633 reviews

Userlike

Live chat and customer messaging for businesses of all sizes

4.6 /5 (633 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.6
97% recommended this app
633 reviews
Pavel A.
Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Software that almost ruined our business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 01/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We've been using Userlike since summer 2017, for 3 years overall. We choose it essentially for customisation features (absolutely needed dark theme for the chat widget). Right from the start we were aware about the major technical issue: broken sessions, but at the moment we didn't find an other solution with dark theme chat widget so we accepted this issue. But it was really weird, imagine: the client close the chat widget to continue the navigation or to read something on the page, and when he reopens it - it's a new conversation that starts! But we lived with this because we are a small company and we didn't have much conversations per day.
The major problem came suddenly and imperceptibly: the userlike system stopped to send offline messages to our inbox. All our team, including me the director, didn't notice it, because there are other sources of messages on our site (contact page, "ask question" on products pages). But we stopped to receive the "You've received a new offline message from..." offline emails from userlike chat widget!
So we were in the middle of coronavirus pandemic when we suddenly discovered the loss! 240 messages where not delivered to our inbox since December 2019 to July 2020! Just imagine how many clients we lost!
As the support team explained me - your main e-mail address in the system was marked as "invalid". The system didn't alert us properly (only a little red point under the bell in the admin interface of the main administrator).

Pros

Nice design, widget customisation features

Cons

Critical alert system not working properly.
240 off line messages not delivered to our inbox!
Broken chat sessions: every request from the same client creates a new conversation! nonsense!
The system stopped to send offline messages, but continued to send monthly invoices to the same main email [email protected] As a result this contributed to ruin our business among pandemic times (tourism business). Unforgivable loss of clients because of the interface alerts system fault. The system marked the primary email as "invalid" but did not alert as properly so we can fix the issue. A little red dot under the bell icon visible only in the main administrator account was indicating the problem. Me as the admin didn't log in each day in my admin account, and operators didn't have this alert! As a result - more then 240 emails not delivered to our main inbox. However Userlike didn't miss to continue to send us monthly bills to the same email... As compensation they proposed us a free month of subscription (32USD)... But the loss caused by this issue would cost thousands of usd!

Response from Userlike

Hello Pavel,

I'm very sorry to hear about your bad experience. It's especially painful to see this has happened with a long-term customer like you.

I've checked in with our support team about this issue. They explained me that, unfortunately, they were not able to inform you about the problems with your integration for the same reason that the integration did not work: because the email you provided did not work anymore. They had no way to contact you. We are now looking into whether we can improve our notifications for such edge cases.

We of course hope you will give us another shot, but if not, we thank you for your time with us and wish you all the best for the future.

Best regards,

Francesca

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Kevin R.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Hard To Pass Up On

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 23/02/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Userlike has a lot of "likeable" attributes. The first most likeable feature is the amount of features for the monthly cost. Unlike other SaaS apps and programs, Userlike has a very generous user allotment and feature set for the price. As the marketing manager of our company, I use many of the features to gauge the effectiveness of chats, wordsmith chat scripts, push pages, set topics, and have a very transparent view of chats. The biggest initial draw of Userlike, for me, was the ability to white label the chat window, customize the appearance, preset chat scripts, tie it into Google Analytics, and have an offline chat feature. Overall, Userlike is the best solution for us.

Pros

Features are the biggest pros with Userlike. Here is the list of features we use on a daily basis.

• Offline Chat Message
• Pre-set Scripted Chats
• Google Analytics Connection - Set Up Goals
• Custom Appearance
• White Label Chat
• No Per Operator Cost
• Chat Monitoring

Cons

The only cons I have with Userlike are minor but sometimes can be the more annoying parts of the software.

The biggest con is support. Because the service is hosted in Germany, there is never anyone online to answer some of the simplest questions. Getting the answers requires waiting until the next day or persevering through countless web searches to find a solution.

Two other cons are the ability to make changes. Recently we enacted the registration chat, however if you have proactive also enabled, the proactive skips registration. After talking with support, they were going to suggest it to their development team. That doesn't instill a lot of confidence like a voted feature list would. The other con is the recent reduction to chat window appearance. Before the recent update, the chat window could be more controlled in size, color, and a lot other appearance features. Now, an occasional customer cannot chat with us because the window is too large for their screen and they can't close it, forcing them to leave our site.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy integration and use but a bit steep price curve

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 16/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Although it's kind of off-season for our business right now, we already have quite a few successful chats after a few days of testing. We expect this to rise further once we are nearing our business season again.

At that point the chat, with a solid base of pre-defined text blocks, will be a great help with reducing recurring questions which would normally come in via mail.

Pros

Integration is done in 5 minutes or less. Just copy and paste a link-element into your site and you are good to go.

All configuration for the chat widget is done from the backend which is very easy to use, so is the chat panel for agents. The chat also looks very decent from user perspective and can be further customized through a WYSIWYG-like editor.

Pre-defined text blocks and download links come in very handy to deal with recurring questions. They can be imported throught a CSV file which makes it very easy to manage them.

