61 reviews

Mailchimp Transactional Email

Delivery API for transactional emails

4.4 /5 (61 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.2
89% recommended this app
61 reviews
Dylan E.

Perfect client for managing and sending transactional emails

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It allows us to maintain perfect email delivery for all our companies' transactional emails and easily troubleshoot instances where emails were not delivered.

Pros

This application is an addon of MailChimp and is best suited for transactional emails (automated emails, think 'forgot my password' type emails). It allows you to easily manage your sending domains , although you have to verify these before you can send emails. The best feature by far is the ability to view all emails that were sent or failed to arrive, including the contents of the emails and the reason it bounced. This allows us to quickly troubleshoot whenever we get a support ticket regarding an email that did not arrive.

During our 6 months of using this feature, there has been zero downtime.

Cons

It is more expensive than some competitors, but its pricing model is very fair and easy to interpret. It does require you to have at least a monthly subscription with Mailchimp, and if you are not using this it is more expensive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Mandrill

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Mandrill has been great to help reduce the amount of time I spend on each client of ours. I have the ability to check email faster and help more people.

Pros

Mandrill is great to backtrack on emails that my company has sent out. We have the ability to view if the email was delivered, bounced, and how many times it has been sent + opened and clicked on. The features of mandrill are great for the company because we rely heavily on mandrill in order to see that.

Cons

At this moment, I can't think of a negative effect of mandrill. It is very easy to use and easy to maneuver around.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very easy mail management for developers

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Setting up mail services for applications we developed for clients.

Pros

Very easy to setup and use. If you need to send mail with your application this is one of the best and quickest ways to do it.

Cons

I have used it before they required a MailChimp account and that is too bad that you need a MailChimp account to use Mandrill now.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 201-500 Employees

SUPER EASY TO USE!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love the software because it's sooooo straight forward to use. I can basically send the link to anyone on my team and I need very minimal time to train them and they can jump right into to troubleshoot what they need. My customer happiness team loves it.

Cons

No complaints about this software at this time. With that being said, I'm not on the team who manages it financially so unsure of investment.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

An efficient way to communicate with customers

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/07/2020
Review Source: Capterra

An extremely relevant marketing tool in communicating with your customers.

Pros

A powerful brand reinforcement tool that allows you to send your customer a personalized message according to the interaction. It allows you to have a specific cut of your audience making communication more efficient, besides the control of basic actions and access to metrics.

Cons

It charges for the number of contacts and the sending of emails sent, which can make the service considerably expensive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bradley G.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Expensive and good reporting, but the product quality has deteriorated since MailChimp

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 16/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

This really was a great service in helping get our business off the ground, but we ended up switching to a different service provider after about a year of use since we could not justify the cost.

Pros

This app used to run every one of our email communications
It was very helpful in tracking the send-success of our emails

Cons

It was expensive
When we reached out for help, it was nearly impossible to find someone that could answer our questions

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Dustin E.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Mandrill Email Campaigns

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use it to campaign Real Estate agents with our USP's. It allows another company to send emails from our website.

Pros

The tracking reports with up to date data. I really like seeing who's reading our emails, who's downloading attachments etc.

Cons

Setting up the API key when your webhost is Godaddy is difficult. But I think it's more of an issue with the webhost and my personal lack of education with technology.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

With Mandrill you can send mass emails, an easy to use platform and track emails Its reasonable cost

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simplify the task of sending transactional emails without complications, this supports our promotions

Cons

SSo far we have not had complications with the use or effectiveness of Mandrill. Therefore we have not had to make our promotions with another application

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mārtiņš B.
Industry: Printing
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Gets the job done, but feels a bit outdated.

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 04/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It was ok, Mandrill got the job done of sending emails to our customers, but it really could use some work on the admin panel's UI and the PHP SDK package should be brought up to date too.

Pros

It was pretty easy to setup - copy some API keys, install the SDK and start sending out emails to your customers.

Cons

The UI of the dashboard feels outdated and sluggish. Search is not very pleasant to use. PHP SDK composer package is very outdated too.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Monique C.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Could be easy to use

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 08/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Delivery rates for emails are really good.

Cons

Mandrill it's a good software but if you aren't a developer, probably you won't be able to set up a simple email by yourself.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Bart V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services

Rating only

Reviewed on 09/12/2015
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Joshua H.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 11-50 Employees

An excellent, if costly, transactional email service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We were experiencing spikes in bounce and spam rates with AWS's SES. We were able to switch to Mandrill in a single day and immediately saw dramatic improvement. As necessary, we later built out support for bulk sends and black list checking and scrubbing. All in all it was an easy process and a good product.

Pros

Mandrill provides a simple and well documented API and has libraries and integrations available for many major web frameworks and languages. Making use of it for simple email sends is a fast and easy process, and it provides additional functionality for black lists, white lists, bulk sends, static IPs, etc. Their dashboard makes it extremely simple to see all the emails sent to a given address along with full content and reasons why sends failed or were delayed, which is a great for debugging and testing. They also provide analytics and send, receive, open, click, and bounce rates.

