MicroStrategy Analytics

4.2 (48)
Comprehensive platform for enterprise analytics and mobility

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(48)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
3.7/5
Customer Support Software
3.9/5

48 Software options

Nolan H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MicroStrategy Analytics Reveiw

Reviewed on 09/07/2021

I analyze merchandise levels for a buying office for a very large retailer. We need to look at our data from every imaginable angle and my job would be impossible without MicroStrategy. One of the most useful tools within it is being able to look at product views, add to cart rate & conversion metrics, and compare to inventory levels.

Pros

As a merch analyst in a buying office, I need to create my own custom reporting I love how flexible MicroStrategy is in that regard. I have almost 20 custom dashboards saved that I can pull & export as needed, and share with the rest of my working group as well as other departments. You can drill down any metric as far as you want, or step back and get a great big picture view of things like sales, demand, styles sold etc. and when you export you can choose the format as well (excel & PDF are my most commonly used options)

Cons

The interface is very dated looking, I feel transported back to 1996 whenever I open up MicroStrategy. It really has no impact on using the product, but a more modern look would be appreciated.

Bill T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Next Version?

Reviewed on 02/07/2019

We use Microstrategy to create demonstration dashboards for our our analytics software. They have a fairly robust user community and they are getting better with each iteration. Beyond the way one has to manipulate the frames and maps, the software is powerful and useful for creating data visualization dashboards.

Pros

The software is easy to install and get up and running. It handles a wide variety of data types and has many options for displaying data. They now have a compilable version that lets developers hard code the dashboards to work with input software which is nice (although a little pricey for smaller applications).

Cons

The user interface was less than intuitive, development support was not strong, and some of the features do not respond as expected. Specifically, maps do not appear to scale properly - I wound up with a much larger map (the entire northern hemisphere) than wanted (the continental USA) and could never get them to display properly unless I removed the data element and started over. Setting up dashboard frames to fit various screen sizes is a little complicated. Setting up “reusable frames” was a little difficult to master, because of the sidebar configuration tools.

Nathan H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software

My company utilized MicroStrategy to provide Automotive Dealers with reporting dashboards.

Reviewed on 12/05/2018

Pros

The reliability was key. We had to refresh data weekly for over 2,000 dealerships and had many thousands of users, so it was important the dashboards were working 100% of the time.

Cons

It was difficult for our team to make updates to the dashboards when requested by our clients. Also, custom reports were a bit dofficult to create and schedule. Still a good reporting product, though, and a great value for the money because you can display all sorts of data in different ways (bar chart, pie chart, trend lines).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A well organized and useful software that could use some aesthetic improvement

Reviewed on 02/04/2019

MicroStrategy is a powerful analytic tool that we use to pull anything from lab data to customer service performance stats. It is customizeable and has a great multitude of functions.

Pros

I use this software to run reports on DNA samples that I process at my job. It is intuitive and well organized. I learned how to use it very quickly. It has convenient features such as labels that appear when you hover over an icon. I also have not had any issues with it such as lagging or crashing or other functional failures.

Cons

The only room for improvement is the web design. Adding some colors, bigger icons, and reorganizing the display of options would make it easier on the eyes and brain and more delightful to use.

Sajid A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A comprehensive but complex BI tool

Reviewed on 10/04/2018

Pros

Microstrategy is a world leader when it comes to BI and analytics. The tool is great for large-scale deployments where many aspects of the business need to be considered.

Cons

While catering to all potential BI and analytics needs, Microstrategy seriously lacks when it comes to ease of use. Competitors like Power BI and Sisense have made deployment of BI tool extremely easy and in comparison, Microstrategy feels lacklustre.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helpful tool for Business Analytics

Reviewed on 05/12/2018

The overall experience was good. I used it for about 1 year while I was working for Business Analytics.

Pros

I like the desktop version of it more. Its very easy to create metrics and use them in different reports. Multiple people can work together on a particular project.

Cons

Get small bugs that really trouble sometimes. Also, the customer support is not very robust. There are forums but cannot find trusted answers to all the problem-related queries.

Margaret C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for reporting

Reviewed on 25/01/2019

Pros

This tool is very dependable and easy to customize, has great visualization and very user friendly interface. It is very good for reporting.

Cons

Its installation was not the easiest and took quite some time. It is also quite pricey.

Jason L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Does its job well

Reviewed on 29/12/2018

We tried MicroStrategy on a trial basis. We experimented with the same dashboard designs we frequent in our current subscription software.

