28 reviews

NetSuite OpenAir

The Leading Cloud Professional Services Automation Solution

4.2 /5 (28 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
3.8
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
3.4
Customer Support
3.8
86% recommended this app
28 reviews
Mohamed A.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

openair cloud version is very easy to use

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 03/01/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

- Easy to use.
- Centralized location make booking and timesheets, so we can generate reports about how the resources are utilized during the week.
- also we use it to book a vacation so it can be easily tracked.
- you can also check the current projects and the time spend on each project which helps in identifying the areas which need improvement within the org

Cons

the way to edit timesheets and projects, is a little bit confusing for someone who dealing with it for the first time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Best expensive and project management tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Good software for maintaining expense and project time management and reporting tool.

Pros

Very easy to use and it is very easy to pull reports like time sheets and utilization in scheduled basis.Also easy to evaluate Vacation OFF timing of resource and it will help on OPEX cost estimations and tracking.overall user interface is good and easy to generate reports.easy to integrate with JIRA.

Cons

Not really much but sometimes I feel they can do little more improvements on user interface and sometime it is little time taking method for editing submitted time-sheets.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jennie G.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Good riddance!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

My company used this software for almost 13 years. It wasn't completely awful, as evidenced by the fact that we stuck with it for as long as we did, but I don't have a lot of good things to say about it. It was visually appealing, and once you got the hang of it, the navigation became somewhat intuitive. That's about it.

Cons

This software is cumbersome and rigid, and there are so many simple functions that it can't do that it's hard to understand why wasted their time making everything else so complex. The customer service is AWFUL - long waits to talk to people who are reading from a script. Their online help forum, SuiteAnswers, is equally bad. Most of the information is ancient. However, as I think about it, that probably doesn't matter, because OpenAir hasn't made any significant changes to its platform for many years, despite the fact that they said over and over and over that an update was right around the corner. The very worst thing about it is the astronomically high price. For between 15 - 20 users we were paying over $20K/year. It was overwhelming to think about changing since we had so much data stored in the system, but we have finally taken the leap not to renew our contract and move to BigTime, and I couldn't be happier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Savannah W.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 13-50 Employees

You can likely make OpenAir work for your needs

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/09/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We've really been able to make OA work for us. We use it for resource allocation and planning, expense reimbursements, vacation and sick time submissions, as well as normal daily time tracking. The ability to do all of that in one system is nice. It's fairly customizable if you're tech savvy.

Cons

Despite constantly adjusting bookings and information in the OA system, it always seems like incorrect or outdated information sticks around. We've taken to calling them "OpenAir Gremlins". It's not a huge deal, because we know to discount the additional bookings, but it can be frustrating and make resourcing more difficult than it already is.
It's also not the most user friendly. Filters allow for highly customizable content, which is great, but can be a bit clunky. Also the "save" vs "save and submit" buttons often leave us with unsubmitted time sheets or vacation requests.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Lyubov P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

NetSuite OpenAir Review from an admin perspective

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 25/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I'm very happy with OpenAir and the extend to which it could be customized to the needs of the specific corporate organization. It is designed to cover a lot of corporate processes which gives it the potential to make it a primary corporate tool.

Pros

One of the main advantages of OpenAir is extend to which it could be customized to the clients needs. It also can be eintegrated with other business systems that an organization uses - for example SAP. This is a huge advantage because it saves a lot of manual work especially for the accounting department.

Cons

OpenAir is not very user friendly. also its design is not enough intuitive. What is more the new GUI is very confusing for users used to the previous design. One more drawback is that the OpenAir mobile app is not very convenient. It needs further development to make it equally useful as the web app.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Steve J.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

OpenAir makes project tracking easy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, we have been pleased with the performance and functionality, as well as the support response when needed has been great.

Pros

I like the ease of use, seamless integration with most major platforms, flexibility and value proposition.

Cons

The feature that would be most helpful for us would be an additional column to input the baseline project hours and cost and have it be frozen. This way we could track changes in scope much easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Christopher M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

OpenAir review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 03/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I like the software and am anxious to see how they improve it next!

Pros

I like that it has the capability to integrate with things like Salesforce and Jira, making it easier for users to complete multiple tasks in one spot.

Cons

The UI still needs a bit of work. It is not easy to navigate through the platform and things are often "hidden" from plain sight.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kenneth V.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great Timesheet Program

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 14/12/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This is a pretty easy interface to navigate through to record and keep track of all your hours and PTO for projects.

Cons

It's difficult and not intuitive when it comes to trying to edit your hours after submitting your timesheet. It's also a little cumbersome that you can't record some of your hours ahead of time if you know you'll be on PTO.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kendal B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Almost There

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/08/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

My PM's choose to use this tool only for Resource & Time Management. I'm having a hard time getting them to use this as a Project Management Tool.

