Microsoft SQL Server Reviews

Microsoft SQL Server

4.6 (1,935)
Relational database management system for data analytics

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(1,935)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support Software
4.3/5
Sort by

1935 Reviews

Filipe
Filipe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SQL Server review

Reviewed on 10/03/2020

SQL server is great, because i can use the same language same application, and for small customers...

SQL server is great, because i can use the same language same application, and for small customers it uses free option, and only for best performnace or bigger data need to pay for it
Can use it locally on on cloud

Pros

SQL Server is a great system to develop databases with great functionalities like jobs, procedures, functions ans so one

Cons

For me the only think not so good is performance for bigger batabases, but for me between 10GiB and 15GiB works fine

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

SQL server is lot less expensive and have a free option for small aplications or for small customers

Switched From

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

SQL server is lot less expensive and have a free option for small aplications or for small customers
Imi
Imi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SQL is getting better as it grows older

Reviewed on 21/11/2019

SQL Server centralized my data and allows my staff to "believe" that they are working in Excel, It...

SQL Server centralized my data and allows my staff to "believe" that they are working in Excel, It is super fast for loading data from the server, and allow large data set that will normally take hours, or even crash the Excel spreadsheet to load without any issue.
When I am ready for a web app.. SQL server is easy as piece to develop a simple CRUD application and push live.
It seem to connect to every thing - from MS Word Mail merge, MS Excel, MS Access and of course for development environment such as Visual Studios.
One Database ( Centralized) and many presentation modes for the end users. I love it!

Pros

MS SQL Server is certainly a competently relational database engine, with reporting service and now R.
Easy to install for small onpremise application.
Easy to administer, easy to backup, easy because it is a Microsoft application.
It is so easy that most of the application today I work on seem to be pulling data from SQL into Excel and or Power BI.
You can start from free version and expand as time goes by.
The management studio take the pain our of scripting, and the online support community most likely have your questions answered with T-SQL scripts for copy and pasting.
If you deciding on an option for an Relational Database system - you should look at this as your most productive option. It allows you to focus on the problem by making the technology easy.

Cons

The new the version, the more memory intensive this management studio will become.
Microsoft need to create some more easy to use tool for change control and change tracking.
Backward compatibility - if you used a higher version during development, then it become a pain to use a lower version during production environment.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL and Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Ease of use, Easy to learn, easy to teach easy to integrate with well know tools.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

Cost and community of supporters, access to information on the open internet . Available of training.
Sergio R
Sergio R
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good RDBMS

Reviewed on 25/06/2022

Pros

Very easy to implement and integrate with other systems.

Cons

MS SQL Server consumes almost all compute resourses

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Cost

Switched From

Oracle Database
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SQL Server Management Studio 18

Reviewed on 07/11/2023

Overall, a great experience over the last 13 years of use. Easy to set up databases, query them and...

Overall, a great experience over the last 13 years of use. Easy to set up databases, query them and performance is great.

Pros

The interface is very easy to use and once you have connected up, the expandable and collapsible views of your databases, tables, stored procs, views, sql jobs etc and easily viewable and excellent to navigate through. You can customise the icon and buttons to suit your setup preferences. The performance of SSMS has dramtically increased over the past few years and the features and functions they offer are great. For someone who has been in support and not a full fledged developer, this is an excellent enterprise tool to manage your data and connect it with .NET applications.

Cons

Nothing as of yet. I have found it to meet my needs each and every time.

Carlos David
Carlos David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft RDBMS Solution

Reviewed on 29/08/2022

Whenever I need to rely on a robust DBMS for any of my platforms, provided that my clients have the...

Whenever I need to rely on a robust DBMS for any of my platforms, provided that my clients have the financial muscle to support it, I always recommend going with SQL Server. So, in that sense, I can say that my overall experience is remarkable all over the years I have been deploying solutions backed up by this Database System.

