1,529 reviews

Microsoft SQL Server

Relational database management system for data analytics

4.6 /5 (1529 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
1,529 reviews
Muhammad adil M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft SQL Server

Reviewed on 10/07/2021

Has a free developer edition which is very helpful as it has many features. Wide online documentation and support available. One of the best UI features as compare to other DMBS in the market. Best testing an analysis tools for developers while working off line.

Pros

If you are using .NET and visual studio for your developments than SQL Server is like butter on toast while connecting and working on it. Installation and configuring is easy. Reports and analysis is easily managed and created. If you happen to be using third party software with it than it has excellent support of connectivity. Huge data type support.

Cons

Too much expensive unit of enterprise edition. Some upgrade needed for data recovery and backup of databases. It data happens to be increasing day by day than support of large makes it slow.

Ihab M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SQL server deployment at Universites

Reviewed on 06/08/2020

We use SQL to store all Student's and Staff data, all our online applications are backed with SQL. for example (Online Admission, Recruitment portal and many other applications)

Pros

A very powerful application with many features, ability to integrate with any technology, links with other SQL servers locally and remotely and the ability to replicate your databases across your servers.
We use SQL in our production servers, All our applications were designed to rely on SQL DB and we also choose to teach SQL in our labs instead of other competitors due to ease of deployment and use

Cons

Linked servers across domains is a bit tricky due to Kereberos limitations, i'd love to see some developments on this matter.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best RDBMS product in the market

Reviewed on 15/12/2018

great, reliable and secure.

Pros

I'd been using SQL server for more than 5 years now, I'm still amaze on how reliable is, its very stable and strong to manage large amounts of data. In my organization we manage tables with over millions of rows and the server responds smoothly to all the transactions executed by our applications. it handles multiple instances of databases and serves many users across the organization. securing the data and baking up on regular basis makes SQL server a powerful tool to manage our data and transform it into information when needed.

Cons

implementation may be critical, but if done properly wont give you headaches, you may need to hire consultants or train your IT team in the right way to start the journey with the tool, but one on boarded is a smooth ride

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best relational database with multiple features

Reviewed on 29/12/2018

Overall ms sql server's user friendly GUI and tools are makes ease of use. As a beginner level programmer it is useful to learnt first due to it's human readable sql queries. My experience with ms sql sever is awesome.

Pros

Ms sql server is a best relational database with multiple tools and features. It is easy to use and education version is fully free. With ms sql server development and troubleshooting are not much sophisticated. Some software (other than sql server) in market requires lengthy command line configuration. Consequently ms sql server is easy to install. Therefore beginner level user can use the software conveniently. It offers integration with the .Net framework and provides full support to triggers. Since it is not an open source, database server can be less effected by attacks. The recovery option is available when even data is loses by power lose or other factors.

Cons

It takes much time when opening the software. Installation of sql server also takes long time.Eventhough ms sql server educational edition is free, it's license version is costy. Moreover it is designed only
for windows plateform. It cannot use to develop web base system on unix platefrom.

Jason L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SQL Review

Reviewed on 10/02/2021

SQL Server is the backbone of our organization. It provides the performance and reliability that enables our company to continue to grow.

Pros

The ease of standing up a server with SQL Server and using the software out of the box is impressive. Once we setup the server connecting our applications has been consistent. Also, the user community is massive so it becomes easy to resolve any questions you might have.

Cons

The User Interface could be improved. i have had to use a couple workarounds to accomlish a couple items. For example getting a column list in alphabetical order. i used a query to pull the information instead using the mangement studio.

Danny V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SQL Server is the best database management system at enterprise level that currently exists

Reviewed on 06/04/2020

I have used SQL Server throughout my college career and currently use it in my organization. We use SQL to store the data of our different apps, as well as for our ERP system. It's easy to export the data and we can manage it by different users at the same time.

Pros

I have been using SQL Server for years and can rank it as the best database management system out there. One of the most powerful features of this software is its speed for searches based on indexed tables.