Pros

It's not difficult to use on a basic level. I can certainly build a basic dashboard that my bosses would find satisfactory.

Cons

I found the learning curve to be a lot less forgiving than some of its competitors.

Bassel N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Good analysis, bad softward

Reviewed on 03/02/2019

Improve the UX

Pros

Generates good reports - but little analysis.
The word limit is pushing me to write longer review which is not needed

Cons

Hard to download
The download experience reminded with computers in late 1990s.
Also, my work firewall did not recognise it as safe software, so I am using this app from my home with my personal laptop...
This is not a normal business experience

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I studied the competition to see if this product was up to the other BI leaders (gartner).

Reviewed on 06/04/2018

you can set different user roles and levels easily. I was able to advise on this product

Pros

It works with the main Operative System, it doesn't need a expensive hardware to run. Excellent training program (not too expensive). It is easy to automate the sending of reports to user lists (great the report tool too because allow you to switch from a table to a chart in real time). It is a web based solution so it is accessible from any device from anywhere. generally user friendly because it helps the user to create the data cloud without having a thorough technical knowledge of SQL or programming. It is compatible with most data sources with connectors.
An important and unique feature is that of being able to insert comments, note and share the analysis.

Cons

It takes a long time to configure the software the first time (installation and connection to server). Old-fashioned design, the Desktop environment can be a bit more intuitive and quick.
Has a licensing system that is a bit too complicated. It should be improved data export functionality.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A very comprehensive data analysis tool

Reviewed on 05/02/2019

Pros

This is a very powerful software that allows us to manipulate mountains of data into usable reports. There are tons of options of how to format and organize the data into various reports for different audiences. The possibilities are basically endless.

Cons

It's not a very intuitive user interface, and can be very difficult to figure out the best way to accomplish a certain look for the reports you're generating. Often times, trial and error seems to be the best way to go. As I gain experience with the software, I'm sure this will become less of an issue.

Felix S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Leader in BI tools

Reviewed on 13/09/2019

My company previously used tableau as our BI tools. Tableau is impressive in building nice and interactive visualization but not so much on keeping the structure of the data which can lead to data integrity issues. Microstrategy in the beginning was behind in visualization but over time the development has improved significantly in many areas. With microstrategy, the final product can be fully trusted and consistent across the board.

Pros

Evolving periodically for better.
Really good in maintaining data structures and hierarchy to ensure data integrity and consistency
Capable to do almost anything that other competitors have.
Hyper intelligence is a game changer in BI world.

Cons

1. Setup can be complicated and difficult since involved many parties (driver vendor, database vendor, etc) due to compatibility issues.
2. Prefer inner join, less support for outer join.
3. Relationship and data structures development can take lots of time and thought.

Andrew R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Love MSTR

Reviewed on 23/07/2019

Pros

Ease of use: as a non-SQL user MSTR allows me to quickly and easily get the data I need in the format I need it in

Cons

Learning curve can be steep. Also charts and graph functions are lacking in the detailed formatting options you need to make a dashboard presentable for executive presentations

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really Improved with recent updates

Reviewed on 22/11/2018

Pros

I used to not be a fan of microstrategy’s analytics / BI software, but they seem to really listen to their customers and improve their software with every release. I especially like the enhancements to the geographic data features and visualizations in their recent release. Turning GIS data into an aesthetic map chart is simple now.

Cons

While microstrategy’s software has improved greatly in recent releases, I still think the forecasting functionality could be improved. You can’t do as much with forecasting in this software than you can in some competing software.

Todd G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Micro Strategy

Reviewed on 06/01/2019

Pros

I like the simple ease of being able to bring the data in and make something useful from it.

Cons

Not everything is very straightforward. Definitely takes some getting used to. Once you do there is so much that can be done.

Abhijit D.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reporting made easy for the business user.

Reviewed on 10/06/2017

Insight into operations and licensing without needing the internal data warehouse knowledge

Pros

The software is very easy to use with an uncluttered interface and generating reports is a breeze. The option to share and schedule reports helps to be on top of business, across multiple users and teams.

Cons

The app could use some UI modernization. A mobile app to look at reports and dashboards would be great.

Mohammed S.
Overall rating
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

It's not bad

Reviewed on 06/06/2018

Pros

It has some good graphs, and you can add your own ones. Intelligent Cubes are the only unique feature I've seen it in this BI tool. It has a good community.

