Jira

4.4 (13,930)
Project & Issue Tracking Software - See why we're #1!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(13,930)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support Software
4.2/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

13930 Reviews

Luke
Luke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best and most true to tradition agile project/product management tool around

Reviewed on 09/11/2020

I have a (probably unhealthy) love for Jira and would need a lot of convincing to switch. It's...

I have a (probably unhealthy) love for Jira and would need a lot of convincing to switch. It's interface is genuinely enjoyable to use and it aligns perfectly with agile product management methodologies, natively and in conjunction with its plethora of add-ons.

Pros

Jira is an immensely powerful issue management tool. It's JQL language provides ultimate flexibility to satisfy the needs of all roles on a product/project team. It's easy to use (if agile concepts are familiar to you and semi-intuitive if they're not), easy to deploy (especially if you're using Jira Cloud) and easy to integrate with.

Cons

The pricing model for add-ons. You could have a 100 users registered to your Jira instance, have an add-on that is used by a small handful of power users, and still be paying a license fee for all 100 users. Very annoying!

Alternatives Considered

Trello, monday.com, and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Basecamp was rudimentary and unable to effectively visualise our cross-company/cross-team workload.

Switched From

Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira was the most aligned with our internal development workflows and flexible enough to work for both technical and non-technical users.
Enrique
Enrique
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

There are many programs to manage projects and teams, but they are not Jira

Reviewed on 27/10/2022

As I already mentioned in the example of use in the Pros section, from the simplest project (a...

As I already mentioned in the example of use in the Pros section, from the simplest project (a shopping list), to the most complex, the integration of several work teams from different areas and several very diverse projects, You need software that makes work, communication and organization easier.Jira offers us that, simplifying the management, planning and management of issues, without Jira, order becomes chaos.

Pros

I will give an example of how I used it on one occasion and the advantages of having had this software.I was hired by a digital marketing company to improve proprietary applications, internal APIs, creation and migration of landing pages made in WP for our clients, migration of PHP applications to Python, server management, diversity of containers... The DevOps who was doing all that work left the company.An external audit was hired that provided workers spread all over the world, Spain, India, Latam...So we find ourselves with a lot of work, from very different areas, work environments and projects of all kinds and just one person to manage everything.With Jira we all worked under the same environment to organize tasks, but above all incidents and bugs, and with the need to manage the priorities of each new element that entered our work boards.At a glance, I could assign tasks, review code, refactor or modify it, and upload it to the test servers. Review the tickets, with screenshots of the errors or the new results that should be obtained. Keep in touch with everyone from one place and also receive all feedback in Jira.It was months of hard work, without Jira it would have been impossible to manage it.

Cons

Despite having Jira with everything necessary for software development, sometimes it becomes more complex and less visual than if we accompany it with some extras, also from Atlassian. So it is easier for some boards or planning to use Trello, GitHub or Bitbucket for continuous integration, Sourcetree to make the different branches and versions more visual, Composer for team collaboration...

Alternatives Considered

Trello

Reasons for Choosing Jira

It is expensive to maintain and you never get the ease of use and tools of software of this quality.

Reasons for Switching to Jira

It is more complete for incident management, priorities integrates better with other solutions
Michael
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

JIRA - The monolith everyone uses

Reviewed on 15/11/2018

We use JIRA to plan monolithic projects across our organization and communicate with teams in...

We use JIRA to plan monolithic projects across our organization and communicate with teams in multiple time zones and regions. We have a tier 1 tool plugin that allows our tier 1 support to escalate tickets for tier 2 and that is where we perform our work. I work indirectly with our JIRA administrator and project managers to support them while they support the JIRA platform for our organization. I have worked with JIRA in numerous organizations and while I've given it a mediocre score overall, it is a useful and irreplaceable tool overall.

Pros

JIRA is an industry standard tool, due to this it's very well known and a colloquial metaphor for "tickets" in and of itself. JIRA is able to handle monolithic projects and the many related projects with regard to them.
JIRA is very good at allowing and automatically building self-referencing tickets within it's comments and ticket parts, if you put a ticket title into a ticket it will automatically reference the actual ticket with a link. It is also very good at adding to existing tickets with related tasks, sub-tasks, and prioritization. JIRA also is considered in almost every third party tool with a massive volume of software that offers "JIRA plugins" considering it's high stature with the IT community.

