Kantata

Purpose-built to power professional services orgs.

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(607)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support Software
4.2/5

84%
recommended this app
Sort by

607 Reviews

Tristan
Tristan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our Next-Generation Project Management Tool

Reviewed on 12/09/2018

Our overall experience has been wonderful over the past few years. We were able to enable our PM...

Our overall experience has been wonderful over the past few years. We were able to enable our PM team to become more metrics and data-driven, expanding their capabilities. Change Orders are a big business process that we solved by using Mavenlink. Approval and communication have been GREATLY streamlined! Before, we were managing change orders through written communication and supporting documentation, but now we are able to have the discussion in project meetings, then pass through the Change Order approval as a budget change and there is an affirmative action on their part. It's great!

Pros

The activity dashboard is the best part of Mavenlink. A feed that allows you to keep track of official communications and notes is perfect, plus it keeps clients involved. The API is also very strong and allows us to generate reports FAR beyond what is offered by Mavenlink. Our ability to manage projects and people has greatly increased due to the features that have been implemented since we switched to Mavenlink.

Cons

The Gantt chart needs a lot of work. The interface is slow and clunky, plus it is not a great view for the executives and sponsors, visually speaking. The purpose of this chart is not really to "manage" the project, but instead show a high level overview of everything. There is currently no great way to show this to execs and sponsors. There needs to be a better mobile experience as well. We need a fully functional way to log time, complete tasks, post activity and generally manage projects from Android and iOS.

Oussama
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Comprehensive Resource Management Solution

Reviewed on 28/01/2023

Overall, Kantata is an excellent resource management solution that can make resource management...

Overall, Kantata is an excellent resource management solution that can make resource management effortless. It is intuitive, easy to use, and offers a variety of features that make it a great choice for businesses of all sizes.

Pros

Kantata is an excellent resource management solution that helps to keep track of projects and resources effortlessly. The intuitive dashboard and easy-to-use interface make it a great choice for businesses of all sizes. It also offers a variety of features that make managing resources a breeze.

Cons

While Kantata is a great resource management solution, it can be expensive for businesses on a tight budget. Additionally, the setup process can be a bit complicated and may require assistance from the customer support team.

Josh
Josh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

One of the weaker project management tools out there. I wouldn't recommend this product.

Reviewed on 25/11/2017

The ability to see my project list at a glance, although this product is plagued with poor support...

The ability to see my project list at a glance, although this product is plagued with poor support and ultra slow development.

Pros

The UI is simple to use most of the time. It's easy to see your projects listed out, even though the organization tools are pretty weak.

Cons

The software is slow. Updates happen at a snails pace. Our team worked directly with the development team at Mavenlink and their process is just plain slow. The program is bogged down and sluggish. It lacks sub-tasks beyond 5 layers, the estimating feature is a joke and they only just recently implemented a basic WYSIWYG in the activity section. You also can't undo activity unless you go back to the feed. Talk to PMs who actually use this product!

Response from Kantata

Thank you for your insight and feedback regarding your experience. We have forwarded your feedback to our product team and will continue to strive to do better. Your CSM has reached out out to you to learn more and continue to advocate on your behalf, regarding these product enhancements and all your concerns. We look forward to continue to working closely with you regarding your experience. Have a nice day and happy holidays.

Val
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One Source of Information

Reviewed on 16/12/2020

Mavenlink has been great to work with from conversion to ongoing support.

Mavenlink has been great to work with from conversion to ongoing support.

Pros

Mavenlink enables us to know the workload of our teams and Ike projects on schedule and within budget.

Cons

I wish the reporting was easier so that more users could work in it.

Alternatives Considered

Wrike and Workamajig

Reasons for Choosing Kantata

Needed more functionality

Switched From

Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Kantata

Evaluated systems against goals developed by product review team.
Gene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mavenlink is a useful tool

Reviewed on 22/09/2020

Good

Good

Pros

Customization of task lists, project fields, etc.

Cons

Gantt Schedule (hard to display), Reporting (albeit powerful, application for creating reports is not user-friendly in the slightest)

Alternatives Considered

Asana

Reasons for Choosing Kantata

More functionality

Switched From

WorkflowMax

Reasons for Switching to Kantata

Program/portfolio management capabilities. Scalability
Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Overall good with a few weak areas.

Reviewed on 06/01/2020

We were able to provide better forecasting and manage budgets against timelines. All time entry is...

We were able to provide better forecasting and manage budgets against timelines. All time entry is much better managed in a central location. We can also easily track which resources are available or not.

Pros

- Time Entry
- Management of individual projects
- Integrations w/ Jira
- Forecasting/Planning
- Happy to have approvals, but they could be more flexible.
- Managing budgets against project timelines.

