159 reviews

QlikView

Guided analytics apps for business insight

4.3 /5 (159 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.1
91% recommended this app
159 reviews
Tharindu R.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

QlikView; A BI tool with deep level analytics

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I have being worked with QlikView for last 5 years and It was one of the best BI tools in the world. The level of slice and dice is amazing. Data holding capacity and power of deep level analytics are simply outstanding.

Pros

It has more analytical power. And the data holding capacity is excellent. Further it is easy to use and the integrations are also user friendly.

Cons

It needs the support of a programmer to create charts and end users can't do much. Graphics are low compared to newer BI platforms.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 51-200 Employees

I work everyday with QV. You can customize everything with extreme ease in a very short time

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

my work revolves around these BI software. They gave me the opportunity to take certifications

Pros

The very high level of personalization of formulas and objects. Moreover there are different versions of the software (like the QV publisher) to further restrict the accesses of the staff involved in the consultation. Excellent tool for SQL

Cons

you need some training to use this software, and a minimum of one year of use to be able to use it with ease. It is not easy to understand the "set analysis" syntax to make intrarecord selections.
The qmc could be improved. It would be interesting to integrate the possibility to refresh the document directly from the front end to update the data analyzed. Improve the use of macros and enable the QV publisher to use them

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Flexible BI and Datavisualization Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We used this software to meet our dashboarding needs that use disparate data sources like SAP, Oracle ERP, Mainframe and Oracle databases.

Pros

Qlikview is intuitive, Powerful Dashboarding tool, with ETL, Data Integration for multiple sources, In-memory capabilities. We can choose from a range of visualizations to build your dashboards.

Cons

You need to model the data and create the QVD's for variety of the dashboards which involves a lot of scripting. Some of the features like R integration is not possible. Standard reporting is not possible. You need to set up a different piece of software like N printing for scheduling and publications.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Shilpan P.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization

QlikView and Qlik Sense

Reviewed on 23/06/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

QlikView's unique in-memory, associative data engine makes it possible for an organization to gain insight quickly from vast amount of data.

QlikView is trend setter in the business discovery space and a leader in the Gartner's magic quadrant for business discovery tools.

Cons

QlikView's visualization capabilities are not as strong as one offered by Tableau but Qlik Tech is addressing that with a new product -- Qlik Sense. It has yet to be seen how QlikView and Qlik Sense will work as a suite.

Qlik Tech has yet to articulate their long-term vision for QlikView and Qlik Sense. Customers feel uncertainty due to lack of clarity.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Stop clicking and start Qliking

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Our initial motivation to adopt Qlik, was for monthly report automation.

Pros

The associative data model. It's ability to not only show you what is related to your selections, but what is not related.

Cons

Having to learn set analysis. This is Qlik's way of writing advanced expressions. Very powerful, but I found that there was a learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patrik S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Ease of use and fast

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 05/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a good analytics tool at a good price/value point

Pros

The tool is very easy to use, highly intuitive. It also performs very fast in working though large data sets. I am a daily user and couldn't be happier

Cons

The tool could be better integrated with other office productivity tools, especially as it relates to the MSFT office suite

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Thomas Y.

QlikView is good, and makes it easy for my work to be shared with other individuals.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Using QlikView has helped me produce nice graphics that are completely zoomable to the end user. QlikView also has some nice graphical and analytical capabilities that help me communicate my message.

Pros

QlikView's data visualization options are nice, although not best in class. The way QlikView offers zoom in capabilities is much better than any other data visualization tool I've ever used, and the ability to share analysis is great.

Cons

I had an enormous difficulty connecting QlikView with various data sources, although once connected, the system works fine. QlikView's graphics are a little different than other data visualization tools - like the zooming - which are sometimes an advantage and sometimes a disadvantage.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mike J.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Just Qlik away!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 01/02/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Very intuitive software with great data visualization. The software is very easy to use and customizable. It even allows you to do what if analyses to show impact all around. Qlik is the new wave for increasing data analytics and reporting. It allows the users to get the real story behind the data very quickly to make concrete decisions on the hits and misses within ones industry. I would highly suggest this software and I'm sure many more companies will jump on board after they just get a wiff of what this software can do for the business.

Pros

intuitive

Cons

na

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rhodora A.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Chart Swap in A Click

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/09/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

changing or swapping of chart type can be done in an instant. Guided analytics feature is available.

Cons

Objects done in Qlikview can be use and recycled/reuse in Qliksense.
Need more programming/coding skills.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Neelapu P.

