon for production support team in any enterprise company.

Cons

Licensing cost is quite higher for enterprise usage.

Query response time will be slow when you are searching for relatively longer history(Eg. 3 months old data)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shashank V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Best Tool for Monitoring Purposes.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 15/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

As a user of Splunk, we generally used to monitor the log provided by the server clusters belonging to a tool called API Connect. As the logs are stored in Splunk, we tally the transaction count from API Connect tool and filter the log search in Splunk with a particular search query. We can download the logs of particular time and date of API Connect servers in case of transaction count issues. We create a dashboard for all the individual API's transaction count in terms of total transaction count of all API's. In this way, it makes our work easier to find out which API has the highest transaction count. We even use Splunk to know the state of the machine. Reports generated by the Splunk helps us to find out the API with the highest response time. In this way, Splunk makes our work a lot easier as it is very fast and highly secure.

Pros

1) Accepts multiple data formats like CSV, JSON, XML
2) Does the hard work for us i.e converting machine data to a human-readable format.
3) Can create customized alerts to serve our business purpose.
4) Searching on the based on queries is pretty simple.
5) We can create dashboards to analyze and visualize our search results.
6) Can export the log content to our Personal computers.
7) Setting up plugins and integrating with any tool that needs monitoring is pretty easy.
8) Technical support for the Splunk is very quick as they have a dedicated staff for that.

Cons

I did not find any flaws with this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Software is fantastic once you get it fed the data. Setup can be a bear.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 09/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Software saves a great deal of time tracking down errors and issues in the network. Was able to spot a security issue using the software we might never have even noticed otherwise.

Pros

Fast consolidation of disparate logs in an easy to search way for troubleshooting. I can find problems within my organization very quickly. Sales team was very responsive in getting me a trial license to estimate my needs.

Cons

Set up takes some time and planning. The Licensing scheme can be pretty expensive and until you've got it up and running it can be hard to estimate how much license you need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Biswajit M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

This is the tool every devops should have expertise on!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Made life easier for all SRE/DevOps oncall.

Pros

First of all you don't need to login to your servers. Just configure splunk forwarder on all of your server and have peace of mind. During outages you dont have to panic and just rely on Splunk and be sure that you will have your root cause visible in splunk.

Cons

Kernel huge page issues, Search head clustering, Index clusetering. These features are as good as costly too. For SHC and IC it does need all same config hosts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shaik A.
Company size: 201-500 Employees

One of the best place to check large amount of the logs information.Every companies best tool.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

make our business life easy

Pros

The best thing about this software is i love its UI part and its dashboard where it provides the logs of all the enterprise application every business which has large amount of the transactions being held are required to maintain this tool and its logging and search frequency are very much loved and dash board has very colourful UI and easily understandable

Cons

There is no least about this software but we are looking for some more enhanced featured like optimisation and all

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Shalinee S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Best thing for monitoring application

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 09/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

good log monitoring tool

Pros

We are using this tool for monitoring our services log. It is easy to monitor the data using this. For each service, you can configure which log file should be shown on the UI(web). On UI, it provides lot of features like finding pattern in logs, doing analysis and generating reports and much more.

Cons

Learning is slow. Initially, it takes time to understand the reports and pattern it finds out of the log. But it's worth learning it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chris L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Splunk, gold standard in log collection

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Many prebuilt log analysis modules.

Competitive advantage over DIY solutions.
Easy to setup and administer.

Cons

Your costs can be high in larger installs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

splunk usage

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

troubleshooting IT problems made it easier and faster

Cons

search speed can be slow sometimes based on your query

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Joe E.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Splunk Enterprise

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I'm continuously impressed by the quality of the software, and the depth of what it can accomplish. Worth every penny!

Pros

After going through the free online training I was able to get this product up and running to consume Linux audit logs. Writing SPL wasn't too difficult, at least for basic scenarios. The regular expression generator is especially helpful!

Cons

The configuration resides across many different levels (default, local, and then again within the apps). Having levels of configuration is a bit of a nightmare to manage.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

splunk enterprise security

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 13/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

overall splunk is the best tool it provides lt of system information, we have installed splunk on all the servers accross our environment

Pros

Integrating spunk with other tools it is one of the best feature which splunk has. we can pull logs by integrating with other tools.