Cons

JIRA is "the tool" but it's not "a good tool" for every project and company size. JIRA is like other commercial grade products that just aren't designed for simple day to day use. While it opens up nicely and begins to make tons of sense in larger projects, larger organizations, and larger teams it often doesn't show the same beauty with simple projects and day to day ticket tracking.

Additionally, the JQL language is ridiculous follows in the foot steps of many other proprietary languages that are only great for constant users of JIRA. While that's the implied scenario because as mentioned JIRA is "the tool" it's not always the case. When my day is split 20 ways, I have little time to sit down and do more than plug in a JIRA ticket number to get to the issue to investigate, review, get sign off on a fix, and apply.

JIRA is also having what appears to be a lot of difficulties this year staying online with their new data center providers. I don't remember ever having these issues prior to their most recent move.

Sreenivas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jira used by a software test manager

Reviewed on 11/11/2023

Overall experience is Good with Jira while using and managing a full fledged Project along with...

Overall experience is Good with Jira while using and managing a full fledged Project along with following scrum boards or agile methodologies.

Pros

We can easily create tasks and stories to manage the project and plan the sprints.
Once sprint is done, we can generate the reports to see the burndown charts.
We can check the sprint capacity dynamically by assigning the sprint to our tasks or stories.
Can generate different types of dashboards for issues or tasks by using JQL quires.

Cons

Need to learn JQL to create advanced filters or dashboards.
Sometimes adding a new column to a filter little tricky.
Exporting the data to excel is also sometimes not easy.

Tanner
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Jira is great for software development or other agile methodologies

Reviewed on 13/11/2023

Pros

Jira is robust in tracking minute details and keeping them in a backlog which will then be worked.

Cons

Jira's ability to report in a meaningful way, outside of the tool itself, is not great. It is very difficult and I found that pushing people into the tool was necessary.

Alternatives Considered

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Switching to Jira

We kept Jira because it was already integrated with our service desk so highly and making the switch to a new ticketing system was not something we wanted to do at this time.
Thao
Thao
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JIRA, best software for project management

Reviewed on 10/11/2023

Pros

- Many features
- Easy to use
- Best performance

Cons

- Price is high
- Need more document
- Need more plugin

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for bug tracking and program management

Reviewed on 07/11/2023

Pros

Ability to track tickets via Jira as well as via email
Accountability and transparency to see where a ticket is and who is dealing with it

Cons

I think it can be overwhelming sometimes for a basic user

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool to manage your workflow

Reviewed on 31/10/2023

Exciting experience

Exciting experience

Pros

The ease of use, effective steps, and useful for setting goals and monitoring them, the free plan is helpful for small businesses and entrepreneurs

Cons

Complexity in one place 'you will need to learn about every aspect to master it'

Alternatives Considered

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira

I did some research and I felt more comfortable choosing it over other options
Eldar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great project management tool

Reviewed on 14/02/2024

Pros

I liked how easy it is to work with others on the same project and tasks.

Cons

Can be a bit overwhelming at start, but after you know how to use it it’s pretty easy

Jomon
Jomon
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Helps in planning and tracking

Reviewed on 14/02/2024

Pros

Multiple people can be used at same time

Cons

Limited file size can only handle. Reports are not efficient

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for Backlogs and Organizing Software Releases - Bad For Agility

Reviewed on 15/07/2019

Great software, but I couldn't believe there was no native chat support for assisting with issues....

Great software, but I couldn't believe there was no native chat support for assisting with issues. Really Atlassian? Are you that proud of the UI? You shouldn't be... you probably bought Trello because enough people were having a hard time figuring out all of Jira's quirks. Trello is so much easier and faster to get up and running for projects, so that was a good buy. Take notes.

Pros

The backlog and features for managing the backlog with different methodologies such as Kanban, Scrum, or Kanban + Scrum hybrid are very flexible. Planning sprints, releasing sprints, and looking at history of what was done is very organized.

Cons

Cumbersome to setup. Workflows for issues and UI/UX for creating them is not easy to understand. Sure you can figure it out, but it will require a lot of facepalms. It's good for larger organizations with several cross-functional teams, but if you are a smaller organization stick with Trello and checklists for the cards if sub-tasks are needed. The sub-tasks in Jira are just plain awful to work with, and will end up wasting a lot of time for your team.

