3,507 reviews

GitHub

Social coding & collaborative development platform

4.8 /5 (3507 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
3,507 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great way to share your work

Reviewed on 18/07/2019

I enjoy GitHub and would recommend it to anyone who wants to give Git a try and/or wants to work on a personal project without the burden of setting up their own server, user access, restrictions, etc...

Pros

I've been setting up and using Git for work, for more than 3 years now. I was used to SVN and Mercurial when I came across Git. GitHub is a very good and easy way to share your work, get access to it from anywhere and get a good grasp at what git can offer.

I'm using GitHub for personal project and love the fact that I can do almost anything I've been setting up on our company server for professional project. The free version is perfect to share work and even get people involved, the paid version could be a great tool for small team working on private projects.

Cons

There's nothing really bad about GitHub, my only comment would be on the security side of thing. Not because it's not good, but because it could be a bit confusing when you start to setup double authentication and want to make sure you get proper pushing/pulling access from the command line and/or your software of choice.

Phaneendra A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best repository hosting service on the market

Reviewed on 24/08/2018

Overall, github as a versioning control system, is definitely worth the effort, time and investment as it can give you much more flexibility and peace of mind for any project.
I would recommend github to be useful for anyone who codes.

Pros

I work on linux and other open source projects; as far as I am aware most of the open source projects are hosted on github because its free and included nifty features like wikis, issue trackers.
One of the feature that makes using github so popular is using simple text editor for writing formatted documents and also there is vast documentation to get help.
Since github is more like showcase of code we wrote, it can be used as marketing tool and put in resume; it is better than linkedin profile in my opinion.
Also code versioning, integration with cloud platforms and syntax highlight for language support is second to none.

Cons

There is bit of learning curve during my initial days of github, but past that its smooth.
Even though the free model is sufficient to get started on github, the versioning and some advanced features cost and comparatively prices are high on github in my opinion.

Lasha M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best version control system in the market

Reviewed on 10/01/2020

GitHub is practically a necessity for anyone involved in coding. As a system administrator, I often have to set up routines and scripts that run on every computer in my company and I need to work on them with my teammates. GitHub makes it easy to collaborate on projects, pricing is pretty good and it's easy to pick up.

Pros

GitHub is the bread and butter for most people in IT field who work with code. It makes collaborating on a project super easy and fast. Multiple people can work on different features and GitHub merges them together into the master branch with no effort. It has excellent graphical interface for simple usage and for more advanced users - a downloadable prompt called git bash which lets you fully control your repositories. My favorite feature so far is that it automatically analyses your code for vulnerabilities and notifies you. It also has reporting features such as total time spent on a project, lines written by each contributor, distribution of programming languages in a project and so on.

Cons

I'd like a more advanced site hosting for starters. Also, it'd be nice to have a graphical interface of all the branches and nodes for project. Repository search functionality has gotten worse in past year. It used to be snappy, but now it barely works.

Rob R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great, well adopted tool for code versioning

Reviewed on 26/12/2019

Great experience on our team using GitHub for code versioning and management. And since its so widely used and adopted we have been able to easily integrate other tools for code build, deployment and continuous integration.

Pros

GitHub is super easy to use as a code repository and versioning system and it allows for developers to easily organize and document their code and applications. Old school code repositories allowed for capture of such notes but were very technical in nature to get and review the documentation. GitHub was created in more modern web world in which developers and reviewers can more easily document their changes and others can easily review such changes and notes on the web.

Since GitHub is so widely used its also available with a broad array of integrations to other developer tools and services.

Cons

Really nothing negative to speak of! Its a fantastic code versioning and repository tool! Our entire team uses it regularly on a daily basis. As a high touch tool its important to have something developers really like and is simple to use. GitHub really has no cons in this regard!

Angelique U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Leading development version control tool

Reviewed on 13/11/2019

GitHub helps us in development and version tracking. It enables us to revert incorrect merges to production and it also provides great help in comparing our changes to master. The UI is the most user-friendly I used. I've seen my non-developer friends use their site for wikis and gist which are very useful features too.

Pros

It tracks all changes in our repository. It is also very easy to collaborate with other developers since they could also access your branches. I like the way GitHub's UI compares the changes between the base branch and my branch, it is easier to read whenever I review my code. You could also customize access for security, I could specify requirements before merging to production is enabled. I can integrate it to ci/cd tools that would run my automated tests and have GitHub reflect the results.

Cons

Git commands are a little bit hard to memorize. I remember one time i checked-out everything incorrectly and there is no way for me to retrieve the files. I hope there's an undo command for it or maybe a confirmation prompt before executing to ensure that such destructive commands are legitimately requested by the user.

