QuickBooks Desktop Pro Reviews

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

4.4 (1,963)
Billing, Invoicing, and Work Order Management

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(1,963)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support Software
3.9/5
Sort by

1963 Reviews

Randy
Randy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

QuickBookds Desktop Pro is a winner

Reviewed on 17/12/2021

Have used and supported QB Desktop Pro and all its other flavors successfully for over 20 years

Have used and supported QB Desktop Pro and all its other flavors successfully for over 20 years

Pros

Industry standard for easy of use accounting software; easy to implement; many useful and essential features

Cons

Inexperienced users without proper training can Quick(ly screw up your)Books

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

QuickBooks Desktop the elephant in the room

Reviewed on 28/11/2023

It works and a lot of people know it. You can get yourself into more trouble than with some...

It works and a lot of people know it. You can get yourself into more trouble than with some similarly priced products, but the are not as easy to use.

Pros

Easy to use and learn and a lot of people know it.

Cons

Technical support is not the best and it should be a lot better.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Desktop Pro

No longer supported by manufacturer (Sage) and not very many experts out there.

Switched From

Sage 50cloud Accounting

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

We are still suspicious of the cloud and our internet is not 100% up.
Michael
Overall rating
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Quickbooks Desktop is still the Goto bookkeeping software

Reviewed on 05/06/2018

Probably the last remaining bookkeeping software in the bookkeeping industry from the older years...

Probably the last remaining bookkeeping software in the bookkeeping industry from the older years though many online bookkeeping services are available, hence Intuit is pushing QB Online version instead of the desktop version which is Superior in functionality but not access for obvious reasons.

People MUST LEARN how to use QB PROPERLY to avoid MANY issues caused by the users themselves who are too lazy to learn and to use. Do NOT blame the QB or tax professionals that are hired to fix the QB owners messes!

Pros

Relatively simple to use especially if you're on the cash basis of accounting.
Can delete many entries.

Cons

Accrual basis can be confusing, if not difficult, especially when you use invoices/receipts since you have to 'link' them to when you actually pay the invoices or receive payment, which many people do NOT, which causes the problems!
Do NOT use 'Undeposited Funds', EVER! Just deposit the receipts! Many people do NOT clear/reconcile the 'Undeposited Funds' account which causes LOTS of problems!
QB Owners REFUSE to learn how to use the software properly hence the large amount of Errors because many don't know how to use the software and do NOT know basic bookkeeping concepts/usage!
Intuit is making Older QB versions Obsolete every ~3 years by dropping support and updates.
AVOID QB payroll unless you KNOW what you're doing! Otherwise, pay an external payroll company to do your payroll! THIS is especially true when benefits are added!

Saiyuri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reviewed on 29/12/2023

Pros

How easy it is to use and how quick it is to do invoices and billing.

Cons

So far there isn't any cons to QuickBooks as I love everything about it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quickbooks Desktop Pro- A Powerful Accounting Software

Reviewed on 20/06/2021

It provides the ability to easily customize customers' data, invoices, and reports. It integrates...

It provides the ability to easily customize customers' data, invoices, and reports. It integrates well with third-party applications. Exporting transactions from the bank and importing them into the software makes monthly reconciliation easy. Auditing the books is easy as there is a chronological tracking of transactions affecting each item. Whereas Quickbooks Desktop Pro is a powerful, affordable software with great features and is less costly to run, we had to switch to Quickbooks online which is cloud-based, has more automation and integrations with third-party applications. Quickbooks Online is also more user-friendly.
In my experience, choosing between Quickbooks Desktop Pro and Quickbooks Online is more about the organization's preferences and needs, and less about which one is better than the other.

Pros

It is powerful accounting software that is ideal for well-established organizations that have been in business for a while. It is great for bookkeeping and very helpful when it comes to filing taxes at the end of the financial year. It does not require frequent upgrades unless there are changes that affect a specific feature. It is great for generating various reports, setting up recurring invoices, and processing payroll.

