Deltek Vision

4.1 (468)
Project management tool for professional services managers.

Overall rating

4.1 /5
(468)
Value for Money
3.7/5
Features
4/5
Ease of Use
3.6/5
Customer Support Software
4.0/5

80%
recommended this app
Sort by

468 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The basic functions of this software are easy to use, but it also has more complex capabilities...

Reviewed on 09/05/2018

I am able to easily input and track time, expenses, purchasing, and payroll with the easy user interface

Pros

I like that this software is easy to learn and operate. It has a simple user interface in order to easily input time tracking and payroll line items.

Cons

The thing I like least about this software is the complexity. When searching for specific date, it is difficult to set the correct parameters in order to find exactly what I need to find.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tools for Project Managers

Reviewed on 30/12/2019

I believe this program is a significant upgrade over my firm's previous time tracking program. We should see the benefits within several months.

Pros

This is the second iteration of Deltek that I have used and there have been great additions since the last version I used. There are so many great tools for project management and tracking performance metrics. I particularly like the ability to schedule your work and availability -- this is great for work sharing with different offices/teams.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve to get yourself up to speed using all of the programs capabilities, but there are good resources and tutorials available to make sure you are getting the most out of the product. If you are only using it for timesheet purposes, I am not sure it is worth the extra cost.

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Could be a lot more user-friendly

Reviewed on 14/04/2017

The following is my opinion and I am not speaking on behalf of my company as most of my years with Deltek were before I joined Rockwell:

I have used Deltek for over 12 years and my experiences vary by the module. Newer modules such as project planning or online T&E are notorious for being excessively buggy. For many years my company avoided project planning based on reputation alone. The latest version of the planning module also was introduced with a serious lack of error prevention and trapping - such as allowing project plans to be edited in resource planning while the user is in the plan. Although some bugs are unavoidable, they are excessive and notorious in Vision which is frustrating to the user.

The help documentation is serious lacking in explanative detail and the search feature is abysmal - the results are often totally unrelated to what your search phrase is - and often it locks up before you get there. It is a shame because I think there are good features in Vision that people don't get to - such as workflow - because the poor documentation requires the hiring of consultants. Maybe this is by design, but it is too costly to keep doing this.

The accounting module is an example of a module that is solid as are others. And I find the people that handle the help and chat services to be dedicated and as helpful as possible.

Pros

Reliable for accounting and basic functions

Cons

Not user-friendly and requires a consultant to get into more complex areas unless you have someone on staff that has sufficient experience.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A workhorse with a lot more features than I ever use

Reviewed on 14/11/2018

I sometimes consider Deltek a necessary evil, but it is as good a software as I have seen and used.

Pros

Deltek has been the tracking software of choice and previous firms I worked at. To me it is the standard for tracking time spent on projects and for tracking project performance. The ability to track an analyze multiple employees' input is beneficial. As a project manager, my interface was tracking and project planning. Accounting and management used Deltek extensively to track project and firm performance.

Cons

Deltek can do a lot of things, and can easily get very confusing for staff who may not have extensive software training in its functionality.

Reinaldo
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Deltek Vision is a solution for professional services companies.

Reviewed on 22/05/2018

A single piece of software to manage project-based accounting. Timesheets, expense reports, general ledger and everything else are in one place. Clear vision can help each strategy goal so that the organization grows and gains more work. It provides crucial data in real time through graphic charts in roles, customizable reports and alerts. Account managers and public accountants can clearly see each project and allow easy-to-use project reports. The customer service is also amazing.

Pros

Deltek Vision is very good because it offers updated data in real time through graphical charts in roles, customizable reports and alerts, it also allows companies that manage all financial aspects, Deltek Vision is a software solution that allows to use customized design modules and forms modules for the preparation time of the proposal. With Deltek Vision you can support each strategy goal for the organization to grow and earn more work.

Cons

It happens that in some reports, you can not easily change the information that is being clicked on the items you want to display. Module cabinets are not available. The reports are too many options, but they do not have options that allow us to visualize with greater clarity.

Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An important tool done well, albeit a little blocky

Reviewed on 15/04/2019

Pros

It's software that brings a number of important business tasks into one place and keeps them organised well. For audit sake in a large business, this is a must.