Cons

- Invoicing
- Reporting
- Happy to have approvals, but they could be more flexible.
- Granularity of permissions

Kelsey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MavenLink for the Win

Reviewed on 11/09/2020

We really love MavenLink and especially love working with a company who is constantly evolving and...

We really love MavenLink and especially love working with a company who is constantly evolving and taking their clients feedback and evolving.

Pros

We needed a unified system that did: task tracking, budget tracking, project schedules, time entry and resource management. MavenLink nails it in those arenas! Finally we have a tool that doesn't require another 15 tools!

Cons

There are a lot of features and options for how to do things, and not enough "how to" videos that their competitors have.

Pat
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Works well for agencies

Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Overall, does well for project management. We lacked the ability to easily report on utilization...

Overall, does well for project management. We lacked the ability to easily report on utilization rates and time entries in convenient ways. Mavenlink changed that for the better.

Team collaboration with public and private posts can be more streamlined than emails, which can become siloed. Scheduling time and resource planner features are really handy, although I often don't get to what I planned...

Pros

Budget tracking is easy and effective, although depending on configuration, it can differ between the finances and budget tabs within a project. Gantt view is super helpful for changing timelines and communicating with client.

Cons

The task tracker sometimes is really slow to load when moving tasks around within a given project. There is often a huge number of notifications, but you can configure those to limit them significantly if necessary.

Julie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Project Management Tool

Reviewed on 17/09/2020

Pros

I love the easy UI of Mavenlink. The side menu bar is very easy to navigate. I like the time entries/timesheet interface. It's easy to create invoices and expense reports as well.

Cons

Reporting isn't always that intuitive - I have the most questions for our admin when it comes to pulling reports. Maybe I just need to be better educated on this though.

Moon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Project mgmt tool linking to NetSuite but lack of customizations to cater to business...

Reviewed on 21/09/2020

Pros

Be able to link to NetSuite record with integrations and view utilization and project budget vs. actual.

Cons

Lack of some task tracking features like assignee commit date with taskes. Task role on time entries does not display on list view and task columns are hard to adjust for different usage of different team member.

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Achieve that 30,000 ft view!

Reviewed on 10/04/2017

I have been using Mavenlink as the primary account administrator for two different companies over...

I have been using Mavenlink as the primary account administrator for two different companies over the course of four years. The suite has proven to be an integral tool in my everyday professional life within the Marketing industry. It allows my teams to see only what they need to primarily be involved with for any particular day and clears away other clutter they may not be associated with. However, most importantly, it allows many different views when it comes to upcoming work capacity and profitability. This is the feature we were primarily after when signing up for Mavenlink. The instant-update gantt charts allow us to see both all of our current projects and each individual project. This, in addition to the robust resource management tools that are constantly being improved, as enabled our Production team to kick project input and scheduling into overdrive! Our Copy and Design teams love the real-time proofing module as well. The comparison tools are really slick.

Pros

Depth of data analysis and business intelligence, gantt charts, deep task detail options, resource scheduling tools, built-in expense and budget tracking

Cons

There is an intermediate learning curve and may come across as immediately complex to the uninitiated creative. However, 10-15 minutes of poking around and taking advantage of the learning tools and startup tutorials offered by Mavenlink's stellar customer service program will address this minor concern. Mavenlink is a fantastically powerful information source, and with that power comes some proper approach and learning. It's all intuitive, though!

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Software well tailored for our business needs

Reviewed on 03/11/2021

Overall, the experience is become better and better. I'd say the UI still has some usability issues.

Overall, the experience is become better and better. I'd say the UI still has some usability issues.

Pros

Great master planning for resources and allocations.

Cons

Two biggest pet peeves are the following:
1. It's irritating that you must delete a recreate a time entry if you enter it on the wrong day of the week on the Timesheets view. Should be able to just change the date of the entry. Other similar software allows this.
2. On Master Planning, I want to see how many hours are represented in the allocation every week not just how many hours by percentage across the span of weeks the allocation runs. This make it hard to determine quickly how many hours the resource has for each allocation for that week.

Sara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Mavenlink feedback

Reviewed on 25/09/2020

Pros

The reporting and overview of the project is very helpful. .I also like how you can budget towards individual tasks/milestones. It's also good to see an overview of staff's availability and schedule them on specific days for projects.

Cons

It's very frustrating when you need to allocated in the same amount of time per user across a long period. You have to go in individually to each week to add that time. When you have to do this for multiple users across different projects, it takes a lot of time!!! Should be able to do a recurring staffing - define the time period, how many hrs for which user and project.
If there are changes to hrs or staffing for a project, you then have to go in and change across the board - should be able to change that recurring staffing to a different number/person

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mavenlink is feature rich and user friendly

Reviewed on 16/04/2021

Mavenlink has been a feature-rich tool that has been adaptable to our unique model.

