QlikView

4.3 (164)
Guided analytics apps for business insight

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(164)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support Software
4.1/5

91%
recommended this app

164 Software options

Selvakumar S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Single point of contact for your analysis!

Reviewed on 16/10/2018

Completed more than 15 implementation across domains like Government, Distribution, Retail, Insurance,Manufacturing and services.

Have overall 10+ years of IT experience and 6+ years in BI

Worked with one of the Fortune 50 retail giant who uses QV for more than 200 business users around the world across regions. i would say most of the people are happy with the way how QV is helping them on decision making. Since its a retail business, QV handles more volume of data with ease. Thanks to their In-Memory technique.

Pros

1. Associate linking
2. Self Service - Business users can create their own charts and data table with little technical knowledge
3. Inline (Mapping ) for adhoc dimension or values
4. QVD can act as data cubes or even as Data warehouse for medium size companies
5. implementing QV will take less time compare to traditional BI
6. Partner eco- system and support is very good
7. One of the best In-memory BI tool available in the market currently

Cons

1. Initial investment is little high but they have release Qliksense to counter it and it comes with Saas Model as well with more animated data visualization

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent in-memory data exploration tool

Reviewed on 26/07/2020

Very powerful tool having capacity to solve every business problem. Can we used as ETL tool for transforming & modelling of data. It can be used to store the data in different formats like qvds, csv etc.

Pros

QlikView has very powerful ETL script editor with many functions. Also measures can be calculated with help of set analysis. Fastest in-memory tool. We can create custom objects as well.

Cons

User interface is not that pretty. Less availability of charts. Geo analytics map can have many more features like enabling satellite view. QlikView is not on cloud but a on-premise tool.

Alternatives Considered

IBM Cognos Analytics

Reasons for Switching to QlikView

Easy to use for users. Very easy and fast development of application/dashboards.
Bhagya S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Qlikview - Excellent tool for analysing heavy complex data

Reviewed on 30/05/2021

The overall experience was amazing (now I can say after couple of years :-) ). This was a very useful tool while doing large complex analysis. If as an organization you can afford this software then this is a must have tool.

Pros

The best part is that you can create the query once and use it multiple times (for all recurring tasks). You can customize your data to look more attractive and presentable through Qlikview. It can also be integrated over your existing ERP (e.g. SAP) and you can get the reports automatically from Qlikview.

Cons

The learning curve is definitely a challenge that I faced. The software is slightly complex and being a finance manager (non IT person) it was difficult for me to understand it initially.

Peter M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool

Reviewed on 04/10/2018

I mentioned above - we needed to consolidate, analyse and use data for managing 13 hospitals. There were various ERP systems, HR systems, clinical systems, etc, so we had to implement interfaces and put all data on the same level, then automate the pumping of data, reporting, etc. (this was not in my current job)

Pros

User-friendliness of the tool while doing analyses. Many companies use excel, pivot tables etc., but once you discover how easy and fast it is with Qlik, you will love it. It is also possible to use it for free, with limitations, so you can test it. We have implemented this tool in hospitals, from where we needed the data to be collected on 1 place and then analysed. Normally you have a problem, that you have various sources of data. Each hospital is using different information system (ERP, clinical IS, HR system, etc), but once you set up bridges and automate the interfaces, you will have the same level of data quality from all sources. An the the fun begins.
Especially great is the speed of drilling in data and adjusting the dimensions, because often analysis is about discovery, not a reporting the same charts on and on.
Simply great tool.

Cons

Maybe only that it takes some time to learn how to use it, but compared to many other systems it's good. also you have to learn how to code in data interfaces (there is also a good wizard for that) or you can find a consultant for this (even online), not even this is not a big deal.

Or M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to use, Not so easy on the eyes though

Reviewed on 14/10/2020

We're using Qlikview within almost all of the departments in the company.
From finance to HR and Garages.
we see it as an essential tool for the group activity.

Pros

triggers, On load, On open, etc.
easy to manage load tasks using the QMC task tree.

