321 reviews

Sisense

BI & dashboard software for multiple, large data sets

4.5 /5 (321 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.5
/
5
Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.7
96% recommended this app
321 reviews
Maxime N.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best product for your shift in data analytics

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 01/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Working in healthcare, we needed a powerful tool that would allow us to make our clients capable of easily visualize and understand their data in order to improve their operational productivity as well as the quality of care they dispense to their population of patients. Thanks to Sisense, we offer a complete libary of dashboards and even allow clients to create their own dashboards. It allowed us to bonify our offering and therefore increase our revenues while better serving our clients.

Pros

Sisense is easy to install and setup. It easy to use, both on the data modelling and dashboard design aspects. It makes it the perfect tool to quickly set up added value dashboards and begin your shift towards understanding your data. Sisense is also easy to embed and therefore makes it easy to provide our users with self-service analytics. Sisense's customer success team is great and will make sure you quickly see the value of their product through a customized onboarding process.

Cons

The fact that multiple data models (elasticube) are competing for resources (mostly RAM) on a single server.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ashish G.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Simple, Flexible, Powerful

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Awesome tool for building a data driven operations. Culturally have been able to build an organisation that starts every discussion with clear data points instead of gut feel estimates.

Pros

- Elasticubes ability to connect to all data sources

- Visual interfaces to do data transformation

- Easy to use frontend

Cons

- Build times with ODBC driver could be faster

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Greg P.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Able to get BI up and Running from Multiple Sources relatively easily

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 31/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Value for money solution

Pros

Able to get a demo up very quickly - basically a full functioning demo product.

Sisense is used in our organisation to perform the following tasks:
- Bring together data from multiple data sources (mysql databases, google spreadsheets, google analytics, web analytics tools)
- Dashboarding - various sales/metric dashboards are displayed around the office on large plasma screens. Individual users also have access to the dashboards.
- Adhoc reporting - we also use Sisense to perform adhoc reporting and do data extractions across different sources

The product has a long way to establish a single source of truth for our sales data, but to also allow for the quick and timely extraction and presentation of data in dashboards which was previously done in a very laborious way.

Once you bring in your data from multiple sources you can use custom SQL language to bring all data sources together. This is a great way of doing things

Drag and drop dashboarding

Sisense support was also excellent and they were able to provide us with a cloud solution as a one stop shop.

Very solid solution for the price.

Slick interface.

Cons

Drag and drop dashboards also mean there is less customization of dashboards. Not as flexible as Tableau.

If you get your data model wrong the product can hang - you need to self-verify your work. Which you should.

Not sure how it performs with truly big data sets.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nick A.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Sisense is a great tool that has advanced our BI capabilities significantly

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 30/08/2018
Review Source: Capterra

The front end is easy to work with and can produce impressive looking metrics within a very short space of time. Users love the way the platform looks and find the agility in terms of filtering provides insights which they wouldn't have looking at figures stored and presented in their traditional ways (in spreadsheets). Pulse alerts mean that some users only look at the data when it's needed - which is helpful for those employees in the business who aren't going to be spending time analysing the data themselves. The Elasticube manager (~back end) is pretty easy to work with once you get used to it and you understand the required behaviours when making changes. The possibility to write SQL statements in the Elasticube manager is a huge enabler and this functionality makes it much easier to produce the data we require - in comparison to some other BI tools which sometimes have more ~"specialised" language or custom expressions / formulas that are difficult / not so intuitive to work with. There is always room for improvement and there are features that you would expect to be available that are not. I suppose though one of the good things about Sisense is that there is an active community around the tool - where plug-ins, work-arounds and feature requests are logged and discussed.

Pros

User experience. People are always impressed when new dashboards are made available due to the excellent look and feel.

Cons

When working in the Elasticube manager there is no way to download the data, you always have to go into Sisense and create a dashboard and widget for the data you want to examine. This makes it more time consuming than it should be to test and validate the data in the Elasticube manager.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

James m L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The best full stack BI solution on the market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

100's of thousands in cost savings from automation and resource redundancies.

Pros

Quick to deploy, easy to use, and you can manage both the front end and the back end from a web portal. No more vpn into a server somewhere! We throw millions of rows of data at Sisense and it still keeps working like a champ! Having tried Domo, Tableau and others in the past Sisense was the first real full stack solution that got us out of our data issues and into a centralized source of truth with reporting. We have effectively saved 100's of thousands of dollars each year in automation and efficiencies alone!

Cons

Would love to see more widgets and customization options in the future. Some of the administrative features could be more robust as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrew P.

Advanced Product Capable of Running Big or Small. Quickly Scalable. Fast.

Reviewed on 04/02/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I had first introduced SiSense to a Midwest business in Ohio. It is a nice sized firm focused on Revenue Cycle Management for Radiology Practices across all 50 States in desperate need of modernizing both the look and feel of their current set-up, as well as the functionality. While knowing reporting upgrades were necessary, I knew that whatever the choice, I needed to be absolutely precise when replacing the old with the new. I also knew that we needed to run both systems in parallel to implement safely and smartly. All of these items were communicated to every vendor during the vetting process and for nearly a whole quarter- It was the incumbent verses the likes of SiSense, Tableau, Domo and others.

