About Paymo

Paymo is a work and project management solution dedicated to Marketing, Design, Creative, and Advertising Agencies, Architecture firms, Universities, Law firms and Consulting businesses.
It allows you to create and assign tasks, schedule work, accurately keep track of work time at the office and on the go, collaborate and issue invoices to your clients based on time worked.

Pricing starting from:

$9.56/month

  • Free Version
  • Free Trial
  • Subscription

Top 5 alternatives to Paymo

Key benefits of Paymo

- create, assign, and manage tasks
- track work time in browser, via desktop tools or mobile apps
- see who's overbooked or underbooked in Paymo's Team Scheduler
- track expenses, issue invoices to your clients and get paid online
- measure employee performance and track leave days
- comunicate with your team in real time with task comments
- proof designs faster thanks to the file proofing & versioning feature

Devices

Business size

S M L

Markets

Australia, Brazil, Canada, Germany, United Kingdom, Romania, United States

Supported Languages

Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English and 14 others, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, zh-hant

Pricing starting from:

$9.56/month

  • Free Version
  • Free Trial
  • Subscription

Top 5 alternatives to Paymo

Images

Paymo Software - Kanban View
Paymo Software - Full Task Details
Paymo Software - Timesheets
Paymo Software - To Do List
Paymo Software - Advanced Task Management
Paymo Software - Real-time Comments and Discussions
Paymo Software - Desktop Apps
Paymo Software - Mobile Apps
Paymo Software - Team Scheduling
Paymo Software - Time Reports
Paymo Software - Invoicing
Paymo Software - Expenses
Paymo Software - Add Bulk Time
Paymo Software - Web Timer
View 15 more
Paymo video
Paymo video
Paymo video
Paymo video
Paymo Software - Kanban View Paymo Software - Full Task Details Paymo Software - Timesheets Paymo Software - To Do List Paymo Software - Advanced Task Management Paymo Software - Real-time Comments and Discussions Paymo Software - Desktop Apps Paymo Software - Mobile Apps Paymo Software - Team Scheduling Paymo Software - Time Reports Paymo Software - Invoicing Paymo Software - Expenses Paymo Software - Add Bulk Time Paymo Software - Web Timer

Features

Total features of Paymo: 78

  • @mentions
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Tracking
  • Agile Methodologies
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Assignment Management
  • Billable Items Tracking
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Budget Management
  • Calendar Management
  • Client Portal
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Commenting/Notes
  • Communication Management
  • Contact Database
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customizable Templates
  • Document Management Software
  • Document Storage
  • Drag & Drop
  • Electronic Payments
  • Employee Activity Monitoring
  • Estimating
  • File Management
  • File Sharing Software
  • File Transfer
  • Gantt/Timeline View
  • Hourly Billing
  • Invoice Creation
  • Invoice History
  • Invoice Management
  • Kanban Board
  • Milestone Tracking
  • Mobile Access
  • Mobile App
  • Monitoring
  • Multi-Currency
  • Multiple Projects
  • Online Invoicing
  • Percent-Complete Tracking
  • Portfolio Management
  • Prioritization
  • Progress Tracking
  • Project Billing
  • Project Planning Software
  • Project Planning/Scheduling
  • Project Templates
  • Project Time Tracking
  • Project Tracking Software
  • Project Workflow
  • Real Time Data
  • Real Time Monitoring
  • Real Time Notifications
  • Real-time Updates
  • Reminders
  • Remote Support Software
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Reporting/Project Tracking
  • Resource Management Software
  • Single Sign On Software
  • Status Tracking
  • Task Management Software
  • Task Planning
  • Task Progress Tracking
  • Task Scheduling
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Time & Expense Tracking
  • Time Tracking Software
  • Time Tracking by Client
  • Time Tracking by Project
  • Time Zone Tracking
  • Timer
  • Timesheet Management
  • Traditional Methodologies
  • Workflow Management Software

Alternatives

Scoro

4.6
#1 Alternative to Paymo
Scoro is an award-winning end-to-end work management solution which enables you to control your entire workflow in one...

