125 reviews

Splunk Enterprise

Machine data management and analytics

4.6 /5 (125 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
125 reviews
David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Offers more than you think

Reviewed on 07/02/2018

We've used the software to detect layer 7 attacks, unearth issues we didn't realize were happening and gives us end to end insight into our stack.

Pros

The system is highly intuitive to use. It is faster than other solutions I've used on the market and has a huge library of 3rd party plugins to get more from the system. It is easy to create scheduled searches, dashboards, reports etc. but there are a number of additional plugins (at an extra cost) to help with security, single pane of glass and metric collection.

Cons

It offers challenges for a decentralized working model. Where Splunk is centrally managed, it is easy to ensure that best practices are maintained. Where the system is opened up for an entire department to utilize and on-board their logs, it becomes more difficult. However, with some creative thinking and good process, this issue can be overcome.

Thomas Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Splunk an Enterprise Business intelligent user tool

Reviewed on 18/02/2021

Is a robust and intelligent management tool that enables everyone with user computer knowledge to navigate in real-time, consolidate vast data into a visualized report of dashboard features , reliable and web based, no major equipment required for setup, user need a smartphone or compute to access the platform through the web, you can navigate the system as long as you have computer knowledge without any training required(user friendly) .

Pros

It an intelligent business tool that provided me an opportunity to customize and build report from large volume of data from different departments within the 13 Africa countries in telecommunication sectors. The platform allows data to be consolidated accordingly to the organization need and produces visualized reports of dashboard features. I also noted that the system can analyst unstructured large volume of data speedily and is reliable and web based allowing for user flexible accessible from any part of the world if you have internet. The systems have been reliable and secured from the time (2 years) I started using it without any system intermittent, system errors and cyber-attack.

Cons

The system is built and use-able with structured and unstructured organization though the price in foreign currency could hamper small and medium organization to use it especially in most Africa country where the local currency has depreciated against the major trading foreign currency.so the Forex pricing is a challenge.
The navigation of the platform will require minor training though if the user is computer proficient, they would management with minor challenge and interpretation of the data. So, first time user it can be difficult to use it
It will depend on internet for access and internet tend to be pricey in most African country and therefore could increase the business cost for small and medium enterprise. It can increase business cost if not fully used

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A tool which is one for all

Reviewed on 16/10/2020

Splunk has made me realize the ability to correlate different data from different realms altogether and generate valuable insights.

Pros

The ability to use this software for security operations, data analysis, creating dashboards, generating tickets and everything else

Cons

Splunk uses its own SPL, which is not very easy to learn. However, there are lots of documentation that Splunk provides to its customers. There is paid training available which is useful for beginners to learn.

Janne M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very advanced log storage and analyzer

Reviewed on 26/03/2021

For the log retention and analyzing purpose, it's the tool #1 in the market right now.

Pros

Splunk is first of all reliable from stability and information security perspective, which is a must. Second, it has one of the most advanced feature sets in analyzing, manipulation, anomaly detecting and processing log data residing in its database. Even AI/ML options are on the table, and it's possible to start implementing AI/ML with Splunk immediately.

Cons

For certain types of use, licensing structure can hit you in your face relatively quickly.

Devaun F.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Query your log statements for your production apps in REAL TIME to triage and monitor...

Reviewed on 02/02/2018

XRAY vision on your production instances. Every day we code our applications so that we will be splunk friendly with our app log statements. For example "featureX=value" allows you to query for every customer that engaged with featureX.

Pros

Splunk allows us to see exactly what is going on in production! I work on commerce for a fortune 100 company, and we use Splunk to monitor our apps in real time. Splunk gives you the ability to perform queries like you would with SQL against your log statements in real time. You will learn that you can place strategic log statements in your code that allows you to identify situations in production and be proactive at solving them. For example, you can log your customer's session cookie ID, and track any given customer's activity on your website via your app logs. It gives you dials and charting capabilities to monitor even the slightest drops in customer activities due to flaws in code or slowing network calls.

Cons

PRICE. The software is so powerful, and they seem to leverage this in the pricing of the licenses.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good enterprise system for security SIEM, monitoring and data aggregation and visualizations.