Lots of integration possibilites also enable you to connect the chat to CRM systems and more without much work.

Cons

The price curve is a bit steep in my opinion. When you want to upgrade from 3 to 5 seats, the price per seat doubles. If you really need analytics and messenger channels (those get unlocked with that tier) this might be fine, so your mileage may vary on whether or not the pricing is good or to steep.

Admin users count as normal users though, so if you've got a "Team" plan with 3 users, you only have 2 agents when the admin user is not going to participate in the chat. On the other hand, I can't pass my admin account on to another agent, because that agent would have access to the backend. If administrative access and agents could be seperated from each other that would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nguyen H.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good value for money in overall despite few instabilities in oeration

Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

A good value for money, specially for small and medium size company with lots of useful features and exceptional ease of use

Pros

Very easy to use menu and dashboard. Powerful configuration, specially wording config. Chat butler is simple kind of bot but quite interesting, surprisingly at the entry-level pricing. Features like data export and chat-URL-source tracking are essentially useful to us to track down and measure digital marketing activities. Pricing is competitive given ranges of features provided. Package Team shall fit majority of small and medium business.

Cons

A capable chat bot would be useful even at a premium. Some instabilities are noted such as chat disappeared when both agent and customer were actually online, customers were shown offline message when agent was online

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Thomas B.
Industry: Executive Office
Company size: 11-50 Employees

User Experience

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 15/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Look and Feel, Support, reaction time employee

Cons

There is no option for a chat bot. Testtime is to short.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ahmed A.

Provides us with key analytic insights.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 20/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Userlike provides our business with analytical insights into customers who visit our website.
From source of traffic, time spent on the website, past number of visit, bounce rate etc This insights ensure we make the best decisions to move our business forward.

Cons

Userlike is not intuitive and has a clustered user interface, which makes it difficult for users to fully navigate this software, especially for first time users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Simeon S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use Live-Chat Software

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 17/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

The implementation in General is easy and the Chat-Panel is well designed. The Support seems to be competent and quick. Also what you get for your money is in comparison to other companies really good. In general I can recommend Userlike.

Pros

One of the main reasons, why Userlike is interesting for us, is the integration of Whatsapp. In addition, other Messengers are possible. Furthermore it is easy to install and easy to use. Just simply copy a Javascript Code and implement it in your Websites code and the integration is done. It is easy to customize the Chat widget. The Chat-Panel is well designed and gives a good overview.

Cons

We had some problems with the integration of Whatsapp and Whatsapp deactivated our Whatsapp Account due to strange activities.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ariel B.
Industry: Cosmetics
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Good but not intuitive

Reviewed on 06/09/2017
Review Source: Capterra

speed in implementation, easy way to use an API like this, a dashboard with good user interface

Pros

I liked the interface, as well as the basic and initial configuration of profile and wigets. Also the ease to apply the button in your web page.

Cons

I had a problem integrating with Facebook, since I did not find the ID app, until I noticed that it should be public. I also believe that you should be able to integrate another user that is already registered in an easier way, as well as enable some similar to owner privileges to other operator

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jim U.

So far, so good. Completely satisfied with no complaints.

Reviewed on 31/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've been testing the software over the last few weeks and have found it to be very easy to use. Set up and configuration haven't been. problem. It works just like I hoped it would. As our nonprofit grows, I expect it will be a valuable tool in communicating with potential clients.

Cons

This is my first foray into this type of software, so I'm not an experienced user who knows how to push the envelope when I'm testing Userlike. Thus far, however, I haven't found any issues with its functionality.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Philipp P.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

We implemented the snippet in less then 5 minutes at our page and could start chatting.

Reviewed on 18/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Super-easy implementation and fast insights about the incoming questions.

Pros

We were curious about what kind of questions our customers will ask and what resources we had to provide to serve good quality responses to the incoming questions. It's a big advantage that Userlike comes with a 2 weeks, free test period and a super simple installation. Literally, after 5 minutes we have been able to chat with our customers. You simply register at the website, get your snippet to implement at your CMS or shop system and start chatting.

Cons

We tested the full version. The free and cheaper versions will have limited functionality. We did not test this yet. The only negative point we found: if all operators are offline, the chat widget still shows up in the front-end. We would prefer the chat button to disappears if no operator is available.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail
Company size: Self Employed

awesome free live chat tool

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 10/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

used this solution on a few websites that i run now. great initial product with the opportunity to grow into its higher tiers

Pros

its free, its easy to use, its professional, high quality and easy to install. and... it works! not much more you could ask for from a free solution

Cons

you have to keep their branding and stick to the lite version for free but that's fine as in this version you have all you need to get going

Response from Userlike

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Drake B.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Product to Connect with Customers

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it's been great and a solid addition to our website. We'll look forward to continuing using it well into the future!

Pros

It's very easy to use/install, and looks great on your website. There are lots of features to customize for your website look and color scheme.

