158 reviews

Kayako

Unified customer service platform

4 /5 (158 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
76%
recommended this app
158 reviews
Jon S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Kayako worked for us

Reviewed on 04/10/2018

We installed the On-Prem version of Kayako and for the most part were happy with its functionality and management of our help tickets.

Pros

Kayako allowed us to manage our Help Desk while keeping costs down but still providing enough functionality to streamline our support and communication to the users.

Cons

There wasn't any integration withour Scrum and Agile software tools (and it didn't have the functionality on its own) so it made it double work to move a Trouble Ticket to a Task

Olav S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

it works but required a lot of enhancements to make it work proper for us

Reviewed on 26/06/2018

Getting us closer to our customers and helping them solving their problems. Kayako delivered that base functionality and more at the time we switched from one of the Atlassian products (2012). Since than we have enhanced to improve out internal workflows. However, there is a lot we would like to see in the near future to shorten ticket work time and able to switch to customer self managment / help for the simple stuff. The more we can get out of the core / base functionality the better it is for us which requires real commitment.

Btw. Industry selection is missing Enterprise software or similar.

Pros

As we use Kayako for a long time (since 2012?) you get used to it which makes it difficult answer. Thinking about it stability comes into mind. Beside usual software bugs our system is very stable and reliable and doesn't need much maintenance. We like the new UI that came with classic 4.90 as it gives a modern look. From the feature perspective ticket management works very well for us in general but there isn't a particular feature to high light.

Cons

In first place we are missing the commitment for Kayako classic. Nothing has happened since two years (going to cloud announcement). However, this might change now. There are a lot of things that can be improved like Knowledge Base, File management, workflow, troubleshooting, etc. Back porting some of the new cloud features would be also much appreciated team collaboration, one workflow, etc. Lastly a much better and faster context aware search would help us a lot.
All of this has recently discussed with our new Kayako contacts.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Long Time Customer - Very Dissappointing Final Experiences

Reviewed on 18/06/2018

Pros

The software was ahead of its time when my company started using it in 2011. Easy to organize. Nice ticket merging. Accountability with being able to assign tickets to staff with notifications, etc. When the new version of Kayako came out there was a lot of confusion on merging, upgrading, and it never ended up happening for my business.

Cons

The utter lack of respect I was given as a long time customer was frustrating. I asked to get out of contract in the middle of a year long term for a partial refund. It took over 2 months to get a final 'no' answer. When the contract was up, it auto-renewed, even though I'd made it perfectly clear I had another system in place and no longer needed Kayako. I asked for a refund immediately and was told it wasn't possible. I had to do a chargeback on my card to get the refund, and THEN Kayako agreed to the refund. Why leave such a bad taste in my mouth as a long-time customer? It just makes no sense and pretty much guarantees I will NEVER be back.

Wayiel B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

We have been using kayako for 8+ years and it was a great experience for customer support...

Reviewed on 23/06/2018

Pros

Kayako has a modern fast interface that will guide you what queries you want to know , and the fast response from the server , also its mobile application .
Easy update the tickets , replay , attach files . Users and department managing is

Cons

I was fetching a query to make csv or excel report exported for the tickets opened during last year for example , I made copy and past for all pages ! . I wonder if there is a way to export the list of critical tickets for example other than the way I used .
Also , Manual Backup was removed from the tools .
The monthly fees is high related to the dollar increasing .

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Recent price changes made it too expensive for us

Reviewed on 29/06/2018

We have our helpdesk using this every day. We get very few user complaints about the ticket system itself.

Pros

Admin tools for automatically dealing with tickets are great. Actually handling tickets is very easy, as is adding internal notes.

Cons

Agent ability to search tickets is lacking. We had to make some changes to let our supervisors see every ticket message even if it is deleted by an agent.
We could never get the knowledgebase to work the way we wanted.
Sometimes it is not clear who is getting copied on any specific ticket reply.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Software is buggy, support is not keeping up with requests. India-based support.

Reviewed on 21/06/2018

Pros

- Standard support tracking software not trying to "re-invent" how support should run.
- Price is "ok", but alternatives should be considered first, given more mature platforms are available for the same price point.
- Ability to offer Email / Chat / Social support which are well integrated
- KB articles is included which is good, fairly configurable on the visual front (ie more than Intercom)
- Ready to go if you are looking for a simple support system with a single team / person / level of support.

