49 reviews

Infor Birst

Modern business intelligence and analytics platform

4.1 /5 (49 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.1 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
49 reviews
Adam W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Birst OEM appliance client building software for insurance

Reviewed on 10/08/2016

Pros

Birst is a tool that is very flexible and has a UI offering that is very platform independent. They also have designed their product to follow the Kimball methodology for dimensional modeling which helps make the tool easier to understand if you are a seasoned dimensional modeler. They are visibly investing in innovations that are meeting or exceeding the needs of BI Community (Angular, iOS/Android apps, end-user data blending.) They have a very fast development team and release new functionality sometimes quicker than we expect.

Birst staff and leadership know us by our first names. They do try to build a relationship with their clients and not treat you like an accounting revenue stream. Their community is closed but very tight.

Cons

Being on the cutting edge, sometimes features don't work as advertised at first. It's usually a good thing to wait for a few maintenance releases after a new major release comes out if you have an appliance.

On the support front, they need not be so quick to recommend that you upgrade to the next release to address a defect, especially if it isn't due out for a few weeks. Sometimes it feels like rely on their community too much to help keep the ship going.

Being an application born in the cloud, there are some unpolished processes that appliance customers need to learn to get things to work from time to time.

Birst is growing and they are ramping up new staff all the time. If you don't feel you're getting the best answer to your question, you need to sometimes push them to get it.

Deborah J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Birst as a Single Software Solution

Reviewed on 25/04/2017

Birst has continued to evolve within its nitch; focused deliverables.

Pros

Ease of going from simple to complex. Integrated end to end solution. Birst has always said their success is measured on our success.

Cons

The cons are being eliminated by many of the new features, Pronto and Smart. While the Community is a great place to share and resource to seek answers, sometimes when you need that quick How To question answered you don't have the time to wait, it would be nice to have the Help Me now feature.

Leslie O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful Networked BI Capability and Friendly Data Visualization

Reviewed on 16/08/2016

Pros

Birst as a vendor has been fantastic to work with as they are passionate, communicate well and always ready to help. The power of being able to have "no more silos" is game-changing for the organization. Love the fact that end-users have a much easier time creating their own visualization versus having to rely on IT.

Cons

I am hard pressed to identify something here as I usually find that when I run up against anything causing me a challenge, it is usually a matter of just getting more experience.

Kevin W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great product but needs improvements.

Reviewed on 29/08/2014

Pros

This app has been really helpful for me in my day-to-day work. I was able to use this to save time at the office and also make me a much more effective worker. The software is easy to use and has a modern interface. I really like this product.

Cons

Sometimes, the app loads too slowly. I want a way to streamline my processes and make things faster. Another issue is the User Interface. Sometimes, it's too confusing. I don't know how to set up certain actions. It would also be nice if common actions were more prominent.

Mark Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Dazzles at first, disappointing in every day use

Reviewed on 03/08/2016

Pros

It is simple to understand.
First appearances offer a fresh user interface
Great community.
Good plugins for source systems
Cloud based

Cons

Its sluggish performance.
Numerous bugs that give the impression that the product is not well tested
Limited reporting and dash boarding capabilities
Bugs that lead to erroneous results, without giving and error.
Their focus on the US market

Gayasuddin K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Birst your Business!!

Reviewed on 09/02/2018

Overall experience with Birst is good as a developer. Great visualization capabilities and faster analytics with huge amount of data.
Happy Birsting!!!

Pros

Developer as well as User friendly interface.
Built in modelling ,drag and drop analytics.
Easy connect to data.

Cons

Complex BQL
Date fields handling
Less visualizations
Themes
Slow response in IE
Less available fonts

Laura L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It's awesome!

Reviewed on 29/08/2014

Pros

It's easy to use.

Cons

I like everything about it. It's really easy to use.

Weyland Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Interesting product

Reviewed on 29/08/2014

Pros

It was pretty easy to use. All my coworkers use it, too.

Cons

The user interface and the performance of the product are probably my least favorite parts.

Sean B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

FPL

Reviewed on 23/09/2019

Our biggest issue with Birst with users is the speed of accessing and displaying data in report. Overall, Birst is a great reporting tool that makes it easier for IT department to create / deploy new reports.

Pros

Ease of use for users as well as as easy management for system administrators.

Cons

Speed of accessing and pulling data on live reports.

