262 reviews

Salesforce Marketing Cloud

Stand out in Your Customer's Inbox

4 /5 (262 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
78%
recommended this app
262 reviews
Aaron B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful, but complex

Reviewed on 28/01/2019

Pros

This software is an online SAAS, and is some of the most powerful Marketing Software on the planet. The software is best used in an environment where personalized, but mass email communication is needed--typically for B2C situations. Pardot is an ideal product for B2B solutions. Although the product can be configured and used by end-users, it is best to work with a partner.

Cons

There are many updates needed in order to make the software work in a more user-friendly fashion, particularly when compared with less powerful solutions, like Constant Contact, MailChimp, etc. A Salesforce partner will cost additional money to implement the solution, but it is a good investment.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Definitely a step up from MailChimp

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Pros

This software makes it easy to build professional looking emails that add all the information you need with drag and drop

Cons

IT is sometimes hard to organize and sort files

Russell C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fantastic Platform For Marketing

Reviewed on 05/06/2018

You get the benefit of an easy to use email platform, and the ability to automate workflows to enhance the personation of your customers.

Pros

There's a lot that we use the marketing cloud for. Automation, email, journey builder, etc. It's something that helps us work with such a massive audience. We can send emails easily and import our own templates. It's also great for automating workflows and building out dynamic emails to save time in the future. You're really able to dig into personalization with this tool and really connect with your customers.

Cons

The customer support. The support is horrible. You have to call this number (if you can find it) and then bounce around an automated system that usually ends with a message to check the online forums for help. If you have any kind of emergency or need help ASAP you're not going to get it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Complete Platform for growing Marketing needs. Empower you to make right decisions!

Reviewed on 19/04/2019

I am very happy using salesforce marketing cloud and have been using for years now. We are able to manage all our marketing effort in a more efficient and discipline manner and support our sales team throughout the sales cycle. It's difficult to justify ROI on marketing, but with salesforce marketing cloud we are able to justify our spends on various campaigns since they are yielding high results.

Pros

Analytics that you can drill down related to any specific activity (open rate, click ratio, engagements). You can manage all your marketing programs from various channel under the same platform.

Cons

It needs a little learning before you start using it in a efficient manner. UI can be a little more friendly to all the users. Importing/ exporting files can sometimes get corrupted. Having said, it's the best in its space.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

A huge waste of time

Reviewed on 24/04/2020

Working with the support team is extremely painful. We spent hours over multiple weeks showing them our issues over video. Their premium support resources often couldn't figure out how to resolve our issues. It felt like they were just as fed up with this crap tool as we are. Although they didn't say it, I think one of our key employees quit over the frustration of dealing with marketing cloud.

Pros

I don't like anything about this software.

Cons

The integration with Salesforce is WAY oversold in the marketing materials. Moving data back and forth between the two products is extremely finicky and prone to breaking. Expect lots of duplication of data and lists that will invariably be out of sync. Managing email opt out lists with two systems of record from the same company is a CAN-SPAM nightmare. The integration's administrative tools can't be accessed in lightning. The customer facing unsubscribe and profile management pages look like shit and can't be branded or customized. They are so old, they still provide customers a warning about using HTML emails with AOL. Your Salesforce users will see email sends and interactions in contact records for some but not all emails sent via marketing cloud. If you try to send to a campaign or report from Salesforce, email personalization won't work. Same thing for transactional emails. You will have to send every single piece of personalization data in the API call to marketing cloud, because MC won't be able to find it on its own, even though it has a list of all these attributes and is supposedly syncing with Salesforce. There is single sign on, but only by request, and provisioning of accounts is not supported. Journeys will break the minute you make the slightest change to them. Trying to split journeys based on Salesforce attributes often just doesn't work. Because it's Salesforce, anything you would actually want to do with this software comes at an additional cost.

Michelle A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Versatile platform with many possibilities!

Reviewed on 10/10/2017

Tons of resources!
Look on the community site for answers to your questions or just to see what is possible!
Make sure someone goes through the training modules online-Trailblazer

Pros

You can hire a consulting company to change Salesforce to fit your business needs if you don't have the time or knowledge to do so (we hired Cloud Creations on the referral from our sales manager). The community is so large and expansive that you could easily find a fix to any sort of business problem you are having. We really needed a platform that integrated with our home grown system and made sure that all of our departments were talking to one another. We chose Salesforce because of its ability to be shaped and molded based on our business model. And you can adapt as your company grows-change things, add things, do whatever you want!

Cons

It did take some months to get our version of Salesforce to be where we wanted it, but for other companies that had more IT resources or time to devote to it would probably not take as long. Make sure you have a project manager or person dedicated to its success and implementation internally or it might not get adopted within your company.