Cons

User activity monitoring is a bit of a lack.
unable to export a list of all currently licensed users.
it's especially difficult if your using DOC licenses, you to go from app to app to see the licensed users for the particular app.
also the UI getting a little old, the newer Qlik sense look much better.
if you're considering moving to Qlikview from PowerBI or Tableau, Qlik sense will make more sense.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerfull BI tool with great ETL capabilities

Reviewed on 29/08/2020

It Improved our way to analyze production efficiency as well as other metrics to measure. Also allows to dig deeper on problems we might find.

Pros

QlikView scripting is a lot powerful. if needed to do some ETL on the report it's great for it as allows you to transform almost anything.
It connects to several different types of data sources.

Cons

The report itself feels old. Objects feel old and there's not much customization to do on the dashboards. They could do a refresh to meet new UI guidelines.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good BI

Reviewed on 16/11/2020

If you came from an other BI tool it will be really straight forward to develop in qlick

Pros

The curve of knowledge is really small. It is really easy to use and very intuitive to develop.

Cons

It's model attached to force an star diagram and also consume a lot of RAM (I know that the product is develop like that but we have new processors)

Elias A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Qlik Developer

Reviewed on 08/06/2017

Pros

gives an insight of the data available, easy to use, real time, fast processing (on memory), availability

Cons

It is simply a reporting & analysis tool that does not allow WRITE BACK to database.
It's in-built reporting-printing is not very efficient (some third party tool like N-Printing is used)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Qlikview - Better as a database tool

Reviewed on 18/10/2019

Trying to make a dashboard for tracking policies. It was easy to make customized reports but not use the dashboard

Pros

I liked how it was easy to make your own query from ad-hoc reporting tools. All available fields were there.

Cons

The visualization dashboard is too cumbersome. Not as useful as hoped. At the end, we just ignored the dashboard

Manuel F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ease and powerfull BI analysis tool

Reviewed on 19/10/2017

I recommend the tool. Friendly user, you can have very good dashboards using only a simple spreadsheet.

Pros

Low cost against BO, Cognos,...
You can simple use Tables, databases, web tables and a lot of other kind of connection to use the data.

Cons

It don´t have a flexible map as a standard. You should acquire a "Geo Analysis" add in for a best use.

Peter M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Free your DBA to do more productive things with their time

Reviewed on 20/03/2018

Pros

Qlikview has an exceptional data mapping engine which makes setting up data sets a breeze. You will be up and running in no time, connecting to your data and viewing information in any one of a variety of formats.

I've only been using the product for a reasonably short time, but this provides a lot of flexibility to allow users to control the data which they would like to see.

Cons

I've found QlikView to be really easy to use in most areas with the exception of making changes to views once configured. The UI could be a little more user friendly when considering how and when to make changes as an administrator.

Eric M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall a strong tool

Reviewed on 11/04/2018

Pros

The tool is able to slice and dice the data of our sales into numerous different ways to look at the data. I like the visuals of the interface, making is simple to understand.

Cons

The program seems to take a long time to refresh after every click. Also, it would be nice to be able to set it to not pull the data and work, until you have made all selections. Not sure if this might be a functionality we did not turn on, but it should be standard.

Carmen W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for our Dashboard

Reviewed on 20/02/2019

It's great for business management.

Pros

We use Qlikview for our dashboard. It is nice that we can see different management reports all in one place and also the data is exportable into excel for further analytics.

Cons

I don't quite like the filtering function. The drilling down into data doesn't work quite well and may need to try several ways to get to the data that I'm searching for.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Useful Front-end for Data Analysis

Reviewed on 30/07/2018

Pros

Qlikview provides a platform for data analysis that integrates high levels of flexibility which allows for broad application and usage by large cohorts.

Cons

While Qlikview is very flexible it can also be somewhat clunky or challenging to navigate in terms of getting the precise data required because of the myriad of controls and options.

Thais S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A BI platform with optimal visualization of data analysis

Reviewed on 17/06/2019

A BI platform with optimal visualization of data analysis, performance and data processing performed quickly and structurally. Specific knowledge is required to use the tool in the best possible way.