I like it because we can create automatic backups.

In free development environments we can store large amounts of data and manage it by different users.

I must also admit that after each update the improvements are really surprising.

The support provided by Microsoft is exceptional.

Cons

Cost is one of the main disadvantages that you will encounter in SQL Server, especially the standard version.

Jian R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A popular BI platform that makes the implementation of integrated BI services easy.

Reviewed on 06/02/2018

Overall Microsoft SQL Server BI would have a solution for most requirements of a typical BI solution. The look & feel, as well as how the tool interacts with its users can be improved.

Pros

Microsoft SQL Server BI offers a full set of tools and functionalities for different phases of a BI solution. Since it is a very popular and widely being used, there are a lot of resources available.

Moreover, Microsoft provides tools and services that serves both the upper stream and lower stream of BI services, making the adoption of Microsoft SQL Server BI seamless on existing Microsoft infrastructures.

Cons

A lot of tools are not smart enough and requires intense manual work. For example, SSMS can't recognize and auto-pop newly-created tables/views without restarting; SSIS is not able to refresh the metadata on its own when there is underlying table changes; SSRS offers very limited format control for Excel/PDF export.

Sujith N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MS SQL - Robust Database Platform for Enterprise usage

Reviewed on 19/09/2018

For our application, we need a large set of data being stored in our system on a daily basis. To do a smooth running of system , insertion and retrieval of records from DB performs an important role. The performance so far is really impressive and this makes us choosing MS SQL as our preferred DB.

Pros

1. As a DBA you will be having more flexibility and features in SQL DB . Its easy to install as well manage SQL server instances.
2. Development is flexible and easy to manage. Integration with source control is super easy.
3. Performance is also comparatively good and they give us a lot of options to improvise the way data being stored and retrieved from system based on the kind of application in which we use.

Cons

1. Taking backup is not that easy when you have a large set of data. so they should provide a most faster technique to do the same.
2. Analytics and Reporting tools are not that good what they offer. Need to improve them a lot.

Robert R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good But Could Be Better

Reviewed on 20/11/2019

All and all SQL Server is really good for managing databases and querying and I would recommend though I do wish it had a couple of more ease of use features.

Pros

It is relatively easy to use and query data in databases. What I like most about this is being able to register server credentials so that I can query across multiple databases/servers with one query. The intelisense ( suggestions it provides ) while you are typing out your query is also helpful.

Cons

What I don't like most about this is that the error messages can be lacking sometimes leaving you puzzled as to what actually occurred. For example if you miss a comma while listing out the fields you are querying for you can get a strange error rather than a syntax error. Also being able to query all procedures and tables for search terms should be built in by default but it is not. Instead I have to use third party software to achieve this.

Luis daniel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My daily driver

Reviewed on 18/06/2019

Pleasant, I would recommend it and use it for my own personal projects. Cheap and reliable.

Pros

The databases for the software I've deloped are currently hosted with SQL Server Databases. It's super fast, robust and gets the job done for any kind of application you need. Microsoft has better solutions in case you need to process millions and millions of rows or transactions, but this one can get the job done if you're not that deep with huge numbers. While it's fast and reliable, the SQL Syntax is pretty much up there and common with other SQL syntaxes. A few keywords here and there change but if you have basic SQL knowledge you'll feel right at home and setting up your database with your web services, API's or applications is super easy and you can utilize multiple users and catalogues if needed. The pricing can be cheap as well but it depends on your use. Also the reliability is top-notch!

Cons

I don't have many bad things to say, however, I would love them to improve the performance for when you're working with Millions of records, I mean, there are other solutions for this but if you're not able to afford them, you'll need to be truncating, indexing and splitting of (archiving) portion of your information constantly. (IF YOU HAVE A LOOOOT OF DATA)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft SQL Server - An industry standard database system for a variety of applications

Reviewed on 10/04/2018

It supports other apps such as Backup Exec, SharePoint, and our own in-house database driven CRM.