Cons

It has a steep learning curve in the initial stages and requires some accounting knowledge. It is locally installed, therefore, inaccessible while on the move, and if you choose to have it hosted virtually, that comes at an additional cost.
Customer support isn't as great as we expected and issues take very long to resolve.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

A number of accountants highly recommended it.
Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

One of the best desktop software solutions

Reviewed on 08/09/2023

It is a great piece of software, although online software is slowly but surely taking over the...

It is a great piece of software, although online software is slowly but surely taking over the industry

Pros

Great reporting features, allowing for customised reports on various multi-levels of reporting with different classes, tags etc.

Cons

Need to do regular backups of the data, updates of the software and data from later versions not compatible with earlier versions of the software

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Desktop Pro

To have better reports for a construction company

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

It was a great product with all the needed features
Timothy
Timothy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Quirky but effective

Reviewed on 23/09/2020

I am putting up with it since it is already payed for. This might work for most people and...

I am putting up with it since it is already payed for. This might work for most people and companies but I realized that I probabrally will just need to develop my own so that it can do all the things that I actually need it to do.

Pros

The software integrates well with PayPal and can import all of my line transactions which is nice. There is basically a report for everything. I like how the software will not let you enter incorrect information (double-sided accounting entries must match).

Cons

The cost is expensive. Even more so if you want to be able to use the online version. The license will only let you use on one computer. It is customizable to a point but really doesn't allow me to do exactly what I need to easily. I always have to find work arounds. It takes forever to load and uses a lot of resources.

kelly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Quickbook is the best

Reviewed on 03/04/2024

Pros

I enjoy using quickbooks pro because of how Easy it is.to look up projects

Cons

Ive noticed that some of the features changed without being notified
This took me a while to figure out how to use the new features

Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Small company

Reviewed on 04/04/2024

The product does everything I need and more.
I would continue to buy it, except I do not want to...

The product does everything I need and more.
I would continue to buy it, except I do not want to use an on-line version.

Pros

Does everything I want as a 1 man company.

Cons

They got greedy, and went to a on-line version.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good product

Reviewed on 15/04/2024

Pros

Pretty easy to use for the most part for what I need, just general accounting.

Cons

I can't log in as my account and see the changes I have made in our main administrative account.

Alan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The investment is worth the time and convience

Reviewed on 27/10/2020

Regardless overall, as a small business owner or not the utilization of using QuickBooks especially...

Regardless overall, as a small business owner or not the utilization of using QuickBooks especially for a financial software is very easy to use. It has all the basics pretty much could anything I need on it. I haven't had an issue with QuickBooks I just recommend certain things like higher security as such.

Pros

The easy of use, not complicated at all to utilize. it's also good with third-party applications and integrations, makes it much more easier. Price wise it is affordable since I would say it's worth the money it's for. It also has a very large support Network. Personally best software to keep financial records, especially for small businesses

Cons

The security on it does lack, there isn't a two-step authentication. And there was a limitation to the number of products in the list especially for inventory purposes. There are also file size issues that need to be addressed, and personally I also believe there needs to be more utilization into e-commerce.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Desktop Pro

It was okay but it lacked in features that QuickBooks had that wave didn't.

Switched From

Wave

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

QuickBooks is a big name already and I've been recommended by colleagues to use overall I'm very satisfied my complaints are very minor about it. I wouldn't switch
Toshia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

QuickBooks

Reviewed on 22/11/2023

It was ok i used it for about nine years and only used about fifty percent of the features.

It was ok i used it for about nine years and only used about fifty percent of the features.

Pros

It was very convenient being able to use multiple business on the same software.

Cons

The set up was confusing and hard to customize for beginners.

Alternatives Considered

MyTAXPrepOffice

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Desktop Pro

I was tired of trying to figure out how to use all the settings

Switched From

Personalize

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Recommendation of another person told me it was good.
Jeanette
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

QuickBooks - Simple & Effective

Reviewed on 01/10/2021

Of all the accounting programs I have used, I have found QuickBooks to be the most user friendly no...

Of all the accounting programs I have used, I have found QuickBooks to be the most user friendly no matter what your level of eduction.