Cons

The service used to be much cheaper, but costs went up sharply when it was reabsorbed back into Mailchimp. Still an excellent service, but harder to recommend without reservation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Printing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Trustworthy tool for delivering emails to your customers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Works well, haven't experienced any problems. Has an online GUI where you can easily find emails that were sent, easy to see blacklisted emails. Has a nice statistics page to see how your emails are doing overall. We've been delivering millions of emails in past year without a problem.

Cons

The PHP SDK I used was kinda outdated and it had little options to change the behaviour without manually changing the source. They should update the library to standards that are more current.

GUI where you can view emails, etc. sometimes is a but slow. The search filters could use a face-lift.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bishal G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Powerful Transactional Email Service

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

We were using our local vendor for Transactional Email Services there was inbox email delivery issue mostly I was getting complain from my users that there invoice through emails is not reaching on time and sometime it's in spam. One of my friends recommended Mandrill and it's really amazing. Great IP Pool with a high inbox delivery reputation flexible API for integration and real-time email delivery.

Cons

First of all I need to login in Mailchimp account to access Mandrill which is very irritating and secondly there pricing is very high.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

An email sending API with stats

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 03/03/2020
Review Source: GetApp

We liked using Mandrill. We appreciate the clear documentation.

Pros

It is not so frequent to see and API focused on statistics. I liked the dashboard of the email campaign filled with stats.

Cons

There is so much competition with email sending API and large player are in the game. But I liked the add-ons compared to other API which most of the time only focus on sending emails, and nothing more.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Dan O.

Cost effective transactional email

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

A transactional email server is setup within minutes and available for you to send out content to your distribution list.

The application provides

- Graphs to show how many emails you're sending each day
- What countries your sending the emails to
- Open rates
- Mail clients used (useful to optimise content)
- Spam rates/unsubscribe rates
- Great delivery rates

Very cost effective.

Cons

A couple of years ago, Mandrill made it a requirement for you to have a Mailchimp subscription in order to use Mandrill. It would have been better in my opinion to keep the two applications independent, just like Sendgrid.

Whilst it doesn't make the cost materially more expensive, it does mean that you have to log into Mandrill via Mailchimp which is annoying.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Simple way to send email with good reputation

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Easy to use dashboard for administration
Easy to integrate with any existing code
Straight forward implementation

Cons

Logs are only kept for a few weeks
The dashboard looks outdated
Hard to perform advance searches over logs

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Angelica C.
Industry: Internet
Company size: Self Employed

One of the best

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 28/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It is amazing til you need support or more customization. Unfortunately you can only get it now through mailchimp, which for me, lost much of its appeal.

Pros

Mandrill used to be the go-to transactional email service. It had free plans, great and easy to use hooks and templating system. The report is just amazing to use, you can filter by api key, making it possible for you to know which of your websites is sending more email.

Cons

It is only available at a much higher cost than it used to be for MailChimp users. There is no more free plan and support has that "moody" mailchimp attitude of "we know best".
I ditched it for sendgrid.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: Self Employed

Pretty good software

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 20/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I liked it found it usable and good and will recommend

Cons

The cost is really high. Let's be honest people

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Vitalija G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 19/05/2016
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ruslan G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 09/12/2015
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ramona E.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Nice Mailchimp addon for transactional emails

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 30/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We use it for sending transactional emails to our customers.

Pros

You can view you email history and contents and reasons for rejection of emails. API keys can be used for limiting IP addresses. In the few months we use this software, we have experienced no downtime.

Cons

You need a paid Mailchimp subscription to be able to purchase this addon, so it ca be quite expensive if you don't really need Mailchimp.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jose f. G.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

An alternative to Sendgrid that works as expected

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

This is a straightforward, plug and play alternative that opens up the option to connect with a more marketing/campaign oriented Mailchimp service. I like that it's exactly what you'd expect as a developer when looking for transactional email services.

Pros

It's very powerful and as simple to use as its alternatives. Integrations make it very powerful and the pricing is fair. This is a no brainer alternative or first choice when looking for transactional email service.

Cons

There's not many improvement opportunities to talk about in transactional email. When it works it works, and Mandrill works as expected.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anisha R.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: Self Employed

The best tool for startup subscriber emailing

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 28/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Easy creation of professional looking newsletter and customer emails with little effort. Great automation that removes the mundane tasks out of email marketing.

Pros

I like that mailchimp can be directly integrated into Wordpress websites to create lists - this makes it super easy to send newsletters and keep in touch with subscribers.

Cons

While the drag and drop email builder is very convenient, I sometimes wish there were more options/ the options were less rigid.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Monisha R.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Checks and balances to make sure automatically generated emails run properly

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Great safeguard to make sure customers are interacting with outreach and troubleshoot problems that arise.

Pros

As a SaaS company, we have customers that use our product and depend on automated emails to get information about their account on a daily or weekly basis. Mailchimp allows us to quickly flag whenever something has gone wrong in our system due to abnormal spikes / lapses in emails sent. It also allows our Customer facing team to see how clients are interacting with automated emails (opens, clicks, etc.) with the helpful ability to resend emails that were missed or accidentally deleted.

Cons

The interface can be laggy to load, and not super intuitive how everything is laid out. Overall minor UX improvements could make a big difference between using this tool occasionally to troubleshoot issues, vs. using it more regularly to get proactive insights and reporting.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10