152 reviews

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence

Self-service business intelligence (BI) platform

4.3 /5 (152 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
152 reviews
Raphael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Awesome platform to store information

Reviewed on 06/02/2021

I love SAP CRM, its very clear and detailed layout helps me work, however I wish it would stop crashing and run more effectively.

Pros

This is an Awesome platform to store information. It's easy to use and straightforward, and has information displayed very clearly which helps save lots of time when analyzing information.

Cons

This program often crashes or runs very slowly. Its frustrating at times because as we're trying the work, often times i cannot meet my objectives because the client becomes impatient and leaves.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes it easy to build complex queries without knowing SQL, I love it!

Reviewed on 17/10/2018

I use BusinessObjects every single day, multiple times a day. We are transitioning to start having all reporting come from BO as once the reports are setup and scheduled its "set it and forget it" in many cases. We put a lot of focus on automation and reducing the amount of time spent building custom reports and one-off analyses. So we have built numerous reports to support our sales team, operations teams, vendors, and c-suite that are all easily refreshed and filtered by the users on their own. And our analytics and reporting teams now have time to work on larger scope projects rather than being bogged down by requests.

Pros

I love most everything about BusinessObjects. It's a great way for our employees to self-service in many cases as previously they had no way to get access to larger data sets unless they put in a request with analytics. But now our Directors have access to data and reports at their fingertips with minimal training (they don't need an in-depth understanding of databases or SQL queries to use the software).

Cons

A con that is worth mentioning is that exporting large data sets can be a bit slow. But the ease of use and other benefits definitely outweigh that.

Mohammad K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SAP BOBJ BI

Reviewed on 14/12/2016

One of the best tools from SAP BusinessObjects BI is a suite of front-end applications that allow business users to view, sort and analyze business intelligence data for all integration and reporting management within the diversified organizations.
Best features include Dashboards -- Allows us to create interactive dashboards that contain charts and graphs for visualizing data and reports.
Web Intelligence -- Provides a self-service environment for creating ad-hoc queries and analysis of data both online and offline.
Integration with an outlook for easy extraction and transformation of reports into excel.
Good usage fro Business Explorer (BEx) Suite (BEx Analyzer, BEx Web reporting).
Highly formatted layout (print focused) Parameterized / dynamic layout Self Service / Freeform Layout Hierarchical awareness Dashboarding & visualization Interoperability.

Pros

Fast, robust and compatible with third party integrations.
Scheduling Event: This event is used to run reports or any BI objects sequentially one after the other.

Cons

Development seems bit deep dig process which takes a long time for customizations

Wojciech K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Advanced business analytics

Reviewed on 11/01/2019

I create dashboard to present sales information. It's great to be able to do it with "blank paper" and add visual elements connected to externa data. It's easy to build what-if analysis ad-hoc during business meetings.

Pros

I use SAP solutions to create dashboards and visual reports.
What I like in SAP BO, that we can create powerful and innovative presentations - from 0 to our vision.
I use many of all great options like:
- maps
- charts
- gauges
- sliders.
Except that, it's possible to add external data and visual elements like shetchnotes and files from other formats.
What is very important, reports are interactive, so we can create what-if analysis in easy way, with our vision in out minds. Dashboards can be connnected to external data sources like Excel or databases.

Cons

It would be great to be able to work more without specific informatics knowledge. It would be great to see more options to share final work with others.

Kris B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful reporting tool with quarks

Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Pros

You can accomplish a lot with this tool. The use of universes connecting the tables is powerful. I also love the ability to set up email instances of reports - it’s always helpful when a software can do a routine task for you.

Cons

There have been some weird quarks in BO 4.0. Changes that we’ve made to a report will work one day and not the next. It’s not very friendly for someone who wants to do ad hoc analytical reporting.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My experience with BusinessObjects at a few institutions has been very positive.

Reviewed on 15/05/2018

Improved organizational reporting.

Pros

The interface is very easy to use for all audiences, allowing us to empower basic users to run their own reports. The ability to combine database elements with custom script to customize reports is very useful.

Cons

Sometimes the report formatting can be finicky. It is very responsive but can overcompensate for small formatting (size, spacing, etc) adjustments.

Joseph Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Business objects Review

Reviewed on 20/10/2016

It is easy to use and presentable in different ways with visualizations. Out out can be shareable in different formats and automatic publishing capabilities. Adhoc reporting easy to use and dashboards design in specific to mobile and tablet is good.

Pros

self data analysis without much technical knowledge and simple to use it.

Cons

Dash boards filtering options and performance when we have huge data could be improved.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Front-end

Reviewed on 01/12/2018

Pros

Using BOBJ has been light years better than previous database front-ends that I utilized, it is full of functions andhas a much more user friendly interface.

Cons

Many of the functions are at a more basic level and require you learning their program to be able to nest them together and get the results you're looking for.

Aubree S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Business Intelligence Solution for all sizes

Reviewed on 18/07/2019

Overall, SAP BusinessObjects offers multidimensional data analysis. This allows you to create reports on multiple business parameters from multiple external data sources.

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects allows the company to integrate with external systems, such as SIMS Claims and Microsoft Office and combine data from these for business analytics and reporting functions. There is a drag-and-drop interface which allows you to create custom reports using the perimeters you want.