Pros

As an accountant I appreciate how customizable QuickBooks is. Sometimes you need to be able to make changes to entries that some programs would not allow you to (ie. customize sales tax amounts) but there is the option with this program. There is also a certain level of control that can be set to ensure accidental errors do not occur (ie. pop-ups) which comes in handy for those with less accounting knowledge.

Cons

Often you get out of it what you put into it. Since so many of the fields are optional (invoice #, memo, description, name, etc.) it is possible to make entries with so little data that it is difficult to determine what they were for when looking back to them. You really have to make sure if you have multiple users that everyone is recording entries with sufficient detail that it is clear what each entry is for.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

With QuickBooks desktop it is easy to have multiple windows open (ie. balance sheet, income statement, customer window, & and invoice) but with QuickBooks Online, while you can have tabs, it is not as easy or smooth to transition between multiple screens.
Warren
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quickbooks - Stable and easy to use

Reviewed on 15/01/2023

Our migration to QuickBooks was very smooth, mainly down to the simple layout within the software....

Our migration to QuickBooks was very smooth, mainly down to the simple layout within the software. Anyone can be easily trained to use it quickly.

Pros

The favorite part for us and our accounts tram, is the ease of the GUI and layout. It's incredibly simple to navigate the different areas of the software and quick to get to where you need to.

Cons

The website does offer support when you need it, but its not the most intuitive. When we have had problems or questions, the telephone support is fantastic.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Business One

Reasons for Choosing QuickBooks Desktop Pro

We wanted to move to a non Microsoft 365 product, and read the reviews on QuickBooks and was thoroughly impressed.

Switched From

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

QuickBooks was more well known by accountants that w spoke to.
Keith
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Find something else

Reviewed on 10/06/2021

I'd rather have cancer

I'd rather have cancer

Pros

Its ok when it works. We have several compaines within QB and for the most part it does what we need, its when you have an issue though is where you better buckle up and start practicing meditation.

Cons

Absolute 0 support. Wait times for support are usually several hours and we've had issues drag on unresolved for weeks. If you manage to get a hold of them and don't get disconnected, the techs will recommend the same fix as the other agents you speak with ( even though they didn't fix the issue the previous 15 attempts), and when they cant solve it, they typically just end the call. Getting a ticket escalated is next to impossible. Of the many software companies I have dealt with, Quickbooks support is by far and away the worst.

Alternatives Considered

FreshBooks

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Big name - poor decision on our end ultimately
Leigh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quickbooks is great for small business!!!

Reviewed on 19/06/2023

I was a die hard Peachtree user for years and really did not care for Quickbooks but it seems that...

I was a die hard Peachtree user for years and really did not care for Quickbooks but it seems that now Quickbooks has changed some of its processes and it's much more advanced and I have been very happy with it.

Pros

Very user friendly and daily reports are only a few clicks away

Cons

There are a couple of things that I wish could be upgraded for instance it would be great if we could receive a credit against a PO and if there were more than (2) bank account options for direct deposit in payroll.

Alternatives Considered

Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Easier to use and the main reason was being able to use Cash and Accrual accounting methods!!
Johnny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Very Functional, but Complicated; With Irritating Pop Up Ads

Reviewed on 14/05/2021

Overall it's positive, and the software is very powerful. Even after two years (and a degree is...

Overall it's positive, and the software is very powerful. Even after two years (and a degree is computer science), I am still learning things with it. The bank export to QuickBoosk import feature most banks offer has saved me many hours of time doing monthly accounting, that alone makes it work it. The pop up ads on start up (which slow down my PC even more than the software otherwise would) are very very frustrating.

Pros

This software is very full featured. I use it for a few businesses; residential and storage unit rentals. The software has can do most everything that you would want it to do for this type of business. There's great features for setting up recurring invoices for tenants, generating all types of reports to track how your rentals are performing, and the PayRoll add on is very helpful for paying employees and dealing with quarterly and annual taxes. One very huge pro is that most banks allow you to export transactions from the bank website software into QuickBooks format, and then you can import them into QB. This saves me tons of time as I have many transactions related to the self storage business, and it makes monthly account reconciliation much much easier.

