133 reviews
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.7
95% recommended this app
133 reviews
Katherine K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Data manager as a factor to improve decision making

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Looker has helped us by collecting, visualizing and analyzing our data to be more organized as a company, which has been a fundamental milestone for our growth as an organization based on our decision making. Another point to highlight and from which we have benefited is the availability and quick response of Looker's customer service team. It is a tool based on data management ideal for any organization that through the generation of analysis and reports will facilitate decision making in favor of business growth.

Pros

Looker is a tool that has allowed us, through the collection and representation, in a very comfortable control panel where the data is shown, helping the analysis and making the appropriate decisions for the growth of our business. I like how easy it is to understand Looker's operation to start taking advantage of its features, in addition to having a very attentive customer service team.

Cons

So far we haven't had any problems or inconveniences with Looker, it has given us what we needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel D.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising

Looker transforms companies

Reviewed on 04/08/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It's a great product for giving people in all departments of your company access to data and allow them to explore what your data can provide. Rather than having to always go to the Business Intelligence or Analytics team, people of any level can query data without any SQL knowledge or understanding and yield results that are either directly actionable or ask more questions that can be answered using Looker. We ran an initial 30 days trial with a view that only our analysts and BI team members would use it. By the end of the 30 days, everyone from the COO down to the account teams were using it. It's amazing.

Furthermore, the vendor is smart, responsive and constantly improving the product, delivering a new version approximately every month. Their customer service is second-to-none and they are always happy to hear about new features that you need in the product. Very pleased overall with their service, strategy and plan to expand our use of them to our clients over the next few months.

Cons

Looker are still very heavily US based. They have just started an EU office, but support is still largely limited to US West Coast hours (although they seem to wake up at stupid o'clock to deal with some of our issues and plan to have support in the EU soon).

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet

We've been using Looker since about an year. Our leadership loves it!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 06/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Our business users love the self-serv options that this provides. It drastically cut down the effort our analysts have to spend answering routine questions and allow them to focus more on the value added activities.

Pros

Things I like about this product:
1. Ease of use by our users - very intutive
2. Integration with our big data platform and databases. We use ours with Redshift and Aurora and they take most advantage of both systems.
3. Their super awesome customer support - always available chat who are really good at what they are doing.
4. Custom install options along with their hosted solutions.
5. Their whole team is involved with the product and customers top down. Really appreciate their responsiveness and customer-centric approach.

Cons

We really don't care about visualizations, but that can use some improvement to those who care.
The LDAP integration setup is a pain. It works well once it's all setup.
There is no roll-back once a version is installed. Work around is to restore from a backup. Would love to be able to do that as sometimes things don't always work the way we are used to and might require a rollback.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Greg B.
Industry: Events Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Looker

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 25/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Looker has helped us provide higher quality information to our users in a more attractive and efficient manner. Our users are able to customize and share content in ways they couldn't before. Looker has eliminated manual report runs in many cases and definitely has created efficiencies that save time and money.

Pros

Looker allows you to work with virtually any data warehouse, and setup is not difficult. LookML is easy to work with, and allows non-developers to create content for their teams. Embedding Looker in our web app was relatively painless, and is a big improvement over our prior reporting system. Sharing content is super easy with scheduled reporting, and the variety of formats gives us solutions for different types of users.

Cons

I would like to see more visualization options, and enhanced capabilities with scheduling.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Balbina W.
Industry: Sports
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Looker is a very powerful and userfriendly tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The models, explores and looks are very easy to navigate once all set up. The SQL runner is a great feature that helps with querying the datasets that are available before diving in and creating explores. Dashboarding and sharing reports are also very easy with Looker. It makes increasing data visibility in the organisation very easy.

Cons

The visualisation features have come a long way over the years but sometimes it is still hard to customise visualisations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Aleksandar M.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Easy to use Data Reporting tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 31/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use Looker for all kind of data analysis and reporting needs. We use its dashboard tools to keep track of everything without any difficulties.

Pros

Looker offers data reporting tools and options, and it doesn't require deep SQL knowledge. It has a clean and well-organized user interface and helps you create reports and dashboard with only a click of a button. It is very easy to use and you don't have to have any experience with data extrapolation or reporting.

Cons

The pricing is somewhat high, but if you are a larger company it might be worth the money.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Online Media
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Flexible and simple visualization tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Completely solved our visualization needs throughout the Company, in a wide variety of formats. Boosted many non-tech employees by allowing to create dashboards in a quick and easy manner.

Pros

Flexibility to transform data before visualization and the variety of visualization formats.

Cons

not that flexible to share data with 3rd party users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Daniel B.

Great Customer Service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The looker team has great customer service. They are flexible and easy to reach. The chat feature in the product is awesome, as it quickly connects you to a Customer Success rep who can help you with pretty much anything!

Cons

The cost for this product is quite high compared to other BI tools. Also, this product requires a full time data engineer to keep the backend of the product to build new data models.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Catherine F.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Detailed Data

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 03/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Looker has allowed my company to organized and dig deeper into data that we collect in our CRM. You can really get down to the specific details of things. I like that you can easily create a look whenever needed and have the option to not save it if it's not needed again. I also like LookerBot for Slack.

Cons

It definitely has a bit of a learning curve. I still struggle with creating some reports but as someone who is not data-centric I've learned how to use it pretty well

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mohammed Z.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great tool!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/03/2017
Review Source: Capterra

After using looker for a coupe years now, I can definitely say its an awesome tool. It is super easy to learn and use but the best part about this tool is the customer service; support and the account managers go above and beyond to solve problems and actually listen to you when doing product planning. Keep it up!

