Exago BI

4.6 (58)
Embedded business intelligence software with WYSIWYG builder

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(58)
Value for Money
4.7/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support Software
4.8/5

95%
recommended this app

58 Software options

Rachid A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HR metrics & Dashboards powered by Exago

Reviewed on 28/09/2020

The embedded architecture of Exago with our HRIS, allows getting HR data on real time and from a unique integrated source.

Pros

The MS Excel look like grid in the report designer provides a great flexibility when it comes to creating a myriad of complex formulas to show as KPIs and metrics or as references to to other coordinates in the report. In addition to the ability of showing or hiding the intermediate calculations

The feature of ExpressViews is time savy and allows users with no profound BI skills to intuitively and easily create ad-hoc lists and reports.

The scheduler feature helps generating reports, summaries and lists, and send them automatically to specific recipients on a predetermined frequency. Not all users have access to the overall population headcount so the scheduler is the solution, taking into consideration , of course, the nature and confidentiality of data to be sent.
The inheritence of security profile from the HRIS which make it easy to apply proper user capabilities for employee, manager and SME portal.

Cons

I would like to be able to override in the join feature the original joins’ types that are setup in the views in the HRIS.

Louis C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Exago has brought a feature rich business intelligent support solution for our company's...

Reviewed on 06/08/2018

We have over the last year applied Exago's API and user architecture to great advantage in creating effective solutions for measuring our performance as a group and for individual workers. Though some what difficult to access , Exago's customer support has proved valuable for our company in developing applications for our native management and ad reporting performance systems. We would advise in order to insure a proper fit for your company's management software to engage with Exago's customer service a full interview in order qualify their API and development architecture as a proper fit for your company. Once that cycle and analysis is complete and the necessity for future IT cycles is reduced, we can say Exago is highly recommended.

Pros

Exago features highly adaptable and easily integrated API. We believe the 1 year and renewable purchase licensing fees are competitive and affordable.
We can , for one single year auto renewable purchase price, make applications for our systems that will apply to multiple servers.

Cons

Exago reports that IT is unnecessary after development and integration . We have not found this to necessarily to be true.
We believe Exago's customer service resources are a challenge to access.

Scott D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Exago tool is great

Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Overall great experience with Exago's tool. The staff is patient and very helpful. Sometimes the logic gets complex quickly and not always able to get what we want easily. We are dependent on our integration choices we made back in 2008 so we have been not able to use some of the newer functions. The recommendation is to keep up to date as much as you can or you'll fall behind.

Email reports to users is a great feature.

We support 100's of users and clients around the world.

Pros

- Ease of Use
- Customer Support
- Reporting Options
- always looking to improve the product
- Love the output options, dashboards, graphs, drill-down reports, cross tab.

Cons

- sometimes complex logic
- most of the time our data does not match northwind model so samples are hard to turn into relevant business cases.
- Integration is sometimes tricky and mostly with our dev team.

Jon B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product, great support, great people- Finally a solution!

Reviewed on 27/02/2017

After a multi-year search, we choose to use Exago as our BI reporting layer for our clients. The design of the product was very smart- almost anything can be configured and indeed we have been able to alter the look and feel of the product to match our software. Whenever there is an issue, we get a fast response, and in those times when a bug fix was required, the communication was excellent and the timeline more than reasonable.

Graphs and dashboards are excellent, and the advanced report writing tool works out of the box and is easy for report administrators and even some non-programmers to use. The one downside is that when a normal report is created, pagination is required- which speeds up processing but detracts from the user experience. But overall, as a user (and as an advocate for our user's users), it's a great product, and it can't be beaten from a business model perspective and is a great value proposition.

Pros

Configuration flexibility, Excellent QA processes, always listening to customer feedback

Cons

Had to modify the UI (way too over-crowded/complex for most of our customers), forced pagination.