Ultimately, I chose SiSense based not only on the product's flexibility, but the company's "All-Hands-On-Deck" approach to understanding our business prior to telling us that it would do things that it couldn't. From the pre-contract "sales funnel" to the on boarding staff's attentiveness, there was patience and willingness to help us learn and embrace all feature sets helpful to the business.

In the end, I would and will use SiSense over and over again. For small to medium size businesses, the product is pretty straight forward using a quantitative and tenured employee or two. For larger, more complex installations, I do recommend having a web/app/dev type of staff member available during the initial build process, which is what I ultimately did, but ONLY due to the complexity of the metrics needed to run this particular business. Today, the product continues to take on new shapes and forms, especially as ad-hoc requests encourage reporting in ways deemed previously unattainable to this company.

Finally, with the continual attention to detail that SiSense provides to its clients, even during their own growth, I will gladly use and recommend this product for large, medium or small implementations across the foreseeable future.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alexis A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Sisense for IT

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 28/12/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Sisense is a great tool that comes with many hidden gems.
It's perfect for IT departments that want to empower their users to be more educated about their data and help their user to make data-driven decisions.
With the abundance of data connectors, intuitive and powerful data mapping GUI and easy to use dashboards for both technical and non-technical user, Sisense is a great choice to serve as your data and BI back-end.

Pros

Powerful data-mapping GUI with great support for custom SQL and pre/post build plugins/scripts.
Intuitive dashboards for non-techies and tech-savvy users.
Dashboards support customisable plugins (with strong community support) and scripts to satisfy the power users.
Great API support for automation.
Solid technical support to help you with any technical challenges.
Access to features request.
Speedy delivery of new and useful functionality to increase the value of the product over time.

Cons

The new features can't come soon enough, but the roadmap looks solid and promises to deliver lots of goodies.
The API documentation could be improved, some more advanced functionality is not as clear as it could be, but there is always tech support to compensate for that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jesse B.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Sisense is really good, but has its limitations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Sisense is a fantastic tool that rivals just about any other name in the game.

Pros

The concept is fantastic. Ecubes are an awesome way to assemble data models and use them. The permissions are very powerful and granular. Plugins help further extend capabilities. The ability to integrate in multiple ways was a game-changer for us.

Cons

Even on elite-level hardware, there can be some odd latency issues depending on how your data models are structured. There are some technical challenges to the pure Javascript embed model.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Elliot A.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Awesome tool, great service

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Our business is empowered to be more nimble. With our users having access to data immediately instead of waiting on others to provide it for them, we are making more proactive decisions.

Pros

Sisense has enabled our organizations to leverage data to identify and solve business problems quickly. It was easy to set up, build data connections, and create custom visualizations.

Sisense support is super helpful and extremely responsive. I fell like whenever I have a problem, it is being resolved quicker than I expect.

Cons

There are some formatting things that could be easier (in one row of widgets, have a columns that has two widgets stacked vertically, for example), but honestly its great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Savu A.
Industry: Gambling & Casinos
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Easy to use, good end user experience

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Prior to Sisense, we used to make charts in excel to have some kind of data visualization.This was an issue, because there are a lot of reports, and it's not easy to jump from one excel to another. Now we have dashboards that have the data updated at every hour. The top management have all that data that they need in a single application, that can also be accessed from the phone.

Pros

Easy to create a cube (basic SQL), to design a dashboard with no prior experience in dashboard design.
The visualizations are great, the dashboards are very appealing to the end user. The customer support is also great.

Cons

there are still some ideas that we couldn't implement in dashboards, but hopefully this will be fixed soon.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Oluwatobi L.
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Sisense is easy to use and a great tool for BI

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 02/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

The capacity to access data from different frameworks inside one tool allows us to continuously reduce the data silos at present.

Pros

The ability to 'plug in' and connect a variety of tools within sisense is great. (API Integration).
Sisense can handle large data sets which is easily view-able. The ability to bring in a number different data sources into one elasticube provides a great centralised data hub. From this we can quickly create dashboards.

Cons

There are some simple user friendly functionality pieces missing. Such as the ability to copy/ move folders across the platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ahuva S.

Sisense gets users answers to questions in minutes, which used to take 10s of hours to collect!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 28/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Single source of data, automated manual tasks, data warehouse, collaboration across departments.

Pros

Flexibility, easy of use, scalability, great security model!
Forums, community, amazing customer service, and that Sisense is always listening to what users need,

Cons

That I need to go 'under the hood' sometimes to get additional features working. Sometimes features are 'in progress' and we need to be patient, but it's worth it!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Eric L.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Robust and easy to use.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 15/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Dynamic, active feedback on current metrics. This allows our radiologists to monitor their productivity throughout the day as well as receive alerts for critical cases that are about to exceed our turnaround time commitments. We have been able to realign our schedule and shifts to better meet the actual demands of our client hospitals.