Trevor M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Salesforce is the CRM everyone dreams of

Reviewed on 01/11/2017

Salesforce does everything we needed, and more. As a non-profit, they originally didn't help us that much, but once we were connected with our own representative, she has been super helpful and keen. We used Microsoft Access before for our data management and this is much, much better. While it is a very different tool than Access, I find it does everything that access could, just a bit differently (and mostly in a more consistent / user-friendly way)

Pros

Loads of features; easy to use; different interface styles (classic vs lightning) to meet different preferences; cloud-based; accessible via browser; mobile app; free 10 licenses for non-profits! free self-teaching tools available online; very transparent in their activities (i.e. maintenance schedule, updates)

Cons

back-end can be complex; expensive for small scale businesses; can be time-consuming to learn to use

Mattt J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Salesforce is great for storing all aspects of customer data

Reviewed on 25/03/2018

Pros

With this product you can store any bit of customer data. This is a sales persons greatest tool. In addition you can create custom objects to enable the support team to better work cases.

Cons

Not all stored data can be pulled into reports. Salesforce does not do calculations on dates or times. This can make it difficult to do everything you need to in the system itself.

Jorge C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best CRM in the market

Reviewed on 03/01/2018

Pros

Salesforce has been a great tool for our organization. It has allowed us to forecast appropriately and has us to identify gaps in our sales process.

Cons

At times it can be a little clunky. But that is nature of any CRM. I've looked at a lot of different CRMs in the market and Salesforce has been the best thus far.

Emily M.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Email Marketing Tool Available

Reviewed on 13/03/2018

Pros

- Great ROI on product
- Easy to use
- Has all the features we want
- Account reps are active in our account
- Great conferences - Dreamforce is amazing

Cons

The tool has a steep learning curve. Some of the training documentation is outdated and customer support can sometimes take awhile to help you.

Myca A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Exceptional functionality, matching price

Reviewed on 04/04/2018

It's a SalesForce product now! There is still a fair bit of work to be done by the SF team in order to make this platform as good as it could potentially be, but it's on the right track. Great choice if you're a die-hard SF user who wants to get more of your MarComm stack.

Pros

Relatively well integrated with SalesForce, so this is a good choice if you're fully utilizing SalesForce for tracking sales. There are plenty of bells and whistles that allow you to take full advantage of advanced marketing automation and campaign management.

Cons

Non-profits and other smaller organizations may find it challenging to implement this platform. It is highly extensible and customizable, but that also means that there can be a high cost associated with any customizations. Several colleagues who are actively using this platform have mentioned challenges with upgrades and such.

Justin D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Very Versatile CRM Solution

Reviewed on 03/10/2017

Pros

SalesForce can do anything, it seems, with the right amount of effort. They have integrations all over the place, and though it takes a lot of work to make it work how you want it to, you can basically make it do whatever you need.

Cons

SalesForce has a bit of an outdated UI, and their ongoing beta for an updated UI isn't as functional as the old UI. It does a lot, but it could be faster, prettier, and more intuitive.

Sofia D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Such a great software!

Reviewed on 12/10/2016

It is very useful with all the features it has to offer. I was a Marketing Manager at my previous job and used this software daily. Once all the data is imported it is pretty simple to use from there. For those who are manually entering the data, I would suggest to fill out all the fields in order to get the most out of everything. I like all the dashboards and are very user friendly. It makes Social Media marketing easy! All the platforms are offered and tracks analytics for each post.

Pros

The best part is that Salesforce customer service is pretty spot on when I asked for tutorial videos or was stuck on something. I emailed them and they called me as soon as possible. I would talk to the customer service representatives for hours and they would walk me step by step.

Cons

The reports when exported are not very appealing. I wish they were formatted differently. It is a little pricey, but you do have a to work with.

Kristi T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good tool for us for need some help.

Reviewed on 05/10/2016

Good tool but training has to be done separately or on your own. It's been a little hard to ensure we're using it to its full capability unless we figure it out on our own or hire someone to train us.

Pros

Journey Builder, access to data

Cons

Little training unless purchased separately.

Mason P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

The worst....

Reviewed on 19/02/2015

Going to do a short list here...

-No consistent browser compatibility/takes two browsers to send one email: I have to design & preview emails in Chrome but content does not load in guided send box, so I have to send them via Safari, but in Safari content doesn't load in preview tab, so I'm basically sending blindly once I've created the email in Chrome.

-Lag time: It can take up to one minute for pages to load within the platform. The platform times out on me at least 3 or 4 times a day when trying to navigate through different pages in the console.

-Customer service: Non-existent. The service our account manager has provided has been abysmal. When I tried to communicate these issues they were ignored until I said something on Twitter. He then took them seriously, but to the day, has still never provided me with a resolution, and would not even follow up on progress unless I prompted him by asking where we're at in the process. We also received 3 invoices after paying a massive lump sum, that are apparently due payments on the invoice we've already paid. I've been trying to get ahold of accounting there for a week to no avail. This afternoon I was even transferred to HP (the computer company) when I asked to speak to accounts payable dept. No lie. That really happened.