Cons

Dealing with SQL queries, and Microsoft Access was difficult, and probably result in an error. Even though the query was 100% correct. It generates wrong values for the query I used. I think I prefer another tool.

John D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

MicroStrategy Review

Reviewed on 30/12/2016

Used for BI reporting capabilities. We were able to generate dynamic reports utilizing a plethora of fields determined by the business. Ability to drag and drop fields into columns or rows, drill down/expand, and export information as needed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solid BI tool for enterprise wide reporting but resource intensive (both cost and initial...

Reviewed on 22/01/2019

Pros

- Full of advanced features like data storage in MicroStrategy cubes for faster reporting times, advanced grouping and filtering, ability to write your own SQL in the backend, ability to customize using SDK interface
- MicroStrategy Mobile is game changer. Great app and makes a solid impression on C-suite executives

Cons

- Initial setup takes time (If you compare with Tableau, etc, the setup of MicroStrategy is much more time intensive). Have to setup all attributes and measures beforehand.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great reporting and analytics tool!

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

Pros

The dashboards and reports that MicroStrategies is able to produce are beautiful, insightful, actionable, and informative. We have been using them for portfolio management and production reporting for several years and are pretty happy.

Cons

The setup can be cumbersome and the software did take awhile to learn. It's not incredibly intuitive like some of the programs I have used in the past, but the results are worth the efforts.

Todd G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

What can't Microstrategy do?

Reviewed on 29/10/2019

I started using Microstrategy from day 1 at my job and I loved the ease of being able to drag and drop different data points onto a dossier. That was just so amazing. I learned the ins and outs and actually moved my way onto the Microstrategy Team to help develop it and bring it to more people.

Pros

The thing that I like most about this software is the ability that it has to bring in multiple different sources, from multiple different data types and allow the user to use them and present them in a way that is easily understandable. For example on my day to day job I work with excel files, data warehouse queries, and other kinds of data. I am easily with in a couple of minutes able to put all these different data types into one dossier for easy view and consumption for anyone in my business with a Microstrategy License.

Cons

There are a couple things that I don't like about Microstrategy. There are somethings that seem like they should have been there the whole time, for example if I wanted to look at trends over day, month, or week previously I would not be able to do that without creating a workaround for it. They are coming out with a release soon that will make that possible and easy to accomplish. I just feel like it should have been ther from the beginning

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An Intuitive BI Tool For Building And Deploying Powerful Analytics

Reviewed on 27/09/2020

MicroStrategy has been very helpful BI reporting tool in the Enterprise Data Warehousing project, due to its features like scalability, data discovery, transnational speed and high availability of data connectors. It makes the generation of weekly/monthly reports and personalized dashboards simpler by offering powerful out-of-the-box customizable reports and ability to leverage visualizations such as Bar Charts, Pie Charts, Histograms, Scatter Plots, Gantt Charts, Treemaps, Geospatial Visualizations etc.

Pros

In the Enterprise-wide complex Data Warehouse, MicroStragety reporting tool can connect to to the various data sources, may those be Relational or Non-relational and Cloud Systems too. This enables the overall architecture to import/export the data to/from them. The high availability of data connectors is the most helpful feature of the product.

Cons

The traditional reporting functionality needs little improvisation so that end users will be able to view the reports in the transitional/basic formats as per their requirement. The reports may also need to be broken down to requested granularity by business end users.

Sara C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Million Applications

Reviewed on 08/05/2019

Pros

This software is so versatile. It let's me slice and dice data from a variety of sources into user friendly dashboards and reports.

Cons

Building a new dashboard can be tedious but I'm not a programmer by trade. I have been able to isolate the reporting sources and fields and build my own dashboards it just hasnt been as fast or simple as I had hoped.

Jenni W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very high-end

Reviewed on 03/12/2015

Pros

This software is loaded with features/functionality; I don't think I've run into anything that it just can't do. Their training and user forums are also extremely helpful.

Cons

Very steep learning curve for administration/development and requires very knowledgeable support staff to get and keep it going. I think that is to be expected with such a complex product however for a smaller company it can present challenges.

Naresh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool, free desktop was a bonus!

Reviewed on 13/12/2016

Using this tool, to learn and get into enterprise analytics was fun. The free desktop version also allowed folks to analyze excel and other data sources. this gave them some useful utility to look their own data and seeing trends.

Pros

quick to learn and start using from no experience. The videos on you-tube also helped pickup some of the concepts. The free desktop tool, also had a good guide and videos to get started.