BlackBerry Protect

4.6 (60)
Threat detection and endpoint protection platform

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(60)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

88%
recommended this app

60 reviews

Cameron R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best hands down

Reviewed on 10/05/2019

Cylance bridges the gap that other antivirus fail to. No more on demand scanning and periodic scanning of your PC. Cylance runs in the background like your PCs own personal security team. It is always scanning to make sure your completely protected at all times.

Pros

I like the fact that is does antivirus different from all of the rest. It makes you feel so much more protected than with other solutions. Because of this our computers are the most protected things in the office and it has prevented an unlimited number of attacks for us

Cons

There isnt anything I dislike about it this product

Sebastien E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Comprehensice enterprise protection

Reviewed on 23/05/2019

Pros

Seems very effective so far. I like being able to manage and monitor suspicious activity or whitelist for all the machines that I admin. Not too intrusive and resource friendly

Cons

Took a little while to tune in order to not block too many things. Some apps required help from support and took a few days to figure out why they were blocked.

David M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An antivirus solution that just works without getting in your way

Reviewed on 06/06/2018

A well protected workstation! No viruses, trojans, exploits, or other threats in the network I use at work.

Pros

CylanceProtect performs its work so silently you almost forget it is there. I have been using it for a year and have only got two warnings so far: one for an old file from a temp folder that had not been picked up by the previous antivirus, and a false positive (CCleaner.exe, oddly).

CylanceProtect features a "proactive defense" model, as opposed to the reactive one of other solutions, that pretty much "clean up the mess" once the damage is done.

With a proactive model, when it is working as intended, you just don't notice anything as threats are eliminated before they hit you. A welcome change of method after having used so many bloated, hit-or-miss antivirus solutions before.

So, in a nutshell, main pros: ease-of-use and efficacy.

Cons

Not much to dislike, except for the fact that it detected CCleaner as a threat by mistake. Guess it has to do with the way CCleaner works, with its far-reaching system tools. Perhaps Cylance does not want to share space with another system protection tool? Let's pretend it was just a false positive and nothing else.

Also, being an endpoint solution, some users might be put off by the way it installs over your corporate network. But I am sure that would be a small demographic anyway.

Todd M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Finally, a smart AV!

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

Cylance has done a much better job of protecting our endpoints than our previous AV. We didn't know how much better it was until we realized just how much malware was slipping through our previous AV. It also doesn't stress our endpoints like our previous AV did when it would run scans and make some of our endpoints become sluggish until the scan was done. Very efficient, very effective antivirus!

Pros

Cylance is simple to use and does a fantastic job of protecting our endpoints! The behavior-based engine is much more accurate and responsive than traditional signature-based antivirus. By taking a look at how an application acts, it can stop it from running without the need of a diffinition. The interface is easy to see what's going on on your endpoints. As well as make changes such as whitelisting applications or globally blocking a file.

Cons

WHen you first set it up in your environment you will need to whitelist many of your requred applications as they can get blocked at first run.

Aaron L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Antivirus

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

Keeping network and computers protected throughout

Pros

Easy to manage and have not seen as many infections come through. Keeps out a lot of unwanted programs out

Cons

It blocks a lot of admin tools and there are a lot of config settings on admin side but this also is useful

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great enterprise endpoint security solution

Reviewed on 27/05/2018

Pros

CylancePROTECT is cloud managed and eases the administration tasks when having hundreds or thousands of assets to configure/check.

Cons

There is nothing remarkable to say here at this moment. Maybe the notifications might be improved when something happens and needs your attention.

Kelly speers I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cylance Protect with Optics for security

Reviewed on 16/07/2019

we have been very impressed with Cylance and will continue to recommend and use.

Pros

The software is lightweight and does not bog the system down.

Cons

there was a bit of a learning curve but the support was great at helping us out.

Jasmina L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Antivirus

Reviewed on 18/12/2018

Allowed us to better protect network and computers from threats

Pros

It does not allow in many threats to network/computers if you deploy to all PC's

Cons

There are many settings to be configured when setting up admin side

Robert G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Effective, maybe a little too aggressive out of the box.

Reviewed on 22/09/2020

Our compliance team has been happy, and the coverage is comforting to the security management. It's proven effective (if a little overbearing) in our environment with fairly minimal disruption to end-users after some tuning.

Pros

Whitelisting stuff is fairly straightforward, it does appear to be a comprehensive "advanced anti-malware" solution. I appreciate the robust reporting available. The configuration capabilities are good, as we need them relatively frequently (see Cons)

Cons

Out of the box, there were a ton of false positives. It interfered with some MS Azure monitoring tools, SolarWinds, and decided to brick SQL Management Studio for a few users.

Christopher K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User review

Reviewed on 06/11/2018

Pros

utilizes minimal resources on my machine, easy to use to scan documents, install and maintenance is easy

Cons

sometimes hard to tell if it is working, sometimes it blocks needed software and it is pain to allow it through

Delys C.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

quiet in regards to the safety of my equipment

Reviewed on 25/06/2018

tranquility security and protection at low cost

Pros

ease at the time of download constant maintenance in security and protection of equipment protecting them from constant threats of viruses, accessible and competitive value

Cons

In fact, my experience has been of total satisfaction until now we have had the protection offered by the software without presenting any flaw

Joevanne V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Limited solution

Reviewed on 10/10/2017

Pros

Great machine learning capabilities that protect from some threats. This solution does a great job at using mathematic algorithms to protect.

