About Paymo

Paymo is a solution dedicated to Marketing, Design, Creative, and Advertising Agencies, Architecture firms, Universities, Law firms and Consulting businesses.
It allows you to create and assign tasks, schedule work, accurately keep track of work time at the office and on the go, collaborate and issue invoices to your clients based on worked timed.

Key benefits of Paymo

- create, assign, and manage tasks
- track work time in browser, via desktop tools or mobile apps
- see who's overbooked or underbooked in Paymo's Team Scheduler
- track expenses, issue invoices to your clients and get paid online
- measure employee performance and track leave days
- comunicate with your team in real time with task comments

Devices

Business size

S M L

Markets

United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Germany, Brazil

Supported Languages

Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch and 14 others, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish

Images

Kanban View
Full Task Details
Timesheets
To Do List
Advanced Task Management
Real-time Comments and Discussions
Desktop Apps
Mobile Apps
Team Scheduling
Time Reports
View 11 more
Paymo video
Paymo screenshot: Kanban View Paymo screenshot: Full Task Details Paymo screenshot: Timesheets Paymo screenshot: To Do List Paymo screenshot: Advanced Task Management Paymo screenshot: Real-time Comments and Discussions Paymo screenshot: Desktop Apps Paymo screenshot: Mobile Apps Paymo screenshot: Team Scheduling Paymo screenshot: Time Reports

Features

Total features of Paymo: 27

  • API
  • Access Control
  • Agile Software Development
  • Assignment Management
  • Client Management
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Collaborative Workspace
  • Commenting
  • Critical Path
  • Data Visualization
  • Drag & Drop Interface
  • Estimating
  • File Transfer
  • Invoice Management
  • Mobile Integration
  • Multi-Currency
  • Multi-Language
  • Permission Management
  • Planning Tools
  • Preview Functionality
  • Progress Tracking
  • Project Planning
  • Real Time Updates
  • Resource Management
  • Task Management
  • Task Tracking
  • Timesheets

Alternatives

ClickUp

4.7
#1 Alternative to Paymo
ClickUp is a fundamentally new way to work - bringing separate apps like tasks, docs, spreadsheets, goal tracking,...

Wrike

4.2
#2 Alternative to Paymo
Wrike is a collaboration & project management tool that helps users manage projects from start to finish, providing...

Airtable

4.7
#3 Alternative to Paymo
Airtable is a mobile friendly organization & collaboration platform designed to provide any sized team with the tools...

Mavenlink

4.2
#4 Alternative to Paymo
Mavenlink is a modern software platform for agencies and professionals services organizations that helps automate...

Reviews

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(400)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

Already have Paymo?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Write a Review!
Showing 5 reviews of 400
Neal B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Paymo has grown, evolved, and expanded alongside of the needs of our business.

Reviewed on 25/06/2020

Seriously, everything! I mentioned time tracking earlier but Paymo also does project management,...

Seriously, everything! I mentioned time tracking earlier but Paymo also does project management, client management, invoicing, estimation, Zapier integration, scheduling, team tasking...and the list goes on and on.

Pros

Time tracking is seamlessly integrated into our current designer workflow. This allows us to calculate the actual time spent on the job so clients understand where their money is being spent. It also allows us to identify where we need to increase project costs (9/10 times it's with 'customer correspondence').

Cons

We've been with Paymo for over 10 years so it was a bit of a kick when they started charging for functionality like Gant Charts. We've always loved the complete 'soup-to-nuts' service that Paymo offered so when certain items were put behind another paywall it definitely stung a bit. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Response from Paymo

Loved the "(9/10 times it's with customer correspondence)" part, Neal :)

Besides Gantt Charts, the Business plan also comes with a Team Scheduling module, 100 GB of storage, and priority support.

We found this plan to be more appealing to larger teams, that's why we've decided to include it in a separate plan.

What specifically do you need from Gantt Charts, the ability to set dependencies or see task deadlines on a calendar?

If it's the latter one, then I have some good news: we're going to launch a task calendar view in the near future, so stay tuned!

Jelena J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My time and sanity saver!

Reviewed on 01/07/2020

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved...

I've increased my productivity with Paymo's Kanban board view, combined with Table view, and saved TONS of hours on admin, invoicing, timesheets, client and project management.

Just this time saving alone pays off the monthly subscription.