Pros

Among the most interesting features of Microsoft SQL Server we can disclose the following:
Robust & Secure System
Easy to Deploy
Performance+
Integration with Public Cloud such as Microsoft Azure

Cons

As many of Microsoft Premium products, SQL Server license is really expensive.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL and MySQL

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Microsoft SQL Server performed better with the key products from our company The cost of infrastructure to deploy it was about the same.

Switched From

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

I believe it is more reliable as it is backed up by a Tech giant such as Microsoft.
Jonathan Alexander
Jonathan Alexander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A robust database engine with high information security standards.

Reviewed on 25/05/2022

At the moment we have no negative features to add to the product

At the moment we have no negative features to add to the product

Pros

How safe this database engine can be, its integration with other technological tools, say, programming languages, infrastructure, datawarehouse and more

Cons

A bit the price, since the enterprise license is a bit expensive

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database and IBM Db2

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

We needed a more robust database engine due to the growth of the company and the processes that are currently being handled, plus the integrations with different platforms.

Switched From

PostgreSQL and MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

We needed a more robust database engine due to the growth of the company and the processes that are currently being handled, plus the integrations with different platforms.
Maheshvarideen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Alternative Medicine
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft

Reviewed on 06/07/2023

I am using it only but many people are doing it and its result is very good.

I am using it only but many people are doing it and its result is very good.

Pros

it is very good software it gives very good server i am using it for almost two years

Cons

I have run it for two years its complete result is very good

Alternatives Considered

Google Sheets

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

That's why I did it and found out that very good software works

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

Because this software works very well, it has gone far ahead of all others.
Giorgi
Giorgi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great database system for any purpose

Reviewed on 25/07/2019

We use SQL Server for a data warehouse project in a large bank. It stores thousands of tables and...

We use SQL Server for a data warehouse project in a large bank. It stores thousands of tables and terabytes of data, so it's mandatory for DBMS to run smoothly. SQL server does its job extremely well.

Pros

SQL server is packed with features. It was a very fun job to implement it and using it is even better. Runs well, built-in tools are useful and plenty.

Cons

It takes up quite a bit of resources. Sometimes, tech support isn't very helpful. Otherwise, it's good.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Oracle didn't offer the needed stability for working with huge databases.

Switched From

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

SQL server offers more functionality and stability.
Luis Miguel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MS SQL Server the best through the years

Reviewed on 28/06/2023

We've been working with MS SQL Server for years and now, it is reliable and capable to cover the...

We've been working with MS SQL Server for years and now, it is reliable and capable to cover the new BI and Cloud trends.

Pros

Even when through the time new technologies emerger to the scene, MS SQL server still be the best option to enterprise solution, due they easy deployment and unified access with MS technologies make even now the best SQL Manager.

Cons

the licensing scheme turns a quite complecated in definition process.

Rody
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good SQL Server

Reviewed on 14/01/2024

Pros

You can test your web data with their SQL Server. It is secure and easy to use.

Cons

When you download it on your computer, the size of the app is very large.

Kudakwashe
Kudakwashe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Management made so easy with MS SQL Server

Reviewed on 20/03/2020

Pros

For any developer, before first they can this own what their apps are going to be developed in their should think of what server should host their database. I do believe that MS SQL Server is the best on the marketing when comes to data management and administration. The best feature that i really love the most on MS SQL Server is the ability to disable remote execution of your queries and really helps protect data integrity in case your server authentication has been compromised. You can also be rest assured that your data is consistent and accurate at all times. Yes hackers some times can try sql injection but i believe MS SQL Server its the most secure servers around.

Cons

The license key for MS SQL might cost you an arm and a leg but at the end of the day its really worth it when you think of a platform where you are able to develop enterprise apps that secure and helps with Business Intelligence.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

In the case of Oracle DB vs MS SQL Server, MS SQL Server is easy to manage, easy to configure and has a huge community in case when you are stuck with any problem you are guaranteed to get a solution online.
Chirag
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Rock solid, reliable and efficient database

Reviewed on 07/04/2021

We have enjoyed using SQL Server for various OLTP and data warehousing workloads. It is a workhorse....

