Kayako

4.0 (158)
Unified customer service platform

Overall rating

4.0 /5
(158)
Value for Money
3.8/5
Features
3.8/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Support Software
3.8/5

76%
recommended this app

158 Software options

Mark T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful System, Steep Learning Curve

Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Kayako is where we manage all of our client tickets. It is great for my daily work routine and allows me to stay on top of many tasks at the same time. I have been working with it for 1.5 years and it works great for me now, but the first few months took a long time to get used to. Things are not where you would think they would be. The system is VERY customizable, however, and if you have a person that can put in the work to set the system up, it can be bent to fit your specific company needs.

Pros

Kayako automates a lot of the communication and tracking processes for us. Since my company has put the time into setting up Kayako to meet our companies needs, I am able to focus mostly on client communication and not administrative tasks.

Cons

The system is very particular about what you can and can't do. Things that seem like they would be obviously included do not exist (seeing all open tickets from an organization, for example), and must be either set up manually or gotten to in a roundabout way. Kayako also requires a steep learning curve and is not an intuitive system.

Allison S.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Kayako is an advance in potential customers.

Reviewed on 22/05/2018

I have been able to establish better attention with potential clients within my company, in this way, it has had a better control and thus obtain better finances. Potential customers have been satisfied when we use Kayako because we serve them at any time of the day.

Pros

The best thing about Kayako is that it has many, many ways to communicate with a potential client, and this is very important and very influential because it allows a connection with more progress and makes the client get more attention.

Cons

I think you should improve a couple of things, such as prices, and customer service, the design should leave it as it is since it gives a lot of comfort and is nice, but should fix the support by 80% so that a better customer service.

Ed C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product. Works well. Customer Support stinks.

Reviewed on 22/06/2018

Just a very nice, easy to use helpdesk service.

Pros

Layout is nice, many great features, customize-able, good price, very easy to use, very easy to set up and implement.

Cons

Customer services stinks. If anything goes technically wrong their tech support is outsourced. The workers work 9-5 so the only way to talk to them in the USA is by staying up until 2am. The tech support that you talk to during USA hours are fairly helpful with basic things but take a long time to get back to you.

Rodrigo C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Support system missing a CRM

Reviewed on 14/06/2018

We had Zendesk before but Kayako is a really serious support ticket system
I wish the price were better

Pros

Easy to use, depending on your license is very customizable.
Once the ticket is created adding notes, screenshots and files is really simple and fast

Cons

API or link to CRM directly is really needed
External add on works but with serious limitations.
Old kayako had a voip system to do phone calls

Hamzah T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product for any company looking to up its customer service and support game

Reviewed on 18/06/2018

Pros

Multi-channel support, live chat, time tracking (makes support we provide over live chat easy to track and easy to bill), shared inbox and FREE collaborators in the growth plan make supporting customers simple and effective.

Cons

It would have been great if Kayako was also built for sales and lead gen. Currently our support team gets more value out of the product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Kayako is either very helpful or very unhelpful

Reviewed on 06/10/2017

I was able to perform my job.

Pros

The interface has not changed in a very long time. For a quick open/close ticketing system it works great. It is very easy for a person to just start using it with about a 15 minute explanation.

Cons

The software hasn't changed in a long time. It looks very dated. The functionality is very much lacking. There are bugs that are unresolved. Things can get very lost very easily. There are some easy features that can be added that would enhance the software a lot.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Kayako Review

Reviewed on 28/11/2018

Overall, Kayako works fairly well. I use it daily in my IT role to support our organizations users and to manage tickets.

Pros

Kayako is an efficient ticket management system and it's affordable.

Cons

Occasionally there will be issues when creating tickets or adding attachments and multiple attempts will need to be made.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Fairly robust software that will work for most organization

Reviewed on 14/05/2018

This has allowed us to track and monitor our incidents and support issues pretty easily and has streamlined some of our processes.

Pros

This software is fairly simple to use and can handle quite a bit of data. There is a lot of customization that can be done which makes the software quite flexible. The audit log feature is very simple to use and provides all status entries and updates in one easy to access location.

Cons

This can be unstable at time but the fixes are always quick and easy to accomplish. The automated routing is lacking and I with there were more options for ticket generations and closures. The classic interface can be hard to navigate.

B. B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Kayako has been effective for our company.

Reviewed on 15/06/2018

Pros

I most like the easy real-time communication that is possible through Kayako. We are able to quickly assist our customers because of it.

Cons

I wish I could delete the feature that tells the customer approx. how long it will take us to respond. When we receive a chat outside of our business hours, we aren't able to get back with them until the next day. This causes our "time to respond" to give an inaccurate estimate.

Gabrielle L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fairly robust support software at an "ok" price

Reviewed on 24/04/2018

Pros

The older "classic" version is very customizable, but does require considerable technical aptitude.

Cons

The interface is a bit clunky and isn't very intuitive. You need need to know how to do basic html, css and even some js to get the client-facing side usable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Help Desk Software

Reviewed on 22/10/2018

Pros

1. Easy to install
2. Intuitive UI
3. Very responsive customer support

Cons

1. Tickets searching should be improved to make it faster and more efficient

Gurpreet S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

great application for ticketing system, still some things can be added to make it more...

Reviewed on 19/06/2018

manage tickets and departments.