Cons

There's a steep learning curve here. Many of the features and options are not intuitive at all (ironic since the company that owns this software is named Intuit). I used simple spreadsheets before this, I'm very computer oriented, and I still don't use many of the features available in this software after a few years. I switched at the recommendation of my accountant, and a steep discount in my annual tax preparation costs. There's just so much to learn here! There are tons of web tutorials available to learn things, but you have to be aware of a feature in order to know that you can use it. If you have someone that can show you the ropes, or you're willing to dig in and learn, then I recommend this software. The only major complaint that I have about it is the pop up advertisements. When you start the software, you frequently get pop up ads. This is super irritating, and it doesn't seem to matter if you click the 'Don't show this again' button. I've already bought your software, STOP SPAMMING ME!

Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A solid solution for small business accounting, if you can get past some of the issues

Reviewed on 12/05/2022

We are a small business that has had 3-4 users with QuickBooks Pro since 1997, adding Payroll in...

We are a small business that has had 3-4 users with QuickBooks Pro since 1997, adding Payroll in the early 2000s. Several years back, they changed licensing and started preventing us from getting the 4 users that we needed. In order to get past this, I had to jump through hoops via an annual phone marathon, speaking to multiple (usually 4-5 tech reps) to get the licenses updated and sorted out. This year, they forced us to move to the next level up, which they promised would eliminate this -- but now they charge us $2.20 monthly per employee for Payroll, which we had already paid for in the previous package. It just seems that they want to nickle and die you to death, and their support people are not always that helpful when problems arise.

So why do I stay? Simply put, the software works, and it works quite well. Our 4-node network has had no problems keeping up with the size of the data, and our system still contains all of the data since 1997 -- and it performs perfectly. (Some reports can be slow from time to time, but only if you are running "All-time sales" reports or similar that have to look at lots of data. Otherwise, the system simply screams and does exactly what it needs to do. Our automation interfaces (using QODBC and simple VBScript scripts) reduce the workload for invoicing considerably, eliminating the need to hire another full-time position -- so it is still a worthwhile aggravation.

Pros

We have been using QuickBooks since 1997, and the product has certainly changed over the years, but it has remained very intuitive to learn and use over all of this time. More importantly, we have been able to automate large portions of our business using scripting and QODBC (which is a separate add-on that REALLY should be included) to streamline order processing and fulfillment.

Cons

The biggest downsides are stupid things within the user interface. Intuit likes to add advertising for upgrades right into the main menu bar. This breaks automation scripts relying on mouse clicks. Even if you remove the button again manually, it re-appears with the next system update, breaking your automation again. The other thing they do is present pop-ups on our database server via modal dialog boxes, further breaking the automation until someone actually logs onto the server and clicks OK to close the dialog box.

Dawit
Dawit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Efficient and Reliable: How QuickBooks Desktop Pro Transformed Our Financial Management

Reviewed on 16/06/2023

our experience with QuickBooks Desktop Pro as an IT company has been exceptional. The software has...

our experience with QuickBooks Desktop Pro as an IT company has been exceptional. The software has addressed critical business problems related to financial management, including streamlining processes, generating accurate reports, facilitating efficient invoicing and billing, enabling effective expense tracking, simplifying payroll management, enhancing financial security, and supporting our company's growth.

Pros

We have been using QuickBooks Desktop Pro for our financial management needs, and we have been highly impressedOne of the things we liked most about QuickBooks Desktop Pro is its user-friendly interface. The software is designed with a clean and intuitive layout, making it easy for our team to navigate and access the various featuresQuickBooks Desktop Pro has been an invaluable tool for our IT company. Its user-friendly interface, comprehensive financial tools, customizable reporting, seamless integration, data security, scalability, and the wider QuickBooks ecosystem have all contributed to our positive experience

Cons

while we found QuickBooks Desktop Pro to be an excellent financial management solution, there were a few aspects that we liked least about the software.While QuickBooks Desktop Pro offers a user-friendly interface, we found that there is a learning curve associated with mastering the software's functionalities.QuickBooks Desktop Pro has a mobile app, but its functionality is limited compared to the desktop version.Despite these minor drawbacks, QuickBooks Desktop Pro remains a powerful financial management tool that has greatly benefited our IT company

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

My 2nd Try At a Bookkeeping Software

Reviewed on 20/11/2020

I didn't need a Bookkeeping program, I had a business account, deposited all my receipts from the...

