47 reviews

MicroStrategy

Comprehensive platform for enterprise analytics and mobility

4.2 /5 (47 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.9
85% recommended this app
47 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Company size: 51-200 Employees

I studied the competition to see if this product was up to the other BI leaders (gartner).

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 06/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

you can set different user roles and levels easily. I was able to advise on this product

Pros

It works with the main Operative System, it doesn't need a expensive hardware to run. Excellent training program (not too expensive). It is easy to automate the sending of reports to user lists (great the report tool too because allow you to switch from a table to a chart in real time). It is a web based solution so it is accessible from any device from anywhere. generally user friendly because it helps the user to create the data cloud without having a thorough technical knowledge of SQL or programming. It is compatible with most data sources with connectors.
An important and unique feature is that of being able to insert comments, note and share the analysis.

Cons

It takes a long time to configure the software the first time (installation and connection to server). Old-fashioned design, the Desktop environment can be a bit more intuitive and quick.
Has a licensing system that is a bit too complicated. It should be improved data export functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Felix S.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Leader in BI tools

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

My company previously used tableau as our BI tools. Tableau is impressive in building nice and interactive visualization but not so much on keeping the structure of the data which can lead to data integrity issues. Microstrategy in the beginning was behind in visualization but over time the development has improved significantly in many areas. With microstrategy, the final product can be fully trusted and consistent across the board.

Pros

Evolving periodically for better.
Really good in maintaining data structures and hierarchy to ensure data integrity and consistency
Capable to do almost anything that other competitors have.
Hyper intelligence is a game changer in BI world.

Cons

1. Setup can be complicated and difficult since involved many parties (driver vendor, database vendor, etc) due to compatibility issues.
2. Prefer inner join, less support for outer join.
3. Relationship and data structures development can take lots of time and thought.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Andrew R.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Love MSTR

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use: as a non-SQL user MSTR allows me to quickly and easily get the data I need in the format I need it in

Cons

Learning curve can be steep. Also charts and graph functions are lacking in the detailed formatting options you need to make a dashboard presentable for executive presentations

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

A very comprehensive data analysis tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 05/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This is a very powerful software that allows us to manipulate mountains of data into usable reports. There are tons of options of how to format and organize the data into various reports for different audiences. The possibilities are basically endless.

Cons

It's not a very intuitive user interface, and can be very difficult to figure out the best way to accomplish a certain look for the reports you're generating. Often times, trial and error seems to be the best way to go. As I gain experience with the software, I'm sure this will become less of an issue.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Really Improved with recent updates

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 22/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I used to not be a fan of microstrategy’s analytics / BI software, but they seem to really listen to their customers and improve their software with every release. I especially like the enhancements to the geographic data features and visualizations in their recent release. Turning GIS data into an aesthetic map chart is simple now.

Cons

While microstrategy’s software has improved greatly in recent releases, I still think the forecasting functionality could be improved. You can’t do as much with forecasting in this software than you can in some competing software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Todd G.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Micro Strategy

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 06/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the simple ease of being able to bring the data in and make something useful from it.

Cons

Not everything is very straightforward. Definitely takes some getting used to. Once you do there is so much that can be done.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abhijit D.

Reporting made easy for the business user.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/06/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Insight into operations and licensing without needing the internal data warehouse knowledge

Pros

The software is very easy to use with an uncluttered interface and generating reports is a breeze. The option to share and schedule reports helps to be on top of business, across multiple users and teams.

Cons

The app could use some UI modernization. A mobile app to look at reports and dashboards would be great.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Mohammed S.

It's not bad

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 06/06/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It has some good graphs, and you can add your own ones. Intelligent Cubes are the only unique feature I've seen it in this BI tool. It has a good community.

Cons

Dealing with SQL queries, and Microsoft Access was difficult, and probably result in an error. Even though the query was 100% correct. It generates wrong values for the query I used. I think I prefer another tool.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

John D.

MicroStrategy Review

Reviewed on 30/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Used for BI reporting capabilities. We were able to generate dynamic reports utilizing a plethora of fields determined by the business. Ability to drag and drop fields into columns or rows, drill down/expand, and export information as needed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Abu syed S.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: Self Employed

The ideal software

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 15/01/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

When i first started to use MicroStrategy, i was skeptical. The reason behind my skepticism was the huge amount of features that they offer. Usually it bounds to make the quality go down. However,for this particular software,it didn't happen. It's a great experience that helped me move up the ladder in the short span of my career.

Cons

The software can be a little slow sometimes. Sometimes the scaling is not perfect. The slow learning curve is also an issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mario F.
Industry: Human Resources

MicroStrategy 10 is outstanding

Reviewed on 28/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The technology is great. Even though this is one of the legacy BI vendors, their technology has kept up with the newer vendors.

Cons

The support has been slow for the past year or so.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Greate performance kind of expensive

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/10/2020
Review Source: GetApp

It is a really useful tool and love the way you can customize a lot of stuff. Also the way they manage the creation of dimensions and metrics. One thing to keep in mind is the manage of the historical changes, it can be a mess

Pros

It really have a lot of features and customization you can make. From metrics level and aggregations to web plugins.