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

I've used Splunk for over 8 years and it is my go-to SIEM. There are tons of apps and integrations. Good for correlation and leveraging the Common Information Model will make your life much happier.

Pros

The power of it. It's a very good tool that does amazing things. Nothing comes close to it. We used it for full view of data, full transaction. Security appliance consolidation.

Cons

There is a learning curve and a new language you have to learn, but it's intuitive and you can pick it up pretty quickly.

Joevanne V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very cool but pricey

Reviewed on 08/08/2017

Pros

Splunk integrates with many different solutions. They also have pre written apps that contain pre written dashboards and other features. It can inherit logs from many products with just several clicks.

Cons

Pricing model is outdated and can get really pricey really fast. It's very simple to over your daily license.

Carlo T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Splunk Review

Reviewed on 04/06/2019

Pros

The software includes various configuration possibilities to organize and aggregate the logs of different systems. Very useful tool for monitoring IT infrastructure activities.

Cons

At the moment we have found no negative aspects.

Gaurav M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

great insights from system logs

Reviewed on 04/12/2019

We are using extensively to monitor production jobs and production server. We have setup splunk Jobs to continuously monitor space , files on our server. Automatic emails are triggered if space is not available as expected. This helps to take proactive action and avoid production failures. Splunk is also used to monitor files received from various sources. Our jobs requires multiple files to run the process. We have setup splunk jobs to monitor the files and if any file is not available we are alerted using emails

Pros

Various insights are derived from otherwise neglected system and process logs. Library of functions is readily available to read the logs , perform string operations and scan the file.
Information can be represented using numerous charts , bars and graphs. Very useful in production monitoring and alerting using email option

Cons

I feel debugging is difficult. drop down or drag and drop functions should be made available because it's difficult to keep track and remember syntax of functions and it's usage.

Harmandeep singh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Perfect for huge infrastructure

Reviewed on 07/11/2017

Pros

1.Ease of use
2.support ad-hoc query and then analytic.
3. defining field extractor is simple and you can use it to search again.
4. It's a powerful ecosystem

Cons

1., it's slow and maybe make system unresponsive when you search data over long time range, or large amounts of data
2. there are too much CPU cost when index too much items on Windows machine.
3. price becomes high as you scale.

James C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wonderful Log Server Software

Reviewed on 08/05/2018

Pros

This software puts all your logs and events in one centralized location making managing logs easier to manage.

Cons

When they first started they had awesome plans and options but it has changed since the beginning. Still great

Abhay T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Splunk Review

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

We have good experience. we are using this tool to forward the logs of servers.

Pros

A log forwarder tool which you can use free upto 500MB. No Development work required to provide value.
You can create your own queries and event based alerts.

Cons

The software is very powerful but to use those feature you will have to buy the license then you can get all those feature that it has.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So easy to find my data

Reviewed on 23/05/2019

It makes troubleshooting network issues so much easier. In a matter of seconds you can find all of the data you need to diagnose most of your network issues.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use and to find my data. The search engine is so fast and intuitive.

Cons

This is a powerful tool and it can prepare very detailed graphs and charts. The con is that it takes more training and time to perfect your skills to create these graphs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Splunk is the go to SIEM software

Reviewed on 23/07/2019

Splunk is our key resource and first line of defense for our security team when looking at our intrusions against the organization.

Pros

The amount of information and data that you can organize with splunk is it's best feature.

Cons

It will take some time getting used to how create dashboards and reports so that can pull the relevant data out of splunk.

Edd P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy way to review multiple log files and check for errors

Reviewed on 05/07/2018

Better visibility of application errors

Pros

Very useful for combining log files from multiple sources and setting up predefined reports to check for errors.

Cons

Free version of splunk light doesn't allow automatic notification by email of log errors. However as I have paid nothing I can't complain too much!

Guillermo R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great SIEM tool

Reviewed on 21/11/2019

good, still learning. It would have been great if training from splunk were cheaper.

Pros

Very easy GUI that can be familiar just in a few days, Gathering data in simple stepts makes everything much easier.

Cons

The docs about the product sometimes are confusing, and to learn more on google is harder because there is not much material like for example cisco, palo alto, etc.