I could go on for hours... but I have to struggle through their platform to get some more emails out for the rest of the day. We're moving platforms next week and I cannot wait. Our annual cost with the new platform will be less than one quarter with Exacttarget.

tl;dr version: The UX is terrible, customer service is non-existent, and it's massively overpriced. Look elsewhere - avoid at all costs.

Pros

You can send emails....

Cons

Too many to list... Trust me... we tried for over a year. It is not a matter of our email expertise. They are an enterprise, and they treat you like the little man you are comparatively.

Response from Salesforce Marketing Cloud (formerly ExactTarget)

Hi Mason,
We are sorry to hear that you're experiencing these issues, and I’m continuing to escalate with our internal team based on your feedback. Would you be willing to share some screen captures of the issues so that we can send them over to our product team?
Thanks,
Katie

Yazir P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful, Simple and complex at the same time

Reviewed on 16/10/2018

Can be complex or can be very simple. Lots of functionalities

Pros

Very easy to use email software
A/B testing functionality is very flexible allowing you to increase performance of emails
HTML tools are helpful in creating emails

Cons

Better analytics are needed!!
Backend can be complex
There are sometimes too many ways to do the same thing. Making it confusing

Monica acon A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Top of the line, hard on the bank but effective CRM

Reviewed on 18/01/2018

Pros

Sales Force CRM is a really effective program. Our company switched to Sales Force from Microsoft Dynamics and have seen a substantial change. It is easier to use and we can keep track of data more effectively

Cons

The switch is a substancial investment for a company. It is not worth it for a small company. The cost of the software is the only negative

Lyndsay R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

The leader in integration and automation!

Reviewed on 29/09/2015

Salesforce is hands-down the best CRM out there. I have worked with it in both small business and large entity capacities and it works perfectly for both.

Pros

I think the best part about it is its ability to simply replace many applications because it can function in place of them. Data, Knowledge, Contacts, Accounts, automated email campaigns, social media, Support tickets, scheduling reporting - all in one. The company I work for now has separate applications for all of these and only the sales team uses Salesforce. It feels like such a waste.

Cons

The only con I have perceived is how quickly SFDC moves forward with new features - and the amount of focus they put on things they are rolling out. Sometimes, I think the energy would be better spent improving the current features.

Sean W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Salesforce Marketing Cloud

Reviewed on 06/10/2016

Salesforce Marketing Cloud is easy to use and has more capabilities than it's competitors. You can also easily integrate the Marketing Cloud to the Sales or Service Cloud and it has excellent Social Listening tools as well.

Sumit C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Centralising customer communication

Reviewed on 04/09/2018

There are other content management software but not quite as integrated to CRM landscape

Pros

Pretty easy in terms of configuration and can handle complex business rules. It is quite a flexible software for business needs.

Cons

It is cumbersome for the support resources to get started. Hence the learning curve is quite steep and the same way for the support team. But once they are accustomed to the changes it is quite a flexible software for your needs.

Amrit P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Salesforce Marketing Cloud User Review

Reviewed on 07/05/2019

Complex journey builder helps in creating unique business use cases. Would love it to be more in sync with salesforce instantly like marketo does via a simple drag and drop feature.

Pros

The ability to create complex journeys. Build business units. Granular Segmentation in Data Extensions.

Cons

Static. Is not instantly synced with Salesforce via a drag and drop feature. Data Extensions need to be created every time.

Erik R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Expensive yet fully customized to meet your expectations

Reviewed on 12/02/2018

Pros

the customized can be tailored to your specific business needs that alone is great also with the five9 addition dialer & crm in one

Cons

the maneuvering between menus or contacts/opportunities can be sluggish and tedious at times but besides that great crm

Jordan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Rolls Royce Of CRM's

Reviewed on 10/02/2018

Overall an excellent platform for the value.

Pros

I have been extremely happy with the ease of use when creating and tracking the activity of client accounts. I am still working on getting my salesforce admin certification just to ensure that I am using the software to the maximum ability. From what I understand watching the Dreamforce competitions, salesforce offers options which allow for entrepreneurs and business owners to further develop themselves within this ecosystem. Looking forward to further exploring the platform.

Cons

At the moment the only thing I would have a dislike about would be the layout of the tab options, from my understanding lighting experience works with much more ease and I will be learning this part of the platform shortly.

Daniela N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great CRM for sales

Reviewed on 09/06/2017

Pros

Easy to use
Easy to update and convert lead to actual accounts
Great for tracking goals and progress

Cons

Great for sales but not so much for recruiting
Dislike that there can be duplicates created if you use a different phone number (businesses with multiple lines)

Ailyn mae E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Salesforce Marketing Cloud for customer connections and engagements

Reviewed on 16/10/2018

Pros

What i really like about this product is that there are many marketing tools that helps the user make recommendations, advertisement and services related to customer engagement.

Cons

I dont see any negative about this product except for the complexity of the product, but it is tolerable since the Salesforces Marketing is very useful and you get what you pay. A must have App.