757 reviews

Intercom

The #1-rated Business Messenger for customer relationships.

4.5 /5 (757 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
90%
recommended this app
757 reviews
Liam M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Not Much Competition

Reviewed on 01/08/2019

Everything has been fantastic from the Customer Success-led implementation process to it being deployed to our users. Multiple compliments on the feasibility of use since purchasing.

Pros

From both the administrative and user perspective, the ease of use and just overall depth of what you can create with the product is very impressive. It allows a great amount of customer support to be automated and simplify it's delivery via articles and a knowledge base that'll continually grow.

Although it's not the biggest feature, as a user, I love that it's focused on getting you an answer/resolution the quickest way possible given the same entry method. Type "adding users" in an application with Intercom support will quickly both deliver you articles that can potentially solve your problem or will also quickly deploy a CSM to you to answer it directly in case it was a bit more complex.

Best part though is the feedback cycle, you're typing exactly what you want to know into the application and if no articles return: New Content Topic.

Cons

Theres really not much. I've run into situations where it was wrongly applied within other organizations and not properly resourced, giving a less than average experience. But that's not as much specific to Intercom themselves.

Given they are the industry leader, it can come at a premium for a larger organizations.

Damola B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Supercharge Your Customer Interactions

Reviewed on 06/10/2020

I am able to deploy a simple interface that helps customers interact with our team while they use our software. The team is also able to get direct notifications on their email, Smartphone apps and Slack (via the Intercom<>Slack integration) and respond promptly to queries.

I am able to deploy product tours to users while they use our software. It helps us scale our support in ways we couldn't get done in the past.

Finally, we are able to assess user actions across various touchpoints and sections of our software. We are also able to gauge our performance with supporting users. i.e. response time, user satisfaction with support interections etc.

All together, Intercom is one of the best decisions we've made as a startup so far!

Pros

I like that users are able to reach us at Mercurie for our flagship product. I also love that we are able tosend them emails triggered by rules set by us. I also love the various apps I can integrate to our company account. It has made interaction with users so much easier and richer.

I almost forgot the in-app tours and the new features they release every month. As a leader in a startup that owns a SaaS solution, I am always inspired by Intercom every time I use it. As a user, I am all to delighted every time I interact with the software.

Cons

To be honest, nothing really. Maybe the learning curve that comes with figuring it out at first, but they have a robust help centre and academy that resolves areas where we lack clarity.

Response from Intercom

Thanks for leaving us this review Damola. It's wonderful to hear that Intercom is helping you communicate and interact with your users in such a rich way!

You're right that the learning curve with Intercom can be pretty steep as the tool is so powerful, and our Product Education team are hard at work creating content to help at every step. Make sure to check out our free online Intercom Academy courses, webinars and our new customer community Interconnected, as these are all great ways to continue your learning.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Anca P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great solution for chat support

Reviewed on 21/01/2021

Pros

Easy to use and very intuitive interface.

Cons

It has quite a price point, which may not be friendly on small businesses.

Response from Intercom

Thanks for taking the time to review Intercom Anca. I'm delighted to hear you've found our live chat and help centre features so powerful and easy to use.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A true ecosystem

Reviewed on 02/11/2020

We have stuck with intercom for 4 years at this point and no plans to leave. I think that is testament to how strong an offering they currently have.

Pros

I would not have written a positive review about Intercom 12 months ago. There were too many small grievances with the individual features that were all building up.

Recently the platform has matured enormously. It feels like the team at intercom has come into it's stride. New features like Series, Guides ect and most importantly - how they all work together - has made it a much better experience.

Cons

Currently my 2 biggest gripes are cost and customer services. I do think for a scale-up the price gets very steep very quickly.

The customer support thing is more annoying - a core part of Intercoms offering is instant-chat. I remember 2 years ago their own instant chat was really great - now it can take a long time for a response to come in.

Response from Intercom

Thank you so much for leaving us this review. I just shared your comments with our Product team and it mad their day! Especially the team working on our Series product :)

I also really appreciate your feedback on our costs and support wait times, even more so considering you have been such a loyal and log-term customer. As of late our reply times have unfortunately slowed but we've been working (and hiring!) diligently to speed things back up to the expected turnaround times. That said our reply times do range from a few hours to a few days based on subscription (Premium receives the fastest turnaround time) and nature or urgency of the query.