We have enjoyed using SQL Server for various OLTP and data warehousing workloads. It is a workhorse. Its performance is fantastic. Tooling surrounding it is great. We have not encountered a single issue with it. We also have a great local meetup where we discuss the constant improvements SQL Server brings each year.

Pros

We love SQL Server's versatility. Every single application we purchase for insurance has support for SQL Server. We have not come across any situation where SQL Server didn't meet our needs.

Cons

License models are a bit confusing. Some years Microsoft make it easy to understand. Other years Microsoft makes it even more confusing. Can we run SQL Server in our data centers? Can we run it on the cloud? Do we need to change licensing to run in the cloud? Those questions sound easy to answer but the answers we get from Microsoft or resellers confuse us more. It just seems like the confusion is intentional.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

The cost and feature/functionality of SQL Server was a great fit for company our size compared to Oracle. We also use MySQL and PostgreSQL for various workloads, SQL Server being the workhorse for majority of OLTP workload.
Mir Fida
Mir Fida
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best database management tool for relational databases

Reviewed on 11/08/2021

I would recommend it to all low-scale and small organizations that are already using MS Office...

I would recommend it to all low-scale and small organizations that are already using MS Office products or subscriptions. Its interface is similar to learn and use like other Microsoft software. Enterprise and large corporates can look into Oracle services if they require specific Oracle-made enterprise functions and features to handle very complex data.

Pros

First and foremost, it has all the features and functionality from the basics to advanced users for relational database management. Can be integrated well with other Microsft software especially Visual Studio code for a smooth development experience. Along with data storage management, professional performance analysis can be performed through GUI server management studio tools like Database Tuning Advisor. Data Analysts will find data extraction and filtration as well as visual & interactive report generation quite beneficial in their routine tasks. Backup and restore from one SQL server to another is fairly simple. Pricing is very reasonable according to the DBMS system and tools that are provided.

Cons

One of the main issues is that licensing price packages are difficult to choose due to confing choices for common users. One other limitation is that a backup made in a newer version of MS SQL server is not compatible with an older version of SQL Server. For large volumes of data records and for complex data it becomes slower to process queries. Taking backup of a very large number of records also takes time. Sometimes difficult to debug syntax errors.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Data Management Platform

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

We decided to use an MS SQL server as it suits our needs in pricing, features, and performance. Also, it is easier to use for development teams that are already using Microsoft products like MS Office. Students should also use it to learn the basics of SQL through a GUI environment. Oracle database service is more expensive due to the fact it handles complex & large-scale enterprise data. We did not require those enterprise features.
Masoud
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A database system that you can trust your data with!

Reviewed on 10/03/2022

I believe we rely on Microsoft SQL Server and its great features and performance a lot. It's our...

I believe we rely on Microsoft SQL Server and its great features and performance a lot. It's our first choice in terms of an RDBMS database and I believe it remains as such for a long time.

Pros

I've been using Microsoft SQL Server since version 2000 and I must say that every year the team behind it adds tons of improvements and great new features that keep this software a fantastic competitor in the market.
The database engine is very clever in optimising your queries, giving insights on improvements and dealing with your complex queries.
Microsoft's TSQL is very easy to understand and very easy to grasp even though in recent years the team have introduced more complex query templates but still it stands out impressively amongst the others.
I also love that they have released the full version as a Developer version where you can try all the software's great features without any cost at all!

Cons

The huge cost difference between the Standard and the Enterprise version is a put off as certain features like table partitioning should be part of the Standard version.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

The greater community behind it and the performance difference made us go to Microsoft SQL Server as our first choice.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

best of server

Reviewed on 25/09/2019

I have using this more than 5 years , by comparing with other server platforms sql server te best...

I have using this more than 5 years , by comparing with other server platforms sql server te best of easy use for developers as well as Administrators

Pros

It was easy of access to manage SQL server agent can manage most required part with automate rather than doing manual

And also design with more user friendly compare with others

Cons

While queries of data some times have to convert it to tostring, but I hope its possible to identify and convert automatically, then developers will reduse their codings

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Easy of use.