Pros

QlikView data processing performs more satisfactorily regardless of the amount of data used.

Cons

It's a complicated tool compared to existing solutions in the market.

Rashmi P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I have been working on Qlikview for 5 years and its an amazing tool.

Reviewed on 01/12/2015

Pros

Its very easy to use and solves complex problems. The product is very user friendly.

Cons

The vendor is not responsive to issues. The Qlik community solves most of our issues.

Boris L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

One of the best Enterprise BI tools on the market

Reviewed on 08/06/2016

There are lots (and I mean lots) of BI tools of the market but Qlik is one of the best (if not the best). Here is why I think it is the best enterprise BI tool (compared to other enterprise BI tools -- SAP BO, Tableau, SAS, Cognos)

- It has its own ETL. Really no other tool is needed to use Qlik View. Easy to extract and transform data before using it in data model.
- Super fast -- want to see 100's of millions of rows presented very quickly. Done.
- Flexible data modeling. For example, you can achieve huge performance improvements with simple data model changes.
- Qlik's secret sauce -- associative model -- quickly and visually see data that is selected, possible, and unrelated. By selecting some data, you can see if all other data is (selected), is possible (associated) or completely unrelated located anywhere in the data model.
- Automatically web enabled.
- Save space. Compressed data in QVD tables are 10x smaller.

Siddharth P.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 19/04/2018

It help me to analyze data and use data discoveries to support decision making.

Pros

QlikView allows us to rapidly share information in a predictable way. It is credited with bringing in-memory analytics mainstream.

Cons

QlikView relies on drop down menus and this seems a little antiquated in this day and age. It scored slightly below the survey average in customer support.

Brandon D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Somewhat clunky but overall it gets the job done

Reviewed on 11/07/2017

Pros

After you spend some time with the product it begin to gain a lot of value for an organization. It also has a lot of customization options that are not currently offered in Qlik Sense.

Cons

This product requires a lot of SQL knowledge which can lead to high costs employing someone with a SQL background or using a consultant.

Emily H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Creating dashboards can be difficult but once set up they are easy to use

Reviewed on 30/01/2019

Pros

Completely customizable dashboards can be created and linked to Oracle databases.

Cons

Individually dashboards can take a long time to load (blank screen with small grey loading circles can last a long time). Additionally, clicking filters can be a bit nonintuitive

Syed saad Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Beautiful reports and dashboards that are integrated with ERPs

Reviewed on 04/11/2019

Pros

Easy to use, intuitive interface, fast in-memory processing and ability to filter data on the fly.

Cons

Very slow for large datasets and the server cannot handle batch jobs for updating the database with large datasets. Basically Qlikview is meant for smaller datasets and dashboards.
Don't expect this to be used for daily operations and reporting.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Qlicview bi-tool

Reviewed on 12/04/2021

Pros

I think we have old version of Qlicview in use. There is lot of different tables, where you can choose yours datapoint and get some informations. Old version cant forecast anything and it is one of a kind filter for data. It is very simple to use and you get exactly what you wanted.

Cons

you have to always to qlic all data poit that you get your infomation

Claire I.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Data at your fingertips

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

A great tool for creating reports from clunky CRM systems.

Pros

Once a database has been set up and connected to your CRM system, it can make clunky to use reports look like a dream! It pulls data and provides easy to understand/view breakdowns by any selection you may wish to see.

Cons

You will need a dedicated developer for this product who can train others in how to use it. A database has to be set up and developers will need to pay for courses to understand how to use the coding.

Shelly C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

QlikView

Reviewed on 05/02/2019

Pros

So many fields to choose from to get your results

Cons

I don't know SQL to be able to write my own info

Marcelo G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Old but robust

Reviewed on 15/10/2020

Very good, it's a robust software even if it was replaced by Qlik Sense.

Pros

It's very fast to load data and the script it's simple so you can easly learn to do complex ETL. Also you have many options to build complex visualization dashboards.

Cons

It can be difficult for users to learn how to make complex functions. Also you have to invest a lot of time to build beatiful dashboard.