Jira

4.4 (13,133)
Project & Issue Tracking Software - See why we're #1!

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(13,133)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support Software
4.2/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

13133 Reviews

Bhaskar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing tool for Issue Tracking and Project management

Reviewed on 21/01/2023

Jira is a fantastic tool for bug tracking and project management. Its user interface and user experience are top-notch, making it easy to navigate and use. The software is highly customizable, allowing users to tailor it to their specific needs and requirements. The dashboards and reports are very informative and provide a clear overview of the progress of a project. The ability to assign tasks, set priorities, and track progress makes it a great tool for team collaboration. Additionally, the integration with other tools such as Confluence and Trello makes it even more powerful. Overall, Jira is a reliable and efficient tool that I highly recommend to any security engineer or project manager looking to streamline their workflow. It's a great tool to keep track of bugs and make sure they are being addressed in a timely manner. It's also a great way to keep stakeholders informed of project progress and any issues that may arise. Overall, Jira is a great tool that will help to improve your team's productivity and communication.

Pros

It's a great tool to keep track of bugs and make sure they are being addressed in a timely manner. It's also a great way to keep stakeholders informed of project progress and any issues that may arise

Cons

I did not find any cons in Jira, it works seemlessly.

Teddy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review on Jira

Reviewed on 24/01/2023

Jira has been a great tool for managing my team's projects, making it easy to keep track of deadlines and tasks. Its flexibility and customization options sets it apart from other project management tools.

Pros

Jira offers an intuitive interface, making it easy to manage tasks and projects for both experienced and amateur users. It also has many add-ons and integrations that enhance its functionality.

Cons

Jira can be overwhelming with multiple projects, but it's manageable once you get the hang of it.

Marta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I enjoy Jira software but there are few things that can be improved in my opinion.

Reviewed on 24/05/2022

My overall experience with Jira is good and I do not plan to switch to other tool right now.

Pros

I like that I can really easily navigate between the projects because I am in multiple projects at once. I really like the possiblity to customize a lot of things, mostly the kanban board lanes and tickets details. I love linking feature, I find it really useful and I use it a lot. What is very important to me is also the Tempo application and I like how it's integrated in Jira, so I can really easily log my time into proper tickets. In our company we also use the Bitbucket and Confluence and I really enjoy that I can easily create feature branches, commits or pull requests from Jira itself. I also like the report tools to control my overall work.

Cons

I have a lot of diffuculties with Tempo application search issues feature. Since I am participating in a lot of different projects it is really hard to search proper ticket, neither using ticket code nor ticket name is not functioning good enough. Sometimes I feel also overwhelmed with the amount of features which I don't use at all and I am getting lost in the user interface.

Beyzanur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira Review

Reviewed on 14/01/2023

Overall, I highly recommend Jira to any team or business looking for a robust project management tool. It may take some time to get used to, but the benefits are well worth it in the end.

Pros

Jira is an extremely powerful and versatile project management tool that has helped our team stay organized and on track with all of our projects. The user interface is intuitive and easy to navigate, and the ability to customize workflows and add various plugins has been a game-changer for us.

Cons

One downside is that the pricing can be a bit steep for smaller teams or businesses. Additionally, the learning curve can be steep for new users, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes much easier to use.

Noureen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Boost Your Team's Productivity with Jira.

Reviewed on 24/02/2023

In my experience, Jira Software is a powerful tool that can be a great asset to teams and organizations, particularly those following Agile methodologies. However, it can also be quite complex and overwhelming, especially for teams that are not already familiar with project management best practices. The tool's customization options and reporting capabilities are impressive, but they require significant investment in training and support to use effectively. Additionally, the tool's cost can be a concern, particularly for small or budget-constrained teams. Overall, while Jira Software has its benefits and drawbacks, it can be a valuable tool for teams that are willing to invest the time and resources needed to master it

Pros

Jira Software is a powerful project management tool that offers numerous benefits to teams and organizations. One of its key strengths is its flexibility and customization options. With Jira Software, users can create custom workflows, issue types, and fields, allowing them to tailor the tool to their specific needs and processes. This can lead to increased efficiency and productivity, as well as better project outcomes.Another major advantage of Jira Software is its robust reporting and analytics capabilities. The tool provides a wide range of built-in reports and dashboards, which can be customized to display the data and metrics that are most relevant to the team or project. This can help teams identify areas for improvement, track progress towards goals, and make data-driven decisions.Jira Software also supports Agile methodologies, making it an ideal tool for software development teams that follow Agile practices such as Scrum or Kanban. The tool includes features such as backlog management, sprint planning, and burndown charts, which can help Agile teams stay organized and focused on delivering value to customers.

