Showing 92 reviews of 81

Mode

Cloud-based BI tool for data analysis and visualization

4.6 /5 (81 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
99%
recommended this app
Showing 92 reviews of 81
Oriol M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease of use, strongly recommended

Reviewed on 23/12/2019

Pros

MODE is very easy to learn and really helpful. Since we started using it we’ve been using more and more, making it a MUST for any single area of the company. Connecting to Slack and automating its reports allowd the whole company to know how the business is performing at anytime.

Cons

It would be much appreciated if heatmaps could be easier to implement.

Nicholas F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

There's a lot it does well, but a lot it does poorly

Reviewed on 19/04/2019

Great if you're proficient with R, Python, and/or HTML. Also great if your metrics are really simple.

Pros

Mode is very flexible and has some great features
• Easily schedule reports to go out to your customers (something Tableau does not do well)
• Make definitions (commonly used sql chunks) that can be used by anyone in the business
• Appealing interface
• R, Python, and HTML integration
• Good organization options
• Easy to customize axes of the graphs you make
• Very flexible (if you know HTML)
• Really helpful chart type called "BigNumber" which displays your KPI in big, bold numbers (oddly hard to do in Tableau)

Cons

• Visualization options are harshly limited (if you don't know R/Python/HTML)
• Limited GUI when building charts. All variables must be predefined in the sql query
• Sql editor is...not good. If I am trying to reference a column name of a specific table, it will show me similar column names from tables ACROSS OUR ENTIRE DATA WAREHOUSE. Nearly impossible to find if you have column names like "ID" or "NAME". I typically have to build my sql query in another editor and then copy/paste.

Neil S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mode for all Data Analytics Needs

Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Pros

Mode let's my team build dashboards to monitor our key results. It's incredibly easy to use and perfect for our needs.

Cons

Sometimes queries fail or it takes time to refresh a dash. Wish it were faster.

Herman S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing tool for a data-driven company

Reviewed on 17/12/2019

Mode is a very powerful tool for reporting and visualising insights. It has helped us make key data-driven business decisions in our first years of growth - without it we would be flying blind.

Pros

The UI is clean and simple. I was new to the world of Business Intelligence software and getting used to it was very easy.

Cons

It can work out quite pricey if you have a lot of casual/read only users.

Jeremy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing tool for easily accessing your data

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Pros

so easy to connect to your database and query your data. More recently, you can even use jupyter notebooks and write python scripts to easily join data from different databases. this is really helpful for our everyday work with data in different databases

Cons

Nothing, I love Mode and have been recommending it to so many people.

Ragnar G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great tool overall

Reviewed on 11/12/2019

Pros

Once you learn how to use its features, it's very easy to use; building the reports, sharing them, and reading them

Cons

I sometimes have to refresh the browser to see the latest changes I made and make certain features work
The graphing options are much more limited than Excel's

Ifabiyi A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mode Review from someone new to SQL

Reviewed on 10/03/2020

Pros

I really love that when I search for a column without knowing the table name - it will spit back the results of tables that may include the column I'm looking for.

Cons

For someone less technical, it isn't the easiest to build dashboards with inputs and make my queries more user-friendly for my teammates.

Laural S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

experience as a user

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Overall mode helps me perform my daily duties with efficiency however the glitches and slow running can cause downtime

Pros

relatively easy to use to run a report and export the report

Cons

the glitches, the freezing, the delay in running the report sometimes so I have to refresh it

Eric S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everything you need

Reviewed on 17/12/2019

Having a true, one-stop program for individual and shared taxonomies of every type has really streamlined our metrics and made our work lives easier to manage. We use Mode now for everything that has to do with numbers, mapping and tracking/planning.

Pros

I can track, plan, review and record data of every type with this software. Every day starts and ends with Mode. It allows an individual view along with shared data. We have historical data, charts, goals, scheduling, etc., all of which has become critical to tracking our metrics.

Cons

It takes some time to learn how to use it and manage the details. The support is there, but it’s not the most user-friendly software for beginners.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mode is the SQL kit you wish you always had

Reviewed on 17/06/2018

SQL queries, database lookup, results graphing, BI.

Pros

Mode makes it easy to add data from a wide variety of sources, run live queries on that data, and produce detailed graphs and sheets with your results. Its free plan is comprehensive and great for public data collections.

Cons

Mode can be limited in its visualizations and sources. If you're looking for more comprehensive BI toolsets, you may want to consider more expensive options. The cons at this price point are essentially zero though.

Bertrand S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Nice platform for people doing data analysis on a daily basis

Reviewed on 03/05/2020

Mode platform is a nice tool to process / request Data on a daily basis.
It would be a must have for Data scientists / analysts producing analysis / reports for executives / BI teams.

Pros

I really liked the way you can write & test your own SQL queries.
You can also easily request different Datasets coming from different sources (MySQL, PostgreSQL, Hive, Impala, Aurora, Google BigQuery...) via the same SQL queries.
Moreover, it's very simple to create charts and diagrams from the data to generate nice presentations / reports.
By the way you have a nice integration with Python/R notebooks.