When it comes to costs we always aim to align these with the value you are seeing so if you feel this is not the case please do get in touch with the team via the messenger to chat through your options.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

David P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intercom is The Best chat/support tool available

Reviewed on 22/11/2019

The business problems we are solving using Intercom are managing incoming requests and sending in-app messages and emails. And Intercom does this with flying colors. Regardless if a user messages us live on our site, via email, or even Facebook, our support team is easily able to reply and help. It also integrates perfectly with our app to provide full visibility of a user easily accessing their profile to gain deeper insights to assist the user even more effectively. There's a reason Intercom is growing so quickly; because it's a great product and is built with quality.

Pros

What I like most about Intercom is how easy it is to jump in and begin assisting users with their questions and requests. It's been an invaluable tool for communicating with our users (both clients and developers) on Codeable and we've been relying on it 365 days a year for 5+ years straight. There are so many new features they keep releasing which are often things we didn't realize we need until we tried them and discovered we can't live with them.

Cons

For the size of our support team and number of messages we send, Intercom is one of the more expensive SaaS products we use. There are other services that may manage a support center better, but those don't provide the same quality of live chat, self-serving help center, or messenger bots that Intercom provides. While cost is a consideration for all companies, we feel Intercom is still the best value for the money and are happy paying the price for all the value it brings us.

Response from Intercom

A big thank you from the team here at Intercom for your kind words David!

Fernando P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best software for proving support

Reviewed on 30/12/2019

Coundn't be better. Today I cannot imagine our daily support activies without this software.

Pros

Its hard to say what I like the most, since are so many great features. Still, I believe the Inbox module is by far the great thing about it, since it allows a direct communication with clients.

Cons

A couple of months ago articles sharing was changed on the inbox feature. Now, when you share an article via conversation the client cannot open it on a separate page. This is terrible for most clients, a source of great complain.

Response from Intercom

Hi Fernando,

Thank you for leaving us this review. It sounds like you're getting real value from the platform, especially the team inbox! Make sure to keep an eye on our Intercom Academy page as we'll be releasing a new course designed specifically for Support Managers in the coming months which I think you might like.

I'll also make sure to pass your feedback regarding Article sharing to the appropriate product team.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Peter P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Industry leader in category of customer communication

Reviewed on 04/12/2019

Intercom has grown to become an (almost) 1-stop-shop for all things customer communication related. Both sales, customer support, product etc. can benefit from directly using Intercom to communicate with your applications customers.

Pros

A powerful platform that allows to view your customers session and meta data, instantly send targeted messages and set up email/in-app messaging campaigns, create help desk articles for self-service, automate workflows with bots and rules, onboard your application

Cons

The increase of features and modules have brought the complexity of the software up. It's easy to get up and running (require 1 line of code), but the road to fully adopting the suite of tools is long.

Response from Intercom

A huge thank you for taking the time to leave this review Peter. I'm extremely happy to hear that you are seeing the benefits of using Intercom for your customer communication.

Thanks also for letting us know about your setup feedback. Even as our solutions evolve and become more powerful we aim to keep setup as straightforward as possible.

Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Scott B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Intercom Is (mostly) Great!

Reviewed on 25/04/2019

We use Intercom daily to help diagnose and solve a multitude of customer issues. As an admin, I have the ability to monitor chats, provide internal notes within the chat in real time for trainees, and make sure everyone is offline at the end of the day. There are a few flaws and Intercom WILL send you far too many emails, but overall this is a great chat tool for any customer service business.

Pros

Using Intercom as our ECOM site's chat service has been very helpful! On the customer service team, we are immediately given the contact information needed to properly help a customer. Using Intercom alongside Zendesk has also been a huge improvement over our old chat/ticketing software as they work very well together. Our team also utilizes custom and team macro responses to give fast, accurate answers and assistance. Also, giphy integration!

Cons

The default setting on Intercom has keyboard shortcuts turned on. It seems like most of them immediately close the chat. This can be easily solved by turning them off, but it is not made obvious on how to do so. Once they're off, it's smooth sailing!

We have two customer service teams, and we often have agents going back and forth between the two. We use Intercom for both. The other downside is that it is impossible to be available on one and away/reassign on the other. You can keep it open in two tabs, but that's more of a workaround than a solution.

Susan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intеrсоm fоr а rеlіаblе соnnесtіоn bеtwееn thе sеllеr аnd thе...

