Zight (formerly CloudApp) Reviews

Zight (formerly CloudApp)

4.6 (183)
Write a Review!
Share information faster with visual context.

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(183)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support Software
4.4/5
Sort by

183 Reviews

Parisa
Parisa
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best LTDs I've ever purchased. Great value and functionality.

Reviewed on 25/05/2018

CloudApp is incredibly useful, user friendly and has become one of my favorite business and...

CloudApp is incredibly useful, user friendly and has become one of my favorite business and productivity apps.

Pros

As a tech enthusiast, CloudApp isn't the most exciting deal I've purchased, but it's actually by far one of the most useful ones. I'm impressed with how intuitive and useful this app is! It's reliable, user-friendly and has really streamlined my workflow.

Cons

I wish video uploads went by more quickly. It does seem to be a bit slower than other apps that do similar things, but this is only periodically, and overall, it's still a fantastic app that's been of great value to my business.

Christian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great application for getting your message across

Reviewed on 25/01/2022

CloudApp makes it extremely easy for us to record videos, create tutorials, and help our customers...

CloudApp makes it extremely easy for us to record videos, create tutorials, and help our customers with a sleek piece of software.

Pros

CloudApp is a very powerful application with a lot of useful features.

Cons

There is a slight learning curve about what all CloudApp can do.

Alternatives Considered

ScreenFlow

Reasons for Switching to Zight (formerly CloudApp)

CloudApp makes it easy to capture shorter pieces of content, while ScreenFlow is better for longer recordings and editing.
David
David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Great tool. Worst support ever

Reviewed on 04/11/2019

It's a great to do screenshot easily, but the support team is not supportive.

It's a great to do screenshot easily, but the support team is not supportive.

Pros

When the tool it's extremely simple to use.

Cons

The customer team is inexistent, you can spend weeks with critical bugs not being solved

Akshika
Akshika
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent integrations, simple to use, and much more than a screencasting tool

Reviewed on 12/01/2023

Pros

As the Head of Support, I use CloudApp on a regular basis. Sharing images, video demonstrations, and GIFs are simple and quick, and our clients like being able to see a video by clicking a single link without having to form an account. The ability to annotate also streamlines the process, and sharing is as simple as sending them a link, to which they may respond directly on the picture and video page. It's a comprehensive screen-capture video solution. It may be found in the Chrome taskbar. Intuitive and simple to use.

Cons

There are occasional problems, as with most things, but the one that irritates me the most is that trying to screenshot a whole web page frequently fails. Despite the fact that you have the choice to complete the entire page, it will just do the visible section. The security to log in might be frustrating at times. I understand wanting to secure an account, but for me, it's simply screenshots and doesn't require that kind of security; nonetheless, I can see why they have it.

Response from Zight

Hi Akshika,

Thank you so much for writing a review; we value the time you took and appreciate your feedback!

We love hearing that CloudApp has been a simple and quick solution for you in your role as Head of Support and how you use it for sharing video demos and screen captures + annotations with your clients!

Please do feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] if you are still having issues with failing screenshots capturing a whole web page as we want to ensure you have the best experience with our product.

Thanks again!

Nicholas
Nicholas
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

Why doesn't every person have this on their computer?

Reviewed on 26/06/2018

Pros

CloudApp is among the greats of computer utilities. It works flawlessly and looks great. I love how easy it is to annotate a screenshot or record my screen, but the best part is the unlimited online storage of content and the link I can share anywhere.

Cons

Hmm. Sometimes there are some little bugs, but the overall stability has improved a lot recently. I really can't think of anything else as it works so good.

Bryan
Bryan
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This has quickly become one of my favorite apps

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

Pros

It's incredibly simple to use and extremely fast. It does a great job with screen recording and screenshots, but we have found it to also be an excellent way to share design proofs with our clients. Just drop any large file over the icon in the Mac toolbar and it will automatically copy a sharing link to your clipboard - even if the file hasn't finished uploading. By the time you write up an email and send it, the file is uploaded and the sharing page is active. It is MUCH faster than using Dropbox, Google Drive, or any of the other tools we've used for sharing files. The sharing page is really nice, too. It has a simple feature for our clients to leave comments or annotate the files we've shared. We love this app. It's a huge time saver.