Mavenlink has been a feature-rich tool that has been adaptable to our unique model.

Pros

Mavenlink has a lot of custom features and functionality which was an important factor in that we needed to find a tool that met our many custom processes and workflows.

Cons

Mavenlink does not allow customers to see budget in hours or dollars, so clients can't see any sort of project burndown. New features and functionality are slow to be released, but for a platform its size, ML does a decent job of staying on top of squashing bugs.

Murali
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Mavenlink is a very advanced project management tool for medium as well as huge enterprises.

Reviewed on 26/01/2019

Pros

The application is very stable and you will find a lot of features to work with. In comparison to other tools, the features provided are more advanced and data-driven with high emphasis on metrics. I just love the dashboard, it helps you to keep track of all the official meetings and interactions and with mavenlink, you can build superb reports. It helps in collaborating with tasks from start to end of each project. You can set updates as notifications to your mail id, so you would get to know of the status o different projects. We can set these notifications for clients too, so they would get to know the proceedings and status o each task.If you hate opening multiple tabs like me, you can use this Gantt chart tool which I should say is the best feature!

Cons

One of the biggest turn off is that we take a lot of time to get started with the system like to set up and install. The date has been set in US formats which had been an issue to us, hope they do something about it. I found it really difficult to trace back archived projects cause you have to know the exact name of the respective project to get them traced back!

Danielle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Robust Must-Try for Service-Based Orgs!

Reviewed on 10/02/2020

ML has helped my organization to clearly define accountability and responsibilities. Additionally,...

ML has helped my organization to clearly define accountability and responsibilities. Additionally, it allows for project profitability to be easily found without having to compile data from multiple sources.

Pros

I believe that the best part of Mavenlink is that it's an all-in-one program. One could use this for the day-to-day management of their projects without having to use outside programs. It combines project management, resource management, budget management, estimating, time-tracking, reporting and so much more.

Cons

I think the learning curve can be pretty steep. I attribute this lack of intuition to the robust nature of the service, but it could do with a revamp of the UI/UX.

I also dislike the format of the resource management. There are currently two ways to manage resources: Master Planning and Resource Planner. The two work together but are also very separate features. The entire reource management system could use an overhaul to reduce confusion and to make resource changes easier.

Jacqueline
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mavenlink Rocks

Reviewed on 30/11/2016

We use Mavenlink to project management all new school openings and are now starting to use it for...

We use Mavenlink to project management all new school openings and are now starting to use it for all of our large national events. Mavenlink has definitely helped us open more schools worldwide efficiently and effectively.

Before Mavenlink, communication and documentation were major issues around our projects. With Mavenlink, we are able to document our calls and follow ups within the system itself. Tasks linked to communications are also very helpful. The features I like best are ease of use, Dashboard view of all projects, Templates, sync to Google Apps, and Gannt.

Pros

Ease of use and communication. The ability to start threads regarding specific tasks, upload/share google docs, post messages that also go to email, etc. has been critical to successfully completing projects.

Cons

The only dislike I have is that I cannot push a change across multiple projects at one time. We use templates for almost every project we launch. Sometimes those templates get updated and those changes need to be applied to current projects.

Kion
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Abruptly changed pricing.

Reviewed on 27/06/2018

Long story short, I had been paying a certain amount for 6+ years, they kicked my credit card, made...

Long story short, I had been paying a certain amount for 6+ years, they kicked my credit card, made me reenter the info and told me that plan wasn't available anymore (no prior notice). Then I was faced with the decision to upgrade to a plan that was 6x more than my original plan! I talked to 2 reps and they both told me "we don't offer that plan anymore". All of this happened in the middle of the week while I am trying to deal with my clients. Anyway, I began using zoho projects which I like much more, it has an app and it integrates with a lot of other zoho products. I would highly recommend since the pricing is similar. I left Mavenlink mainly because of the inconvenience, but ZoHo truly provides the same service plus more!

Pros

The workspace was professional, branding gave the sense of personalization. The file space seemed to be unlimited at the time.

Cons

They don't have an app, the mobile equivalent site is not as user friendly as an app would be. Some of the screens are not responsive on a desktop.

Pamela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Great for project management, not great to interface to any other system.

Reviewed on 10/11/2021

Pros

This system does it's main job well, which is to manage projects.

Cons

Attempting to interface this system into any other system is extremely difficult. Mavenlink staff don't seem to have a lot of experience with interfacing their system. We eventually had to come up with our own solution that relied only on a simple data download.

Their pricing model is such that you end up paying a lot of money for relatively little value add i.e. in the area of time keeping. A more extensive licensing fee is charged for people to approve time. Mavenlink would be well served to change their model to charge less for the functions that are not their core competency and more for project management functionality, which is.