QlikView enables clients to quickly manufacture and convey explanatory applications without the req

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

QlikView enables associations get more information from the data have, a particular term, and it gives you fast results

Cons

No form controlling is accessible and parameter records can be utilized for information associations. distinct absence of specialized assets when you are not managing deals and money related information Qlik Sense should update few functionalities

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Cameron S.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain

The simple stuff is easy and the harder stuff is available

Reviewed on 13/04/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Building the meta data for each dashboard is easy and the tools have enough depth for any complicated calculations. All the objects have lots of options and the scripts for each data point can be heavily customized or left as a single field. Conditionals for each object combined with global variables make each dashboard dynamic

Cons

Desktop design tool that sometimes hogs memory and crashes. Licensing between small business and big business is not very flexible.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great Analytical Tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I am using Qlicview since 2007 as a solution developer. It helped me to develop even difficult analysis/report. It played a great role with SAP R3 to bridge the gap between user requirement and SAP reports. Making QVD files with big data made more simpler the use of qlikview much faster and offline. Using this application I could produce reports with history data even after the system migration (AS400 to SAP) Capability is very wide.

Pros

Script writing. It is very easy and no cube concept

Cons

Alerts and Theme maker wizard as it rarely used

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Vaibhav G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Qlikview is a great Business Intelligence tool for dashboarding & reporting. for a couple

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/09/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Qlikview has a very intuitive UI, it is really easy to understand and provides exceptional data dril up and drill down qualities. Qlikview is highly robust in managing vast amounts of data and provides great data modelling capability. It is really fast in its analysis and has range of dashboard & report creation features. It is also compatible with most of the existing databases & systems.

Cons

There is nothing that is really not well about Qlikview except its data warehousing capability which needs slight improvement in the scripting part.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Raymond Y.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

A different way to view your data

Reviewed on 15/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

What I like best about QlikView is its ability to take the raw data in any way it's available. No need to go through a different software to clean the data before visualization.
The online community is very active and supportive. Even the most complex calculations can be found

Cons

The designer is not easily dealt with. Some features can make the designing a lot better

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mohit J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Very good and proficient analytical tool

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 20/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It has effectively stitched our various data source and legacy data together and provided us a holistic view. It enabled us to take informed sales and marketing decisions.

Pros

It provides fast & innovative business intelligence interfaces and solutions. Actually it makes data source tiding and exploration a fun to perform. It can handles very large datasets very well. Free fully functional personal edition makes it easy to get started.

The company Qlik is a very well respected company in the analytical world.

Cons

You need to be proficient in coding and have an analytical mind to gain from this software. Creating reports are somewhat complex , however once created it provides good results.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nelson G.

There aren't border to connect QlikView.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I prefer QlikView!

Pros

QlikView (to me) is the best Business Intelligence tool to get your data in real time. Have a friendly presentation, I like the way to present de results. Just drag your click on your graph and you have more information.

Cons

I can't find any inconvenience in this product, I don't have any cons to say. I like to work using QlikView.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Laura S.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I use Qlikview each month to compile reports from my clients.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We're able to compile client data in secure reports and transmit quality data in a secure fashion with proper controls in place.

Pros

The support I receive is always prompt and helps to address my concerns. I feel like I'm working with smart people who are fully capable of helping me solve my reporting problems.

Cons

Probably the most tricky thing about using Qlikview is that you have to be intelligent enough as an Administrator to get them the information they need to create your report writing... hopefully if you're running a business you have someone who understands your reporting and IT frameworks well enough to communicate with the Qlikview team to help them know your business/industry/reporting needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The most complete tool for bug data analysis

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I can probably define it the "bigger" brother of QlikSense, and this because it has a larger set of tools to handle every kind of data you need. It's fast, even with millions of records, and the resulting charts are clear, easy to surf and to study.

Cons

The interface is somewhat "old" and should be refined. It misses some drag and drop features and the settings and initial setup are still cumbersome.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Yazir P.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Powerful BI Tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/10/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great and powerful product. Some what difficult to learn, specially the formulas, but once you learn them its a powerful BI tool.

Pros

A very powerful software for data analysis and showing information
Dashboards once done, are very easy to use

Cons

Map functionality seems limited to the US. We serve a different Market
Learning all the formulas might take some time

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Susanta K.

first time found a software which can help us to understand our past , present & future easily

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/06/2017
Review Source: Capterra

accessibility in single click

Pros

first time found a software which can help us to understand our past , present & future easily

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Daniel Q.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

QlikView - a good tool to visualization

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 25/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

There is great versatility of data visualization. You can use a bunch of resources to it.

Cons

It's not very clear how to import and merge data to it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Cliff M.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Qlikview Review

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/08/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Good overall experience - prefer the features of Tableau

Pros

Ease to load data
Visual presentations
Drill-down capabilities

Cons

Difficulty loading large amounts of data

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Nehal H.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Such a good software

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 28/01/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This product I found that made the tasks quickly without take long time.. But with a little bit of prefomance

Cons

The more clicks of the product make the prefomance less and badly that make the users not like it..

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mirna M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

QlikView is not the best for business users.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/11/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

QlikView has strong data management capabilities. The interface is pixel perfect and highly customized for details reporting.

Cons

The person creating QlikView app should have technical background and skills. Its not user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy and fast BI

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 28/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Very positive experience. The best BI tool I know

Pros

Fast development. Very powerfull application

Cons

ETL tool is powerful enough but not visual

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10