Cons

They have some nice integrations with Trello and Slack, but those aren't tools that we use. Hopefully, they'll add other integrations at some point.

lily
lily
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Screen Sharing is Fun With CloudApp

Reviewed on 10/11/2018

Pros

Just remember one shortcut keys combination to capture your screen (or two if you also want to record your screen), and you are good to go. Anytime you need to share anything on your screen, hit the key combo, and you'll get the link to the image/video ready to share.

Cons

There's no option to capture a window, and you can't pre-set the image/video size.

Graham
Graham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My most used app?

Reviewed on 16/10/2018

Pros

I use this all day everyday! I am constantly taking shots and sharing with my team. It is just so so easy with the keyboard shortcuts and drag and drop feature... I totally love this app!

Cons

Occasionally when starting video it misfires and means I have to close and reopen. Not very often tho

Joseph
Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

After Trying All Others, This Is the Best

Reviewed on 01/06/2018

Capturing images and annotating them and sharing them are my biggest uses. I find that this app...

Capturing images and annotating them and sharing them are my biggest uses. I find that this app does it with ease considering what I can do with these images. I was using another app but kept getting bogged down in with the functionality not being where I wanted it to be but CloudApp does what I want and does it the way I want.

Pros

I have used SO many screen capture apps and this is the best among all the free ones I have tried. It annotates easily and even allows me to move arrows around as well as text. It captures easily with a hotkey. It captures video easily and uses a microphone to record along with the screencapture. It stores my captures for later retrieval and sharing. I struggle to think of something it can't do well!

Cons

It would be nice to more easily delete screen captures but to me that is this app's biggest failing, so it's pretty good!!

Jeffry
Jeffry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The Easiest Way to Snap and Share Your Screen

Reviewed on 09/10/2018

Pros

For those who share their screen a lot, CloudApp is a godsend. But even for the rest of us, the app helps​ us explain better with easy to share screen captures.

Cons

Even though the tool is improving fast, it still lacks some features which are standard on other screen capture apps.

Erik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of my favorite apps

Reviewed on 12/02/2019

Its a great little app that really helps my productivity. I would put in in my top 5 favorite...

Its a great little app that really helps my productivity. I would put in in my top 5 favorite tools I use daily. Not terribly expensive, and the monthly fee pays fro itself quickly.

Pros

CloudApp is one of the most handy tools for sending email attachments - even videos. Im a Mac user so it sits in my top toolbar. I simply drag in the attachment(s) and it creates the archive and link automatically. Not only that it copies the link to your clipboard so you can just paste it right into your email. It will "ding" and then you know its uploaded and ready to share. Short videos are really easy to make as well but selecting a screen area, pressing start and you ready to go.

Cons

My biggest complaint is that some servers detect the links as spam or untrusted. So in some cases the link will not work. Not sure why this happens but think there are some using the cloud app service who may be abusing it, thereby flagging spam filters. Ive tried to add a custom domain to the short link it creates (service allows this) but it does not seem to help this problem.

Ernie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Job (and life) changing

Reviewed on 18/10/2019

CloudApp has made adding screenshots and images to my blog posts incredibly easy. CloudApp has made...

CloudApp has made adding screenshots and images to my blog posts incredibly easy. CloudApp has made giving additional context to colleagues simple by giving us the ability to take a screenshot of what we're talking about on the site. I have nothing negative to say about this tool other than it's set my expectations for similar tools so high that I'm usually disappointed by them.

Pros

It's incredibly easy to use and reliable. You can take a simple screenshot, a gif, a video, and annotate it all within the app. It's quick, it's versatile, and it's incredibly functional. I use this tool every day, for every blog post, and for a number of different things. As a sales rep I used it for entirely different but equally important tasks.

Cons

The only thing I wish I could do that I currently cannot is to go back into an annotation I've made after I saved. Sometimes I realize I've forgotten to note something, drawn a border incorrectly, or some other minor edit and am unable to go back into the original screenshot/gif to fix it. It's not a terribly big issue because of how simple it is to go back and take another screenshot or gif.

Darcy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quick, easy, neat, I feel like a pro!

Reviewed on 03/05/2017

I can quickly get my thoughts across to customers and team members. It's simple and fast. I really...

I can quickly get my thoughts across to customers and team members. It's simple and fast. I really couldn't go a day without it.

