Bitdefender GravityZone

4.6 (153)
Security & risk analytics platform with threat intelligence

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(153)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support Software
4.3/5

153 reviews

Diego martin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A set of tools that keeps your data safe.

Reviewed on 02/07/2021

Bitdefender is a great tool that gives us confidence that our data is safe when our partners browse the internet and download large databases to work with. Its price is low compared to the benefits it provides.
I really recommend this product especially for SMEs and personal use.

Pros

The most valuable features that our team like are those related to the anonymous and safe browsing. Bitdefender is also easy to use and automatically reduce its resources usage when you are working.

Cons

I would really like this product was faster when analyze our systems. Usually it can take until 9 hours and this process has a great impact in our resources performance.

Reasons for Switching to Bitdefender GravityZone

I chose Bitdefender over other products because it is cheaper and its performance is high.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Anti Virus What/

Reviewed on 09/03/2020

Pros

I like bitdefender because the price is fair as compared to other anti-virus programs. and it use very little resources making your computer run a bit better. It use very little RAM memory, leaving you the rest to use for more memory intensive programs

Cons

I don't know what I like least about this program

Mantas J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in the market

Reviewed on 06/09/2019

If there might be any issues those will come out in the beginning. Once installed works like a charm and never had a problem with it.

Pros

Business version is reasonably easy to setup and deploy. Users do not see hundreds of notifications (which are annoying) and overall is really easy to monitor.
Total Security package is hands down easy to use and software does it all for you. Even on the phone it is securing you against all threats in the web.

Cons

Not always deployment tool works so have to use other methods (there are few) and so have to keep an eye if all devices have it installed (task have not failed).

Reasons for Choosing Bitdefender GravityZone

At a time ESET been missing couple tools and have been behind with building security patches against new malware.

Switched From

ESET Endpoint Security

Reasons for Switching to Bitdefender GravityZone

BitDefender was and still is "the best of the breed".
David I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A reliable antivirus

Reviewed on 21/08/2019

Experience was good overall great piece of software, the only super frustrating part was the installation after after having had installed a trial version of Bitdefender antivirus.

Pros

- It does not dramatically slow your system when performing updates.
- it comes with VPN.
- It has the anti ransomware.
- The interface is really easy to use.
- It detects viruses and gives you options on what to do with it.
- The password wallet is awesome you have all sorts of options in it to access your accounts with ease and security.
- You get 3 computers coverage with one payment or you can also use it on your phone.
- The safe pay feature is great for transactions and does not interfere with other SSL sites.

Cons

- The initial set up is confusing, especially if you used a trial version and you signed up with an email address.
- So you have to complete uninstall the trial version and install the paid version.

Alternatives Considered

AVG Antivirus Business Edition

Reasons for Choosing Bitdefender GravityZone

It was slowing my computer
Bill B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Import & Export
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good product, MSP integration could use some work

Reviewed on 09/04/2020

I have it as part of my MSP stack. Every Windows box gets it installed. Has never caused any problems, and have not had any malware outbreaks while using it. The GravityZone package allows multi-tenant management, but the reports aren't usable for customer-facing presentation.

Pros

One of the top tier security apps. Good performance. Unobtrusive. Can be deployed with policies or RMM tools. Reasonable cost.

Cons

For MSPs, the reporting is poor. Alerting on problems is very bad, there is no instant notification of discovered malware, just a daily report.

Alternatives Considered

Intercept X Endpoint
Daniel G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solid antivirus for your MSP business

Reviewed on 18/03/2021

Overall, this is a great product that is compatible with everything we throw on it, including Macs. It's fairly easy to deploy, although the automatic removal of old AV doesn't always work.

Pros

Bit Defender is easy to set up and deploy. You can create a couple of baseline policies, then clone them to customize them for other clients. If you change something in the original policy, it updates all of them so it's easy to manage your exceptions client-wide.

It also has great features such as internet blocking by category, blacklist or whitelist, as well as many modules such as an antiransomware "vaccine" which I have not seen anywhere else.

Cons

The hardest part of using this is the reporting. We haven't been able to integrate it with Autotask/Datto, so you need to actually log into the dashboard daily.

Chrysostomos V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A very robust security solution. Minimalist and clear interface covers everything you need. ...