Vedarth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

good tool for project management

Reviewed on 26/11/2019

Collaboration of our team has improved after we started using Jira, the tools helps in planning and...

Collaboration of our team has improved after we started using Jira, the tools helps in planning and identifying gaps while we develop features. The mobile application is really good and one can get work done from mobile app as well. Overall Jira suites our needs.

Pros

Jira is very flexible and can be used for different use cases, eg: project management, issue tracker, road maps etc.
It is quite easy to configure compared to other generic project management tools.

Cons

The transition from old user interface to new one, it is very confusing, the UI is not consistent when we visit URLs from email notifications.
Compared to other generic tools, Jira is quite easy but still it is not easy to setup, it takes quite a few days to configure the system as per needs. It would be great if there were boilerplate templates.

Alternatives Considered

YouTrack

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Pivotal tracker is very specific for project management, we needed a customisable product which we can use with our existing workflows.

Switched From

Pivotal Tracker

Reasons for Switching to Jira

JIRA was easy to configure and had all the plugins we needed, it was just plug and play.
Julian
Julian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Go Agile with JIRA!

Reviewed on 08/12/2019

Jira is very easy to use from the user perspective, as well as operating it from the Admin...

Jira is very easy to use from the user perspective, as well as operating it from the Admin perspective. Overall I personally suggest this product, although its price not being very welcoming, it's definitely worth the money! If you're a very large organization you definitely will want to try Jira.

Pros

Jira is a very good platform for organizing your team and projects using Agile/Scrum or Agile/Kanban. Whichever option you will choose you are covered! With its extensible platform through plugins you will never get tired of Jira. The installation is pretty much straightforward and with latest versions you can also make it HA, for instance on AWS, quite easily.

Cons

Although the product is very mature, feels also like a big giant monolith although its plugin architecture. Also, plugins are too much expensive for just simple features. There should be much control from the Atlassian Marketplace, which should follow more an App Store logic like Apple's or Google's one.

Alternatives Considered

Pivotal Tracker and Trello

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira is way more famous and most of the Agile coaches working in the field, are already aware on how to use and customize it, based to their needs.
Jon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The industry standard for managing the Software Development Lifecycle

Reviewed on 25/06/2020

I've used everything from Excel spreadsheets to MS Access to MS Project and I find that JIRA is the...

I've used everything from Excel spreadsheets to MS Access to MS Project and I find that JIRA is the best bang for the buck when managing our SDLC.

Pros

We use JIRA online and it's dead simple to create and manage complex tasks. I love the ability to integrate with great packages like Confluence (which is SOOOO much better than Slack!).

Cons

Getting new employees up to speed on using the software is more time consuming that it should be. I'd prefer a more intuitive UI.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Project

Reasons for Choosing Jira

JIRA matches our software development process (which changed from Waterfall to Agile over time).

Switched From

Microsoft Project

Reasons for Switching to Jira

JIRA matches our software development process (which changed from Waterfall to Agile over time). I also like the flexibility hosted JIRA online gives us to add/administer users and tickets from anywhere.
Randy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The software an engineering department can not live without

Reviewed on 09/10/2020

Jira cuppled with Agile processes have driven the velocity and overall engineering teams to new...

Jira cuppled with Agile processes have driven the velocity and overall engineering teams to new heights at the company. I don't see a world where once you are on it you are with it for better or worse.

Pros

First of all I want to say Jira is DOMINATING the market. There is little that Jira cannot do which makes it a no brainer of everything most startups and companies will use. I love that Jira for the most part is a one-stop-shop for Engineering teams, IT teams, Knowledgebase, ticketing systems. You don't really see issues with using Jira until you get bigger. The fact that I can link Jira tickets to my Git commits and add confluence documents to my tickets and google drive files ALL IN ONE is ourtagious and its something my company loves inside and out.

Cons

Just like every software out there you cannot be perfect in all ways. Because Jira is a one-stop-shop the biggest issues we have is customization of Jira. Not because Jira cant be customized, but only because it can be customized so much that we need set Jira admins whos sole job it is to manage Jira for the entire company because of the huge learning curve because it takes so much time how to figure out even the littest changes to make our lives easier. On top of that, a big issues I see if that as you grow in Jira it is a money pit at times to have it scale with the company. At this point, we are so vested in Jira we cannot get off of it. Adding SSO, and Confluence, and CI DI, and all the features that they promote arent dominating their fields, but its like "Well.... We are on Jira and they don't integrate well with other software so if we want the best features I guess we will have to use all their software"

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Like I said, Jira is leader in the market for Engineering teams, it makes the most sense. Jira is the best software for startup companies needing it.
Aaron
Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best option available, and a great value

Reviewed on 19/04/2021

Pros

This software is so great, that you really don't need to train people on how to use it. Project managers will be familiar within a day, and users will understand it quickly because Atlassian put a lot of work into an intuitive user interface.