I didn't need a Bookkeeping program, I had a business account, deposited all my receipts from the business into that account. I paid all my business bills from that account. The BANK did my books! We moved back to Wisconsin in '98 where I had to collect sales tax. So I got a Bookkeeping program to keep track of my sales tax.

Pros

It did what I needed it to do, kept track of my sales tax for the State and up to 8 Counties I serve. Due to it being installed on my desktop it was programed with the tax regulations for my state of Wisconsin. When it's time to file the sales tax you have to have the complete sales for the year and the complete sales number of non-taxable sales. QB Desktop Pro always had those numbers ready for me.

Cons

I had no one to teach me, I was figuring it out as I went along, so I didn't get some of the vendors put in correctly at first. I had to re-work parts of it for income tax time and I never did figure out how to connect my bank.

Beverly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A good accounting program for beginners and advanced users

Reviewed on 24/08/2022

I think QB Desktop Pro is good for beginners as well as those who have a little experience. You...

I think QB Desktop Pro is good for beginners as well as those who have a little experience. You can use what features you need and ignore the rest. It's easy to find answers to your questions if you have questions. Plus it really is pretty much a standard in accounting software.

Pros

I think what I love the most is the customer service. I am a self-taught bookkeeper so I learn as I go. This was VERY easy to use from the beginning. As time has gone by, if I need to do something that I've done before, I can do a search on-line and most of this get an answer that steers me in the right direction. If I still can't figure it out, I talk to customer support and they are very good at walking you through your problem. Let's face it - things happen! They are always there with no exception within just a couple of minutes.

Cons

For the most part, QB does a decent job with all aspects of the software. I did have a hard time understanding that deposits needed to go through the "receive payments". I had a pretty good mess at first. But I don't blame that onto QB. It was just one aspect of accounting that I didn't understand at first. I know Intuit is trying to push everyone to QB online but I'm not comfortable with it myself. Last I checked, you weren't allowed to make a copy of your file and store it on your computer. I realize Intuit thinks all that information is stored safe in the cloud but I can think of a million scenarios where that information could be lost or stolen. I refuse to allow myself to believe all will be well just because they say it will be.

Genevieve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great accounting software

Reviewed on 29/08/2018

The overall experience has been great. QB helps keep our financials well organized, and I would...

The overall experience has been great. QB helps keep our financials well organized, and I would definitely recommend this software to anyone, small business or large.

Pros

QB Desktop Pro is great accounting software for a small business. It is easy to navigate and there is no shortage of options to customize it to make it work just right for your business. If you ever want to know how to perform a certain task in QB, I've found that a quick Google search will yield very helpful results, and it always ends up being very easy and intuitive.

Cons

With my particular version (QB Desktop Pro 2017), the program crashes when switching between companies. You have to fully close out of one company, wait for the automatic backup to complete (if applicable), and only then enter your password for the next company and login. Even then it still sometimes closes out. If like me you only have two companies (or one!) and you rarely switch between them then it's not a big deal, but it would be very frustrating if you're switching between multiple companies many times a day.

Response from Intuit

I'll exhaust my resources to ensure you can seamlessly switch between companies, Genevieve. When it comes to crashes of any type, a great place to start is with this Community-hosted overview: community.intuit.com/articles/1460106. It tackles causes of a crash, as well as solutions.

While I always suggest making backups to safeguard against data loss (community.intuit.com/articles/1460106), I also encourage you to explore the Community space a bit more. Search for any specific error codes you may see before the system closes out, as this multi-function Q&A space is a comprehensive troubleshooting database with fixes penned by the engineers themselves.