Reviewed on 07/03/2018

This is a complete security solution for computers and servers. You get a very powerful but easy to use management console. The users are happy because of low demand resources. While still protected from one of the best product, the management effort and time was greatly reduced.

Pros

- Modern, well organized interface makes management very simple
- There are a lot of features but still easy to walk through
- The on premise deployment can manage road warriors
- Very powerful policies for different protection levels
- Web content filter, can scan SSL connections
- The agent can be configured for different levels of interaction with the user, including stealth activity
- The agent doesn't consume lot of resources. There are many protection options, and explicit anti ransomware option
- Includes patch management for the operating system and a set of popular applications including Office
- Includes disk encryption management
- Protects Windows (workstation & server), Mac and Linux
- There are very responsive product updates in line with the operating system requirements
- The antivirus engine is one of the best rated for many years consecutively
- Runs on Linux server, no license costs

Cons

- The best practice recommends using relays, which are dedicated clients for caching
- The relays are mandatory for patch management
- Complicated initial setup for patch management involving certificates
- The patch management module is very expensive, but sell separately

Dan O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Runs without Issue - Could Provide Better Controls

Reviewed on 11/09/2018

Pros

BitDefender does a great job at its core purpose: keeping my network safe from viruses and malware. It runs in the background and doesn't hog my CPU or memory like McAfee and Kaspersky has done in the past. I've been pleased with the GravityZone web interface and deployment options as well; and I really like the quickview dashboard giving me a birds-eye view of my current network status.

Cons

The individual use experience even for power users is a bit limited. While the product runs on my machine, I don't feel like I can do much more with is other than update the definitions or run a full scan. It is difficult to mark items as safe or to track what traffic is blocked in real-time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellence software for anti-viruses

Reviewed on 26/12/2018

Pros

Bit defender is a virus guard which helps to protect the computers from number of viruses that attacks the computers. It protects the computer not only from viruses but it also protects the computers from spyware and phishing scams too.

One of the main advantages of bit defender is while the defender is running it does not make the computer slow. Bit defender runs as a background process so it does not affect the cpu or the memory. That’s why running bit defender does not cause slowness in computer .

Bit defender has the capability of scanning all the web sites and emails that a user may use. It reduces the chance of virus attacks.

It is easy to install bit defender .All you have to do is just follow the instructions given. Users does not need expertise to do all these.

It supports most of the platforms like Linux, mac and windows.

Cons

One of the main disadvantages of bit defender is sometimes it does not work well in long terms.

Armando I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complete security suite

Reviewed on 23/09/2021

In General I feel safe as an administrator and user. In the event of any attack, I am certain that it will be identified by Bitdefender and blocked.

Pros

With Bitdefender I can manage all the computers on my network and provide the necessary security. Comply with the policies of access to company resources and ensure the information as well as foresee the loss of data. Forense Inspection its a very usefull module.

Cons

Sometimes the maintenance of the equipment is usually tedious, the browser becomes slow and I have to generate custom reports continuously.

Giorgio D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Not for a SOC but very good coverage of Microsoft Windows endpoint threats

Reviewed on 08/09/2021

Pros

Good malware and advanced threat detections (non signature-based techniques, fileless protection, sandbox analyzer, network attack defense with the eXtended EDR, etc.). Multi-tenancy options, APIs advanced integration with several SIEM platforms (we tested the integration with Sumo Logic). The attractive price point (if compared to other EDR vendors).

Cons

The Linux coverage is less than optimal. Some tests failed and the attacks were not detected by the BEST agents or reported to the GravityZone web console. The problem is due to the strong kernel dependency of the agent. Limited interaction with the remote endpoint with the remote shell (a very small number of commands and functions are supported, if compared to other solutions more SOC oriented). Limited custom blocking rules (e.g., YARA support), and guided investigation.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The lightest security agent you can find.

Reviewed on 24/10/2018

I have been using this software for years, both personally and in enterprise environments, and it's performance has only improved with time. We have top notch protection against viruses, spam, Trojans, etc. and never have a complaint from any user that has the agent installed in their machines.

Pros

It offers really great security for your computers and network environment. And on top of that, it's extremely light on resource consumption, you will never notice is there and it won't slow you down in the slightest.