Cons

it can be complex and difficult to use, particularly for teams that are not already familiar with Agile methodologies or project management best practices. This can lead to a steep learning curve and require significant investment in training and support.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My experience while adopting Jira

Reviewed on 13/01/2023

fair enough

Pros

the deployment was easy and you don't need any special skills to do

Cons

user interface is not as easy as it should be, I feel they need improvement on the front end side of the app

Alternatives Considered

Sunrise ITSM, ClickUp, and Bitrix24

Reasons for Choosing Jira

I need something more automated

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Jira

My manager prefer Jira because he had used it before
Yann
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira

Reviewed on 09/03/2023

It is a very powerful and comprehensive project tracking and management tool. It is incredibly easy to use and customize to fit the specific needs of my team. The user interface is intuitive and user friendly, and the ability to customize workflows, view tasks and track progress is invaluable.

Pros

Jira is a widely-used and highly-regarded project and issue tracking platform that makes managing projects simpler. Its user-friendly interface and comprehensive features, including issue tracking, project management, and reporting, make it a great choice for teams that need to quickly become proficient in using the tool. In addition, its integration with other tools such as Confluence and Slack make it even easier to manage projects and teams. All in all, Jira is an excellent tool for streamlining project and issue management.

Cons

I like everything about Jira but the learning curve is a bit difficult.

Hina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Highly Effective Tool for Project Management and Collaboration

Reviewed on 21/01/2023

I've had a great experience with Jira. It's an incredibly powerful project management tool that allows for real-time collaboration and planning. It's easy to use and intuitive, and I've found it to be an essential tool for staying organized and keeping track of progress. The flexibility of the platform makes it a great fit for any type of project, from small to large scale initiatives.

Pros

I liked that JIRA was very user friendly and could be customized to fit whatever project or workflow I was trying to manage. It was also great that it allowed for collaboration among team members and was able to track progress and tasks with ease. Additionally, I loved the fact that JIRA could be integrated with other tools and services, which allowed me to easily create reports and manage my tasks and projects with more efficiency.

Cons

The least liked thing about JIRA is the complexity of the system and the difficulty of learning how to use it. It can be quite overwhelming for users who are not familiar with the system, and it can take a long time to learn how to use it effectively. Additionally, the cost of the system can be prohibitive for smaller organizations.

Kavindu Githsara
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Boost Your Team's Efficiency with Jira's Customizable Workflows

Reviewed on 10/03/2023

Overall, Jira is a powerful project management tool that offers a lot of flexibility and customization options. While it can be difficult to learn and resource-intensive, its benefits outweigh the drawbacks for many teams. As an admin user of Jira, I would recommend it to other companies looking for a comprehensive project management solution.

Pros

One of the biggest advantages of Jira is its flexibility. It is highly customizable, and allows you to create your own workflows, issue types, and fields. This means that you can set up Jira to match your team's specific needs and processes, which can greatly improve efficiency and productivity. Another benefit of Jira is its integrations with other tools, such as GitHub, Bitbucket, and Confluence. This allows for seamless collaboration between team members and tools, and ensures that everyone is working on the same page.

Cons

However, one downside of Jira is its steep learning curve. While the flexibility of Jira is a big advantage, it also means that the software can be complex and difficult to navigate, especially for new users. Additionally, Jira can be slow and resource-intensive, which can be frustrating for users who are trying to work quickly and efficiently.

Bhavya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Paid Tools for Team Management

Reviewed on 11/02/2023

In general, Jira is well-regarded by its users, who appreciate its flexibility and customization options, as well as its integration with other tools and platforms. Overall, Jira is a highly regarded tool in the software development industry due to its capabilities and its ability to support the entire development process from planning to release.

Pros

One of the things that I often like about Jira is its flexibility and customization options. Jira can be adapted to fit the specific needs and workflows of a wide range of teams and projects, which makes it a versatile tool for software development.Additionally, Jira's integration with other tools, such as development environments, version control systems, and testing tools, makes it a seamless part of the software development process. This helps teams to track issues, manage tasks, and ensure that everyone is aligned on project goals.

