GitHub

4.8 (5,906)
Social coding & collaborative development platform

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(5,906)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

5906 Reviews

Omar Eduardo
Omar Eduardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for teaching coding classes!

Reviewed on 15/05/2021

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more...

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Pros

I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes.

To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which is a Mac!) and a desktop computer. With GitHub, I can quickly sync my code and documents between devices and seamlessly pick up were I left off.

If I ever make a mistake and need to go back to previous versions of my slides or code, I can quickly restore them with the excellent versioning features.

For my students, it is very freeing knowing that every project or problem that we solve during class will be immediately available to them right after class. I helps them concentrate on learning and understanding the programs instead of having to copy everything to their computers.

Cons

The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems.

For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

Alternatives Considered

Dropbox Business, Apache Subversion, and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is the most reputable repository tool on the market. It uses industry standards and it is very secure. Also, it supports a wide range of programming languages, so it is ideal to host any type of open source software.
Tsitsi Hazel
Tsitsi Hazel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub Collaboration Review

Reviewed on 04/04/2022

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any...

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any software, ideal for various types of code. GitHub has a wide range of capabilities and security measures.

Pros

Users can manage their time more efficiently by doing code versioning and code review.

Multiple developers can stay in sync with each other and can develop their software products in collaboration with one another.

Open Source software products can be created, accessed and improved publicly and developers can contribute to the Open Source project from anywhere in the world.

GitHub can be used as a resume as it helps with visibility and reputation building for developers by allowing recruiters to view their interesting projects when applying for job opportunities.

Cons

The intial learning curve can be tricky for new users. Onboarding requires a bit of detail and practise with regards to cloning repositories, creating a fork/ branch, pushing changes to code and raising pull requests when getting started, but once this process is well understood, the product is easy to use.

Alternatives Considered

Slack

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is more widely preferred and used by software developers globally, uses less bandwidth and provides visibility of projects for future version improvements and for recruitment.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good for Developers, not so good for Marketing and Newbies

Reviewed on 21/01/2022

As a marketer I found it hard to navigate and understand all features of Github. We were asked by...

As a marketer I found it hard to navigate and understand all features of Github. We were asked by our devs to report all our issues through this tool. However we simultaneously were using Notion for our Marketing Sprints and to track all tasks. So it was rather a really exhausting task to copy issues from one tool to another and link them. In the end our Marketing Team decided to not use Github anymore and track everything through Notion, as it was the main platform for our daily to-dos

I know from our devs and my colleagues who actually continue working in Github, that they really love this tool. I just find it really confusing.
We still use it in our company for IT-issues with our IT-admin, which is totally fine. But I don't recommend it for Marketing unless you know your way around this tool.

Pros

It was a great tool for our Devs. They are still working with it on a daily basis to track their issues and bugs etc.

Cons

I found it hard to navigate and understand the full functionality of this tool. I don't think it is easy to use, for someone without experience and any guidance.

Shyam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Source Code Management Tool - GitHub

Reviewed on 19/12/2023

Overall a very great and powerful tool.

Overall a very great and powerful tool.

Pros

Github is a very powerful tool for developers and IT Companies. It is easy to navigate and assists greatly in keeping code bases safe and easy to distribute among your own team. The version control system is excellent and makes collaboration a breeze.

Cons

I have not faced any issues with GitHub till date except some issues at the initial phases of using GitHub which were quickly resolved once I learnt how to use GitHub.

Cole
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Life saver for tracking bugs as a Support rep

Reviewed on 01/02/2024

Pros

The ability to see our company's code base, and get the needed internal context around bugs and the GitHub issues being worked on

Cons

Haven't used it frequently enough to find any dislikes

Charalampos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github Review

Reviewed on 06/02/2024

Pros

I liked most the fact that i can use codespaces whenever i want without any trouble whatsoever.

Cons

Haven't found any negatives so far. Github is pretty solid and useful.

Ayomikun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub review

Reviewed on 30/01/2024

Pros

The Github GUI is easy to navigate and easy to use

Cons

Can't think of any right now. I use this tool weekly.

Chaya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good to Learn

Reviewed on 13/01/2024

Pros

Search Friendly, if you need anything you can got it

Cons

Nothing, I am not find any issue in this software

Nemanja
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Git hub bub

Reviewed on 07/02/2024

Pros

A large community of people interacting with the stuff you built.

Cons

No cons in my world of GitHub. Haven't used it enough.

Vijay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

GitHub is a very useful online software developing platform.