Pros

Microsoft's SQL Server database engine is a standard for SQL applications. Users can write their own apps around it, but it is often used to support other off the shelf software where a database is required. It is also the backbone of Microsoft's SharePoint and Reporting Services, yet is used by countless other apps such is its appeal. Queries against data can be made directly inside the database app itself, as well as with countless client apps including many free ones. Permissions access to objects can be local or from Active Directory. Development apps such as Microsoft's Visual Studio can work directly with to create rich database driven applications.

Cons

There can be quite a learning curve with SQL Server, but this is due to its sheer complexity and security. It is well worth it thouh once these obstacles are overcome.

Miguel T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

No better way to manage large sets of information at an enterprise level

Reviewed on 05/08/2019

We needed to feed a large data set with information every day, so we can produce proper reports. So far, SQL Server can handle all the data request that we had in mind, providing also security features and stability

Pros

Incredibly powerful and full of business and enterprise-oriented features, along with security features.

Cons

The configuration is extremely tedious, requires high-level knowledge

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Semiconductors
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microsoft Sql Server

Reviewed on 06/08/2018

as per my usage , i can say that it provide unfriendly UI which helps a lot and make work easier to maintain databases

Pros

it has a great and enriched user friendly UI that makes most of the task to be done easily like backup ,restoration, script out the jobs , procedure ,tables, views etc .we can easily track out which sql query is running at backend through the inbuilt Profiler Tool , through profiler we can also manage the performance and query optimizer .we can track the dependencies of the tables , procedure easily through dependency option .we can also automated some sql query with the help of Job setup . moreover , a separate widow service sql job agent is provided to start/stop jobs.it has different level of security setup and it is very easy to maintain

Cons

it takes most of the memory and CPU utilisation when in use.
we manually need to enable the schedule of the jobs when we create the job from the script despite job is enabled

Rod W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SQL Server is a powerful, fast and feature-rich enterprise database platform

Reviewed on 05/06/2018

SQL Server is the back-bone of all of our software development and reporting.

Pros

SQL Server is constantly being improved for features, performance, reporting and stability. The SQL Server community is great and Microsoft do a good job at providing information, training and resources to support it. SQL Server is all the tools and features for modern software development against a database platform. The query tuning/profiling continues to improve, as does the database engine itself which allows software developers to gain valuable insight into how the engine works. SQL Server features and components all work together under one management solution which is great.

Cons

SQL Server dependencies can sometimes be painful to deploy and manage correctly. The installer continues to improve, but would be great to have more smarts in this part of the solution. Would be great if SSMS had better support for visualizing which database you're currently working on, when using in a multi-database environment.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great data base! Recommended for bussiness or personal use.

Reviewed on 14/07/2018

Easy to use, secure, stable, good performance.

Pros

SQL Server is a data base that is increasing your functionality, features; has a great performance on Windows or Linux, is stable, secure. You can use it for big projects like SAP without any trouble. Highly recommended, you can do a test with the free version of SQL Developer - you will get all the features, but it is just for devoloping, not for production use. You can use the Express edition for free but with the limitation that the dabase file size is just of 10GB.

For example in a company that I give IT services they had SQL Server 2005 with Windows Server 2003 r2 for many years, they moved to SQL Server Standard 2014 with Windows Server 2012 in 2016 because they need to apply an update over a software. So, it is very stable and secure. We didn't have any issue or problem during all the years (and still).

Cons

I don't have any negative comment about SQL Server, because from my point of view it is a very good and stable data base. May the only one could be the price.

Piyush J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

"Microsoft SQL server - WHY"

Reviewed on 18/10/2016

I prefer SQL Server for SharePoint applications. There are SSIS data sources, destinations that can be used to sync data between SharePoint lists and SQL Server tables. SQL Server is a good choice if you are looking for a solution with quicker time to market. It is simple to use and administer. However, I would prefer something else (like Oracle) for enterprise solutions.