Cons

The only downside is that, on mobile, it can sometimes be confusing for the customer to know how to send a message. I'd recommend the company considering a change to optimize that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Guido M.
Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
Company size: 51-200 Employees

First approach with Userlike

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 31/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- fast website performance
- easy to implement
- good support
- german product considering european data rights
- a white range of functions (..but needs time to be discovered!)

Cons

- Automatic answers in terms of FAQs reacting on customer keywords, can just be realized with the highest licezense modell FLEX
- Knowledgebase (e.g. as a FAQ base!) does not exist at the moment

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Logan T.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Sale sIncreasing Chat System

Reviewed on 18/11/2015
Review Source: GetApp

So far we are loving our experience with Userlike. It’s easy to manage and maintain. It has greatly increased our contact with our customers and makes it easy for them to ask us quick questions. Many of our chats end in sales that may not have happened without the chat program. Userlike has a great clean look to it and makes it a simple process for our customers to chat with us.

Pros

It’s great to see the url that customers are looking at during the conversation and to have the live view of what they are typing. It makes it easy to have quick responses to questions and point customers in the right direction.

Cons

There isn’t a phone app available for Userlike which would be really nice for when I’m not sitting at the computer. Their mobile site looks nice, but just not as nice as an app would be. It would also be nice to have the ability to save replies for the most common conversations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Christoph H.

Works, does what it should, integrations like Slack or Pipedrive are still far from being awesome

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 13/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to install: Just implement a code snippet (e.g. via Google Tag Manager) and off you go.
Easy to customize: Change colors etc. in the backend.
Easy to use: Login in a browser tab and you're online.

Cons

We're coming from Lifezilla and need to get used to some differences over time. Not seeing all current visitors is one of them. The slack integration is much poorer than expected and pretty annoying in the end. Sending leads to pipedrive is a good idea but by far not where it could be regarding individual settings (like filling custom fields for the deal source).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Liesbeth B.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: Self Employed

The free option

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 04/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

For my small company I just need a few options and it would be great if I can keep reading the offline messages e.g. Is it possible to have the offline messages forwarded to my mailbox?

Pros

I like to be able to chat with my clients in real time. For people who want quick answers, this is an ideal option.

Cons

It's a shame to notice that the free module is being dressed down with less and less options.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Francois V.
Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
Company size: 2-10 Employees

userlike review

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 08/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

nice. But haven't tried with true customers (website is too young)

Pros

Easy to configure and to use.
Very good support from the team.

Cons

Should be able to track and make use of IPs with more precision than "country area".
Should be able to select the type of widget we want for each page straight from the dashboard (without having to code)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tracey M.

Great Software with Brilliant Customer Support

Reviewed on 11/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use and we are in control so we are able to respond immediately anytime time or night.
Once you start using Userlike you will surprised how many people do use chat to ask questions, delivery times etc

Cons

Cant say there is anything negative about Userlike, It just seemed to be the natural addition to our website

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Roman V.

Easy and cool gui, great support

Reviewed on 29/09/2017
Review Source: Capterra

less calls and mail conversations, ad hoc support with userlike chats.

Pros

Slack Integration and TYPO3 Extension. Cool Website and great comparison of pricing-versions. Customizations possible.

Cons

OperatorHours-Management missing? Differences between widgets, rolles, operators and chat-windows not easy to understand at the beginning.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer

The customers and the team adapded the software quickly and were very happy,

Reviewed on 20/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- Easy to install
- Intuitive design
- Direct feedback from the customer
- Operators could learn the software easily

Cons

A basic reporting / analysis would be very much appriciated. In a trial period you want to see numbers and results but the analysis part is not includes in the trial.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Giovanni P.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best Chat Widget!

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 10/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We use Userlike Live Chat for supporting our customer to book own private Jet. Since we use Userlike we have more satisfied customers.

Pros

- Simple to ingrate
- Simple and User-friendly Backend
- 1 Chat & 1 Operator gratis forever

Cons

- Nothing until now
- Maybe more operators for gratis version would not be bad

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Max M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

In the simple case as mine I am satisfied with functions

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to setup, customization is fair enough, flexibility as well. I would improve testing in different situations

Cons

Cost of the services appears expensive even if you don't have a massive use, but a lot of team members. For startups it is handy when a lot of people have access to almost everything, but we can't pay too much

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

I really love this chat

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

the support is really fast and they are so kind, the design is beautiful and I think it´s realy easy to use.

Cons

in this moment I´ve change some things about the chat, like new fields and lenguage, but when I put the code into my page, it doesn´t show the changes i´ve done.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel N.
Industry: Design
Company size: Self Employed

Awesome

Reviewed on 29/08/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to reach customers ;)

Pros

Light, Beatiful, Easy to install and use. Part from that i cant think about anything else, its just great.

Cons

Probably the pre made icons, add some more modern ones. The current ones are fine but i mean, it should be refreshed i thnk.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abhi K.

Really good to understand and integrate as a Developer

Reviewed on 07/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Website Integration is pretty easy , github integration helps a lot to improve our product and the customisation of the widget.

Cons

There is no way we can know if there is anyone accessing our website. Its only possible if the chat is initaited.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10