Elisabetta V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Use of Birst in connection to M3 Cloud

Reviewed on 22/07/2020

I am not too satisfied. I see the potential of the tool but I believe there is still a lot to be done. Maybe it is in the "back" part of the tool or in the connectivity between ERP and Birst

Pros

interface looks nice for the final user and relatively easy to use after a brief training. Looks also powerful and easy to prepare new dashboard

Cons

The integration with M3 Analytics seems to have hick-ups, after updates we often need to reset something or copy data or re-adjust filters, that is annoying.

Bob A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Birst - Cloud BI & Analytics

Reviewed on 10/08/2016

Pros

What is unique about Birst is the way it allows customers to achieve the "Holy Grail" of BI - namely, providing both Governance and Agility in the same product. It does this in an easy to set up and use multi-tenant cloud environment, taking advantage of the use of virtual "spaces" which allow you to provide users with the right level of access to the right data, whether they are more advanced users or more casual users, whether they are located at the company HQ or in a remote location, etc. Birst calls this "Networked BI" and it is well worth looking into if you haven't yet.

Birst also is unique in the way it allows you to combine many different kinds of data sources, some in the cloud and some on-premise (if you want) into one Unified Data Model and then use that to create and populate what they call a User-Ready Data Warehouse. They use something called "Automated Data Refinement" (their own patent-pending technology) to create this data model and data warehouse for you with a minimum of effort on your part, saving you a lot of time and money, and making it much more feasible to keep the data model and data warehouse updated over time.

In terms of visualizations, Birst has a nice tool called Visualizer which is very easy to use, and a tool for more advanced users called Designer, which allows you to create pixel-perfect and very customized reports. Birst also fully supports the use of other front ends such as Tableau and Excel, which can access your many data sources using the User-Ready Data Warehouse created using Automated Data Refinement.

The company itself is easy to work with and is staffed with very knowledgeable people who are eager to help you succeed.

Cons

The online help is usually quite helpful, but there is some room for improvement in the search capability and some of the content.

Rick H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid Data Visualization tool

Reviewed on 26/04/2017

Birst has proven to meet or exceed our expectations in most areas. The visualizer and dashboard tools are simple to use. The admin tool is in flash and it is a little clunky at times, but it gets the job done and the complexity is hidden from our end users which was a key goal for us.

We are embedding it in our software and we were looking for a solution that excelled in visualization while also providing scalable management capabilities. Birst provides the full breadth of what we need while most other tools only provided a part of our full needs.

Pros

Visualizations and Dashboards. Flexibility on configuration and data management

Cons

Admin tool is flash based for now.

Laura W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Agile BI solution with superior data modeling and visualizations

Reviewed on 26/04/2017

Pros

With Birst, our organization was able to consolidate disparate data systems into one location and customize content.

Cons

While Birst has various modules and features available, select modules/features require extensive training to master.

Fraser D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful BI app, but difficult to master

Reviewed on 31/12/2018

Pros

- We used Birst to monitor a large project spanning 2 quarters. It achieved everything we required, especially in the tracking of KPIs, visualising progress on dashboards, and status reporting.

Cons

- In hindsight it, is was probably far too advanced for our needs, and there was a steep learning curve.

Dan L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Birst Review

Reviewed on 29/08/2014

Pros

I really liked the buttons. The buttons were very easy to see and use. It made someone who often misses things like me love it.

Cons

I really didn't like how slow the service was. I wish it was faster. Speed is everything for me.

Sarah B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Birst Review froma more technical point of view

Reviewed on 17/01/2017

Birst is a suitable tool to review data without implementing the data in a data warehouse. it is possible to establish real-time connections to several databases or do the modeling directly in Birst. In some situations, you can see that the tool is still in its infancy but the support always finds a solution, however, it looks likes (as long as the source of interruption is critical to your business).