Cons

- The integration with the KB articles is incomplete and there is no value-add in using a single platform for both KB + Ticketing.
- Live Chat messenger is limited in functionality
- We have discovered that the software was completely overhaul 2 years ago to make it cloud-based (previously server installed) and not as stable as one would expect for a 10 yo company.
- Their support is passing the "buck" continuously and ends up closing issues which were not resolved.
- features are promised to be delivered with ETA and are either not delivered or half-baked
- full disclosure we are planning on migrating away within 3 months.

Timo P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not very confident with the product development. Features not perfect, same bugs might...

Reviewed on 25/06/2018

Pros

UI: It's clear to use, lot of space for the ticket conversation. Ability to publish KB articles through web portal. Rather stable.

Cons

SLA's not always working correctly. Complex administation in some things (templates, template groups etc) resulting in long learning curve for administration.

Denise O.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Great Product

Reviewed on 18/04/2018

Pros

I like the fact that I am able to organize and keep track of the tickets I need to attend using many subfolders under my main folder.

Cons

In some cases the filter is limited in such a sense that "not equal" terms need to be used to create meangful filter structures.

Gabe O.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

It works well enough

Reviewed on 14/06/2018

Pros

Mobile app is great for on the go and the desktop app. Quick view of data laid out. and ability to create custom categories.

Cons

Complex layout. cannot be logged in at multiple sessions at a time with same user. Lack of reponse for service related issues

Mariano M.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Experience and good Support

Reviewed on 14/06/2018

Pros

What I like the most is the way you work day to day with the portal, it's easy and I use the classic version

Cons

he new version does not convince me, it's very easy to mix all the tickets and departments, in the classic it is all more segmented.

Ram S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Works for what we need

Reviewed on 24/04/2018

Our business runs on it

Pros

Customizable gives a lots of a lot of options on how we want to set up the support page.

Decent support too.

Cons

Not easey to set up, it took us a long time and the assistance we got was somewhat lacking in instructions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Like it, but needs a few more features

Reviewed on 14/06/2018

we upgraded from an older version and were able to retain old data.

Pros

live chat function is really helpful. easy to keep track of all customers questions and responses. I like the merge function. it really helps to condense multiple tickets when a customer keeps sending requests on the same topic without replying back to the original email response.

Cons

has a few bugs that keep it from being the best ticket system.
there is no option to delete or remove notes.
there is no option to EDIT notes. that is seriously needed as an upgrade.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Fairly Good Alternative to ZenDesk

Reviewed on 26/12/2018

Pros

Kayako allows basic management of support cases, predefined responses, ticket categories, and other basic facets of customer support management software. Kayako competes with Zendesk, a much larger product with a larger adoption, but it holds up fairly well in a comparison with it's more prevalent rival. I've used both, and I've never been seriously limited in terms of handling a steady (or spiked and unpredictable) influx of customer support inquiries.

Cons

I can't point out anything inherently wrong with Kayako, but I'd question why someone would choose it over Zendesk, especially given the amount of service reps who are already intimately familiar with it's more popular competitor.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Easy to use but lacks new age quality

Reviewed on 03/07/2018

Pros

Having complete control of the software including custom branding makes using Kayako a good software support system. Everything is very simple to use and new users can pick up the software very fast.

Cons

There are features that are confusing to a beginning user. It does not integrate with other software very easily if at all where other support systems do.

Alex S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very clean and very user-friendly.

Reviewed on 03/03/2015

Pros

For me personally, the option to color code different categories separately helps my day run smoothly due to its organizational capabilities.

Cons

There are times where attaching a file can be difficult. It will always send but sometimes may take 2-3 attempts. It's the same with receiving email attachments of certain sizes. It can be a bit limited when receiving emails over 10MB.

Nick D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Was decent, but now crappy

Reviewed on 19/01/2019

WAS a great company and choice, but now just garbage towards the right information that customers need compared to worrying about money.

Pros

The classic version had a mobile iOS and Android, now it's just Desktop only which sucks. The functions to handle support for both support hosting and other services.

Cons

The cost and the lack of really updated features such as being able to use PHP 7, mobile support more than a single ticket app.

Mario V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Compared to other helpdesk, this tool has become outdated and is not user friendly

Reviewed on 20/06/2018

Pros

The Kayako helpdesk is very helpfull
Various options to customize your ticket fields
Easy users permissions/role management

Cons

UX is bad
Ticket search options have some annoying restrictions
Kayako doesn't have many options to link to other systems
Reports seems at first fine but when trying to do more fancy stuff the KQL language proves to be very limited
Kayako can 't be compared to other systems like the Atlassian HelpDesk tool

Mohamed M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Splendid performance I've seen once we integrated kayako software with our platform.

