Dotdigital

Omnichannel customer engagement platform.

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(179)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support Software
4.2/5

85%
recommended this app
Sort by

179 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dotmailer Success

Reviewed on 16/11/2018

Coming from an almost zero experience with email marketing, engaging Dotmailer has helped us see...

Coming from an almost zero experience with email marketing, engaging Dotmailer has helped us see our best growth year to date.

Pros

We really enjoyed the ease of setting up campaigns after we learned how to. It's been a very useful tool in expanding our reach.

Cons

Some limitations on quantity of campaigns, and some of the custom complexities are a bit cumbersome to learn.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good email marketing platform for a reasonable price

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

Dotmailer helped us send much more effective marketing campaign emails. Audience segmentation is...

Dotmailer helped us send much more effective marketing campaign emails. Audience segmentation is easier than before.

We're now sending personalized triggered campaigns to customers.

Our transactional emails are now templated and much easier to update.

Emails view better on mobile devices.

Company was overall pleasant to work with through onboarding process.

Pros

Full-featured email platform at a cost lower than most competitors.

UI is straightforward and functional, relatively fast. I don't have much trouble finding what I'm looking for.

Onboarding, knowledge base, and technical support meant I learned the platform pretty quickly. Technical support has always replied quickly and is usually helpful.

Program builder for triggered emails is easy to use, and powerful.

Segmentation tool works well.

Able to template and send all our transactional emails at no additional cost.

Cons

Reporting could be improved. We can't figure out how to link to our Google Analytics account.

Easyeditor for emails is OK. Would prefer something more robust with more even more features.

Sometimes pages load slow through the UI.

Colton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Dotmailer Review 2018

Reviewed on 24/08/2018

Pros

-Ease of use
-Mostly works well with related platforms
-Clearly displays information

Cons

-Email builder is template-focused and not efficient or as user friendly if your creatives are designed externally
-Certain default options (automatically applying padding to every image block inserted into an email, for example) make setting up emails tedious and more time consuming and can't be turned off.
-Asset gallery in the email builder has poor UX -- there are visual glitches and creating and organizing folders / organizing assets is not intuitively designed. You are also unable to see the full name of each asset.--Project managers have been generally unhelpful in rectifying issues regarding the email builder.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Experience!

Reviewed on 02/05/2018

Pros

Easy to use and made our business move at a lightning pace. We increased conversion beyond what we ever had done in the past.

Cons

Updating contact lists can be cumbersome. It would be much easier if we could just make mass update to contact lists without having to export and re-import them. For example, if you upload a list of Joe's contacts and then want them to all be individually tagged with Jane instead, you would have to export The List, change everyone's rep to Jane, and then import The List again.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good CRM SELF PROGRAM

Reviewed on 31/03/2021

CRM complete

CRM complete

Pros

RFM FEATURE and automation. Segmentation by persona

Cons

ONBOARDING PROCESS (Integration), Magento connector process

Alternatives Considered

Emarsys

Reasons for Switching to Dotdigital

FEATURES
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reliable

Reviewed on 19/11/2018

Pros

This is a great application for building e-mails. It's so easy to drag and drop in codes and attachments. The preview feature is also amazing. I love knowing what my customers will see. That's a huge plus to getting their attention and looking professional also. The e-mail automation programs are a life-saver! I could go on for days!

Cons

There are a couple features that are missing but I'm sure they will catch up and take care of that!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Competitive pricing, flexible API works with our custom CRM, responsive customer support

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

Much better email personalization.

Much better email personalization.

Pros

Includes most features competitors offer but at a lower cost. GUI is straightforward and easy to learn. Good API support that works with our custom CRM. Customer support replies quickly and always seems knowledgeable. Online knowledgebase is comprehensive. Campaign reporting was recently improved.

Cons

WYSIWYG email editor is sometimes cumbersome to use. Tracking sales results requires linking the account to Google Analytics, would prefer something built-in. Servers based in the UK caused some timestamp issues for our US-based business.

Rony
Rony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great tool

Reviewed on 28/08/2018

Pros

Dotmailer is very flexible and you will have a lot of options for your e-mail campaigns.

Cons

The cost of course. Its not for everyone and especially if you have a large e-mail base.

Ryan
Ryan
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Functionality is pretty good but have had a few unresolved issues where work arounds were...

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

We were able to send strategic and successful automated email campaigns to engage our customer...

We were able to send strategic and successful automated email campaigns to engage our customer base. We were able to design cleaner and more attractive templates than we have ever had before.

Pros

Ease of use and template designer. Ease of contact and segment management. Support was always ready and willing to help even if they could not resolve issue. Pricing is very affordable for what you get as well.

