56 reviews

Exago BI

Embedded business intelligence software with WYSIWYG builder

4.6 /5 (56 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.8
95% recommended this app
56 reviews
Tom K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Exago - Great for SaaS products

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/09/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

• Includes Report Building capabilities that can be utilised by the client.
• All report building is completed within the browser – no downloads required.
• Includes Dashboards.
• Includes ability for clients to build dashboards within the browser.
• Strong permissions structure, that means you can explicitly say which users can see what.
• No data access layer – this is entirely managed within the client, which means no replication of login data.
• Reports are built based on a ‘model’, built from our database
• Includes software upgrades – easy to implement
• Support provided via telephone or Zen Desk
• Report Building capabilities – can replicate current functionality.
• Option to download a trial version of the software.
• No SQL Licence required.
• If we end the licence, we have 12 months grace to transfer to another solution.

Cons

• Support Hours – These are 8am – 6pm EST (We are a UK-based business)
• Costs – cheaper than Reporting Services with BI, but much more expensive than Telerik, Synchfusion and similar.
• Server / hardware requirements

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mark R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good product to integrate Ad Hoc Reporting into SaaS software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/09/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I think the general help and assistance from Exago has been good so far, we are kept up to date with version releases and we have a regualr dialogue with their team which is good to see.

Pros

We reviewed a selection of tools on the market and we felt the Exago was the product best fit our needs based on cost and functionality. We implemented Exago as a reporting tool for our customers to run real time reports and have graphical dashboards on their home screens as a kind of snapshot summary.

Exago gives you the ability to create a suite of reports ready for customers to use and export in range of formats. You can also give customers express reporting so that they can tailor their own reports however this isn't something we have done just yet but will look to do so in the future.

Were overall satidfied with the product and were looking forward to working with Exago in recommending further features and improvements.

Cons

The dashboards take an incredibly long time to load and there doesn't seem to be a simple solution for fixing this just yet.

Improved Map reporting would be a great addition, a number of our clients wish to view data on maps and this seems to be very limited at the moment.

The UI of the dropdown filter boxes could be improved and it would be good if you could return back to your filter options after running a report if you wish to amend rather than having to run another report.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Jennifer T.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great ad hoc reporting engine

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 27/02/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

From my perspective as a software developer who integrated Exago's software into our own, they provide many flexible features that allow you to customize the product depending on your own needs. For example, Exago provides several interfaces that allow us to manage our customer created data, where we store the reports and schedules created by our customers in our own database tables. They also provide other extensibility features, like server events that allow you to add custom code for specific events during a report execution.

We have used the api to "publish" reports for use in other parts of our application, as well as replace legacy asp reports in our application with reports created in Exago. This has helped us tremendously in standardizing reports across our application in terms of the terminology used as well as the data that is returned. Now when our customers try to compare results from various reports across our application, there is much more consistency.

Pros

We integrated Exago software as an ad hoc reporting engine for our customers. It allowed us to expose our data model to our customers and provide for them a way to create their own reports. Some of the features that we benefited from, which we did not have in our legacy solution were the ability to create custom formulas in a report and also the ability to schedule a report.

Cons

Our data model is very large and we would like to see some future improvements on how the designer handles all of the field lists so that the designer could be more responsive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jason K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Flexible, extensible, high-quality web-based report designer and execution engine

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 29/12/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We create cloud-based web-based CRM, scheduling, and accounting software. Our customers kept asking us for a way to write their own reports. We looked at the popular non-web-optimized options (like Crystal Reports) and a couple of web-based ones. Once we got a demo of Exago, we knew we'd found the perfect fit. It meets the needs of both our most sophisticated users and our many non-technical users. Now anyone can write their own tabular reports, create charts, dashboards, pivot tables, and schedule them to be automatically executed and emailed at any time. Integration was a breeze -- we had a proof-of-concept going in a few hours and a full solution ready not long after that. Best of all, the team at Exago is first-rate: friendly, accessible, and knowledgeable.