Reviewed on 24/01/2024

Pros

GitHub allows its users to collaborate from any distance on software projects. It also provides a means for open-source code for indie developers.

Cons

GitHub's User Interface can seem a bit too crowded at times.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github for personal and enterprise use

Reviewed on 02/05/2019

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have...

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Pros

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely.
I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Cons

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I wasn't the one that made the decision, but I enjoy my/our use of GitHub greatly.
Alex
Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

Reviewed on 25/08/2019

Pros

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

Cons

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

With Github being the most widely supported of the GIT repo hosting platforms, it was a pretty easy choice to stick with a solution that has a massive community backing it along with all the core functionality that my team needs. With the high amount of third-party integrations, it was almost a no-brainer to stick with this software simply because of ease of use.
Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best git hosting

Reviewed on 15/11/2019

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Pros

Very easy to host a repository and to fork other repositories. It is easy to search other repositories.

Cons

None that I found. My only request would be to be easier to download single files without having to view the file first. If there were checkboxes and a download option that would be great.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Github has a much better repo interface than Bitbucket in my opinion.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I was so happy with GitHub I hadn't looked closely at the most comparable option, GitLab, which requires me to learn a new interface and functionality.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best source code management

Reviewed on 10/02/2020

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has...

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

Pros

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

Cons

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

Alternatives Considered

Assembla

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Most of the developers we hired in the past were not familiar with Assembla and hard time convincing them to use it. It was not as popular as GitHub in the developer community.

Switched From

Assembla

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Reasons are mentioned in the previous question.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Works seamlessly - I've used it for 4+ years as a student!

Reviewed on 09/06/2020

It's incredibly useful & seamless. Wouldn't use any other product over this.

It's incredibly useful & seamless. Wouldn't use any other product over this.

Pros

It's incredibly easy to set up & use from a Mac. I store all of my projects in GitHub (I used to store them on Google Drive, but Cloud + Version Control is much better!)

Cons

It would be nice to be able to deploy Jupyter Notebooks to a Github Server where they could be interacted with. I suppose this could be done with the .github.io URL's - but a guide on how to do this would be awesome to advertise.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Version control. Being able to store all past iterations of my projects is so helpful.

Switched From

Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub was a more commonly used product.
Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

As a designer who codes...

Reviewed on 22/09/2020

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up &...

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

Pros

GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

Cons

Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

Jorge
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best choice for version control for small and large projects

Reviewed on 20/11/2021

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to...

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to anyone, they offer a lot of plans and pricings.

Pros

There are some key features that makes GitHub a great tool for version control. In the first place all the process of having control over branches setting permissions and the vast options for configuration in the repository you have are great. It has one of the best pull request section, it allows for commenting more than one line which is great for making comments. As well GitHub have integrated great tools like the pipelines we can create to have continuos integration.

Cons

Some time for me GitHub has been built without an intuitive UI and checking even the smallest and easiest thing like a date you need to hover over another date to tell you the complete hour and time of a commit per say. So this kind of stuff makes GitHub sometimes difficult for new joiners of the software but as you get to use it more.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

GitHub is more widely used around the software development. It has made giant leaps to catch up to Atlassian integrations like creating tickets inside of github and stuff like that.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It provided the overall best experience and pricing.
Amitava
Amitava
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Goto Source control for software developers

Reviewed on 16/02/2022

Pros

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Cons

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Switched From

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best software for Tech companies

Reviewed on 20/09/2022

I'm very happy with the product, since we have been using it everyday, the amount of new bugs has...

I'm very happy with the product, since we have been using it everyday, the amount of new bugs has decreased a lot, and we can track more efficiently the work inside a sprint and at the end of it.

Pros

It's very easy to integrate with other software that the company already use it. For example, we use Discord to communicate between coworkers, and thanks to the Github bot integrated in it, there's a message each time someone approved a Pull request or Closed an important Issue. Also, with his integrated CI/CD, we can now upload a new version of the app and even testing it, so the final user can have a very good experience without major flaws.

Cons

I wish that Github can have a better use to link Issues and Pull Requests, it's very interactive but there are time that I forget to link some Issue and it's a little frustrating to have some unlinked Issues after a sprint.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

We need it to integrate some CI/CD to increase the quality of our product, Bitbucket have the feature but it's complicate and also a little expensive compared to Github.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Because of the CI/CD and the project management option that we are currently using.
Lankit
Lankit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

core pillar 💪 of whole developer community

Reviewed on 09/11/2022

I use GitHub every day on my all project to develop separate features in a single project simultaneo...

I use GitHub every day on my all project to develop separate features in a single project simultaneously without them bottlenecking to each other.