Cons

No way to track ROI, for our account at least. Issues with Outlook 13 and Outlook web compatibility.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very Simple and easy to set up email campaigns

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

Pros

Very simple to use interface. The emails are simple to create. Segments are easy to maintain and implement users into specific category. Much cheaper rates than a lot of competitors out there.

Cons

Sometimes the emails seem a little slow to load. Images most specifically. Otherwise the software has no other issues that I see using it on a daily basis.

Rudy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent Email Automation for Magento

Reviewed on 17/08/2018

If you are looking for a simple to use email automation system with Magento, it is probably one of...

If you are looking for a simple to use email automation system with Magento, it is probably one of the top choice. However if you are handy and like to create your own logic and unique segmentation from your email interaction, it may not be sophisticated enough.

Pros

It works well if you are using Magento as your e-commerce platform. It is easy to use and the integration logic with Magento is very simple to execute. The package also comes with survey forms, SMS and ability to create landing pages.

If you are new to email automation, this system may be a good start to get you familiar with logics and scheduling.

Cons

The integration is nice to setup, however it may slow down the overall system. If you like to run various dynamic values, the system may give up (you will receive email from the admin if "your campaign has been cancelled"). The issue is there is no warning when you setup the logic if it may cause issue. It just happens when you set the schedule and let it runs.

Another issue is the survey form only allows you to send the acknowledgment to 1 email address only.

Lastly the system integration to other platform is not as fluid as to Magento . It claims if it works with Salesforce, Shopify etc. However they are limited on data integration and capabilities.

Anne
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Create great-looking responsive emails without knowing CSS/HTML

Reviewed on 23/10/2017

Pros

Don't know CSS? HTML a little rusty? No problem. The email editor in dotmailer will let you create gorgeous, personalized, responsive emails with an easy drag-and-drop interface. I should qualify all of this by saying that we purchased the Silver package for custom email template first, and developed all future emails and templates from that starting point.
Favorite feature: the ability to save sections of any email and then drag and drop them into future emails. Other things you will love: robust reporting, highly visual interface for automation workflows and quick and simple personalization.
If you primarily need a tool for email (including automation), I don't think you will find a better platform.

Cons

At the time we were using it, you really needed to integrate with your own CRM. The built in CRM features were primarily useful for personalizing user info tokens like name and company. If you wanted to personalize based on the last page the user "liked," you were out of luck. It's possible that's changed.
Customer service was a little spotty at times.

Travis
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Comprehensive feature set, great upgrade from Chimp!

Reviewed on 26/09/2017

Magento integration, segmentation and advanced subscriber targeting.

Magento integration, segmentation and advanced subscriber targeting.

Pros

The Magento integration is terrific, you can really give your subscribers email offers tailored to their interests. That's such a crucial part of email marketing. The added bonus of the surveys and module/opt-in forms are amazing for a product in this price range. Listrak is charging one of my clients 20k/yr extra for some of the features baked into Dotmailer. I'll be moving them over to DM soon.

Cons

Once in a while I have some integration issues or glitches but support has been very responsive. Most of the common featureset works flawlessly.

Rustan
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

We love Dotmailer. It's easy to use, cost-effective, and has the features that benefit our...

Reviewed on 16/02/2018

Pros

List segmentation and data gathering make it easy for us to target the people who are most likely to buy. The development team works hard to continuously improve the platform, so there are lots of new features with each release, so it feels like it's never getting stagnant or underperforming from other platforms on the market.

Cons

My only disappointment was in onboarding we weren't brought up to speed on best practices in "warming up" our list, so we destroyed our sender reputation, had to start over, and still probably didn't do it quite right. Intense training upfront on this subject would be most helpful to new users.

Autumn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Dotmailer Review 8.24.18

Reviewed on 24/08/2018

Pros

Email builder is fairly easy to use for non-graphic designers.

Cons

-Email builder is not efficient if the creative is designed outside of the platform. ie in photoshop.
-Certain default functions cannot be turned off, overall adding more time to campaign building. ie padding automatically added to uploaded blocks.
-Reporting is not as extensive as it should be - I should be able to look at a certain period of time and know exactly how many new subscribers we received in that period. People who have subscribed - not just emails add
-Asset gallery is just plain bad UX as you cannot read the full name of the assets in the gallery and the organization of the assets is too segmented. Also, layout of gallery is not good.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful with Some Flaws

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

dotmailer is a great platform that allows for some powerful means of mass messaging/emailing. It...

dotmailer is a great platform that allows for some powerful means of mass messaging/emailing. It took my company quite some time to get onboarded because of the degree of difficulty in setting up the automated campaigns. It would be highly recommended if the interface was cleaned up a bit and the overall UX was better.