Elizah H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful Business Intelligence and Reporting

Reviewed on 28/02/2017

Exago is relatively easy to use if you are building simple and quick reports, but it can get pretty complex if trying to build any type of advanced reports. Functionality is strong, but there are a few small things that are not built in that I would have thought would be included out-of-the-box. Exago is making good updates to their product and their customer support team has been helpful. Although our company probably doesn’t leverage them as much as we should. The product has scaled well too for our needs and we would definitely recommend it.

Pros

Drag and drop functionality makes building reports a snap and the designer pages support a robust set of tools for producing professional reports. All in all, a great way to start building reports and querying data effectively without the need for coding.

Cons

Would have liked to see more involvement from Exago when we first integrated the product with ours. Our development team would benefit from more complete implementation and technical support documentation too.

Harriet J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful product, excellent customer support

Reviewed on 28/02/2017

Exago is the ad-hoc reporting engine for our IT business management software product. We have over 7000 customers. Some have created just a few reports, others have created hundreds.

From a user perspective, Exago integrates nicely with our product. Exago's styling extensibility enables us to give our reporting module the same look and feel as the rest of the application. Our customers can quickly build simple reports or use Exago's formula capability to build complex ones. They love the ability to schedule reports to automatically run at different time intervals.

Since we provide our own dashboards, we haven't exposed Exago dashboards to our customers, so I can't comment on that functionality.

Exago's customer support is very responsive. We've worked closely with support and development staff to diagnose some complex issues and have been happy with the attention and time they've dedicated.

Pros

- Slight learning curve, but then it's easy to create straightforward reports
- Ability to schedule reports
- Ability to handle multiple languages, numeric, date, and time formats

Cons

- We don't have control of the code. Unlike the rest of our application, we can't implement new features or release fixes as often as we'd like.
- Error handling - error messages can be vague.

Dawn L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Ad Hoc Reporting Tool

Reviewed on 27/02/2017

I have used Exago for just over a year now. It's a great tool with infinite possibilities for our client's reporting needs. With Exago we have the ability to create customized reports that filter down to specific data subsets - a necessity for a large portion of our clients.

Client support is phenomenal!

Pros

Ability to filter, format and manipulate data to track specific data metrics. Data grouping functionality - this gives us the ability to present complete individual company/attendee data in a single group within a report. Support are amazing!

Cons

The chart functionality. Charts are the one thing that I would change in Exago. They are not user-friendly at all - even with a computer science background.

Benjamin E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Exago BI - Administrator perspective

Reviewed on 25/09/2020

Pros

- Advanced Reports are an extremely effective reporting tool
- Easy to stand up new data categories
- Recent enhancements have been great

Cons

- Some operations are slower than I would expect
- While extensibility is a great feature, often takes significant development time for new features.

Bob H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent web based reporting tool

Reviewed on 26/08/2020

Pros

Ease of use for non-technical users to create their own reports. It's very valuable that users can output to Excel, PDF with some small effort

Cons

Would like to have the ability to manually kick off asynchronous report generation.

Deanna G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The easy to use fun UI is one of the highlights.

Reviewed on 06/07/2018

Pros

UI/UX
Open architecture
Easy setup and deployment
Great customer support
Flexibility in security and feature rollout

Cons

The only issue I have run into that would might be considered a con is the use of mySQL for the auditing database. We would prefer to use mssql. Exago has put this on their roadmap.

Manash S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Chief Architect

Reviewed on 18/08/2015

Pros

Integration is easy and vendor is committed to continuously improving and adding new features.

Cons

The graphs are lacking in capability compared to other products.

Shannon B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Wonderful Customer Service

Reviewed on 13/12/2016

I have been using this product for over 5 years and love the reporting capabilities. Our customers are very happy with the reports we produce for them. There is so much functionality that I still have not mastered it all. The customer service is unbeatable!

Pros

So many feature.

Cons

Difficult to master.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

What you pay fo

Reviewed on 23/08/2019

Pros

Good for a small operation and not too expensive

Cons

You get what you pay for. The software can't scale with you

Connor S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Smart Business Intelligence Software

Reviewed on 01/10/2018

Quality BI software, hopefully they add more features to justify the price.