Pros

It is very easy to use and real easy to manage user and staff. Very easy to create department and assign permissions to users.

Cons

Sometime its hard to find the last reply from user. feature like minimize old reply(responses) and just to see latest one would be useful.

William E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Proven but costly.

Reviewed on 14/06/2018

Setup a good service desk with high customer satisfaction.

Pros

Easy to use, customer-friendly, customizable. Easy to setup and low-maintenance. Good balance between ease of use and developer tools.

Cons

Vague support policies, not clear where to contact and when support is available. Cost: too expensive for the offering, yet proven.

Katherine P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very happy with our contract with Kayako

Reviewed on 15/06/2018

Pros

We switched from Happyfox to Kayako and haven't looked back! The price is cheaper per month and the functionality is 10 times better.

Cons

Strangely enough, there's no easy way to put links in your form reply emails. Some of the more advanced programming stuff and automatization is hard to understand.

Gary scaife
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Robust and flexible helpdesk software

Reviewed on 05/02/2014

We started using Kayako back when it was still on version 3 ( current version is 4.64 ). At the time we had several issues keeping track of the workload our staff were under, and this resulted in very poor customer service. Kayako helped us to organise our staff, and start putting our resources where they were needed. The SLA management is fantastic and lets you build nested levels of support to ensure we know only meet our SLA’s, but we also ensure that important customers are always dealt with asap.

Pros

The ticket management, from automated replies, SLA’s, canned responses, follow ups to detailed audit logs.
Kayako is a huge product with so many features that it will undoubtedly be able to meet any requirements, even from the largest of companies.

Cons

There is no real con I can think of, the only issue we had was the time it took us to learn the software, it can do pretty much everything, but it takes time to learn where everything is configured from. ( The admin CP is full of options all over )

Oggy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software for new start-ups. Easy to use with many functionalities at your disposal.

Reviewed on 03/10/2017

Provided ticketing system for customer support.

Pros

The software is intuitive and allows for many functions to be used in different settings. Great tracking capability and is fairly inexpensive compared to most competitors.

Cons

Reporting may require some coding skills which may result in contacting customer support for assistance. Weekly/Monthly reports lacks comprehensible user interface .

Gary M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Saved us countless hours of support time and improved our service

Reviewed on 19/02/2015

Pros

The extensive configuration really helped us ensure we met all our customer SLAs and ensured our staff gave out consistent help and advice to our customers.

Cons

I don't really have too many complaints. I guess I would like it if the pattern matching rules were a little easier to configure.

Johann K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The review

Reviewed on 22/08/2019

Kayako's goal seems to be ambiguous, but with this UI, it's a long way to go.

Pros

It's easy to see that Kayako has put the focus to the customers. It's really easy to track your customers route to you and help them with all the background information.

Cons

The user interface looks just plain bad. Chat and knowledge base tools are also mediocre. None of the features can be considered exceptional.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Zero new features in last 2 years. Deceptive billing. Avoid.

Reviewed on 07/03/2020

When we wanted to cancel and downgraded through their admin portal to smaller number number of users. They billed us for the OLD number of users (thousands of dollar) and then refused to reimburse us. Deceptive, bad business. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

Pros

Software is basic, has basic helpdesk. The basic helpdesk worked for us for some time, chat worked for us for some time, but literally did not keep up.

Cons

The software has not kept up with the rest of the market. Zero product innovation in the last 1-2 years.

Madde N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great Starter Product

Reviewed on 16/03/2021

Pros

This product was great for our starter company. I loved the ease of communicating with clients and the messages were all in the same place. It worked for our company in the early stages.

Cons

I wished that there was a sounds when you received incoming messages or chats. It was hard to keep up with who was chatting if you had another window open.

Vincent po B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good helpdesk tool until they stopped offering the free plan

Reviewed on 27/03/2019

Pros

Very elegant and well-produced helpdesk app. I was in the middle of switching over to Kayako until they stopped offering the free plan, so had to scrap the migration.

Cons

No more free plan. I was using Freshdesk and liked Kayako better and was starting to migrate my own and clients over to Kayako until they scrapped the free plan, so stayed with Freshdesk.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pretty easy to use and simple. Makes completing tickets easy.

Reviewed on 20/04/2018

Pros

I like the UI and again, the ease of use. The system is quick to pick up and is easy to recommend to someone.

Cons

It is hard to manage all the information you have when you are searching for things. This causes issues especially if there are tickets from the past you need to do research.

Andres J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great partner for customer support

Reviewed on 22/08/2018

Pros

Very complete tool for customer support. Having tickets, knowledge base, assistants, escalation rules, custom templates and chats are very easy to setup.

Cons

Pricing could turn high with a big team of agents. If you need custom development or training you must hire third party companies.

Katherine F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Kayako ticketing system user

Reviewed on 05/04/2019

kayako is easy to use but less automated function for the user.

Pros

kayako is user friendly. easy to locate and search tickets. the filter is nice and easy to use, if example you would like to filter tickets handled by this particular user, you will just click the name of the user and it will show all the user's tickets.

Cons

kayako will not close the ticket automatically even if the recipient of the ticket did not respond to the ticket for few days. You have to manually close the ticket but before closing, you have to follow up with the recipient if we can close the ticket which can trigger the recipient to come up with another issue.

Pravin J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Reviewed on 04/05/2017