Cons

Writing a query in splunk is difficult. it should customize the query for users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Gaurav Y.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

amazing tool to look at your application behaviour

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

best tool to monitor logs of your application

Pros

Main purpose of this tool for us is to monitor the logs of our application. And I can say, it is very good at this. Finding the stats, pattern out of log is very easy. You can run multiple queries job on a single application log. You can monitor job running on your logs like you can kill them, can stop particular job. It's support of sql like queries on logs is just amazing.

Cons

This is a great tool, there is no disadvantage of this product but just mention you need a bit of learning to use it's all the functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Many Featured Tool

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 25/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We first started using Splunk as a log analysis tool like many companies do but we're not getting into a number of other use cases based on how powerful and robust the tool can be for our business. They have a lot of good apps on their marketplace and the visualizations make information for less tech savvy users readily available.

Cons

Starting this tool up and really getting it working takes some time, research and resources just based on the vast number of solutions it can provide. Like other tools that we use, it requires us to have good focus during planning to make sure we're not trying to do too much and instead focus on a few use cases to start.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

James W.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Easy to use once set up

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ability to set up alerts and reports based on logs that come in from almost anywhere and anything in our network.

Cons

In can be a bit of a bear to get set up but that is the case with almost any enterprise level software like this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Pratik C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

User friendly

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Issue resolution

Pros

Best tool for application event trend analysis,
Effective report of logs,
Useful for new users , support analyst

Cons

To generate report need some automation.
Has to write query using parameters,
For end users it is difficult to configure.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Splunk is a fantastic SIEM

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 07/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Splunk has helped us see much deeper in to our data and find reoccurring patterns very easily

Pros

GREAT ability to scale
Good price
Easy to set up

Cons

Can give more information than you know what to do with
Learning curve

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rashmi ..
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

A must have tool for managing logs and monitoring the app behaviour

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Just amazing tool to manage your logs

Pros

I think it's great tool to see the logs of your application with advance query search. Splunk support lots stat mechanism, also you can start multiple stats jobs on your location. It is just fabulous thing.

Cons

I have been using this for last one and half year but can say a single negative point of this too.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bill C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

If you want SIEM, it's splunk and only splunk

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 26/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Great company, great company, amazing high price tag....

Pros

It dominates the industry in SIEM.... People would love to hate it... it's critical in terms of looking at your logs and seeing if something is not right and you have hackers or unwanted people on your system. It's the industry leader and has all the cool features.

Cons

The price.. it's expensive and you have vendor lock-in... All my clients hate it for the price, but love it for its features and leading R&D.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Charlie G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Powerful search tool, steep learning curve

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's ability to query massive data sets.

Cons

Fairly steep learning curve in regards to query syntax and options.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dominic R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The best log/data aggregation tool on the market, but it comes at a price

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- Hugh library of add-ons that have been pre-built by others saves you significant time
- Large community (and events like Splunk Live) to help and keep you engaged
- Refined interface compared to some of the free competitors

Cons

- You'll like the tool so much that you'll want to throw all kinds of data into it and the cost will grow substantially!
- Only pricing is by data volume, no options to pay by host, source, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shahab V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Reliable Application for Cybersecurity

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 04/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Splunk is an easy to navigate, search and monitor data.

Cons

Bad customer service. Was once locked out of my account and never got back in.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Splunk is a wealth of information.

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 27/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Splunk gathers a ton of information. It detects just about anything you want to know when it is configured.

Cons

Creating reports that will display the information you need is challenging and the output format could be improved upon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alex L.

Splunk Review

Reviewed on 05/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

We used Splunk as part of our compliance and delivery for email marketing. The tool itself requires some industry knowledge and a day or two of hands-on training, however, once you get the hang of it's pretty easy and very useful in order to dig into consumer/user data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Splunk is a great solution for SIEM and also for monitoring your infrastructure

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a way to monitor our internal environment and start to be more proactive with issues, so we started sending all of our logs to Splunk and we we able to get insights we did not know we needed. It is a great solution and they are constantly innovating.

Pros

Splunk makes it easy to search through various data including logs. In the past I have had to pour through logs in order to find the one lines among the 100 of thousands of lines. Splunk allows me to search through those logs in a matter of seconds vs the hours it used to take.

Cons

Most of enterprise setup is done through the command line. It would be nice to have cluster configuration (index creation) as part of the UI.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10