Cons

Jira is a widely used project management and issue-tracking tool, and I have reported a few common issues with the software, such as:Complexity: Jira can be overwhelming for most of the users & me, as it has a lot of features and can be complex to navigate.Customization limitations: I have reported difficulties in customizing certain aspects of Jira, such as the user interface, to fit their specific needs.Performance issues: I have reported slow performance and sluggishness when using Jira, particularly when working with large datasets.Integration difficulties: Integrating Jira with other tools can sometimes be challenging and may require technical expertise.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JIRA is essential for good software development but you NEED to invest in configuration

Reviewed on 25/02/2021

I love JIRA because I am an organizer and I spend the time getting it right. But you need that kind of commitment for the best experience.

Pros

The powerhouse controls that allow you to configure exactly the solution you need. JIRA is unmatched in customization. For controlling workflows, getting status updates and clearly understanding what's on your plate, JIRA is amazing.

Cons

The use of JIRA without properly configuring it. Without that commitment, JIRA can be offputting and seem like a heavy mess of a system. You need to remove what you don't use, need to set everything up for individuals and you need to educate your team about how they can use the system. It's so open that it can overwhelm people without management.

Alternatives Considered

Trello

Reasons for Choosing Jira

JIRA is more structured and better at reporting.

Reasons for Switching to Jira

A comprehensive solution, including the use of Confluence for doc management.
Deepanshu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jira offers a comprehensive range of project management services.

Reviewed on 12/10/2022

From last 3 years, I am using Atlassian products especially Jira. With ease, I am managing my agile and software development products in Jira. This tool offers a vast variety of services/functionalities which really helped me a lot to manage my project and activities on a daily basis. Scrum/kanban board, automation, service desk/issue collectors & integration with other applications like servicenow, slack etc helps me to keep track of all the info at one place. The integration of Jira with other applications like Servicenow, slack, github etc helps me to keep track of all the info at one place. With Github integration, I can manage my repos and pull requests info on Jira issues. Jira slack integration helps to get the notifications each time an issue gets created in my Jira project. Jira Servicenow integration is great functionality for Incident management tracking in Jira.

Pros

The best thing about this tool is that it offers you so much functionalities that makes your day to day work easier to manage and you can easily keep track all the project info at one place. Integration with other applications is one of the great functionality what this tool offers.

Cons

There are limited automations functionalities this software has to offer. While the project is software type, it does not offer you the automations functionalities. Other than that, this tool is a one stop solution for all your project needs.

Alternatives Considered

Zoho Sprints

Reasons for Switching to Jira

Jira is my preferred option over Zoho because of their superior user interface and user experience.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect Combination of Customizable, Detail-Oriented, and Easy to Use

Reviewed on 20/06/2019

Pros

I love JIRA. I use it professionally and personally. Even though it is primarily a task manager for software development, I have found that it is flexible enough to be used for all sorts of projects. It is amazing how customizable it is; you can configure your project settings to your already existing workflow, whatever it may be. While the initial setup can be time consuming, once you have your settings configured, using the tool is a breeze. It takes seconds to create tasks, start springs, evaluate progress, etc. I find that this makes JIRA standout from other task managers. In most cases, if the software allows for detail-oriented task management the process of inputting and tracking the tasks themselves is cumbersome. Entering and tracking tasks should not have to be another time-consuming task! The JIRA web application is also excellent, making it easy to enter or track tasks on-the-go.

Cons

I think there is a lot of potential with Jira's NextGen projects, however, the software rollout has been uneven and often not well documented. I wish this process would have been better thought out to make transitioning to NextGen projects smoother.

Enrique
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

There are many programs to manage projects and teams, but they are not Jira

Reviewed on 27/10/2022

As I already mentioned in the example of use in the Pros section, from the simplest project (a shopping list), to the most complex, the integration of several work teams from different areas and several very diverse projects, You need software that makes work, communication and organization easier.Jira offers us that, simplifying the management, planning and management of issues, without Jira, order becomes chaos.

Pros

I will give an example of how I used it on one occasion and the advantages of having had this software.I was hired by a digital marketing company to improve proprietary applications, internal APIs, creation and migration of landing pages made in WP for our clients, migration of PHP applications to Python, server management, diversity of containers... The DevOps who was doing all that work left the company.An external audit was hired that provided workers spread all over the world, Spain, India, Latam...So we find ourselves with a lot of work, from very different areas, work environments and projects of all kinds and just one person to manage everything.With Jira we all worked under the same environment to organize tasks, but above all incidents and bugs, and with the need to manage the priorities of each new element that entered our work boards.At a glance, I could assign tasks, review code, refactor or modify it, and upload it to the test servers. Review the tickets, with screenshots of the errors or the new results that should be obtained. Keep in touch with everyone from one place and also receive all feedback in Jira.It was months of hard work, without Jira it would have been impossible to manage it.