Jordan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Code Organization w/Github

Reviewed on 22/08/2019

I work on many web applications, websites and other digital projects and for a fair chunk of them, code repositories are a necessity. Not only do these code repositories (like GitHub) provide versioning on your code, but it also allows teams of people to more easily work on the same projects. I both contribute to and manage code repositories weekly so I definitely use and enjoy GitHub!

Pros

I love the number of third party tools that are available to help manage, contribute to and administer GitHub code repositories. Makes it easy, no matter what computer environment you are working in, to get code and update it. Also just the very concept of a code repository is awesome and GitHub's been doing that with the best of them since code repo's have been made popular.

Cons

Just the inherent complexity of using Github within an SSH/Scripting environment. But honestly this could have more to do with my preference than GitHub itself.

Abhinav K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub - The Largest Version Control Software as a Service.

Reviewed on 17/11/2018

We are using the GitHub Enterprise version and is helping as it having the larges community and user friendly interface also help you in working. Code review and Release management is also helping us to resolve the conflicts in the code.

Pros

GitHub work on open source Version Control GIT. It provide the solution to host the code for open source community as well as business. Code review is also very simple and easy in GitHub. Once you feel the power of the GIT you will surely jump to the GitHub Enterprise server as it come up with the on premises private cloud options which provide the high speed and best performance once you need to all code on a centralized location. GItHub is also having a great market place where you can find the a lot of apps that can integrate with the browser and help you in Coding or Releasing the code.

Cons

If your business is on close source then you can not jump play with access control section as a wrong option can make your code public. managing the permission is the complex part of the GitHub to manage as till default option everything goes alright but if you tangle with the wrong permission then a lot of issue your going to face in the future.

Bryan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The standard for code collaboration

Reviewed on 26/02/2018

Let's us store our git repositories in the cloud, and collaborate with developers easily. Reduces time in getting new developers integrated in our workflow.

Pros

Github is the easiest way to collaborate with other developers and store code. Years ago we used subversion and even tried other cloud options. Aside from git being a better solution for us, we used to have to spend much more time getting outside developers integrated in our version control systems. Today everyone has a Github account and knows how it works. Adding in an outside developer is as simple as adding their email as a collaborator to your repository.

Combined with its social features for open source contributions, at this point it seems crazy think of using a different solution. Pricing is very reasonable, and is now cheaper than what we paid for other VCS services in the past.

Cons

It's really difficult for me to think of something that I have a problem with here. I would say that I wish there was an official mobile app for reviewing commits on the go a bit easier. I would also like if built in analytics were improved. That said, even if these things never changed, I can't see myself leaving Github.

Timothy T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

By far the best code hosting platform

Reviewed on 26/02/2020

Excellent product that I use daily and will continue to use for many years.

Pros

I've tried all the options out there, and Github makes it easy for both beginner and experienced developers to host their code. I also manage my design resource backups on Github. Now that they offer free private repos, there's really no reason to choose anything else.

Cons

It's sometimes difficult to revert to previous commit dates, and this interface could be improved. The Github desktop app is also limited, and often causes issues that don't occur when using a git terminal command.

Chetna C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent tool to use for collaboration within teams

Reviewed on 07/03/2021

I feel this tool is really handy to use and has ample amount of resources available online.

Pros

I feel the GitHub UI is really helpful when managing merges and conflicts.
I also feel this tool is being widely used by most developers and hence they have a good knowledge available

Cons

I think they offer few private repositories for free and hence is a little expensive when you compare it with tools like Gitlab

Samridh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Everyone is using it Get on It

Reviewed on 05/04/2019

Overall it is the perfect code and source code repository for a git platform. Since I use it under the company, I have access to all the paid version access. I love the terminal commands to perform my day to day tasks and creating backup for projects and code is so much easier and most importantly the tracking history is a no brainer go to place for everything.

Pros

As a company we have now completely migrated over to Github from prior platforms such as Visual Studio and Sourcesafe. Github has been the game changer in the software and firmware side for our company and I can confidently say I love it way more than any other thing I have used in the past. It is so much easier to push the code, manage it, have multiple collaboraters and do proper version control. I can see changes from other collaborators and comments added as well much easily and it is a very much useful place when we have multiple software and firmware engineers working on different parts of the code and performing development. Github has a large resourc, really strong search engine and if you are using Git Github would be the platform for you.