Pros

Multiple ways to write a report: Express and Visualization wizards for new users, and a full-featured canvas for experts. Easy to integrate and highly programmable with REST and .NET APIs. Works with a wide variety of data sources, and can combine data from multiple different sources. The pace of new feature development is excellent, with a great mix of customer-requested enhancements and Exago's own innovations that you may not have even thought of!

Cons

Documentation on the very advanced programmability features is incomplete (but getting better quickly)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ed G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Exago as White Label Reporting module

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/09/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Doing business with Exago, their people, their company, has been absolutely a pleasure.

Pros

Architecture is sound and integrates well with our own internal SaaS dev strategy. Ad-Hoc Reporting feature set is well liked by our customers.

Cons

Support for some areas of HTML5 rich document functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Simon G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent BI provider

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/09/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It has been an excellent working relationship working with Exago.

Pros

Reporting is very rich and company has been a pleasure to work with.

Cons

We have had to overcome a few challenges with the way logic works, but the company was very responsive in addressing those issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jeff S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Looking forward to getting started with Exago

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 06/06/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We're hoping this will allow us to provide a modern, easy to use BI tool for our users.
Roxanne did a great job leading us through the sales process. She was very responsive and helpful throughout.

Pros

We're just getting started but Exago seems to be easy to integrate and use, it should be a huge improvement for our users. Also, the Exago team seems extremely helpful and easy to work with.

Cons

Since we're just getting started we haven't been deep into the product, so we haven't come across any problems yet.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Siddhartha N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Overall a Good Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/08/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent

Pros

Ease of use
Intuitive design
Responsive management
seamless integration

Cons

We should be able to schedule the chain reports

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Christien D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Not just a scalable Analytics Tool .. a trustworthy partner to support your business.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 18/04/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

There is nothing we do not like about the system or the support team at Exago. The Customer Support and management team involvement is beyond the norm. As a start-up with limited resources, we underestimated our effort and were fortunate Exago were there to help. Take advantage of an open and transparent team, and make sure YOU have a clear understanding of your current challenges and discuss with them openly. They are not a heavy duty sales team so take advantage of that early on and you will have a system second to none in a very short period of time.

Pros

We started with Exago two years ago, around the same time as we launched our own system. At the time our clients were small and our reporting requirements fairly simple so our decision was primarily based on affordability. We could not have made a better choice, then or now. We now have larger clients and one in particular who is amazingly complex in their business (Global Logistics), now bringing in data from their legacy systems and looking to this company to report on their Operational Risk. Exago has been there every step of the way helping us grow and making our clients secure in their choice of a small start-up to push information to their global stakeholders.

Cons

We are still expanding our reach and any questions we have had were either easily answered, or on their roadmap.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ethan D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A great embedded BI solution

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 09/09/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Exago provided us with a great BI tool but even more important they were a great partner to work with. Their guidance and support during the implementation phase of our project was reassuring. Any issue or questions that arose were answered in a timely manner. And we continue to get great support when needed. The BI tool itself added an expansive amount of functionality to our product and has been well received by the users.

Pros

This software was really made to be an embedded solution. We were able to integrate Exago into our software product in a way that was seamless for the user. Other solutions created barriers around integrating through security or technology requirements. Exago was able to provide us with a solution that was obviously built for embedding.

Cons

Error handling could be improved. Errors will often require digging through server logs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bryce L.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Exago offers Complex BI in a very Simple Way

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/04/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Exago is constantly improving and add new features. Not only to their core product but also pushing the pace of new technology like AI and IoT. We're very happy that we not only chose to work with a great product but also a great company with even better people.

Pros

Exago has been an amazing tool for us. Our developers love working with it and our end users continue to send in great feedback. The implementation has gone smoothly and we're looking forward to continuing our roll out of more and more features.

Cons

There is really nothing we don't like about Exago and what they offer. If we run in to an issue their support staff and extremely responsive and help provide solutions. If we need a new feature added they are very transparent on when we can expect to receive the request based on their development and release cycles.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marc J.
Industry: Computer Software

Exago Delivers

Reviewed on 19/10/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Exago software is built intelligently. They know what end-developers need to make their lives easier for integration and have a great sense of what report builders need to get their job done. Exago hits the right balance with ease of use and the ability to do complex reporting.