Pros

Exago is easy to use, and has nice features such as their quick analytics and trends options.

Cons

Exago is not as competitive on price as some of their competitors.

Dan E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exago works for SaaS companies looking to integrate Ad Hoc Reporting

Reviewed on 09/09/2020

Our experience has been uniformly positive, from sales, to implementation, to ongoing support.

Pros

We implemented Exago as an Ad Hoc Reporting tool for our customers, to go beyond the built-in reports we already provide. Exago gives them the flexibility to build their own quick ("Express") reports, create advanced and highly formatted reports, create dashboards, charts, and pivots, and to schedule reports to be automatically generated and mailed to a specified group of people. It was straightforward to integrate it with our platform, give customers a filtered view of just their own data, and customize the product for our specific needs. We evaluated a number of competing products and Exago was the winner for features, integration, and pricing.

Cons

Many of the products in this category are true Business Intelligence platforms, designed to be used by professionals in large corporate or organizational settings. But our customers are regular people, often volunteers, without professional training in complex software. The help is generally good and there are lots of video tutorials. But it would be nice if Exago had more wizards to step users through setting up a more complex report.

Gary H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful, High-quality Reporting Solution that is Designed for the End User

Reviewed on 23/03/2017

Three years ago, we set out to find a reporting solution that could replace SQL Server Reporting Services. We had a long list of requirements, among them:
• A Web Based Report Designer
• Easy to Create Basic Reports with Little to No Training
• Advanced Functionality that would Satisfy our Advanced Users
• Licensing that working with an onsite and SaaS deployment model
• A Clean Modern Looking User Interface
• Ability to White Label
• Ability to Secure the Scope of the Accessible Tables and Data
• Ability to Integrate with our Security Model and Dynamic Table Relationships
• Ability to have a Distributed Execution Model for our SaaS solution that Maintained Data Isolation and Security

Exago and one other reporting solution were short listed and went into an evaluation phase. During this 2-month process, we did POC integrations, tested the performance of the solution, security, APIs, and called on technical support. We found that Exago was faster to implement and easier to use. In one of our tests, we sent out a link to both products and asked all our employees to create a report within both products, without any training on either. We found that everyone created a report in Exago, but we had a high percentage of people that could not in the competing product. Additionally, the reports made in Exago we generally built with more complexity in them, due to the ease of use. Their support was extremely responsive. So much so, that we thought that it may just be because we were in the sales cycle. I am happy to say, that is not the case. Exago is just very customer focused and has a knowledgeable support staff that is always looking out for the client.

Pros

• Ease of Use
• Flexibility of Product
• Performance
• Data Security
• Ease of Implementation
• Product Support
• Commitment to Security
• Pricing Model
• Commitment to Client Success from the Top Down

Cons

Error Messages when using it in a Distributed Model can be a Challenge
• Brought up on last support call and they have committed to improving

Matt S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great option to integrate reporting into an existing product.

Reviewed on 24/02/2017

Our company has integrated Exago into our existing web application to provide reporting capabilities to our end users while allowing our development efforts to continue to focus on new features. This has allowed us to provide a mature and feature rich reporting environment while maintaining a consistent workflow and security model for our customers.

The Exago customer support has been great to work with, and they are continuing to release new features and product enhancements.

We are not yet using the "dashboard" features available through Exago, so these comments do not reflect that functionality.

Pros

Their variety of report designers (Express View, Express Wizard, Standard, and Crosstab) allows users with different levels of report writing experience to use the designer and features appropriate to their abilities.

The interactive report viewer allows users to adjust the formatting of a report at runtime.

The ability for end users to schedule reports to be delivered as an e-mail attachment.

The ability for the administrator to add custom functions to address industry-specific needs.

Simple wizards for creating graphs and gauges.