Cons

It is not as obvious to use and there is a learning curve at the beginning but I would counter it with every platform would have some sort of learning curve. One has to learn the commands and their model to integrate and make the best use of their system. The file structure and repositories can get confusing at least for me when initially just starting to use it. Basically one has to know what to do it Github and lot of googling on how to's helps a lot.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great app for collaboration and the entire software development process

Reviewed on 13/06/2021

Github is an absolute must-learn tool for a software developer. The learning curve might be steep but it is absolutely worth the effort. I have been using Github from the start of my undergrad and haven't found its replacement. The convince GitHub provides is absolutely perfected to the point. In all, I had a positive experience with Github.

Pros

I work as a software engineer and due to covid-19, everyone works remote, GitHub plays a major role in helping us collaborate on our software project. It helps to manage git repos really easy and with a good UI and decent analytics tool it fits into our working environment easily.

Cons

The learning curve is quite steep (for example getting used to the terminology) but that's more of a review of git than Github. Other than that I don't really have any complaints about it.

Wechuli P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Repo Hosting Product

Reviewed on 22/08/2019

I have used GitHub for a while and it provides almost everything I need to build software. With the plans to add a CI/CD system, it would become a complete and must-have tool in a Software Developer's life.

Pros

- Free Unlimited Private Repos
- A massive online community so any issues you encounter have definitely already been solved
- Notification system for Pull Requests and Security Vulnerability on your repos is to notch
- Github sites for static page hosting
- Fast release of additional features

Cons

- No emphasis or mature support for handling multiple repos which belong to the same project like other source code hosting providers have
- No inbuilt CI/CD (Although GitHub is soon rolling out this feature)

Roman R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best way to manage your codebases.

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Use it every day for the last 8 years, the central place for collaboration around sourcecode.

Pros

The most advanced platform for source code management. It has powerful features allowing to customize access policies for admins and simple interface for developers.

Cons

Supports only Git repositories, this is an obstacle if you have old SVN or Mercurial projects that are not going to be migrated to Git.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best way to interact with Git

Reviewed on 30/07/2018

Wonderful source control that allows us to code without worrying about things that have changed and caused problems. Easy to go back in your commit history and branch off to fix issues.

Pros

Personal Use: Whenever I want to spin up either an open source project or a home grown personal project I send it up to Github. I don't think there is another brand that has as strong a presence as Github. The amount of vendors that integrate with Github is one of the main reasons I am in Github. Pull requests are easy and the ability to do a code review is key.

Professional Use: Our team previously had all of our products in Github in Private repos which worked out great for quite some time. We have recently moved to VSTS but only because of the demands of our stack. It was easy to use and very cheap for our team. I can't think of a more affordable solution.

Overall Github has been a cheap easy solution for version controller of personal, open source, and corporate projects.

Cons

Getting used to interacting with Github through the command line can be a bit daunting. With our tools we had we were interacting via a GUI but would occasionally have to step into the command line to get some special operations done.

They could also have a better workflow for things like Kanban boards but now that Microsoft has purchased them we may see them move in that direction.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential version control

Reviewed on 20/09/2019

We've been working with GitHub for at least 5 years as our primary source control hub. We were previously using Bitbucket when GitHub was on a per-repository pricing but the ability to browse the history of a repository conveniently in GitHub won us over when both services moved to the same pricing model.

Pros

Incredibly easy to view the history of a git repository, easy to use web hooks, continuously adding new features.

Cons

Pricing on a per-user basis can be a burden when working in client services. Allowing client users to access a repository in GitHub requires a monthly price for that user even if the relationship does not continue in a retainer.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Code Repository Host

Reviewed on 22/05/2019

My overall expererience is pleasant and satisfying. I have no issues with Github and always liked it. Since almost a year ago they made it so you could have unlimited free private repo's, it's been amazing.

Pros

Github is amazing. I used to utilize Bitbucket a lot but Github was more robust and before the free tier for both was kind of equal. Now Github free offers unlimited private and public repo's where bitbucket only offers like 5. Github also seems to be a lot faster when dealing with branches and commits. Like the connection feels snappier. I can say the same for the website. Now where Bitbucket, the website used to be fast but ever so since the re-design it's a little more on the heavy side. I honestly like Github and I've moved all my code there to be hosted, since it's super secure and super reliable. For as long as I have used it (around 4 years now) I haven't had issues with accessing or uploading my code changes.

Cons

Please, link issue tracking with branches so you can see the branches that you made or the commits that you made for specific issues. Bitbucket/JIRA has this and is a god send for project management

Also integrate it with the boards, for instance, a linked issue when closed, it can auto-merge the branch. JIRA/Bitbucket also has this.

