Mode

Cloud-based BI tool for data analysis and visualization

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(88)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support Software
4.6/5

99%
recommended this app
Sort by

88 Reviews

Mohamed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Experience

Reviewed on 06/11/2022

The whole thing is amazing when it comes to using Mode with all available features, I'm using a lot...

The whole thing is amazing when it comes to using Mode with all available features, I'm using a lot of things because of my job duties, I create dashboards, and update the daily, weekly, and monthly reports with one click to refresh the queries.

Pros

It is the easiest way to create or update dashboards and let the employees know the update once it happened to be communicated with the customers, also very smooth and easy to integrate with any database to get the required data for visualization.

Cons

Sometimes, especially when using low internet speed connections the pages take so much time to load and this might some issues for the users, I recommend creating a special view "lowered web version" for such internet speed.

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best way to see your data

Reviewed on 10/12/2019

Mode allows us to get concrete answers about how our customers are using our product. The data...

Mode allows us to get concrete answers about how our customers are using our product. The data visualization is a key player in sales, product, marketing, and customer support in our organization,

Pros

Very easy to use, set up and organize. Their charting and reporting tools are super powerful, and generate great dashboards and reports.

The ability to schedule report runs and even send them to Slack or email makes it easy for everyone in our organization to be on the same page.

Cons

Really just some minor UI annoyances, but nothing that would prevent me from recommending the software.

Alternatives Considered

Looker
Kristine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great software for report building and democratizing data

Reviewed on 06/02/2020

Pros

Ease of use, never fails to execute jobs, performant

Cons

UI could be a little more intuitive and flexible

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mode Reporting Review

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Mode allows a easy to use reporting solution that is under source control and allows for all levels...

Mode allows a easy to use reporting solution that is under source control and allows for all levels of the organization to use it effectively from analyst to a developer. This is very refreshing. In addition Mode makes some beautiful reports that end users love.

Pros

The killer feature for mode is how it integrates into source control (github). I have used a lot of different reporting products and there is always a big pain point in putting the reports into source control and easily understanding what dependencies each report has to various data sources. Mode makes this so easy, and allows me to quickly change data sources from a code editor across many reports.

Cons

There does not seem to be a lot of options to connect to datasources other than from a database. It would be nice if you could define connections from an API.

Khantil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great Analytics tool for small - medium size teams

Reviewed on 20/12/2019

Mode allows us to monitor our delivery operations. It helped us to improve on tracking our KPI's...

Mode allows us to monitor our delivery operations. It helped us to improve on tracking our KPI's closely and overall company performance.

Pros

The ease of use. Mode is really easy to use, specially you can put it as a self-serve data platform to anyone in your team maybe support, marketing, sales. Everyone can use and get the data.

Cons

The version we had was running queries on our own databases everytime we refresh the dashboard.

Will
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product that keeps getting better

Reviewed on 11/12/2019

I'm a big fan of Mode. We use it for all kinds of business analysis and operational improvements....

I'm a big fan of Mode. We use it for all kinds of business analysis and operational improvements. Plus, we use the dashboards to run daily meetings and have daily emails sent out with key metrics. I've found the support to be great and you can tell that they're working hard to make improvements every quarter.

Pros

I like the ease of use and the fact that they keep improving the visualizations so it's becoming a one stop shop for analytics.

Cons

It's not Mode's fault, but I need to teach so many other people SQL in order to help them out. Otherwise they just re-run the same old reports.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for getting data visualized BUT!

Reviewed on 24/10/2022

Created dashboards by our engineering teams work great. They load fast and the visuals provided are...

Created dashboards by our engineering teams work great. They load fast and the visuals provided are great. Perfect for me in gathering data quickly and being able to make decisions based on them.

Pros

If you are not a person who knows how data dashboards work and are created it will be very difficult to learn and setup your own custom dashboards. Using it in "read only" mode is perfect for non data engineer people. If you have a dedicated Data team to help set up dashboards it will suit your needs as Mode is quite fast and easy to use if the dashboards are set up by "professionals".

Cons

There is no hand holding for people that have never set up data dashboards. It is a very difficult product to use for entry level people into the world of data. Your data team will be needed to create and deploy functioning dashboards.

Neil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mode for all Data Analytics Needs

Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Pros

Mode let's my team build dashboards to monitor our key results. It's incredibly easy to use and perfect for our needs.

Cons

Sometimes queries fail or it takes time to refresh a dash. Wish it were faster.

Brett
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mode Review

Reviewed on 26/12/2019

While there are some minor frustrations with using Mode, overall I've really enjoyed the product...

While there are some minor frustrations with using Mode, overall I've really enjoyed the product and would definitely recommend!

Pros

The user interface is intuitive and makes it easy to go from writing queries to creating dashboards.

Cons

1. There are glitches that can be frustrating.
2. There are certain missing features that would be nice additions.

Example glitch:
1. When going from a query to report builder, certain times the created dashboard visuals won't load, which requires a page refresh to make it appear.

Example additional features:
1. Ability to show or minimize all queries (i.e., show/hide the query & associated charts).
2. Ability to set a default color scheme for your account without having admin permissions.

Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great adaptable software

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

I use more to pull and clean data and to create dashboards. Though sometimes it is hard to get the...

I use more to pull and clean data and to create dashboards. Though sometimes it is hard to get the software to do exactly what I want for the dashboards, with the help of customer service I'm usually able to find creative solutions to get to what I need.