This is the best option on the market if you want something that scales across your company without draining your energy. Not only will you run projects through here, but you can also setup all your standard business processes to run through here.

Using the marketplace, there are some great extensions for Jira. We built our entire accounting team into Jira, and used it to know we were following through with our key daily, weekly, monthly processes. Using a scheduler plugin, we were able to create tasks, with subtasks, delegate them, follow up with progress, and print a custom summary report at month end outlining completion, completion date, user, and notes.

Cons

You will likely want confluence or google sheets to keep overall big picture notes.

Alternatives Considered

Airtable, Basecamp, and Asana

Switched From

Smartsheet

Reasons for Switching to Jira

All the features you need already exist. It's mature, but fully cloud, and feels fully cloud.
James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Streamlines management of complex workloads across a large team for efficient task management

Reviewed on 24/05/2022

The biggest transformation in how we work has been the increase in efficiency and accountability...

The biggest transformation in how we work has been the increase in efficiency and accountability that Jira has provided. As with all similar types of task management software, the most important Factor in success is team buy in, and we found that Jira helped us to track tasks and project work in a more granular way which helped staff plan their workloads better while increasing productivity.

Pros

Jira allows us to efficiently manage a tasks across a wide variety of different projects, assigning work easily to each team member and allowing us to run a clear process from briefing through quality checking. It has allowed the team to communicate more effectively and improved the overall quality of delivery with better expectation management.

Cons

We've used a variety of different task and process managment tools in the past - and still do for direct client work where they have a preference (e.g. Basecamp, Asana etc), and the interface on Jira is maybe not as attractive, but it works fine and allows good interaction.

Alternatives Considered

Trello and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

We've used a variety of different task and project management solutions with clients in the past, but Jira proved to be a better fit for us as an organisation, primarily because it was better suited to the size of our team and the number of projects we were working on.
Brad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Advanced Project & Task Management Features...But How It's Configured is Key to Success

Reviewed on 05/08/2022

Pros

I've been using Atlassian products, JIRA in particular, for over 12 years. It's come a long ways in this span in terms of advanced functionality and additional configurable content, and it's consistently proven itself as a market leader in project and task management services. JIRA reporting, dashboard, task tracking, and project development activities are comprehensively impressively designed, easy to use, and highly collaborative for internal teams.

Cons

The success an end user will yield from the software is highly dependent on it being configured in a manner that aligns with the business needs of the customer organization. For example, I've experienced instances where there are growing pains in how internal teams learn to standardize the way they tag tickets for project and task tracking and then use these identifiers to develop reports, create dashboards, and track schedules. If not setup properly by System Administrators then the ROI will be delayed, making it essential for teams to be properly educated and trained on the system. JIRA provides a wealth of content for training & education but worth noting the difficulty an organization can face if not approached strategically and with strong design plans during the discovery phase of implementation.

Benjamin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Advanced Project Management tool

Reviewed on 25/10/2022

As a software solutions company, we have numerous projects on the go and use Jira to track them. We...

As a software solutions company, we have numerous projects on the go and use Jira to track them. We use Scrum, and Jira matches up with the Scrum process well. We do weekly sprints where we review the backlog and add tasks to our sprint, and this process is easy with Jira and allows many options.

Pros

Jira is a nice and powerful tool to track our projects. This includes all Epics, Stories, Tasks, Sub-tasks and bugs. It allows for many options as well, including labels, easy prioritization (drag and drop). Recently they have added features to help track milestones, so you don't need MS project anymore. There are a lot of different reports (good for clients) and numerous integrations available.

Cons

After you get to so many users, the costs increase quite a bit. Confluence and some add-ons are also additional costs. We have also found the odd bug. For example, the wrong ticket is updated, or in the backlog view the mouse curser can no longer select rows (fixed by a refresh). Classic Projects vs. New Project is also a bit confusing. It's hard to get new features for some of our old projects, unless we recreate the Project from the start.