Cons

Sometimes challenged on some complex support requests but we eventually get to a solution together.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael P.
Industry: Computer Software

Great product and great company

Reviewed on 12/10/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The product is easy to use and very flexible, it really adds value to our own software products. The Exago team are extremely helpful.

Cons

This isn't a criticism - keeping up with new features and being able to use all the capabilities of the product can be a challenge. We really need to have one or two dedicated individuals in the company to maximize the benefits of the product.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ritesh N.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Extremely customisable solution with rich interface

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 03/01/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

As a cloud-based solution, Asite needed a BI solution that was extremely configurable and highly performing. Exago was a great fit on both aspects. We wanted something that went beyond DB and Stored Procedure based solution. The Web Based API Data Objects allowed us to fully configure the report data objects whilst respecting the complex ACLs that are a typically seen in the Common Data Environments our clients manage on Asite.

Pros

Web Based API Data Objects
Drill downs
Dashboards

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tony D.
Industry: Computer Software

User Friendly Reporting

Reviewed on 20/10/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Exago is easy to implement. Their customer service and training is extraordinary. Anytime my team has questions or needs opinions on how to display information Exago staff is very responsive.

Cons

Mobile optimization needs to improve. From what I understand this is soon to be released.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Luc B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Powerful product, Nice organization, Great customer service!

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/04/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

People are Exago are easy to reach and very responsive. Nice and professional organization.

Pros

Very flexible, powerful, simple to use product. Perfectly meets the business needs of our customers.

Cons

Nothing in particular.
Product meets our expectations, contains enough features, great value for our customers

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rachid A.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

HR metrics & Dashboards powered by Exago

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 28/09/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The embedded architecture of Exago with our HRIS, allows getting HR data on real time and from a unique integrated source.

Pros

The MS Excel look like grid in the report designer provides a great flexibility when it comes to creating a myriad of complex formulas to show as KPIs and metrics or as references to to other coordinates in the report. In addition to the ability of showing or hiding the intermediate calculations

The feature of ExpressViews is time savy and allows users with no profound BI skills to intuitively and easily create ad-hoc lists and reports.

The scheduler feature helps generating reports, summaries and lists, and send them automatically to specific recipients on a predetermined frequency. Not all users have access to the overall population headcount so the scheduler is the solution, taking into consideration , of course, the nature and confidentiality of data to be sent.
The inheritence of security profile from the HRIS which make it easy to apply proper user capabilities for employee, manager and SME portal.

Cons

I would like to be able to override in the join feature the original joins’ types that are setup in the views in the HRIS.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Louis C.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Exago has brought a feature rich business intelligent support solution for our company's native management systems.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 06/08/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We have over the last year applied Exago's API and user architecture to great advantage in creating effective solutions for measuring our performance as a group and for individual workers. Though some what difficult to access , Exago's customer support has proved valuable for our company in developing applications for our native management and ad reporting performance systems. We would advise in order to insure a proper fit for your company's management software to engage with Exago's customer service a full interview in order qualify their API and development architecture as a proper fit for your company. Once that cycle and analysis is complete and the necessity for future IT cycles is reduced, we can say Exago is highly recommended.

Pros

Exago features highly adaptable and easily integrated API. We believe the 1 year and renewable purchase licensing fees are competitive and affordable.
We can , for one single year auto renewable purchase price, make applications for our systems that will apply to multiple servers.

Cons

Exago reports that IT is unnecessary after development and integration . We have not found this to necessarily to be true.
We believe Exago's customer service resources are a challenge to access.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Scott D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Exago tool is great

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall great experience with Exago's tool. The staff is patient and very helpful. Sometimes the logic gets complex quickly and not always able to get what we want easily. We are dependent on our integration choices we made back in 2008 so we have been not able to use some of the newer functions. The recommendation is to keep up to date as much as you can or you'll fall behind.

Email reports to users is a great feature.

We support 100's of users and clients around the world.