Pros

VCS and it's being free for all basic needs, from the smallest firms to IT behemoths, everyone uses GitHub.

Cons

the learning curve may seem steep if someone wants to do advance pull requests and forking.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I wanted to try CI/CD with a simple React project but I found out it's basically private GitHub without all the experience that the OG has, so simply moved back to Github.

Switched From

AWS CodeCommit

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is industry leader when it comes to handle Version Control System
Pawan
Pawan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best web version control

Reviewed on 01/03/2021

Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it...

Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it to share my personal projects and also to work on group projects. Its also have been a great place to showcase my personal works and contribute to open source projects.

Pros

I have been using this great platform for 4 years and I am in love with it. I started using it in my bachelor's for hosting my projects and also collaboration with my colleagues on a group project. It's very useful to host code and share it with developers around the world and get feedback and help on the issues with the code. Also, it's a great place to find out many open source projects where you can contribute to and also use them on your personal or company projects. Also, it's great when it comes to working in a group, assigning tasks, creating issues, monitoring work progress, etc are great features. I also love the webhook feature to make automatic changes to the production/development environment so we get the latest code changes deployed. Also, creating, merging branches, etc can be done on the web. It's a great place to share your work and get feedback, contributions, and discussion on topics to make the code clean and more useful. Also, it has tons of tools in the marketplace which can be used for continuous integration, deployment, code review, etc to make the work easier. I love to star the projects so that I can view them later and I use it as a bookmarking feature. Also, forking is great to copy a repository with making changes on my own for my desired needs.

Cons

One issue that I am facing is the GUI bug where I search my one of my repository and open it and when I press the back button on the browser and when I try to search my another repository I am redirected automatically to my list of repositories instead of letting my search finish. Another con maybe it may be hard to use when starting using GitHub for the first time. Also, it doesn't let to perform the merge with the conflicting commits on its GUI and I have to use the command line commands.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub is the Industry Standard of SCM & versioning tools

Reviewed on 05/10/2022

GitHub is a more than excellent Source code management & Versioning tool. Most developers I know...

GitHub is a more than excellent Source code management & Versioning tool. Most developers I know use it daily & are quite happy with the extensive features & integrations it provides with other IDE & continuous deployment tools like Jenkins, CircleCI.
Also, continuous support & feature improvements from GitHub team is very much appreciated by its large community.

Pros

Starting with versioning, ease of code management & collaboration, which is of utmost priority for any company that wants to develop code. GitHub provides it all.
They keep adding new features such as vulnerability scanning & integrations with IDE platforms like VScode. This makes GitHub even more reliable & convenient for coders.
Today, majority of coders will tell you to choose GitHub over any other platform given how much it has helped them & their company to develop code, continued with feature & bug management.

Cons

Merge conflict handling has improved since it was first implemented but there is still a lot of scope to make it easy for developers.
Code search is another feature I want GitHub to improve on, currently it does not allow to search for specific piece of logic inside a big repository until you take a pull & do it in your IDE

Ahmed
Ahmed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Unlocking the Power of GitHub

Reviewed on 15/01/2023

My experience with GitHub has been extremely positive. As a data scientist and machine learning...

My experience with GitHub has been extremely positive. As a data scientist and machine learning engineer, I have found it to be an invaluable tool for managing and organizing my projects. The version control system allows for easy collaboration and tracking of changes made to the codebase, which is particularly useful for machine learning projects, where multiple team members may be working on different aspects of the code at the same time.I also appreciate the integration with other tools and services, such as continuous integration and continuous deployment (CICD) systems, which allows for seamless integration of my machine learning models into production environments. This is crucial for ensuring that they are reliable and accurate.The community features of GitHub such as finding and sharing code snippets and libraries also make it easy to find and share code snippets and libraries, which can be incredibly useful for data scientists and machine learning engineers. This can save a lot of time and effort when working on a new project, as you can often find existing code that can be adapted to your needs.The access controls and permissions feature is a great addition as it allows for granular control over who can access and make changes to a project, which helps to ensure that only authorized users are able to make changes to the codebase.

Pros

- I liked the version control system in GitHub, which allows for easy collaboration and tracking of changes made to the codebase.- I liked the integration with other tools and services, such as continuous integration and continuous deployment (CICD) systems, which allows for seamless integration of machine learning models into production environments.- I liked the community features such as finding and sharing code snippets and libraries, which can be incredibly useful for data scientists and machine learning engineers.- I found the software easy to use and navigate.- Integration with existing business processes was seamless.- The Access controls and Permissions feature was impactful as it allows for granular control over who can access and make changes to a project, which helps to ensure that only authorized users are able to make changes to the codebase.- The debugging feature was also impactful as it allows to see the history of changes and allows to revert back to previous versions if needed.- The task and project management features were also impactful as it allows developers to easily manage and track tasks and issues associated with a project, which can help to improve productivity and collaboration.