Pros

Data accessing via Excel or Access is very easy.
Reporting services are a really good example to present and analyze the data to management.
We do have an analytics team which does a lot of data modeling and also uses lots of integration services.

Cons

Definitely room for improvement in SQL server reporting services.
Missing the functionality to purge/archive/delete the reports from the server. We have to do it one at a time.

Gurleen K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

RDBMS by Microsoft

Reviewed on 24/04/2019

Microsoft SQL Server is a great software to manage your relational database. Data Maintenance plan can be configured easily to setup the different kind of backup like differential backup,transaction log backup, tail-log backup. Microsoft is working on simplifying the management part with high availability of server using features like fail-over and load balancing.

Pros

SQL Server is a relational database developed by Microsoft. SQL Server manages the data warehousing and manage the workload efficiently. The real time analytics help in improving the store-procedure performance. Clustering help to distribute the workload in the peak hours. Mirroring database helps in redundancy and can be recovered in case of database corrupt .Dynamic data masking and data encryption help to secure the data. Fail-over is easy to configure in SQL Server 2019 edition.

Cons

MS SQL Server backup encryption is one of the best feature Microsoft added in it but it needs some more options like recover key options. Microsoft SQL Server Developer edition should also support the hybrid cloud environment so DBA's can also implement the 2 Tier architecture.

Mitul S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Robust and reliable dbms

Reviewed on 29/06/2020

For a fresher it's the best dbms to start with

Pros

I rate this above other dbms in terms of its ease of use and specifically ease in installation and initial configuration. Very very user friendly. IT-admin and infra team were able to install and configure for various projects without any configuration guides. Also cost effective and free version has many good features

Cons

Indexing is still an issue as compared to other dbms. Also other dbms are more developer freindly than this

Vish P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good option for RDBMS

Reviewed on 21/08/2019

It is a good product as long as you are not looking at it for backups or you are not moving data between multiple environments, since copying around 1.5 -2 TB of data will take upwards of 24 hours.

Pros

Ease of accessing data and the speed with which you can read million of records
User and Access Management is simple and not at all complicated
Creating a new table, stored procedures, etc. is standard and can be done without issues.

Cons

Database backup, restore, and migration take a ton of time. they are super slow, and totally make it a bad choice for a archival type of database or secondary backup system.

Vijai T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Efficient & Affordable RDBMS Product

Reviewed on 29/09/2018

Great experience using this product back from SQL 2000 days to SQL Server 2017. Have used for both small size applications to big data projects that has data over 100 gb. Partitioning, Indexing, Sprocs, Views are used and taken advantage off. Automatic plan correction, Adaptive Query Processing are improvements in 2017 need to take advantage off. My vote is for this product

Pros

Nice GUI & Easy to configure using wizards. Scalable product from midsize to complex solutions. Has come a long way from where it was started back from late 90's to till date. On par with other RDBMS products like Oracle in the market. Microsoft has built nice cluster support especially for redundancy and high availability.. New features such as Dynamic resource allocation, Graphical Query Analyzer, OLAP services are huge win. Additional products to support warehousing & Reporting, Transformation services, Analytics is a huge plus. Lot of performance improvement with 2017 version.Bang for the buck.

Cons

Still there's a concern from consumers perspective that SQL Server is for mid-complex systems. For ERP based systems, IoT use cases users go for No SQL products. Another challenge is for global distributed database solutions there's challenge especially Mirroring of data, synchronization, concurrency it's a huge challenge.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect combination of power and intuitiveness

Reviewed on 01/10/2019

I have worked with SQL Server for 20 years now. It is used on the backend of many powerful products and also used for small web sites as well. It's very easy to connect to and to link to non-Microsoft database systems. TSQL is very powerful as it has all standard SQL functions as well as its own.

Pros

The express edition, which is free, is more than powerful enough to serve as a back-end for most small/medium sized web sites which is great for small businesses to start and grow.

Cons

Installation of all the features can be a pain. Making sure you have the engine, agent, management studio can be confusing and often come in separate download packages.

