143 reviews
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.3
92% recommended this app
143 reviews
Lorrie B.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Totally Mobile, did not miss a beat during the 2020 COVID-19 Pandemic

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The system is easily configurable and we can design it to meet our needs at year-end, during a pandemic, or as our policies are updated. Changes are easy to implement and with little to no disruption to our everyday processes.

Pros

Chrome River is a completely mobile user friendly software. When we were all ordered to work from home our users were able to leave the office and pick up exactly where they left off when they started working from home.

Cons

Some of the features and functionality are not configurable. However, in fairness to Chrome River they are always listening to our wants and needs and open to suggestions to making changes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Melissa K.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Customizable User Friendly Expense Platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River has worked closely with us to understand our business and business needs. The staff is innovative and eager to solve any issues your business presents.

Pros

The ability to build rules around compliance and polices is top notch.

Cons

The reporting (Analytics) isn’t as easy to navigate as it should be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cameron C.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Chrome River Rocks Your Socks

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 16/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software provides everything we were looking for...and then more. The implementation was great and very easy to customize to our needs. The user experience has been nothing but positive through the first few months we have used the system.

Cons

N/A - everything about this product has been top notch. Implementation, End Users, Reporting, etc. Leaves nothing to be desired.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Katie W.
Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Chrome River Expense Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Keeping track of my daily mileage and expenses to submit at the end of the month for reimbursement.

Pros

I like that you can see the past 90 days of submitted reports all in one spot. Also, the map feature allows you to type I a business name and it will auto populate the address for you.

Cons

It does sometimes glitch if you dont enter everything in correctly, and you will need to go back and do it again.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Stephanie W.
Industry: Sports
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Paperless Heaven

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome is extremely user friendly! You do not need an app to use on your phone, or connect to any database except the internet. The snap and send function makes sending receipts to my reports flawless and easy to manage. Approvals are faster without paper and go directly to the person to review. Fast, easy and efficient!

Pros

The snap and send function and being able to review reports without paper and no overload of information

Cons

Sometimes updates can take a while and if the internet is slow it can take a while to load

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Rhonda C.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Our wonderful CR project team helped us improve, streamline, and rethink outdated travel policies.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/05/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Automated rules that drive compliance thereby eliminating manual checking. It has taken the guess work out of 'where's my expense report'. Employees receive reimbursement quicker. Paperless system!!

Pros

It drives policy compliance with reminders, warnings, and hard-stop violations. Plus, no more paper!!

Cons

The credit card reconciliation has been difficult for us, however, a big part of that could be related to our stringent state requirements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Karen K.
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Expense reports made easy!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use from a user perspective. Very flexible from an administrative perspective - we can set routing rules to be as simple or complex as we wish. Automated approval routing is the best! Chrome River is also constantly making improvements. They truly listen to their users.

Cons

Reporting is still a bit clunky, but they're working on it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Victor G.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Chrome River Experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River has helped the expenses flow through our system a lot smoother and with less issue. It also, help with accountability. We know when an expense report was submitted and how long it takes for it to process.

Pros

I like how user friendly it is. You are able to upload a receipt multiple ways.

Cons

You are not able to add an expense to a returned expense report.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Is S.

a system that makes expenses fun

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use, this software feels like a 2018 software, it works great with mobile or desktop and has very innovative look and feel.

Cons

You can customize a lot of rules, but there is a limit to how far you customize it, some functionality is just not there yet, but they are very receptive if you can make a business case for it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ian M.

Very easy to use & makes submitting expenses very quick

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simple to navigate, OCR works very well saves a lot of effort, ability to upload images of receipts via a variety of methods is very efficient. Fro ma control / compliance perspective the data analytics available is very powerful

Cons

do not have any dislikes about the software however would prefer that card transactions that are brought in from the card provider are more "visible/obvious" than they are - because often we see our travellers submit these transactions as pay me - so causes some challenges

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Great easy to use functionality

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall very great and makes expense reports less stressful and easier then paper reports which are a nightmare.

Pros

Easy common sense processes for the most part. Approval processes are seamless and flow without a lot of automation. Very flexible with the entry and allocation of expense accounts.

Cons

When returning expense reports edits require administrative release for users to be able to edit the expense accounts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Edward J.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Chrome River Expense

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 08/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River was easy to deal with and a great company.