Pros

It's quick to load and the fact that the link absorbs into the clipboard is SO easy and fast.

There are multiple ways to use it - downloads, webcam vids, screenshare vids with voice, GIFs of screen, images, annotations. Really - there are SO many ways to up your game in social and customer care by using CloudApp.

Cons

Small screenshots don't always come out readable without clicking on them and waiting to see what it is.

The head of the arrow in the Annotations is super huge and I often have to find workarounds when I'd really like to use it. It would be cool to shrink it width-wise along with length-wise.

I wish you could copy/paste annotation components (arrows that you've sized a certain way, text, etc.) Click on the element, ctrl+c, ctrl+v

I wish there was a solid box in annotations that you could add. There's an outline, but not a solid box or circle that I've discovered.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Huge savings in productivity.

Reviewed on 26/10/2018

I am a Product Manager and often, due to the speed at which we work and the people I work with,...

I am a Product Manager and often, due to the speed at which we work and the people I work with, words are not the best medium to convey thoughts when you discover snags or bugs. Developers are busy people and want to build things and move on. CloudApp lets me visually capture product behavior to explain desired functionality, in the form of videos and gifs and thus speed up communication within my team. I really love the tool.

Pros

The ability to capture screenshots and annotate them with comments or arrows. The ability to capture videos as well as gifs has enabled me to be more productive. As a Product Manager, I can enhance my documentation efforts by bringing in a visual component to requirements and bug descriptions. It has helped me writing feature walkthroughs as well as explain competitive product offerings to my team.

Cons

Every once in a while, I have observed that the tool's library shows captured screenshots which I hadn't intended to capture. It may be due to the fact that the shortcut keys on the keyboard (Ctrl+Alt+Shift+5) are close to a frequently used shortcut (Ctrl+Alt+Del). It's either that or maybe it's just...fat fingers!

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Do NOT use for Markeitng unreliable

Reviewed on 01/09/2021

See above. I'm so upset with what happened and your customer support is terrible. I could not get...

See above. I'm so upset with what happened and your customer support is terrible. I could not get hold of anyone. I want my money refunded for the upgrade that did not work.

Pros

I use screencast o Matic and cloud app I had a massive launch video and decided to use the system.

***** BAD MOVE ****

They only have a 2 gig limit and my first 280 views blew my data and left my 11,564 with a message NO MORE DATA CONTACT USER>

What a pain in the arse! Thanks, guys, you left me to deal with 100's of emails to deal with.

So, I paid for an immediate upgrade. You tool my money. and It didn't work.

Would I use you again, NO. Not for any B to C. No way.

Cons

The customer service and chat support is terrible. The earliest I could get hold of someone was 2 days by making a time to meet someone. I needed help URGENTLY and not one reply.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy GIFs, Screenshots, Videos

Reviewed on 25/02/2021

I have been a fan since day one! It is very intuitive and makes it incredibly easy to share content...

I have been a fan since day one! It is very intuitive and makes it incredibly easy to share content with users or teammates.

Pros

We use CloudApp on a regular basis because of its ease of use for both users and customers. We mainly use it for support, helping users of our product understand where to find certain features, and making quick recordings for our help center articles or guides. I love how I get notified when users view my clips.

Cons

Depending on how long the recording is, it can take some time to upload. I also wish there were a few more options to annotate, but for the most part, it is pretty customizable.

Ken
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This app saves me time every day

Reviewed on 31/03/2021

I know this software doesn't cost a lot, but I love how easy it is to use and I use it daily, in...

I know this software doesn't cost a lot, but I love how easy it is to use and I use it daily, in fact, multiple times a day. I can't imagine my life without it. It really does save time and increase productivity. It even sends me a weekly report on how much time I saved and how much usage per week.

Pros

Love the ability to take screenshots and attach it into an email or drop that into Slack
Love the ease of use
Love that it allows for video taking, though I haven't used much of that feature yet

Cons

It requires a fair amount of updates in order to get access to the latest features. And sometimes it crashes.

Tyler
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent way to share recordings or screen captures when a call isn't possible

Reviewed on 24/08/2021

I use it every day to share screenshots and recordings with clients and colleagues.

I use it every day to share screenshots and recordings with clients and colleagues.