Rob B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SQL Server - One of the most powerful databases

Reviewed on 09/11/2019

I have been working with SQL Server for 3 years at work and at home for my home projects. I enjoy working with it. It is easy to install, easy to maintain for normal purposes and there are a lot of cool features even in the free versions - for example Express and Developer. I think that it is a very powerful engine - the latest charts also show this by putting SQL Server in one of the first places for the best Databases. I pretty enjoy working with it and pretty recommend it. For years, the companies where I have been working relied on SQL Server and my observation is that it proves its expectations very good.

Pros

1. It has different types of subscriptions - you can either test it with free versions, either use it to develop different projects or when you get in love with it - you can buy it with its powerful features.
2. It is a very good working engine.
3. SQL Server has stability, and the performance mechanisms are very cool.
4. You can maintain multiple instances and databases on one server.
5. There are a lot of built-in functions that developers can use, instead of writing their own.
6. Since the latest years, I think there are more and more new things to explore in newer versions - that is a point which shows that Microsoft invests a lot in their product.
7. It is reliable.

Cons

Since these years I didn't notice something which I do not like. On the contrary, I pretty like the product and all its features that I have been using through these years, and hope that in the future releases of SQL Server there won't be disappointing things, but only cool ones.

Anthony G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Only Enterprise Level DBMS I Use

Reviewed on 21/07/2021

We build enterprise level SAAS, Desktop, Web and Mobile applications and API's. I've been SQL Server for over a decade mainly as a DB Developer but at times as an administrator as well.

Pros

A mature DBMS with no limits. Anything we or our customers wanted has always been possible with SQL Server. First class security, speed, and connection capabilities have enabled us to create world class applications for desktop, mobile, and web.

The SQL Server community is huge which is critical for those new or rarely used features. I've been working in SQL Server for over a decade and still haven't touched many of the features available. Having a robust community makes learning any new feature quick and easy!

Cons

It's not a SQL Server thing per se... but Microsoft's support in general is weak at best. I've never really had a good experience using Microsoft support as it is slow and cumbersome and many times the reps don't communicate well. The huge community is what really what makes all Microsoft products manageable as most anything you want to learn or figure out is a quick browser search away.

Wilmer josué G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SQL Server as a primary tool for developers

Reviewed on 18/06/2021

I have been using SQL server since the first periods of college in my programming classes, as a storage of information I have been taught its practical use both personally and for program development in companies. I find it a very useful and versatile tool, it is used with ease as long as the developer has studied enough information about sql server because a novice and a pro can delete by mistake a whole database, you have to be careful because there are no request messages to deny the deletion. To use the tool I recommend to practice a lot and to comment the coding.

Pros

What I liked about the tool is the practical use it has, it can be used by novices in an easy way, as long as someone teaches them the basics, it is very useful on a daily basis due to the management of databases and their respective migration to other platforms. The management of the information becomes useful, it is versatile to changes before, during and after the development of the project.

Cons

What I liked least is the interface and the work area because when moving a part of that interface it is not very intuitive to place it to the default place, I have had problems with that and also that for processes of adding data I find the work space very small.

Hasan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SQL Server

Reviewed on 25/06/2021

Overall experience is just amazing. I have been using it for almost 2 years and it helped my organization a lot during release upgrade and it made database migrations so smooth.

Pros

Microsoft SQL is quite simple to install and configurations are also easy. As it is a relational database management system, it is a perfect tool for data analysts. As it enable users to filter and extract required data in a few seconds. The product comes with a lot of features like Query analyzer, Integration services, Job scheduler and Reporting services as well. Restoration and backup of multiple databases is a great advantage and I found this feature very useful because it helps a lot in restoring databases in case of any disaster. Also, one can easily schedule tasks in job tools section which is also a very helpful feature of this tool.

Cons

Well, it occupies more data storage in order to install database engine as compared to other SQL databases. Also, support is pretty much expensive and requires a lot of maintenance. It consumes too much resources to load and start.