Christian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mavenlink makes time tracking and resource planning easy

Reviewed on 28/10/2021

Pros

Ease of use, allocating shared resources, identifying resource gaps and planning for new projects, time sheet approvals of direct reports

Cons

Nothing to speak of in particular, its been a good tool and great improvement for me over the last few years from other tools I have used previously

Michael
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

The basics are there, but too many features fall flat.

Reviewed on 12/11/2017

Benefits include matching estimates and budgets to tasks and breaking apart milestones with tasks...

Benefits include matching estimates and budgets to tasks and breaking apart milestones with tasks and sub-tasks. Activity communication is pretty good.

Pros

I can add a project, estimates and budget and track overall progress. It has given us a more robust look at what is happening across all projects.

Cons

Too many features feel incomplete. The invoicing, estimates and user permissions are convoluted and lacking enough that our company cannot use them. Resource Management requires duplicate entry of information between planned and scheduled time. It should be easier to link the two together and plan around exceptions.

Response from Kantata

Thank you for your insight and feedback regarding your experience. We have forwarded your feedback to our product team and will continue to strive to do better. Your CSM has reached out out to you to learn more and continue to advocate on your behalf, regarding these product enhancements and all your concerns. We look forward to continue to working closely with you regarding your experience. Have a nice day and happy holidays.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good value all around

Reviewed on 26/01/2021

Pros

The tool is quite easy to learn and is very intuitive. It was easy to set up and customer support was great (at least in 2016 - we've been clients for almost 5 years). It integrates with a few other platforms like Salesforce and can be customized using API. In addition, it provides client access and we see constant improvements.

Cons

Two biggest concerns:
1. You can't perform mass actions on tasks/milestones/issues. I.e. if you need to update multiple tasks with the same dates or status or assignee - you can't do it. You'll need to edit each task manually.
2. There are issues with email notifications - there were a few outages last year that resulted in delayed notifications which impacted our work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Worst UX/UI in a project management tool ever.

Reviewed on 08/01/2018

Pros

I dont think I can think of one thing in Mavenlink that another tool did better. It is simply inferior in so many ways, even to free project management tools.

Cons

It is extremely slow! Every click results in a loading.gif. In comparison to Asana which is INSTANT no matter what you click.
I cant find my projects where I need them, I cant find my tasks where I need them, I cant get to important information without clicking 10 things and sifting through scrollable windows and sliding boxes. They are HIDING content behind and Show More; links. They are using PAGINATION on lists of projects... omg. No. Show everything, list everything, please stop making us bob for apples every time we need to find something.
Oh yeah, and the proofing system doesnt even notify you or the task about a conversation happening within it. Changes to your proof? No clue.
You cant mention someone in each area, only in the activity feed.

Response from Kantata

Thank you for your feedback. We value your insights and I have shared your comments with the team to help us improve. I see you have some concerns and would like to address those a little more directly in order to improve your experience with us. We would like to have your CSM reach out to you, but due to the anonymity of this review, we are unable to do so. Please feel free to contact our support team at [email protected], for further assistance or to give us more information on how we can connect with you to assist you with your concerns and answer any questions you may have. Thank you.

Frank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the top project management solutions out there

Reviewed on 14/02/2017

We've been utilizing mavenlink for over 4 years and I have nothing but great things to say it. ...

We've been utilizing mavenlink for over 4 years and I have nothing but great things to say it. They've come a long way from 4 years ago and there's been many updates and improvements that pretty much covers everything you would need in order to manage any projects with team members across the globe or locally. It's a very robust solution that makes things easier to communicate with team members, assign tasks, dead lines, create templates for projects and even involve your client to review the progress and comment. It also intergerates with Google Apps which is great and you can easily sync your tasks on to your google calendar and attach email communications.

any firm that focuses on team projects should give mavenlink a try.

Pros

simple to you use, assigning tasks, creating templates, mobile friendly, integration with google apps.

Cons

not much we can think of.

Phylicia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mavenlink is very good.

Reviewed on 20/04/2017

The only things I would need Mavenlink to add is as follows:
-Have some sort of instant messaging...

The only things I would need Mavenlink to add is as follows:
-Have some sort of instant messaging service between members on a project.
-Allow us to private more than one person when sending messages using m.mavenlink.com.
-Have a real app that we can download from PlayStore/ Windows App Store or any other app store so we can use the full functionality of Mavenlink through the app
-Also in the future, we could have some sort of video conferencing ability for persons on a project to have virtual meetings. That would be a dream!

Pros

It allows my colleagues in different countries to be kept up to date on different aspects of the various projects.

Cons

No instant messaging. App needs to available on Windows store/Playstore/other popular app stores so we can use Mavenlink on our smartphones.