Switched From

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

Easy of use. Huge capacity can be handle by other platforms like sql management studios
tavimbanashe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best database management system

Reviewed on 14/02/2021

Microsoft SQL Server is a great data management, analyzing and reporting tool which helps in day to...

Microsoft SQL Server is a great data management, analyzing and reporting tool which helps in day to day running of a business. The very powerful features it posses makes data analysis easy. The community support makes it easy to do many tasks and above all, the security this tool provides makes it safer than other database management tools

Pros

The ability to store, manage , retrieve and backup large amounts of data without so much hassle. The availability of support on the internet is just amazing. It works well for small sized to big sized companies and the security of these databases is top notch. Since it has recently been integrated with Azure, it will be easier for cloud deployment and cloud support. Can also be used be as a reporting and analyzing tool.

Cons

The cost is a bit high and it requires skill to be able to work with sql. The larger the information on the database usually makes it to slow down in terms of querying it

Gonzalo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for medium and big companies

Reviewed on 21/08/2019

I am using SQL Server for 4 years in a Low, Medium and Big environment, but in low environment i...

I am using SQL Server for 4 years in a Low, Medium and Big environment, but in low environment i have a bad experience using SQL SERVER, Mysql is better in a small busines for cost, and simplicity, but in Big environment SQL SERVER can compete with ORACLE DB.

Pros

Is powerfull
Easy
Complete
Customer Support
Features
interoperatibity

Cons

Have some errors
You need to reset de SQL 1 time at week
Consumes a lot of ram
it needs a Windows Server

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL and MySQL

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Pricing and Simplicity

Switched From

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

is a more powerfull alternative to Mysql and is more simple than Oracle Database
Umar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Database Engine

Reviewed on 18/06/2019

It has been awsome as i am now a good Database developer because of this awsome tool.

It has been awsome as i am now a good Database developer because of this awsome tool.

Pros

I am not DBA but i am using it from more than 3 years from university days and still using SQL in my professional life.
I like everything about from query writing, to testing using SQL profiler.
Most about it is that you can do most thing by using queries and GUI as well.
Its easy to connect and configure with any kind of application with single line of code.
Most thing about it is its prediction while typing and highlighting errors with underline squiggly.

Cons

As a developer i cant find anything that i dont like in it. Its always more than my expectations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Relational Database Management System

Reviewed on 17/10/2019

Overall had a great experience as the name suggests that "Microsoft SQL Server" the first word of...

Overall had a great experience as the name suggests that "Microsoft SQL Server" the first word of the product defines it all and have a huge impact on its sale and purchase.

Pros

As a Microsoft SQL Server administrator , i like the community and the support that Microsoft community provides as it has a very powerful knowledge base if i stuck in some problem i just google it and the problem has been resolved in minutes.

Cons

Microsoft should increase the performance of few of its products as it is very slow as compared to Oracle and DB2 . And should consider on Monitoring of the databases as database administrator primary objective is to monitor the instances continuously.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

As we have a committed microsoft partner and we are in an Enterprise agreement with Microsoft so it is easier for us to explore the all new world of Microsoft.
Griffin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SQL Server is the backbone of my life!

Reviewed on 04/02/2019

Overall, my experience with SQL Server is amazing! I am able to store all of our Las Vegas luxury...

Overall, my experience with SQL Server is amazing! I am able to store all of our Las Vegas luxury casino data (gaming, hotel, food & beverage, entertainment, etc.) and query that for information that we then turn into automated or ad-hoc reports. These then go to the operators of the business as well as the executives who analyze the reports and make better decisions daily, weekly, and monthly. The goal is simple: just become better over time...better than you were last year, last month, last week. And SQL Server is the vehicle to empower your organization to find those valuable insights hiding in plain sight to do just that!