Pros

Customer Service, Ease of Use

Cons

Features

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Isaac P.
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great software with continuus updates

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that you truly do not have to understand SQL to end up being an expert and ask the ideal concerns in Looker. Looker is continuously making updates, they deliver really rapidly. I have a favorable outlook of this item.

Cons

I dislike for how long it takes given that it never ever truly caches the information. I need to truly make certain the questions I compose or the concerns I ask are really restricted as an outcome.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jiayu (sophia) Q.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Consistently Improving Software with Powerful Functionalities

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 06/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's everything you can think of at current stage for BI tool, and they will think of the future for you. Looker has been consistently working on listening really well from their customers and update their features.

Cons

It takes time at first if you are building out your BI model completely from scratch or transit from other tool, but the reward is huge and there are a lot of Looker people helping you in the way.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Amazing piece of software that opens up so much data for use across the business by non data staff

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 25/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Flexibility of data input as well as custom calculations, seemingly unlimited creative opportunities that make the tool useful for presentation as well as analysis. Saving looks to a dashboard to use every morning is amazing.

Pros

Ability to save data 'looks' to personalized dashboard to build specific groups of data.

Cons

complex nature of adding calculations with data within the platform than in the data warehouse.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good BI tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Solid BI tool and one of the better tools in the market

Cons

Very curious to see if google is going to sunset the product with its acquisition. Have to very technical to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Glenn B.
Industry: Management Consulting

Solid data exploration product, could benefit from some polish.

Reviewed on 30/07/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Very accessible to developers and makes it possible to develop a strong data model on top of existing relational data sets. Make time-based analysis very easy to do.

Cons

Difficult to edit model once in place. Data visualization and dashboard features are not strong. Lacking global filtering and templated dashboards. Setting up interim data caching to prevent load on core database is difficult.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Mona J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Data Analyst

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

very great. I love using the tool

Pros

It's features of sending to s3 buckets and performing SQL's right from the tool itself (SQL Runner)

Cons

I guess they can add more visualizations to tool

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Frederik H.
Industry: Music
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Reporting & data mondeling at its best

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 16/03/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Looker gives me the possibility to build and maintain a datawarehouse, create reports and offers pivoting functionalities. with very limited resources, i was able to create these functionalities, serving 20 collegues with daily reports & enabling them to gather insights on their own. Our company (ticketswap) is growing rapidly, and so does change our database. Looker enables me to set definitions in one place and create multiple of different data models, which is perfect for a market place where users can be both buyers and sellers. The customer care is fabulous, answering fast and efficiënt

Pros

Data mondeling functionalities inside & all visualisations are code based

Cons

Expensive for a start up company

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dustin E.

Looker is an easy-to-implement business intelligence solution.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 06/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love how easy it is for users to create beautiful reports and dashboards and how well laid out the development workflow is.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 201-500 Employees

We track everything on this at my company and its great

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 29/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Our company uses this to track everything! You can track different departments, your current status of hitting your goal, or see how the company is doing as a whole. We link this with Salesforce and are able to do so many different types of analysis on the data our company has. Great tool

Cons

The only thing I don't love is how slow it can go. You have to reload it to get the updated numbers and sometimes it takes a while to load

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Joshua B.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great Product and very reliable

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 07/10/2016
Review Source: Capterra

We use Looker for a lot of Data Analysis. It connects to all of our external perfectly. We have generated many reports using it. It also has solid SSO integration with Okta.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great business intelligence tool

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

This software helps me have access, measure, analyze, and act on our trusted data to inform everyday business activities.

Pros

It is a great tool as it has helped my company unify and liberate data, drive our business forward with data, give anyone the freedom to drive decision-making with data and help all employees view data as integral to everyday business activities. It has also enabled our company to consolidate data into one single platform and assure the accuracy of its data.

Cons

Not intuitive at all. Requires hours of training sessions. I have only been using Looker for a few weeks now and still have A LOT to learn. I'm sure it will be a great tool and very useful tool once I'm fully on board but it definitely is taking me more time than I thought.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kira C.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Looker

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Will continue to use Looker on a daily basis and educate our clients on how to navigate through Looker.

Pros

The amount of features in Looker are endless. Also, Looker provides tips and tricks on a daily basis with educational videos.

Cons

When comparing our platform analytics to Lookers we see discrepancies. We can only provide one analytics report so we do not confuse the clients.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Lucas C.

BI Built for Data Analysts and Non-Technical Users Alike

Reviewed on 14/03/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Looker has been a game changer for our company, in terms of surfacing data insights and business intelligence throughout all of our functions (Product, Engineering, Ops, Teachers, etc). What really sets it apart from its competitors, however, is the duality of a powerful data modeling layer built for data analysts, and a simpler UI that is very easy for everyone else in our company to use without SQL knowledge. I find that too many products either attempt to do away with front-end SQL entirely (thus limiting the deeper functionality of Looker), or rely on SQL so heavily that most users in the company can't self service without the help of a data analyst. Looker manages to do both, in expert fashion!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Truc T.

I really like what looker can do for reports and dashboards.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 05/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It really help business users to create visualizations without the needs to know SQL. There are a lot of table calculations available for data explorations.

Cons

It takes a while to learn how to develop the LookML. It gives more flexibility to developers, so many things required by business users need to be modified in the lookML

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

antiquated features lack customization

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

tracking metrics and dashboards for company kpis and measurement

Pros

looking at daily or weekly trendlines examining active users and conversions monitoring across channels

Cons

not as plug and play for integrations as tableau, cannot create pivotable custom dashboards the way tableau can

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10