Cons

Without training, it's not user friendly. However with appropriate training, even the smallest amount to be familiarized with the system, it feels more user friendly and manageable to someone less savvy.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Guaranteed project organization

Reviewed on 02/04/2019

Pros

Which entrepreneur would not like to have a platform that guarantees organization and an orderly management of their work and projects? If you're looking for that, then Deltek Vision is ideal. Its functionality is fully designed to undertake a working sheet complex enough not to miss any detail.
This platform contains tools to constantly monitor the status of the project and the use of personnel. Therefore, it is an integrated system to track all financial planning data and resources. It also has the possibility that you can manage all your content through the cloud, so your information will always be guaranteed.
It is clear that this application is totally aimed at a certain target of professionals that can get the most out of it. Not everyone can manage their business and projects with Deltek Vision. Must be a trained person to interact with the program in question.
However, if you are, and you are looking for that tool that easily manages customer relationships, track opportunities and estimate project costs, then do not wait any longer and start working with Deltek Vision.

Cons

Perhaps one of the most important details that contrast with its proper functioning, is the complex structure that composes it. While it has innumerable forms and operating tools, it can overwhelm the shape of your design. In addition, being a tool for such a specific audience, it will surely cost anyone with few studies on the subject of business, accounting, and management.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Robust, a bit clunky

Reviewed on 21/08/2018

Pros

There are so many tweaks and options in this software - it can do a wide range of functions from balance sheet accounting, payroll, and project accounting

Cons

The interface is a bit dated and cluttered. There are a lot of options I wish I could hide

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ALL-IN-ONE, WEB BASED PROJECT MANAGEMENT

Reviewed on 13/09/2018

Pros

Our team used Deltek Vision to manage time and expenses, demand forecasting, data visualization, resource allocation and others. It is broad in a sense that it has so much application and it offers far more widely than just time and expense management. Deltek Vision allowed our team to work simultaneously through this product. Our documentation of our resources is easier with Deltek Vision.

Cons

Deltek Vision is best used by someone with experience regarding the software. It is a little complex for beginners. Our team learned how to use it to increase productivity.

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Used it for years, HR seems to like it, but it's complicated as hell for PMs

Reviewed on 04/04/2018

Pros

It keeps up with as many projects as we have - and we've got a bunch! We use it to track hundreds of projects, and it never crashes/drops - it's been very stable for us, and if you can understand how to ask for the right data, the reports are pretty helpful.

Cons

Understanding how to ask for the right data is very challenging sometimes. It's also hard to catch typos or other mistakes - it would be really nice if it has some inteligence, and could say "hey, you've charged time for the past month to project number 1234.5, and this month you're charging time to 12345 - is that a typo?"

Tony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

See your Vision with Deltek!!!

Reviewed on 08/03/2018

This product is specifically designed to support the complete project lifecycle of professional services firms, Deltek Vision helps measure your most critical business functions. From pipeline building and client management to project execution and financial management, Deltek Vision users can experience measurable benefits immediately, including increased employee utilization, streamlined project management, reduced DSO and increased margins and profitability.

Pros

Deltek Vision's is a software solution that allows you utilize custom proposal modules and government forms modules to cut down on hours off of proposal preparation. Because Deltek is the "source of truth" for our employee history and project history we are able to easily and quickly pull information from Vision onto proposal templates in minutes. Pulling information from a centralized archive it gives our users confidence in the data, employee updates/feedback are made one time (in Vision) instead having to always start the process over whenever a new proposal document is presented to the employee and gives our marketing professionals the extra time needed to craft the proposal to meet the RFP and client requested information. We use Deltek Vision to support our Strategic Plan goal for the company growing and win more work!

Cons

The user interface is extremely difficult to get used to. Since we started using this software my group has received a lot of calls from people in my organization who are unsure how to do basic searches and will ask us for help/assistance because they'd rather not deal with it. The main thing that is not intuitive is its search function, which is critical.

Sandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Vision Review by Accounting

Reviewed on 28/02/2017

Vision has good features and is lacking in some features. Vision used to be able to alphabetize A/R Statements when we initially started using it. Through upgrades, Vision lost that feature that we found valuable for our billing process. Vision is lacking in end of year reporting functionality. For example, end of year 1099 functionality is lacking. States require the account id assigned to companies to be reported on 1099s. Vision is currently unable to print accurate paper copies nor is it able to provide an accurate electronic file. Customer support was not able to help me and I had to manually edit the electronic file in order to have a 1099-MISC that would pass our state's criteria. Vision does not provide reporting for form 1099-INT which I need for reporting interest on shareholder payouts. Financial reporting is lacking some. Balance Sheets typically have Assets on page 1 and Liabilities and Equity on page 2. I have not found a way to easily achieve this with settings in Vision. I have employees that would like to be able to review their payroll withholdings and paystubs at any given time, but are not able to do that. At times, Vision is disappointing for the Accounting department. At other times, it is a rock star for us.