Ravetree

4.2
#2 Alternative to Paymo
Ravetree is an all-in-one work management solution for project-driven organizations and teams with tools for managing...

Mavenlink

4.2
#3 Alternative to Paymo
Mavenlink is a modern software platform for agencies and professionals services organizations that helps automate...

Avaza

4.6
#4 Alternative to Paymo
Avaza is a business management solution which includes features for project management, resource scheduling, online...

Reviews

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(409)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support Software
4.7/5

Already have Paymo?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Write a Review!
Showing 5 reviews of 409
Justyna L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good tool

Reviewed on 12/04/2021

Pros

It's very intuitive, consists all features we need for daily work. It's easy to use for ours many freelancers. We can keep all project information in one place and Paymo is very clear in design. The customer care has very individual approach.

Cons

We work with many freelancers, who only use it for log their hours and they do it few times per month. I wish it was some smaller plan when you use just one or features.

Response from Paymo

Hi Justyna,

Thank you so much for the kind words! >:D<

As for the coming and going freelancers, don't forget that you're only paying for the # of active users. This means that whenever someone leaves, you can downgrade the subscription and we'll credit your Paymo account the next billing cycle :)

Cameron N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily

Reviewed on 08/01/2020

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for...

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.

Pros

Yet another system that after several months of use only did what we needed it too at 75% of the way, then AFTER buying into the "huge discount" and special they had going, did I find out they do not allow refunds at all!

If you put ANY data into the system and ever need to export it for any reasons ...find a data entry person and hope you didn't enter a lot of information because unless you are a developer that can setup custom API's...your info is stuck in their system!
You can enter clients, companies, etc. and change view to "Table" and see it in table mode, but that view still only gives you the general company information, NOT the contacts for that company and that is 1 of 2, yes that is right 2 places in the entire system of everything you may have entered where you can download/export that view into Excel/CSV file....everything else is PDF if you are lucky!!

If you are a VERY small, VERY basic bookkeeping/accounting freelancer (NO TEAM, just you and very basic billing) - fine, it may work...but if you have more than 1 person in your team other than you, have different rates or even the SLIGHTEST out of the norm billing or cycles...GOOD LUCK!!!

I am furious with this system after being told what it could do and I explained in detail, and "oh yeah, that is not a problem at all"...only to find out, everything I explained about what we needed, went in one ear and out the other just to make the sale...now I have a barely usable system and wasted $$$$!!

Cons

Can't export anything unless you have a developer standing bye.
System is very "inside the box" thinking even after being told it would easily do what I had explained that I needed it to do
support seems to take longer than usual and they are quick to respond with an answer that has NOTHING to do with what you originally asked (bots maybe?!?!)
Can't get a refund, no matter how many lies they told you to make the sale in the first place!!!

Response from Paymo

Hi Cameron,

Sorry to see you disappointed. Our goal is to help you improve the way you work, not to sell you on something.

Indeed, you can export client, project, user lists, as well as time reports in csv format - invoices and Gantt Charts are available in PDF only.

However, due to the fact that there's no standardised data structure for project management data, the only practical way to export it is via our API.

And no, we're no bots, and don't force anyones hand to make a sale.

Tanuj D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great project management tool for small and medium sized businesses

Reviewed on 11/07/2021

We use it basically because of the great invoicing feature it has. It makes it really easy to keep...

We use it basically because of the great invoicing feature it has. It makes it really easy to keep a track of the expenses and the resources and to generate invoices. It is a quite handy tool for project and time management.

Pros

Paymo is the ultimate project management solution for small and medium sized businesses. It has a lot of features for project management like time and resource utilisation tools, billing and invoicing, resource management. It is easily accessible and quite user friendly.

Cons

The webpage kind of lags sometimes and it's a little difficult to navigate. Sometimes the projects takes a little longer to load.

Response from Paymo

Thank you, Tanuj!!

Apologize for the webpage load, we experienced some AWS outages last week .

As for the project speed, can you give us more details at [email protected] about that particular project please?

Thank you again!

Jelena J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support Software
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My time and sanity saver!

Reviewed on 01/07/2020

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved...

