JIRA Service Management

4.4 (275)
The only ITSM solution built on the Jira platform

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(275)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support Software
4.3/5

275 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

In absence of better software it might be...

Reviewed on 20/06/2021

I’m working in scrum team. But I’m a part of big it organization. Jira helps us to reflect complexity of our organization and help to collaborate and to track work to be done and done already. It have many reporting options. But for me there is a little bit too much of options that I’m not using - features overkill which only contaminate usability. If you could decide how to clean a view it would be great. But as I said in title - although it’s not dream software in absence of better it serves well.

Pros

Most important functions, from perspective of scrum or devops team member, can be learn quickly and used easily. Also it gives a lot of option of organizing workflow between many agile teams. You can have different levels of tasks - and visualizations to them. I like that you can organize many boards and link everything. It takes of course a little bit of consistency in following the rules in order to not create a mess.

Cons

Well, it tends to have sudden downtime.. for no reason (well at least from my perspective) it’s not responding. Speed interface could be improved. Sometimes you have to wait a while after an action performed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful and Capable, but easy to over complicate things

Reviewed on 07/11/2020

Initial setup can be complex but it can also be super powerful if you are able to configure it properly. It's visual scripting and workflow tool is really capable and easy to learn

Pros

Its flexibility. It's a simple statement, I agree, and you're probably reading this wondering why I'm being so vague. But JIRA software is a bit hard to summarize simply because it's just so flexible. There's no "correct" way to use it.

It's rest API is pretty powerful too and very easy to extend Jira to "integrate" with 3rd party applications that doesn't have an official Jira integration.

Cons

Creating workflows can easily become very confusing and you can easily break how your projects in Jira work if you aren't careful. With every Jira production license you also get a free dev license so that you can set up an isolated dev/staging environment. This is invaluable and highly recommended. The downside is that there is no easy way to migrate any of your changes from dev to production. But there are 3rd party plugins for that.

Chris F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Ok start, missing some key features

Reviewed on 14/10/2019

We have a ticket workflow for IT, so things are being tracked now.

Pros

Integration with other Atlassian products. Allowed us to start tracking IT issues and requests without having to bring on yet another tool.

Cons

Would like to be able to more effectively roll out custom support portals for our users, but no native support for custom URLs makes this more difficult. It's too easy for customers to browse around and find portals for other customers.

Alternatives Considered

osTicket

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Went with Jira Service Desk as we are already using Jira and Confluence. This let us avoid yet another tool as well as provide some integration potential (which we're not taking advantage of yet).
Jack P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

JSD has a lot to offer, but requires a lot to learn

Reviewed on 21/08/2018

JSD offers a lot for any company needing to maintain a service desk to manage the support requests it handles from its clients/customers. Because it is a Jira (Atalassian) product, it is most likely utilized along with other Jira tools, and plays quite well with those. Due to this integration aspect, thought, the layers of security necessitated within user settings requires a considerable amount of learning/training, which is not easily attained without paying for it from Atalassian. And, while I understand, respect (and even applaud) the market-oriented principle of this, it does seem a bit intentional that there are no reliable helps available outside of Atlassian (for example, any tutorials you will find on YouTube for assisting with certain user configs, settings, steps, etc. are applicable to much older versions of the software, and to a great extent, are not applicable to the current version). This would not be a negative aspect if Jira did a much better job at keeping their own internal (free) help docs, etc. up to date, so as to apply to the current version, as well. Instead, if one wants highly dependable "helps" it appears the best way to achieve that is to pay Atlassian for their training courses (at prices that are obviously calibrated toward larger companies/corporations. And blindly undertaking such would seem risky if judged by the extent to which their free user tools are kept up to date. This is not, to my knowledge, the common experience with most apps.

Pros

- Lots of tools in one place
- Integrates well with other apps (especially other Atlassian products)
- UI is clean and user friendly (customizable to a sensible extent)
- Contains useful metrics that are easy to configure and gain reports from
- Has multiple layers of user settings available for custom configuration to correlate to preferred levels of access among agents, customers, etc.