Pros

The onboarding process was especially well put together. I found the concepts easy to grasp and the product was much more powerful and much more he user-friendly than other BI solutions that I have tried. Additionally, the availability of plug-ins as well as other customizable features make this product very adaptable to my needs.

Cons

Haven't really found any serious issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris B.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great product and would recommend

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 13/03/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I highly recommend this tool to anyone who is looking for a reporting/dashboard tool.

Pros

From day 1, Sisense and their support team are there to get you going. They are ready to go immediately and will work as quickly or as slowly as you would like. The comprehensive training materials their support team offers was great and is a continued asset when there is something that I do not understand. The tool itself is powerful and intuitive. You do not need to be an expert data modeler to take full advantage of this tool.

Cons

There are a limited number of out of the box widgets. More can be easily added through their plug-ins though.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Weinan S.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Highly Proficient data platform

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 05/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Built in OLAP Cube and data warehousing, Data being imported need not to be fully transformed or shaped. User are able to create extra tables in the warehouse by writing SQL queries.

Cons

Web Based software while offers a lot of customization on the display, Knowledge of HTML, CSS, JS might be required to do further enhancement or visualizations if their selection does not provide the required plugin.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Christina K.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Business Intelligence Tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 14/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Sisense has allowed us to create flexible reporting and clear visual dashboards that provide insight into our data we did not have before. Although we are still beginners, we’ve been able to provide quick wins in areas that previously required a lot of manual processing.

Pros

The Onboarding and Training process. The structured process set our team up for success. Allowing us to walk through our initial use cases with someone that could help us tweak and help us understand how simple changes could make us better users was invaluable.

Cons

At this time there really isn’t anything we don’t like.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Liz C.

Great software, easy to use and very intuitive

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Requires very short learning time. Easy to understand and build dashboards. Allows to represent data in a visual understandable way.

Cons

Some dashboards take a very long time to load especially the ones with pivot tables.. Has trouble with large amount of data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dave B.
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great and Easy to Use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 31/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Transparency in our reporting to clients

Pros

The ability to plug in a multitude of Data sources by dragging and dropping! Soo easy. Also, these are easy enough to use that you don't need to run out and hire a programmer for every change.

Cons

There reporting color schemes could be a little more vibrant, but this may be on us. I'd like to see more Templates for us to choose from.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Allen W.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Intuitive tool, beautiful visualizations, excellent team

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Sisense helped us transform our data into information that has enabled actionable change. Their Customer Success Team has been consistently excellent throughout our years of partnership.

Pros

Sisense was very intuitive for even our most inexperienced end users. Adoption of BI was greatly enhanced as a result.

Cons

Sisense made it clear that they were focusing on the main product and mobile development would be a secondary priority. Mobile wasn't bad, it just wasn't anywhere near as good as their core product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Curtis O.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Beautiful software, strong analytics

Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Sisense will be the first to tell you how fast their product is (and tell you every fifteen minutes to make sure you don't forget!). They boast a speedy system with their in-chip analytics and web-based analysis that lets even older computers use their software. They certainly win in the aesthetics category, I found their UI to be incredibly intuitive and easy to learn. I was impressed by their willingness to spend time digging into your data as an example for their analytics software;

Pros

The UI is awesome, people will fall in love with how it looks.

Cons

When you start paying for licenses on a 'seat' basis your costs jump up quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Environmental Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Powerful, but many bugs

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Sisense's Elasticube data model is powerful and extremely customizable, with the proper expertise. The company has great vision for the future and continues to provide improvements.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs and some customizations require too much expertise compared to their competitors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Sajid A.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

A full-stack BI solution

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 05/04/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Ease of use. Sisense is extremely easy to use and BI use cases can be developed within hours of installing the software.

Cons

Limited maps functionality. While Sisense does support map-based functionalities, the scope of these visualizations is limited.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Diane R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Exceptional tech and team!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 29/11/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Sisense has been a tremendous value-add to our knowledge management solution by providing both user and usage analytics for customers to track adoption activity/use, as well as additive content to populate into their internal knowledge base.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Join data from multiple sources

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 07/04/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

We use in our marketing department to get real time visibility in order to measure the impact of our campaigns

Cons

It takes time until you get the hang of it and start using the platform easily. After a couple of weeks, it's pretty much a smooth sail.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nilesh K.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

It Provides Great Data Visualization Tools

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/12/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Response times for large data sets is really fast.
Ability to create formula based data tables and columns in an Elasticube using other imported tables.
Number of official and third party plug-ins.
Table views of data that are easily exported to CSV for Excel.

Cons

When elasticubes fail, some errors are impossible to really know what caused it.
Missing some desired visualizations.
IOS app needs work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10