Cons

Despite having Jira with everything necessary for software development, sometimes it becomes more complex and less visual than if we accompany it with some extras, also from Atlassian. So it is easier for some boards or planning to use Trello, GitHub or Bitbucket for continuous integration, Sourcetree to make the different branches and versions more visual, Composer for team collaboration...

Alternatives Considered

Trello

Reasons for Choosing Jira

It is expensive to maintain and you never get the ease of use and tools of software of this quality.

Reasons for Switching to Jira

It is more complete for incident management, priorities integrates better with other solutions
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Makes most sense for software projects and products.

Reviewed on 10/12/2019

JIRA is our source of truth for what is inside, coming out and ready to go next in, in our engineering pipeline is. There isn't a better tool out there even for miles and once you are cosy with JIRA, you can't really make do with another tool.

Pros

1) Releases/Versions:
Releases allow us to work in parallel on multiple efforts with the same team.
2) Parallel Sprints:
Same as releases, we are a lean team and we have to work on Product features and polish/bug fixes simultaneously.
3) Custom Filters: I like these the most!

Cons

They have taken out small pieces of functionality and made them separate products. These products are now paid and for those small pieces of functionality, you have to make extra purchases. e.g. Pages

Alternatives Considered

GitHub, Trello, and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Jira

JIRA is complete suite for base requirements for development. If you are using Bitbucket for holding your repos then it makes the most sense as well. Atlassian has done a great job with a niche market of software in mind and even though it may seem like an overkill to use it for projects outside the engineering, it is still the best choice for engineering.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly flexible Agile project management tool but a little complicated to use.

Reviewed on 26/08/2022

I love using Jira as I can configure it as per my project's needs and I highly recommend this tool if your team is following 'Agile Development' process.

Pros

I have been using Jira from last 5+ years now for Backlog management, Requirements management, Bug tracking and creating Dashboards for project review meetings with leadership. It's extremely flexible tool where you can configure your own workflows and customize it as per your project's needs. It's my go-to Agile project management tool (especially for Scrum). It's so easy to create and manage user stories, bugs, technical tasks etc. You can tag your user stories as per Epics and Features, you can also add labels to each ticket. You can track the status of any ticket and also see the bandwidth allocation of various teams. In JIRA, you can add advanced search filters to view only those user stories that has particular combination of fields (like specific assignee, status, epic name etc.). Moreover, JIRA Dashboard provides a bird's eye view of the overall project status which gives the real time visibility to you and the leadership team.

The UI is very clean and simple and it makes Agile Development very productive, once you get the hang of it. Plus, it's very well integrated with many popular apps like Google workplace, workday, slack etc.

But there is definitely a steep learning curve with Jira. The success of this product largely depends on how your management/leadership standardize various processes and workflows within Jira.

Cons

Jira doesn't allow you to add multiple assignee on one user story, and this becomes a concern when multiple developers are working on one story.

Also, it's hard to get support from Atlassian when you are facing some technical issues.
Additionally, in my experience, I have found that as Jira provides great level of customization, it can become really messy, if multiple management styles are involved during project planning phase. The workflows can get overly complicated and as a Product Owner, you find yourself stuck in updating the ticket statuses all day long.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

So many features that make it slow, complicated and annoying for the day to day

Reviewed on 03/10/2020

At the beginning when they announced the change to this new tool and when doing the initial training it seemed super attractive and more sophisticated, I had some rejections (as with all changes) but I thought they would soften or improve as I got involved in the day To day with the tool, without a doubt I thought that due to the level of detail we could have many more and better metrics of our performance because the software measures everything. The problem is that with the passage of time I have been getting more things that I dislike and the initials do not stop bothering me, they could even bother me more at a certain point. Maybe you have to invest a lot of time and understanding to really see how the tool contributes to management, but so far most of the time I have seen it as a burden.

Pros

I really like the level of detail and control you can have when it comes to team planning. When the cycles begin, when they close, the stages and hierarchies that can be built within the same project or task. I consider that for projects that require a great level of detail it is extremely precious and necessary to leave nothing to chance.