Pros

Integregrates the engineers project management with accounting reporting.

Cons

Payroll tax/End of Year Tax Reporting is lacking.

Chelsee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Deltek Review from a billing standpoint

Reviewed on 28/06/2017

Deltek Vision is mainly well suited for project managers to view project data in one place and also for billing purposes. It allows you to view a project as whole or drill down and see a certain time frame. Deltek Vision could be updated to be more HR inclusive. Right now we can only use it for time and expense and also payroll.

Pros

The time sheet and expense entering are very detailed and users can log time from iAccess if they are out of the office as well as upload to receipts straight into vision. It works great as a billing system. it's pretty straight forward and being able to run batches or also single invoices depending on your need is helpful.
It has a wide variety of reporting and you can also customize report to drill down and pull the info you need.

Cons

It can be difficult for new users and somewhat overwhelming. You need to be familiar with customizing reports to be able to get what you want. The default reports don't usually provide what information is needed. I really hate that we still have to use internet explorer to access vision.

Sue
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Deltek Vision - Wonderful Program to Control & Grow Your Project Based Business

Reviewed on 29/03/2017

Deltek Vision is a work horse of a software program. Its functionality is extensive and requires a full time person to be invested fully into set up and maintenance of the many features available. We find that we aren't able to use many of the great features simply because we don't have the time to explore and learn them all. Reporting features are fantastic and so useful in project management. Highly recommend this program for any project based company.

Pros

The reporting features are so inclusive that you really can get any info you need at the click of report once you have them set up.

Cons

It relies on accurate entry of data so I can't even say that there's a negative about the software just that you need consistent processes of input in order for the features to work efficiently.

Leigh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review of Vision

Reviewed on 07/03/2017

I used Vision from July 2007 thru the present, my company was bought out last fall and we are forced to switch to BST as our accounting system. Vision is infinitely superior to BST. BST is an abomination it takes twice as long AT LEAST to do anything. I wish we could continue to use vision. It was more flexible, intuitive and efficient.

Pros

It is intuitive and versatile and could be used to meet our customers needs.

Cons

Compared to BST which I have to use now I love everything about Vision. When I had not experienced the contrast I would say there were some fields that you typed in that you had to expand to use and that was a nuisance. Or that in interactive billing there is a lot of gray space that I would rather see my data in. However, I had ever used BST before I would have be thrilled to open the screen to change the notes instead of 5 components to do one invoice.

Jon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Can do almost anything you want, but not intuitive

Reviewed on 20/04/2017

Vision has the ability to track time and expenses and prepare project plans and report out that information in infinite detail. Benefits to your firm can be vast from timesheets, to project plans to CRM data and coordination.
However its unlimited potential also leads to a lack of intuitive processes for the casual user. Lots of training time is required for high performance users to be able to track and understand the data and reporting and connection. Can require significant time to accurately input and adjust details as project fees and schedules change.

Pros

Ability to report out data and create customizable reports and methods of reviewing and previewing that data. Useful for forecasting and reviewing upcoming projects.

Cons

Not user friendly or intuitive. Field names and connections to other fields are not readily apparent. Takes years to become fluent in the program.

Meredith
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Useful Data Organization and Management Tool

Reviewed on 09/12/2021

While Vision is a somewhat older-looking software it functions more logically and is much better organized than its newer version (Vantagepoint). There are some clunky workflows but with training and daily use, they are easily overcome. The product itself really helps to keep things organized and provides options for reporting that can be shared system-wide.

Pros

I like that data is laid out in a logical way and certain custom development seems to be integrated with fewer issues than other software programs. Also, you can search across different hubs to ensure your results are specifically tailored to your needs.

Cons

I don't like how certain workflows open windows that restrict your ability to access the information behind them.