Reviewed on 13/02/2019

Pros

Wе must sау thаt Intеrсоm саn rеаllу bоаst оf thеіr mеаns fоr соmmunісаtіng wіth vіsіtоrs: thеу аrе vаrіеd аnd еquаllу sресіаlіzеd аnd еаsу аt thе sаmе tіmе. In аddіtіоn tо thеsе mеаns, Intеrсоm рrоvіdеs us wіth tооls fоr аnаlуzіng сustоmеr іntеrасtіоn wіth а wеbsіtе оr а sеrvісе. Fоr еxаmрlе, wе саn usе thіs dаtа tо sеgmеnt thе dаtаbаsе оf е-mаіl subsсrіbеrs. Brоаdlу sреаkіng, Intеrсоm fосusеs оn suсh аn аsресt аs реrsоnаlіzіng thе соmmunісаtіоn bеtwееn thе sеllеr аnd thе сustоmеr. Wе lіkе thаt thіs sеrvісе sаvеs thе mеssаgе hіstоrу wіth аnу сustоmеr, аnd duе tо thіs, іt іs еаsу tо соntіnuе thе соnvеrsаtіоn frоm thе mоmеnt whеrе іt stорреd аt thе рrеvіоus соmmunісаtіоn sеssіоn.

Cons

Tо bе hоnеst, іt іs а humаn nаturе tо gеt mоrе thаn thеу асhіеvе. And wе thіnk Intеrсоm іs suсh а саsе. Wе mеаn thаt еvеn thоugh Intеrсоm’s funсtіоnіng іs bеуоnd thе рrаіsеs, thеrе іs а fееlіng tо gеt mоrе аnd mоrе аdvаnсеd funсtіоnаlіtу bесаusе thе сurrеnt оnе dоеsn’t sееm tо bе thе оnlу lіmіt fоr thе vеndоr, nаmеlу thеіr skу оf орроrtunіtіеs. Fоr іnstаnсе, wе wоuld lіkе tо hаvе bеttеr іntеgrаtіоn сараbіlіtіеs. Bеsіdеs, іt wоuld bе bеttеr tо hаvе mоrе suрроrt аnd іmрrоvеmеnts bеіng mаdе uроn thе sеrvісе’s mаrkеtіng funсtіоns.

Alexis M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent platform - more than just customer support

Reviewed on 26/07/2019

Pros

We switched to Intercom intending to use it for simple customer support messaging. We now use it for so much else. Intercom is constantly innovating and releasing new features, from sales tools to product tours to bots and AI - Intercom is a very powerful tool.

Cons

Every new feature is an add-on - wish there were a way to bundle everything and reduce the cost a bit more. It gets pretty expensive for a small, growing business.

Kieran H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An essential tool for customer support

Reviewed on 30/06/2020

We 100% depend on Intercom to support our users and get feedback from them that allows us to troubleshoot technical issues. We also use their help center product to provide detailed technical documentation for our own team.

Pros

Intercom is lightweight, easy to deploy, and intuitive for the end user. We use it every day to provide timely customer support to our users, as well as to communicate with our customers.

Cons

Intercom's Articles offering is a bit neglected and lacks basic features that other help center products have. It also lacks some features around managing end user privacy (e.g. not inferring user location) that are troublesome with regard to international privacy law.

Response from Intercom

Hi Kieran! Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review and letting us know how you depend on Intercom to support your users.

I've made sure to pass your feedback about our Articles product on to our product team here - I know they're working on some exciting updates in this area :)

Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Caleb B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Looks great on your website, but difficult to manage

Reviewed on 15/11/2018

Intercom has allowed us to strengthen communication with our prospects and clients in a user-friendly way for them. They can get quick answers to their questions and feel enabled with little effort.

Pros

I really love how you can customize the chat widget as it appears on your website. I also love the ability to create "teams" to assign certain types of inquiries or conversations to. This helps manage who gets notified of a conversation, so that people only see the conversations they need to be a part of. If you need to bring in another team member, you can tag them using common symbols like "@JohnDoe." Plus, you can keep a cheerful, personable tone by using emoticons and gifs inside of chats.

The best feature of all is the ability to have a public-facing chat widget (on our public site), and a client-facing chat widget (for our clients to use when logged in). This allows us to track prospects or clients and all of their activity so that we can quickly help them with the page they're on, see past conversation histories, or jump into our CRM profile for them immediately.

Cons

Intercom has a very clunky internal site that makes it difficult to manage settings and respond to chats quickly. Even worse, there seems to be a 15-45 second delay from when a chat is submitted on your site to when it pops up in a browser notification or phone notification. That may seem a short amount of time, but feels like an eternity to someone looking for a quick answer to their question. It makes our response time appear delayed.

Olivier B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great communication tool

Reviewed on 26/06/2018

Pros

This is a great tool to automate messages to our users in times of downtime, problems or simply to inform them of a new feature.

Customizable messages, conditions can make quick work of a message automation! User info can be tracked easily.

Cons

Although it is improving its customer support ticketing system, there is a lot of ground to cover, still. No ticket number for easy reference, a bit of a black box when it comes to how the customer will see their "emails". Anything outside of the in-app messenger system is still to me improved.