Cons

Although I value all the level of detail that can be indicated for a task / project, when simpler tasks are required, follow-ups, daily operation, the little flexibility of the tool becomes totally annoying to ignore some unnecessary parameters. On the other hand, the responsibilities of the tasks always fall on a single member, which can generate an imbalance in the measurement of team performance, as one person is probably left with many more activities than others. What bothers me most from day to day is that on the activity board every time a card is moved to another column (example from "To Do" to "Doing") the board does not update automatically but it gives you an annoying signal It is not updated and until you refresh the page it will not allow you to move that card or any other, it will continue to show you "board not updated", this really makes the tool a little agile for larger teams and with precise and short follow-up meetings.

Mikael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best tool for a product manager

Reviewed on 31/10/2019

My experience has been great with JIRA and I have setup the product in my last two organizations. In my current role, the entire company has moved all their projects to JIRA. Despite some pesky UI bugs here and there, JIRA does everything that I need and has become a critical piece of my day-to-day work. It's never easy to build a product for product people, but JIRA has found a way to do most of what I need. I only wish the business would invest a bit more effort into their support team, but since many companies are already using JIRA, the internet has become a great substitute.

Pros

JIRA gives me so much functionality out of the box. Within five minutes, I can create a board and invite my whole team to start working with me. It doesn't take long to customize your presentation of work to make it specific to your business. It has become the standard for the industry and with good reason; JIRA gives me everything that I need to track performance and ensure a timely release.

Cons

There are occasionally some annoying bugs that will present themselves, but it's never something that really prevents me from using the product effectively; usually it's an annoying UI bug that looks messy or ugly. For the most part, many of the people that complain about the product just don't know how to use it 'as is out of the box'. The more configurations you try to make, the more problems you can create for yourself. Aside from this, their customer service is quite lackluster and it often takes days if not weeks to hear back from support - usually the bugs are fixed before you even get a response.

Vlad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Industry standard for Software Development teams

Reviewed on 03/10/2020

I started project management with this in my toolkit and it has remained my favorite ever since. I have seen other options such as Kanbo or Monday, I believe Jira and its related ecosystem remains far superior. Its pricing scheme is pretty good as well, you can try it for free, adopt it in small teams almost free (10$/m) and can scale it up transparently. It gets pricier when it comes to enterprise grade, yet that is the norm and i believe it is money well spent.

Pros

The software is made around the idea of AGILE collaboration on projects for the entire team. It brings transparency to the processes and is a great information radiator for the entire team. It facilitates commonly used methodologies such as SCRUM and KANBAN and makes project management significantly easier.
It is also very versatile and adaptable to particular needs. Although the standard fields are great, you can also create your own to fine tune your processes. Workflows are also highly customizable, giving the user-base great flexibility on how work is set up.
Based on this, teams which work in areas not related to software development can also reap the benefits. I've seen implementations in recruitment, data analysis and more.
Another great feature is its integration compatibility with other ecosystems such as Microsoft's which makes it easy to pick up.
In terms of services, Atlassian offers multiple ways teams can use Jira: Cloud or Self-managed (Server or Data Center) making it an adaptable offering that can withstand the highest level of corporate security scrutiny.
Another great feature is the marketplace which contains a great number of apps that provide added capabilities to the app.
Last but not least, Atlassian has developed an entire ecosystem geared towards solving projects (especially software ones)like: Confluence (Info silo), Bitbucket (code management), Service Desk and more.

Cons

The plethora of fields and customizations available can make a new user feel a bit overwhelmed. In this regard, it takes a bit to get used to it. The interface could use a revamp to make things cleaner, clearer and more crisp for the more casual user at least. (ex: easier to find timekeeping, task transitions, new task coloring schemes and more)
The workflow engine can also be upgraded to be more user friendly and provide more administrative options (create, apply, delete, manage versions)
The security administration section also needs a revamp in terms of adding or removing users, groups, roles into or from project (ex: if you create a new group, you can't bulk add it to all existing projects without some scripting in the CLI)

Alternatives Considered

monday.com
Krishna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Effective Project Management with Jira: A Review

Reviewed on 17/01/2023

Jira is widely known as a robust and flexible tool for software development project management. It offers a variety of features such as calendar management, Agile boards, customizable workflows, and built-in reports and dashboards that make it an effective tool for managing and tracking tasks, issues, and events. It allows teams to organize, plan, and collaborate on software development projects. Additionally, Jira's flexibility allows teams to customize their workflow to fit their specific needs, making it a powerful and efficient tool for managing software development projects. However, some users may find Jira complex to use and have a steep learning curve, also its pricing structure can be confusing and expensive for some small teams or startup companies.