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved TONS of hours on admin, invoicing, timesheets, client and project management.

Just this time saving alone pays off the monthly subscription.

Sanity and nerves saving is the bonus! :)

Why? Because Paymo helped me maintain good client relationships, timesheet transparency and great records&data representation for a client. So when a client comes up with a random question about a specific task, Paymo's records make finding (and presenting) a specific information or record so much easier, transparent and more reliable.

Pros

Paymo has been a lifesaver in many business management areas: project management, client management, time tracking, accounting.

With built-in budgeting, time tracking, expense tracking, estimate calculations, professional invoicing and getting paid online (and on time!), different project 'views' (list, table, board for kanban, gantt), extensive filters, dashboard and insights, resource scheduling, live time reports, client portal - and all that in one app - it's a sanity saver!

One of the things I also personally quite appreciate is the professional and clean look of the invoices (and how easy it is for clients to pay them online). With a click of a button, you can add the unbilled time/fees for a specific time period and/or projects to an invoice. Paymo does all that heavy admin stuff for you and it has saved me a lot of time!

Cherry on the top: all invoice items are presented so neatly and professionally, so that my clients can see exactly everything I've worked on for them and what I'm billing them for, as well as how much time is tracked for each project and task.

And Payoneer, in addition to PayPal/Stripe/Authorize.Net payment gateways is a big plus!

It's brilliant.

The moment I first tried it, I could immediately feel that Paymo is the tool designed for actual freelancers in mind, whether you work on a project basis, or a pay-as-you-go basis.

It's not complex, and all the features it has are just *right*. Exactly what I need.

And it's getting even better!

Cons

I wish the app was just a little bit faster, but I read somewhere that they already have this improvement on their roadmap.

Still, if you ask me, it's totally worth the wait for every new feature and improvement their team is cooking for us :)

Response from Paymo

Thank you, Jelena <3

Speed improvements are already something that we're addressing. Stay tuned for more goodies such as a task calendar view, improved mobile app with team collaboration features and guest access.

Cheers,
Marcel

Leticia M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our main tool to run the business

Reviewed on 16/06/2020

We have been working with Paymo for more than 5 years now and over the years we've seen constant...

We have been working with Paymo for more than 5 years now and over the years we've seen constant improvement with new features. It's a rich feature tool for a low price and it suits our company as no other does, not only in what they offer but in an intuitive and easy-to-use tool. The timer, invoices using the timesheet, team scheduling, sending estimates, all those make the difference in our business and has help us to save and make money.

Pros

The timer is the best feature of Paymo. We search a lot but none of the other tools allows us to easy time our work and bill our clients as Paymo, with an always-visible timer. And the ability to bill our clients with the timesheet completes our process perfectly.

Cons

It's lacking a client portal, where they have all information about their project and invoices

Response from Paymo

Time tracking FTW, Leticia - thank you :)

I think there's a misunderstanding. The current client portal allows clients to view their invoices. Just be sure to add them as contacts too: https://help.paymoapp.com/en/articles/900000-how-do-i-add-a-contact-to-a-client

They can't see the project progress, something that is going to be fixed with the next release of the client portal. That will grant guest users in-app access.

This is our #1 priority right now, so stay tuned!

Kind regards,
Marcel

Showing 5 reviews of 409 Read all reviews

Paymo FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Paymo.

Paymo offers the following pricing plans:

  • Starting from: $9.56/month
  • Pricing model: Free Version, Subscription
  • Free Trial: Available

Paymo has the following typical customers:

Self Employed, 2-10, 11-50, 51-200, 201-500

Paymo supports the following languages:

Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, zh-hant

Paymo supports the following devices:

Android (Mobile), iPhone (Mobile), iPad (Mobile)

Paymo integrates with the following applications:

Adobe Illustrator, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Google Drive, Integromat, JotForm, LambdaTest, Pabbly Connect, PomoDone App, Quickbooks Online, Rethink, Slack, Typeform, Xero, Zapier

Paymo offers the following support options:

Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base Software, Chat

Related categories

See all software categories found for Paymo.