Sanity and nerves saving is the bonus! :)

Why? Because Paymo helped me maintain good client relationships, timesheet transparency and great records&data representation for a client. So when a client comes up with a random question about a specific task, Paymo's records make finding (and presenting) a specific information or record so much easier, transparent and more reliable.

Pros

Paymo has been a lifesaver in many business management areas: project management, client management, time tracking, accounting.

With built-in budgeting, time tracking, expense tracking, estimate calculations, professional invoicing and getting paid online (and on time!), different project 'views' (list, table, board for kanban, gantt), extensive filters, dashboard and insights, resource scheduling, live time reports, client portal - and all that in one app - it's a sanity saver!

One of the things I also personally quite appreciate is the professional and clean look of the invoices (and how easy it is for clients to pay them online). With a click of a button, you can add the unbilled time/fees for a specific time period and/or projects to an invoice. Paymo does all that heavy admin stuff for you and it has saved me a lot of time!

Cherry on the top: all invoice items are presented so neatly and professionally, so that my clients can see exactly everything I've worked on for them and what I'm billing them for, as well as how much time is tracked for each project and task.

And Payoneer, in addition to PayPal/Stripe/Authorize.Net payment gateways is a big plus!

It's brilliant.

The moment I first tried it, I could immediately feel that Paymo is the tool designed for actual freelancers in mind, whether you work on a project basis, or a pay-as-you-go basis.

It's not complex, and all the features it has are just *right*. Exactly what I need.

And it's getting even better!

Cons

I wish the app was just a little bit faster, but I read somewhere that they already have this improvement on their roadmap.

Still, if you ask me, it's totally worth the wait for every new feature and improvement their team is cooking for us :)

Response from Paymo

Thank you, Jelena <3

Speed improvements are already something that we're addressing. Stay tuned for more goodies such as a task calendar view, improved mobile app with team collaboration features and guest access.

Cheers,
Marcel

Cameron N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily

Reviewed on 08/01/2020

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for...

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.

Pros

Yet another system that after several months of use only did what we needed it too at 75% of the way, then AFTER buying into the "huge discount" and special they had going, did I find out they do not allow refunds at all!

If you put ANY data into the system and ever need to export it for any reasons ...find a data entry person and hope you didn't enter a lot of information because unless you are a developer that can setup custom API's...your info is stuck in their system!
You can enter clients, companies, etc. and change view to "Table" and see it in table mode, but that view still only gives you the general company information, NOT the contacts for that company and that is 1 of 2, yes that is right 2 places in the entire system of everything you may have entered where you can download/export that view into Excel/CSV file....everything else is PDF if you are lucky!!

If you are a VERY small, VERY basic bookkeeping/accounting freelancer (NO TEAM, just you and very basic billing) - fine, it may work...but if you have more than 1 person in your team other than you, have different rates or even the SLIGHTEST out of the norm billing or cycles...GOOD LUCK!!!

I am furious with this system after being told what it could do and I explained in detail, and "oh yeah, that is not a problem at all"...only to find out, everything I explained about what we needed, went in one ear and out the other just to make the sale...now I have a barely usable system and wasted $$$$!!

Cons

Can't export anything unless you have a developer standing bye.
System is very "inside the box" thinking even after being told it would easily do what I had explained that I needed it to do
support seems to take longer than usual and they are quick to respond with an answer that has NOTHING to do with what you originally asked (bots maybe?!?!)
Can't get a refund, no matter how many lies they told you to make the sale in the first place!!!

Response from Paymo

Hi Cameron,

Sorry to see you disappointed. Our goal is to help you improve the way you work, not to sell you on something.

Indeed, you can export client, project, user lists, as well as time reports in csv format - invoices and Gantt Charts are available in PDF only.

However, due to the fact that there's no standardised data structure for project management data, the only practical way to export it is via our API.

And no, we're no bots, and don't force anyones hand to make a sale.

Krystle chanel K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I finally found the one!

Reviewed on 26/06/2020

It is important to note that Paymo isn't idle in enhancing its software. Not only that, but new...

It is important to note that Paymo isn't idle in enhancing its software. Not only that, but new features are thoughtful and integrated seamlessly with the tool. I appreciate this because I have used other software that seem to have their priorities mixed up when releasing enhancements; adding things that don't move the needle ahead of things that do.