Pros

I absolutely LOVE SQL Server. It is my favorite software to use because the possibilities for query-writing are endless. I would say this is the most reliable and flexible of all the database software I have ever used. SQL Server allows you to write in T-SQL (T = transact, SQL = structured query language), which means that you can create variables, use temp tables, and write code in a procedural format that runs akin to a module in other programming languages. We use SQL Server 2008 at work, though I am really loving the new features in the latest version (as of today) SQL Server 2016.

Overall, SQL Server is a platform for creating table schema, storing information, and then writing scripts (queries) to manipulate that data--to find insights that are useful to making better business decisions. The interface is easy to understand, the error-checking is strong (and actually tells you what is wrong). It doesn't hold your hand like other simplified coding languages, but it becomes very reliable and easy to use once you obtain a solid foundation in relational database theory and SQL language.

Cons

Hmm...if I had to speak ill of SQL Server...I would probably say that it is a bit tricky to get up to speed quickly with. There's a lot to it, so to speak, so it's taken me the better part of five years working in the data analytics industry to finally say that I feel I am completely proficient in utilizing the software to its full potential. Topics such as query optimization remain my areas of biggest weakness. I can write a query to pull any kind of desired information; however, the art lies in being able to pull it quickly and with reasonable efficiency. If your query takes more than 15 minutes (or even hours!) to run, it's probably not written correctly and likely poses a major threat to the server you are connecting to (and tying up!) in the process. I would like more information in the software (GUIs, warnings, etc.) regarding poorly-written queries from an execution standpoint.

Rony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerhouse of Data Management

Reviewed on 23/06/2023

My overall experience with Microsoft SQL Server has been highly positive. The platform's robustness...

My overall experience with Microsoft SQL Server has been highly positive. The platform's robustness and scalability have empowered us to efficiently manage and analyze our data. The advanced query optimization and indexing capabilities have ensured optimal performance for our applications. The seamless integration with other Microsoft tools and technologies has enhanced our productivity and workflow. While there were some areas for improvement, such as the learning curve and occasional performance issues, Microsoft SQL Server remains a reliable and powerful solution for data management. It has been instrumental in helping us unlock valuable insights and make data-driven decisions.

Pros

Microsoft SQL Server impressed me with its standout features that revolutionized our data management experience. The robustness and scalability of the platform allowed us to handle large volumes of data with ease. The advanced query optimization and indexing capabilities ensured optimal performance and fast retrieval of information. The comprehensive security measures instilled confidence in the protection of our data assets. The seamless integration with other Microsoft tools and technologies enhanced our overall productivity. Microsoft SQL Server has become an indispensable tool, empowering us to effectively store, manage, and analyze our data.

Cons

While Microsoft SQL Server offers powerful data management capabilities, there were a few aspects that left room for improvement. One drawback was the complexity of the platform, which required a steep learning curve and technical expertise. The licensing costs, especially for enterprise editions, might be a limiting factor for smaller organizations. Occasionally, the platform's performance could be affected when handling extremely large datasets. The documentation, while extensive, could benefit from more detailed examples and tutorials for complex scenarios. Despite these limitations, Microsoft SQL Server remains a robust and reliable choice for data management, but addressing these areas for improvement would further enhance its usability.

Aníbal
Aníbal
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My experience with sql Server has been satisfactory, I have done punctual work.

Reviewed on 07/07/2018

I have worked several times with this software for different reasons I have been able to simplify...

I have worked several times with this software for different reasons I have been able to simplify developments thanks to the Transact-SQL so it has saved me programming time, the services that I have under my responsibility at work are stable, this gives confidence and tranquility for me and for my bosses, I made restorations in record time.