In my opinion, the admin area (modeling) is the least developed area compared to the visualization frontend and still runs (until Birst 6) on the flash basis with sometimes causes synchronization errors between the database and the front-end.
You can do modeling as you like with some limitations in the schemas. Birst can process star and snowflakes but has some problems with multi-fact tables and different aggregation levels in one table (data mart design. in Cognos they call this feature "Determinants").
Nevertheless, it is easy for anyone with a little modeling knows how to build a simple model and report their data. A person who does not anything about SQL or data would have a lot of troubles with modeling which isn't a disadvantage in my opinion but should be noticed.
Birst is pretty limited when it comes to "security" in different ways:
You can set a data security on row level and assign user groups or variables to it but it's pretty complicated for nondatabase developers or architects. our analysts (who do some modeling) had a hard time understanding the security until this task was assigned to us architects. This should be made simpler for every third-class technician to understand.
You are able to grant a user access to the admin area or deny it. you cannot grant access to just some features like upload images and add users. In my opinion, this a limitation and always requires a space admin to do stuff that a normal visualizer can't do.
If you want a user to import images or something then he must have space admin permissions and therefore he can make changed on the model which contradicts to a row level security if set.
The user management really is limited. you're missing a lot of creation/deletion functions and you must always access a space command window to do so. therefore you have troubles to mass create/delete users without using the API. You have to do a lot of extra work to manage your users efficiently.

The frontend is pretty good and you can do a lot of visualizations. You can choose between simple charts from "visualizer" or build pixel perfect reports from "designer". You can add both report types to a selection of dashboards.
Dashboards can be secured via user groups but only for space admins which always involves a space admin a slightly contradicts to a self-services solution.

All in all, Birst is an ETL and visualization tool that allows you so simply add files to your data warehouse and do some reporting. As more complex, your model becomes as more limitations you face while modeling. If you use live access connections the SQL's created are executed on the corresponding database. therefore you face fewer limitations than modeling within Birst.
we personally prefer to model with live access. Even if the tool is on some parts in its infancy the Birst community and support is pretty awesome and without this the tool wouldN't be satisfying but it exists and therefore I grant 4 of 5 starts for this tool.

Alice L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to use for simply data

Reviewed on 07/02/2018

Pros

The Visualiser is simple to use for basic analytics, once everything is set up. I can pull out data very quickly and zoom into areas that I'm interested in finding out more.

Cons

Creation of dashboards is rather technical and will require someone very familiar with the data structure and BIRST to do so. Not something someone can do immediately, on the fly.

Saurabh M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

FPL Birst

Reviewed on 23/09/2019

Pros

graphical representation of the data is what attracted us to the Birst

Cons

some issues during the implementation for non technical personal

Leila P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

User friendly and easy to navigate.

Reviewed on 10/05/2018

Pros

This software streamlined our onboarding process and has shortened the amount of time users spend in the system. The tools are very easy to read and provide great details regarding applicants.

Cons

As of today I haven't experienced any cons with the product at all. The system hasn't had any issues to date.

Oriane S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Good Experience

Reviewed on 23/09/2019

Pros

This software is very user friendly, easy to use and reliable.

Cons

End users can have some difficulties with the reports if they do not have any programming skills.

David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent analytics tool, works great with Salesforce.com

Reviewed on 08/08/2014

Pros

I like the dynamic ETL capabilities and trending. Birst support is great, and they're not afraid to get their hands dirty by getting involved in resolving issues.

Cons

The software is not inexpensive. For small-to-midsize companies, this might not be a viable solution.

Christopher M.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

BIRST for Top-Notch Business Analysis

Reviewed on 23/02/2019

N/a

Pros

This tool provides some very deep analytical insight into data for online metrics and usage. I'm not the sole user however my colleagues use this more heavily and gain a great insight into it for their digital strategies based on the analysis of the data birst provieds.

Cons

I honestly don't have any cons that I can think of for this tool. Birst provides great business analytical data to answer your questions and needs on data and site usage.

Devesh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very powerful and upcoming BI/Reporting tool

Reviewed on 14/12/2018

Pros

- Cloud based product that lets you access your data anywhere, share with different users in office/on road
- Rich functionality and very easy to use interface

Cons

- Need better channel partner integration and offerings
- Lacks some feature as compared to older rivals and new competitors

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Birst Administrator

Reviewed on 17/07/2020

Really pleased with the product, i highly recomend it.

Pros

Birst provide a very user friendly interface, and the dashboard development is really simplified. it takes a lot of techinally away from the development to let you focus in the dashboard creation.

Cons

It work great when you move the data inside Birst, but there are limitations for Live enviroments.

Dan R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Analytics for Anyone

Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Overall, I am impressed by how simple Birst makes something that can otherwise be complex

Pros

Birst takes care of a lot of heavy lifting for you, making it very easy to spin up complex data warehouses once familiar with the process

Cons

There is a learning curve at first and not the biggest selection of resources available, which can make things a bit tricky for a complete beginner without access to those resources