Cons

When your are creating / editing reports, you need to have good knowledge of SQL/Data queries.
This side of the platform would be reserved to Data scientists / engineers / analysts.
But once the reports are created, it's still one of the best tool in the market to communicate / take decisions with executives / managers / BI teams / clients.

Chris E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Informative

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Overall, it's a pretty great program. My primary use is to follow, NPS, CSTAT and Resolution rates as well as driver data

Pros

The ability to obtain cross function data from multiple locations

Cons

sometimes the amount of data entered returns less responses

Lluis C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excelent tool

Reviewed on 27/12/2019

It's very positive, but sometimes I 'd like that I could work with local files.

Pros

Integration with Python Notebooks is very useful.

Cons

Impossible to load data from local folders.

Travis F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Fantastic

Pros

Very easy to use and gives a lot of useful information

Cons

Honestly not much. Its a great product that really helps with my job role.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

useful tool

Reviewed on 23/12/2019

mostly positive

Pros

Convenience of being able to write queries through browser.

Cons

lacking some features, and documentation for work-arounds

Adrian C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mode is great :)

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

I love using Mode to find hard data to support theories. It helps me make a case when I want to change or present something we need to work on in our team. I also build software tools for our team, so it is useful to have Mode data to backup cases for new changes / tweaks to our software.

Pros

I love how easy it is to create charts and diagrams from the data to make it easier to explain to others. I love the power that comes with being able to write your own SQL queries

Cons

The speed. I know it's data intensive but at the same time, it's a slog to develop in when you are waiting 30s each time the query runs

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good after setup

Reviewed on 23/09/2020

So far so good. Gives me a different perspective than others.

Pros

Gives good insight that the most common provider doesn't once you get everything set up. Lots of ways to look at data.

Cons

Getting set up takes time. I guess that is true of all options, just be ready and meticulous for setup

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A must-use for data reporting

Reviewed on 17/12/2019

Pros

- Easy to read and interpret
- Customization is amazing
- Honestly, makes my job easier as a salesperson - I can rank my leads accordingly and prepare for my calls easier

Cons

The actual visuals could be enhanced for a better user experience.

Surjan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The One stop shop for all the Data analysis

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

i am generating insight based data reporting to take real time decisions

Pros

The ease of using this tool to analyze my data with the language i am most comfortable with while my teammates can use a different approach

Cons

The way the subscription is decided, i mean live chat is not available to Studio users

Adriana A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for Data Analytics & Visualization

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Pros

Easy to use and plot graphs immediately, you can discover insights really fast.

Cons

Free version does not allowed to share your reports

Tina L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quite Good. Very Satisfied

Reviewed on 20/12/2019

Pros

Easy to automate reports and add charts.

Cons

Can't join tables from different databases in a single query. Will have to learn to use Python for reports that require info from different dbs

Mario D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for operative reporting but not as well as bi tool.

Reviewed on 17/12/2019

Small companies without any reporting tool is good to start.

Pros

Easy to use with technical background. Easy to run a queries analyze the results and built interesting charts to do some exploratory data analysis or follow some KPIs. Also is good subscription by email (or other methods) and great to use python to create some sophisticated analysis.

Cons

It's not easy to use for final user without SQL background. If you are looking for operative reporting or EDA is a good solution but if your final users don't know SQL and wats to do some analysis with data like: drag a drop dimensions measures from data mart and build their own analysis, use "drill down", use some sophisticated filters (or/and) or analysis to compare two sets of data,... it has a great way to go.

Sameer S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Query Tool / Embedded BI

Reviewed on 17/12/2019

We needed a centralized query tool, as well as a tool that provides BI capabilities. Mode provides both.

Pros

Security First - It's clear to us that security a primary consideration for all features they roll out
High Customizability - we are able to skin our reports as we'd like
Great Integrations - we post reports to Slack, via API, etc.
Usability - it's extremely easy to use

Cons

White-Label Feature doesn't seem to be a priority, as it doesn't get frequent updates

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

White Label Imbeds fit perfectly into our software.

Reviewed on 23/12/2019

Overall, it has changed our company. Internally, our teams have data pushed to them daily or weekly. Our end users have significantly more dynamic systems. And overall, our analytics stack has a very predictable cost structure. We love Mode!

Pros

We love Mode's ability to push analytics into Slack for internal analytics.
We also heavily use Mode's White Label Embed capability into our website. We are able to configure Mode's look and feel to be perfectly on-brand. Mode's analytics plug perfectly into our site.

Cons

Mode's Grid and Pivot grids still have a long way to go. We end up plugging DevExtreme into Mode - which accomplishes exactly what we need... but it's a lot of work. It would have been nice to have beautiful pivot grids and data grids out-of-the-box.

Mode also needs the ability to have triggers (only send this report if X>Y). Right now, Mode can only send on a schedule... but many of our needs are warning systems (if X<=0 then send an alert to this team).