Pros

dotmailer has the ability to do most of what you will need out of a marketing automation platform. It can send automated campaigns via email, SMS message and even Facebook Messenger. Once the programs are up and running it is a powerful tool in a company's marketing mix.

Cons

There are two areas that need some improvement. The first is the overall UX. The interface is clunky and sometimes difficult to navigate. Once a user gets a feel for it things get easier, but anytime there's a new functionality I need to explore it takes some time to get the proper feel for it.

Claire
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use with great support.

Reviewed on 07/05/2018

Pros

It's intuitive and powerful. I can build an automated program to do anything I can imagine with my contacts. The only limits are within the quality of my own data or imagination. If I'm ever stuck on what to do I can get a knowledgable rep on chat within seconds to help.

Cons

The integration with Magento 2.0 leaves something to be desired. It does not pull in sale prices (only MSRP) and it's glitchy to modify the product blocks that pull in dynamic content.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Very good, when we are experiencing issues, it doesn't matter the day or hour, the support...

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

Pros

Its drag and drop feature is very helpful, also saving templates is another feature i like about the program.

Cons

reporting are to general, i wish the report could be seen by a specific time frame, this helps check how our users react to our emails in the long run.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Advanced email software and easy to use

Reviewed on 13/01/2018

Pros

Amazing features and functionality like split testing, geolocation reports, dynamic content and easy to use templates.

Cons

It is expensive when you start integrating the product with your own CRM system as you have to pay a separate synching fee.

Melanie
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Best i've used, but does need some updating.

Reviewed on 26/09/2017

Pros

Super easy to use. Love how I can add as many images as I need. Great ability to edit the images inside of dotmailer.

Cons

Need better feedback on bounces and then a solution on how we can fix those. Spam check should be included in price too.

Christen
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Easy to use, but wish there was more cross functionality

Reviewed on 02/05/2018

Pros

It is very easy to use... just drag and drop. The pre-done work flows help out a lot when trying to set up new triggered emails.

Cons

You are not able to add in a background image, the emails sent out look boxy and not modern. The only way to accomplish a modern design it to create images of the whole email that ultimately gets put in the junk bin due to the amount of images.

Taylor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

easy, exciting, valuable, and fun!

Reviewed on 26/09/2017

800% increase in revenue from abandoned carts, compared to our old program
Simple and easy...

800% increase in revenue from abandoned carts, compared to our old program
Simple and easy segmentation and no need to manually segment people in an excel sheet.

Pros

The level of segmentation you can get down to is amazing and beneficial. Segmentation has proven to be a huge success for us in our emails.

The program feature because you can set up many programs and and let them run right away with no hassle.

With our past software, we had to manually send a lot of things including abandoned carts and review requests, and it was a long process. The integration of Magento is fantastic.

Our dotmailer contact is very responsive and fast when we have questions--sometimes she answers within 3 minutes! That level of customer help is great.

Cons

The logic behind the programs sometimes gets tricky to understand. Luckily our dotmailer rep can normally help with this.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Software With Expansive Capabilites

Reviewed on 16/11/2018

The dotmailer team is exceptional. Really responsive and easy to work with.

The dotmailer team is exceptional. Really responsive and easy to work with.

Pros

I love the automation features. The more you use it, the more advanced and creative you can get. We have already tripled the amount of emails we send but decreased the work in 1/2.

Cons

It does require a developer to implement into your site, do datafield building, and make sure your email code is clean. Dotmailer does have a creative team that can assist with email design for an added fee.

Catherine
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I have really enjoyed using Dotmailer. It is very easy to use and the customer support is...

Reviewed on 02/05/2018

Data, tons of data and the ability to segment.

Data, tons of data and the ability to segment.

Pros

Definitely, the user-friendly aspect and the ability to pull detailed reporting on a triggered sent or an email. I also like the drag and drop automation builder - very user-friendly and intuitive. One of the best thing though really is the customer service. I have asked countless questions and have always gotten a response immediately - something that other ESPS I have worked with don't have and it really is a problem and can be frustrating especially when something is going wrong in the moment.

Cons

I wish when sending AB tests I could send the test to 100% of people instead of just sending to 60% or less. I also would like to be able to glean more information than just opens and clicks for Transactional emails.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very easy to use, don't ned to understand HTML.

Reviewed on 02/05/2018

Pros

The drag and drop widget-like tool to create blasts. Creating segments for contacts is very easy and follows almost a SQL like coding

Cons

Load times can be a bit long. There are a few workarounds that I've had to implement to accomplish certain dynamic content.