Pros

Jira is widely known as an effective tool for project management. It provides a number of features such as calendar management, Agile boards, customizable workflows, and built-in reports and dashboards that makes it an effective tool for managing and tracking tasks, issues and events. Also, it allows teams to organize, plan, and collaborate on software development projects. Jira's flexibility allows teams to customize their workflow to fit their specific needs, making it a powerful and efficient tool for managing software development projects.

Cons

Jira can be complex for some users and have a steep learning curve. Some users find that it can be difficult to get started with the software, especially if they are not familiar with agile methodologies or project management. Additionally, Jira's pricing structure can be confusing and expensive for some small teams or startup companies. Some users also report that the software can be slow to load or slow to respond at times, which can be frustrating.

Samuel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

JIRA is a functional agile project management application

Reviewed on 27/08/2022

Jira is an all-around effective and agile project management application for handling several teams and tasks. Jira is the best option for Kanban, Hybrid, and Scrum projects that require good project management. Jira users could improve their comprehension through training and supported services. Jira may be used to manage a project successfully.

Pros

Jira is a fantastic tool for managing projects. It is the finest choice for managing agile projects and bug tracking. Jira makes it possible to utilize several teams at once, creating a lot of connections. Teams from the product development, product design, and product strategy divisions may collaborate to better projects. Using the filtering and searching tools, each team may keep track of its own deliverables, milestones, and tasks.

If you are leveraging the Agile Scrum framework, implementing custom views will help to assist your daily stand-up sessions. You might create your own distinctive points of view to talk just on the important components of the assignments. This function is efficient and saves time for a daily ten-minute stand-up. Other new features that make Jira a must-buy include alerts for due dates, assignment distribution, labelling, assigning task priority levels, and generating epic connections that display the user narrative and project progress.

Jira has Kanban boards where you may choose between showing and hiding features from other team members. Due to its capacity to integrate with many frameworks and maintain task and deliverable backlogs, Jira offers a great level of flexibility. Jira has excellent organization in its sprint planning, sprint release, and history structure. Any type of project management may use it. Customer assistance is offered by Jira, which is quite helpful.

Cons

My own opinion is that it's a fantastic tool; one of the dew drawback is the cost per user, which initially looks good but increases overtime.

Another drawback I've seen when using Jira is that there isn't an option to have audible notifications. When a new ticket is created, Jira, for instance, doesn't make a sound. So, if a user leaves the system, they risk missing a vital ticket.

Shaffick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jira...the best out there

Reviewed on 26/11/2019

The overall exprience has been HIGHLY positive. Jira is the go to software for project planning and coupled with Jira Service Desk and Confluence (which we use at the moment), it is a very truly powerful piece of software. I have tried other ones, but always came back to Jira due to it's widespread acceptance and ease of use.

Pros

Jira is highly customisable, and also has plugins. It allows you to monitor your projects and provided granulated access to individuals. You (or your admin) can set roles for the project and associates those roles to certain activities and then associate the roles even further to individuals.

You can organize your tickets in sprints and releases as well as monitor workload and task assignment to your team during sprints (or whatever other form of software delivery you wish to choose).

Cons

Pricing model. Currently, you have a choice of server vs cloud setup. If you have a team that can maintain the server instance, I'd recommend going to server because you have a lot more plugins you can use on server and you can set it up the way you want. The best thing is the licenses are a one-time cost, as opposed to lower, but monthly and forever costs on the cloud portion.

The other thing that is to be considered is that the plugins you choose need to have the same level of range for hte user count. i.e if your jira is for 101-250 users, all your plugins will need a license level of the same range, i.e 101-250 users. Something to consider if you are thinking about moving to Jira.