Alternatives Considered

Trello, Microsoft Project, Basecamp, Wrike, and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

We chose Jira as our team has experience using it already.
Muhammed
Muhammed
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Must have tool for every project management

Reviewed on 21/04/2023

Jira can help businesses improve their project management processes and workflows, streamline...

Jira can help businesses improve their project management processes and workflows, streamline collaboration and communication between teams, and track progress and performance more effectively. With Jira, teams can manage their tasks, projects, and issues in a centralized location, which can help improve visibility and transparency across the organization.Jira can also help businesses improve their agility and responsiveness by enabling them to quickly adapt to changing priorities and requirements. Teams can use Jira's customizable workflows to automate their processes and ensure that everyone is following the same standards and best practices.Overall, Jira can help businesses solve various project management and collaboration challenges, improve their productivity and efficiency, and achieve their goals more effectively.

Pros

One of its strengths is its flexibility and customization. Jira allows teams to create and track issues, assign tasks, set priorities, and monitor progress through various workflows and dashboards.Another advantage of Jira is its integration with other tools and platforms. Jira can integrate with tools like GitHub, Bitbucket, Confluence, and many others, which makes it easier for teams to manage their projects and collaborate seamlessly.

Cons

One of the main criticisms of Jira is its complexity. Jira has many features and customization options, which can be overwhelming for new users. It can take some time to learn how to use Jira effectively and configure it to suit your team's needs.Another potential challenge with Jira is its pricing. While Jira offers a free version for small teams, its pricing can be relatively high for larger organizations or teams with more complex needs. Some users may find it difficult to justify the cost of Jira compared to other project management tools.

Alternatives Considered

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Because of flexibility and customization options. And also integration with bitbucket
David
David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Complete Project management Solution

Reviewed on 17/10/2023

It's a great all in one agile tool. It's easy to use and very powerful. Jira has a lot of integratio...

It's a great all in one agile tool. It's easy to use and very powerful. Jira has a lot of integrations.

Pros

I've been using Jira for over 12 years. The software has grown and improved over time. Jira remains a leading product in class.

Cons

The billing is a pain. Bitbucket is separated out and it's hard to manage the different accounts. The billing panel needs to be easier to use.

Alternatives Considered

ClickUp

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Azure Dev ops was quite expensive and the user management is painful

Switched From

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira is purpose built for Agile. Click up is one of those do everything tools.
Senthilkumar
Senthilkumar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Effective Agile business project board

Reviewed on 17/01/2020

We used JIRA for agile development and testing projects for tracking status. Multiple scrum and...

We used JIRA for agile development and testing projects for tracking status. Multiple scrum and agile masters used JIRA, resulted effective outcomes, tracking in a easy way and watch out without a delivery miss. Creating sub tasks within task lead to deep level of monitoring work items, given confident to manage the task items. We have used user stories, back logs, mini sprints, daily hour stand up calls which given target throughput accurately. Used JIRA in the form of test cases, defects, change request types, requirement analysis - all forms of software test and development life cycle along with multiple development tools like dotnet, GitHub, etc.,

Pros

Couple of features below that I really admired the most-Mobile version of Jira board, colorful status tracking with accurate percentage, effective customized workflow modal, quick peek view of tasks in dashboard, search option for any filter, quick catch for getting user by using '@', easy query handling and filters, easier mode of cloning tasks, linking items and referencing, multiple built in report types like bar chart, pie charts, etc., Kanban & Agile flexi boards, vast of plugin support like git-hub, git bucket, zendesk, etc., From the admin point - easy configuration of development tools dotnet, configuring mailing options, deep level view of audit logs, watch list for issues.Couple of features below that I really admired the most-Mobile version of Jira board, colorful status tracking with accurate percentage, effective customized workflow modal, quick peek view of tasks in dashboard, search option for any filter, quick catch for getting user by using '@', easy query handling and filters, easier mode of cloning tasks, linking items and referencing, multiple built in report types like bar chart, pie charts, etc., Kanban & Agile flexi boards, vast of plugin support like git-hub, git bucket, zendesk, etc., From the admin point - easy configuration of development tools dotnet, configuring mailing options, deep level view of audit logs, watch list for issues.