Adrian C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub is essential if you are a developer

Reviewed on 06/01/2020

Anything I write or code goes into GitHub, if it's a file I put it on Google Drive, if not it goes on GitHub, simple as that. It means I always have a backup, an up to date version, can roll back and share code very easily. Also, we collaborate daily as an organisation on GitHub and it is essential for us to function :)

Pros

It's very easy to use and fast. Previously I was using another version control software which became very slow. GitHub is super fast and much easier to use. I love the project management feature and KanBan cards and also the fact that it integrates with lots of other tools.

Cons

I think finding personal info could be made easier, e.g. all your comments, comments in a certain timeframe, interactions and conversations. I am a programmer and don't mind manually adding in the flags for searching, but feel a much more intuitive interface could be created to make life easier.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best source code management

Reviewed on 10/02/2020

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

Pros

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

Cons

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Works seamlessly - I've used it for 4+ years as a student!

Reviewed on 09/06/2020

It's incredibly useful & seamless. Wouldn't use any other product over this.

Pros

It's incredibly easy to set up & use from a Mac. I store all of my projects in GitHub (I used to store them on Google Drive, but Cloud + Version Control is much better!)

Cons

It would be nice to be able to deploy Jupyter Notebooks to a Github Server where they could be interacted with. I suppose this could be done with the .github.io URL's - but a guide on how to do this would be awesome to advertise.

Gabriel F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors

Reviewed on 23/09/2020

Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great.
You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Pros

Code review is simply AWESOME.
- The editor works perfectly
- You can suggest changes
- You can co-author pull requests
- You have the codeowners option
- The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved
- It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!!
Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Cons

- The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive
- There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business
- You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward
- No default reviewers for repositories :(
- Some minor UIs issues

Ankit P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reduced deployment time by a large extent

Reviewed on 07/10/2020

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require collaboration should definitely use this product. After the acquisition by Microsoft, I am very hopeful of increasing the developer community globally. For my organization, this has been the best decision that we took close to 6 years back when we started using this and since then we don't have to worry about the deployments to production servers.

Pros

From the day, my team has started using GitHub for pushing code to production environment, we have reduced our deployment times by nearly 65%. I was introduced to the concept of GitHub few years back but was not sure whether the team will be able to work with it or not, so we started on a trial basis for one project and then my team came back to me and asked me if we can use it for all projects in the company. This had really helped us in version control, control over who pushes what to the production and access control

Cons

Limitations on the number of users in a particular project is one of the cons for the product. Also, one needs to have a Git account to get access to the code is according to me another limitation

Pawan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best web version control

Reviewed on 01/03/2021

Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it to share my personal projects and also to work on group projects. Its also have been a great place to showcase my personal works and contribute to open source projects.

Pros

I have been using this great platform for 4 years and I am in love with it. I started using it in my bachelor's for hosting my projects and also collaboration with my colleagues on a group project. It's very useful to host code and share it with developers around the world and get feedback and help on the issues with the code. Also, it's a great place to find out many open source projects where you can contribute to and also use them on your personal or company projects. Also, it's great when it comes to working in a group, assigning tasks, creating issues, monitoring work progress, etc are great features. I also love the webhook feature to make automatic changes to the production/development environment so we get the latest code changes deployed. Also, creating, merging branches, etc can be done on the web. It's a great place to share your work and get feedback, contributions, and discussion on topics to make the code clean and more useful. Also, it has tons of tools in the marketplace which can be used for continuous integration, deployment, code review, etc to make the work easier. I love to star the projects so that I can view them later and I use it as a bookmarking feature. Also, forking is great to copy a repository with making changes on my own for my desired needs.

Cons

One issue that I am facing is the GUI bug where I search my one of my repository and open it and when I press the back button on the browser and when I try to search my another repository I am redirected automatically to my list of repositories instead of letting my search finish. Another con maybe it may be hard to use when starting using GitHub for the first time. Also, it doesn't let to perform the merge with the conflicting commits on its GUI and I have to use the command line commands.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub - Use it for your own benefits

Reviewed on 28/04/2021

Very good experience overall being a long time user

Pros

Collaboration with any number of users and avoid conflicts

Cons

Sometimes it's confusing to understand which command to use.

Khan nida khanum A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Github excellet tool for version control

Reviewed on 18/06/2021

Overall , github is widely used and recommended for beginner and experienced engineer

Pros

Easy to use for daily task of managing project versions. Good for collaboration across teams. Also, the github OAUTH and github apis are well documented and easy to use to integrate with out internal applications

Cons

Gists are not shown in the user profile. An out of box way to show gists in user Github profile as well.