Pros

When selecting a product we wanted one that would be user-friendly to all of our employees. Chrome River is very user-friendly on all devices: mobile, tablet and desktop. The tiles are easy to use and our employees love them.

Cons

The integration took a couple months but it was worth the wait.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Drew S.

Never knew expense processing could be so easy.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 12/05/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Chrome River Expense makes it easy to submit, gain approvals, and reimburse funds. Operation within expense is easy which makes training users a breeze.

Cons

Most of what I like least about the software is probably my lack of understanding about the potential for customization. Many times I find myself wishing it could do this, then come to find out it can, I just didn't know it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nadeem H.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Expense Tracking System

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 05/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have a positive experience using this product. It is easy to use and has many features that reduced my admin time of submitting expenses.

Pros

Moving from a manual process to chrome river has greatly improved the time of processes expenses. End-user can upload receipts reducing time and increasing efficiencies.

Cons

It would be nice if more features such as mobile support, receipts that could be read to prefill require fills on expenses, but really this is probably coming on future updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shannon S.

Excellent electronic approval software for expense reporting, much more efficient than our old syste

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/05/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You can track expense report data effectively, monitor compliance errors, and route approvals quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Marc C.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Super easy way to get your expenses in!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I love using it and I enjoy showing others in my office how to use it.

Pros

The ease of desktop and mobile integration. Also, expense automation with vendors like Uber, Lyft and SpotHero is a real time saver.

Cons

Sometimes the OCR will split a document.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Hamidullah N.
Industry: Environmental Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Experience of use of Chrome River Expense Software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I remember when I started using of CRE my works are goings-on very fastly.

Pros

1. Easy of use,
2. Easy to reach,
3. Easy analyzeable,
4. Accuracy of data,

Cons

In our country, the art and knowledge of this software is less.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jacklyn P.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Software review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 25/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Really enjoy the product big change for our company, but is allowing us to do more reporting.

Pros

Snap and send and reporting capabilities.

Cons

Customization for a business with complex GL system

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Environmental Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

User Friendly!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 25/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Chrome River expense is intuitive and easy to help corporations manage large amounts of employees without having to take up employees time. It helps the approvers to manage any duplicate entries, rules, and company policies. Even the most technologically challenged individuals pick it up with some patience and guidance.

Pros

The software is user friendly, simple, and clean in execution.

Cons

Occasional glitches and sometimes takes a while for images to load or response of system is a bit slow.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gwen H.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

It is a pioneer in its field

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/06/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Mobility, and putting the data entry into the hands of the end-user instead of an A/P team. Ability to create complex approval chain based on roles and locations.

Cons

Support is slow and overly challenging. Seems to be a bit of a language barrier with enhancement team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Rakesh P.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Highly Recommended Chrome River

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 04/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I am using Chrome River for expense audit and it is very simple to use. There are some useful features like currency conversion, duplicate receipt checking will help to audit smoothly. Chrome River is user friendly.

Cons

Nothing so far. It works well in our organization.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mike M.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Chrome River Expense Review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 27/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Implementation was not as timely as we wanted. At times it felt as if our support was spread too thin. Overall I'm pleased with our final product.

Pros

Functionality and flexibility with configuration

Cons

Some admin functionality could be improved to assist with program control

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Darla A.

It would be nice to see an expense category that covers laundry and/or dry cleaning while traveling.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 07/06/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is very easy to navigate. Most of the expense categories are self-explanatory. Import features for receipts are helpful.

Cons

When you enter text into the "business purpose" field, that text remains for the subsequent entry, so it must be deleted.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Bobby E.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Easy to use

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 09/07/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, this is a great expense tool. Very easy to use and to track expenses. I get paid quickly after submitting my expenses.

Pros

Very easy to use. You just click the category, enter your expense, upload the receipt, and Walla! I usually submit my expenses on a Friday and get paid by Tuesday.

Cons

The webpage can be super slow at times. Sometimes it’s so slow, that I will have to close it out and open the webpage again.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Christopher M.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Expense Reports made easy!

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 26/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We started using Chrome River about 1 years ago and this has made turning in our expense reports to the Accounts Payable team each month a breeze!

Cons

My least favorite aspect is that the software can be a little difficult to use if you are not consistently using it. Once you use it a few times though it's fairly easy to operate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support