Pros

Resource Management through Bookings - I can easily see what my Resource's utilization & Bench time is.

Cons

Projects and Bookings could be connected better. Reporting could benefit with more complex reporting. Resource Management Planner view could use a zoom in feature. Project Task Management could be more complex.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Hard to use but good features

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 22/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Painful at first, and even still to this day, but data is all organized and clean.

Pros

Great features and tracking of expenses, time, etc.
Secure, we used it with SSO
Mobile app

Cons

So hard to get used to.
Not intuitive. Things aren't where you would expect them to be.
Slow at times.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Alexa H.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Great DIY Solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Love all the functionality of reports, saved searches and custom fields. Easy to add fields and publish them to transaction pages.

Cons

Creating reports is not always intuitive as you think it should be. For more complex reports you need to really understand where the data is coming from before you can create a report using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mihail G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great ERP system to solve our needs!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We had need to solve our revenue recognition and financial reporting and with NetSuite we did streamline the process and automated month-end closing process. Thanks,

Pros

Easy to operate, searching for a transaction is improved based on the other softwares and great ERP product.

Cons

The ability to connect with other softwares.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dana M.

Great system for time sheet & expense reporting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great system for time sheet & expense reporting - very easy to use once you get the hang of it. Proxy access rights work seamlessly.

Cons

A little labor intensive, but you can format the system to pre-populate some fields to make data entry smoother.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Brenda H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

OpenAir review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Can access from your phone to enter\submit time and expenses

Cons

If you enter a wrong amount on an expense, you have to delete the record and create a new one. Sometimes not all of the tasks for time entry show up so I have to wait to use it via the computer.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Patricia C.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 51-200 Employees

OpenAir Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ability to customize to our needs for the user view and the different user levels

Cons

Integration between other systems and the ability to make changes after an integration has been completed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Meh...

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've used mostly for time tracking, and not seen the admin access/reporting.
However, from an end user perspective, it's basically the same as every other time tracking suite.

Cons

the UX seems a bit outdated compared to many others.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great software for PM, time & expense

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great at tracking time & expense. Easy to use to keep track of projects & resources on the projects. Able to do T&M billing easily

Cons

Reporting capabilities somewhat limited and hard to integrate with our other software - overall just lacks customization ability

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Christian P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great PM tool, but too many features for my needs.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 12/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Time tracking, resource management

Pros

I like the many different options it presents for setting up projects and assigning resources. Also, great way to track time and progress bill.

Cons

If you are a small company, the assigning of resources can be frustrating, as we are an all hands on deck organization, so resources are often double booked, which can create confusion in OpenAir.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jonathan S.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Great tool but lacked some data integrations

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Robust features that we could leverage across our services business. Provided scheduling tools that allowed for visibility into areas of high and low utilization for scheduling.

Cons

Lack of integration to the project financials. We struggled with integrating the contract data into the project so we could track profitability real time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Buyer Beware

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Has good billing functionality

Pros

Timesheet and expenses approval workflows. milestone and T&M billing rules.

Cons

WBS very difficult to work with. Reporting leaves much to be desired. Buggy, inconsistent behaviour. lacks functionality. slow/poor performance.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Michael N.
Industry: Security & Investigations
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

its a typical tracking app

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/07/2017
Review Source: Capterra

transparent time tracking

Pros

it helps track all client billable hours and notes and can pull in data from SFDC. I can break out hours per day and comment per each

Cons

not as customizable as I would like. I wish we could turn some of the "features" off. Forcing comments makes my time entry quite tedious

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Molly E.
Industry: Environmental Services
Company size: 13-50 Employees

OpenAir is NOT Fully Integrated w/ NetSuite

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 24/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The customer support team has been great, likely because we have had so many issues.

Cons

The usability, the fact that is was advertised and sold to us as fully integrated with NetSuite (it's parent company which houses all financials) and the increasingly common issues that arise for no reason.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Rakesh

Professional Services Automation Made Simple

Reviewed on 28/08/2013
Review Source: GetApp

NetSuite OpenAir is an excellent solution that combines a comprehensive approach with convenience. Thanks to its integration and customization capabilities, it also extends typical PSA solutions and makes it easy for PSA organizations to track their efforts and be more successful. Integration with multiple CRM and ERP systems at the front end and back end ensures extensibility and easier processing of routine tasks

Pros

specific customizations within the solution makes it an interesting and innovative solution. For example, the solution integrates with iPhones and iPads.

Emilio M.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Pretty standard as timesheet tools go.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Set up for first use was mostly pain free.

Cons

setting up the same timesheet over and over again is a bit of a chore. There is no memory of what you did the last time you used it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Gina G.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great for time tracking and reporting!

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

OpenAir is user friendly and integrates with multiple in house systems.

Cons

No cons! I am not familiar with other time systems but OpenAir seems to have it all!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10