Barbara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Deltek Vision Review

Reviewed on 11/04/2017

We have used Deltek Vision via the Cloud for two years. My previous firm was not on the cloud and it appeared we had more issues which I believe were related to our IT Department not always updating the software. The seamless updates are great.
I would have like to have more written manuals for the software. When I originally started using Deltek there were general manuals for each module. I found these invaluable.
The features and functionality is above what we need as a small firm. However, as we grow I can see were many of the functions we do not use will become invaluable.
We have had to reach out to customer support for technical issues related to problems with individuals users and each time the technical support has been excellent and our problems solved quickly. We have never had an "outage" or problem accessing the software which is a big plus.
While I would recommend this software to most firms, due to the cost of the software I would suggest smaller or start-up firms explore other options to see if their needs can be met through other software until the business is on solid ground.

Ashley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Professional Engineering Firm

Reviewed on 11/04/2017

Vision allows our firm to seamlessly track project progress and maintain our office system in a safe and convenient location. We have been able to reduce paper-waste by uploading invoices and A/P directly into Vision. User settings allow our employees quick access to items needed to complete their projects efficiently. We are definitely happy with Vision!

Pros

Everything is very direct - you don't waste time looking for the program you need or wondering which program to utilize.

Cons

Some of the features (ie - vacation accruals) are difficult to set without previous software programming experience.

Kelly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Program, Lots of Capability

Reviewed on 30/03/2017

We are a small architecture firm and, honestly, Vision is probably way bigger than what we actually have needed in the past. That said however, we have really benefitted from the portions of the program that we do use and have used, and there are several new portions that we are just starting to grow into. Our experience with the customer service team has been great, they really take the time to work with you so you understand what you're doing, and the Quick Chat feature is great for those quick little questions you have from time

Pros

The capabilities are amazing.

Cons

It's a bit bulky. I wish that there was more of an "a la carte" way to use the program. We are a small design firm, and a good chunk of Vision isn't really anything we use.

Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Inter-connectivity is a problem

Reviewed on 20/03/2017

Connecting CRM functions to MS Outlook is a continuous and long-term weakness (for over 10 years). Project planning connectivity to MS project is also very spotty - works sometimes, most of the time - it does not work. Reporting has always been a problem - not enough flexibility. Same for search capability - often fields are not available that are needed for proper selection of records. All of these issues have been raised many time via cases over the years - they never seem to get fixed.

Pros

It has powerful features - the connection between financial data and project planning is a real plus.

Cons

Lack of flexibility and inter-connectivity is a constant frustration.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CRM Consultant

Reviewed on 25/03/2017

I have been using Deltek Vision for over 10 years and have seen many clients benefit greatly from its capabilities and features.

Pros

Custom configuration capability is awesome. You don't have to be a programmer to learn how to set it up. Searching and reporting tools are second to none.

Cons

Sometimes the great amount of capability can be intimidating to customers. That is why I always recommend training for a successful implementation.

Cathy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very good!

Reviewed on 29/03/2017

In my experience I have been happy overall with my Deltek Vision software. As a professional services firm, there are features I am hoping for that will make my job easier. Workflows are good but could be easier to build. The planning module is also good but needs more automated features......too manual at this point. Billing module for our firm is also very manual....takes 1 - 2 days to complete and post.

Pros

It takes the place of 4 separate systems and accessible from anywhere since its cloud based.

Cons

As a professional services firm it seems to be lacking in features for our processes.

JANICE
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Happy Controller

Reviewed on 15/11/2016

5 years on Vision, accounting & payroll modules.
We are moving to outsourced payroll. We have found the payroll module to be cumbersome and not as well supported as the rest of Vision. Simple problems that seem like easy fixes (ex. W-2 forms not lining up for preprinted forms), are not addressed. There seems little interest or support from Deltek, and it would be so nice to be able to have under one umbrella, but as employee reporting requirements (ACA) are increasing, we weren't comfortable to continue with the Payroll module as it exists.

Pros

Reporting, seamlessness between time/billing

Cons

Payroll module
Only available on explorer

Ken
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Long Time User

Reviewed on 07/03/2017

Have been using Deltek software for our A/E firms accounting functions since the 90's. It has always done a great job and the Vision software has made our accounting work so much easier. The timesheet program is a great interface and tracks all our projects status.

Pros

the ease of taking our labor tracking from timesheet to billings. Also like the easy to get reports.

Cons

We have occasional issues with the invoice template being a bit too standard and hard to adjust for specific billing situations.