Cons

- One potential downside of GitHub is that it may have a steep learning curve for new users who are not familiar with version control systems.- Some users may find that the UI can be cluttered and overwhelming, making it difficult to find the specific features or options they need.- Some users may find that certain features or integrations are missing or could be improved, such as more advanced collaboration tools or better support for certain programming languages.- Some users may find that the cost of using GitHub's advanced features or integrations can be prohibitive for smaller or less well-funded projects.- There could be more customization options for the dashboard and reporting/project tracking feature.- For non-technical users, the interface may be challenging to understand.- The SSL security feature could be improved to provide better protection for private projects and data.- Some users may find that the bug tracking feature is not as robust as other issue tracking systems.

Sharma
Sharma
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review for GitHub

Reviewed on 01/02/2023

Pros

Version Control: GitHub provides Git-based version control to manage projects and track changes.Collaboration: GitHub allows multiple users to collaborate on a single project through pull requests, code reviews, and issue tracking.Project Management: GitHub provides a platform for managing projects through its built-in project boards and kanban boards.Code Hosting: GitHub provides unlimited private and public code repositories for hosting and sharing code.Documentation: GitHub provides a platform for creating and sharing documentation for projects.Integrations: GitHub integrates with various tools and services, including continuous integration/continuous deployment (CI/CD) tools and project management tools.Security: GitHub provides security features such as access control, code signing, and security alerts to protect projects.Community: GitHub has a large developer community, making it easy to find answers, collaborate, and contribute to open-source projects.

Cons

Cost: For private repositories and advanced features, GitHub requires a paid subscription, which can be expensive for individual users and small teams.Limited Storage: GitHub has limited storage for larger files, and it can be difficult to manage large binary files or backups on the platform.User Interface: The GitHub user interface can be overwhelming and confusing for new users, and some advanced features can be difficult to use.Dependence on Internet: GitHub requires an internet connection to use, which can be a drawback for users with limited or unreliable internet access.Limited Customization: GitHub has limited customization options, and it can be difficult to integrate with other tools or modify the platform to meet specific needs.Performance: GitHub can become slow or unresponsive during periods of high usage, and some users may experience performance issues when working with large repositories or projects.Privacy Concerns: Although GitHub provides security features, some users may have concerns about privacy and the security of their data, especially when hosting sensitive information on the platform.

Harveer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub: Empowering Collaboration and Project Coordination Like Never Before

Reviewed on 18/06/2023

My experience using GitHub has been exceptional. The platform has significantly transformed the way...

My experience using GitHub has been exceptional. The platform has significantly transformed the way I manage tasks and collaborate on projects. From the robust task management features to the seamless multi-project management capabilities, GitHub has streamlined my workflow and increased my productivity. GitHub's task management system has been a game-changer for me. The ability to create detailed to-do lists, assign tasks to team members, set deadlines, and track progress has made it incredibly easy to stay organized and focused. I no longer have to worry about tasks slipping through the cracks or struggling to prioritize my workload. Managing multiple projects simultaneously has become effortless with GitHub. The platform allows me to switch between projects seamlessly, keeping all the project-related information and code repositories neatly organized. It saves me valuable time and eliminates the need for juggling multiple tools or platforms.

Pros

1.Robust task management: GitHub's task management system offers a comprehensive set of features that make organizing, tracking, and prioritizing tasks a breeze.2.Seamless multi-project management: GitHub excels in handling multiple projects simultaneously, allowing users to effortlessly navigate between projects and keep everything neatly organized.3.Powerful collaboration capabilities: GitHub fosters real-time communication and efficient collaboration among team members, with features like commenting, suggesting changes, and reviewing pull requests.4.Integration with popular tools: GitHub integrates smoothly with other widely used project management tools such as Jira and Trello, enhancing its versatility and compatibility.5.Version control excellence: GitHub's version control system ensures that everyone is working on the latest version of the project, minimizing errors and conflicts while maintaining a seamless workflow.6.Intuitive user interface: GitHub boasts a clean, well-organized interface that is easy to navigate, making it accessible for users of varying technical expertise.

Cons

GitHub's features and functionality work together harmoniously, ultimately boosting productivity and enabling employees to achieve their project goals efficiently.