Pros

- Ease of Use
- Customer Support
- Reporting Options
- always looking to improve the product
- Love the output options, dashboards, graphs, drill-down reports, cross tab.

Cons

- sometimes complex logic
- most of the time our data does not match northwind model so samples are hard to turn into relevant business cases.
- Integration is sometimes tricky and mostly with our dev team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jon B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great product, great support, great people- Finally a solution!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 27/02/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

After a multi-year search, we choose to use Exago as our BI reporting layer for our clients. The design of the product was very smart- almost anything can be configured and indeed we have been able to alter the look and feel of the product to match our software. Whenever there is an issue, we get a fast response, and in those times when a bug fix was required, the communication was excellent and the timeline more than reasonable.

Graphs and dashboards are excellent, and the advanced report writing tool works out of the box and is easy for report administrators and even some non-programmers to use. The one downside is that when a normal report is created, pagination is required- which speeds up processing but detracts from the user experience. But overall, as a user (and as an advocate for our user's users), it's a great product, and it can't be beaten from a business model perspective and is a great value proposition.

Pros

Configuration flexibility, Excellent QA processes, always listening to customer feedback

Cons

Had to modify the UI (way too over-crowded/complex for most of our customers), forced pagination.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Elizah H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Powerful Business Intelligence and Reporting

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 28/02/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Exago is relatively easy to use if you are building simple and quick reports, but it can get pretty complex if trying to build any type of advanced reports. Functionality is strong, but there are a few small things that are not built in that I would have thought would be included out-of-the-box. Exago is making good updates to their product and their customer support team has been helpful. Although our company probably doesn’t leverage them as much as we should. The product has scaled well too for our needs and we would definitely recommend it.

Pros

Drag and drop functionality makes building reports a snap and the designer pages support a robust set of tools for producing professional reports. All in all, a great way to start building reports and querying data effectively without the need for coding.

Cons

Would have liked to see more involvement from Exago when we first integrated the product with ours. Our development team would benefit from more complete implementation and technical support documentation too.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Harriet J.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Powerful product, excellent customer support

Reviewed on 28/02/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Exago is the ad-hoc reporting engine for our IT business management software product. We have over 7000 customers. Some have created just a few reports, others have created hundreds.

From a user perspective, Exago integrates nicely with our product. Exago's styling extensibility enables us to give our reporting module the same look and feel as the rest of the application. Our customers can quickly build simple reports or use Exago's formula capability to build complex ones. They love the ability to schedule reports to automatically run at different time intervals.

Since we provide our own dashboards, we haven't exposed Exago dashboards to our customers, so I can't comment on that functionality.

Exago's customer support is very responsive. We've worked closely with support and development staff to diagnose some complex issues and have been happy with the attention and time they've dedicated.

Pros

- Slight learning curve, but then it's easy to create straightforward reports
- Ability to schedule reports
- Ability to handle multiple languages, numeric, date, and time formats

Cons

- We don't have control of the code. Unlike the rest of our application, we can't implement new features or release fixes as often as we'd like.
- Error handling - error messages can be vague.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dawn L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Ad Hoc Reporting Tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 27/02/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have used Exago for just over a year now. It's a great tool with infinite possibilities for our client's reporting needs. With Exago we have the ability to create customized reports that filter down to specific data subsets - a necessity for a large portion of our clients.

Client support is phenomenal!

Pros

Ability to filter, format and manipulate data to track specific data metrics. Data grouping functionality - this gives us the ability to present complete individual company/attendee data in a single group within a report. Support are amazing!

Cons

The chart functionality. Charts are the one thing that I would change in Exago. They are not user-friendly at all - even with a computer science background.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Benjamin E.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Exago BI - Administrator perspective

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/09/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

- Advanced Reports are an extremely effective reporting tool
- Easy to stand up new data categories
- Recent enhancements have been great

Cons

- Some operations are slower than I would expect
- While extensibility is a great feature, often takes significant development time for new features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bob H.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Excellent web based reporting tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/08/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Ease of use for non-technical users to create their own reports. It's very valuable that users can output to Excel, PDF with some small effort

Cons

Would like to have the ability to manually kick off asynchronous report generation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10