Cons

Sometimes I feel, the JIRA GUI is clumsy to have many things in dashboard, other than that I do not see any specific negative factors to hate JIRA, and it depends on how we use the features for projects.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One Stop Project Management Tool

Reviewed on 05/09/2021

We have been using JIRA across the current project and there are at least 10 different teams...

We have been using JIRA across the current project and there are at least 10 different teams (Squads) which are working on their projects (Large Project broken into sub projects). From feature describing to user story writing, test cases, defects, reports, matrix, dashboards, time tracking all such activities been handled by JIRA.

Pros

JIRA is one of the best, simple, and user friendly project management tool. We have been working for almost 3 years now and the user experience it offers is applaudable. You can create your agile boards for scrums and can go KANBAN as well. You can create as many different teams and squads. Link your issues to stories and trace it to the feature, Track how much effort is being spent on an item; Track for how long an item has been been sitting idle; Prioritize your issues, backlogs; Create dashboards for ease and convenience; generate reports, traceability matrix, velocity burndown charts; add/remove user access. You can customize it as per requirement and with ease. Recently it has moved to cloud, so down time has been relevantly decreased which is an added bonus. Best part I like about using JIRA is that its very easy to handle, we can do bulk update on items and it takes very less time to understand. This is one of the best tools that is out there and I believe almost every organization is using it.

Cons

There is nothing much to add in this section. Practically I am all thumbs up for JIRA. I have a suggestion though. JIRA needs to have a Instant Messaging option enabled so that an organizations do not need to look out for a separate tool. I think if Atlassian would be able to achieve it, not only they would be able to enhance their customer base but they would be able bring a lot revenue.

Marvin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Top Tier Organizer

Reviewed on 04/02/2022

I was looking for something that can give me ticket management, reports, workflow, collaboration.

I...

I was looking for something that can give me ticket management, reports, workflow, collaboration.

It is top tier product for executing coordination and arranging innovation.

Pros

JIRA permits groups to envision and comprehend assumptions for when to convey an undertaking, have knowledge into project/group/individual limit, and track stay at work past 40 hours.

In a remote-first world, JIRA permits you to keep up with tight correspondence and adjusted degrees even as groups work across time regions.

JIRA is extraordinary for having the option to sort out the extent of significant elements or item dispatches in a manner that can be imagined across groups.

Cons

There is an expectation to absorb information to working in JIRA, it isn't quickly instinctive to another client. It normally requires a great deal of learning to most actually and ideally use JIRA. A great deal of it accompanies time and experience.

There are a ton of extravagant accessories in JIRA. It's truly incredible that you can mark or coordinate tickets in a wide range of ways. It is truly dependent upon the association to make a technique for getting sorted out inside those extravagant accessories. This implies each time you go to another association, there is a great deal of cross-over, however, you are gaining some significant knowledge of new techniques and best practices too.

Alternatives Considered

Teamwork.com, ClickUp, and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Ease of use, and overall better product
Miguel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Managin Technical Projects The Right Way

Reviewed on 19/11/2018

JIRA has lots of features and functionalities than can take time to master. From most project...

JIRA has lots of features and functionalities than can take time to master. From most project management applications' perspective, JIRA is one of the most complex to master. But it truly is the most complete in terms of offering development teams all the tools they need. This means that trying to run a fairly large and complex enterprise environment on JIRA might need the addition of a JIRA administrator to keep things organized.

Pros

JIRA offers true Agile support for managing technical projects. Initially developed by developers for developers, JIRA is a powerful tool that captures more than just the project management aspect of any development project.

JIRA offers a complete suite of issue tracking throughout the development life cycle. Starting with the backlog and planning, JIRA lets you layout your entire project across as many iterations (Sprints) as necessary. It provides ease of tracking the project progress and offers a host of tools for collaboration such as commenting threads. Projects and their projects can also be tracked across releases, with its release management capabilities, and provide comprehensive reports on performance and progress.

JIRA is extremely flexible and offers pre-set templates across all functionalities, and allows you to modify them as neededto fit your team and organization's needs. Unlike some products with rigidity built into them, JIRA allows you to define how your team works.

JIRA has a vast number of integrations and add-ons to further enhance its capabilities.

Cons

JIRA is very powerful and very detailed. So much so, that some users often find it quite cumbersome if their development environments are not complex. Essentially, JIRA fits beautifully in any environment, but is extremely robust for enterprise environments, making it perceptively complex in small simple projects.