Cons

I can honestly not think of a single negative thing to say about it.

Kyle K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bitdefender is a great antivirus

Reviewed on 10/04/2018

Pros

There is a free version. You are able to see each computer that you've installed this on in your bitdefender account dashboard. It has great detection. It works with the software at the office that is used to monitor employees by enabling exceptions in the antivirus.

Cons

Some times there are issues getting updates and there is an error message that will pop up repeatedly. Some times rebooting fixes it, some times you have to uninstall and reinstall it.

Remus S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

It's one of the best, if not the best!

Reviewed on 26/06/2018

Pros

I have been using Bitdefender for a very long time. In fact, it is the only antivirus solution that I have ever used. It has evolved so much... It is both complex and easy to use. What I like most about it is that it does its job silently. Literally, you just install it and then forget all about it!

Cons

Technical support is no longer what it used to be. I mean, a fortnight can go by before someone notices you.

Anghelus A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Real security solution

Reviewed on 14/01/2021

Pros

Easy setup.
Good malware detection.
Impressive response on suspicious activities on end points.

Cons

No cons. Working with pain versions everything is ok.

Parisa V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good and useful security solution though client dashboard could use some updates

Reviewed on 25/05/2018

Bitdefender has simple, intuitive malware detection and system scanning.

Pros

Bitdefender does a good job protecting my systems. The user interface is pleasant and it's simple to use and seems to provide accurate malware detection.

Cons

I don't like the client portal and find that accessing it is cumbersome and it's not intuitive in the slightest.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I really hate this software in a good way!!!

Reviewed on 30/08/2018

Pros

i hate this software since I work on a private company and they installed this and got control on the websites that we can access. it's really good kind of software block unwanted sites.

Cons

it sucks to not able to access third party websites!!

Austin N.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

I used BDGZ for about a year with my last laptop as the primary security software.

Reviewed on 15/03/2018

Pros

The software did a great job securing my PC and it's files. Automated file scans and immediate notifications if anything needed attention was a big stress reliever.

Cons

Occasionally my PC would say the software's firewall was disabled but the program itself said it was enabled, so that was confusing. Thankfully I got the issue resolved with customer service and it was no longer an issue. Good product!

Juan angel A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Av i have used

Reviewed on 19/12/2018

Pros

This is the Best AV i have used its really fast to detect day 1 Virus, nice GUI and UX

Cons

Pricing is a Bit Stiff, but at least it give you 5 devices

Cam P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Go to for computer AV

Reviewed on 14/02/2018

Pros

We switched from Symantec to Bitdefender and we are very happy, i believe we are getting a better product for less money.

Cons

What they allow you to control as far as rules and what not goes need to be more robust. Web blocking and extension handling need some work.

Tamika B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Great Protector!

Reviewed on 27/10/2019

This security protector gives a company peace of mind knowing that viruses cannot attack your computers and hackers cannot get into sensitive data.

Pros

I like the robust coverage that this software gives against hacking, malware, phishing, and possible intrusions.

Cons

This virus protector has given our company robust coverage in so much that I truly cannot list any cons. It delivers on what it says it will do!

Saurav C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

provides good protection

Reviewed on 23/09/2019

Downloading climate data online and preparing materials and modules for lectures for which I do a lot of research online

Pros

It has very good malware protection and I could perform the scans comparatively quickly compared to some other anti viruses I have used

Cons

I have not come across anything that I would consider to be a strong negative but I felt the Malware detection could improve

Shady B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best

Reviewed on 04/08/2019

Great security, worth the money.

Pros

It doesn't slow my computer like norton did, and it is great in realtime protection.

Cons

Nothing in the software itself, however the interface could be refined.

Luca C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An excellent "all-in-one" product!

Reviewed on 30/07/2019

Pros

Excellent anti-virus and good, very efficient VPN.

Cons

There are quite a few menus and can get a bit lost...could be done a bit more user friendly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

I use Bitdefender as antivirus software.

Reviewed on 30/03/2018

Pros

I like that Bitdefender has a lot of features that are available and you can choose what you need from their offerings.

Cons

Bitdefender can be a bit hard to set up, but they do have good customer support once you figure out how to get a hold of them.