Pros

CloudApp is a lifesaver on a daily basis! I use it to make sure I'm understanding I'm on the same page as my clients, to send screenshots to help instruct them on how to use something, or to collaborate with my teammates. I absolutely love that it automatically copies the link for you to paste into an email or Slack too. For such a simple software it absolutely crushes it!

Cons

I feel like screenshot or video editing can be a little buggy at times. Sometimes it won't save the changes I make which can be annoying to have to go back and re-do them.

Kartik
Kartik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Alternative to loom

Reviewed on 21/09/2022

Pros

I like a bunch of features with CloudApp:
1. Screen recording
2. Annotation
3. The files are stored in the cloud, so I never have to worry about files not being there or getting lost
4. Their online storage also allows to create folders which helps to manage files on the cloud
5. Many times we used to use wetransfer for file transfer, now we use cloudapp

Cons

Sometimes it has hiccups when the windows is rebooted/turned on

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for sharing images on the fly

Reviewed on 26/07/2019

Pros

I love how quick it is to snap a screenshot and paste it into a slack conversation. I don't have to save an image to my computer and pollute my desktop, i simply copy paste the link and it expands nicely into the conversation.

Cons

I don't need to receive an email every time someone opens a link i've shared, but i can probably disable the function, i just haven't done it.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use...and it's changed the way we do our support and sales.

Reviewed on 25/08/2016

We really like CloudApp. We needed a way to easily show our customers features of LeadIQ's, and...

We really like CloudApp. We needed a way to easily show our customers features of LeadIQ's, and CloudApp's screen shooting makes it really simple and easy.

We've been able to cut down our ticket times using their gif recorder. With it you can record actions inside our app, and just send a link to the customer to show them how to do something. This speeds up the back and forth.

Pros

Very easy to use, high quality capturing, and really cool analytics on the files you upload.

Cons

Once in a great while, we'll have customers that get confused having to open a Cloudapp link. The good news is, the more they use it, the more comfortable they become with it. It's naturally like the evolution of a product.

Response from Zight

Thank you Ryan! This is an awesome review... Greatly greatly appreciated!

Best,
Derek Rey / CloudApp

Stephanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CloudApp is my go to app for explaining anything with just an image or video to clients &...

Reviewed on 11/05/2018

Pros

Lost of options with the mac app. I just click on the option I want and the select the section of the screen I want to screen shot, make a gift and/or record a video of the screen and front camera.
Simple way to share your videos and screenshots with the ability to use custom links and branded URL.
love the ability of make comments and get insights/reports on the videos and images
Annotations are also a great feature to highlight something and make sure your massage is clear

Cons

I often find myself rebooting the app on my macbook pro computer because it crashes, so I have to use the web/browser version of cloudapp once that happens.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complete Sharing - Head to Toe!

Reviewed on 17/03/2020

Pros

Cloudapp replaces the system screenshot macro (If you want it) which makes integration into current workflows seamless.
Cloudapps mark up and quick edit tools are actually useful, and fast!
Custom domains for the links you're providing.
Asset expiration.
Photo, video, GIF.

Cons

There's nothing I don't like about Cloudapp. It does what it says and it does it well. I'm glad to have Cloudapp installed and use it easily hundreds of times a day.

Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I've tried a couple like it, and prefer CloudApp

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Pros

Super easy to use. The toolbar thing makes it super easy to pull up. The automatically-created link makes it super easy. The annotate feature is super handy and robust enough. The video record / gif create features are super clutch, too.

Cons

One thing I wish it offered, and that I"ve never seen before, is the ability to create a screenshot of an infinite scroll. So for example, rather than just be locked into screenshotting something I can see on my static screen, I'd like the ability to tell CLoudApp a portion of my screen to record, then scroll down, and have it stitch multiple screenshots into one long image.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

"CLOUDAPP" THE PERFECT APP FOR STORING YOUR IMPORTANT FILES YOU NEED IT MOST!!!!

Reviewed on 21/10/2018

STORING THE IMPORTANT PROJECTS AND DATA OF MY WORK

STORING THE IMPORTANT PROJECTS AND DATA OF MY WORK

Pros

WE CAN SAVE THE DATA IN THE CLOUD STORAGE AND THE DATA CAN BE STREAMED IN ANY DEVICE LIKE ANDROID, IOS, WINDOWS ETC.

Cons

THE ABILITY TO STREAM THE SAVED FILES IN ANY DEVICES