Their customer support is average and can take a bit of time to answer.

Still some clarification/features to add to have the customer/user (our user) understand this may not be realtime, even though it looks like chat.

Arvid M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome tool for customer success

Reviewed on 09/11/2018

I love the easy of use and the real impact Intercom has made for our service and our customers satisfaction.

Pros

Intercom is essential for my work as a customer success manager. We integrate intercom in our app and on our web and it brings us so much closer to the end user and their needs. Intercom has helped us understand customer service quality and efficacy with metrics and connectivity.

Cons

My concern is that Intercom has shown to focus a lot more on leads and customer acquisition rather than customer service and success, I would like to see more features on customer retention since this is what we are using the service for to begin with.

Response from Intercom

So happy to hear that Intercom is adding so much value to your team, Arvid! While customer acquisition will continue to be a focus for us, you will see a lot more being shipped around support and retention as well in the coming months! We've grown our engineering team a ton in the past year to ensure we can ship across all of our products and use cases we serve.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Way to go

Reviewed on 05/11/2020

I really liked the overall approach from Intercom from offering us a startup programme to support provided. Integrations are just fabulous and once done, every marketer or even customer care folks will be so happy, if trained properly.

Pros

Intercom is really a state-of-art piece of software. If integrated properly, it can take care of amazing spectre of key activities in any company.

Cons

Intercom is a bit pricey, especially for some countries. On other side, they provide startup programme for a year and if you can make good money, go for Intercom and nothing else.

Response from Intercom

Thanks so much for letting us know about your Intercom experience. I'm delighted to hear you benefitted from our early stage program!

We aim to align the cost you pay to the value you're seeing. Get in touch via the Intercom messenger if you ever want to chat with a member of the team about your plan options :)

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Yaroslav K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best tool for big teams and projects to work on communication with clients!

Reviewed on 08/02/2020

I have used intercom and it's analytics tool with several projects I worked with and we needed tools to work with call tracking and all the statistics. Intercom did a great job for us due to its numerous features.

Pros

Intercom has all you need. Telephony, Chat, integrations, mails, analytics. It is so huge that some teams might just not need all of it and just want a 10% of all the features.
It is a plus, but I would not suggest the tool for small teams, startups and starter projects.
However, if you are a big team, project with many orders and traffic, or you want to have as many features as possible - GO FOR IT! Intercom, would not disappoint.

Cons

Intercom is huge. And it is a burden. I do really like such platforms as they allow to be quite flexible and never need another tool, however, for a small project or a startup, this tool might be just too big to handle and not worth it.

Response from Intercom

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this detailed review Yaroslav! I'm glad to hear you and your team are using so many of Intercom's tools and are seeing the results.

Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The BEST Software for Communicating with Your Customers

Reviewed on 09/11/2018

Pros

I'm in Intercom every day, and it is my favorite tool that I use on a day to day basis. They make chatting and supporting customers simple. It integrates perfectly on the website. I also love that they are constantly coming up with new features to help our workflow. They've made some massive product updates since I started using the software a year and a half ago, and it keeps getting better and better.

Cons

We use Intercom for our email campaigns as well when new users signup. I do wish there were better metrics for the emails. You can't view email based on date ranges. So for on-going campaigns that we make tweaks too, we can't see if rates open rates improved month over month. It would also be great if they had a "flow chart" interface to make it easier to set the conditions and flow for messages customers receive.

Raissa A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intercom is the cheapest solution but it comes with a price

Reviewed on 23/02/2021

It's a good product for small companies. I wouldnt use it if my company had more than 10k customers and more than 50 agents.

Pros

It is easy to use and train our advisors on how to use it. It has a mid tier costumization that allow us to creat tags, different campaigns and measure CSAT.

Cons

Probably once a month the platform is down and we have to find other ways to communicate with our customers.

Response from Intercom

Hi Raissa, thanks for leaving us this review. It's great to hear that you've found Intercom so easy to use.

I'm sorry to hear you've been experiencing downtime - I'll make sure to bring this to the attention of our Product Team as the quality fo our product is something we take great pride in.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Experience)

Guy Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Horrendous company, be careful of getting locked in

Reviewed on 25/02/2020

Absolutely horrible in every possible way.