Cons

- Email bounce in frequently fails (bugs?)
- Depth of Jira admin user knowledge required for strong mastery of this app; time consuming to acquire a reliable user knowledge (which is necessary to utilize the app with the least bit of efficiency)
- Help docs, support mechanism unreliable/outdated (needs to be fresh and current to be applicable to present version of app)
- Confusing settings requirements for some user modifications needs (esp. where mapping/editing workflow schemes are concerned)
- Completely inadequate amount of general helps/tutorials available outside of Atlassian (YouTube, Google search, etc. for example) which seems a bit suppressed by design. Atlassian offers extensive training, but at a premium cost.
- Costly for the overall effectiveness it provides, after factoring these negatives along with the user time required to really learn the application.

Mihai S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira Service Desk the best tool for support

Reviewed on 26/02/2020

For me JSD was a challenge that thought me a lot. The product is awesome but there is still room for improvement.

Pros

What I did like the most about JSD is the fact that you have a customer portal, a way to track and view your tickets at any time.
You can customize the product to at very last detail without too much trouble.

Cons

The stability of the software can be a sensitive balance after you reach 500.000 issues created on your instance.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk
Peter W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful but confusing ticket manager

Reviewed on 28/06/2019

Once we got our heads around the rather clunky and busy UI we've realized just how useful JIRA is.
It's now the Universities ticket manager of choice and is used by every member of support staff.
No other ticket manager (that we've found) comes close to the features offered by JIRA.

Pros

JIRA offers a huge amount of features, from simple support tickets to project workflow planning.
Our method of project management (agile) works brilliantly with this, we're able to assign work in 'Sprints' that match our real working week.
The ability to link JIRA with other 3rd party applications is excellent, we've integrated it with our content management system and QA / testing software.
The wide use of JIRA makes communicating with other organisations much easier, most support companies are at least registered here.

Cons

The pricing is rather expensive, its not too much of a problem for a large institution such as ours, but for smaller businesses this may be too much.
The user-interface and general layouts really aren't intuitive, for a new user it takes a while to get their head around the various features and processes. It took a few weeks for even the more experienced developers to get used to it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Accelerate Processes with Approval / Reject

Reviewed on 17/06/2019

Pros

Some requests must be approved by a manager before they can be worked on and completed before they are involved in the business process or before moving on to the next stage.

For example; the administrator can approve the withdrawal request, the IT officer can approve the closure of this user's accounts, and the process can proceed within the approval-rejection stages.

The Approval-Reject feature allows the authorized persons in your organization to grant the necessary permission for the job to be performed or to proceed to the next step. Jira Service Desk provides us with this feature without the need to become an agent user. The person must be one of the users of Jira Service Desk, Jira Software, or Jira Core.

Cons

The Jira Service desk module needs to get better. ok it works but lacks a number of simple features. for example, you can link a customer request to an internal issue, but the customer cannot see it.

the other problem is that the interface is very calm. Very little interface customization option.

Christian R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Love the tool! it is newer product with evolving capabilities.

Reviewed on 14/08/2017

Teams can manage their own service desk:
- Can manage own fields
- Can manage own workflows
- Can Manage and Create own services

Pros

Individual teams can setup their own customer portals and service offerings without having special permissions. Our Teams are moving from our current Service desks products to Atlassian organically based on their experience (no company mandate)

Cons

There is no built in knowledge base to the product, you need to use Atlassian's confluence. additionally, Knowledge bases are linked 1 to 1 to a service desk project for how our organization works.

The base product is limited and need to use 3rd party plugins from the atlassian marketplace to provide capabilities that are standard with most other products.

Christa C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira Service Desk Review

Reviewed on 05/11/2018

It is an excellent ticketing system, easy to use, and track incidents.

Pros

I used this software when I worked on a technical support help desk. I liked that the dashboard functionality and the ability to customize your view. There is a variety of widgets that are supported that assist with efficiency.

Cons

Our company worked with a separate company that also utilized this product. We created separate incidents in both systems if their assistance was needed. We noted each ticket with the relationship to the other's Jira system. While working in two systems was a con in regards to ease of use, this is not a fault of the software itself as there are obvious security issues in linking two companies together.

Kevin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jira Service Desk is great for internal OR external teams.