Pros

This software has as its first advantage that it is a Microsoft product and has the full support of the company and the stability of a well-tested product. At the basic level, I find it very efficient, the sql responses are fast and there are almost no service interruptions, which is a point in its favor when I use it, I find the Transact-SQL language that is used very powerful, I was able to assign commercial processes of the application in the database that allows multiple applications to use them and it is not necessary to program these functions in each application, the SQL server administration tools are very well thought to be all in a Microsoft environment, the integration is perfect, they are very intuitive to find new functions, they do not require prior knowledge, what is important to train new staff, another thing that I like about this software is the scalability that can start with a small database and grow, in A past project had transactional tables that inserted millions of records daily. I like security, it is possible to assign specific permissions to different users who perform different activities within the same database, this makes me trust the product.

Cons

The least I like is undoubtedly the cost SQL-Server does not have a good cost-benefit ratio, other brands offer better benefits in this regard, another point is the high consumption of RAM, it is necessary to allocate a large amount of resources for this And to guarantee the quality of the service, until now I have not found a hosting provider that offers me a PHP server with Sql-server. This stopped once a new development for a client was disappointing to me. It is difficult to learn in a particular way, the free versions of this software are very limited and the certifications are expensive, which reduces the interest when it is investigated.

Gabriel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A database for every level of user expertise

Reviewed on 16/01/2021

Regarding to the cost; licenses are cheaper than others. But when analyzing a database you should...

Regarding to the cost; licenses are cheaper than others. But when analyzing a database you should consider many others variables like administration cost, available resources, expertise of the team, company size, available servers, budget, etc...

Pros

SQL Server allows users to setup up a database with different features, from basic database to a complex environment that can include partitions, replication, business intelligence, reporting, etc. Is really simple to deploy on different scenarios like on-premise or cloud. Regarding SQL Language - Transact SQL - it is simpler and easier than other languages. For beginners this could be something positive because of the velocity of the learning curve. The integration with the business process is really easy when working with other Microsoft technologies. Additionally there is an interesting feature called FileTables which allows see the storage as a table. SQL Azure database is something great, an scalable database service that can me managed with Management Studio tool and created in less than a minute.

Cons

Something that could be an improvement to MS SQL is related to the performance monitor. In general all databases require to have a relative high level of expertise to create a good database design. With a simpler performance tool, junior users could create better queries, indexes, model, etc...

Anjali
Anjali
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

I have been working with this software from last 8 years. I like this software and used its...

Reviewed on 25/05/2018

Pros

This software offers a lot of features that are very handy to work with. And frankly it took very less time to understand this software and get used to it. I have used this software for creating stored procedures, functions, views, database schema.
Easy to connect with external database as well. I have heavily used the SQL profiler which again is a very useful feature. SQL profiler let you see the request that SQL receive from a source and it help you debug your code. Generating backup, restoring backup, importing and exporting data tiers all features are so easy to understand. Even I never googled to know how to do it, I just saw the option and start following the instructions and it's done. Its easy to use and all its features are very useful. Even when you didn't saved your file and accidentally your laptop got off,it help recover your files. Easy interface to create database tables even if you do not remember the script syntax.

Cons

There is nothing that I don't like kind of this with this useful software.
Its just if the edit rows option could have been made easy by auto showing the SQL pane to write query while editing the rows. I found it one step extra. It should be like when we select rows. Also running the query on edit rows if could be done via f5 only, then it would be easier for the user.

Felix
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great database for small To medium business

Reviewed on 26/09/2019

I used sql server in the past until cloud based database system like Hadoop and Google cloud are...

I used sql server in the past until cloud based database system like Hadoop and Google cloud are available. this tools is complex and extensive. There are a lot of features and functionalities to create stable and high rated database system like cursor, functions, stored procedures, etc. However, when the data requirements grows exponentially, the system unable to handle the load which takes significant amount of time to query. This is where company looks for better solution to handle big data load using cloud based database. SQL server going to be recognized as the pioneer of database system that set the standard of SQL language for similar products. Perhaps overtime they also evolve with better solutions to handle big data load; something that I have no knowledge about.

Pros

Relationship database is structured database management that create with data integrity and reliability in mind.

Cons

Slow performance with big data load requirements.
Also physically need to build primary keys for each tables instance.