Have a lovely weekend ahead, and keep up the great work at San Diego Vacation Rentals and Realty Consultants!

Jess, The QuickBooks Team

Carolyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

QuickBooks Pro Review for Small Business Owner

Reviewed on 12/04/2017

I use QuickBooks Pro to manage my independent consulting company and selected the monthly subscripti...

I use QuickBooks Pro to manage my independent consulting company and selected the monthly subscription option. This has proven to be a very good decision for me, making what could be a very painful process much less onerous.

When you initially log in, you are greeted with a home screen dashboard with the salient business points visually presented. The menu along the side is intuitive to use and most things are easy to find. Linking to my bank accounts was painless, and it's a one click update to get the latest transactions added for all of my accounts.

My Accountant can log in with their own login (you can give up to 2 Accounting or Bookkeeping firms access) and work with my information in place. This makes my life easier so I don't have to export information and send it anywhere.

I did have a struggle with the Taxes portion, I made an installment and when the transaction came in I was unable to figure out how to apply it to my Sales Tax report. Maybe I will figure it out, but it isn't a easy as other functionality has proven to be. Also, I have had issues getting cheques to print properly on my bank stock cheques, so I wish that was something that you could modify more (move fields around to actually match up with where they are on my cheque).

Overall I am very happy with my choice, it is reasonably priced (about $ a month including all updates) and the functionality and ease of use have been great for someone who is not a financial expert (I'm an IT expert).

Pros

Easy to link to bank accounts
Invoicing is quick
Can allow access to your Accountant or Bookkeeper
Love the Home Dashboard!

Cons

Taxes are tricky.
You can't have a separate area for your home budgeting/expenses, would need to have a separate license and login. - this would be nice to have.
Cheque layout can't be modified so I cannot use with my bank cheques (i.e. If I want to move address info up or down to match where it should actually print on my cheque).

nian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reviewed on 16/04/2022

QuickBooks produces a P&L without any problem. This should be possible in various ways; organization...

QuickBooks produces a P&L without any problem. This should be possible in various ways; organization - wide, per client, and so forth.
QuickBooks produces a Balance Sheet without any problem.
QuickBooks likewise tracks AR and AP well indeed.
QuickBooks has space to develop their capital report.
QuickBooks has space to further develop the Mastercard sections. To match the passages to the financial record, you need to go in to include the sections and sellers physically.
QuickBooks has space to further develop the manner in which it coordinates with other bookkeeping frameworks. For instance, in the event that an auxiliary doesn't have QuickBooks Pro, you need to make a different succeed model to run a union model.

Pros

Quickbooks Desktop Pro is bookkeeping programming, It permits a client to make solicitations and track deals, enter and cover bills from merchants, and download bank and Visa exchanges straightforwardly into QuickBooks. It contains scientific elements, and its reports can be traded into Excel. Its landing page conveys an outline of business action initially, giving knowledge into business processes

Cons

It incorporates center bookkeeping highlights, in addition to examination and exportable reports.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

I liked it, until...

Reviewed on 07/12/2023

I enjoyed it and was reluctant to move away from QB Desktop. We have moved to QB Online very...

I enjoyed it and was reluctant to move away from QB Desktop. We have moved to QB Online very recently because we kept hearing that Intuit intends to discontinue Desktop Pro and Premium, and they moved the price to an annual subscription price rather than a product purchase price which made the cost very high. the [sensitive content hidden] also wanted to switch. I had resisted for some time because QB Desktop was so functional, easy to work with, and I knew it well. It is for this reason that I don't recommend Desktop any more unless you are a large enterprise, or want to spend the money for Desktop Enterprise. We didn't have the need, nor desire to spend that money.

Quickbooks Online has much improved functionality and I quickly found myself liking it, to my surprise. I still don't like Intuit support. I do like their products.

Pros

I could figure out almost everything about it. I liked access to multiple windows open so that I could go between tasks/reports quickly. I was very familiar with this project having used it on and off for 20 years. I liked customizing reports.

Cons

Importing credit card data was frustrating at times. The functionality was ok, though problematic and times. I could work around it.