Reviewed on 30/04/2019

Overall, I would highly recommend Jira Service desk for two use cases: (1) when teams are working with outside customers; (2) when teams are working internally, but with users that are averse to diving into Atlassian's ecosystem.

Pros

- Submitting a ticket is done through a form with a great UI.
- Setting up submission forms is relatively easy and highly customizable
- Ticket management can be customized, ensuring producers only see relevant information
- As a producer, you'll have the option to share information internally or externally with the customer
- SLAs are built into each request type
- As with all things Jira, the reporting is fairly robust

Cons

- One of the biggest downsides of Service Desk is that it does not yet support a kanban board. To that end, ticket management is done through a queue system.
- Some essential automation is limited within the JQL - automation that is consistent in a Jira software project.

Alexander P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use , not hard to setup, lots of addons

Reviewed on 21/09/2017

Easy and fast setup, high end user acceptance

Pros

Very easy to use customer portal, easy to setup SLAs, many addons for almost anything. Potentially indefinitely extendable with the webhooks. Incident-, Problem- and Change Management come out of the box, just add Insight for JIRA and you get a full Configuration Management and Request Fulfilment solution

Cons

Hard to write own addons, internal API could be documented better. For more complex portal ages you will need addons. Integration with Statuspage only for the cloud edition

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira a great way to manage

Reviewed on 13/04/2018

I am able to track all of the internal changes of the company. As well the transparency of the system is great. There is not a lot of things you'll need to learn as it is really easy to use.

Pros

I really like the ease of use with JIRA. We are able to track changes internally very easily. I can set several parameters to truly customize the experience.

Cons

I wish there was an option for a user to change the color scheme. The UI is very bright and white and I wish there was a darker mode that was easier on the eyes.

Zyren christian D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JIRA Service Management Review

Reviewed on 13/08/2021

Pros

We mainly use JIRA Service Management as our ITSM, service desk, ticketing system in our company. This platform has a lot to offer and so many features that will help your IT Team on keeping track of IT related concern, incident management, inventory management, tracking of ticket and report/analytics

Cons

Didn't have any issue encountered with JIRA Service Management platform.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Service desk that works well with other JIRA tools

Reviewed on 21/05/2018

Pros

Since we use JIRA Software, it was just a matter of time until we decided to implement JIRA Service Desk. So far it's worked fairly well and gives us a central location to manage our helpdesk requests from our employees. Being a JIRA product, you know it's powerful, but you also know that it takes a bit of work to get it up and running. You also know it's not going to look too sexy ;) It does it's job and gives us a good place to manage our tickets and gives our users the option to leave feedback, which helps us do our job even better.

Cons

It's JIRA, it's not the most aesthetically pleasing tool, but it does what it advertises and help us more easily manage our tickets.

Lesa S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We use JSD so external customers can submit requests via the portal and we get away from...

Reviewed on 17/08/2017

Jira & Jira Service Desk allow us to have a central location for all of the issues we are working on and tracking. There are so many more things that we want to do with the software, especially converting our manual monthly metrics into reports that can be generated automatically!

Pros

How customizable it is! We have customers submit support requests via the portal now and the requests are routed according to what was selected on the portal. It has allowed us to get away from email monitoring and doing a copy/paste to create issues manually.

Cons

How customizable it is! There are a TON of options and a lot of free videos, but ultimately it takes a LOT of trial and error to get things set up the way you want them.

Lauren G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Complex software that is really powerful.

Reviewed on 14/03/2017

Pros

That it is so versatile and customizable, and solves so many problems for our business. It helps us have a clear view of all the tasks going on with our team.

Cons

It can be a bit confusing to configure, and because it has so many configuration options, I can get a little lost in figuring out the best way to make it work for me.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful service desk tool

Reviewed on 07/02/2018

Pros

Lots of integration between the JIRA tools which makes JIRA SD an easy choice. Customizing workflow is easy and it's fantastic at keeping all our requests in order, too. The collaboration function is awesome. Several people are able to work on the same ticket at the same time which is essential to solving more complicated issues. User portal is pretty intuitive and makes it easy to file tickets.