Pros

Customer service is great. They get back to me with answers very quickly and are thorough in their responses.

Cons

Some of the built-in reporting tools (e.g. pivot table) are quite limited. For example, you can't create functions in the pivot table.

Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing tool for easily accessing your data

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Pros

so easy to connect to your database and query your data. More recently, you can even use jupyter notebooks and write python scripts to easily join data from different databases. this is really helpful for our everyday work with data in different databases

Cons

Nothing, I love Mode and have been recommending it to so many people.

Arielle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Pros

Mode provides a similar environment to a jupyter notebook which was familiar and easy to adopt. Mode supports many packages and allows me to create visualizations that stakeholders can interact with in a front end dashboard. Mode has been responsive to feedback and has introduced new features to alleviate problems.

Cons

I wish there was more functionality on designing the dashboards without having to edit the html. Additionally, although many packages are supported in the notebook they are not always up to date which causes some trouble when using current documentation.

Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Drops that data on your plate like breakfast in bed

Reviewed on 18/01/2020

Compiling what we need in concise reports improves our team's daily functions.

Compiling what we need in concise reports improves our team's daily functions.

Pros

Daily data report drops into my inbox helps our Ops team triple their efficiency when it comes to follow-ups.

Cons

No striking dislikes come to mind. Mode's been helpful enough day-to-day for over a year now where I can't think of anything I'm missing as a light-moderate user.

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid Software

Reviewed on 24/12/2019

Pros

The ease of use and comfortable UI makes using mode a breeze. It is a simple user experience and simple should not be equated with bad

Cons

Nothing in particular sticks out as something that is very bad. Perhaps it could be easier to create development tables

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MODE IS GREAT!

Reviewed on 10/12/2019

I really enjoy using it! At my previous roles we had to find this data by ourselves so it speeds up...

I really enjoy using it! At my previous roles we had to find this data by ourselves so it speeds up my pre-call research.

Pros

It is so comprehensive. There are so many facets to mode that I am able to use in all of my sales calls. It gives me insights into my prospects most other sales reps do not have.

Cons

It takes too long to load all of the data, slowing down my day to day.

Madeline
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mode

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Pros

Mode is very easy to use, and it really helps with my day-to-day tasks and projects

Cons

There are some SQL features that aren't compatible with MODE, which has led me to do extra work to complete my queries that could be complicated if that function was available.

Trupti
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best UI used for SQL

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Excellent

Excellent

Pros

I love how user-friendly the environment is. It is used even by the non-techies in my company.

Cons

I wish graphs could be more flexible to use

EVELYN
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MODE

Reviewed on 23/12/2019

I LOVE IT

I LOVE IT

Pros

IT BRINGS YOU DIRECTLY TO WHAT YOU WANT TO DO

Cons

Sometimes the software will take a little extra time in loading

Philip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fundamental to our business

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Pros

The reports are easy to read and keeps our org wide data super accessible. There's a lot of variety and options as far as visuals are concerned and the product seems flexible enough to work with most, if not all of our applications.

Cons

I find it sometimes confusing to navigate and find reports. Would benefit from a nested folder structure for improved organization of reports.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wireless
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for understanding licensing

Reviewed on 11/12/2019

I have been in meetings with senior management where I have been able to prove what I have been...

I have been in meetings with senior management where I have been able to prove what I have been working on and highlight which KPIs have been achieved.

Pros

Mode gives me an easy way of understanding licensing on our platform. On top of that, it can provide insights so I can keep on top of my monthly KPI's and make sure I am on target and helps me prove to the company some of the tasks I have been able to complete.

Cons

Once logging into the database, it can be fairly difficult to use. It's has a very dark user interface which is hard to navigate.

Devindra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software for Automated and Self-Serve

Reviewed on 06/02/2020

Overall, it's been great. Jobs don't fail (cough TOAD cough), reporting and visualizing is so much...

Overall, it's been great. Jobs don't fail (cough TOAD cough), reporting and visualizing is so much easier now.

Pros

Democratization of data - allowing users to self-serve and pull data on their own without having to know how to write queries/scripts/the like.

Cons

The fact that all new reports are created by default in your own personal area as opposed the desired location where you created the report in the first place.

Pamela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I love Mode!

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Pros

Straight forward to use. Easy to use. Can do a lot with it.

Cons

Sometimes it crashes but it's not that big of a deal.

Sara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mode user review

Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Pros

I like how it easily I can navigate through the warehouse to find the correct tables and the run the first hundred rows of a table is invaluable

Cons

You have to run a query to know if I made a mistake in it (big query checks the query live without execution )

Adrian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mode is great :)

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

I love using Mode to find hard data to support theories. It helps me make a case when I want to...

I love using Mode to find hard data to support theories. It helps me make a case when I want to change or present something we need to work on in our team. I also build software tools for our team, so it is useful to have Mode data to backup cases for new changes / tweaks to our software.

Pros

I love how easy it is to create charts and diagrams from the data to make it easier to explain to others. I love the power that comes with being able to write your own SQL queries

Cons

The speed. I know it's data intensive but at the same time, it's a slog to develop in when you are waiting 30s each time the query runs

Aaron
Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Love the Python Support

Reviewed on 07/04/2019

Pros

I love the Python support out-of-the-box, and that you don’t have to pay extra for it (like some other companies).

Cons

It was not easy enough for us to hide implementation details from our users. Everyone was able to view the raw SQL statements and infer our database schema from there.