Pros

The UI allowing to construct auto-messages

Cons

They lure companies in to integrating intercom into the workflows and take advantage of the difficulty of later migrating to another product, in order to jack up the prices to ridiculous levels. We've had to complain multiple times each year for drastic overcharges (think 3x) and fight with them for months until they would process some refund (after numerous lies and diversion attempts by their reps).
Unethical company, unethical staff, can't be trusted one bit as a business partner.
Also be aware that they do not grandfather plans, and you are at their mercy, they can at any time give you a short notice before "updating" the pricing structure. The most recent "update" would have caused a ~5x in price, getting us to flee to another provider at a great internal cost.

Response from Intercom

Hi Guy - first off, I want to apologize for the difficulties you've had. Since Intercom started, we've focused entirely on the idea of strong customer relationships and I'm sorry that we let you down here. I hope I can clarify why these pricing changes are being made and provide some more context.

We've recently changed our pricing model to a simpler one that we believe is better aligned with the value our customers get from the product. That meant an increase in price for some customers and a decrease for others.
Getting pricing right at Intercom has admittedly always been really challenging for us, but we don't want you to feel this way.

I'm sorry to see you go as a customer. If you'd like to speak to your account manager (or me directly) about what happened for your account specifically, we'd really love to chat. You can email me (phil at intercom dot com) if you're open to a conversation.

Phil (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Dale G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Live Chat for the Modern Age

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

Intercom has completely opened up a new communication method to a customer who is at a different point in the buying stage. It allows us to engage and assist users who otherwise would just be browsing the website in the early stages of product research.

Pros

As a e-commerce retailer, we use the Inbox platform to handle customer enquiries and find the software to be incredibly user-friendly with a great user interface that feels intuitive and familiar, even if you've never used it before.

Cons

The only con would be that there's no option for live video call at the moment. I know that's a bit cheeky, because after all, it wasn't designed for that. But I think it would be a great addition to an already great product.

Response from Intercom

Wow! This is amazing to hear Dale - thanks so much for taking the time to share it. Really interesting to hear how Intercom is helping e-commerce retailers like yourself.

Nichole P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Gets the job done

Reviewed on 27/02/2019

Pros

I like that you’re able to create canned responses for common customer problems. This saves you time and from having to type the same thing over and over. I also like that we can upload pictures within intercom, to customize the program for our company. Intercom allows you to handle multiple tickets at one time through multiple conversations, and you can see when responses we’re read. I also love that you can send a message by using shortcuts on the keyboard as opposed to clicking “send”. It’s all about convenience when you’re handling customer tickets and that’s what intercom provides.

Cons

It’s really inconvenient the way intercom creates different chats for the same person. For example, a customer can send 10 messages about the same issue and it will create 10 separate tickets to handle and no way to consolidate them into one conversation. This is a major flaw for customer service efficiency.

Kamel N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Can't live without!

Reviewed on 27/10/2019

If your business can afford this, definitely go with it!

Pros

There is a bunch of reasons why I love this product:
- User Experience is so well crafted
- Relating the user data in the conversation makes things connected
- The mobile app helps replying quickly to users
- The different use cases they solve (ending with the latest one: Product Tours)
- Their E-books are so insightful

Cons

The worst thing about Intercom is the pricing plan!
Honestly, they are becoming so so expensive. If I want my business to rely on it, I will pay a lot of money!
Even if I'm in a small business, I must pay.

James D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

We couldn't run our business without it

Reviewed on 16/10/2018

Pros

Intercom is critical to our daily support operations and even sales at this point. We feel that it gives us an advantage over our competitors because they feel like they can get in touch with us immediately without having to wait for email. With the addition of bots and other automated features, it makes the experience even better for our customers.

Highly recommended for teams big and small.

Cons

Price. It can get very expensive as your user base grows.

Response from Intercom

Amazing to hear that Intercom is so central to your business, James, and that the new features are resonating with you. Don't hesitate to get in touch if I can help in the future.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intercom is awesome. Indeed!

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

Its is simply amazing. I cannot think of any tool when it comes to the medium to handle my customers.

Pros

Intercom is an all-in-one package you can get in this green earth. The way of handling my customers changed dramatically after I started using this tool. Looking at my team performance and analysing it is just one click away. They do not call tickets or complaint or query. It is CONVERSATION. I liked this idea and started treating my customer replies as conversation.

Cons

All good. This is the only tool that I could not think anything least.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Work with them for 3 years, still love to work with them

Reviewed on 05/03/2019

Pros

Really easy to use, Ihave seen a lot of people starting to use Intercom and time and time again they quickly get it so solve support question.
Also the nice integration with other apps (more and more) is really nice.

Cons

The article function is not a good fit for us. Its only in one language, you can't add more languages.
Also I don't like the view of how their help pages are build (not enough custom options)
They are becoming more and more corporate and everything becomes upsell (bots, changing pricing system ( =increase))