Kapwing

4.5 (126)
Collaborative Video Editing

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(126)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support Software
4.3/5

90%
recommended this app

126 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best free video making and editing software out there

Reviewed on 28/09/2021

Kapwing makes video creation a breeze and an enjoyable process. You can get lose in your creativity over there as it has nearly every features you could ever want. There is no need to roam around the web looking for stock footage, all are incorporated in the platform.

Pros

Kapwing is very easy to get used to and very easy to work with. The drag and drop features as well as the thousands of available stock footage on the platform makes video making a breeze.

Cons

The platform distorted and messed up a few of my first videos but soon enough I've realized that it was my fault instead. With a slow and crappy internet connection, the platform will lag and mess up videos. You need to ensure you have a good internet connection beforehand, then it works perfectly.

Geoff H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wonderful resource

Reviewed on 29/04/2020

Brilliant. There was a problem with the online conversion to create the downloadable version. Ugh. It probably wasn't even an issue that originated with Kapwing's server...these technical glitches happen for all sorts of reasons. I did initially feel that I might have lost absolutely everything. But I sent a note to Kapwing and had a delightful response almost immediately. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] had resurrected my file, converted it for download, and it was ready for me to use. That was, to me, a 10 out of 10 customer experience. I take my hat off to the company and its software.

Pros

I had a video project underway and I required text on top of the moving images. I first tried the Kapwing option and I was so impressed I didn't need to switch over to an alternative. I didn't need to read a manual - the software was intuitive and everything worked very smoothly. The end result was very visually pleasing and had complete accuracy in the intended transition points, text size, colour and placement. I was thrilled.

Cons

I had no issues whatsoever, and nothing came to mind regarding additional features to request.

Maria R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So Grateful!

Reviewed on 24/03/2020

I am very grateful for Kapwing because I'm a teacher that is now doing e-Learning in response to COVID-19. This site helps me to make succinct and usable videos to teach my students. I look forward to getting more familiar with the software so that I can do even more to help my children continue to learn. Thank you so much!!

Pros

Unlike other free online video software that I've used, I was able to cut material in the middle of the video and not just at either end. I also love the up and down arrow function to indicate the exact moment in the video to make an edit. It allows me to be very accurate.

Cons

Once I clicked "done" after editing and watched the video, I wanted to make a couple changes. But it took me a long time to figure out how to get back to the editing page. After trying several buttons, I realized I needed to go to "trimmed" under the "video" title. It also might be helpful to put a title over a button when your mouse hovers over it. I'm not sure what "expand padding" means or what some of the picture icons do. If there's a one or two word explanation that pops up, that would be helpful. Also, the YouTube to Mp3 converter that your website links to sometimes opens up a pornography webpage.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A suite of handy video editing tools

Reviewed on 08/08/2019

easy to use; highly recommended.

Pros

As a user, I'd like to thank Kapwing for providing many of their tools free of charge. In the past I needed to pay to get watermark-free downloads. It has become free recently. The tools are classified into tasks that people commonly need to fix their videos, e.g, video crop, resize, looping and so on. The tools are very easy to use and intuitive.

Cons

As being design for ease of use by amateurs, the downside is that sometimes you may have to run through a couple of different tools individually to achieve what you need.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The easiest and fastest way to produce great videos!

Reviewed on 20/12/2018

Seriously love kapwing. been a customer for years now and they are constantly innovating. and the value you get for you money is unbeatable.

Pros

- super easy to use
- many many features
- no editing skills required
- produce content for all plattforms

Cons

- you have to download and reupload your video if you want to use multiple tools.

Carolina I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love this app

Reviewed on 13/09/2021

It is a very friend;y app, very intuitive.

Pros

All the Pros. It is very friendly and easy to use.

Cons

I like everything about this app. I couldn't give you an answer for this

Karolina T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great transcription tool

Reviewed on 19/06/2020

I used Kapwing mostly for transcribing movies that I needed to translate to my native language from English for a project. It performed great and I had no troubles using it even though it was my first time using similar software. I also had great experience with the customer service team, they resolved my problem very quickly. Overall I am sure that I will come back to Kapwing whenever I will be in need of beginner friendly video editor!

Pros

Ease of use, friendly UI and UX, overall functionality, amazing customer service.

Cons

I didn’t really like the use of sliders to adjust subtitles frames, I feel like simple typing the times or frames would be more convenient

Eva D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

I paid for this?

Reviewed on 24/07/2020

Pros

It's not difficult to use. I don't think they killed any animals while making it.

Cons

After working all night on a video, it disappeared. I contacted support and have not received a response (48 hrs later). All the work you do through this app is dependent on your internet connection and THEIR internet connection. I tested mine, and it was perfect. Their connection often cuts out, and all YOUR work disappears. You'd think after saving each individual cut before continuing would be enough for it to exist somewhere where it can be retrieved by their workers, but nope. You're just screwed. You just stay up till 6am finishing editing to lose it all and have nothing. Then they ignore you when you ask for help. Talk about adding insult to injury! And this is for the paid service!!! Glad I only paid for a month and can cancel.