Cons

Customizing your reporting is a learning curve and can be frustrating. When the system is being updated it goes down entirely, which can be a pain if that doesn't work for your schedule. These are usually done in the evenings and weekends, however, so it's not that big of an issue. On occasion, lag can be an issue. JIRA SD may not be a good choice for smaller businesses because it is on the expensive side.

Tim M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

How I source quality work requests

Reviewed on 16/01/2019

I'd recommend Jira Service Desk to any developer of team of developers looking for a way to better manage their work requests.

Pros

As a software developer, Jira Service Desk allows me to source high quality requests -- answering all the questions I might usually have to correspond over. Having a dedicated inbox for these requests helps me prioritize them and stay focused on what is in front of me.

Cons

There's a lot to like about Jira Service Desk -- My only complaint is that it can be hard to find the 'resolve ticket' button in the UI at times, which is frustrating.

Manuel B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool which allows to implement mature processes in a few days

Reviewed on 20/09/2017

Customer satisfaction

Pros

Easy to use, nice UI, simple but at the same time very powerful. Queses and processes are extremely flexible.

Cons

Lack of UI customization features but not critical. Satisfaction reports are a bit limited but not critical either.

Ruth H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I found it very user friendly

Reviewed on 14/08/2017

a complete view of our current team status

Pros

UI is very intuitive. The learning curve was almost non-existent. If it weren't for the couple of cons I'm listing below, I quite satisfied with this product.

Cons

I'm always accidentally clicking on the request name instead of update fields when making changes. I'm not sure how to rearrange it, but it obviously, from my point of view, that the update fields function is not in the right place. I would also like the ability to change issue type rather than creating a new option and deleting the original.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

JIRA review

Reviewed on 13/03/2019

Good experience, use daily so easy to navigate. Upgrades frequesntly so may not always have access.

Pros

Nice format, lots of drop downs and space to fill text

Cons

Can take time to load, and may be prohibited by dropdown selection only

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple service desk

Reviewed on 24/09/2018

Pros

We were using this product in my last company together with JIRA, and it was worth ti. You can customize it and make the UI your clients see really simple - and the added bonus from the JIRA integration made tracking issues really easy.

Cons

I liked everything, but as we were using JIRA, the integration was the most important thing for us. I noticed that they don't have inbuilt chat system, but they claim that there as some add-ons which can add live chat functionality.

Sundeep G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Manage all the Queries in a single dashboard - Jira Service Desk.

Reviewed on 06/02/2019

Pros

Jira Service Desk is so easy to use and highly customizable. You can manage workflows, components and many other things. It is easy to track queries and keep the team informed about the progress of all the work.

Cons

Though Jira Service Desk is highly customizable, it has a learning curve. If the workflows are not defined well at the inception then it would be become very difficult to work on the platform.

Thomas L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Do all - do nothing

Reviewed on 13/01/2021

Do you want a tool that does 1000 tasks but all of those tasks are 10% of what you need? GET THIS TOOL.
Do you want a tool that has a million different customizations, yet none are what you want and everything is wrongly done? Get it !

Sure it's """cheap""" but with all the time you loose, not worth it.

BTW, that 24/7 support, yeah, no, does not exist.

Pros

Well here's a tool that does everything, SD, incidents, KB, alerts, yes, it does a bit or everything.

Cons

It's awfull at doing things good. The new projects are barely compatible with new solutions, incidents and request are not configured correctly and can hardly be put in the same ticketing catalog. No advanced roadmaps (premium feature) in next gen projects. Automations are bad, tickets custom fields are sometimes not uderstood by the automation.

Angel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Cannot Manage Our Own Users

Reviewed on 17/05/2019

JIRA customer support has been extremely unhelpful. Several tickets and requests have been issued (from several customers) in their customer portal with no response or solutions offered.

Pros

I loved this software when we first implemented. We were able to mass upload our users, use custom user IDs, set their passwords, and link their email address through a simple file upload. We were also able to change their email addresses, and edit their names as needed.

Cons

Over time, JIRA has made changes to the service that have led us to terminate our service. We are no longer able to edit anything but our users full name. We cannot change their email addresses to meet business needs, nor can we assign them a user ID - instead having to incorporate their ID into their name in order for us to find them in the system the service desk was designed for.