Ryan S.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Awesome Syslog Solution

Reviewed on 04/05/2018

Huge Splunk Fan!

Pros

I really like the overall feel of Splunk, it integrates with many other products very well. Even has independent add-ons for Cisco and Microsoft Products.

Cons

Pricing of Spunk can get very expensive. I have experience with the windows version of splunk and sometimes it can be difficult to troubleshoot.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best of class SIEM / Data Analytics

Reviewed on 14/06/2019

Pros

I really liked how easy splunk made it to search vast amounts of data in a short amount of time. The dashboards were pretty useful as well.

Cons

Splunk is very expensive to deploy on premise. This can be a limiting factor for customers that do not want to host sensitive data in the cloud.

Rohit V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great product with an intuitive user interface

Reviewed on 03/06/2015

Pros

The product installation is simple and easy to understand. The configuration of this product for a multi-node cluster is intuitive and easy to learn. Automatic suggestions popup while filtering over indexed data.

Cons

In case of analytics, there should be at least 2000 entries.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Extremely Powerful Log Aggregator

Reviewed on 30/10/2019

We aggregated security logs and transnational data into Splunk to combat fraud to much success. Highly recommend trying it out.

Pros

The best part about Splunk is that it is incredibly flexible. Any type of log can be aggregated and its awesome to build correlation. Any thing you want to know from your data can be found with Splunk.

Cons

The ability of Splunk comes at a cost, literally. There is a free edition but if you are using it in an enterprise environment, especially if there is more than one department uses it, it will be pricey. However given the functionality its still a good value for many enterprises.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Historical data search

Reviewed on 23/05/2019

I use Splunk at work place to track log files and investigate Production issues.

Pros

I like the speed and ease to search contents.

Cons

i think cost is a factor for some organizations

Anindita B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good analytical tool

Reviewed on 22/02/2019

Pros

It gives us proper logging data for any product and also the fact that it shows data on a timely basis. Also can import data.

Cons

Nothing to be specific, it can be made for interactive maybe

Juan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Another powerful option for BI

Reviewed on 19/10/2016

In general I think is a powerful tool but a little confusing to use at the beginning although I really enjoyed the fact that I was able to installed it in Linux, not every BI tool that I've tried will let you do that.

Pros

The charts and visualizations that you can create in general have a good look and it has the minimum functionalities expected as a user (export, filtering, search, etc), I spent some time trying to understand the interface and functionalities but once I started to load some data and use the search I was able to see the capabilities of the product.

Cons

I did not like the limitations of the free version like the size of the data you can upload but I guess is still fair to be able to use it for free.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Splunk is a great solution for SIEM and also for monitoring your infrastructure

Reviewed on 03/03/2020

We needed a way to monitor our internal environment and start to be more proactive with issues, so we started sending all of our logs to Splunk and we we able to get insights we did not know we needed. It is a great solution and they are constantly innovating.

Pros

Splunk makes it easy to search through various data including logs. In the past I have had to pour through logs in order to find the one lines among the 100 of thousands of lines. Splunk allows me to search through those logs in a matter of seconds vs the hours it used to take.

Cons

Most of enterprise setup is done through the command line. It would be nice to have cluster configuration (index creation) as part of the UI.

Frank M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Doing setup redundant servers without Splunk

Reviewed on 20/12/2020

Saved my a$$ many times. In a multi-server environment, if you don't have Splunk or something like it, it will be a nightmare to try and coordinate the various log files involved.

Pros

Several of our applications are distributed across multiple systems. It is the same software running on each server but doing the same job for different users. Each server would generate its own log files. When things went wrong, we used Splunk to be able to see what was going on on each server. Click a few buttons and you get two logs from two different servers listed together coordinated by time. But that leads you to discover that the issue came from a separate upstream or downstream server, then bring in those logs too . . . all coordinated by time. Don't get me wrong, the IT guys love these tools for their own enterprise reasons, but as a server stack developer, this was a resource I used OFTEN.

Cons

I never fully grokked their SQL like language. I could do basic things daily without issue. However, I often had to hit the documentation to do anything more than a simple "find this" query.