Cons

The drag-and-drop interface is sometimes difficult to use especially when working with a large amount of data. Once you use this program more, it seems to get easier to use.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very useful

Reviewed on 08/09/2019

Pros

The software is easy to learn and use, variety of transactions and their many different options

Cons

That at least twice a month the system have issues (slow system)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

used across multiple businesses

Reviewed on 03/08/2018

this is a tool most comapnys i have worked at use

Pros

versatile and specific to your needs so very flexable

Cons

very costly and looks dated at times some a bit complacated but due to needs

Albano G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A complete BI solution with the best visualization tools

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

Pros

Business Objects provides an easy way to generate and format reports, This solution provide a multiple way of visualization. reports, queries, dashboards.

Cons

Business Objects would be more integrated and more usefull.

Navytim O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

BOXI fairly powerful but needs lots of IT expertise and hand-holding

Reviewed on 15/08/2017

Better data capture from SAP than available within SAP

Pros

Directly takes SAP data as is and is flexible to allow re-positioning and formatting of data to meet analytics and graphics needs

Cons

Latest BOXI revisions are a bit temperamental and require extensive IT pro help and support to avoid data confusion and incorrect messaging

Hasnain M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Used this for supply chain reporting and metrics analysis

Reviewed on 07/06/2017

Pros

The best part was the robust enterprise nature of the system. Data quality is controlled centrally by IT and processes and users always know that the data they are getting is good quality and usable. It becomes a single source of truth

Cons

This product is definitely not user friendly. Takes a lot of IT support to get up and running and often if changes are to be made to existing reports also IT needs to get involved. Plus its very pricey and not meant for smaller businesses

Manuel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Business Objects

Reviewed on 21/02/2019

Great tool to use in order to house and build custom reporting. Web and standalone tool available.

Pros

Developer tool
Ease of coding language/formulas

Cons

Java version restrictions based on company security firewall and app versioning

David S.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Decent but not great

Reviewed on 16/03/2018

Pros

We had 4 admins users and all we able to login at the same time. It is fairly easy to learn and use unlike SAP Enterprise

Cons

Expensive. Also we struggled to get the visuals setup properly, like graphs, charts, etc. Also not happy with our SAP partner's support in getting this up and running. Too slow and too long to respond

Tamara B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

good for sharing data

Reviewed on 24/04/2019

Pros

because it is webi it is easier to share and monitor reports. easy to make basic tables and show data in different ways

Cons

doing more complicate graphs or calculation can be difficult (much more than just doing it on excel)
there is an limit of rows and also limits on how to combine queries.
outline features is very uncomfortable.

Tony F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Newspapers
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Clunky

Reviewed on 26/03/2020

I think this is more of how poorly our company rolled this product out, but we are struggling to get through it. This tool has been implemented to have our IT staff have to manage finance tasks now which was previously handled by our finance teams.

Pros

I really have not had much positive experience with this new SAP platform our company launched. I do like the user interface a little better than the previous application we used.

Cons

This could be more of how our company implemented and trained us but I have not had much luck navigating the tool to approve invoices and keep workflows in place.

Harry D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Better than the basics

Reviewed on 24/02/2019

Overall, it has been a useful purchase for myself.

Pros

It’s supported my work in analysing trends and creating reports.

Cons

The software can be clunky, needs work on user experience.

Pratap reddy B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

First of all you need to improve customer support service and functionality.

Reviewed on 18/10/2016

I have been working since 10+ years on SAP BW/BI/BO and from last two years working on SAP HANA.

I have been worked with major companies like Intelligroup, L& T, CSC, Accenture,Walmart,Sandisk,OTSI.

Even am working as SAP Expert in our company and given lot of solutions for our clients.They have been satisfied with my work and given rewards also.

Venkata V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Perfect blend of SAP BO suite can boost any business

Reviewed on 14/10/2016

All features of SAP BO product suite are very good . admin tasks in BO CMC are very user friendly. design studio is best suited for analytics and SAP crystal reports 2015 is designer for developing perfect pixel reporting. Well defined process for customer support for SAP BO suite. all in all its very good for business enhancement.

Rupesh A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Excellent tool for Analytics

Reviewed on 15/10/2016

SAP BO/BI 4.1 is Excellent tool for Analytics Feature & functionality wise. We can easily make analysis base on BW/HANA & RDBMS database.
In BI 4.2 SAP has provided very good Feature as Parallel query execution, Recycle bin, Commenting & Shred element.

Vijay G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Business objects and other BI

Reviewed on 04/10/2016

BI strategies and road maps. I help clients selecting their bi tools to maximize bi ROI. I also help clients setting up their landscape for sap and non sap bi environment with hana and big Data. Thanks Vijay

Derek T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Solid. Reliable.

Reviewed on 07/10/2016

Business Objects have been around as a proven reporting front end. It falls in the middle of the road as far a reporting tools go, but the big plus is you know what to expect and SAP isn't going away any time soon.

Pawan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good tool for developing reports, but not quite nimble enough

Reviewed on 11/02/2021

Pros

The overall architecture of BO XI (with UDT v14.2.7.3130) is intuitive to understand. Most of my experience, however, has been using it with derived tables for more flexibility in the clinical trial space. This is one of the features that I like because it allows me to not only deliver custom reports but also standardized reports that integrate data from different sources.

Cons

I think that BO's lack of OLAP functionality could use some beefing up. In my company, it's usually BO, Spotfire or Tableau that are used for reporting. If BO had OLAP capabilities, processes within the company that rely heavily on other tools may also change to account for that.