Cons

Changing “interactive” filters (report parameters) reruns the report with each change, so if a user needs to select several items in a list, the report reruns with each selection, which can be quite slow.

You cannot use a formula in an initial report filter, only in an interactive filter. This can result in far more data being returned to the report which you then have to filter out in the report, which is slower. Note that Exago has said this ability is supposed to be added in 2017.

Jonathan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use fast evolving software

Reviewed on 18/04/2018

Exago is evolving fast and packing more and more features. We have been using the software for the past three years now and the interface as well the functionalities have evolved dramatically. The improvements can be seen in every areas of the application so every type of user can benefit from it.

Pros

Exago is easy to use for beginner users as well as expert users. Can be used for simple plain lists up to complex interactive dashboards. Speaking of interactivity, we use those dynamic filters a lot throughout our vast library of reports and dashboards. Our clients can then easily compare data and find trends they could not see otherwise. The support we get from Exago's team is outstanding at any level.

Cons

Nothing really to report here other than some data manipulation functions that we would have liked to find generically. The good news is that we could program them ourselves.

Graham B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exago Review

Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Pros

Easy to setup for Customers to create their own Reports. Scheduling/Emailing Reports

Cons

Software is embedded in a 3rd-party software and they haven't deployed all features which is a little disappointing

Daniel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Business Intelligence Software - Exago

Reviewed on 16/02/2017

I have now had Exago software for about 2 years and am greatly impressed with its flexibility, ease of use, ease of integration, and most of all technical support. This product surpasses other software products in its class in that it offers features that are standard that require add-ons and additional expense with others. I am very impressed with this company's commitment to making this the leader in the industry which is marked by their enhancements and additional features quarterly, if not more often at times. And, did I say how easy it is???

Pros

Great customer support and full of features.

Cons

Nothing that warrants a statement here.

Bryan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exago is an excellent tool with great value for money

Reviewed on 17/09/2020

Pros

We use Exago extensively and have done for many years. We use Exago in our SaaS offering and it really does what it says on the tin. We have not been able to find a better tool and as an added bonus the pricing is sensible.

Cons

The only negative feedback is that the UI could be slicker but I am being a little pedantic.

Brian S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product, great support!

Reviewed on 17/04/2018

We needed an easy-to-use ad-hoc report writer for our HCM application that we could fully integrate into our software. With Exago, not only did we deliver an intuitive and easy to use reporting tool for our non "techie" users but we also added a whole new BI dimension to our application with the interactive Dashboarding functionality. Our experience with Exago the product and the company has been nothing but exceptional.

Pros

The versatility of the product in that it is usable by the full spectrum of users from novice up to seasoned reporting pro.
The great customer support we receive.

Rick A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Analytics tool

Reviewed on 16/09/2020

Pros

We use Exago to offer self serve reporting for our SaaS software clients. It plugs in nicely and is a tool jam packed with reporting options that allow our clients to create various reports and dashboards unique to their business objectives.

Cons

Exago is powerful and doesnt have many negative aspects. I just wish we had enough time to deploy the latest version.

Tj S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Smooth Transition from our prior reporting software to Exago

Reviewed on 17/04/2018

Switching to a new software package can be very stressful, frustrating, and time consuming and I have found that Exago is a true partner during our transition which has reduced all of these potential pain points.

Pros

I've found it to be a super smooth transition from our prior reporting software to Exago. I've been able to add new reports as well as reproduce our existing reports in Exago in a relatively short period of time and anytime I do run into issues, I can always count on Exago Support to get me back on track quickly. Our clients are very happy with the switch as well which is the most important thing to our company.

Cons

The only thing I would say as far as a con is that there were some things I could not find on my own in the API documentation.

Bob A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quick to deploy

Reviewed on 24/11/2020

Professional, well established with good onboarding process. Account managers are well in control and help navigate throughout.

Pros

Mature product, well designed and quick to deploy

Cons

Needs decent horsepower. Be sure to optimize hardware.