Reviewed on 21/04/2018

Visiting customers to our website can be seen once this implemented.

Pros

One click integration, easy to use, friendly UI, one interface to most of the platform such as (Facebook, Twitter)

Cons

Need bit improvement from latest technologies such Artificial Intelligence. If world changing customer experience CHATBOTS can be integrated with the package will be one of the best products in the market for sure.

James M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Reviewed on 01/02/2016

Wapplics web D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 27/09/2018

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good product maybe not intuitive for end users

Reviewed on 19/06/2018

Better Customer support for your visitors.

Pros

You can do a lot of things literally and it is perfect for small and medium teams. I like also the email notification setting: i could get track of people contacting us easily.

Cons

The fact that it seems not so intuitive for end users because little of them have used this live chat.

Anita S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best software for internal and external email communication

Reviewed on 07/12/2018

I love using kayako as it has been the best communication platform which not only allows me to communicate but also provides me reports on any urgent email that I need to act on immediately which saves me from delayed tasks and replies.
Since we switched from outlook to kayako software for inter-team and client communication, kayako has provided the best communication platform which allowed us to to have an organized, easy to refer to and not only use but also can view any sent/received email from any location via any device.

Pros

Kayako has been the best communication platform for professional communication that I have used so far. Kayako is recommended for both inter-team and external - client communication. The best feature of kayako is that it allows you to organize your emails into folder based on departments, status and the nature of the email content.
Also using other type of email platforms has been a worry at times and time consuming when trying to find all the back and forth communication happened on one email thread by multiple people, but kayako provides the best solution by capturing all the communication happened on one subject/email which is sent and received by one or many, in the same email thread which we call a "Ticket"

Interface of kayako can be designed and created as per the user's requirement and preference.
Also referring to an email has been very convenient as each ticket carries its own unique Ticket ID.

It also provides reports on emails based on its nature. ex: overdue, received within 24hrs and etc based on rules we set which allows to the user to be more organized, effective and proactive.

Cons

Understanding and using the software is essential as it doesn't function like other email platforms but has its own organized interface. Inter team communication The software is mainly build for professional communication however I wish it could have few other options like adding colors, tables and etc but apart from that no other cons to mention.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Expensive for small companies, and sometimes buggy, but a great customer experience

Reviewed on 10/02/2021

Generally great experience for the end user, but could use some occasional polish.

Pros

Really easy and streamlined customer experience. The support for a JWT-based sign in for customers into the help centre means that people have a single account to sign in to everything, rather than creating separate accounts like you'd have to do with Zendesk or similar, and it just makes life a whole lot easier overall. The widget is nicely-designed, neat and unobtrusive.

Cons

For a single agent, the plans are quite expensive, especially if you want functionality like customer SSO. I also find the notifications it provides are very iffy, sometimes not being delivered - and for some infuriating reason, there's no option to deliver emails for replies only when you're not already online!

Domenico T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Flexible and focused, built around fresh concepts and technologies.

Reviewed on 22/06/2018

We set up our help-desk website and our support ticket system in no time.
Multiple channels support (email and in-app chat in our use case) and case merging feature helped us keeping our support backlog clean and readable.

Pros

I love it's UX design that feels modern and easy to use. The conversation metaphore is very powerful and automation macros system is really neat.

Cons

Software internationalization and available translations are poor.
Even if my team contributed full UI translation for language 'it' on transifex most of the UI is not translated yet. More than a year has passed since then.
If you need to support multi-language for your users, check that required languages have full support.

Hannah M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Kayako From a Customer Service Perspective

Reviewed on 15/10/2019

Pros

It it nice to be able to pull up multiple conversations/tickets within one window, as it made it easy to switch between current ongoing projects and also complete research with little confusion. Also, Kayako shows in real-time who is looking at a ticket, thus it made it easy for Customer Service as we could see if someone was already working on that ticket. One of the nice things about Kayako was the ability to see when the recipients of an email opened it or looked at it. If there were several recipients, it would break down who opened the email, when. Thus, from a documentation standpoint, if someone was claiming to have never received an email, we were able to show that they had in fact opened the email.

Cons

There were few reporting tools and there was no way to set follow-up tasks. We relied on setting reminders on another system like our Google calendar. Also, Kayako was getting quite expensive, which was one of the big factors in our company switching to a different ticketing system.