Cons

The solution is limited in terms of the protection provided. They are building the solution to include items such as application whitelisting but it still needs work.

Diana B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

We do not have to worry about ransomware with this product anymore.

Reviewed on 27/06/2017

Pros

It will find 0 day threats and is cloud based, doesn't have to have to be connected to the internet.

Cons

Have not found a good way to distribute to non-domain users, other than that there are not any cons.

Ed A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cylance offers a bold new way to think about AV and malware protection. Amazing

Reviewed on 01/06/2017

Great approach and concept. No need to constant connection is great

Pros

I like that their is no need for regular connected updates of the software, av files or other data files. Great approach to protection.

Cons

It is hard to grasp that the Cylance approach is as effective as the traditional approach. Also, I have not seen the pricing model

John D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Small footprint anti-virus that works well against know threats and zero-day attacks as well.

Reviewed on 06/07/2018

Ease of use. Easy to manage from anywhere due to the cloud management interface. Report clients do not need to be connected to a corporate LAN to get updated setting changes.

Pros

Easy to install and manage from the cloud. Does not interfere with Internet connection like other antivirus program since they hook into the network. Is not overly bloated. Also, does not require constant updates in order to fight the latest viruses. Direct integration with SIEMs such as Splunk and Logrhythm.

Cons

Reported were recently revamped and a good degree of the filtering was removed. Reports are less userful. There is built in mechanism to deploy client software to all platforms. Silent install on Mac or Linux require writing a bash script in order to set enviroment variables for the installer instead of a packaged install. Would be nice if home product was included in the corporate license.

Lisa W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Endpoint protection with AI

Reviewed on 12/08/2019

Pros

Cylance is extremely easy to install and manage. It cannot be turned off or uninstalled by end users. Has protected us against malware that traditional AV would have missed.

Cons

Would like to see more reporting flexibility.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to implement, valuable endpoint security software

Reviewed on 15/01/2018

in times of ransomware and increasing security breaches, I have gained an additional bit of 'peace of mind' when it comes down to antivirus software and blocking zero-day attacks

Pros

being based on AI, there is not much to configure, which makes the setup quite easy and fast. THe endpoint client can be installed in visible or invisible mode. before implementing the product we did run a comparison test against another product we are using, one traditional signature-based antivirus scanner. we all know that AI as an advantage against traditonal antivirus, but i wanted to see it action. the results were excellent! Cylance stoppes all malware as expected. the other client only did stop a high percentage of it, but a few were left running.
Another thing I like: the product will need an update from time to time, but not as often as a traditional AV.

Cons

some features could be improved, e.g. notifications when actions are taken. I have been informed that Cylance is working on it.

Russ M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sleep Easy

Reviewed on 10/04/2019

Of all the end-point protection products that I have used or tested over the years this is by far the best. True zero day protection which is far superior to any of the definition based end-point products. People can debate whether or not it is true AI, but, I slept fine during Crypto-Locker and WannaCry scares knowing that I wasn't dependent on someone getting infected with a variant, a security team to reverse engineering it, and hoping my end-points got the new definition files in time. Easy installs, minor resource consumption, great visibility to administrators via portal.

Pros

Works incredibly well
minuscule resource consumption on end-points
no definition files
great administrator visibility

Cons

higher priced than some competitors
end-users can't initiate a scan

Eric C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

I have not had to lear in fear of Cryptolocker infections since we started using this

Reviewed on 17/05/2017

Pros

Easy to install and configure. We have not had any virus infections or ransom ware since we started using Cylance.

Cons

It's an AV client and we've all had problems with them, but this one has been pretty painless for us.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

No reports of virus infection since we use this. No more data wipe!!

Reviewed on 01/08/2018

No more virus infection.

Pros

I like the most on this software is the way it works. It runs as background task without affecting the desktop performance of our users.

Cons

There is nothing i can say about cons of this software for its performance. i think the cost is the best best cons due to it is a little bit pricey.

Douglas G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cylance works

Reviewed on 12/12/2018

Pros

This is a very light platform product in my experience.

Cons

I wish the user interface was a little easier to use.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quick Saves

Reviewed on 12/02/2019

Cylance is protecting all the end devices and servers.

Pros

Cylance starts working immediately. Given multiple infected computers and a cylance install we were able to retrieve necessary files and configurations before reimaging machines.

Cons

Sometimes it's too good at blocking. The program can block necessary executables. While these can be whitelisted, it really interrupts the workflow to stop and have to update the whitelist and then push it to all devices. A more comprehensive planning session before install might help.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Endpoint Security for the lone Sysadmin

Reviewed on 25/01/2019

Pros

Simple and easy installation and deployment, support was very helpful

Cons

Many features are only available with a premium package

Ross W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Leaves something to be desired

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Heuristic AV sounds good on the surface, but in practice it means way too many false positives which can be just as annoying as minor malware.

Pros

Lightweight, easy to deploy. Simple to configure, nice dashboard. Mac & Windows support helps cover all devices.

Cons

Lots of false positives, hasn't caught anything notable. Can be frustrating to always be managing the whitelist.

Tim Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Blackberry Protect

Reviewed on 09/12/2020

Cylance protect does a good job. It easy to use compared to carbon black and crowd strike. But the option are limited to comparing them But for a company building out a security team or that does not have a security team, it's a great tool.

Pros

THe ease of use and updating agent so seamless.

Cons

THe limited options compared to Carbon Black and Crowd Strike.