Pros

After years of using project management software for both myself and companies I've worked for, I found the right tool for the job for my personal, small business as a marketing coach and online entrepreneur.

Until I build a team, I'm using Paymo for myself, and other tools are not always price-sensitive for a solo user. I appreciate that Paymo provides an option to pay for one user until I'm ready to grow.

A particular feature I was looking for was the option to view all projects on a single Kanban board. In the rare case that I found this option, it was a significant upgrade to acquire. But Paymo offers this and it's super easy to use!

Other features I love:
- Time-tracking/timesheet: Visual representation of where my time goes. I use the in-app timer every day.
- Flexible viewing options: I can easily switch between list, table, board, and Gantt views, with easy to use filters that allow me to see exactly what I want. No custom reports or views need created - which can be time-consuming and inflexible (enterprise tools).
- Note: The user experience of the Gantt chart was also what I was looking for. It is drag and drop and allows you to adjust your timeline from within the view.

There's so much to love about Paymo! And that is saying a lot coming from someone who has researched and used as many tools as I have - including enterprise solution, Workfront.

Paymo is definitely worth giving a try!

Cons

I wish there was a way to invite collaborators/reviewers like there is in Asana. If I want a coaching client to be able to collaborate, there is no way to do this without paying for another user.
This is superficial, but, the name! When I tell people about Paymo, they immediately think it's a financial tool, not a project management tool, based on the name. I would hate for this to hold Paymo back in the market.

Response from Paymo

You sure did your researh, Krystle, thank you for the review :)

Actually, we're working on an improved client portal with in-app access to guest users, so they can collaborate with you on the same page. This is our #1 priority atm, so stay tuned!

As for our name, this goes back more than 10 years when we started out as a time tracking and billing tool. The purpose was to use the app and GET PAID MORE, hence Paymo :)

Hope this helps, thank you again!

Leticia M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our main tool to run the business

Reviewed on 16/06/2020

We have been working with Paymo for more than 5 years now and over the years we've seen constant...

We have been working with Paymo for more than 5 years now and over the years we've seen constant improvement with new features. It's a rich feature tool for a low price and it suits our company as no other does, not only in what they offer but in an intuitive and easy-to-use tool. The timer, invoices using the timesheet, team scheduling, sending estimates, all those make the difference in our business and has help us to save and make money.

Pros

The timer is the best feature of Paymo. We search a lot but none of the other tools allows us to easy time our work and bill our clients as Paymo, with an always-visible timer. And the ability to bill our clients with the timesheet completes our process perfectly.

Cons

It's lacking a client portal, where they have all information about their project and invoices

Response from Paymo

Time tracking FTW, Leticia - thank you :)

I think there's a misunderstanding. The current client portal allows clients to view their invoices. Just be sure to add them as contacts too: https://help.paymoapp.com/en/articles/900000-how-do-i-add-a-contact-to-a-client

They can't see the project progress, something that is going to be fixed with the next release of the client portal. That will grant guest users in-app access.

This is our #1 priority right now, so stay tuned!

Kind regards,
Marcel

Showing 5 reviews of 400 Read all reviews

Paymo FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Paymo.

Paymo offers the following pricing plans:

  • Starting from: $9.56/month
  • Pricing model: Free, Subscription
  • Free Trial: Available

Free - For 1 user Free for Universities, Colleges, and Schools Small Office - $9.56/user/month Business - $15.16/user/month

Paymo offers the following features:

  • accept payments online
  • client portal
  • create invoices based on timesheets
  • customisable reports
  • daily timesheets
  • discussions
  • email integration
  • estimates
  • expenses
  • file sharing and attachments
  • gantt chart
  • milestones
  • mobile and desktop apps
  • online invoices
  • project temaplates
  • resource planning
  • task management
  • time tracking

Paymo has the following typical customers:

Small Business, Non Profit, Mid Size Business

Paymo supports the following languages:

Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish

Paymo supports the following devices:

Android, iPhone, iPad

Paymo integrates with the following applications:

APIANT, Bitium, BugHerd, Egnyte, Hubstaff, LambdaTest, LeadMaster, ProjectManager.com, Retently, VisitorTrack

Paymo offers the following support options:

Online Support, Forum, Knowledge Base

Related categories

See all software categories found for Paymo.