Federica B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The subtitler I've been looking for

Reviewed on 11/02/2020

I'm very happy with Kapwing and I have been promoting it during my training sessions on podcasting.

Pros

Ease of use. Fast. Does exactly what I need in a neat way.

Cons

One feature was missing (locking two time sliders together), I reported it to the developing team and they said they will work on it. Nothing else.

Mark S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use video editing

Reviewed on 12/09/2021

Just trying to learn how to edit surgical videos

Pros

Easy to Use Intuitive ... I use Pro Tools for music editing and recording and I am used to these sorts of processes

Cons

Needs "save changes" "undo" and other options with a drop down FILE and EDIT menu

Parthi L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

We made a video for our landing page in 5 mins flat

Reviewed on 11/02/2020

Pros

Easy to setup. No installation required. Purpose-built for your most common editing needs. Adobe products are overkill and too expensive for most things you need to do. For large companies, Kapwing will get you far. Don't spend on expensive Adobe licenses.

Cons

Not as full-featured or flexible as Adobe After Effects for the video editing I wanted to do but makes up for it in ease of use and directed functionality

Gena G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

amazing platform!!!!

Reviewed on 05/10/2021

Was long but once I got the hang of it, great!

Pros

The easy use of it! I was so surprised that the basic version was free!

Cons

The first time I made the video it glitched but then the second time it was perfect!

Naincy C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy and very user-friendly

Reviewed on 16/12/2020

Amazing :)

Pros

Very very easy to use. All the features you wish to have in a video editing software.

Cons

I sued it for basic video-making purposes and it was just perfect. So don't have any negative points at this movement

Daniel putra P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free Trial Review

Reviewed on 28/09/2021

Pros

I like that I can remove the watermark which no free software provides

Cons

none? pretty satisfied with everything. I do simple video creation hence there's nothing I dislike

Sheryl P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Repurposing on steroids!

Reviewed on 02/01/2019

Branding is a key component to not only my own content marketing strategy, but what I teach my students. Kapwing is helping our company create more branded content that generates more video views, engagement and brand awareness.

Pros

I love that you can create a core video and repurpose it for a variety of different social media platforms.

Cons

Would love if there was a mobile app. I think there’s one in the works?

Jacinta C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great instructions

Reviewed on 16/09/2021

Pros

Ease of use, excellent instructions on how to use the software to achieve my objective.

Cons

Not sure yet, need to use the software longer.

Megan F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Kapwing

Reviewed on 25/02/2019

Pros

This program allows everyone on our team to do basic video edits - things like reformatting a video for Instagram that would usually take longer and be delegated to someone with other things to do can easily be achieved by everyone.

Cons

I understand the need for it to be a paid service, but I wish there were more watermark-free free services.

Jarmila O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy-to-use software to edit your videos

Reviewed on 06/05/2021

I'm very happy I found this program and I will keep using it.

Pros

It's easy to navigate, it auto-generates your subtitles which is a huge time saver. You can select any language you want.

Cons

The free version doesn't allow you to edit your previously edited videos if they've been uploaded in your workspace for more than 1 week.

Sohaib N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Video Editing and Making Experience with Kapwing

Reviewed on 18/09/2021

Overall awesome experience so far!

Pros

Kapwing made my job very valuable as it helped a great deal in designing videos.

Cons

I have been using Kapwing for 2 months now and I have not notes any cons so far!

Femi P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 13/09/2021

Easy

Pros

Drag and drop feature makes it easy for me to move around

Cons

not enough wavelength to choose from. I didn't really go through the template section to know if they are enough templates to choose from

Jon M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Go To Tool for Content Creation

Reviewed on 11/02/2020

Pros

Ease of use to edit images or create a GIF for our marketing efforts

Cons

Still figuring out all the amazing use cases for Kapwing

Ben S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kapwing

Reviewed on 12/09/2021

Pros

The erase feature is excellent for makng an image background trnsparent

Cons

not being able to edit the color of an uploaded image

E ching N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wow that was easy

Reviewed on 23/09/2021

Pros

I wanted to find out what a video looked like in reverse ([SENSITIVE CONTENT] 2017 mashup in reverse). Kapwing made it ridiculously easy.

Cons

Filling out this survey. I am a one-off user so the questions really don't apply.

Austin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

good product

Reviewed on 26/09/2021

not a bad experience

Pros

its very easy to use, as a first time user i was able to use it easily

Cons

i had to make a review for my product to download

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Used Free Trial

Reviewed on 29/09/2021

Excellent

Pros

Very easy to use, for a non technical person. Solved my proble immeditely

Cons

Has a lot of features I don´t know how to use.