Cons

The pricing, it is really expensive if in the organization doesn't use it really often. Need a really good server for grand amount of information

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Saurabh A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Microstrategy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Its pretty easy and compatible product to learn and my client used it extensively for Reporting and Dashboard

Pros

Excellent User Interface
Lot of Drag and Drop features so new Users can learn this pretty easily
Lot of default virtualization and dashboards are present

Cons

Data cache memory is not large enough to hold terabytes of data
Join across different databases is not straighforward

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Tim B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

I liked using the system but it was hard to always trust the data

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 09/02/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Really liked the ease of use.

Pros

It was easy to use and create adhoc reports. I was able to send out reports to my clients or those who I supported to give them a good look of their business.

Cons

It was hard to trust the data. When you can't trust the data then anything the software can do becomes mute. It was partly our fault but didn't love that aspect.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Amanda M.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best Reporting/Analytics Software Ever!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/02/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This software is super easy to use and manipulate data for various kinds of reporting. It has helped me find shrink issues more than once.

Cons

The only con is that it needs to be used in conjunction with a retail software. I would recommend using Mi9.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Very powerful data gathering, takes awhile to master

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love how powerful this program is. You can gather data from different applications and compile it all into microstrategy. You can then organize and display the data in many ways to fit your needs.

Cons

This software is not very user friendly. There are many different attributes you can assign but the definitions and understanding on how each behaves is difficult to master.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Simon L.
Industry: Entertainment
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 07/07/2016
Review Source: GetApp

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Becca P.

My team uses MicroStrategy analytics to measure our success and create dashboards.

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We can easily create new reports and dashboards, as well as visualizations that enable us to understand how our team is performing and where we can improve our results.

Cons

Some of the dashboards take quite a while to create. While they look beautiful when they are done, it takes too long to get them done, by which time some of the data is outdated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Solid BI tool for enterprise wide reporting but resource intensive (both cost and initial setup)

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- Full of advanced features like data storage in MicroStrategy cubes for faster reporting times, advanced grouping and filtering, ability to write your own SQL in the backend, ability to customize using SDK interface
- MicroStrategy Mobile is game changer. Great app and makes a solid impression on C-suite executives

Cons

- Initial setup takes time (If you compare with Tableau, etc, the setup of MicroStrategy is much more time intensive). Have to setup all attributes and measures beforehand.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Banking

Great reporting and analytics tool!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The dashboards and reports that MicroStrategies is able to produce are beautiful, insightful, actionable, and informative. We have been using them for portfolio management and production reporting for several years and are pretty happy.

Cons

The setup can be cumbersome and the software did take awhile to learn. It's not incredibly intuitive like some of the programs I have used in the past, but the results are worth the efforts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Gambling & Casinos
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

An Intuitive BI Tool For Building And Deploying Powerful Analytics

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 27/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

MicroStrategy has been very helpful BI reporting tool in the Enterprise Data Warehousing project, due to its features like scalability, data discovery, transnational speed and high availability of data connectors. It makes the generation of weekly/monthly reports and personalized dashboards simpler by offering powerful out-of-the-box customizable reports and ability to leverage visualizations such as Bar Charts, Pie Charts, Histograms, Scatter Plots, Gantt Charts, Treemaps, Geospatial Visualizations etc.

Pros

In the Enterprise-wide complex Data Warehouse, MicroStragety reporting tool can connect to to the various data sources, may those be Relational or Non-relational and Cloud Systems too. This enables the overall architecture to import/export the data to/from them. The high availability of data connectors is the most helpful feature of the product.

Cons

The traditional reporting functionality needs little improvisation so that end users will be able to view the reports in the transitional/basic formats as per their requirement. The reports may also need to be broken down to requested granularity by business end users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Hasin I.
Industry: Research

A good BI solution for big data work

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

- Allowed me to query big data

Pros

Microstrategy has the ability to integrate with multiple data sources across the board from all channels of your companies data streams.

Cons

It is definitely not as easy to learn as tableu. The learning curve is a little steep but people switching from tableau should face couple of weeks of challenges.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Todd G.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

What can't Microstrategy do?

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I started using Microstrategy from day 1 at my job and I loved the ease of being able to drag and drop different data points onto a dossier. That was just so amazing. I learned the ins and outs and actually moved my way onto the Microstrategy Team to help develop it and bring it to more people.

Pros

The thing that I like most about this software is the ability that it has to bring in multiple different sources, from multiple different data types and allow the user to use them and present them in a way that is easily understandable. For example on my day to day job I work with excel files, data warehouse queries, and other kinds of data. I am easily with in a couple of minutes able to put all these different data types into one dossier for easy view and consumption for anyone in my business with a Microstrategy License.

Cons

There are a couple things that I don't like about Microstrategy. There are somethings that seem like they should have been there the whole time, for example if I wanted to look at trends over day, month, or week previously I would not be able to do that without creating a workaround for it. They are coming out with a release soon that will make that possible and easy to accomplish. I just feel like it should have been ther from the beginning

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sara C.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

A Million Applications

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is so versatile. It let's me slice and dice data from a variety of sources into user friendly dashboards and reports.

Cons

Building a new dashboard can be tedious but I'm not a programmer by trade. I have been able to isolate the reporting sources and fields and build my own dashboards it just hasnt been as fast or simple as I had hoped.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jenni W.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Very high-end

Reviewed on 03/12/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This software is loaded with features/functionality; I don't think I've run into anything that it just can't do. Their training and user forums are also extremely helpful.

Cons

Very steep learning curve for administration/development and requires very knowledgeable support staff to get and keep it going. I think that is to be expected with such a complex product however for a smaller company it can present challenges.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10