Dhiraj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

My personal experience with Jira

Reviewed on 20/01/2023

Pros

I like Jira for its robust set of features, flexibility and scalability. The software is popular among developers, project managers and other professionals for its ability to handle a variety of tasks such as tracking bugs, managing tasks and projects, and reporting on progress.Some of the most commonly cited features that people like about Jira include:Customizable workflows: Allows teams to adapt Jira to their specific processes and requirements.Comprehensive issue tracking: Provides a centralized location for tracking and managing tasks, bugs, and other issues within a project.Reporting and analytics: Offers a variety of reporting and analytics tools to help teams make data-driven decisions.Collaboration and communication: Facilitates collaboration and communication among team members by providing a centralized location for discussion, file attachments, and real-time updates.Integrations: Jira offers a wide range of integrations with other tools and platforms like GitHub, Bitbucket, Trello, Slack, and more.Mobile App: Jira also offers a mobile app which allows users to stay connected with their work while on the go.Overall, Jira is considered as a comprehensive and powerful tool that can help teams stay organized and on track, and that's why I like Jira

Cons

Steep learning curve: Some users find Jira's interface and feature set to be complex and overwhelming, which can make it difficult to get started or to fully utilize the software's capabilities.Limited customization options: Some users find that Jira's customization options are limited, and that it can be difficult to make the software look and feel the way they want.Slow performance: Some users have reported issues with Jira's performance, particularly when working with large amounts of data or using certain features.Limited scalability: Some users may find that Jira is not suitable for very large teams or organizations that need to handle a large number of projects or users.Expensive: As stated before, Jira is considered as more expensive than other similar project management and issue tracking tools, which can be a concern for some organizations.It's worth noting that these issues may not apply to everyone, and that the software is constantly updated to improve the user experience, so some of these complaints may not be valid anymore. Additionally, Jira's support team is always ready to help and provide solutions for any issues. But in my case i have face such problems in past

bennar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira for test management

Reviewed on 11/12/2019

As a QA in the team, our project is fully customised for tests, and Jira with Xray so far provides the best test management tool in the market. It makes life way easier, it is better than Zephyr and of course much better than excel sheets, which saves time, energy and money for us as testers and for the project.

Pros

The organisation of tests and the variety of the issue types for testing (Features ,Test cases, Test sets, Test executions, Test plan, bug...)
The ability to track the executions of tests and bugs
Great adaptability with Gherkin and Cucumber
It goes perfectly with ISTQB standards for testing
Perfect for both Scrum and Kanban users
The great boards and views provided by Jira (followup dashboards, sprint board, ..)
The ability to add Xray or Zephir or whatever test plugin that suits you

Cons

Jira users must receive a training before starting to use the software since it can be a little complex to use the software for the first time
For testers you cannot execute the same test case more than once in the same test execution
It gets more and more difficult when end to end testing multiple applications at the same time

Sarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Comprehensive, Customizable Task & Project Tracking - Designated Administrator Reccommended

Reviewed on 23/09/2022

Jira is an incredibly powerful tool that takes administration investment to really harness its power - identifying or designating a "Jira Champion" would be necessary, IMHO, for companies with a user-base larger than 75 people. While I understand where others may not be so keen on the time it takes to implement and customize, professionally, I am a believer in the power of Jira now and as we continue to grow. I don't see us moving away from it, even with the additional investment in Jira education, any time soon - its power is unmatched in the space.

Pros

Jira is *incredibly* versatile. You can customize almost every aspect of your Cloud instance, Project, Boards, & Workflows to fit nearly any use case, and across multiple departments.
Permissions to your Jira instance can be restricted at a very granular level if need-be, but can be more broad if the occasion calls for it.
Additionally, and probably the largest reason we transitioned from enterprise Jira to a Cloud Jira instance is the pervasive availability of integration across the market.
Speaking of market - Jira has a growing 3rd-party market that offers enhancements to the Jira platform that Jira does not natively provide or are too complex for an untrained Jira administrator to script themselves. Of those that are "approved" by Jira, we are extremely happy with the breadth of functionality, integration and ease of use.
With all that I do have to say that our favorite thing with all project leads is Jira Automation. Once you understand the "SmartValues" language that automation runs on, the use cases for automation are truly endless. It is one of the many strong features from a project management perspective.

Cons

Jira takes a village. Atlassian has an incredible resources in the "Atlassian Community" and they do a great job of having experienced users there to answer questions but, because each instance can be set up so differently, the actual customer support request portal is limited to bug fixes. As a result, much of my time administering Jira is spent researching how to fix a roadblock or how to modify permissions - a lot of "learning by doing". Generally speaking, Jira can be difficult to use from an administration perspective, *but* for the purposes of moving ticket along, the UX is pretty good and the UI is fairly intuitive.